Metascore
22

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Will Shaw goes to Spain for a week long sailing vacation with his family but soon his whole world turns upside down. When the family is kidnapped by intelligence agents hell-bent on recovering a mysterious briefcase, Will suddenly finds himself on the run. (Summit Entertainment)
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Sep 8, 2012
    42
    The result apes "The Bourne Identity" so slavishly yet so boringly it winds up with no identity at all.
  2. Reviewed by: Guy Lodge
    Sep 12, 2012
    40
    Sensibly rationing his facial expressions at this early stage in his career, 29-year-old actor and future Superman Cavill lacks the gruff authority of Liam Neeson - the go-to guy for tacky Euro-thrillers about dogged men shooting up the Continent - but looks better in a tight T-shirt.
  3. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Sep 13, 2012
    40
    A by-the-numbers thriller that often looks as murky as its plot.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Sep 8, 2012
    38
    A preposterous thriller where the only thing more disappointing than the ending is the 93 minutes it takes to get there.
  5. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Sep 8, 2012
    25
    The Cold Light Of Day is the antithesis of a labor of love; it's a cold, mercenary endeavor that, like the thematically similar Taylor Lautner vehicle "Abduction," diligently ignores the potentially intriguing issues of family and identity its plot raises.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Sep 8, 2012
    20
    A catastrophe worth noting only for the presence of its name cast.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 12, 2012
    0
    Weaver and Willis look bored silly while essaying their paint-by-numbers roles, and this film does nothing to make me think Cavill is going to be Zack Snyder's Superman incarnate.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 7 out of 12
  1. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    best cold movie.
  2. Jan 8, 2013
    8
    This is what I call an action movie, this is what an epic movie holds, thriller, suspense, drama, crime, action, all come in one packThis is what I call an action movie, this is what an epic movie holds, thriller, suspense, drama, crime, action, all come in one pack called...THE COLD LIGHT OF DAY, I don't know why people hate this movie! Expand
  3. chw
    Aug 22, 2014
    2
    The Cold Light of Day didn't have a point to have been made. The movie has no original plot, probably cut-off from a GOOD movie, and theThe Cold Light of Day didn't have a point to have been made. The movie has no original plot, probably cut-off from a GOOD movie, and the actors were under terrible direction because in other films they're good actors. Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2014
    2
    "The Cold Light of Day" 10 Scale Rating: 2.0 (Terrible) ...

    The Good: For the brief time that he was in it, Bruce Willis was pretty good.
    "The Cold Light of Day" 10 Scale Rating: 2.0 (Terrible) ...

    The Good: For the brief time that he was in it, Bruce Willis was pretty good.

    The Bad: I've seen Cavill in a few films before and he was a solid actor in them ... but he took a vacation for this one because he was dreadful. For a suspenseful chase film it was pretty boring. Very straight forward, predictable, and full of things that I've seen done in other films ... but done well.
    Expand
  5. May 12, 2015
    1
    you really have to wonder what Bruce Willis and Sigourney Weaver were on when they said yes to this bland awful action film that required noyou really have to wonder what Bruce Willis and Sigourney Weaver were on when they said yes to this bland awful action film that required no effort whatsoever. Henry Cavil is trying but you get the sense that he's counting the seconds til he can be in Man of Steel. the action shots and sequence are terrible and the day for night shots are some of the worst i've ever seen aiding a plot that is terrible. there's a reason it wasn't screened for critics if we had read any of them prior no one would have seen it. Expand
  6. Apr 15, 2013
    0
    A truly dreadful waste of time. Weaver and Willis should be ashamed for appearing in this cut and paste movie. What hurts worse is that IA truly dreadful waste of time. Weaver and Willis should be ashamed for appearing in this cut and paste movie. What hurts worse is that I actually bought the movie because of Willis and Weaver. Shame on me for not checking reviews first. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.