New Line Cinema | Release Date: January 23, 2004
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 462 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
377
Mixed:
36
Negative:
49
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
PatC.Mar 27, 2006
Only watched Director's Cut. Fragmented screenplay, which in itself is a powerful argument for chaos theory, but an interesting premise. Actually, this is a good example of the stuff of a classic movie clumsily handled. An "It's A Only watched Director's Cut. Fragmented screenplay, which in itself is a powerful argument for chaos theory, but an interesting premise. Actually, this is a good example of the stuff of a classic movie clumsily handled. An "It's A Wonderful Life" heavily laden with the darker alternatives of the supposed choices we make in life. A difficult movie to absorb, but lurking in this mess message of undeniable value to those who have been through hell and still try to remain positive. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
ingie44Mar 29, 2014
Interesting idea, with a good theme. Unfortunately very badly acted with freakin huge plot holes. Plot caverns. Honestly I don't know why anyone would get Ashton to be in a film if they wanted the film to be good? I reckon they knew they hadInteresting idea, with a good theme. Unfortunately very badly acted with freakin huge plot holes. Plot caverns. Honestly I don't know why anyone would get Ashton to be in a film if they wanted the film to be good? I reckon they knew they had a weak script here. Anyway somewhere along the line they manage to get an interesting point about human nature across, but its pretty much smothered by the surrounding crap. Shame really. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JamesHDec 29, 2009
Such an interesting subject idea given such a convoluted and less than thrilling treatment. It is imaginative, and very well made, but it gets repetitive and tiring after awhile. The acting is fair.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
mrniceJan 22, 2014
More creepy than I'd expected, but also a bit clever and funny. All in all, a mix of entertainment elements that can make young adults see some underlying laws that run through life. Unless you philosophize about time and space occasionally,More creepy than I'd expected, but also a bit clever and funny. All in all, a mix of entertainment elements that can make young adults see some underlying laws that run through life. Unless you philosophize about time and space occasionally, it can provide some food for thought. And hey, it's rare that an American teenage-entertainer has philosophical content! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AlvaradoKTAJun 16, 2014
With such an original script, it's a shame the ambitious writing didn't create a more compelling storyline. The latter half of the film shows obvious results of writer's block as it become repetitive and the entire premise falls into itselfWith such an original script, it's a shame the ambitious writing didn't create a more compelling storyline. The latter half of the film shows obvious results of writer's block as it become repetitive and the entire premise falls into itself by the end, the final scenes being the weakest of the entire film. The only thing worth watching this for, is the initial setup and minor thrill. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
axelkochNov 10, 2012
One of the best storys in film history, but deplorably reliazed. The child actors can't play their complex characters good but disappointingly, the grown-ups can't either! There are also some logical mistakes and disproportionateOne of the best storys in film history, but deplorably reliazed. The child actors can't play their complex characters good but disappointingly, the grown-ups can't either! There are also some logical mistakes and disproportionate stylizations. It's no good movie, but I love the story and I was so touched with all the horrible butterfly effects in it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
juliankennedy23Nov 2, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Butterfly Effect: 4 out of 10: The first 40 minutes of The Butterfly Effect are tough sledding. It's not incompetent film-making mind you. If anything the film is simply too effective. Literally showing the world's worst childhood. It is so much of a downer with child molestation, baby killing and burning puppies that it's almost a Stephen King parody. I guess there is a reason we repress memories after all. I would repress that childhood as well.

The film to that point kind of reminded me of Sleepers where it was so unpleasant it didn't matter how good the movie is. It's certainly nothing I would ever want to see again. Then the movie takes a wild turn as Ashton Kutcher shows up. As easy a target as he is I hate to admit the second two-thirds of the film are really not his fault.

Some notes to writer/directors Eric Briss and J. Mackye Gruber. If your going to have scenes in a prison you might want to visit one first, or at least watch a documentary on the same. Speaking of documentaries "Revenge of the Nerds" and other eighties comedies are not a documentaries on college life. Sororities do not resemble the Playboy Mansion. And twenty-three year old crack whores often look bad but they tend not to resemble a Dawn of the Dead extra.

If The Butterfly Effect didn't keep flashing back to the puppy and baby horrors, then the second two thirds would be a hoot. There is even a "hey there is a psycho chasing me lets take a walk in the dark woods" scene.

Since Kutcher's time travel effects only his friends and family and nothing else at all. The Butterfly Effect inadvertently substantiates the reverse of the Butterfly theorem.

Needless to say the change in tone from the childhood scenes and adult scenes is jarring. Though most of the humor in the adult scenes is admittedly unintentional. Kutcher travels back in time by staring at notebook paper. I tried the same technique staring at my screen. It didn't work I still lost two hours.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews