Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 18, 2008
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 4905 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
4,445
Mixed:
185
Negative:
275
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AndrewJul 18, 2008
Went to the Midnight opening. Wow... Wow.. Epic beyond words!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
C.K.Jul 18, 2008
Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeN.Jul 18, 2008
Ledger is great. The movie is a whole is excellent, but perhaps a little lacking in memorably iconic moments. There is also a half hour diversion to China in the middle of the film that seems out of place. Worth seeing. Not really a film for Ledger is great. The movie is a whole is excellent, but perhaps a little lacking in memorably iconic moments. There is also a half hour diversion to China in the middle of the film that seems out of place. Worth seeing. Not really a film for young kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyW.Jul 18, 2008
The Dark Knight very well could be the "BEST" comic book movie ever made, by far the best of the Batman series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianJ.Jul 18, 2008
Outstanding. The only troublesome thing about the entire experience is that there will never be as great a Joker as seen here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobN.Jul 18, 2008
It astounds me that some critics gave this awesome film such poor ratings. Ledger was perfect as Joker. When he showed up, I thought "Finally...they made Joker like everyone truly imagined him." Incredibly dark, philosophical, moving and It astounds me that some critics gave this awesome film such poor ratings. Ledger was perfect as Joker. When he showed up, I thought "Finally...they made Joker like everyone truly imagined him." Incredibly dark, philosophical, moving and cool. Nolan is a top notch director. Bale is a top notch actor. Perfect combination. This, ladies and gentleman, is the real Batman, the real Joker, another Batman film (Begins as well) done with justice to the character and ethos of the comic and graphic comics in mind. The other Batman films were horrible and horribly PC. Batman has never been PC. Which is why some critics of biased liberal idiotic "journals" do not like it. This is why this film will make tons of dough. Not because Heath died, but because Batman rocks, and the Joker is the ultimate agent of chaos. Go see it now (don't bring your kids though). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickeyD.Jul 18, 2008
How some of the critics gave this anything under a 95 is beyond me. The Dark Knight is everything a movie should be, and then some. It is a movie that is so good, that it has single-handedly changed movie making for the rest of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnPJul 18, 2008
The best movie of the year so far. The best superhero movie of all time. The best sequel ever. Heath kicks Jacks ass as the Joker. Long live the Batman !!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JessEJul 18, 2008
The real star of "the Dark Knight" is Aaron Eckhart who gives an outstanding performance as Harvey Dent. Ledger is very good as the Joker but Maggie Gyllanhaal could have stayed home and she would not have being missed. Overall the film and The real star of "the Dark Knight" is Aaron Eckhart who gives an outstanding performance as Harvey Dent. Ledger is very good as the Joker but Maggie Gyllanhaal could have stayed home and she would not have being missed. Overall the film and the story is murky and muddled with too many fast cut edits and twists and leaves a lot to be desired. Overhyped and overpraised. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonC.Jul 18, 2008
Best movie I have seen in years and is also now my favorite Batman movie. That was previously hard to attain since Mask of the Phantasm. I felt drained afterwards because of all the tension. It was almost as intense as watching Saving Private Ryan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SergioP.Jul 18, 2008
Batman has never been better on screen. Joker is really amazing. Caos. Only the gadgets are lame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RedJul 18, 2008
The Joker's calling card may be that of a joker, but this movie rises above to be an ace. It steps outside the realm of a cliché 'comic book movie.' Dark Knight offers the viewer action, suspense, drama. Story lines are The Joker's calling card may be that of a joker, but this movie rises above to be an ace. It steps outside the realm of a cliché 'comic book movie.' Dark Knight offers the viewer action, suspense, drama. Story lines are interwoven and you feel immersed in movie with the ability to connect to the characters. Of which all the leading performances are presented flawlessly. Heath Ledger's Joker stands out gripping the viewer from the beginning. Nolan has truly raised the bar for this genre, and we can only hope Gotham will call upon Batman again for a third installment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NancyHJul 18, 2008
The moral dilemma and how far does one get pushed before falling into the abyss? Ledger was brilliant and only underscores the loss of such an amazing talent. Bale,Ekhart, Oldman, Caine, et al equally stood up to their roles. My only The moral dilemma and how far does one get pushed before falling into the abyss? Ledger was brilliant and only underscores the loss of such an amazing talent. Bale,Ekhart, Oldman, Caine, et al equally stood up to their roles. My only complaint was that it was a tad long to get to the punch line. Excellent all around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanFJul 18, 2008
Awesome. Heath Ledger is unreal. it's such a shame that he died because he would have had an incredible career. this movie is one hell of a ride, and ledger as the joker practically fuels the fire.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonJul 18, 2008
An incredible movie. Heath Ledger did a more than outstanding job as the Joker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanielF.Jul 18, 2008
Ok, I'm a big skeptic when it comes to Hollywood. I'm of the opinion that 95% of what they produce is garbage. i even expected to be disappointed by this movie, I've never been a heath ledger fan, and i tend to not believe the Ok, I'm a big skeptic when it comes to Hollywood. I'm of the opinion that 95% of what they produce is garbage. i even expected to be disappointed by this movie, I've never been a heath ledger fan, and i tend to not believe the hype, ever. but this is for real. it doesn't feel like you're watching an actor, it feels like they busted some psycho out of prison and put him in a movie. it just doesn't seem possible that this is the same guy that was in "10 things i hate about you." overall the movie has some issues, it might have been too ambitious for a 2-3 hour movie. Maggie Gyllenhall is forgettable, and there are a few silly cliches that remind you that this is a comic book movie. this isn't a perfect movie, but ledger gives a perfect performance. It's just plain creepy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyencokeJul 18, 2008
It's a shame we will never get to see another villain like this. This was the best movie of the year, hands down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanMJul 18, 2008
This movie was much more than I had expected, and greater than anything I could've wanted from a Batman movie. The character development was just phenomenal and I couldn't believe how well Heath Ledger played the role of the Joker. This movie was much more than I had expected, and greater than anything I could've wanted from a Batman movie. The character development was just phenomenal and I couldn't believe how well Heath Ledger played the role of the Joker. He was simply disturbing, sadistic, and at some points quite comical even if the situation was gruesome. This movie definitely deserves all praise it receives, this is a movie I will go to again just because I can't wait for this to come out on dvd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanO.Jul 18, 2008
I give this a 9.5 but still this movie rocks I love the JOcker almost as much as BATMAN and the action is wicked there is not enoth WORDS to describe this MOVIE this movie is the best of the BEST this YEAR SO go see it and stop READING this!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandyM.Jul 18, 2008
Simply put: it will leave you speechless. Disturbingly terrific.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrahamE.Jul 18, 2008
Magnificent performances all around (excluding Gyllenhaal) with a story that never drags. Every time the movie seems to be heading toward a lull it picks right back up and throws you back into the mix. Heath Ledger completely redefines the Magnificent performances all around (excluding Gyllenhaal) with a story that never drags. Every time the movie seems to be heading toward a lull it picks right back up and throws you back into the mix. Heath Ledger completely redefines the Joker into the maniacal anarchist he had the potential to become. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeCardCardJul 18, 2008
I went into this movie with some of the highest expectations I've ever had for a film. I left realizing I was shocked, it totally and completely lived up to all of them. In fact, it actually surpassed them. To put it bluntly, The Dark I went into this movie with some of the highest expectations I've ever had for a film. I left realizing I was shocked, it totally and completely lived up to all of them. In fact, it actually surpassed them. To put it bluntly, The Dark Knight is one of the closest things I've seen to a perfect film to come out of American cinema in years. Everything about it pushes boundaries of its genre and every superhero film that comes out from now on will be compared to this one. Every performance is spot on. Christian Bale pulls off Bruce Wayne again which is something that I was a little worried he might try to change up but I'm happy to say he nailed it again. Michael Caine is awesome (but then again when is he not). I was skeptical to whether or not Heath Ledger was going to really be as good as the hype and let me just say: YES he was INCREDIBLE. I don't know how to pull it off but his Joker literally terrified me and at the same time made me laugh. I can't really explain it its something that must be seen and I can definitely say that he does deserve an Oscar nomination for his role. The role of the Joker is terrifying just by itself and when Ledger steps in and adds an almost likable side to him its almost disturbing. You don't want to laugh at the man in a clown suit making Jokes because he's also doing horrible things to people. Aaron Eckhart is also awesome in this as Harvey Dent and definitely deserves to be mentioned. The writing is top notch and at this point I want Nolan to take the Batman franchise wherever he wants and he clearly knows where he wants to go. The story takes every plothole and cliche from superhero films and fixes them. It's well paced, never boring and most of all you always are left wanting to know what happens next. I don't have a complaint. This is not the Batman you've always known. This is something new, yet still the same. I've never seen a film reinvent something like this. This doesn't feel like some crazy superhero story that takes place somewhere else. For the first time it almost feels real. The danger feels real, that's where this movie really starts to come into its own and it becomes something more than a superhero movie. The action was top notch and there are some truly badass scenes. To sum it up: not only is this the best superhero film EVER MADE, but its also one of the best films I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RepairmanJul 18, 2008
One of the most satisfying mixtures of both cinematic escapism and intellectual art I have ever come across in the world of cinema. The fact that it is based on a childish lore, has nothing and everything to do with this complex dichotomy of One of the most satisfying mixtures of both cinematic escapism and intellectual art I have ever come across in the world of cinema. The fact that it is based on a childish lore, has nothing and everything to do with this complex dichotomy of everything that is life, cinema and human, all mixed into one. This movie, while exposing the multiple levels of duality in each one of us, also inspires us to be better, think better, while challenging the very notion of good vs. bad in the first place. It is nothing short of a modern masterpiece, and I am certain history will prove it as such. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EthanD.Jul 18, 2008
Just got back from this movie, and it is utterly terrific. Agreed that the cell phone sonar thing doesn't make sense, and agreed that the end was a minor let down, but that's only in comparison the the hours of ass-kicking action Just got back from this movie, and it is utterly terrific. Agreed that the cell phone sonar thing doesn't make sense, and agreed that the end was a minor let down, but that's only in comparison the the hours of ass-kicking action that precede it. Go see this movie, for the love of God. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoKerJul 18, 2008
I went in expecting something the equal to Batman Begins. I absolutely loved the prequel to this movie, and figured that they might just top it with this next movie. Coming back, I'm stunned when thinking that Heath Ledger was the I went in expecting something the equal to Batman Begins. I absolutely loved the prequel to this movie, and figured that they might just top it with this next movie. Coming back, I'm stunned when thinking that Heath Ledger was the Joker. I apologize for rudeness, but I truly wondered whether he could pull it off, given his past work. As it turns out, his performance was nothing less than spectacular, easily topping Jack Nicholson's performance of Joker from 1989. I can honestly say that I cringed, laughed, and stood in awe of this latest rendition of Joker. Somehow, this movie went back to the basics of Hero and Villain more than any movie I've yet seen. The entirety of Batman's and Joker's characters were actually based around the morality that they stood for, rather than their ability to physically wreak havoc. Its not that they were lack luster in that respect. You just get so much more drawn into the moral dilemmas they must face. I give this movie a "10" only because there is no other way to express the genius of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexB.Jul 18, 2008
This movie is amazing. It's a SuperHero movie with huge morals and wonderful grace, with superb acting, the latter conceding to everyone, not just the fantastic Heath Ledger, brilliant direction, top of the line action, and a dark, even This movie is amazing. It's a SuperHero movie with huge morals and wonderful grace, with superb acting, the latter conceding to everyone, not just the fantastic Heath Ledger, brilliant direction, top of the line action, and a dark, even sadistic realism that it seems some critics can't bare. The only shame I can feel for this movie is how underappreciated it will be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveKJul 18, 2008
Smarter than any superhero movie deserves to be. This is a great movie with so much more depth than a summer blockbuster deserves. A great great film. More story and themes (translate: slower) than some in the ADD generation can tolerate (at Smarter than any superhero movie deserves to be. This is a great movie with so much more depth than a summer blockbuster deserves. A great great film. More story and themes (translate: slower) than some in the ADD generation can tolerate (at times, at least), but if you like your movies epic, if you appreciate movies with depth, and you even remotely like Batman, this is a must-see, but you didn't need me to tell you that. The Joker adds an unnerving, edge-of-the-seat unpredictability to this movie that you so rarely see in superhero movies and well, any movie nowadays. It cannot be understated that Heath Ledger is brilliant. The only negative I can see is that I honestly don't know where they can go from here? How do you top this? What other Batman villain can hold a candle to the Joker (especially this masterful portrayal of the iconic villain that for obvious reasons cannot be reprised)? I almost wish that they don't make another one just because this one is so damn good and the next one will almost certainly be a disappointment with the standard set so impossibly high. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
zeppyrkrJul 18, 2008
Utterly amazing, films don't get any better then this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonM.Jul 18, 2008
What can I say? read just about any other review and you'll have my opinion. It's just a crying shame that Ledger can't reprise this roll. Also I want to say "I was wrong". I was one of those who thought he was going to ruin What can I say? read just about any other review and you'll have my opinion. It's just a crying shame that Ledger can't reprise this roll. Also I want to say "I was wrong". I was one of those who thought he was going to ruin the part before I'd actually seen footage of him in character. His take was equal to Nicholson's, though completely different in tone. A Perfect 10! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RCRJul 19, 2008
This is the treatment Batman has always deserved; Blurred moral boundaries and unapologetic villainy. Ledger's Joker exudes maddness and is the pinnacle of a pyschotic portrait. All facets of this gem are flawless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristianP.Jul 19, 2008
Great nuances keep you interested. although it's long, i never got bored -- whether it was action movie stuff, the acting of the wonderful cast, the interesting turn in the music and audio editing, or the overall mood. wonderful,Great nuances keep you interested. although it's long, i never got bored -- whether it was action movie stuff, the acting of the wonderful cast, the interesting turn in the music and audio editing, or the overall mood. wonderful, wonderful film that puts other comic book movies to shame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanA.Jul 19, 2008
This is not only the best Batman movie ever. But also the best movie ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ManuelD.Jul 19, 2008
Truelly brilliant, not just the best Batman movie ever. But also one of the best movies made in at least 20 years. Ledger owns the Joker part and deserves every known movie award there is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuanF.Jul 19, 2008
It couldn't have been more satisfying unless it was 5 hours long. I can think of 12 critics who are factually wrong, and I'm not sure if it'll ever set in that Heath Ledger's gone, because how can he be?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnH.Jul 19, 2008
Easily the best movie based on a comic. A real movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimothyD.Jul 19, 2008
Heaths performace is suberb. Some of the Best acting ive ever seen
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertsA.Jul 19, 2008
EVEN BETTER THAN THE HYPE The Dark Knight (TDK) on IMAX may be one of the best films I have ever seen ... up until the third act of the film. This is not to say the third act of the film isn't good, however. It is just familiar for fans EVEN BETTER THAN THE HYPE The Dark Knight (TDK) on IMAX may be one of the best films I have ever seen ... up until the third act of the film. This is not to say the third act of the film isn't good, however. It is just familiar for fans of comic books films. The film's excellent performances, including Mr. Ledger's transformation into the role of the Joker, match the skill of the writers and producers of the film. Mr. Nolan vision and expansion of the world of Batman are breathtaking ... and a welcome change from earlier comic book adaptations. While many audience members will be drawn in to see the film out of morbid curiosity after Mr. Ledger's untimely death, I expect many will see it as a celebration of fine acting and enjoy the movie as one of the best films of the year ... if not decade. Regardless of why you go see the movie, TDK is a must see for those who love movies and what the profession of acting can offer us, which is pure entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShaunM.Jul 19, 2008
Completely overrated. Very good however.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LisaB.Jul 19, 2008
Awesome installment in the iconic Batman franchise. Christan Bale is pitch perfect as cocky, twisted in his own way Bruce Wayne. The Joker is sociopathic and fleshed out by Heath Ledger like no one before him.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattA.Jul 19, 2008
I went in with mild expectations when seeing the dark knight. I admit to liking the lore of batman, but i wasn't the hugest fan of the first film (begins). This movie, however, blew me away in a way that was not expected. The characters I went in with mild expectations when seeing the dark knight. I admit to liking the lore of batman, but i wasn't the hugest fan of the first film (begins). This movie, however, blew me away in a way that was not expected. The characters were very well developed, and their pains and ambitions seeped through their performance. Batman and Harvey are two men who are affected by the same problem in totally different ways, and the inevitable conclusion follows. I don't say that i'll go and see a movie twice often, but i believe this one deserves it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnS.Jul 19, 2008
-1 for Maggie G, her acting was fine, she is not attractive enough for the role. Look at the tail that Bruce is with in other parts of the movie. Katie Holmes was more believable in the role. Other than that the movie was excellent, half way -1 for Maggie G, her acting was fine, she is not attractive enough for the role. Look at the tail that Bruce is with in other parts of the movie. Katie Holmes was more believable in the role. Other than that the movie was excellent, half way through it didn't even feel like a superhero/comic book movie. More like a psychological thriller with a terrorist twist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CurtisL.Jul 19, 2008
Very entertaining. Since everyone is heaping nothing but praise i will change it up. Three things that i did not like. 1.Honestly how was this movie only pg-13. i mean i know why, because it make more money that way, but seriously, this Very entertaining. Since everyone is heaping nothing but praise i will change it up. Three things that i did not like. 1.Honestly how was this movie only pg-13. i mean i know why, because it make more money that way, but seriously, this movie was extremely violent. I am no prude, but pg 13, really? The magic trick with the pencil should have made it R let alone the rest of the brutal violence. 2. I did not like the ending. Dent should have shot the boy, it was corny to have batman save him. i am no weirdo, but it seems like the 3 "knight" all should have lost someone, bruce and harvey lost rachel, but gordon did not have to suffer at all. I just thought with the way the movie was going it would have been more true to the story to have the kid get shot. 3. Maggie Gyllenhal is a terrible actor. thank god her character was killed off because i think she could have singlehandedly destroyed everyone elses performance through the poor quality of her own. That being said all of the other actors put in great performances. the two and half hours was over too soon for me and left me wanting more. great film, i hope they do not make a third because they cannot top this, especially considering they cannot bring back the joker character considering ledger's cowardly death. That's right i said it, overdosing on drugs is not a tragedy, it is a diservice to people who do die tragically to put a drug addicts death on the same level Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HollyCJul 19, 2008
Excellent film --starts off beautifully--- a tad too much fat in the middle, but ends brilliantly. As others have said, this film really elevates the "superhero genre" to real drama---like Lord of the Rings did in a way. The cast was a big Excellent film --starts off beautifully--- a tad too much fat in the middle, but ends brilliantly. As others have said, this film really elevates the "superhero genre" to real drama---like Lord of the Rings did in a way. The cast was a big part of that-- Ledger, Ekhart, Bale & Gyllenhaal (much preferred over Holmes) were absolutely solid, with perhaps Ledger outshining a bit. But he really did have the most to prove given the iconic Joker Nicholson created---and Ledger totally hit it out of the park and then some. This is just a great tragic drama---one of the better films I've seen this year. Had they tightened up the middle a bit, I would say this was almost a perfect film. Even saying that though, run and see this thing in theaters--definitely worth the price of admission (& to see some particularly great action scenes as they were meant to be seen). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveO.Jul 19, 2008
I loved it. Blows away every superhero movie ever made pretty much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ASJul 19, 2008
This movie was absolutely god damn awesome! Easily the best movie I've gone to see at the theaters in AGES and it was worth every cent! MUCH better than Batman Begins. The action was non stop. Brilliant acting and my god did Heath This movie was absolutely god damn awesome! Easily the best movie I've gone to see at the theaters in AGES and it was worth every cent! MUCH better than Batman Begins. The action was non stop. Brilliant acting and my god did Heath Ledger deliver an absolutely convincing and amazing performance. Throughout the whole movie it actually made me somewhat sad as I was seeing how well he portrayed the Joker knowing that he won't be returning in future Batman movies which is an immense shame. I know he'll get an Oscar for this because his performance was FLAWLESS and he was definitely the standout in this movie. Even if he was still alive he'd still be the standout. Batman seemed to be in the shadows a bit in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonS.Jul 19, 2008
Oh my damn! I went into this movie already with high expectations, as many of my co-workers saw the midnight showing), and "The Dark Knight," still managed to surpass them. This is the greatest Batman film I have seen, one of the greatest Oh my damn! I went into this movie already with high expectations, as many of my co-workers saw the midnight showing), and "The Dark Knight," still managed to surpass them. This is the greatest Batman film I have seen, one of the greatest action movies I have ever seen, as well as one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. "The Dark Knight," receives an all too well deserved 10 from me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CM.Jul 19, 2008
It's really hard to poke holes in this movie. It could be done, but just enjoy it for what it is, a true piece of cinematic art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarceloL.Jul 19, 2008
Oustanding performance of Heath Ledger take this movie to the next level. Producers should make the desition to dedicate this movie to his memory. And that is not joke.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShannaMJul 19, 2008
I watched it twice, two nights in a row. Best movie of the year so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholeD.Jul 19, 2008
I wasn't planning to see the movie, but I'm glad I did. The cast was outstanding. Every major actor sold his/her role. I haven't seen a film this good in years. It was sad to watch Heath Ledger give such an amazing I wasn't planning to see the movie, but I'm glad I did. The cast was outstanding. Every major actor sold his/her role. I haven't seen a film this good in years. It was sad to watch Heath Ledger give such an amazing performance, but thankfully, his performance and other more than make up for the hype. One final thought, for those who may feel put off by the movie's violence, the most depraved acts were not shown on screen, and the action is great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasDJul 19, 2008
Perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomSJul 19, 2008
Took over where Batman Begins left off and continued the awesome tale of Christian Bale's batman, the best one to date. Kudos to all involved and to Christoper Nolan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MackC.Jul 19, 2008
Best portrayal of Batman and the Joker......ever.....bar none.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RickyR.Jul 19, 2008
honest review: way over hyped... realistically: on par with the last one. people who gives 10s are idiotic because there were tons of flaws in it including being long, complicated, and silly at times (boats). ledger is great at acting honest review: way over hyped... realistically: on par with the last one. people who gives 10s are idiotic because there were tons of flaws in it including being long, complicated, and silly at times (boats). ledger is great at acting creepy/wacky, but that's hardly oscar deserving. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinS.Jul 19, 2008
Best movie I have ever seen, It had everything you could possibly want, action, humor, mystery, compelling characters, a great message, and most of all Batman!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidVJul 19, 2008
The best movie this year, and the best superhero movie by far. It was just really well directed, written, and all the performances were fantastic (especially Ledger).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeM.Jul 21, 2008
It's finally here and unlike a great many films out there that simply can't satisfy the "hype monster".....this one grabs the monster by the head and shows him the "dissapearing pencil trick". This IS the best comic book film if It's finally here and unlike a great many films out there that simply can't satisfy the "hype monster".....this one grabs the monster by the head and shows him the "dissapearing pencil trick". This IS the best comic book film if not one of the best FILMS ever made.....period. The dark, gritty, and unrewarding places this movie will take you is both depressing and captivating at the same time.....as in you truly feel "at a loss" at the end, that evil hasn't won but simply proven it cannot be denied its existence no matter who is there to stop it. The Dark Knight far exceeds Batman Begins in almost EVERY category save for the "origin story" aspect.....whether it be the villains, the heroes involved, or the situation at hand everything seems far more dangerous and "on the brink of disaster" in this sequel. This is a super-hero film where the hero is truly a step behind throughout the entire flick even when you THINK he's gaining ground.....he simply isn't, instead he's losing it far faster with each passing moment. As for the performances.....Heath Ledger steals the show hands down, he simply sizzles on screen as the Joker to a level where you are mesmerized by the character, his actions, his ticks, his intentions, and origin keep you wondering about the "man behind the painted face", this menace, this jester with the brains and violent nature to cripple an entire city.....youll believe he can succeed, and for the most part he does. Aaron Eckhart turns in a performance that will blow your mind as well, going from saviour of hope to the destroyer of it is both tragic and well displayed, you can truly feel this mans anger as he goes head hunting for those that **SPOILER** "burned" him (pun intended). Batman is sort of the middle man in this film, but at the end of it all and once the poop has hit the fan and splatterred all over the room.....he is left to clean it up with his bare hands. So IS this one of the greatest movies of our time......YES.....IT IS just that, its vastly entertaining with superb performances, amazing and well timed action sequences, and a interesting look at human beings and what we're capable of doing under the most dire of circumstances. A+....highest recomendation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IoannisP.Jul 21, 2008
The best Batman, the best comic book movie, one of the best action-crime drama movies ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MannyF.Jul 21, 2008
Awesome, crime/cop/detective drama and the fact that the characters are from Batman make it twice as awesome. It's like Scorsese made a comic book film, Nolan is just as good! SEE THIS MOVIE!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanR.Jul 20, 2008
Amazing. I saw it at midnight-- I was originally not intending to see it at all and my friend had an extra ticket. It was absolutley breathtaking. It lacked the slowness of the first movie. Yes, DK had its action and fight scenes and Amazing. I saw it at midnight-- I was originally not intending to see it at all and my friend had an extra ticket. It was absolutley breathtaking. It lacked the slowness of the first movie. Yes, DK had its action and fight scenes and violence, but it managed to also maintain a plot-- a rariety in today's film industry. The cast was beautifully cast. The only weakness in the casting was Maggie Gyllenhaal, who unfortunatley just played herself. Aaron Eckhart did a wonderful job displaying the struggles of a man--in well, you'll see. And even if Heath Ledger hadn't died, and this was not his last role, his performance would still be something talked about years from now. HIs grovely voice and little tics, made the character human, something that while sitting in the audience, even you can fear. An amazing cast, amazing plot, and amazing setting. Go watch it. You'll be pleasantly surprised. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TerryW.Jul 21, 2008
A very good movie, especially for this genre. Ledger is brilliant and almost puppy dog sad in the sadistic swirl of his Joker character. Good action, good gizmos, nice, if sometimes confusing and higly unlikely plot twists. All in all, a A very good movie, especially for this genre. Ledger is brilliant and almost puppy dog sad in the sadistic swirl of his Joker character. Good action, good gizmos, nice, if sometimes confusing and higly unlikely plot twists. All in all, a very good, not quite great movie that is weighed down a bit by its morality study manner and general murkiness, both in plot and look. That said, easily one or two of the best action flicks in the last couple of years and well worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AparícioN.Jul 21, 2008
O melhor filme de todos os tempos.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcD.Jul 21, 2008
Amazing. Ledger is simply disturbing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SahibG.Jul 21, 2008
This is the best comic book movie to date, and i highly doubt it will be topped. No question it is the movie of the year and Heath Ledger deserves the Oscar for it, and I'm not saying it because he passed away, I'm saying it This is the best comic book movie to date, and i highly doubt it will be topped. No question it is the movie of the year and Heath Ledger deserves the Oscar for it, and I'm not saying it because he passed away, I'm saying it because he was amazing as The Joker! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CLoJul 21, 2008
CONFUSED AND TOO LONG. great critique. the movie WAS long, but it kept coming back with more and more intensity and surprises. Ledger's joker was unbelievable. i always liked him as an actor, and to see him (i'm stealing this from aCONFUSED AND TOO LONG. great critique. the movie WAS long, but it kept coming back with more and more intensity and surprises. Ledger's joker was unbelievable. i always liked him as an actor, and to see him (i'm stealing this from a critic's review) transcend his own acting ability the way he did just moved me... and i was so sad every time i remembered that he's gone. posthumous academy award, anyone? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LuisG.Jul 20, 2008
This is the best Batman movie ever, Christopher Nolan should be nominated for Best Director on the Oscars! Don't miss this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshF.Jul 21, 2008
Heath Ledgers performance as the Joker is simply amazing. This Dark Knight is even better than Batman Begins.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZinoD.Jul 20, 2008
Thrilling... a jet coaster that serves haute cuisine and drops you off in the middle of an insane asphalt jungle. Great script, black humor to write home about, and Heath Ledger's finest performance. Definitely the guy gets the Best Thrilling... a jet coaster that serves haute cuisine and drops you off in the middle of an insane asphalt jungle. Great script, black humor to write home about, and Heath Ledger's finest performance. Definitely the guy gets the Best Actor Award this year. Or I'll blow up a hospital. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MonaA.Jul 20, 2008
This movie was just as good, if not better, than the first one. Viewers will not be disappointed. Just when I thought the movie was over, Joker pulls another one of his ingenious tricks again and again. I will probably have to watch this This movie was just as good, if not better, than the first one. Viewers will not be disappointed. Just when I thought the movie was over, Joker pulls another one of his ingenious tricks again and again. I will probably have to watch this movie again to fully understand the characters' motives and the intricate plot. Overall, it was an amazing film with a promising plot, new ideas, and great action scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WorthasecondviewingJul 20, 2008
Best Movie Ever? No, and that was pretty obvious before seeing the movie. Best Comic Book Movie Ever? Depends on what you're looking for, I wouldn't say it was. Over hyped? What isn't these days. A good flick, absolutely. I Best Movie Ever? No, and that was pretty obvious before seeing the movie. Best Comic Book Movie Ever? Depends on what you're looking for, I wouldn't say it was. Over hyped? What isn't these days. A good flick, absolutely. I was one of the eager to see this and hoped it would live up to it's hype...what can I say, I'm an optimist. I think Ledger did an outstanding,daring and brilliant job as joker. It takes a certain swagger to take that roll and pull it off with Nicholson looming over for critique. I thought the plot was a little more than needed and there were glaringly terrible lines delivered in scenes that made me wonder how they could have been overlooked when this was written. Bale's batman voice is irritating at best and unbearable at worst. All that aside, I didn't notice the length of this movie at all while watching it, the pace of the film worked well for me and I felt there was a healthy sense of camp in the characters delivery left underlying and keeping the movie from taking itself too seriously. It's definitely not a movie for everyone and it will not please everyone but I still have to say that I have not seen a batman movie since Burton's first that had me as interested and excited for the next scene throughout...and yes, Imax helped perpetuate the larger than life feel that added to that. I don't think this is going to reshape Batman to a point of epiphany and I would be wary of expecting that going into any movie...you'll be grossly disappointed. If you want to see an action packed crime drama play out between a hero and villain we have all been familiar with for ages, then go and enjoy. Expect to have fun and leave the imperfections aside and I have trouble seeing anyone coming out of this movie wishing they had not seen it to begin with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamA-RalloJul 21, 2008
Unbelievably good. No single element, actor, or production area falters, bringing the best of Batman comics to the screen with an eye so discerning it threatens to create a new genre for itself: not the superhero movie, but the superhero film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AgustinL.Jul 20, 2008
The best Batman of all. One of the best movies of the year (if is not the best). Heath Ledger should win the Oscar for his Joker and Christian Bale is just the best Batman we ll see
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AMJul 20, 2008
Simply brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlisaH.Jul 20, 2008
I pity anybody who doesn't get the privilege to see this movie. It's spectacular, amazing, any word you care to use, it's just that good. Whatever I say here does no justice to the quality film-making that is The Dark Knight, I pity anybody who doesn't get the privilege to see this movie. It's spectacular, amazing, any word you care to use, it's just that good. Whatever I say here does no justice to the quality film-making that is The Dark Knight, the acting, directing, acting, storyline, everything. . .flawless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimD.Jul 21, 2008
This movie is the very definition of why we go to the movies. It's entertaining, engrossing and thought provoking. Even my wife loved it! And she wanted to see Mamma Mia!...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GuayChristianP.Jul 20, 2008
Flawless and outstanding screenplay, the Film is fantastic from point A to point B. Christian Bale unleashed the true essence of what Batman is and play it perfectly. Heath Ledger is definitely outstanding with his mimmicks & screenplays, Flawless and outstanding screenplay, the Film is fantastic from point A to point B. Christian Bale unleashed the true essence of what Batman is and play it perfectly. Heath Ledger is definitely outstanding with his mimmicks & screenplays, giving us the perfect match. The story is great, the sub-story plots are crazy, the characters are well played and the Joker is giving an incredible moral twist behind the movie! Thx Guys for that film! 10/10... no I would go for a 11/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZackS.Jul 20, 2008
See it at an IMAX, do not miss the opening at all. The best movie this year, I am betting a clean-up at the award shows. Will be seeing it again, IMAX of course.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreC.Jul 21, 2008
It is one of the greatest Batman movies ever. Heath Ledger acted Joker perfectly. I literally left the theater saying " Why so serious ? "
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZohaibA.Jul 22, 2008
I forgot to wear diapers to the cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinGJul 22, 2008
Great.Went to IMAX. stunning. I am going again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CoreyC.Jul 20, 2008
One of the best movies I've ever seen
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonY.Jul 22, 2008
best movie ive seen since pulp fiction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianZ.Jul 20, 2008
Try getting this one out of your head. Nolan goes where no other film, let alone comic book film, has gone before. It's one to show evil, even reveal its' allure. Its another entirely to turn a world on its head, leave it a shell, Try getting this one out of your head. Nolan goes where no other film, let alone comic book film, has gone before. It's one to show evil, even reveal its' allure. Its another entirely to turn a world on its head, leave it a shell, and hope the audience accepts it. Kevin Smith, the director of Clerks, noted that this is the Godfather Part II of comic book films. I'll go further. This is the Godfather II of our time. Rarely has a mainstream film that is designed for entertainment ever pushed boundaries of every kind on the audience. Ledger will haunt you for days after (provided you paid attention). From the opening scene to his final moments, you are riveted and repulsed by his Joker. The rest of the cast to a person is nearly flawless. Props must go to Bale, Freeman, Caine, Gylennhall, and especially Eckart. Eckart breaks your heart, revealing a tortured soul under the shining armor. His final scene has real weight. As for the movie's length, this sounds like short-attention span whining. Nolan isn't going for disposable. He wants to challenge our minds. He is a first class filmmaker interested in posing hard questions. Thank God. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayL.Jul 22, 2008
This movie has it's strengths and weaknesses. One one hand, Heath Ledger does an unreasonably fantastic job as the Joker. It's a shame that he won't be able to reprise his role, because he just nailed it. There's never This movie has it's strengths and weaknesses. One one hand, Heath Ledger does an unreasonably fantastic job as the Joker. It's a shame that he won't be able to reprise his role, because he just nailed it. There's never really a dull moment in this movie. My attention was kept for the full two and a half hours. But on the other hand, some parts were unreasonably predictable. Anytime anyone gets into a car, you can assume that they'll be dead in a few seconds. Some parts could have been entirely left out. (Ferry scene comes to mind). But go see it. It's a lot better than Hancock and Space Chimps. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BJReynoldsJul 22, 2008
Heath Ledger's performance as the twisted Joker is pure genius. It's so good he should get nominated for a Oscar. Also the action, casting and special effects work out perfectly. Hail Ledger! You'll be missed. Best Movie of 2008!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LyleSJul 22, 2008
This movie is not a 10. It's close, but it's not a 10. It collapses under the weight of too many ideas covering too much time. You should definitely see it, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PabloR.Jul 22, 2008
Dark Knight is not just the best super-hero movie you'll see in your life. It's one of the best movies you'll see in your entire life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertR.Jul 22, 2008
Simply Incredible!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShawnH.Jul 22, 2008
Everything i could ask for in a movie, easily the best superhero movie of all time. Heath Ledger did an amazing job as the joker and now he cant do a second batman film. R.I.P. -Heath Ledger
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilD.Jul 22, 2008
Best movie of the year, I've seen it 4 times. A true vision of batman in the real world, just don't take your kids, unless they are bad ass. best movie of the year R.I.P heath ledger
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronB.Jul 22, 2008
Amazing movie, truly unique and mind-bending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PittmanW.Jul 20, 2008
See the movie for no other reason that the fact that it haunt you for hours after walking out of the theater. Heath Ledger's Joker is perhaps the greatest villain captured on film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ElilolJul 22, 2008
First Heath was perfect, movie was almost stale to me, they made it long and tried way to hard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TyD.Jul 22, 2008
Nothing tops this movie. Best of the Batman series for sure. Heath's performance is amazing beyond belief. I figured it'd be good, but it blew away what I expected. This is a must see movie for sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinB.Jul 20, 2008
Honestly, I am one hard critic, but this film was absolutely amazing. The acting, cinema-tics and story were all brilliant. A must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimJul 22, 2008
I can't believe some critics are giving this movie a rating of 50! It was by far the best movie I had ever seen. Im not usually into superhero movies, but I am so glad my boyfriend dragged me to see this. If you havent seen this movie I can't believe some critics are giving this movie a rating of 50! It was by far the best movie I had ever seen. Im not usually into superhero movies, but I am so glad my boyfriend dragged me to see this. If you havent seen this movie yet, I advise you too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkM>Jul 22, 2008
Great movie with very good writing and acting. At times it transcends its genre in addressing the darker aspects of human nature. My only complaint is that it's about 20 minutes too long, with most of that unnecessary padding coming in Great movie with very good writing and acting. At times it transcends its genre in addressing the darker aspects of human nature. My only complaint is that it's about 20 minutes too long, with most of that unnecessary padding coming in a downright silly action sequence near the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WalterS.Jul 22, 2008
WARNING, SEMI-SPOILERS. It is excruciatingly difficult saying how great this film is without detailing why. This film is a masterpiece. This is no superhero film, this is an epic crime drama that just so happens to have a superhero in it. WARNING, SEMI-SPOILERS. It is excruciatingly difficult saying how great this film is without detailing why. This film is a masterpiece. This is no superhero film, this is an epic crime drama that just so happens to have a superhero in it. Batman and The Joker are complete polar opposites, and Harvey Dent's coin (and later, as Two-Face, his face) is an astounding metaphor for it. They are opposite sides of the coin. To quote The Joker, "madness is like gravity, all it takes is one little push." One little push to turn a man like Harvey Dent into a man like The Joker. The Joker is just plain dark. Not melodramatic-teenager dark, a-person's-life-is-a-punchline dark. Anyone I've met that disliked this film hasn't really explained WHY, they've spoken in a certain vagueness without actually detailing what was wrong with it. That's the thing though, there is nothing wrong with it. The entire film, all 152 minutes of it without a dull moment, I was glued to the screen. It's a shame Heath Ledger died. He put his heart and soul into his role as The Joker. When I watched the film I didn't think "hey, there's Heath Ledger as The Joker," I thought "hey, there's The Joker." I heard he had the utmost respect for Jack Nicholson, and those big clown shoes he had to fill were what made him persevere. Enjoy your Oscar, Mr. Ledger. Rest in peace. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EstanislaoH.Jul 22, 2008
The best comic book related movie ever :) A real good movie, but not as good as many people say :P
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreS.Jul 23, 2008
Indelible performance of heath Leger and strained action with twisting story line like no other.
0 of 0 users found this helpful