Freestyle Releasing | Release Date: July 31, 2009
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 81 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
50
Mixed:
15
Negative:
16
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
imthenoobSep 29, 2012
I liked it. I think Marcus and Patrick have really defined themselves as masters of horrors with this film. It was incredibly gory and a little suspensful as well. I enjoyed it, Can't wait to see the sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989Apr 24, 2013
This is a decent Horror that borrows elements from the Saw series but its an interesting concept as our lead Arkin breaks into a house to steal something but ends up not being able to leave as The Collector is holding a family hostage there.This is a decent Horror that borrows elements from the Saw series but its an interesting concept as our lead Arkin breaks into a house to steal something but ends up not being able to leave as The Collector is holding a family hostage there. It's quite suspenseful and has plenty to keep you intrigued and entertained. There has recently been a sequel released so I refreshed my memory with this one and now I'm looking forward to watching the follow-up, but here's where it starts Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGoer14Jul 20, 2013
The Collector is really scary and smart, the story is not explained enough though, but still it is a fun and entertaining horror, that will please almost anyone looking for a good scary time. The Collector is an underrated film, it isThe Collector is really scary and smart, the story is not explained enough though, but still it is a fun and entertaining horror, that will please almost anyone looking for a good scary time. The Collector is an underrated film, it is original in so many ways, creepy and shocking. It does absolutely delivers and please die-hard horror fans, including myself. The Collector is easily shocking, smart and entertaining. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
The Saw similarities make it nothing new, (it was intended to be a Saw prequel, so, come on) but this film works by keeping the suspense going and making a genuinely creepy character out of the Collector that makes you want to keep watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
S1r-R34lJan 12, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Home Alone If Kevin were a psychopath. This is not a Horror film but a high-tension, suspense psychological thriller with a lot of gore and horrific scenes. It is the great direction of Marcus Dunstan that makes this an edge-of-your-seat movie. The acting is above average, even Josh Stewert (who I've not admired in any previous roles) did a good job and held the lead role well. The only drawback to the whole movie is the continuity gaps. There is no way that The Collector had time to rig all the traps around the house. It is for this glaring fault that I've rated it 8 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Ruler101Dec 2, 2010
I thought this was a successful thriller movie. It got under your skin and made you pray that it never happens to you. The things this guy set up to keep people in/out are disturbing to think someone thought about it and then wrote about itI thought this was a successful thriller movie. It got under your skin and made you pray that it never happens to you. The things this guy set up to keep people in/out are disturbing to think someone thought about it and then wrote about it for a movie. thank god that person is a writer and not a serial killer. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DJohnsonJul 13, 2012
This is a seriously underrated film, relatively original, well cast, creepy, and with a few shocking moments, the collector is pretty much the promised land for all die-hard horror fans, myself included.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
samarathenymphOct 31, 2012
the collector is a curious little horror film, it is one of the films that inspired me, funnily enough, to express my opinion of other films, as such, it's rather embarrassing that i haven't reviewed this yet, but seeing as halloween is uponthe collector is a curious little horror film, it is one of the films that inspired me, funnily enough, to express my opinion of other films, as such, it's rather embarrassing that i haven't reviewed this yet, but seeing as halloween is upon us, i feel i should get around to it, this film is incredible, it's tense, gritty, and rather nasty, josh stewart delivers one of the best performances, as the poor thief who breaks into the booby-trapped house, the little girl is one of the few child actors that doesn't make me wish for their brutal death, the plot is rather solid and simple to follow, the soundtrack gets extra credit, jerome dillon does a great job, most of the traps are memorable and rather neat, (a guillotine-rigged window, industrial glue, bear traps, razor wire, etc.), the film moves along smoothly, with beautiful and frenetic visuals, and dedicated and efficient direction from marcus dunstan, who has given us the feast trilogy, saw IV-3D and piranha 3DD, the collector is quite a revival for the torture-porn genre, which has divided people like me since saw - samarathenymph xoxo (happy halloween) Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
NicholasandrewJun 11, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is awesome, until the part that it becomes a JASON'S movie... Because its made with very creativity, but in fact it's only a common movie... Don't watch, but if you want to watch. Just stop the movie remaining 3 minutes to finish, in the part when the victim is in the ambulance's car Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mcmanusthebraveSep 17, 2012
an amazing horror film, with almost NO CGI at all, if that isn't refreshing enough, i don't think we can be friends...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mykhawkeSep 14, 2012
A phenomenal, incredible torture flick, who knew josh stewart could actually ACT, and act well, the collector himself is actually very unsettling, another thing i'd like to mention is the soundtrack, why do people hate the groans andA phenomenal, incredible torture flick, who knew josh stewart could actually ACT, and act well, the collector himself is actually very unsettling, another thing i'd like to mention is the soundtrack, why do people hate the groans and screaming so much? sure, it's out of place and unusual, but it really adds to the film in a strange way, and it's capped off with a brilliant ending which i was utterly blindsided by when i first saw it, anyone who says they are a cinephile MUST see this! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
robertashfieldSep 17, 2012
Brilliant
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
violentmilkSep 17, 2012
Loved it...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
scottissorightOct 31, 2012
a really cool, entertaining film, the collector is fun for everyone who isn't an animal lover, and maybe a really terrible, sickening experience for those who are, but either way, it's effective
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
flubertubertubeSep 14, 2012
One brutal, claustrophobic, and mostly original piece of work, i couldn't recommend the collector highly enough... seriously, not even if i tried...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RealisticRageOct 3, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Unlike its sequel, which thrived off of jump scares, The Collector is less of a standard slasher film and more of a mix of suspense thriller and psychological horror. Protagonist Arkin O'Brian, handyman and ex-con, is a better protagonist than most of the standard heroes of horror films today. While the movie itself is flawed, Josh Stewart is able to balance both the toughness and terror embodied by Arkin. He's less of Sam Raimi's Ash Williams and more of Wes Craven's Nancy Thompson. Fernandez as the Collector is downright terrifying. The being he plays is evil incarnate, and he legitimately terrifies me, a rare feat a horror movie can achieve for me nowadays. The Collector himself is a sick, twisted man who shows himself off with euphoric grace as he tortures and murders through most of the main cast. Not a guy you wanna meet in a dark alley at any point in your life. Despite the lead's excellent performances and the excellent building of suspense, this movie is bogged down by a couple of things. First is the youngest child, Hannah. The character is obviously introduced as the standard "immortal adolescent" trope. The only real involvement she has in the film is to be the object of Arkin's moral conflict within the film, but beyond that, her performance comes off as forced for the brief time she is introduced in the beginning. Second is the rest of the family and their decisions within the film. You know they're gonna die, and through the use of stupid decisions. The mother and teenage daughter both obviously panic and scream, then die. It's enough to make you groan from the staleness of the concept. And finally... the cop. As soon as he shows up, the only thing you can wonder is "How's he gonna die?" That aside, the movie's ending fight is both chilling and satisfactory. Seeing Arkin beat on him and kick him down the basement stairs is thrilling, mostly from the rarity of seeing a protagonist in a horror film beat a villain in a straight-up fight is a treat we don't get often as an audience. In closing, despite its flaws, The Collector is a satisfying horror-thriller that surges with adrenaline and tension, superior to the more popular Saw films. Newer horror flicks should follow its example. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RobertS.Aug 1, 2009
Scary, sick, awesome!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
UptonKAug 3, 2009
For torture porn, this was fairly gripping. I left the theatre assaulted and a bit puzzled. There are a lot of unanswered questions, but realism is not something one expects while viewing a movie about an omnipotent killer who can out think For torture porn, this was fairly gripping. I left the theatre assaulted and a bit puzzled. There are a lot of unanswered questions, but realism is not something one expects while viewing a movie about an omnipotent killer who can out think their prey at every twist and turn. Very little of the plot makes sense. However, your eyes, ears and sense of the appropriate are so overwhelmed by the sound and editing technique employed - you don't have time to ponder much. It's on the ride home that you begin to ask yourself... what about...? And why did he.....? And how did they Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BradCAug 1, 2009
Grabs you by the throat and squeezes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CJMay 3, 2010
I loved every minute of THE COLLECTOR! This high-concept horror flick owes more to Dario Argento and the Italian giallo films of the '70s, than the recent crop of subpar SAW knock-offs and standard torture-porn fare. If you love I loved every minute of THE COLLECTOR! This high-concept horror flick owes more to Dario Argento and the Italian giallo films of the '70s, than the recent crop of subpar SAW knock-offs and standard torture-porn fare. If you love stylish, well-made horror films (and not these big-budget H'wood remakes or PG-13 teen screamers) then please see this movie. There's already talk of a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TreyW.Oct 17, 2009
Awesome movie, With a small plot but still really good plot none the less and lots of gore. I would say this was one movie I really enjoyed. People who are rating it so low I do not know what your smoking or what kind of horror movie you Awesome movie, With a small plot but still really good plot none the less and lots of gore. I would say this was one movie I really enjoyed. People who are rating it so low I do not know what your smoking or what kind of horror movie you think is good... please do not tell me you like the ring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful