User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 153 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 153

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 9, 2012
    1
    [Reviewing because of The Lorax] The Cat in the Hat is crap. It ruins every aspect of the beloved book, and is very annoying. The only reason this movie is not a 0 is because of Mike Myers' jokes.
  2. Jan 2, 2012
    8
    This adaptation of the Cat in the Hat isn't very appealing, but its as comical as the book and Mike Myers' sense of humor as a cat is admirable. You would even have to admire the movie's imagination of its comical material. Sure, the adult content wasn't for children under age 8, but at least its on the range of the average rated PG-movie with language and it's not on a PG-13 level.
  3. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    Ignore the critics. I had a great time watching this hilarious movie. the jokes were funny, and the actors were a lot of fun. you people are just being ignorant.
  4. Feb 19, 2011
    3
    This may seem like a kids movie but I was surprised with the amount of mature humor in the movie, and the story is stupid, and the characters are terrible, this is a movie you want to avoid.
  5. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    People gave this movie 0. You know what I say to that? Get a life you criticizing critic bozos! It was funny for kids and adults and until I read these reviews I thought people had brains. If you can't watch this movie without groaning you are a perfectly normal person with great taste. The cat was realistically made and was funny as well. Made the Grinch look more terrible than it really is. Great movie, and if you don't think so, go soak your head. Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2011
    6
    I liked some of the jokes but the story of the film was nothing like the book, I don't think that good actors like Mike Myers and Alec Baldwin should be doing stuff like this.
  7. Mar 1, 2012
    3
    I've been watching the same "Cat in the Hat" over a million times and I hated the film so much. I don't know how come this is a PG-rated of mature content for fans of Tom and Jerry and Scooby-Doo. But if you ever want to see The Cat in the Hat, I suggest you watch the original TV animated classic or just read to the kids for the classic book that I truly liked. The Grinch was half-good, Horton Hears a Who! was my favorite and hopefully, I wish they could make a movie on Green Eggs and Ham and Hop on Pop! But "The Cat in the Hat" is rated A for awful and D as in died of family entertainment. Expand
  8. Apr 13, 2012
    5
    Wow Critics Harsh much, While it's not the best movie, it certainly wasn't the worst, when you cast Mike Myers in a film, your pretty much asking for some rude humour involved, Yes the ending sucked harder than a pornstar but the ride was thrilling, It his hard to make a movie based around a 10 page book but I liked the prologue for Conrad and Sally. Alec Baldwin plays a decent villian while Kelly Preston wasn't great, In typical fashion, Mike Myers makes the movie.Though it maybe worthy on your DVD shelf, it may pulled out once every couple of years but thats about it. Expand
  9. Dec 18, 2011
    8
    I enjoyed this adaption because it is funny and unpredictable. I like it because it is different in a positive way. The jokes make sense to a certain extent.
  10. Aug 2, 2013
    0
    Bo Welch never directed a film before in his life, and will never direct again because this film killed his directing career before it really started. If you're going to make a Dr. Seuss film, Hollywood, at least make the message clear and the visual style resemble the book. That's the LEAST you can do, AND GET A REAL DIRECTOR, NOT A PRODUCTION DESIGNER!!!!

    And second, DON'T EXTEND THE
    PLOT OF THE MOVIE. STICK TO THE CENTRE OF WHAT MADE THE ORIGINAL CAT IN THE HAT BOOK GREAT: GREAT DRAWINGS, GREAT MESSAGE THAT RULE BREAKING IS OKAY AS LONG AS IT NEVER GOES TOO FAR, MODERATE IT. KEEP THE MESSAGE FOCUSED AND CLEAR IF YOU'RE DEMANDING A LONGER MOVIE. DON'T WRITE PENIS INNUENDO JOKES INTO THE FILM. THAT'S NOT KIDS STUFF.

    If you want to see a GOOD Dr. Seuss film, see Horton Hears A Who.
    Expand
  11. Feb 26, 2012
    8
    I'm probably going to be cursed for giving this movie a good review, but honestly, I don't care. It's my opinion. My childhood was never full of Dr. Suess-related stuff. Sure I have fond memories of reading "Green Eggs and Ham" and "One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish," but I didn't feel like my childhood was getting stabbed in the movie. Sure, some of the material in the movie shouldn't be shown to kids, but I'm an adult, so I'm fine. And honestly, in 2003, I was more offended by Ang Lee's Hulk movie then this. Expand
  12. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    I don't understand all the negative reviews. This movie was pretty trippy, in a good way. I would have spent money to see it again. Possibly even twice, nay, three times.
  13. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    cat that's not your tail what holllly s.........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  14. May 30, 2011
    0
    This is one of the worst films I have ever seen. I would go as far as saying that I actually hate it. It is contemptuous of it's audience, inappropriate and crude. Any parent who allows their child to watch this should be locked up.
  15. Aug 9, 2011
    0
    The worst thing Mike Myers has ever done. This **** is **** messed up I want to **** **** up every **** who was involved in this **** What **** **** would destroy such a **** good Seuss tale? What's the next? The ****in **** Lorax?!
  16. Nov 13, 2011
    1
    The set direction in this feature looks lively and pretty accurate to bring the world of Dr.Seuss' The Cat in the Hat come to life, while everything else falls completely flat with excruciating execution and irritating acting. The Cat in the Hat was one of the worst kids films I have even seen with crude humour that only had a couple of joke that were funny, but not in a film based on a Dr.Seuss creation. Sometimes I wonder who had chosen Mike Myers to play as the Cat. He didn't portray as Dr.Seuss' iconic character through my eyes and was more like himself in a cat costume. The Cat in the Hat becoming a full feature film totally blows, you might as well read the original book that everyone knows. Expand
  17. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    This movie was **** I usually like films that are lower down on the meta critic, but this, this is something else, none of my kids liked it, none of my friends like it, I bet even the people who made it didn't like it.
  18. Mar 8, 2014
    1
    The film is an utterly dull and disappointing adaptation of the book. The themes are too mature for kids, the dialogue was crap, and it really was an abomination.
  19. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    This next exploitation of Dr. Seuss' work may be even worse than the first- and that's saying something.
  20. Feb 3, 2013
    7
    con bromas sin sentido, una calidad de imagen exquisita y una actuación bizarra e hilarante por parte de mike mayers ,the cat in the hat es una divertida película que lamentablemente solo le llegara a cierto tipo de personas
  21. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Absolutely excellent myself and my daughter loved it. I really can't understand why people think it is 'too mature' it's actually extremely tame most pop songs and videos have far worse in them!
  22. Apr 22, 2013
    1
    I can't put it any other way, this movie just plain sucks. I mean who openly advertises during a movie? That's not funny, I mean other people who advertise products in a movie have those ads hidden, like a Coke sign on a grocery shop. And Mike Meyers, really? I expected more from you. Racist, sexist, and cliche jokes throughout a movie does not make this funny, it just makes like Family Guy. For a second thought, why was Alec Baldwin the evil guy in this movie? He's usually this warmhearted person who usually helps out the good guy. The only way he ties into this movie as the evil neighbor is the fact that he's in love with the children's mom. The only reason this score isn't a flat out 0 is because there was one funny joke. One! 1/10 Expand
  23. Oct 13, 2013
    0
    huh???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
  24. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    This movie made me cry as a kid. This movie really, really sucked. I hope I never see this movie again. What were the producers thinking? Why would Dr. Seuss allow this garbage into the works? WHY???
  25. Dec 29, 2013
    0
    THE worst Dr. Seuss adaption I have ever seen in my life. Thanks Universal for ruining a classic beloved character. The story line was beyond awful and made no sense. Mike Myers was creepy and the kids were just obnoxious. Probably the worst thing I've ever seen and am forever disgraced for doing so.
  26. Mar 5, 2014
    1
    This movie is an abomination, pure and simple. From the dirty references (The scene with the Cat, and the mom's picture anyone?), to the trashing of the original plot, it's obvious this project was doomed from the start. The only reason I even gave this film a 1 is because I feel sorry for Mike Myers; he gives the film the small amount of humour that it has. The man was sued and forced to be in this trash, and his career is ruined because of it. Expand
Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 37
  2. Negative: 27 out of 37
  1. Comes scarily close to being the most unendurable Hollywood creation of the last dozen years.
  2. Such a remarkable rift between its charming source material and its heinous cinematic realization that the producers may as well have skipped the hassle of securing licensing rights and simply called this mess Mike Myers: A--hole in Fur.
  3. Someone (Myers?) came up with the bright idea of turning the Cat in the Hat into the worst Vegas nightclub spritzer of 1958. He's become a furry version of Rip Taylor: a walking, talking vaudeville idiot box.