Metascore
22

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Sep 8, 2012
    38
    A preposterous thriller where the only thing more disappointing than the ending is the 93 minutes it takes to get there.
  2. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Sep 8, 2012
    25
    The Cold Light Of Day is the antithesis of a labor of love; it's a cold, mercenary endeavor that, like the thematically similar Taylor Lautner vehicle "Abduction," diligently ignores the potentially intriguing issues of family and identity its plot raises.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Sep 8, 2012
    20
    A catastrophe worth noting only for the presence of its name cast.
  4. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Sep 4, 2012
    12
    Relates more or less the same story as Spy Kids, though in this case the kid is in his late 20s and the spy stuff is much less believable or robust.
  5. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 12, 2012
    0
    Weaver and Willis look bored silly while essaying their paint-by-numbers roles, and this film does nothing to make me think Cavill is going to be Zack Snyder's Superman incarnate.
User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Sep 21, 2012
    3
    It's clear that Cavill has some talent, and he's got the look, physicality , and charm to be an action star. The problem with this film is that the writing (the structure of the screenplay in particular) and directing are horrible. They squander both Willis and Weaver, who look mildly interested in the proceedings, and nothing more. I was thinking that any episode of Strike Back on Cinemax buries this film. Full Review »
  2. Dec 30, 2013
    4
    This movie just felt lazy to me. It’s like the production just said, “Forget decent action, forget likable characters, forget about having a decent antagonist and let’s focus on spending the entire budget on getting Bruce Willis to phone-in his role like he does in everything he’s in.” And since the budget was probably small, Willis’ role is incredibly short. For the most part, this film is just forgettable as it does little to stand out. Full Review »
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    0
    I found this exceedingly boring. Not because I found the actors boring (in fact Henry Cavill and Bruce Willis are my favourites) but because the directing and the structure of the movie it felt monotonous, frankly. Full Review »