User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 3103 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was great in the first hour, didn't really make TOO much sense, but it's Batman, nothing makes sense.
    Then, in a single scene, the entire character development for Bane in this movie crumbles and gets shat on, followed by the worst acted death I have ever seen in a movie since the room.
    Then, the moment that could have made it for me, when he was taking the bomb out in the Bat, that scene was so sad, I legitimately thought he was gonna die, but of course it's Batman, the kind of cop outs.
    He magically jumped out of the Bat seconds before the bomb blew up, survived the huge explosion that would have taken out Gotham completely, swam for miles and miles, made it out, met with Cat Woman, took her out to that one restaurant in the middle of bufu Egypt and waited for his god damn butler every day in the same seat while no one recognized one of the most famous people of Gotham who was reported dead a while ago, oh, I almost forgot how happy Gothan citizens were that the explosion didn't kill them, but the radiation will, slowly and painfully.
    Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    This not only an epic conclusion to Chris Nolan's Dark Knight Trilogy, it was an epic conclusion to a summer filled with excitment. Not only was the storyline and acting fantastic, two characters really stuck out. Bane and Catwoman. Tom Hardy really brings in the fear of Bane with his incredible acting and dark complection to a wonderful villan. Anne Hathaway showcase's a sexy cat who can kick some serious butt. She truly is one of the greatest actresses of 2012. Surprisingly, i thought it was better than "The Dark Knight", but that's just me. I think the story is more darker and engaging than Dark Knight, but the Joker (Heath Ledger) is still the greatest villan ever. Overall, it's a tremendous movie, GO SEE IT! Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    The Dark Knight Rises is a flawed film and there are some plot holes and inconsistencies, but in the end the film is one of the best action blockbusters ever made. It's bold,daring,entertaining,and really shows that the Superhero subgenre can be more than a casual popcorn flick. The Dark Knight Rises is no masterpiece, but I really did enjoy the film. It's aesthetically pleasing with solid cinematography, incredible action set pieces, and a solid villain Bane. The film begins to feel sloppy and unfinished in it's final minutes,and that's where my main gripes come in. The movie is tonally inconsistent. The final minutes are generic,cliche and it feels like an entirely different movie altogether. It simply feels undercooked. That's my main gripe with the movie. The other flaws and gaps in judgement can be overlooked as it is still at it's core, a superhero movie. I respect Nolan for delivering an entertaining, thrilling blockbuster and I did like the movie alot. My rating:8.0/10 Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    Rarely do I have as many mixed feelings and opinions after having seen The Dark Knight Rises. It felt epic. It was moving. It felt long. It worked well as a book-end to the trilogy. It felt forced. The performances were excellent. Anne Hathaway as Selena the Cat Woman. Joseph Gordon- Levitt as Blake, Michael Caine, Tom Hardy, Gary Oldman and so on. The last 30 minutes were just fantastic, worth the previous
    two-plus hour wait. Better than the Batman Begins but fell short of
    Heath Ledger's Dark Knight (could that movie been as good without
    him?).

    Overall I think it suffered from being too grandiose by trying to do
    too much. The multiple acts didn't click together as they did in The
    Dark Knight. The suspension of disbelief was less "suspended" than
    utterly confounded how did Bruce Wayne (Christian Bale) go from
    emaciated cripple to muscle-bound butt-kicker in one day? And the
    finale, while enjoyable, had so many twists and conveniences it would
    have made my head spin if I wasn't enjoying it so much.

    To be fair, I think the best way to judge The Dark Knight Rises is as
    an attempt to close an epic story-line with a focus on continuity
    between the three films, reinforcing Nolan's conflicting "hopeful
    nihilism" philosophy. I look forward to watching all three back-to-back
    to see his vision uninterrupted by tragic events and the passage of
    time.
    Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2013
    3
    Boy, was I disappointed when I saw this film for the first time. I went with my brothers and girlfriend and there was an overwhelming sense of, nothingness. The opening scene was pretty rad, but after that the film just kind of flops. A ridiculous amount of filler, nonsensical story line twists, awful editing and audio. Even worse was the ending, without any spoilers all I'm saying is... Don't get your hopes up. Probably the worst ending to a film I've seen in a long time. Bane was okay, but there are hundreds of better batman villains. Overall, a pretty awful film. Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    A great movie, the worst of the series, but still fantastic. Operates on a huge scale, great characters all around, but no one as great as Ledger in The Dark Knight(which is basically impossible). Hardy does a great job as Bane, Oldman Bale and Caine are good as usual. Great all around
  7. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    the dark knight rises is an amazing movie and is a worthy sequel to the dark knight and in my opinion is even better than the dark knight, a masterpiece in the true sense of the word, a solid performance by all actors specially tom hardy, i am a long time batman fan and it was a sad moment for me to see the legend end the trilogy as a whole is the best trilogy ever imho, the final act was just so symbolic and brilliant Expand
  8. May 10, 2013
    10
    I really loved this movie, everything about it is perfect, the plot is well tied, the acting is excelent, the ending is fantastic, the action scenes that are more abundantly aparencem very well made​​, and closes with style this epic trilogy.
  9. Aug 18, 2013
    5
    There is exactly one witty line in the entire movie, when a stock trader tells Bane, "This is a stock exchange! There's no money you can steal!" and Bane replies, "Really? Then why are you people here?" Otherwise, this is a dreary, grim, and humorless two-and-a-half-hour slog through cartoonish mayhem and maudlin cliches. With plot holes so big, they literally and ironically can drive tanks through them. After a while, the dumb violence just gets more and more numbing and meaningless, and the film's political themes, if you can call them that, get more and more unfocused. All in all, I think this film detracts from the Batman canon, and I see no reason for Warner Bros. to continue with any of these story lines. Expand
  10. Jun 11, 2014
    6
    *sigh* disappointing movie. Here's My four main Gripes with this movie: Questionable moments, Poorly past, rushed ending, and Bane and cat woman are both uninteresting. It's like they took the realism and kicked it to the curb because there are so many moments that just don't fit at all . Ya sure the movie will bring you entertainment, but when you really think about it. It will disappoint you and make you mad. Expand
  11. May 6, 2013
    10
    One of my favourite movies of all time, and the only one that was good enough to draw me back to the cinema to see it a second time. The acting is spot on, the action thrilling and the soundtrack makes every scene ten times as immersive. It is true that there are some plot holes throughout but these do not detract from the overall experience in anyway and are easy to look past. The perfect Batman film. Expand
  12. May 12, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Talk about hype, last time I checked this was one of the most hyped movies of 2012, and it had quite an impression on most people. Some said it was bad, that it was the worst one of the whole trilogy, and one of Nolan's worst movies. By those words it seems like this is a really bad movie, but this is really just the minority speaking when in actuality this is certainly an enjoyable picture. Probably one of the most exciting facts about this film was that Bane; a iconic Batman villain from the comics, would be the major villain. They got an actor named Tom Hardy to play as him; from one Nolan's previous films Inception, and he gives quite a great performance. Some have said the fact of making Bane's voice sound like a British person; or whatever funny joke you can think of, is rather ridiculous and takes away any menace the character has. I think that it's a change in Nolan to switch up in the type of bad guys he puts in his film, he most likely didn't want to repeat himself with what he did in the dark knight; which is why the studios thought of just choosing the Riddler for the villain. Enough talk about the antagonist; that comes later, there are other performances in this movie that are good, Christian Bale is probably at his best here; the voice doesn't help at all, giving settlety to the scene he's in at the right time. Anne Hathaway as Catwoman; actually I don't know if they actually refer to her as Catwoman, but she's a likeable character even though she's doing such devious deeds. Now for the story, I'm just going to say it right now: this film is not as good as the last one, and it shouldn't come to anyone's surprise. it's just too hard for filmmakers to keep a good pace of great ideas and direction to make every film in their franchise good or better than the last one. With that out of the way, the story for this one is interesting to say the least, not as "realistic" as the last one, but it sure is reminiscent of a story I love: Akira, in how a part of the world is cut off from society. Throughout the story it does at times border being bad, talking about a bomb that will go off in 6 months, you just have to ask yourself: WHY? This film really wanted to show Batman/Wayne at his lowest, which seems to be a common thing with comic book movie now a days, and I think it does this well; even I personally think the series is better than this, and it is not a negative thing at all. This film is cruel at times for what it does to characters; like I said previously, which can turn some people off and make them want to watch the Avengers. The ending is what upsets many and myself about this film, first off: Bane is actually a handyman for the real villain,..blow me. Batman escapes a nuke, that sentence alone shows how non-sensible this is. Despite that stupid ending, this is a great film, extremely well made and directed. Sure I wish there were some changes, but I'm happy with what we got. Expand
  13. Sep 21, 2013
    6
    Good film, but it didn't wow me like its predecessor. There was really no standout performance when it came to acting either. All the acting was very good, but I didn't see that wow moment. I felt like they could have portrayed Bane better. It just doesn't have the magic that the other two films had. The ending was a bit strange as well. On the plus side, the plot was still solid, and there were no bad performances. Good visual effects and quality action scenes. And I liked the Liam Neeson cameo. Overall, I wasn't entirely impressed, but it kept my attention and it's worth watching. Expand
  14. May 27, 2013
    1
    I wanted to be story like this. About a Boy,Bane who lived almost all his life on bed with Blood transfusion, and oxygen mask who became very strong one day.
  15. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    A cinematic triumph, The Dark Knight Rises is emotionally inspiring and extremely satisfying as far as Nolan's Batman trilogy goes. It conquers all the doubts about this movie, its beautifully executed, very well written, impressively acted out, wonderfully shot and just downright good. DAMN ITS GOOD! It's the right way to end an epic trilogy. The antagonist was menacing and the movie came with a very well played out plot twist. The movie is just perfect, its without flaw, if there was one thing I could change about the movie, well........................there isn't anything I would change about this movie. And the acting! DUDE, THE ACTING!!!! Its just amazing, as always, Christian Bale kills it as Batman and Anne Hathaway as Catwoman! Need I say more? Go watch this movie, NOW!!! Expand
  16. May 28, 2013
    5
    The disappointing third installment in the series causes me to wonder if Nolan ever had any love for the source material in the first place. Batman is absent, No-Man's-Land isn't well portrayed, and the movie's desperate attempt to surpass its predecessors results in an awfully silly premise.
  17. May 31, 2013
    10
    Once again, Nolan makes another great Batman film. Anne Hathaway was amazing as Catwoman and Tom Hardy was terrifying as Bane. Was it better than The Dark Knight? No, but it was really close. This movie was, without a doubt, the best summer movie of 2012. The ending was fantastic. Thank you Christopher Nolan for giving us an amazing trilogy!
  18. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    本片和前作的黑暗和毁灭相比,颇有救赎和史诗感,Bane是一个和Joker截然不同的反派,Catwoman也是个很有意思的配角,Hathaway的表演超级棒,Bale的蝙蝠侠在洞穴里的表演影帝级,蝙蝠机的设计很棒,结尾不太搭调不像是诺兰的风格,打斗戏较为平庸,配乐依旧很出彩。
  19. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    While there is some comic inaccuracies more notable in this film than the first two. DKR is an amazing conclusion to the best Batman films yet. Tom Hardy is outstanding as Bane, Gary Oldman is outstanding as Gordon, but it's Anne Hathaway who steals the show with a legendary performance as Catwoman.
  20. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    This movie is very intense and very amazing. This is the best batman movie ever and the action was so great and successful. Making bane the villain in this movie was a perfect choice since he's one of batman's darkest villains. This movie is exciting every time i watch it no matter what.
  21. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very good spectacle as well as a great piece of social commentary. Again, Nolan has breated a "thinking man's" blockbuster (although it is not without its flaws)

    Spiritually, this is more of a successor to "Batman Begins" than to "Dark Knight," although the ghost of Harvey Dent does loom large in the film.

    The initial set-piece with Bane and the airplane takeover is very well done. Not knowing the comic books, I did like Bane as a character. And to compare to Heath Ledger's joker is really unfair to both Hardy and Ledger-Bane is a very different beast, with a different plan.

    The part of the film I liked the least was the "switcheroo" ending revealing the true identity of Miranda Tate. It was completely unnescesary and did not add much to the outcome of the film other than Bane's death not being the end, and adding a few more minutes of tension .

    I also wish they could have done a better job with Bane's voice...he just sounded like Mr. Magoo speaking into a paper towel roll. I think the voice was dubbed in as well. This was most evident as Bane was beating Batman senseless underground.

    Selina Kyle/Catwoman was some good eye-candy from Anne Hathaway, but she did not add much to the film to me. This movie was mostly about a "retired" Batman rising again to meet the new threat posed by Bane.

    One more thing...I don't know about you, but if I'm driving around a truck with a NUCLEAR FRICKIN' BOMB on board, I'm gonna drive a lot more carefully than it was driven at the end of the movie.
    Expand
  22. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    Action, Drama, Suspense, Excellent twist in a movie. Christopher Nolan is like the best director these days. The best series of batman with a great ending. Would like to watch another batman film from christopher nolan. Watched it twice in the cinema
  23. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    This movie was spectacular!!! It kept you in suspense the whole time while your at the edge of your chair! I absolutely loved it! there was no problem or nothing that bugged me in the film it was an amazing masterpiece! The ending to the whole trilogy was just breathtaking it was also emotional with a little hype to it. I give it a solid 10 out of 10. I saw it in IMAX and it was mind blowing. The Dark Knight Rises is a can not miss movie. Go buy it on dvd if you haven't watched it yet! The movie kept everyone hyped. The theater was pack and everyone gave a big round of applause at the end. Like I said again a solid 10 out of 10! Expand
  24. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Nolan concludes his masterful trilogy with the most emotional of the bunch. Bale is better than ever, Hathaway both embodies and redefines Selina Kyle, and Hardy more than delivers as the hulking revolutionary Bane. Brimmed with action and unafraid to explore the great character we've come to love over the years, TDKR is a true masterpiece. Not to mention, it has one of, if not the most satisfying ending to any movie I've ever seen. Expand
  25. Jun 27, 2013
    5
    As far as superhero movies go, the Dark Knight is still one of the better "sequels", and the Dark Knight Rises is such a bad step in the wrong direction. The reasons for my disappointment are in how bland the cast is this time, especially the supporting cast, which the previous 2 movies got right. The plot becomes complicated for no good or interesting reasons, and there is no witty, funny, or memorable lines from any characters this time. Bane has promise, and as the movie continues it's apparent that there is nothing separating him from any other average villain. The movie falls short in a lot of ways, but the main problem of the film is how choppy the pacing can be, and how forced some of the decisions made and emotion can be. Expand
  26. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    An epic conclusion that masterpiece by god, Nolan trilogy and the Man of Steel in the best genre films of superheroes, The Avengers are game for children.
  27. Oct 21, 2013
    7
    There are serious plot holes, the fights lack skill and Catwoman is irritating. However the pacing is good, the stakes are high and Wayne proves himself to be a real hero who deserves some happiness.
    argonautis.eu
  28. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    This movie was amazing. I was skeptical because after reaching what I thought was the that was The Dark Knight. After battling a man whose essence is evil I wasn't sure about a villain who is just about power. DKR was pleasantly surprising. Its a long movie, but each moment was action packed and crucial to the story. I will not spoil, but one of the best endings I have seen in a long time. The villains, I believe, fall a LITTLE short of the joker, but other than that, the movie and the acting are truly exemplary. Lets not forget the soundtrack is unbelievable! Expand
  29. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    I honestly have never been so excited to watch a movie as soon as it releases especially after seeing a great origin story of a superhero in BATMAN BEGINS and possibly the best SUPERHERO movie of all time in THE DARK KNIGHT. This is and will be the best end to a great trilogy.It may not surpass its predecessor but is surely on par with it.Great job Chris Nolan.
  30. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    Extremely well acted. Good pacing. Strong story line. Slight problem with the continuity of the story, and banes voice. Sound's like Jeff Bridges wearing a muzzle.
  31. Jul 24, 2013
    7
    Overall this movie is enjoyable and worth seeing. However the beginning was slow and it took a long time for the action to start. It's a good movie but unfortunately doesn't live up to the first two films.
  32. Jul 8, 2014
    9
    The final film with our beloved Batman is both awesome, stunning and furious.

    Just as The Dark Knight, we have another incredible well made movie from Christopher Nolan and he keeps me heavily entertained. Just as the previous film, it suffers with a slow amount of action and to much conversations, but in the end is The Dark Knight Rises a hell of a movie, and it might have one of the
    best endings I’ve ever seen.

    Not as stunning as The Dark Knight, but it's still a masterpiece.

    The Dark Knight Rises gets a 9/10
    Expand
  33. Aug 20, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a pretty good movie, but in no way does this compare to The Dark Knight at all. TDK has an interwoven plot with characters that matter, build off of each other, and provide us with so much emotion. The Joker uses Rachel and Harvey in ways no other villain has done before (and Heath Ledger gave an enduring performance in that very role). TDKR is a decent movie with a couple of characters thrown in there for the sake of being there, and has some cool fight scenes. I mean, do Selina Kyle and John Blake ever interact with Bane at all? No! And Miranda Tate's character is completely miscalculated. The "twist," when she stabs Bruce Wayne, comes out of no where. However, did it need to be her? Not at all. It's almost as if Christopher Nolan just put all of the characters' names in a jar, pulled one out, and said "this one will stab Batman." I love Nola, he is my second favorite filmmaker of all time. However, this is definitely a career low for him, which shows his abilities seeing as this isn't even a bad movie. Just a cool movie that could have been better had it not been misguided. Expand
  34. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    Updated...improved..I'm Glane Mask..scar..e..nhas. The dark Knight Rises is based on every movie (B grade even) ever made, it is based on every episode of every tv show (reality show,food show), on every classic disney movie,disney cartoon, on every cartoon, on Fraggle Rock & The Muppets Turtles, on every episode of every anime series (on animax/), on every video game ever made, on every comic book, on every classic Brit comedy, on every music video, on Daystar, God tv & Ewtn, on thousands of true stories, on world history, current affairs, bulls & bears, on the lives of famous people, on news shows, on every WWF match & the WWE, on (espn) sports channels, on every B/T..ollywood formula masala flick, on every chopsockeye kung fu flick, on even foreign films, even foreign tv shows, on adverts & much much more. Bane's back can also be his front (back 2 the front) (Sagat..with his scar (bending backwards), Kazuya, Mother mouser, The T rex robocop/ Caine, Dolph's 'uni sol'-- The sumo (baby) Mahjin Buu (bending backwards), DOOM'S Pan/Centaur & Motaro),Roast turkey/pig, Baby birds, Bufallo Bill, A lame lamb/dude, A war..ped burnt horrifying tree. Bane's heart/neuron('s)/star('s)/teeth/french beard/parrot nose & jutting chin/wires/Mickeys Sonic's nose...is also Tong Pos/Dhalsim's/Wong Fe Hung's.. hair. Overturn his head...His french beard is now his mohawk....Shining face. The echo...Kamehamehaaa!!!. Bane, Bentley, Benz, train, plane, crane,coach/bus ...Bane is based on every mobile phone, computer, household appliance, bathroom fitting, piece of furniture, arcade machine/ anything shaped. Bane is A pumped up/empowered/irradiated/mutated everyman (put your horrible photograph on that buffed body...yok yok.). How did Nolan do it? He shore aint all 'Nowing'. This is how I think he cracked the code for this supernatural script. He took...lets say...A 1000 of the best & classic movies, a 1000 of the best episodes of every tv show, A 1000 of the premier comix, of the best & no 1 novels and so on. He then looked for what these have in common. The rest was automatic. (He's (Bane/TDKR) alive! He's growing!)...Yeah..maybe something like that. Chew on that...food for thought..get intepreting. There is A (true) good Bane & A Bad Bane. There is no good & bad Bane/Batman. His big heart is his mind/brain filled with truth his purrfect spirit. This is the intepretation of the Iron Man 3 movie....It is based on The king of fighters games- America's got talent & Ugly Betty, on the WWF (Rick Rude, Jesse Ventura, Hulk, Brutus, Undertaker...Lex Luger VS Yokozuna), on everybody loves Raymond, on the big bang theory, on star Trek/Wars, on Flash Gordon, on Superman 2, on He-Man, on Showdown in little Tokyo, on Boney M videos, on Kickboxer Bloodsport & double impact, on super double dragon on super Mario, on Doom, Duke, on Robocop, Judge Dredd, on T2, Last action hero, Commando, on dragonball Z, on Dragonball evolution on night terrors, on street fighter, mortal kombat, Bad dudes, Mercs, on Quo Vadis, on Batman Begins, on samurai showdown, Batman Forever, on Turtles 2 (movie), on ten simple rules, on Turtles Smash Up, on Die Hard 3, on Gi-Joe, on Kung Fu flicks, on the Bolly movie- Blacklmail, on Halo, on Job's trouble, on great expectations, Guy's mandarin is A blinkin/shining/glowing...games Boss/character, His body is A ripped sausage...& leavened/overgrown bread/A half baked/A broken loaf, Guy is A sun/A star..A galaxy...A cluster of galaxies, on Spiderman 3,on (I gotcha) Babe, on mercury poisoning, Mandarin-Kyle Reese, on Batman arkham city, on Bond, on Final Fight, on Tekken, on the Dark Knight Rises, on Friends, on Ghost, on God of war, on Predator, on X-Men (origins),on mind your language,A finger 2 the head-Battlefield of the mind, A dancin cobra, Christian tv, 9 11, The Iron Man looks like he's dribbling/bouncing A ball (in poster)-- on Goku blowing out the lamps, on Turtles 2 Battle Nexus, on soul calibur, on Titanic, on horror flicks with a cabin in the woods, on westerns, on Dragonball Evoloution, on He-
    man defender of grayskull (Iron'y (arm) is A tree in poster), Hulk, on Green Arow, on True Lies, on Life Force, Contra, on Linkin Parks....I'm Blue..la da de ai.., on Jacobs trouble, on MK Annhialation, on Spiderman the movie, on phantom, on Abe Lincoln, on Rush Hour, T3, Aerosmiths-livin on the edge, universal soldier, popeye, Hellboy, Brosnans movie somethin man, Reiko's fatality (MK4),Die Hard,....Thats enough!!..On the days I saw these flicks....those nights I looked out the window at the great dove in the sky and I recieved the gifts of these revelations into my spirit man...(then slowly released)into my long term memory bank. The day B4 yesterday...I saw- I dont know how she does it...A not so brilliant romantic comedy...but it was right. Once I found A black blob in my pav (indian bread) I finally tossed the whole thing into the trash.
    Expand
  35. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    Christopher Nolan puts an explosive exclamation mark on his incredible Batman trilogy. It's rare that trilogies succeed all the way through, but this movie ends the trilogy in hauntingly memorable fashion with all the emotion, terror and heroism that defines the caped crusader and the world around him.
  36. Aug 15, 2013
    7
    Being an almost 3 hour long movie, at first I'll talk about the first 2 acts and after give this review the ending it deserves needs. SO:

    The opening plane heist scene was great. Bane (Tom Hardy) was introduced as the menacing and very quotable presence he'll be until the very end. There was much fuss about his voice and mask, but Hardy delivers via body language, eye movement and
    there isn't a sentence he utters which isn't understandable (or greatly written).

    Also in the first 10 minutes of TDKR we get a first glimpse of the good looking cat burglar, Selina Kyle and her first, of a few, interactions with Mr Wayne. Anne Hathaway gives surprising depth, ingenuity and playfulness to the character. She's my favorite new element to the franchise.

    As for the returning cast, Bale, Caine, Freeman and Oldman, what's to say? Bale gives his best performance as Bruce Wayne, Fox, for what little he does, is entertaining, Gordon's conflicted and rattled personality is believable.

    I almost forgot about Alfred Pennyworth: overly attached butler who cries a lot and spoils the ending 30 minutes into the movie. He's great!

    A somewhat touching "side gag" is Lucious (Freeman) and Alfred playing a reverse game of "Have you met Ted Bruce?" with him and a certain Miranda Tit Tate.

    Gordon-Levitt's Blake character however is redundant. The movie would've worked better without him. His performance is serviceable, the lines he gets are good, but he's there because he's a talented young actor. Also, he figures out who Batman is (like Tim Drake, the 2nd Robin but from a look on Bruce's face, then he's surprised by guns killing people and finds garbage trucks getting in the way of police blockades okay. That's not very consistent.

    And there's Miranda Tate, played by Cotilliard. Remember her, she might be important.

    The real highlights here are really the performances, character moments and the Bane scenes. You can feel the magnitude of when Batman finally returns to try and stop Bane. The action involving the Bat and the Bat-pod are awesome, those gadgets are just BAT-ASS while Bane's plans are executed with visual flare (just look at the football stadium scene, it was a blast). Unfortunately the fight scenes are of the quality of Star Wars re-enactment lightsaber battles, yet watching Bruce and Selina fight together is still fun.

    BTW Batman's 8 year limp is cured by a magic knee brace. And if that was possible, WHY DID HE WAIT ALMOST A DECADE to make himself not limp?! I know he did this to be physically able to fight crime, but not being a cripple helps in other tasks also, like in not being robbed by maids. He must've been method training to play Keyser Soize in a Usual Suspects remake.

    One fight scene achieves greatness, but because of its chilling atmosphere finally a brawl without dub step in the background- and inevitable conclusion.

    From here on the movie takes several time jumps and cuts from Gotham to the underground prison Bruce is thrown and kept in, with a broken back. No worries, however, all it takes is a friendly prison hug and the back's good as new. And not killing the dark knight at the moment you can is the best plan ever! Said every Batman villain ever. This period illustrates how Gotham's doomed without its protector, because all they do is talk about a resistance. It's the movie equivalent of stoners' "You know what would be great? This...that," moments. Wayne's recovery is at least interesting, while the other's activities aren't boring .

    I don't think that it shows, but up until this point, I was ready to love this movie, but then came the third act:

    Fight scenes are even more ridiculous and firing weapons seem like laser tag guns. They have virtually no recoil and hit less people than storm troopers do.

    They almost ruin Bane... TWICE. You're kidding me that their plan was to be blown up with the bomb, right? And he's a lovesick little boy... the problem was sort of solved by Selina.

    If you think that death was out of nowhere, just wait until Talia al Ghul/Miranda Tate goes into limbo.

    Lord of the Rings ending disorder. As a means of justification for Alfred's speeches and Blake's presence they have unnecessarily clean and overreaching endings..

    To be fair, there were some really sweet moments, like Batman taking out thugs with some sort of thugs (which could've been useful against Bane, but whatever, bats are too macho for that), leading the police force to war, (seemingly) sacrificing himself for the city (it was very Batman-esque). The "everyone can be a hero" Gordon moment was inspired as well. So the problem isn't with the execution, questionable decisions are exclusively to blame for the aforementioned shortcomings.

    The Dark Knight Rises is a good conclusion of a great trilogy and remains the 3rd best Batman movie out there, after its direct predecessors. Despite the flaws, too much great individual greatness is put in here to not call this movie good.
    Expand
  37. Oct 25, 2013
    7
    Typical sequel to an amazingly gritty and politically artistic film such as 'Dark Knight' Clumsily loose at times, especially the ending, in which the twist is not an enhancer. Rather sad that Ledger died. Id he'd lived, he'd surely be the main antagonist, and this feature would be an epic conclusion to the malevolent and sadistic "thing" that is the Joker of Heath Ledger. I'd also like the film a bit more if some deranged man hadn't gunned down an innocent group of enthusiastic moviegoers. It is enjoyable, mostly. Expand
  38. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    The best installment of the Batman trilogy, The Dark Knight Rises is involving, gripping, and riveting. The story is on par, as well as a great cast new to the series (Tom Hardy, Anne Hathaway, Marion Cotillard, etc.). The movie never lags, and Tom Hardy's Bane comes across as a testosterone-fueled hunk of a man who knows true pain and wants to do justice in his own twisted ways.

    While
    some may say that the background story of Bane isn't what's in the comics, just stop. Did it fit the movie? Maybe it didn't, because I bet my ass director Christopher Nolan took that into consideration. I bet they did a screen test, and that storyline didn't work. To be honest, it's not that big of a detail and can be easily overlooked, and it didn't do any damage to the story. In fact, it made it *that* much more interesting. Expand
  39. Nov 29, 2013
    8
    The film isn't too shabby, as taking off eight years after the events in The Dark Knight. Now, it has a good story to it, which made it good, but the way it was put together could have been better. But overall, a movie that is worth seeing.
  40. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    this is undoubtely the best super heroe movie ever made so far,it don´t have a markable acting as heath ledger but still have an amazing story and great characters.
  41. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    An Epic End To The Dark Knight Trilogy !!!,

    **The Dark Knight Rises**

    * This movie will give you the thrill and excitement up to the maximum which you would never would have expected. This movie is all around master piece it has brilliant screen play ,great direction and talented actors to perform which is a great formula to create and an epic movie Christopher Nolan is one of
    the most brilliant director and screen writer he shows his brilliance in this movie by making a great direction and brilliant screen play up to a maximum level which is hard to achieve he made this movie into a Master Piece This movie consist of talented actors and their performance was outstanding they were all beautiful in their respective roles.Its very enlightening to see interaction between these characters such as Batman and Catwoman their chemistry works very well during screen play!.Catwoman is new to this Batman sequel but has delivered a great performance which is a pleasant surprise The protagonist in this film Bane has done great job in this film even though its not the performance that has done better than joker in Dark Knight but still he did a fantastic job that no one could deny !each and every actors in this movie deserves an applause for their fantastic performance *Action sequence in this movie are exciting the choreography for stunt and fighting in this movie has done a fantastic job it displayed very beautifully in the big screen. *Overall the movie is Fantastic it wont bore you down at any movement Considering its 2 12 hour long and it does not have any moments which is dull It will gives you plenty of surprises and excitement which will makes you to watch this movie twice.

    The Dark Knight Rises **********
    (10/10) Stars
    Expand
  42. Nov 27, 2013
    7
    Unfortunately this film is the weakest of the Christopher Nolan trilogy. The plot is too slowly paced and though the acting is strong, there is no sense of urgency. The film is shot wonderfully but the large scale almost loses the 'realness' created by the first two.
  43. Dec 29, 2013
    5
    Wasted a good opportunity to make an original movie ending an epic serie. However they tried too hard to copy the style and feeling of the second movie with touches of the first (the scenes away from the civilization). This ended up becoming too long' convoluted and without feeling.

    The real problem however, is that most stuff isn't logic or believable, contrary to the precedent movie
    which had a pretty darn good suspension of disbelief ...

    Selina has a nice figure in the usual black dress but not much more and it actually doesn't fit well into the atmosphere if the movie. Makes it look even more like a patchwork of styles and ideas, not well amalgamated
    Expand
  44. Jan 31, 2014
    9
    The last 1 hr. and 30 min. is one of the most breathtaking stretches of film I have ever witnessed. Just simply watch that which is true masterwork from a master filmmaker and storyteller, with an enticing signature in his dearly beloved end. However, watch it with the first hour and it's a different experience entirely. Embracing elements of peace and dullness, it wears off bluntly throughout and the limited development of Gotham itself and it's people lack the intensity, and emotion of the ticking thrills in the last 1 hr. and 30 min. But all in one, it's a screen-shattering legend with no fear, and an IMAX Classic, cracking a major impact in our souls and in cinema made for theater. Expand
  45. Feb 17, 2014
    8
    "The Dark Knight Rises" not as good as its prequel, but it has the same thrilling feeling of everlasting suspense and unpredictability that made "The Dark Knight" work so well for me. The visuals are pure and beautiful, and the actors are better than the usual irreverent and unemotional people you see in action movies. The film ends the trilogy with a very satisfying short series of twists and events. Expand
  46. May 17, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Things wrong with TDKR:
    *Way too many characters
    *Plot built on ludicrous underground tunnel network
    *Referring back to the League of Shadows and the first movie. TDK didn't. Batman begins was a good movie, but it's time to move on.
    *Ludicrous dystopian society emerges in Gotham within weeks
    *Bane getting killed in the background of a shot.
    *Pretty much everything Bane said and did before getting killed.
    *The cops are apparently now saints (a bizarre 360 from the first two films)
    *Ludicrous Asian hole-prison with an easy escape that everyone ignores
    *Rope-based chiropractic
    *Impossible escape from an exploding nuke whose fallout should irradiate the entire area.
    *Ludicrous finance market machinations. Apparently, breaking into a stock exchange doesn't give us the ability to reverse any transactions conducted during that time.
    *James Newton Howard is missing. The Hans Zimmer stuff is as pulse-pounding as always, but the class and the intimacy conveyed by the Howard sections of the scores of earlier films is sorely missed.
    *Ludicrous CGI flying bat-vehicle.
    *Bruce Wayne is apparently a horrible judge of character, and gets betrayed by everyone he knows at some point
    *Ludicrous conflict between Bruce and Alfred completely contradicts characterizations from earlier films
    *No mention of the Joker.

    Things right with TDKR:
    *Catwoman (played with just the right degree of subtlety)
    *Eh, not a whole lot else.
    Expand
  47. Apr 4, 2014
    7
    the batman series is not so exciting . the movie is fun and a rockstar hit . " christian bale is wonderful playin the one and only batman ..........................
    Grade A
  48. Mar 4, 2014
    8
    Experiencing this movie without any prior knowledge of from what it was based was definitely an advantage. I can imagine the lead up to all of the twists which seemed to all stack at the end to be rather tedious, but when it got there it sure packed a punch. Great score and great performances from all, including Hathaway surprisingly. It does feel a bit rushed, in terms of production and the attention to detail, but that's getting a bit picky. It's definitely worth a watch. Expand
  49. May 11, 2014
    8
    You can say what you want about this film, but I found it to be an enjoyable experience and a great way to end this trilogy. Like the predecessors, TDKR is full of a lot of intense action and thrills; I though Bane was a cool and intimidating antagonist, Christian Bale was good as always. One thing I didn't like this film (and this flaw also applied to a certain other superhero movie that came out the following year *cough cough*Iron Man 3*cough*) is you will not see a lot of Batman in this film, but a lot more Bruce Wayne which kind of through me off a bit; also the ending is a bit confusing (and maybe a little rushed). Aside those things, Nolan's 3rd Batman flim was pretty enjoyable. Expand
  50. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    One of the most entertaining movies ever! Bane's voice is terrifying, Catwoman is hot and Batman is spectacular in his return to the cinema. This is a epic movie filled with plot twists, inspiring scenes and an intense soundtrack!
  51. Apr 19, 2014
    10
    A great, great movie. Not as good as the dark knight in my opinion but still one of my all time favourite movies. Awesome fight scenes especially including bane and just the right amount of dialogue in it too. And the ending is absolutely amazing and one of the best endings to a movie I have ever seen. Can't wait for the next Batman movie.
  52. Apr 28, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm not going to waist my time and say its not as good as the Dark Knight because I would be missing the point. The fact that Nolan's films transcend their genre and are relatable to anyone and everyone, in my mind at least, serves as no reason to punish them for not always transcending their genre. Ultimately it is what it is and will reward fans of the previous films as well as newcomers. Just don't let misguided critics get in the way of you watching it. Acting wise there was a big void to fill with Ledgers absence but, a double helping of bad guys brilliantly portrayed by, Hardy and Hathaway definitely fill the void. The film thrills as much as the previous films and even more considering the affection the audience now has with the characters. Look people will always flout the ending, but don't let them ruin it for you the ending is perfect if a little to perfect, but it did what it needed to do and rounded up the last 2 films superbly with cheeky references to previous films.
    Ultimately a worthy successor to the Dark Knight and there's no higher praise than that.
    Expand
  53. Apr 27, 2014
    8
    There was some dumb plot holes but overall the fight scenes between Batman and Bane were awesome. The pacing, acting, and quality of the film was fantastic.
  54. Apr 30, 2014
    9
    This is not as good as The Dark Knight as many movie goers can agree with me. The running time may seem extremely long (2:45) but you wish that it was just a little longer. I own The Dark Knight Trilogy all on blu ray and it annoys me how the IMAX switches on and off during action scenes. That is probably the biggest complaint I have with this movie. This is the largest in scale which is a better setup than the last two movies. This is a great movie for any Batman fan. Expand
  55. May 4, 2014
    10
    The Dark Knight Trilogy makes it to the finish line, bucking the system of many superhero trilogies, along with a couple of high-profiled ones as well.
  56. May 11, 2014
    3
    The Dark Knight Rises had a lot to live up to considering the success of Batman Begins and particularly The Dark Knight. Sadly it does't quite do so. Nolan's 3rd installment in The Dark Knight Trilogy is very VERY poorly written. There are a lot of unaddressed issues, Plot contrivances and Plot holes. A lot of stuff just doesn't add up and doesn't make much sense. It's not well paced. All 3 acts suffer from severe problems. But there are some positives. The performances were decent and the cinematography was good but overall it doesn't really qualify as a good film. The Dark Knight Rises let down what could've been one of the greatest movie trilogies of all time. Expand
  57. May 3, 2014
    9
    The Dark Knight Rises was one of the few successfull trilogies to have all three parts being enjoyable. While this sequel doesnt quite match the previous its still a fun ride and a great film. yes it has problems alot. but the overall effect and what the movie does right heavily outweighs the wrong. It is a great conclusion to the trilogy.
  58. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    Prior to watching this: I have seen the last two films in this trilogy and the Dark Knight was a powerful film.
    Review:
    Pros: A generally great film.
    Cons: Film was let down by an unrealistic medical miracle and a poorly timed nuclear device that explodes in film/TV time.
    4.5/5 - Good enough to watch it in the cinema and perhaps to buy the DVD.
  59. Jul 8, 2014
    10
    great end for the trilogy movies of all time. I really liked this movie. I have to say that Bane (tom hardy) is the best super Villain I see, the movie gived me everything I ever wanted to see in a batman movie
  60. Jul 26, 2014
    9
    the dark knight rises is the epic conclusion to the dark knight trilogy like all the new batman movies it is very well made not as good as the dark knight but still very good.

    my ratting 8.6/10 9.2/10 for action 8/10 for acting 8/10 for character development 8.5 for style and 8.7 for story
  61. Aug 3, 2014
    8
    The Dark Knight Rises has problems but Christopher Nolan still knows how to make a great superhero movie. Bale continues to be the best Batman, Anne Hathaway is great as Catwoman, and Tom Hardy does a great job as the villain, Bane. The story is great and the action is even better than the other films in the trilogy. Dark Knight Rises' main problem is that it has more than a few plot holes and this actually affects the film a lot. The story, even great, has a few problems as well. Luckily the characters still have you invested in the film. The ending is also one of the best trilogy endings I have ever seen. Even though it might be the weakest in the trilogy, it does a great job in wrapping up the trilogy. Expand
  62. Aug 16, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This finishes the greatest superhero series of all time in style. It's gripping, dark, realistic, violent, and emotional. It's more intense than any of the other movies in this series, and I was on the edge of my seat the whole movie when I watched it in theaters. It does have a few issues with continuity, and the plot holes in it give it a 9 instead of a 10.

    I thought Bane was almost as good as the Joker, actually. He had his own touch. That voice from Bane was slightly scary, and it was extremely cool. It was so loud, and it was pure awesome. Every scene that Bane was in was a really good scene. The first scene was an introduction to his character, and it all went uphill from that amazing moment. Bane made this movie in a way that was similar to the Joker's presence.

    Batman was exceptionally performed, and he gave the movie emotion. Catwoman gave the movie a female force as well. She kicked butt. I thought that there could have been one more street chase/fight before Batman got his back broke by Bane, but the movie was already 3 hours long, so it's ok. By the way, the 3 hour run time didn't bug me one bit. I'd much rather be overexposed to a movie I love than be wishing for more. Overall this is a 9/10.
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Jul 23, 2012
    100
    A cinematic, cultural and personal triumph, The Dark Knight Rises is emotionally inspiring, aesthetically significant and critically important for America itself – as a mirror of both sober reflection and resilient hope.
  2. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 23, 2012
    70
    Christopher Nolan, for all his visionary flair, wants to suck the comic out of comic books; Anne Hathaway wants to put it back in. Take your pick.
  3. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Jul 20, 2012
    85
    As you might expect from the creator of "Inception" and "Memento," there are surprises both in the story and in the storytelling. But the biggest surprise may just be how satisfying Nolan has made his farewell to a Dark Knight trilogy that many fans will wish he'd extend to a 10-part series, at least.