The Croods Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 253 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: A comedy adventure that takes us back to the beginning - to a previously undiscovered era known as the Croodacious - a time when Mother Nature was still experimenting and the flora and fauna we know today hasn't evolved yet.

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Mar 20, 2013
    78
    A spirited and eye-popping stealth charmer.
  2. Reviewed by: Nell Minow
    Mar 20, 2013
    75
    Familiar family dynamics are amusingly exaggerated in the Paleolithic setting, where the most basic necessities require everyone's full-time attention.
  3. Reviewed by: Sean Daly
    Mar 27, 2013
    67
    Although The Croods has lazy patches throughout, the conclusion is exciting and, lo and behold, surprising.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Mar 21, 2013
    60
    The movie is at its most interesting and amusing when riffing on how cavemen might have reacted to new experiences and ideas, like fire and shoes. Whether the kiddies will appreciate that is unclear, but they’ll certainly like the voice work done by Emma Stone as Eep.
  5. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Mar 20, 2013
    58
    A handful of adrenalizing sequences of animated anarchy can't save this story from feeling overly primitive.
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    Good stuff comes when bad stuff happens; that's when some of the movie animation prowess kicks into high gear. But too many of the "solutions" the guys concoct are so impossibly complex or just downright ridiculous — puppetry comes to mind — that like the continents, it's a little too easy to drift away.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 21, 2013
    25
    I’d like to take back all those times I said Nicolas Cage was one of the most annoying actors on film. It turns out he’s equally terrible when he’s only on the soundtrack. And yet Cage is the least of the problems with The Croods.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 70
  2. Negative: 2 out of 70
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    This may be not first or the second best animation i have ever seen. but the movie is very good, it maskes us laugh and happy
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    I love this movie! The story line and the animation ticked my senses and captivated my mind. What a great movie! I like how it teachesI love this movie! The story line and the animation ticked my senses and captivated my mind. What a great movie! I like how it teaches children that no matter how much your parents don't say that they love you, they are always thinking it, no matter how much a brat they can be. I love unique movies and this one is simply that. Expand
  3. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    Again movie critica show us that their jobs are meaningless, especially high end pompeous ones who cant seem to generate an objective reviewAgain movie critica show us that their jobs are meaningless, especially high end pompeous ones who cant seem to generate an objective review if their lives depended on it. They could at least rephrase "review" to "my opinion". This movie is heartwarming and fits its TARGET AUDIENCE well. Also pretty funny! Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    This a good movie overall. It shows how cavemen lived, in a funny, warmhearted way. I don't really care about the incorrect reference aboutThis a good movie overall. It shows how cavemen lived, in a funny, warmhearted way. I don't really care about the incorrect reference about how certain things were invented. The only thing I consider bad in this movie is that some of the jokes were overdone. But in the end, this is a really good movie. 8/10 Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    7
    It catches the attention from children, but did not achieve any interest, for the similarities from the Flintstones. except that it has goodIt catches the attention from children, but did not achieve any interest, for the similarities from the Flintstones. except that it has good quality, magnificent pilot and a righteous end. Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    "The Croods is a HUGE achievement for Dreamworks Animation. Visually appealing with a heart-warming story that at times is emotional and very"The Croods is a HUGE achievement for Dreamworks Animation. Visually appealing with a heart-warming story that at times is emotional and very clever. Featuring a nice voice cast, a film that could have been awful, turned out to be quite the opposite." ..B Expand
  7. Aug 13, 2013
    3
    The plot was incredibly predictable, the comedy was bad and the pacing was way too fast during the first three quarters. The film was notThe plot was incredibly predictable, the comedy was bad and the pacing was way too fast during the first three quarters. The film was not creative, the extent of the creativity being animal other animal/plant. The characters to me were annoying and the majority were completely static, with the exception of Grugg and Eep. After the Tar pit scene, the plot becomes a lot less predictable, and the pacing is better, but I still couldn't care about them. The conflicts were born out of pure stupidity, and there were plenty of plotholes to go around. (Where are the trees? You can't simply survive on eggs you have to risk death to get. At least kill the bloody things.) Expand

See all 70 User Reviews

Trailers