Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: March 22, 2013
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 283 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
200
Mixed:
57
Negative:
26
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SpankyApr 3, 2013
Believe it or not, this is the best movie I've seen this year. Don't make the mistake thinking this is only a Kira's movie. Wildly imaginative and creative. I saw this with two other adults and we all loved it.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SmeeApr 6, 2013
This is the best animation movie ever made also the best film of 2013 till today.With fresh theme nice humor and awesome 3D effects. Hope they make part 2 of this as soon.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
hacmiu36Mar 24, 2013
This may be not first or the second best animation i have ever seen. but the movie is very good, it maskes us laugh and happy
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonMar 23, 2013
A perfect match for children who love movies such as Ice Age and The Lorax. The Croods is a magical movie with lots of fun and lost of laughs. Very sweet and cute with lots of positive messages about being together with family. The Croods isA perfect match for children who love movies such as Ice Age and The Lorax. The Croods is a magical movie with lots of fun and lost of laughs. Very sweet and cute with lots of positive messages about being together with family. The Croods is your ticket to a great child movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
LawShyApr 1, 2013
If you were a fan of films such as "The Incredibles" or "Despicable Me" go see "The Croods". You will laugh (frequently), you will possibly cry (if that's your thing). You will be entertained by this riveting tale of, family, friends,If you were a fan of films such as "The Incredibles" or "Despicable Me" go see "The Croods". You will laugh (frequently), you will possibly cry (if that's your thing). You will be entertained by this riveting tale of, family, friends, relationships, growth, acceptance and evolution. Highly recommended for all ages. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
mlenardApr 5, 2013
Hilarious movie. I thoroughly enjoyed it, particularly, "release the baby!" Animation was great, characterization was great, and you can take the whole family. Little ones might be upset by the intensity of the action but older ones (7-8)Hilarious movie. I thoroughly enjoyed it, particularly, "release the baby!" Animation was great, characterization was great, and you can take the whole family. Little ones might be upset by the intensity of the action but older ones (7-8) will like it. I laughed out loud. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
raleigh142Jun 23, 2013
Extremely funny, unique characters and animation. Best Animated Movie ever made. I am hoping for a sequel soon. I soooo love all the characters especially Grandma, so funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KickaOct 25, 2013
I love this movie! The story line and the animation ticked my senses and captivated my mind. What a great movie! I like how it teaches children that no matter how much your parents don't say that they love you, they are always thinking it, noI love this movie! The story line and the animation ticked my senses and captivated my mind. What a great movie! I like how it teaches children that no matter how much your parents don't say that they love you, they are always thinking it, no matter how much a brat they can be. I love unique movies and this one is simply that. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
pamelajsmith01Nov 16, 2013
This film is amazing the more you watch it the better it gets. My kids are addicted to it and i have to watch it every day (or part of) don't just watch it once watch it a few times. as good as toy story 3.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CherryxldNov 23, 2014
The Croods es una película de animación que contiene varios y creativos momentos de risa, con buena animación y una historia que logra ser entretenida para así volverse en una gran película del género familiar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DatJellybeanThoApr 7, 2014
I watched this movie twice, and I loved it. The characters and all their personalities, the animations, the voice actors, the story, it was all good. Definitely one of the better animated films I've seen in a wile. However, if you held a gunI watched this movie twice, and I loved it. The characters and all their personalities, the animations, the voice actors, the story, it was all good. Definitely one of the better animated films I've seen in a wile. However, if you held a gun to my head and commanded me to give criticism, I'd say the beginning with the egg and all, was dragged out too long, and the belt monkey animal on Guy was annoying to look at, But all in all, I was entertained, 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FadomasFeb 20, 2016
The movie is very good it made me laugh with my father and had some great time.I wish there will be in the future part 2.You must see it totally recommended movie for a family kids and adults!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BikerjamesApr 1, 2013
Dreamworks is making some great animation, and is currently better than Pixar. The last two Pixar films (Cars2, Brave) were duds. The animation and 3D of The Croods is excellent. There are imaginative looking creatures all along the way,Dreamworks is making some great animation, and is currently better than Pixar. The last two Pixar films (Cars2, Brave) were duds. The animation and 3D of The Croods is excellent. There are imaginative looking creatures all along the way, and the pacing is frenetic and funny. It isn't quite as good as How to Train Your Dragon (so far their masterpiece) but it's close. I thought it would bother me that they used Nicolas Cage as the voice of the father because his voice is so distinctive that it would be distracting, but it didn't turn out that way. All the voice actors do a fine job. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerNov 1, 2013
DreamWorks proves once again that they know how to create a beautifully animated, hilarious, and heartwarming family movie. The all-star voice cast really brings these characters to life, and the movie is filmed to the brim with the non-stopDreamWorks proves once again that they know how to create a beautifully animated, hilarious, and heartwarming family movie. The all-star voice cast really brings these characters to life, and the movie is filmed to the brim with the non-stop laughs. The story at the core of it all is sweet as well, even if it is a bit familiar. I have to give special praise to the fantastic animation work. It's hard to not believe that the environments and the animals aren't real. They are some of the most lifelike and realistic I've ever seen in an animated movie. The character models also look great, but thanks to their exaggerated features end up looking less lifelike than the environments and animals. However this is still the best looking animated movie I've ever seen, even beating out Pixar's strongest efforts.

This is a fantastic, must-watch family comedy. It's got everything a high-quality animated movie should have, like fantastic voice acting, animation, humor, and story. So when you and your family are sitting down for a family movie night "The Croods" should be at the top of your list. It truly is one of the best animated movies I've ever seen.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZilcellMar 30, 2013
The Croods is unique. That is a simple way to put it, but this is the best cavemen movie i've ever seen. The show has it all. Interesting characters, heartwarming moments, nonstop laughs, and beautiful animation. Sure, any computer animatedThe Croods is unique. That is a simple way to put it, but this is the best cavemen movie i've ever seen. The show has it all. Interesting characters, heartwarming moments, nonstop laughs, and beautiful animation. Sure, any computer animated film nowadays can look great, but The Croods stands out for its extremely colorful animation. YOU MUST SEE IT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ThomasBergJul 15, 2013
Again movie critica show us that their jobs are meaningless, especially high end pompeous ones who cant seem to generate an objective review if their lives depended on it. They could at least rephrase "review" to "my opinion". This movie isAgain movie critica show us that their jobs are meaningless, especially high end pompeous ones who cant seem to generate an objective review if their lives depended on it. They could at least rephrase "review" to "my opinion". This movie is heartwarming and fits its TARGET AUDIENCE well. Also pretty funny! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
dante_finnJul 5, 2013
Really Funny Movie.....................................................................................................................................
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
AlessandroCaliApr 1, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was actually expecting a lot less from that movie. So, it's clear that it has surprised me!
And in a very good way! It was a while that I wasn't seeing a good CGI film like this. To be completely honest, both Madagascar 3 and Ice Age 4 weren't good. This one was... pure. Funny. Pretty original. Look at that, in the whole movie there weren't no farts, no bad words and no... burps? Yep. I was constantly laughing or smiling during the movie, and that made me very happy. There were some very original gags! Like the dog one... But, moving on, the characters. The characters were very well done: they were all funny, human and they had their personality. I really empathized with some of them! And that's why I was expecting at least one of them to die. I know, this doesn't sound good, but, I was really expecting it. Because, in every movie (ok, not every movie) there's at least one sad scene. And in this one... there wasn't. But, from a different point of view... I'm glad that no one died. The music was cool, but, yeah, just cool. The graphics were average. You know, in some parts, like the sea one, the graphics were amazing and near to perfection. But in other parts they were really average. I'm not saying they were bad, they were not bad at all, but, they were the graphics that you expect to see. Nothing more. Nothing less. Expect, as I said before, for some parts, where they were amazing. Why did I give it 9 and not 10? Well, for just one thing: how many endings does this movie have? Are they kidding me? Considering that I was in needing to pee, It really got me on my nerves to see like 8 endings! But, that's okay. I guess. Overall, that's a really great movie! And you all should watch it. Bye.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KwasieMar 23, 2013
Great movie. If possible, go see the 3D version as the animators really went a long way to make it a true part of the film's look and feel. The storyline is phenomenal, voice acting superb, and there are plenty of laughs for both kids andGreat movie. If possible, go see the 3D version as the animators really went a long way to make it a true part of the film's look and feel. The storyline is phenomenal, voice acting superb, and there are plenty of laughs for both kids and adults. Definitely one I would gladly watch again. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
greenskyApr 1, 2013
I enjoyed this one more than I expected. The critics were overly harsh in their criticisms of the movie. The visuals were outstanding, and the plot while a little bit repetitive never got tired.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Nova78180Apr 28, 2013
It's been a long time i haven't laugh as much. Moreover, each scene is more beautiful than the previous one. The 3d work is remarkable, nothing like the first 3d movies. just FUN
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
colinslabyJun 21, 2013
If you're looking for anachronisms in this movie you'll find plenty. If you're looking for sweet moments, funny moments, clever storytelling, and universal age appeal, you'll also find plenty. Flat out, this is a great movie to share withIf you're looking for anachronisms in this movie you'll find plenty. If you're looking for sweet moments, funny moments, clever storytelling, and universal age appeal, you'll also find plenty. Flat out, this is a great movie to share with your young children. There is no villain, no actual heartbreak although there are some extremely touching father/daughter exchanges just adventure and stunning animation. While Monsters University will provide laughs and gags, this movie provides simple heart... along the lines of How to Train Your Dragon. Don't look for complexity, don't look for twists or the unpredictable, just sit back and enjoy the ride... your kids will. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
film_bugAug 18, 2013
A surprisingly heart-warming animation. A family-friendly story that brings laughter and tears. The characters didn't seem interesting at first, but they sure do grow on you! By the end of the movie, you will have discovered a new-found loveA surprisingly heart-warming animation. A family-friendly story that brings laughter and tears. The characters didn't seem interesting at first, but they sure do grow on you! By the end of the movie, you will have discovered a new-found love for the characters and the story itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BlueSky8642Sep 3, 2014
The Croods really deserved to be noticed more at the Oscars last year. Brilliant animation quality, heartwarming themes, and a hilarious crew of cavemen combine for a laugh-out-loud movie that will entertain all ages. Certainly one of theThe Croods really deserved to be noticed more at the Oscars last year. Brilliant animation quality, heartwarming themes, and a hilarious crew of cavemen combine for a laugh-out-loud movie that will entertain all ages. Certainly one of the best films DreamWorks Animation has produced. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MikefromAngusFeb 7, 2014
huge surprise of an animated movie! The critics were totally wrong about this one! It was fun to watch, with great animations! and the story was decent as well!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AwesomeReviewerMar 24, 2013
“The Croods” has a simple story about old vs. new and family. The family must move when disaster strikes and learn to adapt to new ways of doing things. Resistant at first, they meet a boy named Guy, who helps them rediscover the ever“The Croods” has a simple story about old vs. new and family. The family must move when disaster strikes and learn to adapt to new ways of doing things. Resistant at first, they meet a boy named Guy, who helps them rediscover the ever changing world. The film tells us to embrace new things with open arms and enjoy all the wonders life has to offer. Not everything new is evil or makes you any less of a person than your ancestors. Family is a pretty central part of the film as we can see them bonding and doing a lot of things together.

The film is a little light on heart and emotions, but more than makes up for it with its unique sense of humor. The punches keep rolling with slap stick, sight gags and jokes about cavemen and their primitive ways. I was literally laughing from beginning to end. The sheer amount of creativity in the film is commendable and I was constantly thinking where do they come up with some of these ideas.

Chris Sanders and Kirk De Micco do a pretty good job of directing the film. They give a good amount of attention to the family and each individual character. I really like how certain things introduced earlier in the film serve a purpose later on. If any animated movie ever deserved to get nominated at The Oscars for Cinematography, it would be this one. The shots and angles are so unique and filled with so much energy. The sweeping shots of the landscape and the skies are beautiful to the eyes. The hunting scene early in the film is really where most of this is apparent.

The characters are good, especially Grug. He’s funny and a really devoted father, but incredibly stubborn. Nicolas Cage brings the right amount of crazy caveman and caring father to his character. Emma Stone as Eep is also a solid character. She’s curious and her design is way better than what the trailers make it out to be. I like how she isn’t the typical perfect figured woman. She has messed up teeth, she has a full figure, and overall is not bounded by gender roles. The rest of the cast is okay as they don’t do much. The mom is kinda bland, Thunk and Gran provide some of the comic relief, and Guy is just the cool kid that has the crazy new ideas that shake up the family.

The animation is quite gorgeous especially the hand-drawn opening sequence. The desert scenes are desolate and feel very isolated. A great juxtapose to it are the lush and vibrant forest locations. The directors do a lot visually with the film and make everything the characters see feel new to us as well. When they see stars for the first time, it really feels like you’re really seeing stars for the first time. The character designs are unique and highly creative. Every creature is completely new and never before seen. Score for this film is actually quite good. It feels very prehistoric, but with a modern flare. It gets really exciting and emotional when the film takes a slight dramatic turn.

Overall “The Croods” is a pretty good film. It has probably the best cinematography I’ve ever seen in an animated feature. It’s highly creative, and the animation is quite beautiful. The main characters are well rounded and the side characters serve their purpose. The story is a little simple and lacks an emotional punch, well at least until the end, but it is effective. Humor is top notch and will keep you laughing all the way through. I give it 4/5, creative, hilarious, and a fun time for families of all ages.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
foxgroveJan 10, 2014
This beautifully designed and colourful cartoon sustains its story and pacing very well. It is full of wit, humour and funny lines and it ends on an up beat note with a very moving finale. I must admit to being very resistant to seeing it,This beautifully designed and colourful cartoon sustains its story and pacing very well. It is full of wit, humour and funny lines and it ends on an up beat note with a very moving finale. I must admit to being very resistant to seeing it, but I must confess it's not only (along with Frozen) the best animated film of the year, it's also one of the better films of the year generally. Where most animated films run out of gas long before the end this one delivers in full. A real hoot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Annoymous1May 5, 2013
Lot of 3-D films don't technically work but The Croods proved my theory wrong. It used 3-D very good (But still not enough). To say the least this movie is similar to Madagascar but still not enough to complete that franchise.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
forestvilleMar 23, 2013
The cinema room 5 where I live, is not working because the projector can not produce tapes digital theater and I could not see Silver Linings Playbook.
Yes, believe it or not, that movie was just on my land. had to get all the public to see
The cinema room 5 where I live, is not working because the projector can not produce tapes digital theater and I could not see Silver Linings Playbook.
Yes, believe it or not, that movie was just on my land. had to get all the public to see another movie because there was reimbursement and I choose this because it was the most striking click, but that do not care so I'll go to the point.
I must say I just surprising me but there is little to say in a more than remarkable animated film. It takes a while to pick up pace but once pluck not stop.
The idea of seeing a story told a thousand times but starring cavemen do not think is particularly attractive, a fact that is compounded if the character designs, one of the main problems in the Dreamworks animated film from Shrek 4 in my opinion are not especially attractive.

What I liked most were the good character designs and environments that run on them, they are beautiful and attractive as well Life Of Pi, of course it does not exceed it and are not comparable, but they are really good, they were very well done especially if you enjoy it in 3D you will be amazed.

We must not deceive ourselves and say 'The Croods: A Prehistoric Adventure' is an essential film, but it is a perfect example of the commonplace and the topics are not necessarily bad, but you can still build great entertainment for all public. The only really essential is that there is someone behind with talent and desire to do things, which is precisely what happens in this case.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BrianMcCriticJul 11, 2013
I really enjoyed this film because not only is it visually beautiful but it is very funny and emotionally gripping. The family dinamic really worked for me and the little girl Sandy and the sloth Belt were my favorites.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews