Screen Gems | Release Date: September 8, 2006
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 144 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
76
Mixed:
17
Negative:
51
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
shiftworkerNov 30, 2016
Supernatural coming-of-age. Warlocks try to out-do each other and impress girls. The script is predictable and the cast are all implausibly pretty, but the movie has merit for good special effects, subtle soundtrack and effective creepy lighting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31May 5, 2016
This movie is a very good movie well worth a watch if you like watching the witchcraft sort.tons of action and really good acting.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-1825-The-Covenant
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TimeOfTheChimpsNov 20, 2015
The plot is atrociously awful and makes absolutely no sense. These guys have mystical powers based on some cult thing or something, the characters can repair stuff but it makes them old (what?), and that's basically all you know from thatThe plot is atrociously awful and makes absolutely no sense. These guys have mystical powers based on some cult thing or something, the characters can repair stuff but it makes them old (what?), and that's basically all you know from that point on because the film never bothers to explain anything except through stupid magic scenes. I hardly knew anyone's name until 10 minutes after the halfway point, for crying out loud! The characters make no sense whatsoever. Two of the guys go through some gate and steal a professor's notes, because the professor is stuck on some car crash case which he somehow automatically knows was one of the magic guys. Some scenes are useless or just plain stupid; two "friends" use their powers to race each other but no one else but the viewer notices. One friend turns on the other because he wants his powers because he's some kind of half-a$$ed "chosen one" which the film doesn't bother to mention at all up until this point. Some guy punches another guy in a locker room for absolutely no reason. There's some cheesy fight scene at the end overblown with bad CGI and crappy early 2000s music, then... wait for it... the main character fixes a car window with his magic to end the film. Seriously, that's all that happens. Bad acting, horrible plotting, and nonsensical scenes make this one of my worst watched films of all time. Watch it for a hilariously bad gem... or, rather, don't. You'll save yourself a lot of pain and suffering. Like having the urge to stab a straight razor into your own eye. No, I'm dead serious. It's that bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SiAScORCHNov 5, 2014
It's an okay movie, with a good amount of action. I don't think the acting was all that great in this movie and the story line wasn't that great as well. It's worth watching if you have the time, but I wouldn't go out of your way. The worstIt's an okay movie, with a good amount of action. I don't think the acting was all that great in this movie and the story line wasn't that great as well. It's worth watching if you have the time, but I wouldn't go out of your way. The worst part of the movie is that it left the ending opening for a sequel which isn't going to come, so that hurt the ratings a bit for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 28, 2014
I guess this is a movie for teenagers/young adults. The cast is young and immature, good looking and in prime condition. The plot doesn't have enough depth to be really interesting, but it is well above bearable.

I liked the music of the
I guess this is a movie for teenagers/young adults. The cast is young and immature, good looking and in prime condition. The plot doesn't have enough depth to be really interesting, but it is well above bearable.

I liked the music of the movie very much, and the special effects were pretty good too. It did get a little numbing by the end of the movie, though, these specials kids with powers just throwing each other with some kind of energy balls... it gets kind of boring.

There was a lot of history and knowledge shown in the movie, but it was explained very quickly and randomly. So, whatever was going on isn't clear to the audience after the first watch, that's for sure.

Altogether, this is pretty much the usual movie: badass gang, a new girl falls for one of the guys and vice versa, a new badass comes into town, and in the end the boy gets the girls, badass either dies or disappears, and balance is restored.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
dyshpoJul 30, 2013
caters to shallowness of teenagers young adults they tried to make a sexy magic film and came up with this horrible pacing acting weird odd unnecessary scenes
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
HalfwelshmanMay 20, 2011
Unfortunately, I was dragged to see this on a date. It's angsty teen nonsense without a single defined element. Thankfully I've blanked most of the plot (what little there was) from my memory until only a grey indistinct blob remains (orUnfortunately, I was dragged to see this on a date. It's angsty teen nonsense without a single defined element. Thankfully I've blanked most of the plot (what little there was) from my memory until only a grey indistinct blob remains (or perhaps that was what the plot resembled to begin with?) It's dire, truly dire. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
FitriAmirrolNov 19, 2010
Epitomizing magic with drug use has never been more superficial than in The Covenant. The cheap exploitations of the young male and female bodies prove how shallow the film really is. The moral of the story is clouded by callow acting and theEpitomizing magic with drug use has never been more superficial than in The Covenant. The cheap exploitations of the young male and female bodies prove how shallow the film really is. The moral of the story is clouded by callow acting and the thrill is drowned out by flat lines. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
EmericC.Aug 22, 2009
It would've been a good movie they've been thinking a little bit more about the plot. Like in the beginning, why did the cops chase them? Or about the darklings?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JonJan 15, 2009
One of the best movies I've seen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
wolffangNov 17, 2008
it was AWSOME!!!! i luved it the special effects where just WICKED!!!!! an the guys were so HOT!!! please make a seconed one
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CristineSep 12, 2008
I thought the movie was good, Everybody is complaining how it should have been darker and more scary....But come on people, from all the Saw sequels GIVE IT A REST! I loved the concept of the power being addictive, and it aging the body. If I thought the movie was good, Everybody is complaining how it should have been darker and more scary....But come on people, from all the Saw sequels GIVE IT A REST! I loved the concept of the power being addictive, and it aging the body. If magic were real I honestly believe it would be addictive to the big bads of this world. Can't wait till the sequel comes out!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
hannahMar 14, 2008
This was the saddest thing i've seen in so long....the only reason i watched it (several times) is because the guys were hot. Chace Crawford had about 20 words in the entire film, Steven Strait and Sabastian Stan were basically the same This was the saddest thing i've seen in so long....the only reason i watched it (several times) is because the guys were hot. Chace Crawford had about 20 words in the entire film, Steven Strait and Sabastian Stan were basically the same character, and they basically just strutted around half naked blabbering on about nothing. By the end, i had no idea what was going on, and why everything was happening, i watched it over and over, trying to figue out what evreyone was talking about (and they did alot of talking) at the nd of the day, all you can really hope for is a strange movie where you don't have to concentrate, and can just stare at some eye candy for 90 minutes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MichaelR.Oct 24, 2007
I liked the concept of the movie but it flat out made me disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyMar 8, 2007
I really enjoyed this movie, i hope there is a sequel because it was thrilling and it had a great effects and the movie had a great plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ValeriePMar 4, 2007
I thought it was okay but what helped me get through it was the cute guys and the locker room scene. :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HaleyAFeb 9, 2007
This movie was not great, but I liked it a lot for what it was. I really honestly enjoyed it, it was simply a fun movie to watch. I really wish that it would have been longer and they would have taken the story somewhere though. It seems as This movie was not great, but I liked it a lot for what it was. I really honestly enjoyed it, it was simply a fun movie to watch. I really wish that it would have been longer and they would have taken the story somewhere though. It seems as if they skipped right to the climax of the "plot" before it had any build-up at all. My guess is it's a perfect movie for 15-16 year olds to watch during a girls night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
[Anonymous]Jan 25, 2007
C'mon, this movie was not as bad as the wicker man or little man. (here's a thought, just be glad there was no little wicker man) very predictable and trite, but not so bad that i could not watch or felt pissed at the end of it C'mon, this movie was not as bad as the wicker man or little man. (here's a thought, just be glad there was no little wicker man) very predictable and trite, but not so bad that i could not watch or felt pissed at the end of it like wicker man. Just a mediocre movie with some eye candy for little girls and boys. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavW.Jan 15, 2007
I really don't know what all you people are complaining about; this isn't a really cerebral movie, it's just an action flick with good special effects, a semi-interesting plot and a cool fight scene at the end. I dont know I really don't know what all you people are complaining about; this isn't a really cerebral movie, it's just an action flick with good special effects, a semi-interesting plot and a cool fight scene at the end. I dont know about you but it delievers what I expected of it and it's not bad for an action flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KevinJJan 4, 2007
I'm giving this movie one star for some of the special effects and tantalizing near-naked shots of the women. Otherwise, this is possibly the worst movie ever made. Had a good premise but the director and scriptwriter dropped the ball. I'm giving this movie one star for some of the special effects and tantalizing near-naked shots of the women. Otherwise, this is possibly the worst movie ever made. Had a good premise but the director and scriptwriter dropped the ball. The ending leaves open the chance for a Part II. May GOD spare us the agony!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PRDec 30, 2006
What the hell happened to this... It spends a good half hour setting things up for what could be a really nice teen supernatural thriller, then its like they ran out of time or their was a strike by the script writers. It just seems to speed What the hell happened to this... It spends a good half hour setting things up for what could be a really nice teen supernatural thriller, then its like they ran out of time or their was a strike by the script writers. It just seems to speed up just to get throught the basic need for character interaction to get to the end. Its like the studio said we want it out now, and it has to be 70 mins long or something. Its a real shame, as the guys who did the sets made everything look nice and set the mood real well, they seem to have taken a lot more care than everyone else did, the direction is awful, the casting is mediocre, soundtrack dismal. This could have been a new Lost Boys, or The Craft instead it ends up running like a tv pilot. With no script, and a plot written by dumb and dumber? Why the studio didnt make more of this rather missed opportunity seems beyond me, a waste of time and efforts all round. Could have given a whole lot of money to starving people in africa. If you are going to do something, why they hell not do it properly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ConnorM.Dec 27, 2006
This might be one of the worst movies ever. That's why I love it. It has everything... teen partying... stupid fights... spiders... (GASP) near nudity.... oh yah... and boys making out. Yup. Boy kiss scene. I told you it was awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChadS.Oct 6, 2006
What would Paul Schrader's version of "The Covenant" look like? [***SPOILERS***] For starters, at least one of the magic-afflicted teens would die, and at least one teen would feel guilty about being a WASP. This film is so mild; What would Paul Schrader's version of "The Covenant" look like? [***SPOILERS***] For starters, at least one of the magic-afflicted teens would die, and at least one teen would feel guilty about being a WASP. This film is so mild; it's as if the filmmaker made a horror film exclusively for pre-teen girls. "The Covenant" seems unaware that the bar has been raised by horror fans in recent years. It's neither nihilistic ("Saw"), nor atmospheric ("The Grudge"). The screenwriter instead borrows liberally from "Buffy the Vampire Slayer"(the same metaphor is used when Willow crosses over to the dark side). It also has too many plot holes (the discovery of evidence linking someone to a murder is never followed up), and too many male torsos (a locker room scene full...of guys!). Schrader would also remember that Caleb (Steven Strait), earlier, had warned a friend not to perform magic in public, and nix the scene in which our hero reconstructs a shattered windshield within close proximity to the cops. He'd also direct the pretty girl to scream, or at least wince, when meeting a potential father-in-law, who happens to have giant claws for hands. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
isazOct 1, 2006
Just to be 'fair' here, i gave it some 3pts. only because it does have one of the coolest (note: i said 'coolest' not 'greatest') visuals and special fx in a film. that's not the focal topic why most Just to be 'fair' here, i gave it some 3pts. only because it does have one of the coolest (note: i said 'coolest' not 'greatest') visuals and special fx in a film. that's not the focal topic why most (i'm inferring to intellect individuals, mind you..) are giving this flick a low-rating. here's my version: really weak storyplot. that, and decrepit characters. holy s--t, the tone just pretty much shows how Beverly Hills 90210 would've been like if they were on specially formulated steroids/birth control pills, and wallah, a bunch of casts who wishes to be as good as their way cooler more matured counterparts in the X-Men trilogy. sure, they have pretty faces alright. and what would those pretty faces be without 6 or 9 sex scenes? yep, its nothing more than a popcorn flick especially for the under-18 (well, mostly) EMOs you'll find on Myspace. haha! i thought i should slip this liner here, as quoted by some user at the IMDB forums: "I walked in with no hopes, and walked out with a better view" yep, you'll definitely have a better sighting to leave your seat once you realize your cash went to waste on how you could predict the eventual outcome of this movie. so do yourself a favor and save that $8 or 12 bucks for gasoline. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CalD.Sep 26, 2006
This is the worst movie I've seen in theaters. The only reason I was forced to watch this drivle was because I was too young to get into anything else at the theater. I 3/4 of the way through because the pure fact that ANYONE was trying This is the worst movie I've seen in theaters. The only reason I was forced to watch this drivle was because I was too young to get into anything else at the theater. I 3/4 of the way through because the pure fact that ANYONE was trying to pass this off as a movie sickened me. Horrible acting, no plot, holes through the roof, and ultra predictable. Please do not support things like this being made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KelliM.Sep 25, 2006
I liked it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulKSep 18, 2006
If you like this genre(which i do), this won't be groundbreaking, but definitely worth a look on video. The premise is intriguing and if a sequel does get made, there's definitely a lot of room for improvement with the storyline. If you like this genre(which i do), this won't be groundbreaking, but definitely worth a look on video. The premise is intriguing and if a sequel does get made, there's definitely a lot of room for improvement with the storyline. The creepy spider type stuff should get canned in favor of more inventive spells or the exploration of more interesting aspects of their powers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LuisG.Sep 16, 2006
....for some strange reason i was attracted to the kind of film i were to watch on a sunday night before work early monday morn. .... i was entertained not a great film but none the less not more or less than what i expected.. .... ready ....for some strange reason i was attracted to the kind of film i were to watch on a sunday night before work early monday morn. .... i was entertained not a great film but none the less not more or less than what i expected.. .... ready yourself for way to simple story and very good eye candy of actors ... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LianeSep 15, 2006
I loved it!! Yes it was cheesy, but I still really liked it! it left me with a smile on my face.. Great stuff!!! Cute guys. What more could you want?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HorrorviewSep 15, 2006
Absolute garbage. Like a Hot Topic commercial as directed by a chimpanzee with special effects by the guys who make commercials for local furniture stores. Renny Harlin is the original Uwe Boll.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JasonLSep 13, 2006
I'll admit it: I haven't seen the movie. But anything to negate the insipid viral marketers, whose truly lame attempts at aping the "astonished" voice of genuine fanboys present perhaps the only entertainment associated with this movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StevenBSep 13, 2006
I enjoyed it. I don't go to a movie because someone says I should or shouldn't. There was intrigue, nice action and incredibly hot boys...what else do you want???
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahLohanSep 11, 2006
YEAH!!! The Covenant rules! For me it's one of the best movies 2006. Cool action, nice effects and beautiful guys. Can't wait to see Covenant again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JonRSep 11, 2006
This "film" is quite possibly one of the worst movies ever made. It was so boring and incomprehensible that it hurt. I went in expecting the male version of THE CRAFT...but it wasn't. This movie made THE CRAFT look like THE GODFATHER.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChrisD.Sep 10, 2006
I actually had fun watching this film. While it wasn't great, it really wasn't too bad. The dialogue was decent for the most part and the acting could've been more convincing, but it all served its purpose. Though there were I actually had fun watching this film. While it wasn't great, it really wasn't too bad. The dialogue was decent for the most part and the acting could've been more convincing, but it all served its purpose. Though there were some really terrible lines. The soundtrack was particularly well chosen. The metal/industrial theme worked well with the cold palette used most of the movie. While the movie wasn't at all scary, it did make a noticeable attempt to add some suspense and chill. Like I said before, it's not perfect. But it really wasn't THAT bad. People tend to rate things to such extremes saying how everything is the best or worst they've ever seen with out even trying to see how something could be just decent. I recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GerrickCSep 10, 2006
We should make a covenant never to see this movie again. At least not in this lifetime, but maybe in hell. The movie is doused with Satanism, a few interesting parts, but utterly falls flat. Save your money you would have spent on a theater, We should make a covenant never to see this movie again. At least not in this lifetime, but maybe in hell. The movie is doused with Satanism, a few interesting parts, but utterly falls flat. Save your money you would have spent on a theater, rental, or- God forbid -purchase of this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JimmyDSep 9, 2006
This movie was such a waste of money. The lack of story, laughably terrible effects, and horrible acting make for the worst movie of the summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JeffKSep 9, 2006
"The Covenant" is part "The Lost Boys", part "Zapped," nearly all predictable and has more cheese than Velveeta. Harlin has the audacity to set the film up for a sequel. I will be using all my critical powers to make sure that doesn't happen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ApeSep 9, 2006
If you can't tell several of the last people under my comment are plants, then you're probably just as stupid as those people if they existed. Terrible movie, no plot, worst acting, and crappy fx. This is the kind of garbage that If you can't tell several of the last people under my comment are plants, then you're probably just as stupid as those people if they existed. Terrible movie, no plot, worst acting, and crappy fx. This is the kind of garbage that should kill hollywood and someday, I hope, it will. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeW.Sep 9, 2006
Wow. This is what i call a GREAT movie. Good story line, great Special Effects, good actors and many fun!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MaxM.Sep 9, 2006
Anyone who wants cheesy supernatural homoerotic b-movies needs only to rent any of David DeCoteau's films like "Voodoo Academy" and the "Brotherhood" series. "The Covenant" is a limp, better-budgeted knock-off. Skip it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RyencokeSep 8, 2006
Why all these high ratings? This movie was stupid. The battle scenes were stupid looked brutal. The story line didn't really explain that much detail. I suggest saving your cash.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenS.Sep 8, 2006
Best movie I've ever seen, Except for Sky High and Undiscovered. This movie rocked. It had action, drama, and more action. All the actors were amazing. That guy from Trinbe is really good, I was pleasantly shocked by his out of this Best movie I've ever seen, Except for Sky High and Undiscovered. This movie rocked. It had action, drama, and more action. All the actors were amazing. That guy from Trinbe is really good, I was pleasantly shocked by his out of this world skills. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristineSep 8, 2006
For a teenage thriller I was surprised to see how much I enjoyed this movie; it definitely delivered. [***SPOILERS***] The special effects were amazing, especially in the final battle between Chase and Caleb. I was on the edge of my seat the For a teenage thriller I was surprised to see how much I enjoyed this movie; it definitely delivered. [***SPOILERS***] The special effects were amazing, especially in the final battle between Chase and Caleb. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time. The action sequences were very well done, but then again what do you expect from the producers of the Underworld? Exactly. Needless to say the guys were gorgeous, and that was an added bonus. All in all this movie had excitement, action, and even a little bit of romance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffL.Sep 8, 2006
This movie was spectacular. GREAT special effects and a pretty cool story line. Overall, a TON of fun!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveB.Sep 8, 2006
Great popcorn flick! impressive special effects, beautiful cinematography, decent plot and acting. Don't expect it to 'reinvent the genre' but just sit back and enjoy a well done horror/action film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LaurenceH.Sep 7, 2006
Saw this at a free screening... and I felt robbed. Its seemingly cool plot quickly drifts into a bottomless pit of clichés, the CGI is pretty lackluster, the punchless ending simply blows and the acting is unsurprisingly tame. Some Saw this at a free screening... and I felt robbed. Its seemingly cool plot quickly drifts into a bottomless pit of clichés, the CGI is pretty lackluster, the punchless ending simply blows and the acting is unsurprisingly tame. Some disturbing images and jump scares spare it from a zero because it's not completely devoid of thrust, but it still should've been straight-to-DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful