Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Forced underground by the next ice age, a struggling outpost of survivors must fight to preserve humanity against a threat even more savage than nature.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 6 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Ernest Hardy
    Sep 17, 2013
    50
    The Colony has modest rewards: It's decently acted, delivers some well-executed jolts, doesn't insult the viewer's intelligence, and is mercifully free of ironic distance.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 19, 2013
    40
    The Colony is two-thirds of a pretty good sci-fi suspense movie. But it eventually takes a disappointing turn and becomes yet another run-from-the-ghouls exercise, cheapening decent work by a good cast.
  3. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Sep 22, 2013
    40
    Utterly routine futuristic horror-thriller The Colony substitutes the term “ferals” for plain old zombies (the modern, fast-moving kind), and that’s about it for originality.
  4. Reviewed by: Godfrey Cheshire
    Sep 20, 2013
    38
    The problem is that the filmmakers' aversion to any hint of storytelling originality means that the main impression The Colony leaves is one of almost stupefying over-familiarity.
  5. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Sep 19, 2013
    25
    There are a few nice scares in The Colony, and the female lead, Rookie Blue's Charlotte Sullivan, looks really, really cute in blond dreadlocks. But she can't save the movie, nor can her impressive costars, Bill Paxton, Kevin Zegers, and Laurence Fishburne.
  6. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Sep 20, 2013
    20
    With a frost-bitten script whose skeletal plot cuts and pastes bits from innumerable other survival yarns, the biggest surprise the film offers is that four people were required to write it.
  7. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Sep 16, 2013
    12
    Greedily tries to cram every dystopian curse into one misbegotten plot, resulting in something wildly disjointed, even if its pieces arguably connect.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Sep 22, 2013
    8
    This movie is hugely underestimated and the critics' score is plain ridiculous. This movie is a rare beast a quality science-fiction survivalThis movie is hugely underestimated and the critics' score is plain ridiculous. This movie is a rare beast a quality science-fiction survival horror. Yes, a quality one. The cast is impressive and the acting is really good, Laurence Fishburne did well for sure. The movie has some beautiful scenery, and the setting (frozen Earth) and the plot is solid enough. Sure, for science-fiction it has some flaws for example, footprints hold during the night on the snow despite the never-ending blizzard. Or the "certain" tribe is so big it shouldn't be able to survive (taking into account their ration). But... that's about it. I can't recall any other major problem and I saw this movie just yesterday.
    Besides, this is the fourth post-apocalyptic movie of 2013 that I have seen. "The Oblivion" was obviously the best, hands down. And this is also the simple fact that "After Earth" was obviously the worst. Taking into account their budgets, I would say "The Colony" is no worse than "World War Z". There is no unnecessary pathos and its characters definitely has more depth and creates more of viewers' willingness to empathize them.
    Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    7
    We won't often get a better done B stream movies. I never heard of this director, but he should utilize this movie's success as a platform forWe won't often get a better done B stream movies. I never heard of this director, but he should utilize this movie's success as a platform for his future works. It was not bad as it was rated, it was quite an entertaining movie with fine performances. All the way Laurence Fishburne is the only familiar face you could find. His inclusion in the movie had the advantage. He delivered what his crew expected from him and the rest was recovered by the other cast members that I don't know anyone of them.

    Basically, this movie had a very simple concept, a story that was not expanded, but moves on a certain lane till the end. It was all about surviving which is set in the backdrop of next ice age where few people who survived live in colonies located underground. It follows the story of the colony 7, when they won't get respond from their's mutual understanding colony 5 the rescue team set to leave to know what's going on. They reach their destination and come to know everything, while escaping, the horror follows them. How it will be avoided from affecting the colony 7 and their strength of the defense system reveals in the rest.

    This was not a movie made by some popular filmmaker with top actors. Like any other movie, it was also targeted commercial purpose. They want to make money and fame, but what we need is a good entertainment and so we get it. I am not saying or comparing to the masterpiece, though better than some A-list movies. I Gauratee it won't be your worst movie of the year. I was fulfilled with what I was anticipated, so no disappointment. If you are a luck it may work for you as well.
    Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2013
    7
    We watched this just because Bill Paxton and Lawrence Fishburne were in it and were definitely pleased. There were more than a few times whenWe watched this just because Bill Paxton and Lawrence Fishburne were in it and were definitely pleased. There were more than a few times when we were saying "Huh?", but overall we loved it! Expand
  4. Nov 4, 2013
    5
    The trailer looks much better than the movie really is... It is not bad, althought i do not recommend you spending your time watching this..The trailer looks much better than the movie really is... It is not bad, althought i do not recommend you spending your time watching this.. The story starts nice but the rest of the movie is Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2015
    5
    The Colony could have flourished with good visual and cast, but it squanders the potential before it enters the second act. The main issue isThe Colony could have flourished with good visual and cast, but it squanders the potential before it enters the second act. The main issue is how stagnant and predictable the plot progresses, screenplay it uses is the very generic template for sci-fi genre. It barely possesses any unique qualities, and by the time the movie is over, it will be either forgettable or interchangeable with any mediocre films.

    Story follows the survivors on Colony 7, led by Briggs (Laurence Fishburne). They have been plagued with the dangerous common cold, in which everyone who even shows symptoms are quarantined, possibly exiled or even killed. They also receive strange message from Colony 5, their neighbor colony and must go to examine whether it's real or not. The overall concept holds some promise, but there are far too many boring narratives and stupid behaviors from the characters to fully realize its prospect.

    Script is highly foreseeable, down to the sob stories of the survivors, which to the film's credit, would be salvageable if it actually portrays them instead of having guys talk about it. Characters also perform a few needless monologues that don't help setting the tension, they merely drag the movie by a few minutes. Furthermore, many of the characters' decision are moronic, the film tries to convince audience with stress or fear excuse, and even if that's true, it's still stupid by any stretch. This is the equivalent of seeing someone decide to split up in horror flick.

    Visual is pretty exceptional, it has good sharp contour and vibrant color. However, most of it are used in ordinary hallway full of pipes or barren wastelands, the most notably landmark is broken bridge which could very well be featured in half dozen other sci-fi films. The actors aren't that bad either, it's just the material is too thin and lacking any suspense for them to capitalize on.

    The Colony might have bits that could've worked, but with too predictable execution and uninspiring plot, a visit isn't exactly recommended.
    Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2014
    4
    This is one of the rare occasions when a contemporary science fiction movie leaves me cold. The film went left when it should have gone right,This is one of the rare occasions when a contemporary science fiction movie leaves me cold. The film went left when it should have gone right, turning a promising mew project into just another zombie film. It cost me 20 bucks brand new. And it was not worth the money. There were a few other less than stellar science fiction films that have come out in recent years like 'Absolon' with Christopher Lambert & 'Impostor' with Gary Sinise and both were low budget SF, but bother were better than Colony.The main characters dialogue in Colony was a bit stilted so I thought it did not deserve a 'pass go and collect 200 dollars' from this viewer. Apparently it was filmed in a now not used underground military facility in North Bay Ontario & the folk who let them film there said they were never letting anyone else film there because it had been such a big hassle. Access to a unique staging area didn't seem to help this film much. Don't bother. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Actually, the harsh critics are exactly right on this one. It's unoriginal, contrived, and worst of all, it makes no sense. On the positive side, it's good looking the cinematography and and special effects are well down. It has a better acting cast than it deserves. The problem is that it has holes in the plot you could drive a truck through and it develops a bunch of subplots that ultimately go nowhere and just detract from the story. (SPOILER ALERT) Some examples: 1) The explanation for how "feral people" doesn't stand up to logic: The world has a long history of starving people and they've never turned into what these people turn into. 2) Why are common sicknesses all of a sudden so deadly? I know they're in a closed environment, but people live on ships and in the arctic today and common illnesses aren't nearly the grave danger they make them out to be in this movie. 3) The whole power struggle between Mason and the rest of the crew gets a bunch of screen time but ultimately fizzles out, failing to advance the story, set up a key plot element, or add drama. 4) The feral people follow our hero back to his colony by following his footprints in constant wind and snow which would obliterate those footprint in a matter of hours. 5) When the hero grabs seeds to take to the thaw-out zone to re-seed the earth, he grabs a couple jars! There are many, many others. Frankly, it feels like this film started out with a significantly different story and it got a half-baked rewrite in the middle. Perhaps it was originally a zombie movie then a lot of what is in the film makes more sense. But as it stands, it's just a pretty mess. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers