Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 588 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Apr 12, 2012
    100
    By the time the ride is over, director Drew Goddard and co-writers Goddard and Joss Whedon will change course three or four times, nodding and winking but never losing momentum.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 11, 2012
    90
    The Cabin in the Woods is a fantastic poke in the eye of our horror-movie expectations.
  3. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Apr 12, 2012
    88
    The film's main virtue, a large virtue indeed, is that it does not give anything away before its shockingly apt time.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 11, 2012
    75
    The devilishly clever script tries a lot of things. Not all of them work, but it's hard not to admire Whedon and Goddard for the attempts. This is definitely not your standard kids-get-slaughtered-by-zombies motion picture.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Apr 12, 2012
    75
    A pulpy, deceivingly insightful send-up of horror movies that elicits just as many knowing chuckles as horrified gasps.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Apr 12, 2012
    63
    The Cabin in the Woods is pure mechanics, as if the shadowy Dharma Initiative of "Lost" switched agents and found itself at the center of a brain-bending ensemble drama.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Apr 10, 2012
    25
    A creepfest so stupid it makes trashy slash-and-burn epics like "Humans Versus Zombies" and "I Spit on Your Grave" seem like Molière and Proust.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 199
  1. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    Possibly the best horror movie in years, THE CABIN IN THE WOODS is frequently funny, highly original and ridiculously awesome! In my opinion, there is nothing wrong with this film. In fact, it is a horror fan's dream. Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    The best film since Apocalypto! Masterpiece of 2012. Shocking+Innovative+Scary+Funny. I don't want to add anything else.
    Don't let other to
    spoil it for you. Expand
  3. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    This movie was the definition of mind-blowing. It was absolutely fantastic. It's impossible to describe the film without giving anything away, thats why the synopsis is so short. I work at a movie theater and just the other day, a group of three guys went to go see this movie and left 10 minutes into it and said it was the dumbest movie ever made and it was a waste of money and time. Im sorry but if you are like these 3 men then you are a hypocrite and you are just plain stupid. Everybody and i mean everybody complains or at least acknowledges the fact that all horror movies are made the same nowadays. The Cabin in the Woods has listened to everybody and has turned the tides. This film is pure genius. It changes it up and shows you behind the scenes of every cheesy cliche horror film ever made, and it does it very well. It explains everything we've ever seen in a horror film, including the fact as to why you always have the athlete, the whore, the scholar, the fool, and the "virgin" as they say, but otherwise known as the good girl. It will have you on the edge of your seat, it will make you laugh your head off, and most of all, it will make your jaw drop. I loved this film and i believe everybody else will and has too, unless you are a hypocrite like those 3 guys. 10/10...perfection Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2012
    8
    I had zero expectations when I walked into this film, I thought, "Generic five friends go out to cabin in in the middle of nowhere, brutally killed by monsters, seen it before." I knew there was some government control going on, but nothing more. The trailer for this movie doesn't capture its true greatness. Joss Wheadon and Drew Goddard did a perfect job of blending humor and horror. The funny parts were absolutely hilarious, and the horror scenes were done brilliantly. I wish there were more movies like this. I will gladly see this again... I want the DVD now. Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2012
    7
    I watched this movie yesterday and I want to say that this movie is really cool. This movie is really unpredictable and insane. And the jokes, they are awesome. Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2013
    6
    I don't think that this is a great movie, by any means. Nor do I love [or hate] Whedon. But I do think that the users giving this movie scores in the red are why we can't have nice things. Specifically, I think that they're the kind of movie fans who prevent American filmmakers [as a whole] from trying crazy stuff. Sure, some crazy stuff is going to fall flat on its face. So what? This movie isn't a normal horror movie. So what? That means it deserves a zero?
    This movie messes around with the horror movie genre and its clichés in a way that's far, far more interesting than the Scream movies. If more movies like this were appreciated, even when they're modest successes like this one, then we would have more risks taken by American filmmakers and studios. And as a consequence of that, we'd have more playing around with story types, and less of Hollywood making the same crap over and over and over.
    What really makes me shudder is the idea that some users who gave this a 0 or 1 may also complain about Hollywood recycling ideas. We need movies that tear apart genres in thoughtful ways, even if they're 'popcorn movies'.
    Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2012
    0
    I didnt watch the whole film. Put it this way, it was that bad, i turned it off a half an hour into it. I do not understand the good ratings for this film. Oh my god is it so annoying. Such bad acting, cheesy kills. stay away from this film Expand

See all 199 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.