Universal Pictures | Release Date: August 5, 2011
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 130 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
57
Mixed:
51
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
ClaireBearOct 3, 2011
There were some moments that were like, "Really?". Some parts I felt like the writer and director went too far because they wanted to be all dramatic. However, the movie itself wasn't that bad and sexy Ryan Reynolds made up for it...
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
vscarterAug 6, 2011
This would have been a very good movie if they would have left out all the cursing, even though a lot of adults would not take their kids to see an R rated movie, this movie had the characters using very vulgar language in front of children.This would have been a very good movie if they would have left out all the cursing, even though a lot of adults would not take their kids to see an R rated movie, this movie had the characters using very vulgar language in front of children. It seems like directors, writers, and producers think they their movie won't make any money if they don't have vulgarity and sexual all the way through, but all of this takes away from the movie... Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
EliteF50Aug 7, 2011
All in all, a very funny movie. I honestly didn't know Jason Bateman could pull off such a **** character, but he did is perfectly! Ryan Reynolds was awesome as always. The best scene of the film? Mitch crying while filming the "lorno". IfAll in all, a very funny movie. I honestly didn't know Jason Bateman could pull off such a **** character, but he did is perfectly! Ryan Reynolds was awesome as always. The best scene of the film? Mitch crying while filming the "lorno". If you're looking for some laughs, go watch The Change-Up. But DO NOT bring children... it's a very vulgar film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
txrangersfan72Aug 6, 2011
Well, I officially disagree with apparently every critic on the planet. While the premise for this movie is tired, overdone and the green-lighting of this movie could have been considered a very questionable move, the fact is, the hard R TheWell, I officially disagree with apparently every critic on the planet. While the premise for this movie is tired, overdone and the green-lighting of this movie could have been considered a very questionable move, the fact is, the hard R The Change-Up has earned has also given a very adult and empathetic undertone. The movie has much more of a message than its vulgarity implies and it is flawlessly delivered by two of the most underrated comedic actors in Jason Bateman and Ryan Reynolds. I absolutely adored this movie, squirmed often, but eventually smiled a very pleasant smile at the pure sweetness of its message. I highly recommend it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryAug 11, 2011
Nothing about this story is fresh, but the comic ability of the two leads makes it funny. Jason Bateman plays a hard-working father of three and Ryan Reynolds is a carefree stud. Once their bodies switch, the mayhem beginsâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jdrandall38Aug 9, 2011
The Change up gives us a fresh take on the body-switch comedy genre. Most of the time, they are too light hearted and unreal. The Change-Up gives us a look at what REAL people probably would do if there was a situation like this (although,The Change up gives us a fresh take on the body-switch comedy genre. Most of the time, they are too light hearted and unreal. The Change-Up gives us a look at what REAL people probably would do if there was a situation like this (although, i get it, it will never happen). There was consistent funny and vulgar parts to this movie which had me laughing most of the way through the film. There was a little too much emotion in the movie though for a comedy, but it fits together alright. Worth Checking out for sure. 7/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JonDocOct 2, 2014
The low meta score is probably due to the amount of swearing and gross out gags, but most married, middle-aged men with young children may well find this movie hysterically funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oldmanyoungerAug 8, 2011
I saw this movie, Bridesmaids, and Horrible Bosses all in the past weekend. Of the three, this is the best. I hadn't laughed this much and been grossed out so much since the Hangover and the Harold & Kumar movies. I went in with REALLY lowI saw this movie, Bridesmaids, and Horrible Bosses all in the past weekend. Of the three, this is the best. I hadn't laughed this much and been grossed out so much since the Hangover and the Harold & Kumar movies. I went in with REALLY low expectations, and it didn't just surpass them, it was downright great with all of the shocks and surprises. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Khunter4382Dec 12, 2011
Come on! It was funny and that's that. It's not an Oscar winner of course, though Bateman's performance is hysterical and convincing! This film surprised me. I wasn't expecting much, but this one turned out to be quite funny and with a littleCome on! It was funny and that's that. It's not an Oscar winner of course, though Bateman's performance is hysterical and convincing! This film surprised me. I wasn't expecting much, but this one turned out to be quite funny and with a little dab of heart in there. Am I glad I didn't see it in the theatres and instead resorted to a $1 rental? Absolutely, only so as to save myself $8.50. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JoaoRodarteNov 3, 2011
This movie is really funny...

I laugh a lot watching it, the jokes aren't smart at all but at the end of it you realise that you are laughing really hard. As a serious movie, it's not good.. but that is not the point of it, anyway. If you
This movie is really funny...

I laugh a lot watching it, the jokes aren't smart at all but at the end of it you realise that you are laughing really hard.

As a serious movie, it's not good.. but that is not the point of it, anyway.

If you are looking for some casual fun with some dumb girl or even if you are too lazy to think too much and just wanna laugh, this movie can be a very nice coice.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Bruce722Nov 29, 2012
Very funny movie that has solid acting and some incredibly hilarious scenes. I liked the second half more than the first half because while the first half had some of the funnier elements, it was also a bit ridiculous at times. Ryan ReynoldsVery funny movie that has solid acting and some incredibly hilarious scenes. I liked the second half more than the first half because while the first half had some of the funnier elements, it was also a bit ridiculous at times. Ryan Reynolds and Jason Bateman are great as usual, Leslie Mann shines in one of her more expanded roles, and Olivia Wilde is absolutely stunning. I was a little disappointed she wasn't featured a bit more to be honest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
mikeisnowonfireJan 19, 2012
A very solid movie. An after-hours body switching movie. The Parent Trap for adults if you will. I thought Ryan Reynolds and Jason Bateman were hilarious, and Leslie Mann was brilliant again. Not much to say, but the movie does a nice jobA very solid movie. An after-hours body switching movie. The Parent Trap for adults if you will. I thought Ryan Reynolds and Jason Bateman were hilarious, and Leslie Mann was brilliant again. Not much to say, but the movie does a nice job of trying to squeeze a nice story in between all the poop. Really. Poop. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
WilshereFeb 15, 2012
The film at once ... A good, naive, sometimes funny. Deserves evaluation 6, but for actors add 1 more point. Olivia Wilde and Leslie Mann as beautiful as ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JesusPresleyMar 20, 2012
A new bro-mance standard.

I can't believe how poorly this movie reviewed. The lot of us sat there laughing our asses off ALL though. It shouldn't need to be said but if you know one of the characters get's a mouth full of baby poop in the
A new bro-mance standard.

I can't believe how poorly this movie reviewed. The lot of us sat there laughing our asses off ALL though. It shouldn't need to be said but if you know one of the characters get's a mouth full of baby poop in the opening scenes, you know as a movie buff and a person, it's time to really lower your standards.

As soon as you commit to watching a movie as implausible as two characters switching bodies because they both peed in public fountain while they were drunk, then you have to put your guard down; you cannot rate it like you would an art film. It's a comedy and a good one. Watch it with your friends though; movies like this are designed for a) people with a penis and b) external laughter. Schindler's List is for watching alone.

And yes, @RowenaB, dude movies rely heavily derision; it's a staple of male-on-male comedy. If you remove that then all you have left is chick flicks and what explosion-loving male wants to live in a world like that?

I'm rating this an 8 - as a comedy - not as a film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Many will be offended by the film and claim it has no respect for women, but I think The Change-Up does a great job developing the characters of both Mann and Wilde. It's also the funniest movie since The Hangover, and the best body-swapMany will be offended by the film and claim it has no respect for women, but I think The Change-Up does a great job developing the characters of both Mann and Wilde. It's also the funniest movie since The Hangover, and the best body-swap flick since Tom Hanks did Big back in the 80's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
rjfoxtrotMar 28, 2013
The Change-Up is a great best friends movie. While those who don't have a specific best friend who they've known since childhood might not enjoy this, all best friends should find it hilarious and heartwarming, if you can believe it. BatemanThe Change-Up is a great best friends movie. While those who don't have a specific best friend who they've known since childhood might not enjoy this, all best friends should find it hilarious and heartwarming, if you can believe it. Bateman and Reynalds are phenomenal together, and their female counterparts do a bang-up job too. Though some may find it offensive and disgusting (especially a scene where Bateman's infant son craps in his mouth), this movie is well done and definitely worth your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sammurphy66Jul 23, 2014
The Change up is undeniably bad - but it is also undeniable funny, offering better performances, a more amusing script, and being far more fair to its female leads than most comedies nowadays.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeMar 5, 2017
It's predictable, unoriginal, not always funny and the recurring joke about the baby banging his head was annoying, but it had great acting performances, the movie made sense and it was entertaining. The Change-Up might not be one of the bestIt's predictable, unoriginal, not always funny and the recurring joke about the baby banging his head was annoying, but it had great acting performances, the movie made sense and it was entertaining. The Change-Up might not be one of the best comedies out there, but it'll distract you for the entirety of it's running time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews