Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: December 9, 2005
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 690 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
373
Mixed:
104
Negative:
213
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
ChristineW.Jan 24, 2006
I expected it to be better, especially in the effects and CGI department. There were way too many scenes that looked so fake.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
VamicaV.Apr 9, 2006
So Poor such a disappointment! I never thought it was possible to screw up such a good story! Acting was so bad gr it pained me to watch
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
FDLHJan 11, 2006
I can't believe this film got such a high mark. It's extremely mawkish, simplistic, full of cinematographic commonplaces, clichés, and is sexist in many ways (queen =evil, king=young boy (although the sister discovered I can't believe this film got such a high mark. It's extremely mawkish, simplistic, full of cinematographic commonplaces, clichés, and is sexist in many ways (queen =evil, king=young boy (although the sister discovered everything in the first place)=good). In the end, it comes out as very common and trite. Mind you, the book is too, so why should the film be any better? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ATopJan 7, 2006
What a waste of $10- boring and stupid. Oh, and stupid.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
TimB.Jan 8, 2006
The only thing that saves this film is the special effects. The acting could be the worst I have seen in years. I am utterly confused how anyone could sit through a classic story, and see it portraited so poorly, and not be outraged. Disappointing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
TomAug 6, 2006
Rather boring, effects were good, but the film was restricted by the plots and story from the orginal book. The cast were very average at best and the pacing of the story itself was not particularly creative. Nothing in the film to make me Rather boring, effects were good, but the film was restricted by the plots and story from the orginal book. The cast were very average at best and the pacing of the story itself was not particularly creative. Nothing in the film to make me want to see it again. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
AzaanV.Jan 14, 2006
LOTR but it was changed so kids could understand. not good for anyone that questions stuff. you just have to believe everything fully to enjoy the movie. many anomolies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SouE.Jan 2, 2006
A religious war oriented movie, teaching young kids how to be good soldiers, good evangelists, disguised in a Harry Potter style... I feel a shamed to have given a contribution with my ticket price to a massive production of evangelists A religious war oriented movie, teaching young kids how to be good soldiers, good evangelists, disguised in a Harry Potter style... I feel a shamed to have given a contribution with my ticket price to a massive production of evangelists brainwashers. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
WilderS.Jan 5, 2006
Hurrah! The crusades are back! Let's start a war with "evil" so we can be Kings! Watch out for that little boy. He's not blond and he has a cold sore!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
VyP.Jun 21, 2008
Totally worst movie I saw. Can't believe somebody can watch it. The acting and visuals suck, not even talking about dump story.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
VladimirMMay 29, 2009
Same garbage as Lord of the rings. People who enjoyed TLOR will be bored with this movie because is exactly the same boring, long, child and stupid movie. If you really want a good "phantasy" book then read "Neverending history".
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
TylerW.May 18, 2006
Well, as far as small children(4-8)might enjoy this film. For the older crowd, this was an awful film. The acting is horrid(children almost always are bad)the plot is weak, and the action is sub-par at best. Pkease, if you wish to get a Well, as far as small children(4-8)might enjoy this film. For the older crowd, this was an awful film. The acting is horrid(children almost always are bad)the plot is weak, and the action is sub-par at best. Pkease, if you wish to get a friend into sword play action adventure, let them watch Lord of the Rings. Any LOTR is better than this sad moive. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JasonDec 26, 2005
What an awfully boring and amaturish movie! The acting of the kids was at the level of soap operas. The effects looked really bad compared to the best examples. In one scene where the four kids are supposed to stand on this snowy natural What an awfully boring and amaturish movie! The acting of the kids was at the level of soap operas. The effects looked really bad compared to the best examples. In one scene where the four kids are supposed to stand on this snowy natural rock bridge, they are overlaid against the sky and it looks like the movie was done in the 60s! The movie is both boring and rushed, I don't know how they managed this! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
StacyRDec 20, 2005
Is this what passes for grand entertianment these days? Trite acting and poor special effects? Disney poured a gigantic budget into the near failure of the year, and it shows how they had no clue on how to spend it. An editor, composer, and Is this what passes for grand entertianment these days? Trite acting and poor special effects? Disney poured a gigantic budget into the near failure of the year, and it shows how they had no clue on how to spend it. An editor, composer, and most of all director would have been a good start. Then we can move onto replacing the cast with leads that can actually do more than read off lines like a computer. A cold waste of film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LukeEDec 13, 2005
Absolutely devoid of talent or... well, that's it. Shots and film editing were handled like a freshman at film school, and the special effects looked like stock animations (and at times, b.g. images seemed prerendered liked a Hitchcock Absolutely devoid of talent or... well, that's it. Shots and film editing were handled like a freshman at film school, and the special effects looked like stock animations (and at times, b.g. images seemed prerendered liked a Hitchcock car ride). The costumes were shabby, as though taken from the dressing room of a community theatre, polished up, and dry-cleaned before shooting. And beginning with an air raid? For a moment I thought I had entered the wrong theatre. I'm not sure who approved this script, but fire them. No clear plot structre, a desperate hook (air raid) -- I'm not even sure which scene was intended to be the climax. It's a very casual, classic structure Lewis used, and for any writer to find it hard to adapt is simply laughable -- as is this film. A simple fantasy should not be handled as an epic. It only makes it sluggish. Oh, I'd nearly forgotten the grating soundtrack! Were the sound editor's headphones broken that he continued cranking up the score? Or was this an experiment in cramming unwanted emotion into the audience's ears and hoping to reach our bored little hearts? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RRDec 10, 2005
It's overlong, boring, feels like it was stitched together with a branding iron and has no depth whatsoever. No sense of dynamics, timing or atmosphere. I began to really loathe the wide-eyed-wonder-look in the kids' eyes, It's overlong, boring, feels like it was stitched together with a branding iron and has no depth whatsoever. No sense of dynamics, timing or atmosphere. I began to really loathe the wide-eyed-wonder-look in the kids' eyes, especially because my own eyes were constantly falling shut out of boredom. Two saving graces: Tilda Swinton is really evil (imagine having a mother like that and see what I mean), and the Lion is well done (from a special fx point of view). Best worst scene: the obnoxious children and two slightly less obnoxious beavers are being pursued by the witch; theythen take cover in a scene that SCREAMS "LOTR FOTR hobbits hiding from the Nazgul nudge nudge", when all of a sudden the beaver announces the coast is clear, it's just Santa Claus who's appeared to bestow valuable gifts to "eve's daughters" and "adam's sons". I kept rubbing my eyes, hoping this godawful scene was just a nightmare. Even the effects were at least two leagues below LOTR. The sets were kind of well done, but they all looked like ... sets. no suspension of disbelief for me, it all looked so... fake! Plus, the believability of a little boy slashing his way through rows of minotaurs and other evil creatures (who all look like LOTR pre-production rejects) is... kind of a lot to take. Save your money. This is such an obviously calculated, badly executed film to make you want to abstain from going to the cinema altogether. To even think of 6 more films in this series makes my stomach ache. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JonathanH.Dec 26, 2005
Disney
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
vladimirp.Dec 14, 2005
Ridiculous, boring, predictable, not for kids to much violence, not for adults not enough violence, bad fx, bad music, annoying actors especialy the little girl, i hate animals, stupid plot, worse ending, long. what can i say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
johnc.Dec 11, 2005
Disneyfide right down to the cheesy new-age soundtrack. I implore the estate of C.S. Lewis to choose a different studio for the sequels.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JelouiseR.Dec 11, 2005
C.S. Lewis is sometimes cited as "Tolkien for Slow Children". Whether that's fair or not, this movie can certanly be compared to the Lord of the Rings films in the same way. It's long, bland, shallow, and gratingly preachy, with so C.S. Lewis is sometimes cited as "Tolkien for Slow Children". Whether that's fair or not, this movie can certanly be compared to the Lord of the Rings films in the same way. It's long, bland, shallow, and gratingly preachy, with so many "homages" to the Tolkein films cinematography that much of the audience was snickering at the obvious cribbing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
EricSDec 11, 2005
I honestly expected quite a bit coming into "The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe", having enjoyed the book when I was seven or eight. Unfortunately, I was unpleasently surprised to find that other than the visual aspects of the film, what I I honestly expected quite a bit coming into "The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe", having enjoyed the book when I was seven or eight. Unfortunately, I was unpleasently surprised to find that other than the visual aspects of the film, what I had was... a "classic" that could have been written by a bunch of 6 year olds at Sunday school? The story was hopelessly sappy and predictable. If we need to sit through a 2 hour+ bible reenactment, at least try and be a little more subtle. Some of the dialogue sounded like it was written by an evangelical Christian. No wonder the Catholic Church saw the story as a viable "alternative" to Harry Potter, a far superior novel and movie. The children were well cast and reasonably talented, but unfourtunately they didn't have much to do other than cry and gaze in awe at the goofy talking animals and un-inspired settings. The White Witch was decently portrayed, but something felt a little off. Perhaps it was the feeling that I'd seen such a villain a hundred times before (in books and movies BEFORE Narnia.) The ending was by far the worst part of the film. Not only was it sappy and overwrought, but it felt way to rushed (although I hardly wanted to sit through any more). Maybe this was how it was in the book (I don't remembe the details), but it was nevertheless a poor way to wrap things up. The fact that every character ended up alive and well proves that "The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe" is purely a children's fairy tale and not worthy of all the praise heaped upon it. What reason was there to bring all the characters back if not to appease the story's target audience of 4 year olds? If you are in the mood for a shallow, undaring and mindless fairy tale complete with a healthy dose of preaching, see this movie. If not, finding something better shoudln't be too difficult. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TitusDec 10, 2005
Doesn't work well as allegory, the story itself is leaden, the acting and direction weak . . . the whole thing just bores. There is magic and greatness in the movie for about 10 mintues, but mostly there is just a weak movie Doesn't work well as allegory, the story itself is leaden, the acting and direction weak . . . the whole thing just bores. There is magic and greatness in the movie for about 10 mintues, but mostly there is just a weak movie masquerading as a blockbuster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SDec 16, 2005
J.ust wrote long review of how horrible this movie is, lost it, not bothering again. boring, with v.hateable child actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
LaraP.Dec 16, 2005
Just another film that does no justice to it's literature version. Although some scenes were nice to look at, purely for visual pleasure, the children lacked emotion, the witch fell flat, and the story was devoid of adventure. Even for Just another film that does no justice to it's literature version. Although some scenes were nice to look at, purely for visual pleasure, the children lacked emotion, the witch fell flat, and the story was devoid of adventure. Even for children it lacks the spirit that kids need these days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TedHDec 19, 2005
Ah, the old Disney game. Find the quickest, safest, easiest route to an adaptation, and profit will follow. However, will good cinema also follow? In the case of Narnia, the simple answer is No. A shame, as the movie has all of the right Ah, the old Disney game. Find the quickest, safest, easiest route to an adaptation, and profit will follow. However, will good cinema also follow? In the case of Narnia, the simple answer is No. A shame, as the movie has all of the right elements, but none of the ambition and nowhere near the talent needed to bring the tale to life. Forgettable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ScottCDec 21, 2005
Fell asleep during the showing... In the middle of the day. The attraction to this useless tale is beyond me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AndrewBDec 22, 2005
After taking an hour just to get all of the children into Narnia, I must say I was ready to leave the theater already. The film was very poorly done. Weak script, weak acting, weak music, weak effects. The sets all looked cheap, and the only After taking an hour just to get all of the children into Narnia, I must say I was ready to leave the theater already. The film was very poorly done. Weak script, weak acting, weak music, weak effects. The sets all looked cheap, and the only really good scene was the battle scene at the end. I expected a movie that pushed the boundaries on what an "epic" film can be and ended up seeing what an "epic" disaster that the Chronicles of Narnia was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SwethDec 23, 2005
Another review mentions that "you'll laugh and you'll cry", which was very true when I saw the movie--people couldn't help but laugh at the ridiculous death scene of the dwarf, and I wanted to cry at the end over the hours of Another review mentions that "you'll laugh and you'll cry", which was very true when I saw the movie--people couldn't help but laugh at the ridiculous death scene of the dwarf, and I wanted to cry at the end over the hours of my life that had just been wasted. It was impressive how poorly made this movie was. The acting, which was probably the best part of the movie, was mediocre at best. The "plot" (which was never very complex in the book, and thus should have been fairly simple to adapt into a movie) was reduced to a series of rushed scenes with no real coherence, and it was obvious which scenes (like the crossing of the river or Lucy one-upping Susan during target practice) had been added by the scriptwriters to try to "jazz up" the plot, because those were by far the most leaden and pointless; the scriptwriters also managed to squeeze out every trace of the one thing that really made the book interesting--the internal struggles of the kids. Even the CGI was miserable; I've seen movies from the 70s with less artificial backgrounds. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BillJ.Dec 27, 2005
Drudgery, religious gobbledeegook.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JoshS.Apr 23, 2006
I cannot for the life of me understand why this movie got so many positive reviews. It wasn't a terrible movie; the soundtrack was phenomenal and the voice acting was well done. But the wooden performances, the 90's-level CGI, the I cannot for the life of me understand why this movie got so many positive reviews. It wasn't a terrible movie; the soundtrack was phenomenal and the voice acting was well done. But the wooden performances, the 90's-level CGI, the abysmal pacing...I definitely expected more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ScotDec 19, 2005
Only gets a two because the amazing possibilties alluded to in Tilda Swinton's performance. Had the script been better, she would have been amazing- as it was, she was the only good thing in a mess. Child actors all very unappealing- Only gets a two because the amazing possibilties alluded to in Tilda Swinton's performance. Had the script been better, she would have been amazing- as it was, she was the only good thing in a mess. Child actors all very unappealing- Aslan disappointing and more in the spirit of summer Hollywood crap than the strange amalgam of mythology and religion that Lewis wrote. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
wilsoncoolMar 16, 2015
This is not my LOTR. This movie so close with harry blooper and bit better than twilight but not for oscar best picture such as LOTR trilogy. Yes the chronicles of narnia is decent and worth watching. Far from my expectation because LOTR andThis is not my LOTR. This movie so close with harry blooper and bit better than twilight but not for oscar best picture such as LOTR trilogy. Yes the chronicles of narnia is decent and worth watching. Far from my expectation because LOTR and narnia has the same story, about war in other world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews