User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 84
  2. Negative: 7 out of 84
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 21, 2013
    10
    I think this documentry was very good and expressed a ton of information on the cruel sitution going on in Japan. I give this a 10, Rick O' Berry is truly a dolphin saver. The things he has done sacrificing his own life for the dolphins is amazing. He goes out of his own way. It makes me sad to know innocent animals are getting killed, Thanks to Take Part and The Cove, the number ofI think this documentry was very good and expressed a ton of information on the cruel sitution going on in Japan. I give this a 10, Rick O' Berry is truly a dolphin saver. The things he has done sacrificing his own life for the dolphins is amazing. He goes out of his own way. It makes me sad to know innocent animals are getting killed, Thanks to Take Part and The Cove, the number of dolphins being killed has decresed greatly over the years. I'm glad a group like Take Part took a step and made an impact and changes of the ways in Japan. The Cove has greatly helped and changed the outcomes of dolphin deaths a year. Good Job 10 Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2010
    7
    In a truthful manner, I am not an individual who situates his attention on animal rights and or cruelty. I am however, pliable to a well-done documentary that may or may not change my position on a controversial subject. The Cove is a 2009 documentary film directed by Louie Psihoyos, that documents the annual slaughter of dolphins in Wakayama Japan. A fraction of the movie plays like aIn a truthful manner, I am not an individual who situates his attention on animal rights and or cruelty. I am however, pliable to a well-done documentary that may or may not change my position on a controversial subject. The Cove is a 2009 documentary film directed by Louie Psihoyos, that documents the annual slaughter of dolphins in Wakayama Japan. A fraction of the movie plays like a common documentary film, interviewing prominent figures in the fishing business and presenting the audience facts and related correlations. While the remainder of the film is in the point of view of a crew trying to attain documentation of dolphin cruelty. Overall, the film succeeds in projecting its point, these water-dwelling mammals are under unbelievably considerable cruelty. The film is remarkably crafted and entirely deserves the Oscar that it received a few months back. Although it is effective, I believe that it had a lack of what could have made it even more effectual. The part that really triggered my pathos was the actual footage of the dolphin slaughter and the risks the crew took in capturing the film. The majority of the film focused on the facts, while the actual live filming, was in all actuality saved until the end. If more of the film focused on the latter portion, it would have been ideal. To conclude, The Cove is an effective documentary that is astonishingly done in a good matter, but I have a feeling that it could have been faintly better. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2011
    8
    Any time a film has the power to stir up emotions so potently sticking as "The Cove," critical acclaim is only incidental. The task of illuminating a mere, insignificant cetacean mammal, and bring about internal change within the viewer is done here with such elegance and beauty that apathy assumes the form of genuine concern and heart-wrenching sympathy, even to the most severe ofAny time a film has the power to stir up emotions so potently sticking as "The Cove," critical acclaim is only incidental. The task of illuminating a mere, insignificant cetacean mammal, and bring about internal change within the viewer is done here with such elegance and beauty that apathy assumes the form of genuine concern and heart-wrenching sympathy, even to the most severe of misanthropes. Before too long, you find yourself in a predicament of righful action, hindered by the antagonistic Taiji monopolizers, who, once developed, are as vexatious as a high-strung, hormonal adolescent. The manipulative effect makes for a preservation team that you can't help but root for. Expand
  4. JohnM-Tokyo
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    Essential viewing for anyone who cares about marine life- The film makers did an incredible job in getting this out. It simply does not need to happen as there is NO market for dolphin meat in this country- most Japanese do not believe that their fisherman are still killing dolphins. The movie has had very limited viewing here due to its message which is a great shame because it is JapanEssential viewing for anyone who cares about marine life- The film makers did an incredible job in getting this out. It simply does not need to happen as there is NO market for dolphin meat in this country- most Japanese do not believe that their fisherman are still killing dolphins. The movie has had very limited viewing here due to its message which is a great shame because it is Japan that needs to see this film more than the west. Spread the word and I do hope the staff involved get the Oscar next year which they heartily deserve. Expand
  5. keithw
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    Tell EVERY one of your friends to sell this film. No person walked out without being touched, moved and angry. What a film!
  6. JeffChrisler
    Sep 4, 2009
    9
    This film wasn't your normal documentary. It was engaging, had a solid sountrack, and of course it supported a solid cause. If you aren't upset and angry by the end of this film, you aren't human. Don't go see, "Under the Sea," see this again or support the cause.
    Thankfully on the first day of fishing in 2009 in Taigi there were no fishermen out, no killing of
    This film wasn't your normal documentary. It was engaging, had a solid sountrack, and of course it supported a solid cause. If you aren't upset and angry by the end of this film, you aren't human. Don't go see, "Under the Sea," see this again or support the cause.
    Thankfully on the first day of fishing in 2009 in Taigi there were no fishermen out, no killing of dolphins, and there were tons of media. All of this is because of this film.
    Collapse
  7. BillC
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    Ignore any bias you may have against those dry, boring documentary films you feel you must watch because they're good for you. This is an out and out thriller and the filmmakers risked jail time in order to share it with their audience. Their dedication to expose the secret of Taiji so that the world will take action and end it earns our respect and admiration.
  8. SusanS
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    If you haven't seen this movie yet because you are afraid it will be too hard to watch - go see it. There are a couple of tough scenes but they are a very small part of the movie. It is exciting, inspiring and motivating. It really shows you what a few dedicated people can do - that we really can change things. It plays like a suspense thriller and had me on the edge of my seat.If you haven't seen this movie yet because you are afraid it will be too hard to watch - go see it. There are a couple of tough scenes but they are a very small part of the movie. It is exciting, inspiring and motivating. It really shows you what a few dedicated people can do - that we really can change things. It plays like a suspense thriller and had me on the edge of my seat. Go and take your friends! Expand
  9. LaurelA
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    I hate it when people say, "Well, it's part of their culture." That seems to be an excuse to continue to do almost anything - slavery was part of our culture, too, but that doesn't make it right! And yes, many dolphins are killed accidentally each year and poisoned by pollution. This needs to be addressed as well! This film exposes some of the hyposcrisy of dolphining andI hate it when people say, "Well, it's part of their culture." That seems to be an excuse to continue to do almost anything - slavery was part of our culture, too, but that doesn't make it right! And yes, many dolphins are killed accidentally each year and poisoned by pollution. This needs to be addressed as well! This film exposes some of the hyposcrisy of dolphining and porpoising, but there is still much to explore (including our own hypocrisy). My only criticisms are that it is too short and the film does not delve deep enough into the unique animals whales are, and how similar to people (language, culture, family, etc.). Just because dolphins do not live like we do does not mean they can be tossed aside as lesser beings, which we humans are apt to do. Expand
  10. Jan 14, 2011
    10
    This movie, purely based off directing aspects, can be called a beautiful movie, the pacing, the beautiful music, the video mixing and editing, and other general directing aspects. Purely based off just how good a movie it is, I can tell you that its amazing, its beautiful, you wont see anything like it, it will make you smile, it will make you cry, it will send chills down your spine,This movie, purely based off directing aspects, can be called a beautiful movie, the pacing, the beautiful music, the video mixing and editing, and other general directing aspects. Purely based off just how good a movie it is, I can tell you that its amazing, its beautiful, you wont see anything like it, it will make you smile, it will make you cry, it will send chills down your spine, and it will make you clench your fist in anger. This movie is truly remarkable, its extremely uplifting, and by the end of it, you have to stop yourself from jumping on the internet and buying a plane ticket to Taiji, Japan with a baseball bat in your luggage. I would recommend any one to watch it, from the people who watch it for environmental reasons, and for people that just want to see a good movie. Expand
  11. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    A raw documentary with a purpose. Clearly difficult to make, but even more evident having seen its significance. Proves once again that humans are the worse beasts who are prepared to kill for vanity, money or power.
  12. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    If rating this movie based completely off directing aspects: it can be called beautiful. The pacing, the beautiful score, the video mixing and editing, and other general directing aspects have all been done very well. The movie manages to make you laugh, cry, smile, all in the space of few minutes. It has a bit of everything, Louie Psihoyos has done an amazing job, especially whenIf rating this movie based completely off directing aspects: it can be called beautiful. The pacing, the beautiful score, the video mixing and editing, and other general directing aspects have all been done very well. The movie manages to make you laugh, cry, smile, all in the space of few minutes. It has a bit of everything, Louie Psihoyos has done an amazing job, especially when considering this is his first piece of directing work. His next work, The Singing Planet, will be releasing in 2012, which I am much looking forward to. This is easily one of the best documentaries out there, and if some one argues that documentaries are a stale genre, show them this. It is extremely uplifting and sends a great message: if we can't fix something this small, we have no hope of fixing anything else. By the end of it, you have to stop yourself from jumping on the internet and buying a plane ticket to Taiji, Japan with a baseball bat in your luggage. I would recommend any one to watch it, from the people who watch it for environmental reasons, and for people that just want to see a great movie Expand
  13. Jun 22, 2013
    8
    This is one documentary that is worth seeing and anything but dull and boring. This is a story of courage and a passion to undue such horrible acts. Eye opening and touching. Worthy of its Oscar.
  14. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    It's massively incredible how this film provokes such anger, tension as well as passion in it. Words can barely describe how painful and powerful this documentary is, and the lengths to which human monstrosity can extend to. I gauruntee for those who see a little glimpse of my way, you will surely stand up for it and fight against this thing--at least in disgust. The most important film to watch.
  15. Apr 28, 2015
    10
    The Cove was an incredible documentary and I highly recommend it! It definitely opened my eyes to something that I never knew was happening with the ocean animals and made my very sad that this is even going on. I hope this documentary moves you like it did me!
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    100
    Shot rivetingly by cinematographer Brooke Aitken, who combines digital, night-vision and thermal-imaging formats into a formidable package, the footage is edited tautly by Geoffrey Richman and enhanced measurably by J. Ralph's suspenseful score.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    100
    Eco-activist documentaries don't get much more compelling than The Cove, an impassioned piece of advocacy filmmaking that follows "Flipper" trainer-turned-marine crusader Richard O'Barry in his efforts to end dolphin slaughter in Taiji, Japan.
  3. The end of The Cove is as rousing as anything from Hollywood. Manipulative? Sure--but isn't that fitting? Capitalism has driven an entire village to massacre dolphins and keep its work hidden.