Samuel Goldwyn Films | Release Date: November 15, 2002
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 19 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
14
Mixed:
2
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MiguelR.Jun 3, 2003
Simply some of the best Mexican work ever. As "Amores Peros" and "Y tu Mama Tambien" Gael Bernal makes and incredible role with some of his best work yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FrankO.Feb 2, 2006
Felt like two different movies; first half being local politics and the church; 2nd half the relationship between Father Amaro and Ana character. Publicity, trailer and DVD description misleading about the overriding theme of story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NestoL.Dec 10, 2002
If you are a devoted catholic please do not see this film it is surprisingly strong on content and in a controversial matter. This film is intellegent and poignantly realistic in the portraying the corruption and shame the catholic church is If you are a devoted catholic please do not see this film it is surprisingly strong on content and in a controversial matter. This film is intellegent and poignantly realistic in the portraying the corruption and shame the catholic church is in rural Mexico. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MariaH.Aug 12, 2003
This film goes against all ethics, both at home and at church. I heard much controversy around the film because of it's content. Nevertheless, this film is educational on many levels. I liked it because of it's eye-openning and This film goes against all ethics, both at home and at church. I heard much controversy around the film because of it's content. Nevertheless, this film is educational on many levels. I liked it because of it's eye-openning and mind twisting content. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AldoA.Aug 25, 2003
The movie is great, specially the cinematography. Some people didn't like it because of the critic to the church, and I think that's the reason of its losing the best foreign movie oscar...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesseM.Nov 24, 2003
I have to say, as a movie director and a script writter, i have to give this creation of art a 10!!! so many things to say about the film so little time, Carlos Carrera man i hope i get a chance to work with you some day, i think we could I have to say, as a movie director and a script writter, i have to give this creation of art a 10!!! so many things to say about the film so little time, Carlos Carrera man i hope i get a chance to work with you some day, i think we could come up with an outstanding film, this film in general has to be one of the best films i have seen throught my 10 years of studying film. The way Carlos made us feel sorry for El padre amaro throught the film, in which he really is a bad guy.... well to you fans out their....i think Carlos did a hell of a job putting this film together. and vicentte i cant forget you man, i god of script writters...good luck in the future films....and i hope your flame doesnt die off!! keep up the good work!!! much love.peace out! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuanC.Apr 13, 2003
People that are ignorant are the ones that gave this movie a bad rate, "El crimen del padre amaro" is a book that has been made a long time ago, i think that this movie reasembels the story really well. I dont think you have to know spanish People that are ignorant are the ones that gave this movie a bad rate, "El crimen del padre amaro" is a book that has been made a long time ago, i think that this movie reasembels the story really well. I dont think you have to know spanish to know how bad this movie is, i dont know the person that said that and i dont want to. She sais that this movie is bad, i can't understand why this movie has win a lot of prizes. This is a very good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VictorQ.Apr 25, 2003
I think it resembles what is happening in the church right now, and the church doesn't have to lie about this because we now it all. This movie also got away with it, becuase fist of all it affects many people by watching this film, I think it resembles what is happening in the church right now, and the church doesn't have to lie about this because we now it all. This movie also got away with it, becuase fist of all it affects many people by watching this film, especially people who are very religious and more it offends the Catholic Priests, what do you all think the pope said about this movie? Probably, "wow, I think I shoud bye and rate this movie a 10 b/c it shows everything that is happening in the church now." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlmaL.Nov 5, 2005
Very Good!
0 of 0 users found this helpful