User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 659 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 659

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Xon
    Jun 30, 2013
    8
    I thought this waa Very cool horror film. It was entertaining and thrilling and scary and gross. The movie had everything I'd expect from a horror movie. As a bonus it was well acted and executed, You won't waste your time with this, but it is kind of cerebral as well, andI guesss many people aren't prepred to make the investment.
  2. Jun 30, 2013
    8
    It was an original idea! Joss Whedon is one of the best, he always surprises us.
    And have chosen perfect actor for these parts! This movie should be awarded, 8!
  3. Jun 28, 2013
    7
    Somewhat original, funny, and at time gruesome, the cabin in the woods is miles beyond the average horror movie, but I still felt like it could have been better. The thing the film does best is wittily send up genre conventions in a way that's funny but without resorting to a ridiculous Scary Movie level. It does this mostly through smart dialogue and its meta premise. The two leadSomewhat original, funny, and at time gruesome, the cabin in the woods is miles beyond the average horror movie, but I still felt like it could have been better. The thing the film does best is wittily send up genre conventions in a way that's funny but without resorting to a ridiculous Scary Movie level. It does this mostly through smart dialogue and its meta premise. The two lead characters are effective and you root for them to live, which is the opposite of most horror movies, and the visual effects aren't bad either. However, it's not truly that scary, and the very ending was pretty disappointing to me. Still, I recommend it due to its skewering of clichés and its humor. I liked it, just didn't love it. Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    I went in this movie expecting a cheap slasher horror film, but I was having high expectations, because it has been announced in development since 2009, what I got was way too more in depth than I was barging for, this movie can't be reviewed without spoiling it, what I have to say is...SEE THE CABIN IN THE WOODS, it is different dark comedy with mystery and great visuals (hint) SEE THIS MOVIE.
  5. Jun 21, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Why people liked this film????? It is not something more than a joke. Seriously? people under the earth send some monsters to kill people who live in the cabin for the gods??? Yeah, it is original. ORIGINAL STUPIDITY. At some points it made even laugh because i didn't want to cry of what i was watching. Thumbs to the ground. Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    A film with a generic horror movie name is everything but. When I first saw the trailer for this movie I thought it was good to be another awful horror film, but the twist led by the characters played by Bradley Whitford and Richard Jenkins makes this one of the most inventive horror films I've seen in a while.
  7. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    If you’re a fan of Josh Whedon chances are you’ll enjoy this film. It’s far from perfect but it’s unique spin on the horror genre certainly kept me entertained from start to finish.
  8. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest and funniest horror films ever made, it has a great story and a powerful scenes with great visuals and exquisite acting, I am a big horror fan, this one is good, it is really good, although I was barging for something smaller and simpler, but it turned out to be way too different than expected!
  9. Jun 1, 2013
    5
    I have really mixed feelings after watching this movie. It's sarcastic horror movie with a lot of humour things but containing some aspects of mainstream movie.
  10. May 26, 2013
    5
    I am not sure it is because I watch films with an analytic eye, but this film felt like a mishmash of films which although not necessarily masterpieces themselves, however made a huge impact back in their day: The Cube, Truman Show, Scream. And if it had not been for the all hell breaks loose scene I would have been really wondering what the big fuss about this film was all about.
  11. May 22, 2013
    10
    Surprisingly smart entertainment. I don't watch or like horror movies, and prompted by a friend was told I had to see it. Finally went on the ride, and by the end was blown away.
  12. May 22, 2013
    2
    A totally overproduced 08/15 horror movie.
    The effects are so cheap and gimmicky.
    The movie is not scary at all and not even funny. Very overrated!
  13. May 21, 2013
    8
    After being told to not watch this, I decided to watch it. More proof that the general movie going public and critics have no idea what constitutes a good movie. Joss Whedon uses this film as a vehicle to commentate on the popularity of "torture porn" that seems to dominate the horror box offices. The acting is superb. There were scenes that could have been lighted better but all in allAfter being told to not watch this, I decided to watch it. More proof that the general movie going public and critics have no idea what constitutes a good movie. Joss Whedon uses this film as a vehicle to commentate on the popularity of "torture porn" that seems to dominate the horror box offices. The acting is superb. There were scenes that could have been lighted better but all in all this a fun horror movie with "hidden message" that made all the great horror movies, well, great. A must watch for any horror fan. Expand
  14. May 1, 2013
    9
    With a giant god like hand, Whedon destroys viewer expectation by carefully crafting the perfect satire film with a wit, intelligence and depth that is often lacking in the films it makes fun of.
  15. Apr 15, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's basically a weed film. The main male protagonist is a weed head, he survives because he's high, and at the survivors smoke weed. Other than that, it wasn't really all that interesting it reminded me a lot of 13 Ghosts. Expand
  16. Apr 8, 2013
    8
    What a great movie. Seriously, from star to finish i had a blast. The 3rd act of this movie is the best i've ever seen from this genre. Don't expect to be scared though, cause you wont be, but you'll enjoy the hell out of it, ill give you that. A parody of everything that is wrong with horror movies.
  17. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    From the title, description, and most of the footage you've probably seen, The Cabin in the Woods looks like the same awful, recycled horror film you've seen over and over. A bunch of vapid college kids are going to spend a weekend in a cabin, where they'll probably get hacked up... big freaking deal, right? But all of that is a smokescreen, much like the titular cabin itself. InFrom the title, description, and most of the footage you've probably seen, The Cabin in the Woods looks like the same awful, recycled horror film you've seen over and over. A bunch of vapid college kids are going to spend a weekend in a cabin, where they'll probably get hacked up... big freaking deal, right? But all of that is a smokescreen, much like the titular cabin itself. In reality, this movie is meta-horror: it's a horror film about why horror films suck. It's also a fantastic dark comedy. You don't want to miss this film. Expand
  18. Feb 17, 2013
    2
    This movie has one of the worst plot lines I've ever seen, it's gimmicky trying to pull in the audience with gruesome deaths that could have been thought up by a 12 year old...OH AND boobs! you like boobs right?,right? well if you want boobs look elsewhere, all the babes in this movie make the walls jealous with their flat chests...Moving on... They break the Immersion that a good horrorThis movie has one of the worst plot lines I've ever seen, it's gimmicky trying to pull in the audience with gruesome deaths that could have been thought up by a 12 year old...OH AND boobs! you like boobs right?,right? well if you want boobs look elsewhere, all the babes in this movie make the walls jealous with their flat chests...Moving on... They break the Immersion that a good horror movie should have too, with mediocre character development, and terribly predictable outcomes when they encounter the hillbilly zombie family...No I you not that is the literal name of the monsters in this film. Now before I get asked, no the acting isn't terrible, but it's not amazing either sometimes even ruining the immersion even further with unbelievably dull reactions and lackluster expression, how am I supposed to be scared or laugh when your characters aren't even petrified. Oh what? you thought that was it?- no. The ending is really unexpected but only because of the stupidity it took the characters to get to such a conclusion. Overall, maybe it might make your girl cuddle up into your wimpy arms once or twice, but other than that, I wouldn't watch this movie if you truly want to have the need to check under your bed and lock your doors before sleeping, like any good horror movie should, It's unbelievable that people are giving it an 8, 9, and EVEN 10 out of 10 for this. I couldn't even tell what genre it was, I thought it was horror; which is why I bought it, but I was never scared. About 20 minutes in I started to think "Oh this must be a comedy!" but I never laughed. Overall a let down, I would severely hesitate and think about it before watching this stain of a movie. Expand
  19. Feb 10, 2013
    7
    The Cabin in the Woods is absolutely absurd! It twists and turns multiple times throughout its short running time, borrowing heavily from a variety of films in the horror genre (and other genres as well), but under the sure direction and brilliant screenplay of Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard, this film is a complete breathe of fresh air in a world of doomed horror movies.
  20. Feb 9, 2013
    0
    High ratings? What is everybody smoking while watching this? Can I have some? Pass some of that good stuff people, I`m back here!!!! I had to fast forward through crap. I`m glad I did not pay to watch this trash!! I`m not a horror movie fan, but man I wish it was, then it might have a point. People said unexpected turns but I found it all predictable! It fails at being a horror movie, TheyHigh ratings? What is everybody smoking while watching this? Can I have some? Pass some of that good stuff people, I`m back here!!!! I had to fast forward through crap. I`m glad I did not pay to watch this trash!! I`m not a horror movie fan, but man I wish it was, then it might have a point. People said unexpected turns but I found it all predictable! It fails at being a horror movie, They failed to make me laugh with the lame jokes. It`s not the worst movie, probably cause it was hoping to fail even at being the worst.I think the people who liked this movie, are females into the guy actors, and men into the female actors. The people who liked this movie also liked a particular character that got high, high, high lol Expand
  21. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    Not exactly a horror movie, but more of a tribute to the horror classics, the Cabin in the Woods presents an original plot with literally TONS of references to cult horror classics and even some of the video games (Will you spot the Boomer, Hunter, Tank and the Witch from Left 4 Dead?) Can't describe the plot without spoiling it, you just have to see it for yourself, but I guarantee theNot exactly a horror movie, but more of a tribute to the horror classics, the Cabin in the Woods presents an original plot with literally TONS of references to cult horror classics and even some of the video games (Will you spot the Boomer, Hunter, Tank and the Witch from Left 4 Dead?) Can't describe the plot without spoiling it, you just have to see it for yourself, but I guarantee the twists (and boy there are many of them) will be unexpected. The only thing is that the movie isn't exactly scary, which doesn't make it any less entertaining. A must-watch for anyone, especially the horror fans. Expand
  22. Jan 19, 2013
    7
    One of the many good things in this movie was the fact that not only the writers of horror movies do bad things to their victims but also and many times much worse to their evil monsters. thumbs up...
  23. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    A fiendishly clever "The Cabin in the Woods," a deceivingly insightful horror film that elicits just as many knowing chuckles as horrified gasps. Five teenagers head off for a weekend at a secluded cabin in the woods and they find an odd assortment of relics, but when one of the women, Dana (Kristen Connolly), reads from a book she awakens a family of deadly zombie killers. There's farA fiendishly clever "The Cabin in the Woods," a deceivingly insightful horror film that elicits just as many knowing chuckles as horrified gasps. Five teenagers head off for a weekend at a secluded cabin in the woods and they find an odd assortment of relics, but when one of the women, Dana (Kristen Connolly), reads from a book she awakens a family of deadly zombie killers. There's far more going on however than meets the eye as the five campers are all under observation. This is no ordinary cabin in the woods, but actually a set for a diabolical scientific experiment. Beneath the cabin is a basement, and beneath that is a vast modern laboratory headed by technology geeks (Richard Jenkins and Bradley Whitford) who turn dials, adjust levers and monitor every second on a bank of TV monitors. Goddard also takes on directing responsibilities, and his feature film debut demonstrates a keen eye for various genres, all incorporated seamlessly into this film. Laughter and satire are always close by, and I can't recall another film that's remotely close to its offering of thrills, spills and laughter. There are plenty of moments where you're kept on the edge of your seat, with surprising twists and turns popping up every now and then. Screenwriters Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard take the quintessential horror film ensemble of characters, and ridiculous scenarios and then inject a dose logical rationale, keeping it thoroughly entertaining. The idea of free will and our decision making process as people is explored. Do horror characters make choices because of the requirements of the genre, or because of their own decisions? This is not a perfect film by any means, but its's exciting because it ventures so far off the map for your typical horror film. The movie becomes kind of a greatest hits collection of horror movie techniques and clichés; twisting them around, while poking fun at them simultaneously. In a day and age where everything is a remake or a reboot, how refreshing to enjoy something completely innovative, and executed with great skill. Highly recommended and requires multiple viewings. Expand
  24. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    This film is nothing short of amazing and easily my favourite film of all-time! With twists & turns at every corner it was one hell of a ride to watch the first time and I'm still enjoying it now (3 times I've seen it). Lead by a great cast and with one heck of a storyline I would find it hard to find a Horror fan that didn't enjoy this film. The best thing about it is its such an originalThis film is nothing short of amazing and easily my favourite film of all-time! With twists & turns at every corner it was one hell of a ride to watch the first time and I'm still enjoying it now (3 times I've seen it). Lead by a great cast and with one heck of a storyline I would find it hard to find a Horror fan that didn't enjoy this film. The best thing about it is its such an original idea that hasn't been done and yes it had one hell of an ending! The best film there is, enough said! Expand
  25. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    The "Cabin in the Wood" never loses any momentum throughout the whole movie. There are many main points that connect very well. The only thing I don't really like is the killing scenes, it looks kind of unrealistic. But the plot is fantastic.
  26. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best horror movies I've ever seen. Once I saw it in theaters I knew that I was going to buy it once it came out on blu-ray! The last 30 minutes is literally epic! If you haven't seen it, do yourselves a favor and watch it.
  27. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    This movie was a great satire on modern horror. If you legitimately enjoy slashers and are looking for more of the same, this isn't the movie for you. It's a spoof, and judging it based on jump-scares and nail-biting suspense is like rating a romantic comedy on gore.
  28. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    Having re watched the trailer after the film, the it does pretty much give away what the film is really about and make the twists a lot less surprising. However it is a very good, if surprisingly simple story. It sets up a very weird situation and actually explains WTF is going on by the end, which most films wouldn't. Just don't watch the trailers if you haven't already.
  29. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    If you think that the Cabin in the Woods is just like any other typical slasher/horror film, then you are completely wrong. I thought the same before watching it and it totally proved me wrong and I'm really glad that it did. First of all, I appreciate the great work done by Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard, they have made something so unique and fresh that you start wondering that why didIf you think that the Cabin in the Woods is just like any other typical slasher/horror film, then you are completely wrong. I thought the same before watching it and it totally proved me wrong and I'm really glad that it did. First of all, I appreciate the great work done by Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard, they have made something so unique and fresh that you start wondering that why did nobody ever think of it before. The writing is great, performances are good (just the right amount of what you need in a horror film). The storyline is brilliantly incorporated in the genre, the rituals and the sacrifices to keep the Gods happy. The dark humor element is fantastic, really made me laugh at times. The monsters are horrific. I read some reviews by people who are complaining that the film is stupid and terrible. When a typical horror film is made, they complain and when a fresh and original idea is penned into a film, they still complain. Those people can never learn to appreciate the good work. Most of the people who liked the movie also think that the ending sucked, it should have been something else, but that's where the writing of Goddard and Whedon comes in. They knew we would be expecting and predicting the typical ending but they made a daring move by making a fine climax. Not only the climax, the entire film is fine, I have never watched anything like this before and for that, I thank Whedon and Goddard's imagination. If you are a real fan of horror/slasher films and are fed up of watching all those same and predictable ones over and over again, then this film is an absolute treat for you. The Cabin in the Woods is definitely one of the best horror films of 2012 and a rebirth of horror genre. Expand
  30. BKM
    Dec 19, 2012
    6
    Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard do their best to breathe new life into the horror genre, and The Cabin in the Woods is certainly clever and entertaining. Yet I think that the film will strike more of a chord with the genre's die hard fans and I couldn't help but feel a little disappointed by the ending which turns out to be little more than a giant wink at the tired conventions that haveJoss Whedon and Drew Goddard do their best to breathe new life into the horror genre, and The Cabin in the Woods is certainly clever and entertaining. Yet I think that the film will strike more of a chord with the genre's die hard fans and I couldn't help but feel a little disappointed by the ending which turns out to be little more than a giant wink at the tired conventions that have always defined horror films. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Buckwalter
    Apr 16, 2012
    90
    A horror-movie attic sale is, in essence, exactly what Cabin in the Woods is, an attempt to exorcise the genre of its formulaic possession by stuffing the movie full of its most overused and predictable elements - and then dumping them through clever skewering.
  2. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Apr 14, 2012
    80
    Because the first narrative is so crushingly generic (which turns out to be the point), most of the amusement derives from trying to figure out what the second one is all about. I'm not sure I ever did, but the climactic one-two punch of special-effects chaos and meta-movie chin stroking should have the fanboys trembling with delight.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 13, 2012
    38
    I've seen a lot of rip-offs of "The Truman Show" and a lot of rip-offs of "Scream." I guess I have to give credit to The Cabin in the Woods for ripping off both at once.