User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 157 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 157
  2. Negative: 21 out of 157
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 26, 2010
    5
    The books give you some very engaging and enthralling experiences -- especially The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; however, the way it unfolds on the big screen is the direct opposite. The action, while solid is mundane, while the story collapses mid-way through. I became so uninterested in the film I dozed off on several occasions, wishing it was over. But even with its flaws and frivolousThe books give you some very engaging and enthralling experiences -- especially The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; however, the way it unfolds on the big screen is the direct opposite. The action, while solid is mundane, while the story collapses mid-way through. I became so uninterested in the film I dozed off on several occasions, wishing it was over. But even with its flaws and frivolous attempts at imitating the Bible, the movie does have some heart buried in its insipid situations. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2010
    6
    It had a great storyline, which was adapted by the captivating novel of C.S Lewis. However after watching both the first 2 movies of this series, I felt that this one lacked in the thrill that you should get from Narnia. I guess my expectations were demanding to the movie. However, what I also liked about the first 2 movies were that there were battles and both Peter and Susan wereIt had a great storyline, which was adapted by the captivating novel of C.S Lewis. However after watching both the first 2 movies of this series, I felt that this one lacked in the thrill that you should get from Narnia. I guess my expectations were demanding to the movie. However, what I also liked about the first 2 movies were that there were battles and both Peter and Susan were involved. Their characteristics made the first 2 movies a great success. Their lack of appearance in this film let down the aura of friendship of sibling rivalry. The effects were good yet felt that the trailer was even better than the movie. All in all it was a good movie. 6/10 Expand
  3. Jan 17, 2011
    5
    I'm quite the fan of the fantasy genre but unfortunately that didn't much help the fact that this was a boring film and I was really disappointed in this third part of the trilogy. As others have remarked upon, I agree, that the Narnia films tends to cater to a younger public than for example the Harry Potter series - and with my thirty one years I guess I'm not even supposed to be a greatI'm quite the fan of the fantasy genre but unfortunately that didn't much help the fact that this was a boring film and I was really disappointed in this third part of the trilogy. As others have remarked upon, I agree, that the Narnia films tends to cater to a younger public than for example the Harry Potter series - and with my thirty one years I guess I'm not even supposed to be a great fan.. Anyways I'd say that it's an OK film for the younger audience and it won't kill parents to see it. The first film was good (largely thanks to Tilda Swinton's performance) and the second one really bad so by comparison the third is quite watchable - the style of acting is very theatrical, the sets often looks cheap and I never could get past how sleep inducing Liam Neeson is in his portrayal of Aslan but I guess that's all of the negative I have to say.. Watchable if you absolutely must but boring... Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2010
    5
    Some people call the Narnia films the "poor man's Harry Potter", but I think they are missing the point. The Narnia films seem geared more towards young children while Potter is more sophisticated and appealing to adults as well. I'm not a fan of the Narnia films but I have seen all three. This one is my favorite of the three because of the fantastic special effects. The acting isSome people call the Narnia films the "poor man's Harry Potter", but I think they are missing the point. The Narnia films seem geared more towards young children while Potter is more sophisticated and appealing to adults as well. I'm not a fan of the Narnia films but I have seen all three. This one is my favorite of the three because of the fantastic special effects. The acting is still wooden, the dialogue unnatural, the characters bland, but I wouldn't be surprised if this film wins for special effects come Oscar time. Although I'm not a huge fan of 3D, they did a good job with the technology. The one bright spot with the acting was the kid that played Eustace - he was a hoot and actually had PERSONALITY. Something sorely missing from the other characters. Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2010
    5
    Just as C.S. Lewis' books dropped in popularity after "The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe", I believe the film adaptations might be doing the same. Granted I enjoyed "Prince Caspian" way more than I enjoyed "The Lion and the Witch" (probably because there was a huge battle at the end), but I think Fox made a mistake when it changed directors from "Prince Caspian" to "Dawn Treader". IJust as C.S. Lewis' books dropped in popularity after "The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe", I believe the film adaptations might be doing the same. Granted I enjoyed "Prince Caspian" way more than I enjoyed "The Lion and the Witch" (probably because there was a huge battle at the end), but I think Fox made a mistake when it changed directors from "Prince Caspian" to "Dawn Treader". I don't know why Fox switched directors, but I do know that I would have much rather seen Andrew Adamson's (Shrek 1 & 2) version of "Dawn Treader" than seeing the one I saw directed by Michael Apted ("The World is not Enough"). Read full review at FlicksWorthWatching.com Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2012
    6
    The movie is good, but, the biggest problem is that the Narnia that all meet, die, an in a terrible mode. The magic creatures don't appear, be much humans, and this magic stories, don't appear.
  7. Apr 4, 2011
    6
    good screenplay. eye popping visual effects. captivating cinematography mars the weak narrative and bad editing of the movie. it is a typical narnia movie made without soul and life. a story that seems complex enough is not really complex. a complex tale ends as a simple snake battle. the story of seven swords is good to hear and audience expect a real thrill ride in second half. but itgood screenplay. eye popping visual effects. captivating cinematography mars the weak narrative and bad editing of the movie. it is a typical narnia movie made without soul and life. a story that seems complex enough is not really complex. a complex tale ends as a simple snake battle. the story of seven swords is good to hear and audience expect a real thrill ride in second half. but it becomes cheaper and looks B grade kind of movie in the end. lack of strong narrative and weakness in editing makes this edition as a fragile one. it is though appreciable for visual effects and cinematography. in the end narnia : voyage of dawn treader is a movie of high expectations but ends up as a regular one. Expand
  8. Dec 18, 2010
    4
    Fans most likely would enjoy this and going to this would kind of only be worth it to them, but with a story that is flat and does a complete circle with a sense of urgency, "Dawn Voyager" is either really boring or is overall alright for people that either havenâ
  9. Dec 12, 2010
    4
    This movie was very mediocre. Most of the characters are very one-dimensional and bland. Eustace was the only character that was drawn-out well and turned out to be multi-faceted as we see his transformation in the end. The visual FX were very cheesy for the most part but I've heard this movie had a smaller budget than the previous two which were produced by Disney. Still, this movieThis movie was very mediocre. Most of the characters are very one-dimensional and bland. Eustace was the only character that was drawn-out well and turned out to be multi-faceted as we see his transformation in the end. The visual FX were very cheesy for the most part but I've heard this movie had a smaller budget than the previous two which were produced by Disney. Still, this movie looked and felt like a loosely-filmed and low-budget British TV drama more than anything. This is a family-friendly alternative to the edgy first part of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, but it pales in comparison quality-wise. If you like bland and preachy films that feel perfect for Sunday school, you will love this latest Narnia installment more so than its two Disney precedents. Expand
  10. Jan 5, 2011
    6
    Aside from the great animations created and used the storyline moved like it seemed it would. Adding more sponk into the movie would give it more to the viewers. More mystery or something to spring on the viewers maybe.
  11. Apr 16, 2011
    6
    Definitely was not the best in the series. I loved the first one so much, and the second one I didn't like too much, and this one is in the middle. I did enjoy the two Pevensie children and especially loved their cousin. Though a little annoying, he did crack a laugh out of me. I found that I really had to pay attention to know what was going on and sometimes got rather confused. I didDefinitely was not the best in the series. I loved the first one so much, and the second one I didn't like too much, and this one is in the middle. I did enjoy the two Pevensie children and especially loved their cousin. Though a little annoying, he did crack a laugh out of me. I found that I really had to pay attention to know what was going on and sometimes got rather confused. I did overall enjoy it though. Expand
  12. May 29, 2011
    6
    It's a good movie, nothing at all though. The story is cool but doesn't develops that much, and in my opinion if it weren't for the cool most nagging character I've ever seen in movies, Eustace, which at the principle he's a dumb and you wish him to die on the first seconds that he appeared but then he's the responsible for the big moments of the film, fairly for that said that if wasn'tIt's a good movie, nothing at all though. The story is cool but doesn't develops that much, and in my opinion if it weren't for the cool most nagging character I've ever seen in movies, Eustace, which at the principle he's a dumb and you wish him to die on the first seconds that he appeared but then he's the responsible for the big moments of the film, fairly for that said that if wasn't for him, the movie would been even more boring to watch. The special effects are good, in 2D, the 3D really left much to desire, the performances are average such as in the previous movies, they're good. Anyway, it's a good movie, but it is very warm, better than the second movie and much lower than the first. Expand
  13. Mar 21, 2011
    5
    This movie was okay! I clearly can pinpoint several diferences from the previous films in this series! The acting was a bit tense and dry. Also, when it comes to 3D I recommend to stay away from such unless it is really good and this wasn't really good in 3D.
  14. Jul 5, 2011
    5
    This is a very average movie in terms of interest...while the CGI and effects are convincing, storyline is a convoluted mess of stories and episodes that don't end up adding to a good movie experience..
  15. Dec 10, 2011
    5
    After two wonderful films I was hoping for "The Voyage of the Dawn Treader" to follow the steps of its predecessors. Unfortunately, my expectations were not fully met.
  16. Aug 24, 2014
    6
    The third installment in the Chronicles of Narnia - and in my opinion, not much better than the first one.

    I don't know what exactly bugged me about this film. The beginning was very quick, but it did managed to introduce the current situation of our heroes Edmond, Lucy - and their cousin Eustace, who was a bit of a nuisance well over halfway through the movie. His antics were amusing,
    The third installment in the Chronicles of Narnia - and in my opinion, not much better than the first one.

    I don't know what exactly bugged me about this film. The beginning was very quick, but it did managed to introduce the current situation of our heroes Edmond, Lucy - and their cousin Eustace, who was a bit of a nuisance well over halfway through the movie. His antics were amusing, but everything gets a little stale when you've seen too much of it.

    At least he got his change of heart before the end...

    They meet up with old friends: Ben Barnes as Prince Caspian (still cute as a button and a delight to watch, although he had dropped the accent he had in the second movie.... I don't know what that was about since I thought it was a Telmarian thing) and Reepicheep.

    The plot, this time, didn't really aim for one big battle for Narnia. I'm not sure why exactly Caspian was sailing with the Dawn Treader (maybe they said it somewhere, I may have missed it), and what he was looking for, and maybe I need another viewing of this movie to get the reason for their final battle too and what was really going on in there.

    The special effects were fantastic, as before. The movie kept pushing forward all the time, showing new places, creatures and enemies, taking them through exciting adventures.

    Only at some point I just couldn't feel the excitement. I could see it, hear it - but not really feel it. Like it was aimless somehow.

    An okay movie, worth seeing and watching again, but on the first time at least it felt like something important was missing.

    I must also confess that a few times when the music began to play, it was like they were going to play a score from "The Pirates of the Caribbean" or something, and some of the scenery was very similar to that as well...

    Either way, it you're a fan of fantasy or Narnia, go see this movie. An entertaining film with a lot of action and some humor, if nothing else!
    Expand
  17. Sep 11, 2012
    6
    Well, um....I really expected this one to be the best, but I lament myself by saying it is the least best of the entire saga: Yes, this one is the one with more magic, more jolly creatures and talking animals, less and more slow fighting plus it's more kid-friendly, unlike Prince Caspian. Well, it is a little boring, but it yet does not deserve a 5, because it is still kinda good. If youWell, um....I really expected this one to be the best, but I lament myself by saying it is the least best of the entire saga: Yes, this one is the one with more magic, more jolly creatures and talking animals, less and more slow fighting plus it's more kid-friendly, unlike Prince Caspian. Well, it is a little boring, but it yet does not deserve a 5, because it is still kinda good. If you wanna see it, see it. If you don't, it's gonna be the same. Expand
  18. Dec 8, 2012
    5
    Well...the third installment of the Narnia Saga is a decent addition, at best. It lacked in almost every area that first two films succeeded at. Do not get me wrong, I really enjoyed the film as a whole, but do not be expecting a film similar to the first two.
    The visual effects were absolutely stunning, even better in 3D, definitely the best aspect of the film. The story was good, too.
    Well...the third installment of the Narnia Saga is a decent addition, at best. It lacked in almost every area that first two films succeeded at. Do not get me wrong, I really enjoyed the film as a whole, but do not be expecting a film similar to the first two.
    The visual effects were absolutely stunning, even better in 3D, definitely the best aspect of the film. The story was good, too. The thing that really set me off was the acting. In the first two, with there being 4 characters, each role was smaller and more dependant of the others. In this film, the eldest characters aren't in the film, leaving the 2 youngests actors to carry the entire film. It was not executed as brilliantly as the first films. The young actors simply weren't up to par; it has nothing to do with their ability. It seemed like they could not keep up with the large scale of the story. Ben Barnes gave a good performance though. He was very convincing as King Caspian. Eustace is one of the most annoying characters ever. I secretly wished he would have died.
    With all this being said, overall, I enjoyed the film. No, it doesn't do any justice to the saga, but it certainly does not do it disservice either. If you are a big fan of the first two films, I recommend that you see this film. You will enjoy it still, as I did.
    Expand
  19. Apr 23, 2015
    4
    The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader is fantasy-lite. With its PG rating and aversion to anything shocking or overly grotesque, it's the bastard stepchild of The Lord of the Rings or Harry Potter. A dull, meandering storyline and visuals all-but destroyed by a second-rate 3-D conversion make this movie inferior to its predecessors, The Lion, The Witch and the WardrobeThe Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader is fantasy-lite. With its PG rating and aversion to anything shocking or overly grotesque, it's the bastard stepchild of The Lord of the Rings or Harry Potter. A dull, meandering storyline and visuals all-but destroyed by a second-rate 3-D conversion make this movie inferior to its predecessors, The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe and Prince Caspian. The "quest" element, a common fantasy staple, is uninspired and perfunctory, and there's a growing sense throughout the movie that there's no real point to any of what is occurring. This isn't much a problem in C.S. Lewis' source novel, an allegorical children's fable about faith and the fantastical, but it does not translate well to a motion picture.

    In 2005, following the success of The Lord of the Rings and the early Harry Potter films, Disney decided they wanted their own fantasy franchise. Instead of choosing something newer and edgier, they went with C.S. Lewis' The Chronicles of Narnia, a lightweight in the genre, but one that could deliver two key demographics: younger children and church-going Christians. The latter group was specifically targeted because of Lewis' religious reputation and his admission that his beloved books were Christian allegories. However, after the success of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, enthusiasm dried up for Prince Caspian. Disney, disappointed by the box office returns of the second installment and concerned that the lack of a narrative drive in The Voyage of the Dawn Treader could make it unpopular, bailed on the series. 20th Century Fox replaced Disney as Walden Media's partner in the venture, but this could be a one-film deal. Unless The Voyage of the Dawn Treader does better in multiplexes than is currently predicted, Narnia's live-action feature films will stall at three. (The series contains seven books, although two are outside the main chronology.) The Last Battle will probably never reach the screen, which is disappointing, since it would have been interesting to see how the filmmakers might have handled an apocalyptic story that is essentially unfilmable.

    In an attempt to bring some structure to the narrative, the movie occasionally departs in significant ways from the book. In fact, arguably the most energetic element of the movie - a lengthy battle with a gigantic sea serpent - has been contrived for the screen. Still, even with the quest sharpened (the seven swords, when gathered and placed on Aslan's Table, can shift the balance from evil to good and free the prisoners of The Dark Island), The Voyage of the Dawn Treader meanders. The trek demands nearly two hours, but it's hard to argue that the destination is worth the time investment.

    Character development is perfunctory. There's an irony here; director Michael Apted is best known for his Up Series of movies, cinematic records of the lives of a group of British men and women over 42 years (and counting). As such, Apted is the author of arguably the greatest documentary character study ever committed to film. One would expect more vivid - or at least interesting - personalities to emerge even from a fictional endeavor. However, despite this being the third time viewers have traveled alongside Lucy and Edmund, they fail to stand out as memorable or remarkable. A similar complaint can be made about Caspian, although this is only his second movie. Eustace is a generic brat. The two most compelling individuals are brought to life by special effects: the swashbuckling mouse Reepicheep (whose voice is provided by Simon Pegg) and Eustace the Dragon. Once the boy has become a monster, he carries the tragedy of his circumstances like a mantle, and it's touching to see the dragon's tears.

    The Voyage of the Dawn Treader features some odd shifts in tone. A sequence involving a group of invisible creatures feels like it was lifted from an unproduced Monty Python movie. Eustace's character arc contains elements of pathos. And there's sadness at the end when the finality of certain farewells is made clear. Throughout the movie, many common fantasy elements are present, including a dungeon and a dragon, but the essential simplicity and lack of ambition make The Voyage of the Dawn Treader an unremarkable and somewhat boring trip.
    Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Dec 15, 2010
    40
    It takes great skill to make something so ponderously stultifying as this third film entry in the ongoing adaptation of C.S. Lewis' series of splendidly imagined children's books.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 10, 2010
    50
    It's difficult to make this mediocre adaptation of perhaps the best-loved book in C.S. Lewis' Narnia series -- seem particularly interesting.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 10, 2010
    75
    The Dawn Treader doesn't so much reinvent the "Narnia" franchise as do what's needed, and expected, with a little more zip than the previous voyages.