Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2008
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 571 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
418
Mixed:
71
Negative:
82
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SamS.Mar 6, 2009
Get ready to cry. This movie deserves more than a 70, proving that the "critics" are not always correct.
7 of 8 users found this helpful
8
ArjunS.Dec 30, 2008
Director David Fincher, does a great job at making a well crafted story and uses great filming techniques to show it. The problem however, lies in the story rather then the way it was pulled off. The story resembles Forrest Gump incredibly Director David Fincher, does a great job at making a well crafted story and uses great filming techniques to show it. The problem however, lies in the story rather then the way it was pulled off. The story resembles Forrest Gump incredibly and because of this seemed to lack an original flare. This was counteracted though by a stellar performance from Brad Pitt who played the role of a New Orleans man, as if he was raised there his whole life. The combination of this and Fincher's direction make the film worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregoryR.Jan 3, 2009
Great movie. Visually stunning, moving, and a great adaptation to a bland short story that works itself into a masterful screenplay. Director, David Fincher, does an excellent job with atmosphere, New Orleans is shown in new light. Great Great movie. Visually stunning, moving, and a great adaptation to a bland short story that works itself into a masterful screenplay. Director, David Fincher, does an excellent job with atmosphere, New Orleans is shown in new light. Great movie, one of the best of 2008. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertA.Jan 30, 2009
It was very uplifting and had a moral to the story, which is unusual nowadays.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RonD.Jan 5, 2009
Visually breathtaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TimMJan 7, 2009
A mesmerising and heartwarming film from start to finish. There is no big message perhaps apart from enjoying every moment of life while you can and appreciating it in all it's richness. Go see.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimL.Jan 1, 2009
Engaging, moving. Terrific soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlyU.Jan 3, 2009
My best film for 2008. david fincher is genius. cate is wondergul actress.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DannyW.Jan 4, 2009
WOW! This was a great movie! I saw it with PGA and loved it! The end was so sad and you can tell what will happen to him so when it all comes together at the end it is so sad. But it is left with a giant ? so thats why I gave it a 9. I WOW! This was a great movie! I saw it with PGA and loved it! The end was so sad and you can tell what will happen to him so when it all comes together at the end it is so sad. But it is left with a giant ? so thats why I gave it a 9. I highly recommend it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnW.Jan 4, 2009
Found this film to be extremely touching and very creative. Brad Pitt is superb.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlwinD.Jan 4, 2009
Magical! best of 2008 hands down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EmmaNJan 5, 2009
See this movie. Kate Blanchett and Brad Pitt's performances are amazing. I was thoroughly entertained from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyB.Jan 6, 2009
Extremely well-acted, meticulously designed, beautifully photographed, meaningful and quite moving, a mature film for mature adults...who could ask for anything more?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AdrianVFeb 17, 2009
Thank god, great story, nicely told ,and great acting ...as close as u can get to perfection. I am sick of that overwhelming action just for the sake of it, they did great to keep their feet on the ground as they did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ArielleF.May 22, 2009
"The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" started out with a good plot and high expectations for me. But it ended in such a cliche way I almost forgot how good the beginning of the movie was. And am I the only one that felt deja vu? With another "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" started out with a good plot and high expectations for me. But it ended in such a cliche way I almost forgot how good the beginning of the movie was. And am I the only one that felt deja vu? With another movie...let's say...."Forrest Gump" perhaps? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayHMay 2, 2009
Impressive production - the art direction, make-up, and cinematography are magnificent. Brad Pitt is amazing. The story is fascinating. It did seem it's 2 1/2 hour length, a little cutting would have helped, but overall a top notch film Impressive production - the art direction, make-up, and cinematography are magnificent. Brad Pitt is amazing. The story is fascinating. It did seem it's 2 1/2 hour length, a little cutting would have helped, but overall a top notch film that is outstanding. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
PeterGMay 4, 2009
One of the best movies I've seen in last years. It's worth of success. By me personally it's better than Titanic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesJun 4, 2009
Wonderful movie because it is not a ordinary story. Acting was great,movie sets terrific Comparable to Forrest Gump..
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GemmaE.Dec 26, 2008
The acting, the themes, the cinematography, the meaning of life and death - this film has it all down pact in the most beautiful and perfect way imaginable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bobbobDec 26, 2008
Easy to criticize this movie for length , sentimentality and a likeness to Forrest Gump but truth be told this is a finely crafted work of art with brilliant performances from an all star cast. Movie of the year for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VinnieG.Dec 27, 2008
Great movie. Touching story. Fantastic acting. joy to watch. Must see for movie lovers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
anne8Dec 29, 2008
Amazing movie. instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.LopezDec 29, 2008
Exceptional!!!The curious case of Benjamin Button is a truly amazing dedication to life and how you should live it. David Fincher's amazing drama tells the story of a man named Benjamin Button, Benjamin isn't like other kids his Exceptional!!!The curious case of Benjamin Button is a truly amazing dedication to life and how you should live it. David Fincher's amazing drama tells the story of a man named Benjamin Button, Benjamin isn't like other kids his age. In fact he's like nothing the world has ever seen before, He was a man born old, and as time went by Benjamin started to get younger and younger while the people around him get older and die. The curious case of Benjamin Button is a celebration about the meaning of living life to it's fullest. It's an inspiration to all people young and old that just because your getting older doesn't mean you can't live life like there's no tomorrow. I very,very highly recommended this truly exceptional film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JLR.Dec 29, 2008
Great movie... this generation has found its Forrest Gump.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MargaretM.Dec 30, 2008
I thoroughly enjoyed the movie! I was completely captivated by the story and found the "pearls of wisdom" scattered throughout the narration very thought provoking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatG.Jan 1, 2009
This movie is intriguing and thought-provoking. And I barely felt the three-hour length. We've all seen dozens of movies about a long life coming to an end. Somehow, seeing one in reverse casts new lights on loss and love and the search This movie is intriguing and thought-provoking. And I barely felt the three-hour length. We've all seen dozens of movies about a long life coming to an end. Somehow, seeing one in reverse casts new lights on loss and love and the search for meaning. Very interesting! I do recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jessD.Jan 14, 2009
I enjoyed the film. Outstanding Performances and the story which is always interesting and while long moves along at a leisurely pace detailing Ben Button life from birth to death in age reversal. Excellent photography, music score and a I enjoyed the film. Outstanding Performances and the story which is always interesting and while long moves along at a leisurely pace detailing Ben Button life from birth to death in age reversal. Excellent photography, music score and a great job from Director Fincher. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JWJan 15, 2009
A great movie. Some sections of the movie are a bit slow and the hospital scenes are awkward. Yet the positives far out weigh the negative. This is a very well paced 3 hr moves, about life, death and the love espierienced within.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
blankalibiJan 17, 2009
Just so good. Great acting and an interesting story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TyW,Jan 17, 2009
Seriously, this was a great film. It wasn't like "gump" (where on earth do the "experts" get that?) And it's feature length. Remember No Country for old Men? It was 2 and a half hours. So was There Will be blood. And Assasination Seriously, this was a great film. It wasn't like "gump" (where on earth do the "experts" get that?) And it's feature length. Remember No Country for old Men? It was 2 and a half hours. So was There Will be blood. And Assasination of Jesse James. It's called a MOVIE people. It's supposed to be long. This movie was well made, well acted, and well done. The story was weaved through the eyes of a dying woman (much more like Titanic than Forrest Gump) and it was an emotional roller-coaster throughout. Honestly the best movie of the year, and I highly recommend it to anyone with any taste in good cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulF.Jan 19, 2009
Any movie who can make Brad pit look either really really old, or even more impressive, move young and handsome than he already is has really accomplished something. Whoever did the make up for this movie really knew what they were doing. Any movie who can make Brad pit look either really really old, or even more impressive, move young and handsome than he already is has really accomplished something. Whoever did the make up for this movie really knew what they were doing. When old Button really looked nearly bald he did so without any cheesy looking head mask lines or anything. It looked totally realistic. But really the masterpiece of the movie was the story itself. It was very original and thought provoking. It really made me think about my own life and what it means to age and face death. Also the qualities of who we really are inside and not only our outside appearances were really exemplified by this movie. In short this was not simply entertainment but something that could nourish the intellect and soul if one was receptive its wisdoms. If the movie had any faults, and I can only think of two, is that it was way too long especially for this culture of short attention spans, and that it rushed over the younger years. The movie seemed to spend forever in his elder and mid years. Basically the movie was so centric on Brad pit it did not allow the chance for other actors to really shine. Not that I have anything against Brad Pitt who did a wonderful Job in the movie. Brad Pitt is an actor you want to hate because he's too darn good looking and in way too many movies. But honestly is really good at what he does. Despite the few minor flaws this movie is a real gem in a sea of superficial movies meant solely to entertain and then be forgotten for the next distraction. Truly The Curious Case of Benjamin Button was a 1 in a 100 movies you only get to see if you are paying attention. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AntfromUkJan 27, 2009
One of the best movies I've ever seen. I've read some of the comments below and wonder if they saw the same movie as me (Helena O....pass the bong on, you're not supposed to keep it!). Its an absolute masterpiece, a triumph of One of the best movies I've ever seen. I've read some of the comments below and wonder if they saw the same movie as me (Helena O....pass the bong on, you're not supposed to keep it!). Its an absolute masterpiece, a triumph of movie making, and a worthy winner of Best Picture if ever there was one. All thats left to say... is go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnH.Jan 29, 2009
This well-done movie makes one think about life through the story and acting -- A very credible, well told story that keeps one engaged throughout. How one could rate this movie a "0" or even a "1" or "2" - is unclear. What the movie lacked This well-done movie makes one think about life through the story and acting -- A very credible, well told story that keeps one engaged throughout. How one could rate this movie a "0" or even a "1" or "2" - is unclear. What the movie lacked in whirlwind 'blow em up and shoot em dead' movies with an excess of obscenity, gratuitous sex and gore --- it more than made up for in an insiteful, absorbing story. Who among us has not said, "boy, if I only knew then, what I know now" Or contemplated the cycle of life from a relatively helpless baby --- back to a relatively helpless elderly person? It's difficult to find movies that develop character and a storyline (versus special effects and noise) -- This one is a 'thumbs-up' for good adult entertainment. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
FredB.Jan 4, 2009
If you don't like to cry at the movies, you might want to skip this one. Not since Big Fish have I cried this long and hard at a movie. The only problem is, I'm still trying to figure out why... This is one of those long movies If you don't like to cry at the movies, you might want to skip this one. Not since Big Fish have I cried this long and hard at a movie. The only problem is, I'm still trying to figure out why... This is one of those long movies that captivate until the end, but left me longing for an explaination. I am still pondering this movie over one wek later. Not sure why it left such an impression on me. Definatley worth checking out just to see the amazing special effects and something never done before... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanaM.Jan 5, 2009
This is a film defintely worth seeing. Acting was excellent and well worth the ten bucks to see it. It is a long film but did not feel the time was excessive. It's one of those films you want to see again to catch all the nuances from This is a film defintely worth seeing. Acting was excellent and well worth the ten bucks to see it. It is a long film but did not feel the time was excessive. It's one of those films you want to see again to catch all the nuances from the earlier scenes. Go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristianP.Jan 5, 2009
Lovely. Fincher's a master.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NerijusD.Feb 14, 2009
Really overrated film. A simple fable with rather average shaping and kinda boring experiences. Only special effects could be considered Oscar-worthy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AllySFeb 20, 2009
Great Movie. An old fashioned story but brilliantly told with great performances and stunning special effects. Perhaps the perfect date movie, my girlfriend loved it and so did I and that never happens!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomS.Feb 23, 2009
Good Movie.Lots going on, hard to keep up with. However, if you are able to keep up with the changing of Pitt, then the movie is great to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
maxjFeb 6, 2009
An amazing, magical, sad, heartwarming and a classic piece of theater. the best movie i've ever seen in my entire life. every bit is pure freshness and absaloutley perfect in every way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GeorgeMMay 12, 2009
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is perhaps one of the more unique films I've seen in some time...its not necessarily a "great" movie as it stands on its own as something different. Benjamin Button is born unwanted, as he is an The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is perhaps one of the more unique films I've seen in some time...its not necessarily a "great" movie as it stands on its own as something different. Benjamin Button is born unwanted, as he is an infant with the physical appearance of an 80 year old man...and as he grows up he gets younger, and throughout his life (despite his reverse aging) he meets people of all walks of life, learns about life and death living in a retirement home, and yearns to find some place in this world given his circumstances. He approaches life with a sense of "awe" in everywhere he goes and everyone he meets. He seems like a genuine person that truly absorbs the world around him and he is calmly fascinated by the world around him...that things are much bigger and its good to feel small sometimes, yet he seems to carry around this gloomy outlook...no doubt brought on by his growing up around those old folks that are on the virge of passing away...in essence, life is short no matter which way youre aging. Brad Pitt does a great job of portraying the rather innocent, shy, but ever desperate for love Benjamin Button...he seems to really grow with the character and Cate Blanchett does an adequate job of portraying the "love interest" with a certain fascination, reservation, but ever apparent love for Benjamin. Overall its a very interesting film...one that should not be overlooked, it IS a bit long and at times it seems to drag but its just a fascinating watch. The FX are amazing...the design is exquisite, and the direction is solid (even if some of the exchanged dialogue seems..."cut off" and forced). The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is NOT what I consider a great film...a very competant one but its not something I will watch time and time again but something to pull out every once and a while...it dosen't have that "classic" film status but its not to be missed. RECOMMENDED. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BojanaMMay 15, 2009
I liked it in very weird way. I could say that the story is refreshing but yet very unusual. if the time could just go backwards nothing would really change. Anyway, it´s a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
bradbMay 15, 2009
I think this film is easier to appreciate when you have experienced many years of life. I'm 50, and felt very comfortable with where the film was going and what it was trying to say - I absolutely loved it, and I don't say that I think this film is easier to appreciate when you have experienced many years of life. I'm 50, and felt very comfortable with where the film was going and what it was trying to say - I absolutely loved it, and I don't say that very often about a movie, and I see lot's of em. Alexandre Desplat's score was amazing! If you are under 35, there is less chance of an appreciation. Top 5 on my list of films for 2008! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
halbMay 23, 2009
Definitely a brilliantly made film, but one that is -- as other reviewers have noted -- difficult to love. I agree with David Ansen (Newsweek), who wrote: "anyone who has contemplated his own mortality will find it hard not to be moved by Definitely a brilliantly made film, but one that is -- as other reviewers have noted -- difficult to love. I agree with David Ansen (Newsweek), who wrote: "anyone who has contemplated his own mortality will find it hard not to be moved by Fincher's evocation of the fickleness of fate". A somber tale that stretches out for 3 hours, but that held my interest throughout. Pitt is fantastic here, as is the supporting cast. Definitely worth renting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ThomasHJun 3, 2009
Scenery, cinematography are great in this film. The concept of having your my character age backwards was fascinating, and the makeup team should be congratulated for a superb effort.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanFJun 8, 2009
This movie was very well made. A lot of my friends agree that it was extremely boring, but that's just because they lack poetic patience and creativity. If you like a good love story and you think the Notebook is slightly generic and This movie was very well made. A lot of my friends agree that it was extremely boring, but that's just because they lack poetic patience and creativity. If you like a good love story and you think the Notebook is slightly generic and un-original you'll like this film. It is very unique but still is very emotional. It seems dumb that he is old to begin and gets younger as the movies progresses but it is by no means a pointless film. I highly recommend it and I don't normally like Brad Pitt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FilipeMJun 8, 2009
Excellent/Superb/Fantastic film, takes you places.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewG.Aug 7, 2009
Such a Magical movie, with a great cast, and an inspiring and emotional concept. Beautifully crafted, it deserved best picture.
4 of 5 users found this helpful
10
JordanH.Dec 25, 2008
I thought this movie was very well done. I don't feel that the length was a burden at all because It was time that was needed to develop the characters and the relationships that Benjamin had with them. I feel this movie was a very I thought this movie was very well done. I don't feel that the length was a burden at all because It was time that was needed to develop the characters and the relationships that Benjamin had with them. I feel this movie was a very powerful and moving one that is the best I have seen in quite some time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcSDec 26, 2008
A very good movie with a good message. There are few movies made today that can say that. It's a little long, but, to tell you the truth, I barely noticed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KathleenG.Dec 26, 2008
Just an amazing movie. I laughed and cried, and left still under its spell. There were interesting historical references ala "Forrest Gump" - yet the story was so absorbing, the references were only passing. Pitt was AMAZING, and Blanchett Just an amazing movie. I laughed and cried, and left still under its spell. There were interesting historical references ala "Forrest Gump" - yet the story was so absorbing, the references were only passing. Pitt was AMAZING, and Blanchett very convincing. This must get Oscar nods! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LewisP.Dec 26, 2008
Brilliant! This is a masterpiece! So beautiful to look at and so deeply moving and profound. Pitt's best performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnnB.Dec 28, 2008
Well told story with excellent acting by the whole cast. This could be Pitt's best outing yet. Cate Blanchett, Taraji P. Henson, and Julia Ormond shine as well. The story of Benjamin Button starts out with Benjamin being dropped off by Well told story with excellent acting by the whole cast. This could be Pitt's best outing yet. Cate Blanchett, Taraji P. Henson, and Julia Ormond shine as well. The story of Benjamin Button starts out with Benjamin being dropped off by his distraught father at an old age home, where 'Queenie' (Taraji P. Henson) adopts him as her own even though Benjamin looks like an eighty year old man in a baby's body. It is at the home that he meets up with Daisy (Kate Blanchett) who is the granddaughter of one of the residents. The story is about Benjamin's journey as he ages backward and the love story of Daisy and Benjamin. A wonderful way to spend 2 1/2 hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesS.Dec 28, 2008
Loved everything about this film... story, acting, cinematography, art direction, editing, music... one for the ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CarolSDec 28, 2008
Beautifully shot, edited, and designed. A bit too long. Pitt is excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DF.Dec 28, 2008
Best film of the year. I loved every second of the film and didn't feel the length was a problem at all. I could have watched a five hour cut of the film. Brad Pitt delivers an amazing performance and the cinematography was Best film of the year. I loved every second of the film and didn't feel the length was a problem at all. I could have watched a five hour cut of the film. Brad Pitt delivers an amazing performance and the cinematography was jaw-dropping. David Fincher has really showed us that he is capable of all sides of the spectrum. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
jonathans.Dec 28, 2008
Keeping it as short as possible and ignoring many points I wish I could cover: excellently made in all aspects, its first half is nonetheless, just Forrest Gump 2: the cirppled legs, the childhood girl who grows away into the fast life but Keeping it as short as possible and ignoring many points I wish I could cover: excellently made in all aspects, its first half is nonetheless, just Forrest Gump 2: the cirppled legs, the childhood girl who grows away into the fast life but comes back, the best friend captain and life on the sea--I honestly considered walking out just from the intense irritation the parallels were causing. But once the film settled down in the second half to focus on Benjamin's relationships, mainly with his wife, the film became much better and atoned for the first half. If you never saw Forrest Gump or didn't make the connection, the film was likely much, much better. Not bad, but not the epic it should've been. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ryanDec 29, 2008
Excellent film! beautifully made and acted... entertaining and captivating for its entire 2 hr. 45 min length.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Anarchrist13Dec 29, 2008
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimberlySDec 29, 2008
Not only one of the best movies of this year... Probably the best movie I have ever seen. Brad Pitt has never been better! His facial reactions and lyrical southern timing makes this movie a success. I believed every minute.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TrevorDec 31, 2008
A very philosophic movie. One of those that,as your leaving the theater, really makes you think. Very well acted and directed. do not go see it if you have young children however. I saw two couples and their kids leaving through out the A very philosophic movie. One of those that,as your leaving the theater, really makes you think. Very well acted and directed. do not go see it if you have young children however. I saw two couples and their kids leaving through out the viewing. It is a rather long film, sitting at two and a bit hours, so it will not hold the attention on children. Over all however, it is worth the high price of movie tickets now-a-days. Highly recommend seeing this. Best of the Christmas holiday movies in my humble opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DouglasG.Dec 30, 2008
Magical storytelling through film; excellent casting, especially Blanchett. A tad long, but overall well worth every minute.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YeahBazDec 30, 2008
Very very Forest Gump, but I say that in the best possible respect! One of my films for the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TakM.Jan 17, 2009
Benjamin Button was pure genius. Beautiful story, Funny jokes, and amazing characters all make this a stellar movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LevS.Jan 19, 2009
Beautiful and moving film about the 'human condition,' proving that cinema can be more than just distraction. Yes, it's three hours long but I could've watched it for another three (after a short bathroom break).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanL.Jan 21, 2009
The most amazingly elegant and subtle movie I have ever seen. Never have I watched a movie so rich with message and real life truths. Completely mesmerizing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StanT.Jan 24, 2009
As an actor, and director of plays I deem this movie the most beautiful film ever, ever ever, made. Acting was superb, most beautiful photography, sound, special effects, scenes, make-up, costumes....if it doesn't win every Oscar As an actor, and director of plays I deem this movie the most beautiful film ever, ever ever, made. Acting was superb, most beautiful photography, sound, special effects, scenes, make-up, costumes....if it doesn't win every Oscar category something is definitely wrong with Hollywood Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilipY.Jan 24, 2009
Original, creative, great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SecretLoverJan 24, 2009
A good movie. Proper mix of emotions.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomM.Apr 25, 2009
Brilliant and classy movie. ignore the 0 votes cast by ignorant people who would rather be saturated with violence or 'transformers' or whatnot. how bout this, you people go back to watching street fighter the legend of chun li and Brilliant and classy movie. ignore the 0 votes cast by ignorant people who would rather be saturated with violence or 'transformers' or whatnot. how bout this, you people go back to watching street fighter the legend of chun li and stop knocking this brilliantly made film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NotmwardN.Dec 25, 2008
Emotionally gripping and powerful, its message strong in our minds leaving the theatre's through our own perspectives.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AaronF.Dec 25, 2008
Frustrating in its inflated runtime and intermittent self-importance, "...Benjamin Button" is an enjoyable movie, but one that ultimately feels like "Forrest Gump" with a gimmick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillyS.Dec 25, 2008
Beautifully crafted, visually stunning but emotionally detached considering the possibilities that in the screenplay.Disappointingly, It doesn't look like the Oscar magnet that I've been reading about.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattDec 27, 2008
An extraordinary work of fantasy from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EvanB.Dec 27, 2008
Fantastic movie - one of the top 3 movies I have seen all year! Benjamin Button had my attention for the full 3 hours! It reminded me in many ways of the movie Forrest Gump. You genuinely will have in interest in this man's life. Brad Fantastic movie - one of the top 3 movies I have seen all year! Benjamin Button had my attention for the full 3 hours! It reminded me in many ways of the movie Forrest Gump. You genuinely will have in interest in this man's life. Brad Pitt's performance is flawless. I saw this movie a couple of days ago, and I'm still thinking about it. It has such a great plot-a man aging backwards! I will definitely pick this one up when it comes out on DVD. Give it a try, I think you will really like this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeP.Dec 27, 2008
This movie will touch your heart in a way that few films ever have. It is truly an epic masterpiece and deserves to be recognized at the Golden Globes and the Oscars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanS.Dec 27, 2008
A beautiflully filmed, paced and acted fantasy. Critics of it pretend their too sophisticated to be drawn in to its majesty but they're only cheating themselves. Don't let them hold you back from the most enthralling piece of A beautiflully filmed, paced and acted fantasy. Critics of it pretend their too sophisticated to be drawn in to its majesty but they're only cheating themselves. Don't let them hold you back from the most enthralling piece of filmaking in several years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanH.Dec 27, 2008
Truly a masterpiece. Aside from the spectacular special effects, David Fincher paints a vivid storyline filled with layer upon layers of depth. Eric Roth adapts F. Scott Fitzgerald's short story into a truly profound movie about life, Truly a masterpiece. Aside from the spectacular special effects, David Fincher paints a vivid storyline filled with layer upon layers of depth. Eric Roth adapts F. Scott Fitzgerald's short story into a truly profound movie about life, death, and of course, love. Acting from Brad Pitt and Cate Blanchett are great, and the cinematography is phenomenal. Definitely my favorite movie of 2008. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShadC.Dec 28, 2008
Very Touching at points, although slightly kitschy more than made up for by the cinematography and musical score.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaxsterOct 16, 2010
Crafting a story like this is a feat that is rarely seen in cinema. There is a real chemistry between Pitt and Blanchett and this is coupled by a storyline which gripped me as soon as I had seen the trailer. The story never gets old, much theCrafting a story like this is a feat that is rarely seen in cinema. There is a real chemistry between Pitt and Blanchett and this is coupled by a storyline which gripped me as soon as I had seen the trailer. The story never gets old, much the same as its protagonist. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
JudddyOct 5, 2010
David Fincher has transformed a strange plotline of a man who ages backwards into an epic love story, and it is the most touching and beautiful film I've ever seen. You forget the fictional storyline because the direction and storytelling isDavid Fincher has transformed a strange plotline of a man who ages backwards into an epic love story, and it is the most touching and beautiful film I've ever seen. You forget the fictional storyline because the direction and storytelling is so flawless. It is a very different look on life, as they say in the film, "Sometimes to understand life you have to look at it backwards". The acting is superb, the make-up and effects flawless and the length of the film goes unnoticed until you look at your watch when the film is over. An absolute masterpiece, and the best film of 2008. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
dalawmanNov 3, 2010
Despite the fact that Brade Pit can't act, once more he gives a feeble attempt at an accent that is terrible. BUT, they keep him quiet most of the time and the movie works well. I loved this flick, really good in spite of Brad's inability toDespite the fact that Brade Pit can't act, once more he gives a feeble attempt at an accent that is terrible. BUT, they keep him quiet most of the time and the movie works well. I loved this flick, really good in spite of Brad's inability to act. Kate is awesome as always and delivers a wonderful performance.. Well worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Film_Fanatic_15Dec 31, 2011
First off, It's a wonderful film. But the great films seem to make you think. You could take the film and state that it was rather "hallmark-ish", but you could also look at the brilliance in it. One of the most down to earth films in recentFirst off, It's a wonderful film. But the great films seem to make you think. You could take the film and state that it was rather "hallmark-ish", but you could also look at the brilliance in it. One of the most down to earth films in recent years, Brad Pitt shines along with the film's stunning cinematography. The only thing weak here is Fincher's decision to direct a film that totals to just way too long, and way too sulky. Though performance weight out substance here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
consumerDec 25, 2010
The movie's long but they got numerous good scenes that they offer. The story of Benjamin Button getting younger in age is still like ageing to other people. I don't know if that's the point of the story though. I do know Benjamin gettingThe movie's long but they got numerous good scenes that they offer. The story of Benjamin Button getting younger in age is still like ageing to other people. I don't know if that's the point of the story though. I do know Benjamin getting younger adds conflict to the romance between him and his lover but that's about it. I'm still loving the love story of the main characters, although very depressing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ShahmeerApr 25, 2011
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is perfect in all ways. Never has a film made me so emotionally attached to the characters. This film is very much deserving of every little award it receives, and also the ones it didn't. The simplicity ofThe Curious Case of Benjamin Button is perfect in all ways. Never has a film made me so emotionally attached to the characters. This film is very much deserving of every little award it receives, and also the ones it didn't. The simplicity of a love stoy told in such perfection is outstanding. The directing, cinematography, acting, and every part else should have been nominated for an acedmy award. The story follows a person who was abandoned by his family, left to be cared by a nursing home. He was born, and he started to age- but backwards. A women named Queenie (Taraji P. Henson) takes him up and names him Benjamin. Once a little older, he meets a young girl named Daisy (Cate Blanchett). He falls in in love with her at first sight. Ands the life of Benjamin Button begins. The avast ray of characters through out the whole film impresses me a lot. I enjoyed meeting the new characters and how they affected Benjamin's life. They always brought warmth and happiness to the audience, telling them that someone is always there for you. The film begins and ends fantastically. It's like no other story ever told. Next, I move on to the acting. This is Brad Pitts best acting ever. Never has he known the character so well and portrayed him with so much emotion. He knows what he's doing as an actor now, and if he keeps this up, he's going to start rolling the Oscar gold in pretty soon. Cate Blanchett was well acted, although we didn't get as much screen time of herself than I would've liked. But that's because the story revolved around Benjamin, not Daisy. So I'm glad we did bet more Pitt than Blanchett. Next, I move on to the visual effects and make up. Basically I'm mentioning them because they played such a big role in this film. The makeup used to make Brad Pitt look older were spectacular. Especially when they used a smaller actor for the body and stuck Brad Pitt's head on top. Amazing. David Fincher's job as a director was spectacular, as well. Every scene he made, he took and changed it into a masterpiece. Never have I seen a movie this well directed. In the end, the message sent in the film, as it is quoted from the film, "We are meant to lose the people we love. How else would we know how important they are?"
10/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jrcvenMay 16, 2011
the best film of 2008 hands down. brilliantly directed by david fincher, flawlessly acted especially by its lead actors - brad and cate, from its musical score to cinematography, production design, make up, and its incredibly outstandingthe best film of 2008 hands down. brilliantly directed by david fincher, flawlessly acted especially by its lead actors - brad and cate, from its musical score to cinematography, production design, make up, and its incredibly outstanding visual effects what more could anyone ask for but to witness and enjoy this masterful film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SuperVincentMay 21, 2011
This movie. I don't know where to begin. Its not just Forrest Gump without the personality. It may be impersonal but thats in part because of the extreme technical quality. I hated this movie the first time I saw it because I missed somethingThis movie. I don't know where to begin. Its not just Forrest Gump without the personality. It may be impersonal but thats in part because of the extreme technical quality. I hated this movie the first time I saw it because I missed something and only saw how long it was and how it dragged in many places. Upon second look, I fell in love with it. It has so much charm and magic. Pitt acted his role with the perfect amount of humility to make him the character he needed to be. I suggest anybody who hated it the first time take a second look. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Spielberg00Aug 27, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If THE CURIOUS CASE OF BENJAMIN BUTTON didn't take so long to watch, I would give it either a 9 or a 10. That's how good it really is. It asks (and, in a "curious" way, answers) some of life's biggest and most complex questions. This is Brad Pitt at his absolute best, and even though he's given credit for the role of Benjamin Button, he's only one of seven actors, and we see him as the titular character for about twenty minutes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Delta_AssaultSep 28, 2011
First of all, they actually make Cate Blanchett look kinda hot in this movie with the heavy use of CGI, and I do not find Cate Blanchett hot. That is impressive.

Ok, this is basically Forrest Gump but gloomier, less colorful, and more
First of all, they actually make Cate Blanchett look kinda hot in this movie with the heavy use of CGI, and I do not find Cate Blanchett hot. That is impressive.

Ok, this is basically Forrest Gump but gloomier, less colorful, and more boring. The main character here is not retarded, but merely aging backwards. Instead of a bird's feather, there's a hummingbird. Instead of a girl named Jenny, it's a girl named Daisy. Instead of a son played by Haley Joel Osmont, it's a daughter played by Julia Ormond. And instead of Vietnam, it's World War II. I repeat, this is a more boring Forrest Gump.

Now with that said, I still recommend this, because Forrest Gump was a hell of a picture. That movie made me cry quite a bit, this movie merely made my eyes tear up. It's incredibly shot, and of course the special effects are amazing. Brad Pitt looks like a freak for the first half, and Cate Blanchett gets turned into an 20 year old. It's long at 2 hours and 47 minutes, so be prepared for that.

Oh yea... while it was enjoyable, this movie does not deserve to be nominated for Best Picture. It's completely crafted to be Oscar bait, but is nowhere near as good as something like The Dark Knight.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jboy2468Apr 26, 2012
This is one of the greatest movies in existence. It's two hours and forty-six minutes of an eerily creative movie that makes you view life differently after it's finished. You won't feel the same after the screen goes black. A pure masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
namDa65Jan 31, 2012
Beautiful movie, you kinda tear up at the end inside. It makes you soft. Very soft. Watch this with your family or gf, but not your bros. Unless you want to feel a homo moment with your bros.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RegOzJan 19, 2012
Absolutely beautiful! Long but I didn't feel it because I was caught by the story. Scott Fitzgerald was indeed a great author, and I loved the fact that they were able to portray his work in this wonderful movie. Just because a movie is notAbsolutely beautiful! Long but I didn't feel it because I was caught by the story. Scott Fitzgerald was indeed a great author, and I loved the fact that they were able to portray his work in this wonderful movie. Just because a movie is not 'realistic' and is based in fantasy doesn't mean that there are not important issues to be explored. This movie is about inner strength about having the ability to get through life with faith, acknowledging one's limitations yet, fighting to acomplish our goals. It is also about loyalty and courage... and about frustration too, because not everything can be changed since there are things that escape to our hands. It may be over emotional and overly 'optimistic', but it does not diminish its value. It is not a drama, it is not a thriller, it is not a comedy.I wouldn't put it in a specific category...this just IS a wonderful story, written by a great novelist...and brought to be enjoyed in a total different way...the big screen! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
In ways, Benjamin Button is a new age Forrest Gump. At the same time, they are nothing alike. What they do share is an unique adventure through their troublesome yet exciting lives. Brad Pitt gives a first-rate performance along with CateIn ways, Benjamin Button is a new age Forrest Gump. At the same time, they are nothing alike. What they do share is an unique adventure through their troublesome yet exciting lives. Brad Pitt gives a first-rate performance along with Cate Blanchett and Taraji P. Henson. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Jun 11, 2013
Spectacular story about the journey of a life. To see this movie go though all the different decades was incredible. An emotional movie that has something valuable to share. Just splendid. Also, wonderful directing and art direction.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
bigjon1958Jun 3, 2017
Do many movies are been there done that movies with predictable story lines. In fact most movies these days are like this and still, can be good movies. I still enjoy the Star Wars movies even though they follow similar story lines, justDo many movies are been there done that movies with predictable story lines. In fact most movies these days are like this and still, can be good movies. I still enjoy the Star Wars movies even though they follow similar story lines, just different characters from generation to generation. Look at all the X Men movies - most good, yet similar story lines. Most love stories - you pretty much know how it's going to end - maybe jut not how it's going to get there. But this movie is one of a kind. In a way it's somewhat similar to the movie Forrest Gump in that it deals with a very unique individual who is different than everyone else, mixes in a love story, and also adventures along the way. I really enjoyed the movie. It wasn't intense from an action perspective, more from an emotional perspective. A well told story that I think most will enjoy. It is a long movie - nothing says you can split it in two and watch it over two nights. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleAug 31, 2014
Probably one of the more unique films I have ever seen, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is a moving film about life and truly wraps you up into its world and never lets you go, ultimately leaving you deeply affected and moved by the film.Probably one of the more unique films I have ever seen, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is a moving film about life and truly wraps you up into its world and never lets you go, ultimately leaving you deeply affected and moved by the film. The direction by David Fincher is fantastic as usual. The cinematography is also gorgeous and perfect for a film of this type. The costume and production design are also pitch perfect, as is the stunning makeup. The makeup is some of the best I have ever seen in a film, honestly. The acting from Brad Pitt, Cate Blanchett, and Taraji P. Henson, is also very powerful and very good. The unique story of a man born old and who gets younger as time goes on, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is a touching, brilliantly made film that is a tad long, but never feels as long as it is, especially since you wish there was more to see once the credits start rolling. While the romance elements have been done before, the unique twist thrown in here adds a certain freshness to it that elevates it above your usual romantic film. This is a film you need to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RikiegeJan 23, 2013
Very good movie. Cry, your heart will suffer, but not leave wing time to enjoy.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MadameQuelhasMay 27, 2013
Probably Mick LaSalle, from San Francisco Chronicle, wouldn't recognize drama even if it danced in front of him without pants. This is the most dramatic and touching movie ever, full of surprises of a whole life story, with all the emotionalProbably Mick LaSalle, from San Francisco Chronicle, wouldn't recognize drama even if it danced in front of him without pants. This is the most dramatic and touching movie ever, full of surprises of a whole life story, with all the emotional events that could and couldn't happen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JawsLaxerDramaDec 21, 2012
This movie is LONGGG. Very long. So it pays to be into a deep psychological mood or even pondering the meaning of life. Brad Pitt stars as Ben Button. This film, while some complain it is too long, too boring,etc., it is very REWARDING in theThis movie is LONGGG. Very long. So it pays to be into a deep psychological mood or even pondering the meaning of life. Brad Pitt stars as Ben Button. This film, while some complain it is too long, too boring,etc., it is very REWARDING in the end. Sure, complain that it doesn't have a story. It is not one of those light-hearted movies, it is not a comedy; but a genius film that depicts life in a different way. I thought it was a magical movie, and offered the very best. The camera tells the story, and as a result, I did actually cry at the end. Decide for yourself if you really like it, but I know I did. B+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MonstrosityNov 8, 2012
The Curious case of Benjamine button is verryyyyyyy longgggggg. Brad Pitt does a great job and i like the narration. It was suprisingly sadder then i expected, but still felt longer then it should.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews