User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 141
  2. Negative: 19 out of 141

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    Another great addition to the Narnia series, full of heart, spirituality and emotional complexity- it is also visually dazzling with great acting, music, direction and speed. It is a film that feels more real due to the 'temptations' that are in it. Very spiritual and uplifting. Great entertainment.
  2. Jun 20, 2013
    2
    Las cronicas de Narnia siempre sorprende en cada pelicula cada vez menos, claro que en la primera demostro ser buenisima, la segunda paso y era aceptable pero ya la tercera fue un desastre total.
  3. Mar 21, 2013
    7
    I prefer the Narnia series over the Harry Potter series. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader was the best to me, even without the full cast. Lion, Witch, and the Wardrobe was good to. I never saw the second one. But this movie had good acting, good story, good effects. I like the film very much 3D was pointless. Aparently America is just going through 3D like we went through Silly Bands or Williow Smith. The movie was something good I'd watch it. Don't get me wrong The Harry Potter series is good. Narnia just seems more 'Magical' if you know what I mean it feels like something for the whole family, whereas Harry Potter seems like something for 13 and up orr something you show at school. Watch It. Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2012
    5
    Well...the third installment of the Narnia Saga is a decent addition, at best. It lacked in almost every area that first two films succeeded at. Do not get me wrong, I really enjoyed the film as a whole, but do not be expecting a film similar to the first two.
    The visual effects were absolutely stunning, even better in 3D, definitely the best aspect of the film. The story was good, too.
    The thing that really set me off was the acting. In the first two, with there being 4 characters, each role was smaller and more dependant of the others. In this film, the eldest characters aren't in the film, leaving the 2 youngests actors to carry the entire film. It was not executed as brilliantly as the first films. The young actors simply weren't up to par; it has nothing to do with their ability. It seemed like they could not keep up with the large scale of the story. Ben Barnes gave a good performance though. He was very convincing as King Caspian. Eustace is one of the most annoying characters ever. I secretly wished he would have died.
    With all this being said, overall, I enjoyed the film. No, it doesn't do any justice to the saga, but it certainly does not do it disservice either. If you are a big fan of the first two films, I recommend that you see this film. You will enjoy it still, as I did.
    Expand
  5. Sep 11, 2012
    6
    Well, um....I really expected this one to be the best, but I lament myself by saying it is the least best of the entire saga: Yes, this one is the one with more magic, more jolly creatures and talking animals, less and more slow fighting plus it's more kid-friendly, unlike Prince Caspian. Well, it is a little boring, but it yet does not deserve a 5, because it is still kinda good. If you wanna see it, see it. If you don't, it's gonna be the same. Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2012
    3
    Dazzling visuals and some solid performances don't help this campy, not-so-fantastical,boring, fantasy. It has bloated action and dialogue, along with choppy editing and pace. The worst installment yet. I give this movie 28%.
  7. Mar 28, 2012
    6
    The movie is good, but, the biggest problem is that the Narnia that all meet, die, an in a terrible mode. The magic creatures don't appear, be much humans, and this magic stories, don't appear.
  8. HMW
    Mar 8, 2012
    8
    This movie was good, went back to the fantasy of the first movie and again stayed true to the book. The only reason why I did not give it a 10 because of that annoying cousin. But overall a great movie!
  9. Dec 21, 2011
    3
    J'ai trouvé que ce troisième opus était un véritable gâchis! Surtout du fait que la saga venait d'avoir un gain de qualité avec Le Prince Caspian. Mais cette Odysée du Passeur d'Aurore fait retomber le tout bien bas, et ce à cause de nombreux défauts : mal joué, effets numériques inégaux, un manque flagrant de spectaculaire et de magie, mauvaises photographie et mise en scène... Bref, j'ai vraiment eu l'impression de regarder un banal téléfilm plutôt qu'autre chose, qui atteint également un niveau de niaiserie jamais vu dans un tel produit grand public (cela est dû aux dialogues et à la musique). Je ne retiendrai que la légère dose de comique apportée par le personnage d'Eustache ainsi que la séquence divertissante du serpent de mer. A part cela, je mis suis royalement ennuyé, n'ayant pas vu un opus à la hauteur du précédent... pour ne pas dire de la saga... Expand
  10. Dec 10, 2011
    5
    After two wonderful films I was hoping for "The Voyage of the Dawn Treader" to follow the steps of its predecessors. Unfortunately, my expectations were not fully met.
  11. Nov 24, 2011
    8
    Though Voyage of the Dawn Treader is possibly my favorite book in the series, it is not so with the movies. It adds story-lines that don't belong- as if the book weren't good enough. However I am willing to forgive that, because as a whole it had a lot that should be celebrated. LWW still remains as the best, but this one is better than PC. A terrific movie for the family.
  12. Nov 5, 2011
    7
    This is going to be a tough one for fans to enjoy, I personally enjoyed it, it appealed to my sense of adventure (that I didn't know I had), and packs some really cool and memorable moments about half way through, and some truly emotional and spectacular ones also, the problem is that it doesn't get interesting until about half way through, it starts off very boring, and honestly I didn't want to finish it, but boy am I glad I did, once the action starts it wont stop, and has a fantastic ending, and truly likable characters, also a few humorous moments, if your a fan of the series you should like this, just know you have to wait a while before it gets good. Expand
  13. Aug 11, 2011
    0
    This was by far the worst movie out of all 3 of them!!! I cant even begin to express how disgusted I am in this one!! I understand the movies cant be exactly the same the story, but come on.... the 3rd one was sooooo way off!!!! I have read and reread the ENTIRE book at least 5 times. Every story was awesome, just brilliantly amazing!!! They could have at least kept to the storyline. I feel bad for people who liked the movie, that just means they didnt read the book and if they did, well then SHAME on them for thinking the movie was good!!! If you have read the book and have not seen the movie I BEG you to please DO NOT watch it!! If you are a true Narnian fan as much as I am, you will regret WASTING your money on such a horrible, awful, useless movie that will leave you saying OMG thats not how it happened and/or OMG why did they change the story line was perfect they should have left it the way it was!!! Even in the second one if you are true Narnian you know half the stuff was not even remotely close to how it happened in the book. so you know I am NOT LYING when I say the 3rd was awful just awful, but hey watch it for yourself and then come back and tell me I am wrong, but I know you true fans wont!!! Expand
  14. Jul 5, 2011
    5
    This is a very average movie in terms of interest...while the CGI and effects are convincing, storyline is a convoluted mess of stories and episodes that don't end up adding to a good movie experience..
  15. Jun 27, 2011
    7
    it was a nice movie, except for the fact that i watched it in 3D and it wasn't actually 3D. it's one of those "i thought it would be better" movies. it doesn't hurt watching it, but... i recommend that watch some other stuff and then watch this IF there is nothing else to watch. it is nice though.
  16. May 29, 2011
    6
    It's a good movie, nothing at all though. The story is cool but doesn't develops that much, and in my opinion if it weren't for the cool most nagging character I've ever seen in movies, Eustace, which at the principle he's a dumb and you wish him to die on the first seconds that he appeared but then he's the responsible for the big moments of the film, fairly for that said that if wasn't for him, the movie would been even more boring to watch. The special effects are good, in 2D, the 3D really left much to desire, the performances are average such as in the previous movies, they're good. Anyway, it's a good movie, but it is very warm, better than the second movie and much lower than the first. Expand
  17. Apr 16, 2011
    6
    Definitely was not the best in the series. I loved the first one so much, and the second one I didn't like too much, and this one is in the middle. I did enjoy the two Pevensie children and especially loved their cousin. Though a little annoying, he did crack a laugh out of me. I found that I really had to pay attention to know what was going on and sometimes got rather confused. I did overall enjoy it though. Expand
  18. Apr 4, 2011
    6
    good screenplay. eye popping visual effects. captivating cinematography mars the weak narrative and bad editing of the movie. it is a typical narnia movie made without soul and life. a story that seems complex enough is not really complex. a complex tale ends as a simple snake battle. the story of seven swords is good to hear and audience expect a real thrill ride in second half. but it becomes cheaper and looks B grade kind of movie in the end. lack of strong narrative and weakness in editing makes this edition as a fragile one. it is though appreciable for visual effects and cinematography. in the end narnia : voyage of dawn treader is a movie of high expectations but ends up as a regular one. Expand
  19. Mar 21, 2011
    5
    This movie was okay! I clearly can pinpoint several diferences from the previous films in this series! The acting was a bit tense and dry. Also, when it comes to 3D I recommend to stay away from such unless it is really good and this wasn't really good in 3D.
  20. Mar 5, 2011
    10
    the previous two installments were amazing, and I think that this third installment is also amazing. There's a Place for Us in this beautiful and yet action packed Narnia movie.
  21. Feb 23, 2011
    8
    I like this movie it had some action a big boat and a whinny kid who was actually quite funny. So why then did I give it a 8, because of one thing, stupidity. Yes stupidity not of the storyline (although they could have killed the whinny kid)but of the characters. here's a sample "lets go sleep on an island we didn't know existed but do know is full of potential danger and not post a watch. I know we have a perfectly safe boat that has some comfy beds but getting killed is much more fun" that is the sort of thing that ruined the movie and the fact that no whinny kids died. Expand
  22. Feb 22, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, it´s a very good saga on BOOKS!! In the first movie is good; in the second it was boring and without the things that tell the book (like Harry Potter or Twilight) but the third movie has all previous things in one movie
    For me, don´t like =I
    RastamarlinÆ
    Expand
  23. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    While I personally like the Prince Caspian movie, it didn't really feel as memorable as watching The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe back in 2005. With this new Narnia movie however, I really felt as satisfied as I was when I watched the first one.
  24. Jan 25, 2011
    7
    After the amazing first two movies in the series, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader is a bit of a let down. This is not to say that it is terrible movie rather that it just didn't live up to my expectations. Nothing was really bad about the movie but nothing great stands out in my mind either. I am hoping that if The Silver Chair is made it will restore the series as The Dawn Treader just didn't live up to the first two. Expand
  25. Jan 22, 2011
    3
    Trough the film the spectator loses the interest in the story because all the situations are solved easily and the Christian message is evident. The 3-D effects aren't good and maybe it is better to see it in 2-D.
  26. Jan 17, 2011
    5
    I'm quite the fan of the fantasy genre but unfortunately that didn't much help the fact that this was a boring film and I was really disappointed in this third part of the trilogy. As others have remarked upon, I agree, that the Narnia films tends to cater to a younger public than for example the Harry Potter series - and with my thirty one years I guess I'm not even supposed to be a great fan.. Anyways I'd say that it's an OK film for the younger audience and it won't kill parents to see it. The first film was good (largely thanks to Tilda Swinton's performance) and the second one really bad so by comparison the third is quite watchable - the style of acting is very theatrical, the sets often looks cheap and I never could get past how sleep inducing Liam Neeson is in his portrayal of Aslan but I guess that's all of the negative I have to say.. Watchable if you absolutely must but boring... Expand
  27. Jan 11, 2011
    8
    The best of Narnia movies so far. I like the way the story goes. About how they get into Narnia world again by the picture of seas with Dawn Treader. I like the dragon. This film is full of magic. Narnia Magic, i say.
  28. Jan 6, 2011
    7
    After the catastrophe of the last two movies Disney dropped the Narnia series. This film was then picked up by fox who recruited director Micheal Apted to pick up and breathe new life into the series. Has it worked? Well sorta. He has certainly done his job. It is a nice light fantasy movie which doesn't deliver the scale of the previous two movies but still manages to engage. Sure there are better films you can go and see at the moment but this is an ok film. The CG is decent and the final battle is spectacular. The acting however of Georgie Henlet and Skander keyes an Edward and Lucy is not very good as they deliever very wooden perfomances. Ben Barnes drops the Mediterranean accent and returns as Prince Caspian with and does a god job but the real star of this movie is the brilliant Will Poulter who plays the annoying cousin eustace who is by far the best thing about this movie. He had his start in 'Son of Rambow' and I hope to see him again in the future. So in short a decent film apart from 'shoving religion down our throat' aspect. This isnt a spoiler but its obvious ASLAN=JESUS. Nothing special but a good family film for christmas. Expand
  29. Jan 5, 2011
    6
    Aside from the great animations created and used the storyline moved like it seemed it would. Adding more sponk into the movie would give it more to the viewers. More mystery or something to spring on the viewers maybe.
  30. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    It is really awesome movie. I like book and were glad to watch good screen version of it. It didn't disappoint me. Honestly, I was excited to watch this fight between Good and Evil inside personages. This fim made me think again about my life and what is more important. I can't be indifferent looking wise t and magnificent Aslan. Of course, my atheistic sister wasn't involved so deep in this story. But how says Author or Aslan - all miracles of Narnia are available for kids or for person who can feel like a children. Once Jesus commanded us to be like a child. 10 Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Dec 15, 2010
    40
    It takes great skill to make something so ponderously stultifying as this third film entry in the ongoing adaptation of C.S. Lewis' series of splendidly imagined children's books.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 10, 2010
    50
    It's difficult to make this mediocre adaptation of perhaps the best-loved book in C.S. Lewis' Narnia series -- seem particularly interesting.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 10, 2010
    75
    The Dawn Treader doesn't so much reinvent the "Narnia" franchise as do what's needed, and expected, with a little more zip than the previous voyages.