Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: March 22, 2013
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 276 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
193
Mixed:
57
Negative:
26
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
RalphsReviewsApr 29, 2013
While not horribly memorable or spectacular, it is a good kids film. The animation is nice and flashy and the characters have nice little arcs throughout. The first 10 minutes were bad and the end was cheesy but the rest of the film is funnyWhile not horribly memorable or spectacular, it is a good kids film. The animation is nice and flashy and the characters have nice little arcs throughout. The first 10 minutes were bad and the end was cheesy but the rest of the film is funny and colorful. That'll be enough to entertain your kids and to keep parents from pulling their hair out. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
SpankyApr 3, 2013
Believe it or not, this is the best movie I've seen this year. Don't make the mistake thinking this is only a Kira's movie. Wildly imaginative and creative. I saw this with two other adults and we all loved it.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGoer14Jul 16, 2013
The Croods is a cheer up insightful animation, that will please die hard animation fans, family but mainly kids. It has some great messages about family and life that will please and comfort families. Despite that The Croods is a good familyThe Croods is a cheer up insightful animation, that will please die hard animation fans, family but mainly kids. It has some great messages about family and life that will please and comfort families. Despite that The Croods is a good family animation, but it has lots of flaws. First of all, it doesn't describe the origins of the family, they are just vessels to move on with the story. Secondly, it has some falling apart moments that bored the hell out of me, also that the story is ridiculous, seriously! What happens to the world ending??? Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
ARGONov 10, 2013
Probably greatest graphic in an animated movie this year (2013)
N.Cage does an impressive voice acting
It's an enjoyable movie overall for people of different ages Even if some complain about the jokes it has better jokes than many of the
Probably greatest graphic in an animated movie this year (2013)
N.Cage does an impressive voice acting
It's an enjoyable movie overall for people of different ages
Even if some complain about the jokes it has better jokes than many of the animated movies, I would have given it a better score but still doesn't come as a comedy but as a family animation with comic sparks
it sorts of reminds me too much of ice age 2 and unfortunately like ice age 3 it sort of trades fun for family business
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SmeeApr 6, 2013
This is the best animation movie ever made also the best film of 2013 till today.With fresh theme nice humor and awesome 3D effects. Hope they make part 2 of this as soon.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
TheRimRiderApr 12, 2013
Took my 2.5 yr old to see this, her first ever cinema experience so will always be special for her a cross between Flintstones, Ice Age & Lion King, a little too many scenes featuring characters falling down but some highly original scenesTook my 2.5 yr old to see this, her first ever cinema experience so will always be special for her a cross between Flintstones, Ice Age & Lion King, a little too many scenes featuring characters falling down but some highly original scenes and a lot of fun. The Metascore is off in this case. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
dante_finnJul 5, 2013
Really Funny Movie.....................................................................................................................................
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonMar 23, 2013
A perfect match for children who love movies such as Ice Age and The Lorax. The Croods is a magical movie with lots of fun and lost of laughs. Very sweet and cute with lots of positive messages about being together with family. The Croods isA perfect match for children who love movies such as Ice Age and The Lorax. The Croods is a magical movie with lots of fun and lost of laughs. Very sweet and cute with lots of positive messages about being together with family. The Croods is your ticket to a great child movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
PlanetRAXMar 25, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Croods is a movie that offers great family filled entertainment and stunning visual 3D effects. Do not let the title fool you. You will not find any “crude” humor in it. It’s a slapstick film. Slapstick done right that is.The story is unpredictable, subtle and smart enough and the fact that it’s an animated feature gave the creators more flexibility in bringing their imaginations to the screen. Taking us with the original “first family” to “follow tomorrow and follow the light”.

This latest feature from Dreamworks animation is about a family who was forced by nature to leave their humble abode due to the effects of an apparent looming apocalypse that destroyed their cave. They were caught in the middle of an evolving colorful world. It’s also important to note that this movie could very well be a stepping out of the Pixar shadow by Dreamworks animation. Grug the character voiced over by Nicholas Cage, is the patriarch who protected his family all his life. He is an over protective dad who only wants to make sure that members of his family are safe from the harmful elements of the world outside their cage. Emma Stone plays the voice of Eep the teenage daughter in the family trying to exercise her freedom to explore and see what is in store for her and her family in the outside world. During one of her escapades she happen to stumble upon Guy the nomadic character voiced over by Ryan Reynolds who helped guide them through the twists and turns of their road trip and starting a Tarzan and Janesque cute love story.

The characters however did not have enough time to develop due to it’s fast paced sequences. However, I would not mind seeing a sequel.Hearing the laughs and giggles of kids while watching this movie in the theaters added to the fun and enjoyment to the whole experience.

The tandem of former Disney animator Chris Sanders who brought us Lilo and Stitch in 2002 and How to train your dragon in 2010 and Kirk De Micco who wrote and co-produced the animated feature Racing Stripes in 2005 and wrote and directed Space Chimps in 2008. Through their screenplay they did a great job telling a story that caters to both adults and kids alike. A story that flows without any unnecessary distractions and through their directing skills they were also able to put together the right voices that brought the characters to life. The Croods is the first animation Film to be distributed by 20th Century Fox. It opened in 4,046 cinemas 3,000 of which were 3D equipped. The movie debuted at the top of the box office in the United states and internationally during it’s opening weekend last March 22nd earning an estimated $44.7 million in the United States during the first 3 day release. Dethroning the former number one film OZ. The Croods is expected to remain in the top for a couple more weeks due to it’s family oriented nature and lack of same genre competition.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
WinningmarthaApr 2, 2013
It catches the attention from children, but did not achieve any interest, for the similarities from the Flintstones. except that it has good quality, magnificent pilot and a righteous end.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
mlenardApr 5, 2013
Hilarious movie. I thoroughly enjoyed it, particularly, "release the baby!" Animation was great, characterization was great, and you can take the whole family. Little ones might be upset by the intensity of the action but older ones (7-8)Hilarious movie. I thoroughly enjoyed it, particularly, "release the baby!" Animation was great, characterization was great, and you can take the whole family. Little ones might be upset by the intensity of the action but older ones (7-8) will like it. I laughed out loud. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SarahMichelleNov 18, 2013
Very enjoyable cute movie about cavemen with a good cast and cute storyline that goes with it. Some very Cute animals and good jokes which is very entertaining for the kids and as well as the parents. Go see it or buy it on dvd blue rayVery enjoyable cute movie about cavemen with a good cast and cute storyline that goes with it. Some very Cute animals and good jokes which is very entertaining for the kids and as well as the parents. Go see it or buy it on dvd blue ray itunes whatever. (8/10) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SolidWeaselMGSMar 23, 2013
To be honest, this was better than I expected. I thought it might just a bunch of cavemen walking around a rainforest, but it becomes a magical journey when you see it, I recommend it.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
7
LuksRokzApr 8, 2013
A lot funnier than i expected, guess it kinda took my by surprise. Not much to say of it. I had fun, that's that. It ain't gonna win any awards or nothing but hey, over all a great kids movie that i enjoyed more than i thought i would.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
hacmiu36Mar 24, 2013
This may be not first or the second best animation i have ever seen. but the movie is very good, it maskes us laugh and happy
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
3
Rainbow_LizardAug 13, 2013
The plot was incredibly predictable, the comedy was bad and the pacing was way too fast during the first three quarters. The film was not creative, the extent of the creativity being animal other animal/plant. The characters to me wereThe plot was incredibly predictable, the comedy was bad and the pacing was way too fast during the first three quarters. The film was not creative, the extent of the creativity being animal other animal/plant. The characters to me were annoying and the majority were completely static, with the exception of Grugg and Eep. After the Tar pit scene, the plot becomes a lot less predictable, and the pacing is better, but I still couldn't care about them. The conflicts were born out of pure stupidity, and there were plenty of plotholes to go around. (Where are the trees? You can't simply survive on eggs you have to risk death to get. At least kill the bloody things.) Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
LanaDelReyMar 24, 2013
A Poor Mans Flinstones? Somewhat....
Still Barley Charming.....
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
3
LuiGMar 23, 2013
Ok, this is Dreamworks animation trying again too hard. The animation isn't my personal favorite. Beautiful colors but again I just didn't fall in love with characters or story :0/
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
8
Annoymous1May 5, 2013
Lot of 3-D films don't technically work but The Croods proved my theory wrong. It used 3-D very good (But still not enough). To say the least this movie is similar to Madagascar but still not enough to complete that franchise.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LawShyApr 1, 2013
If you were a fan of films such as "The Incredibles" or "Despicable Me" go see "The Croods". You will laugh (frequently), you will possibly cry (if that's your thing). You will be entertained by this riveting tale of, family, friends,If you were a fan of films such as "The Incredibles" or "Despicable Me" go see "The Croods". You will laugh (frequently), you will possibly cry (if that's your thing). You will be entertained by this riveting tale of, family, friends, relationships, growth, acceptance and evolution. Highly recommended for all ages. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
UzumakitonyOct 8, 2013
I think Ice Age already covered what this movie did so I'm in the been-ther-done-that crew. I think a 6 is the perfect rating for this movie. It's kinda funny.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
KickaOct 25, 2013
I love this movie! The story line and the animation ticked my senses and captivated my mind. What a great movie! I like how it teaches children that no matter how much your parents don't say that they love you, they are always thinking it, noI love this movie! The story line and the animation ticked my senses and captivated my mind. What a great movie! I like how it teaches children that no matter how much your parents don't say that they love you, they are always thinking it, no matter how much a brat they can be. I love unique movies and this one is simply that. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
eagleeyevikingNov 28, 2013
It succeeds in everything, but just barely. It is fun but everthing else from the direction to the characters are just about average. It's a good time but instantly unmemorable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
MissDraeMar 2, 2014
It was a cute movie, I sort of enjoyed, but it wasn't a memorable one for me. Although I would recommend it for parents who want to watch a movie with their kids.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
JacobMay 20, 2014
The film looks great with its bright colors and there is some decent humor, which will entertain the kids but that’s not enough. This film is meh. Outside of the last third, which is somewhat engaging and heartfelt this movie has little toThe film looks great with its bright colors and there is some decent humor, which will entertain the kids but that’s not enough. This film is meh. Outside of the last third, which is somewhat engaging and heartfelt this movie has little to offer. The story and characters are generic containing a lot of stuff that I’ve seen before (some of which from other Dreamworks movies) and there is no good humor or hilarious side character to save this movie. This is disappointing since Chris Miller was working on this movie and he has worked on such Disney films as Mulan along with Dreamworks hits like How to Train Your Dragon. I can kind of feel his touch but not really. Maybe he wasn’t that involved in it though. I heard that originally Aardman was going to make this film but when their deal with Dreamworks ended they got to make the movie instead of Aardman, which is a shame because I would have loved to have seen what Aardman’s version would have been like because knowing them it would have had a lot more heart like Arthur Christmas (which is a great film) and/or humor like Pirates Band of Misfits. Even so this is coming from a studio that has made some pretty good movies such as the first two Shrek movies, How To Train Your Dragon, the Kung Fu Panda films, and most recently Rise of the Guardians. I am shocked that this movie is getting a sequel because this doesn’t seem like the kind of movie that would catch on. I don’t know anyone who saw it and it wasn’t getting that much buzz. However, obviously there are a bunch of little kids that saw this film and liked it and I won’t blame them because there are a lot of mediocre films I saw as I kid that only recently upon a repeated viewing am I realizing are crap (like the Ice Age films). So if you have kids show them this movie it will entertain them but if you are looking for that exceptionally good animated film this ain’t it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Forrestgump1Jun 4, 2013
"The Croods is a HUGE achievement for Dreamworks Animation. Visually appealing with a heart-warming story that at times is emotional and very clever. Featuring a nice voice cast, a film that could have been awful, turned out to be quite the"The Croods is a HUGE achievement for Dreamworks Animation. Visually appealing with a heart-warming story that at times is emotional and very clever. Featuring a nice voice cast, a film that could have been awful, turned out to be quite the opposite." ..B Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BikerjamesApr 1, 2013
Dreamworks is making some great animation, and is currently better than Pixar. The last two Pixar films (Cars2, Brave) were duds. The animation and 3D of The Croods is excellent. There are imaginative looking creatures all along the way,Dreamworks is making some great animation, and is currently better than Pixar. The last two Pixar films (Cars2, Brave) were duds. The animation and 3D of The Croods is excellent. There are imaginative looking creatures all along the way, and the pacing is frenetic and funny. It isn't quite as good as How to Train Your Dragon (so far their masterpiece) but it's close. I thought it would bother me that they used Nicolas Cage as the voice of the father because his voice is so distinctive that it would be distracting, but it didn't turn out that way. All the voice actors do a fine job. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerNov 1, 2013
DreamWorks proves once again that they know how to create a beautifully animated, hilarious, and heartwarming family movie. The all-star voice cast really brings these characters to life, and the movie is filmed to the brim with the non-stopDreamWorks proves once again that they know how to create a beautifully animated, hilarious, and heartwarming family movie. The all-star voice cast really brings these characters to life, and the movie is filmed to the brim with the non-stop laughs. The story at the core of it all is sweet as well, even if it is a bit familiar. I have to give special praise to the fantastic animation work. It's hard to not believe that the environments and the animals aren't real. They are some of the most lifelike and realistic I've ever seen in an animated movie. The character models also look great, but thanks to their exaggerated features end up looking less lifelike than the environments and animals. However this is still the best looking animated movie I've ever seen, even beating out Pixar's strongest efforts.

This is a fantastic, must-watch family comedy. It's got everything a high-quality animated movie should have, like fantastic voice acting, animation, humor, and story. So when you and your family are sitting down for a family movie night "The Croods" should be at the top of your list. It truly is one of the best animated movies I've ever seen.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
llamayarmybarOct 1, 2016
"The croods," or is like to call, "Ice Age The Great caveman adventure," is a film made for children and brain dead parents who either are religious and don't seem to find this film offensive, or aren't and are just plain brain dead to begin"The croods," or is like to call, "Ice Age The Great caveman adventure," is a film made for children and brain dead parents who either are religious and don't seem to find this film offensive, or aren't and are just plain brain dead to begin with. If you, like me saw the trailer for this film, you might have actually thought that this was Dreamworks making another terrible sequel to the Ice Age series of films, however I was pleasantly surprised after watching the full film from start to finish. I thought, "Wow, its hard to believe a bunch of morons at Dreamworks thought this garbage would actually sell with Nicholas Cage attached to it." He's the worst thing in it, he's the worst character, he's the worst voice actor, and he's a detriment to the movie as a whole. Honestly remove his character and take away the dialogue from the majority of the film? This would've been great, but yet again its another imaginative film for children that can't even treat its audience like children. It spells everything out, it has no mystery, it lacks any charm it COULD have provided ultimately. My biggest issue here though, is the plot is really thin without the inclusion of "Guys" character. I mean it could've just gone nowhere entirely, but thank goodness they just so HAPPEN to meet another character that just so happens to MOVE the plot along otherwise they would've all died in the cave after the first earthquake I guess. "Eep" is great, voice work is solid here, but her expressions, character design and general animation are what make her a good character. Everyone else feels kind of cookie cutter in comparison, aside from "Guy" of course. Its obvious that its suggesting romance between Neanderthals and Homo sapiens, which is a cute thought, but these two species would've likely attacked and killed eachother on sight as well. Just a little bit of scientific knowledge to thrown for good measure, since their is absolutely none of it in this film. Turtles with wings, giant walking land whales, flying piranha birds, strange amalgamations of animals that could've never existed- you name it. They're all over this movie. Part of me likes to indulge that kind of imagination and I could see a child being interested in such things, but another part of me is literally shouting internally things like, "This is completely wrong and makes no sense." All in all, if you edited Nicholas Cage and his character out of the movie, fleshed out the family more and make a better motivation for why Guy and Eep even met up to begin with, it could've been a pretty stellar movie. Like maybe an arranged marriage or peace treaty between a Neanderthal and Homo Sapien family or tribe perhaps. Its funny that when I think about when early Homosapiens wandering the Earth that even I could write a better plot about them going on an adventure. Dreamworks- nice try in attempting to catch lightning in a bottle twice (we know you can't by now). Turn down the trippy ridiculous Pandora environments and maybe try writing a film that appeals to adults next time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
hoops2448Jul 8, 2013
A Caveman animation almost entirely about family sounds like a generic idea for an animated film but The Croods surprises with its unexpected turns, stellar animation and emotional finale. The film follows a family of cavemen called TheA Caveman animation almost entirely about family sounds like a generic idea for an animated film but The Croods surprises with its unexpected turns, stellar animation and emotional finale. The film follows a family of cavemen called The Croods who are led by father Grug (Nicholas Cage). However when Grug's daughter Eep (Emma Stone) defies him and leaves the cave and meets Guy (Ryan Reynolds) she learns the end is coming and that she must force her family to change their cave dwelling ways in order to survive, something Grug might be incapable of doing. The Croods is paint by numbers animation with the plot feeling like a rehash of Ice Age with a bit of The Flintstones thrown in for good measure. The film is generic in its plotting and it feels very much like a flash in the pan, a film for now that people won't remember that well in the future. However it does have enough for it to have been a shame to miss. That being said, this caveman saga is hobbled very early on by some lacklustre voice acting, especially by Katherine Keener who plays Grug's wife Ugga. She puts very little into her performance something that becomes very clear towards the end when she under delivers in some key scenes. The film soldiers on though and manages to be unique through its action with some of the set pieces being truly breathtaking. In fact the attention to detail in the movie is remarkable, the world they have created is one untouched by animation so far and for a film that's main colour is brown, that's impressive. The finale of the film is terrific for multiple reasons but the animation is the best aspect, there is enough action and excitement in the ending as there is in the rest of the movie and the animators managed to put enough into their shots so that it looks amazing but doesn't give you a Man of Steel headache. In fact The Croods really comes alive in its ending and differentiates itself from other animated fare with a finale that is action packed, funny and carries one hell of an emotional punch that feels quite familiar but still has the desired effect. Its a well crafted film from the director of How to Train your Dragon and a worthy but not quite as good follow up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews