Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Arkin escapes with his life from the vicious grips of The Collector during an entrapment party where he adds beautiful Elena to his Collection. Instead of recovering from the trauma, Arkin is suddenly abducted from the hospital by mercenaries hired by Elena's wealthy father. Arkin is blackmailed to team up with the mercenaries and track down The Collector's booby-trapped warehouse and save Elena. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Nov 28, 2012
    75
    Whereas the later "Saw" films were hampered by bloated backstory, various ostentatious agendas, and self-satisfied sadism, The Collection feels utterly unburdened by anything but its lean, fleet-footed plot.
  2. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Nov 28, 2012
    67
    Remarkably, the result manages to be both more preposterous and more efficient than its predecessor, with a couple of deaths occurring so swiftly they border on the subliminal.
  3. Reviewed by: Ian Buckwalter
    Nov 29, 2012
    60
    Genre aficionados are likely to revel in every crunched bone, gratuitous decapitation and slow-motion iron-maiden impaling.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Nov 28, 2012
    42
    It also has enough nutty energy and oddball touches - "The Wire's" Andre Royo shows up as a gun-toting, faux-hawk-sporting badass - that it's never boring. Dumb, gross, gratuitous, and overly familiar, sure. But never boring.
  5. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Nov 29, 2012
    42
    The whole thing is a fairly yawn-a-rific affair until the vengeful prologue establishes a wicked role reversal, hinting at the better movie that filmmakers more interested in storytelling would have made.
  6. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Dec 3, 2012
    40
    The movie's a smorgasbord of horror, and, ironically, that takes the teeth out of it. We're not really in this villain's world, because we don't know what his world is, or what he is, or what he's trying to even do. It's like a nightmare designed by someone who's heard a lot about nightmares but has never actually had one.
  7. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Nov 29, 2012
    0
    The Collection is bloody, disgusting and ridiculous, but the one thing it's not is horror, not real horror, not in the sense of tense or scary. It's not cinema, either. It's not even fun.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    absolutely epic, tense, frenetic, scary, ultra-gory and action-packed on a much larger scale than the collector, the collection is everything horror fans could hope for, and there are still surprises to be had. Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    Epic, Amazing, Scary, Breathtaking, Nerve trespasser, I enjoyed every half a second of it, this is what I call a gruesome Horror, not SAW **** this one is highly recommended Expand
  3. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    a worthy sequel that sufficiently carves out its own identity, dunstan once again proves to be an energetic and devoted director/writer, though there are much less developed characters this time around, in every other respect, it is bigger, and most certainly better, than the first film, even if you haven't seen the first, this is still great as a standalone film so please, if you love horror movies, you will find plenty to enjoy here. Expand
  4. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    The Collection starts off right where 2009's The Collector leaves off. The former was such a popular direct-to-video rental, that it's sequel actually wound up on the big screen, and how it avoided an NC-17 rating is beyond me. I've seen a ton of Horror movies, it's one of my favorite genres, so I can say, without hesitation that The Collection is one of the creepiest, goriest, and most clever Horror films I have ever seen. This crazed man in a mask is looking to collect certain types of people and if they pass his test, they can join his collection. If they fail, they become experiments in human suffering. In the first film, we see career criminal, Arkin O'Brien, fighting for his life. In the sequel, we see Arkin escape and lead a band of mercenaries back to the Collectors hideout, in order to rescue a captured rich girl. Of course once they get there, they find a maze of terror that rivals any film you've ever seen. I thought some of the machines in the Saw films were clever, but until you see this film, you haven't seen anything yet! How people come up with these things is beyond rational thought. Of all the ways to torture people, to come up with machines and techniques that exceed everything we've seen before is just sick...sick and very cool. The cast is the same as in every Horror movies, a bunch of dumb, no named actors, following a couple of smart people in order to stay alive as long as they can. What's special here is the story, the affects, and the level of depravity. The Collection is one of the most violent and gruesome Horror films to come along in years. It's the first step in the evolution of Horror that fans have been waiting for for years. Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    6
    The Saw similarities make it nothing new, (it was intended to be a Saw prequel, so, come on) but this film works by keeping the suspense going and making a genuinely creepy character out of the Collector that makes you want to keep watching. Expand
  6. Jul 14, 2013
    6
    meh I was definatly hoping for this movie to be better thn it was yet it wasn't a total disappointment. It didn't live up to the original in that it had a few unintentionally cheesy moments but it still upped the gore level. Collapse
  7. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    Once again, another piece of crap spit out. I dont know how these guys get the funding to put out such garbage. The only cool scene is at the rave/dance when they all got mutilated (which also makes zero sense for the rest of the film). Nobody knows what a good horror/thriller is anymore, its all retarded scenarios. Dont waste your time on this trash. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers