User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 98
  2. Negative: 31 out of 98
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JasonW
    Nov 21, 2009
    3
    Low rent Tarentino-esk rip-off with a thin plot and bad accents Whats with all the morons I've seen with VERITAS / AEQUITAS tats? Jesus, is everyone a *beep* slave to mass-media these days? I have nothing against tattoos, but if you are going to get one at least try to make it original.
  2. WillO.
    Oct 30, 2009
    0
    Complete plastic Irish drivel from start to finish. Sub-normal fans of the original will probably like it but anyone with an IQ in at least double figures will hate it for what it is. Hey Troy, I'll have a beer and diet coke, keep the change you fool, cheers.
  3. BrianN
    Nov 4, 2009
    3
    Most people that liked BS will probably like this too, but it's pretty much just more BS. It isn't as bad as the first, but that might be because I expected nothing more than another ripoff of Guy Ritchie and Tarantino that required a very short attention span which is exactly what I got. Crap is worse when it catches you by surprise, and this time it didn't.
  4. jackm.
    Oct 30, 2009
    0
    Matt C. offers up a little gem of advice here. "Critics suck on sequels, listen to fans". Thats about as intelligent and profound a statement as you can expect from a Boondock Saints fan.
  5. CoryP
    Oct 30, 2009
    0
    User Matt C, are you serious? Listen to fans? You gave a piece of garbage a 10/10... do you think "fans" might show a little bias? Critics (generally) put aside bias, but if I'm not mistaken, the first movie got incredibly poor reviews as well. In fact, every review I've seen cites the awfulness of the first and the ways in which this movie expands on the first's User Matt C, are you serious? Listen to fans? You gave a piece of garbage a 10/10... do you think "fans" might show a little bias? Critics (generally) put aside bias, but if I'm not mistaken, the first movie got incredibly poor reviews as well. In fact, every review I've seen cites the awfulness of the first and the ways in which this movie expands on the first's weaknesses. I guess you're right, though, if you enjoyed the first, you'll probably enjoy the sequel. If you enjoy good cinema.... well, that's another story. Expand
  6. TomI
    Nov 2, 2009
    1
    If you're going to see this to keep the weirdo friends that make up the "cult" following behind these films, I recommend ditching the friends. I saw the first one to please those "people" and it was a shambling wreck. Unfortunately I didn't heed the words of The Who and got fooled again. I love Will O's term "sub-normals". Both films are cheesy, style-over-substance If you're going to see this to keep the weirdo friends that make up the "cult" following behind these films, I recommend ditching the friends. I saw the first one to please those "people" and it was a shambling wreck. Unfortunately I didn't heed the words of The Who and got fooled again. I love Will O's term "sub-normals". Both films are cheesy, style-over-substance bonehead dreck and this one is even goofier than the first if you can imagine. It gets a 1 for even featuring my beloved Billy Connolly in the cast. Expand
  7. NickO
    Nov 8, 2009
    0
    Anyone with a brain should pass on this one.
  8. JohhnF.
    Nov 1, 2009
    0
    Hey Matt C. I think you are forgetting Empire Strikes Back, Godfather Part 2, and The Dark Knight. Not all sequels are hated on.
  9. RyanS
    Nov 16, 2009
    0
    If you like watching long meaningless scenes with just horrendous acting then look no further. This movie reminded me of one of those porns where you have to sit there furious with your dick in hand for 15 mins before you get to see the next hoe giving a BJ. But in this case the BJs are gun fights and most of the time the hoe turns out to be a tranny.
  10. DumasR
    Nov 2, 2009
    0
    I conceived my first 7 children while watching the first film and the reciting the film's racist humor helped be get into the Klan. Now I watch the 2nd movie and I'm perplexed as to what happend. No guns, no violence, no racist jokes, just a story of two brothers and their forbidden love. I was shocked and I would have asked for my money back had I not already snuck into the I conceived my first 7 children while watching the first film and the reciting the film's racist humor helped be get into the Klan. Now I watch the 2nd movie and I'm perplexed as to what happend. No guns, no violence, no racist jokes, just a story of two brothers and their forbidden love. I was shocked and I would have asked for my money back had I not already snuck into the film. The next time these hollywood types makes gay porn they should damn well advertise it as such. Expand
  11. BilB
    Nov 4, 2009
    0
    This movie is Boondock Saints 2. I wish someone had told me before I went in that this was a gay porn film. I don't have anytihing against gay porn films because some of my best friends are gay porn stars but had I known all the gay sex this film had featured I'd might have taken my date to something more appropriate like Basic Instinct, Silence of the Lambs, or Saw 6.
  12. MaxL
    Nov 14, 2009
    3
    much inferior to the original. Many styles but no substance and it was repetitious as heck with the flashback within action. Good looking movie can't help the stupid story. The end was exciting but could have come a lot sooner.
  13. RayB
    Nov 17, 2009
    2
    Ah, Troy Duffy: Hollywood's exile steps back up to the plate (after not having made a dime on the original) and cuts a fat fart with All Saints Day. If you are the son of an Irish-Catholic police officer with low moral fortitude and a love for slow motion acrobatics, this movie is for you. For everyone else, this movie is a overlong mess of awful acting, sophomoric philosophy, and Ah, Troy Duffy: Hollywood's exile steps back up to the plate (after not having made a dime on the original) and cuts a fat fart with All Saints Day. If you are the son of an Irish-Catholic police officer with low moral fortitude and a love for slow motion acrobatics, this movie is for you. For everyone else, this movie is a overlong mess of awful acting, sophomoric philosophy, and meaningless religious overtones. Do yourself a favor and go to a Catholic mass instead of going to see this: it will be just as long, boring, and painful but at least it's free. Expand
  14. Aug 16, 2010
    1
    1, for a good trailer. As far as the movie, a disappointment. After the first 25 minutes of it I cut it off. Bad acting, terrible jokes, typical story for a sequel. Its like if they were trying too hard to make it like the original, but couldn't hit the right notes. Definitly had the potential to be a very good movie, if it had good movie makers, but this is just another corny sequel.
  15. Aug 27, 2010
    0
    Quentin Tarantino has taken some more worthy **** than this movie. Even fans of the first one will find little to cling on to, and bad dialogue makes the already bad acting just plain horrendous.
  16. Aug 23, 2013
    0
    So bad. It's just so damn bad. Not only is it full of the brainless, boring, somehow action-less actions scenes that The Boondock Saints are known for, but everything around those moments is just as terrible. Duffy's attempts at drama and intrigue are laughable. There is not a semblance of development or patience in his story telling. It's like he just said "I want this to happen now" andSo bad. It's just so damn bad. Not only is it full of the brainless, boring, somehow action-less actions scenes that The Boondock Saints are known for, but everything around those moments is just as terrible. Duffy's attempts at drama and intrigue are laughable. There is not a semblance of development or patience in his story telling. It's like he just said "I want this to happen now" and then just told all of the actors to do it instead of actually spending time and first ensuring that we are invested in the characters and their lives. And the jokes...my word...how unfunny. The only thing that is funny here is the acting which I can't even take seriously. This sh*t is just sloppy and amateurish. There is absolutely nothing good about it. It is painfully stupid. And the worst part about that is that it doesn't know it's stupid. It thinks it's good. It thinks that people are watching it and saying "Wow what he just said was cool" or "Isn't that plot twist awesome" but what most of them are really saying is "...please." As a non film-maker I would never say this about virtually any other movie because I understand that it's probably more difficult than I could imagine...but I could make a better movie than this. In fact, there is no way that I would not if given the chance. Anybody with a brain or even one original thought could make something better than this. It is worthless. Of no value. Without a single redeeming quality or thing to appreciate. Garbage. Whoever contributed to this should be embarrassed. Expand
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Negative: 13 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    16
    Duffy's inept command of actors, not to mention his utterly juvenile morality and his comically clumsy use of religious iconography, should keep all but the diehards away.
  2. Reviewed by: Adam Markovitz
    25
    Earns points only for being remarkably unself-conscious about its across-the-board ineptitude.
  3. 25
    An idiotic ode to macho horseshite (to employ an ancient Irish word). It is however distinguished by superb cinematography.