Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 373 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the not-too-distant future, some 30 years after the final war, a solitary man walks across the wasteland that was once America. A warrior not by choice but necessity, Eli seeks only peace but, if challenged, will cut his attackers down before they realize their fatal mistake. It's not hisIn the not-too-distant future, some 30 years after the final war, a solitary man walks across the wasteland that was once America. A warrior not by choice but necessity, Eli seeks only peace but, if challenged, will cut his attackers down before they realize their fatal mistake. It's not his life he guards so fiercely but his hope for the future; a hope he has carried and protected for 30 years and is determined to realize. Driven by this commitment and guided by his belief in something greater than himself, Eli does what he must to survive--and continue. Eli must keep moving to fulfill his destiny and bring help to a ravaged humanity. Only one other man in this ruined world understands the power Eli holds, and is determined to make it his own: Carnegie. (Warner Bros.) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. 75
    The film looks and feels good, and Washington's performance is the more uncanny the more we think back over it. The ending is "flawed," as we critics like to say, but it's so magnificently, shamelessly, implausibly flawed that (a) it breaks apart from the movie and has a life of its own, or (b) at least it avoids being predictable.
  2. 75
    Its hero may be on a mission from above, but in a refreshing twist, the fate of mankind rests with the literate.
  3. The Book of Eli takes the violent, gritty feel of a spaghetti western, marries it with elements of "The Road," places it in the future and gives it a spiritual twist.
  4. The movie keeps you watching and generally engaged.
  5. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    50
    The Book of Eli's plastic parable isn't much more advanced than "Insane Clown Posse" theology.
  6. The story requires a greater leap of faith than I was willing or able to muster, since Eli is also a saintly pilgrim on a God-given mission to save a ruined world.
  7. 20
    The Book of Eli combines the maximum in hollow piety with remorseless violence. [18 Jan. 2010, p.82]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 138
  1. DR
    Feb 5, 2010
    10
    This movie is the greatest, most inspirational movie that I have seen. It completely renewed my faith in movies to see somthing that totally This movie is the greatest, most inspirational movie that I have seen. It completely renewed my faith in movies to see somthing that totally relies on God to make it what it is. I am so proud Denzel for making this movie so that others might see just how important it is to rely on God. I totally give it an A+++. Collapse
  2. JoelC
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    Wow... Just WOW! Ok so this movie will not be widely accepted or exalted due to its highly religious theme and message. It is not a universal Wow... Just WOW! Ok so this movie will not be widely accepted or exalted due to its highly religious theme and message. It is not a universal religious theme such as 2012 that calls for various interpretations, and it is not as candy coated or indirect as Narnia's Christian message... it is a movie which, consciously or unconsciously, sends a crystal clear message to any believer that sees it. So bottom line... it will be criticized by any non-believer as a stupid film, and exalted by any devoted follower of Christ. If you are a believer I invite you to listen carefully to every word in this movie from both the main character and the villain... and also the meaning beyond the movie in terms of the writer's intentions, or lack of, and connect it to scripture. If you are a believer wanting to follow in God's path in order to fulfill His purpose, be ready to hear a message that will minister to your life as a Christian... whether it be a message of hope or enlightenment. Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    The end of "The Book of Eli" surprised the hell out of me. Twist endings, like this one, is cool, because it makes the movie that much moreThe end of "The Book of Eli" surprised the hell out of me. Twist endings, like this one, is cool, because it makes the movie that much more interesting and not just a waste of time. Although I do believe this film overuses the Christianity theme, but it is a fun, action packed movie to watch. Denzel did an excellent job and i recommend everyone see this film at least once. Expand
  4. Aug 13, 2010
    8
    Oh no another of one those doomsday movies, barren wastelands and cannibals all over the place. However the movie I can recommend itâ
  5. PabloH
    Jan 17, 2010
    7
    The film is very interesting. The action scenes are pretty good. I would have like a little more backdrop what actually happen that the world The film is very interesting. The action scenes are pretty good. I would have like a little more backdrop what actually happen that the world is in this state. All n All a good movie but not great. I would have been satisfied with waiting until the movie went to DVD. Expand
  6. Thickney
    Jan 17, 2010
    6
    Don't expect it to be a high intensity action movie with sleek and slick moments. However, don't get me wrong, it wasn't a bad Don't expect it to be a high intensity action movie with sleek and slick moments. However, don't get me wrong, it wasn't a bad movie and the idea was great. The acting was awesome and the characters were captivating. However, the climax of the movie, revealing the real theme of the movie, turned me off. Expand
  7. JackM
    Jan 16, 2010
    0
    A bible thumpers apocalyptic action movie. Makes you feel like you just got tricked into going to a surmon. Not really for those of us whom A bible thumpers apocalyptic action movie. Makes you feel like you just got tricked into going to a surmon. Not really for those of us whom don't believe in idiotic made up religious beliefs. My advice. Stick to THE ROAD. Expand

See all 138 User Reviews

Trailers