Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 18, 2008
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 5110 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
4,640
Mixed:
188
Negative:
282
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
EpicLadySpongeJan 3, 2016
The Dark Knight is like way too long and it's not really that interesting. On the other hand, it's something dark and a teasing movie that made the name straight on to the action category.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerFeb 12, 2011
The Dark Knight has been argued about with fans and critics alike if this is the best Batman movie ever or not while I can't answer this it is a fantastic movie, the acting is great, and the story is fantastic, the interpretation of BatmanThe Dark Knight has been argued about with fans and critics alike if this is the best Batman movie ever or not while I can't answer this it is a fantastic movie, the acting is great, and the story is fantastic, the interpretation of Batman and the Joker are amazing, this movie will have you wanting more, a must see for Batman fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Taking, not just mine, but everyone's expectations and flipping them on their heads. Nolan managed to harness everything that was great in "Batman Begins" and augment those qualities to a near epic degree. He even added some newer things ofTaking, not just mine, but everyone's expectations and flipping them on their heads. Nolan managed to harness everything that was great in "Batman Begins" and augment those qualities to a near epic degree. He even added some newer things of his own creation into the mix. I speak, of course, of Heath Ledger's Academy-Award Winning Joker. Virtually every line out of Heath's mouth in this movie is amazing. In fact the entire script of this movie contains these little hidden gems that Nolan just flicks at your head throughout the entire film. However, it's Heath's performance that still reigns surpeme in this film overall. He and Nolan not only created an Oscar-Winning character, but a character that has had a pretty deep impact on pop culture. Aaron Eckhart did a good job as the tragic Harvey Dent character. All of the other actors were fantastic as well - including Bale's continually impressive Bruce Wayne/Batman performance. On a technical level, the production design and set pieces in the film were absolutely magnificant. I also felt Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard did another wonderful job in crafting the score for this film. Overall, Christopher Nolan manages to create a sequel that is not only better than the original, but he manages to craft my favorite movie of all time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
Heath Ledger is definitely the all-time best Joker portrayer (take that, Jack Nicholson!) and really pulled us all in with his performance. The movie focuses on a more dramatic level than the previous Batman installments, and as a result, itHeath Ledger is definitely the all-time best Joker portrayer (take that, Jack Nicholson!) and really pulled us all in with his performance. The movie focuses on a more dramatic level than the previous Batman installments, and as a result, it resonates better with me. This series just gets better and better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrianMcCriticJun 10, 2013
The best of the franchise. A perfect film from start to finish that never gets old. This film is slightly better then the other two because of Heath Ledger his portrayal of the Joker is to me the greatest villain of all time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 31, 2014
The Dark Knight is monumental. One of the biggest fan favorites of the decade. Heath Ledger gives one of the greatest performances of all-time as The Joker amidst engrossing chaos. It may be ever-so-slightly overrated, especially with anThe Dark Knight is monumental. One of the biggest fan favorites of the decade. Heath Ledger gives one of the greatest performances of all-time as The Joker amidst engrossing chaos. It may be ever-so-slightly overrated, especially with an average portrayal of Batman from Christian Bale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
csw12Mar 25, 2012
The Dark Knight is the best movie since Lord of The Rings. A dark and sophisticated movie (especially for batman) that had strong acting all around with a joker that was the craziest of all villians. A masterpiece like no other and noThe Dark Knight is the best movie since Lord of The Rings. A dark and sophisticated movie (especially for batman) that had strong acting all around with a joker that was the craziest of all villians. A masterpiece like no other and no question the best movie of the year. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
Regular readers of this blog know that I don't like super heroes, but Batman is the exception. As a kid he was the only one I thought was cool and the only one that i felt could be real. Apparently Christopher Nolan has the same idea. What IRegular readers of this blog know that I don't like super heroes, but Batman is the exception. As a kid he was the only one I thought was cool and the only one that i felt could be real. Apparently Christopher Nolan has the same idea. What I love about his take on Batman is that it's very realistic. Even the joker, as out there as he maybe, was a much more believable and realistic villain than the portrait by Jack Nicholson. As for the movie, it's an amazing story, with one of the best performances ever, by the late Heath Ledger who I really couldn't stand until this movie! As with all Nolan movies, it's a very visually appealing film, with a great story, and cast perfectly. I can honestly say that this is as good as it gets! There will never be a better Batman or super hero movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 20, 2011
This super hero movie is a rare film that drills deep inside the character and the script more than the action. It may be boring to a few people who despise waiting for 2 hrs; However I promise you, Heath Ledger will keep you amazed the wholeThis super hero movie is a rare film that drills deep inside the character and the script more than the action. It may be boring to a few people who despise waiting for 2 hrs; However I promise you, Heath Ledger will keep you amazed the whole time. Ultimately, Christopher Nolan's "The Dark Knight" is a masterpiece, a film that doesn't just show off the visuals and action, but understands what deep pains and afflictions a superhero suffers. Expand
28 of 34 users found this helpful286
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobJan 2, 2013
Really overrated by users imo. The only thing good about this movie is Heath Ledger as the Joker, which is simply the most untouchable performance of the year imo, and the only reason one should watch this movie.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 9, 2012
Christopher Nolan has created something brilliant. A dark Batman motivated by emotion and personal vendetta, yet compassionate enough to do what is right and become not a hero, but a symbol- a symbol that lights a fire in the hearts of the hopeless.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Jun 9, 2013
This was a solid film. It is clear why other people thought this was excellent, but it left me a little indifferent. I just don't think I will ever be that intrigued by the entire Batman story. However, it has a very good performance byThis was a solid film. It is clear why other people thought this was excellent, but it left me a little indifferent. I just don't think I will ever be that intrigued by the entire Batman story. However, it has a very good performance by Ledger, good editing and music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
marcmyworksNov 27, 2013
I'd have to say probably one of the finest films ever made. The relationship between Batman and Joker has never been captured as strongly in this film. The unfortunate death of Health Ledger however makes me wonder what Nolan would have doneI'd have to say probably one of the finest films ever made. The relationship between Batman and Joker has never been captured as strongly in this film. The unfortunate death of Health Ledger however makes me wonder what Nolan would have done in the third one had he lived. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ydnar4Nov 23, 2014
This film is the perfect super hero movie. Gotham City is displayed so well visually. It is full of a great cast, and everyone is sharp in this film. I really need to see this movie again. What more can be said about the Dark Knight? HeathThis film is the perfect super hero movie. Gotham City is displayed so well visually. It is full of a great cast, and everyone is sharp in this film. I really need to see this movie again. What more can be said about the Dark Knight? Heath Ledger is dynamite as the joker which every knows by now. If you have not seen this movie yet go out and see it. You won't regret it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
CineAutoctonoOct 17, 2017
"The Dark Knight" was a sensational film, undoubtedly the best Batman in history, performances, history, action scenes and plot were excellently managed, Christopher Nolan certainly did wonders with this classic, but what that caught me the"The Dark Knight" was a sensational film, undoubtedly the best Batman in history, performances, history, action scenes and plot were excellently managed, Christopher Nolan certainly did wonders with this classic, but what that caught me the most, is Heath Ledger's performance (RIP Heath Ledger), made the best joker in history, Christian Bale's performance was very good, this film is complex and spectacular. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuJul 22, 2012
The Dark Knight is hands down the best written, scripted and acted superhero movie of all time. The dialogue fizzes at all times, the character exchanges are more exciting than gunfire and there is a genuinely interesting psychological studyThe Dark Knight is hands down the best written, scripted and acted superhero movie of all time. The dialogue fizzes at all times, the character exchanges are more exciting than gunfire and there is a genuinely interesting psychological study at the root of it all. What does keep it shy of perfection, though, is the lack of a truly exciting action scene. The whole bat-bike / flipping truck scene comes close but ultimately when in combat, this Batman is a bit paint by numbers. Not that it hurts the movie too much because to paraphrase the Joker; "You didn't really think I'd leave the fate of Gotham's soul up to a fistfight, did you?" Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 27, 2011
The Dark Knight is among the deepest superhero films ever created. The thing that made it better was the villain The Joker, who helped make the film darker than Batman Begins.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
eagleeyevikingDec 17, 2013
The Dark Knight is the closest any superhero movie has come to "perfect" with amazing dialogue, a sturdy plot, great casting and Heath Ledger's iconic portrayal of The Joker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticAug 22, 2013
As a whole, it can exclaim itself as a sophisticated comic book film. Heath Ledger's Joker is what captivates us. He absorbs into this role with a type of noir-like version of the classic comic book character, becoming a murderous andAs a whole, it can exclaim itself as a sophisticated comic book film. Heath Ledger's Joker is what captivates us. He absorbs into this role with a type of noir-like version of the classic comic book character, becoming a murderous and calculating psychopath. The only comic book film that deserved any Oscar, especially for Heath Ledger. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JacobDec 22, 2012
I will admit The Dark Knight is a tough film to get into. The story is complicated especially for a film based on a comic book. The beginning is information overload and could turn some people off. However, once the Joker shows up and chaosI will admit The Dark Knight is a tough film to get into. The story is complicated especially for a film based on a comic book. The beginning is information overload and could turn some people off. However, once the Joker shows up and chaos ensues the film really picks up. You get into the story, which is great. The film is enhanced by some great performances especially by Heath Leadger. While some of the acting could have been better it is still good and nothing terrible. The story is lengthy and may have benefited from being two films; but it did not bother me as much the second time. The further you get into the film the better it gets. Overall, The Dark Knight is not just a great superhero movie but a great film. It has a deep story, good characters, and some nice filming to top it of. If you have not seen this film yet check it out its great. You do not have to like Batman to enjoy this film. It is an interesting take on some well-known characters and I love it. I enjoyed the Dark Knight a lot the second time around and I am probably going to see it again in the future multiple times. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
BroyaxJan 5, 2017
A part le costume, on se demande si on est encore dans un "Batman"... Gotham est devenue un mélange de New York et de Chicago, une ville américaine générique, pleine de grands cubes et le Joker, le fameux Joker est un banal malfratA part le costume, on se demande si on est encore dans un "Batman"... Gotham est devenue un mélange de New York et de Chicago, une ville américaine générique, pleine de grands cubes et le Joker, le fameux Joker est un banal malfrat peinturluré à la va-vite. Il a le charisme d'un livreur de pizza et l'allure d'un clochard, il n'inspire qu'un vague mépris à défaut d'incarner un certain idéal de folie furieuse. Pas drôle pour un sou, on lui filerait juste deux balles dans le métro.

Christian Bale est passé en mode "pilotage automatique" tout comme son cérémonieux majordome Michael Caine qui ne cesse de nous rebattre les oreilles avec ses reflexions moralisatrices. Idem pour Morgan Freeman, réduit au faire-valoir accessoire du justicier, une sorte de "Q" pour le James Bond masqué. Gary Oldman n'en mène pas large non plus et a l'air de s'emmerder autant que nous. Tant d'acteurs aussi mal employés nous font regretter un tel gâchis.

L'histoire ou la tentative d'histoire se perd en maintes circonvolutions pour tenter de tenir les deux heures et demi de remplissage, ponctuées ici et là par un peu d'action qui fait la part belle à la Burnemobile et la moto batmolle.

On pourrait être dans un James Bond ou dans un Jason Bourne qu'on y verrait que du feu, à part tout de même une mise en scène très correcte globalement mais l'ambiance déjantée du monde de Batman a définitivement disparu pour céder la place à une grosse machine prétentieuse qui se repose sur les effets spéciaux, édulcore ses personnages et délivre une oeuvre fadasse et formatée par l'ennui.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
oxanaAug 25, 2014
Christian Bale is a perfect Bruce Wayne, no doubting that. His voice as Batman kept cracking me up, but at the same time he does play the Dark Knight very well, so it is only a momentary fun every time. (No doubt helps him to hide his trueChristian Bale is a perfect Bruce Wayne, no doubting that. His voice as Batman kept cracking me up, but at the same time he does play the Dark Knight very well, so it is only a momentary fun every time. (No doubt helps him to hide his true identity too.)

A lot has been talked about Heath Ledger's role in the movie, and those acclaims have been very true, too. He is a perfect Joker; on the very borderline of sane and its complete opposite. Disturbing, and yet in a way very human.

This movie, compared to "Batman Begins", is smoother, more action-filled and on the move all the time. People get killed, shots fired, cars trashed, buildings blown...

All in all, this is a near perfect movie. Dark, aggressive, twisted and very funny in a lot of places as well - much thanks to the Joker.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 30, 2010
Christopher Nolan is by far an excellent director while making this epic hit!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
FuturedirectorNov 7, 2016
Thanks to Haeth Ledger's terrific interpretation and Christopher Nolan's professional direction and production, The Dark Knight is an eficent; action-packed and tention-full film that cannot follow in a better way to its predecessors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Jan 3, 2012
Christopher Nolan directs an epic, emotional thrill ride. Providing nonstop action incredible performances especially Heath Ledger who gives the best adaptation of one of the most memorable villains. This movie is one of the mostChristopher Nolan directs an epic, emotional thrill ride. Providing nonstop action incredible performances especially Heath Ledger who gives the best adaptation of one of the most memorable villains. This movie is one of the most unforgettable experiences you will have until the last one arrives. I give this movie 90%. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
TheApplegnomeJul 6, 2014
A masterpiece by Christopher Nolan!

Nowadays, we see a massive amount of computer generated objects in our movies. But with Nolans’s The Dark Knight, we notice that he really tries to make the batman franchise as real as possible. Just
A masterpiece by Christopher Nolan!

Nowadays, we see a massive amount of computer generated objects in our movies. But with Nolans’s The Dark Knight, we notice that he really tries to make the batman franchise as real as possible. Just look at the Batmobile, so incredible! I totally love the action and crime in The Dark Knight, and both the opening scene and the ending was just awesome. I’m also amazed by how groovy the movie was, and with the great music and the awesome actors couldn't the movie have been done better. Every small detail in the movie is perfect, except that there are some confusing and slow scenes in some places.

The Dark Knight is a spectacular movie, and the best to date by Nolan.

9,3/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFJan 27, 2013
One could say flawless, and one would not be too far from the truth.
With one of the best ensemble performances in a blockbuster, The Dark Knight catapults itself away from its rebooted predecessor, 'Batman Begins" into one of the greatest
One could say flawless, and one would not be too far from the truth.
With one of the best ensemble performances in a blockbuster, The Dark Knight catapults itself away from its rebooted predecessor, 'Batman Begins" into one of the greatest superhero movies ever made.
We see Bruce Wayne (Christian Bale) return as the caped crusader, dealing with copycats is the least of his worries, as he has been dealt countless obstacles and now tragedies, and now the emergence (and most haunting incarnation) of the Joker, played by the ever talented and late Heath Ledger.
What is so intriguing about Ledgers Joker is his simplicity, he is a man not quite easy to please, with no lust for money or anything of that nature, he simply wants to 'introduce a little anarchy'.
We are also introduced to District Attorney Harvey Dent, attempting to lawfully clean up Gotham's streets through imprisoning the kingpins and criminals that occupy the city.
What ensues is glorious set pieces, but too CGI laden, they look realistic to the point that it is believable in front of you. We also see the introduction of the BatPod, a new vehicle used by our vigilante which again, sets up some wonderful scenes involving this new machine. The tone of the film has definitely shifted to a much more sombre and gritty tale compared to 'Begins', adding more emotional depths to each character, no stone seems to have been left unturned when it comes to outlining each main cast member in terms of us knowing exactly why they are there and what is going on in their life. It's remarkable to have such depth for so many characters, but we do care for them, and when tragedy strikes its difficult not to feel for the characters on screen.
The writing is excellent, especially for the Joker, he runs away easily with the most defining moments of the film , whether he's doing magic tricks or dressing up as a nurse, his persona is set in particular scene when he's trying to detonate a bomb, I believe the seconds to follow where completely unscripted, and Ledger just went with the character he created, utter brilliance.
Theres also a standout performance for Bale himself as Batman, he has a lot on his plate considering the public don't quite know what to think of him, hero? Villain? He clearly does doubt himself in many moments throughout the film which can all be portrayed through Bales superb acting.
Alfred (Michael Caine) returns as Bruces faithful butler, Lucius Fox (Morgan Freeman) returns as Bruces genius friend and new head of Wayne Enterprises, and Maggie Gyllenhaal replaces Katie Holmes as Bruce's childhood friend and love interest Rachel Dawes.
While the despair is in heaps here, there are a few comedic moments, particularly with the Joker, but this is a new benchmark in superhero realism, and this film hits heights that were perhaps too hard to follow (I reviewed this AFTER reviewing TDKR).
Its epic on so many elements and wasn't afraid to drastically change the pace, with a successful outcome, The Dark Knight can be seen as unbelievable, and exasperatingly good on all accounts.
It will put a smile on that face...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
The one singular thing I loved more than anything abotu this film was Heath Ledger's performance as The Joker. The one thing that touches me about his performance is that he was so into his character, he couldn't get out, and so he became TheThe one singular thing I loved more than anything abotu this film was Heath Ledger's performance as The Joker. The one thing that touches me about his performance is that he was so into his character, he couldn't get out, and so he became The Joker. He WAS the best Joker I've ever seen. This film, all in all, was a great second chapter to the trilogy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Bruce722Mar 7, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Dark Knight is definitely one of the darkest Superhero films of all-time. What Nolan has accomplished with this series is nothing short of remarkable. Some people say the movie is too long but hey, most great movies are. Heath Ledger's role as the Joker was fascinating. How he was able to totally and completely transform into the ultimate villain shows what an incredible actor he was. He was able to perfectly capture exactly why the Joker is the best villain ever in exposing the dynamic between the Joker and Batman's relationship. Christian Bale and the rest of the cast was phenomenal as well and the acting was superb from top to bottom. There were a few disappointments. The first was that Katie Holmes was by Maggie Gyllenhaal. It breaks up the continuity from the first film and let's face it, Maggie Gyllenhaal isn't attractive at all. Are you seriously telling me there weren't any other pretty and talented brunettes in Hollywood who could replace Katie? If you're going to replace someone in a film series, which I truly hate doing, always upgrade. Secondly, I was really disappointed with Two-Face's quick departure. In the canon, other than the joke, Two-Face is the ultimate villain against Batman. Yes, it felt right in the movie so I can't hold that against it but as a fan of the lore, it was a bit of a disappointment for sure. The last thing is that the plot felt more
unrealistic in this film than in the last one. Most of the major plot points rely on unreliable or fantastical elements. These are all within my suspension of disbelief for the film but Batman Begins didn't
contain as much of this. All in all, amazing movie and truly the best superhero sequel of all-time. RIP Heath Ledger.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HalfwelshmanFeb 13, 2012
The Dark Knight continues director Christopher Nolan's dark, dirty and pessimistic vision of the Batman saga, following on from his stunning origin story Batman Begins three years before. It seems the whole film was overshadowed by HeathThe Dark Knight continues director Christopher Nolan's dark, dirty and pessimistic vision of the Batman saga, following on from his stunning origin story Batman Begins three years before. It seems the whole film was overshadowed by Heath Ledger's untimely death and subsequent posthumous Best Supporting Actor Oscar. Yes Ledger's Joker is utterly spellbinding, playing the Clown Prince of Crime as a terrifyingly volatile, nihilistic terrorist quite rightly received praise, but the film has far more going for it than one stand-out performance. For starters, all the cast are strong. Christian Bale reprises his role as an increasingly despairing and downtrodden Bruce Wayne/Batman, fighting a losing battle not only with the scum of Gotham city, but with the increasingly hostile public reception to his vigilante alter-ego, and with himself. Taking over from Katie Holmes, Maggie Gyllenhaal is also good as Bruce's childhood friend and on-off love interest Rachel Dawes, and she adds a little something of her own to the role - some much-needed attitude, which is perfect for an assistant D.A. who deals with hardened criminals on a regular basis. Michael Caine and Morgan Freeman bring some welcome lighter notes and comic relief to this otherwise pitch-black film as Bruce's faithful butler, friend and surrogate father Alfred, and his company CEO/gadget man Lucius Fox respectively. As for the true acting highlight of the film, I'd be hard-pressed to decide between Gary Oldman and Aaron Eckhart. Oldman's performance as Lieutenant Gordon is well-judged, emotionally complex, and extremely human - if Batman's war with the Joker is the main driving force for action and spectacle in the film, then Gordon's story provides the most scope for genuine drama. I also praise Eckhart for his performance as D.A. Harvey Dent, whose crusade to clean the streets of Gotham leads to his ultimate, tragic, downfall when he is horribly disfigured, becoming Two-Face. Rather than the pantomime villain Tommy Lee-Jones presented in Joel Schumacher's camptastic Batman Forever, Eckhart carefully develops Dent's character, allowing us to emotionally connect with, and understand him and his motivations, making what happens to him all the more dramatically effective. Other than the cast's performances, I think what really makes The Dark Knight is its thematic richness. The idea of duality and antithesis is continually emphasised - justice vs. injustice, order vs. chaos, Batman vs. The Joker. Even Harvey Dent, with his position openly and publicly fighting crime, is the polar opposite of Batman, a secretive, anonymous vigilante - they are two sides of the same coin, with the possibility of one becoming the other in the right (or wrong) circumstances. The film also looks beautiful, in no small part due to Nolan's use of IMAX cameras for key scenes, including The Joker's thrilling bank-heist introduction and the action-packed Gotham freeway chase. Hanz Zimmer's eerie and layered score also deserves a mention - this is not the epic, orchestral sound he made for the rise of a hero in Batman Begins, but a dark and disturbing musical accompaniment for a hero's fall. Where The Dark Knight fails is in one sub-par sequence that threatens to de-rail the whole film. Everything from the hostages on bomb-rigged boats to Batman's final confrontation with the Joker is over-blown, over-acted and thoroughly unnecessary. The film would be much better off if this sequence was deleted entirely, if the joker was dealt with more swiftly, then we could progress directly to the film's fine conclusion. Thankfully, the Nolans (Christopher and Jonathan) and David Goyer do redeem themselves for this silly, muddy segment with a brilliant, well-acted, tragic and emotional finale that ties off the story in fine fashion. So The Dark is not a perfect superhero film. Its actually debatable when a film becomes this dark and full of allegory and symbolism whether it can really be considered part of the same family as Superman, or X-Men, or even its series predecessor Batman Begins. The Dark Knight is really a crime-thriller with a heavy dose of almost Shakespearean tragedy thrown in. By throwing off the shackles of the superhero blockbuster, Nolan has allowed his series to mature, to comment on serious and relevant issues to the modern world. Christopher Nolan has created a very smart, rich, and exciting thriller that is as different to Batman Begins as is possible to be. There's very little to criticise apart from that misjudged, flabby sequence towards the end, and the film is technically superb. I just hope Nolan cheers up a bit in The Dark Knight Rises (though the trailers released thus far appear to make this unlikely) - the depressing hero movie trend is drawing to a close, and it would be nice to end his Batman series on an optimistic note. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Rox22Apr 7, 2013
What a breath of fresh air. Such a brilliant step up from the previous movie. Fantastic performances all round. Ledger in particular was just amazing as the Joker. This is what a Batman movie should be. I would love to say more, but I reallyWhat a breath of fresh air. Such a brilliant step up from the previous movie. Fantastic performances all round. Ledger in particular was just amazing as the Joker. This is what a Batman movie should be. I would love to say more, but I really can not falter this movie in any way. As close to perfect as I could hope for a comic to movie film.

Overall:
This is Batman!
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonOct 30, 2014
Continuing from where Batman Begins ended peerless director Christopher Nolan reunites with Christian Bale for the continuing story of The Dark Knight. With the help of Lieutenant Jim Gordon and District Attorney Harvey Dent Batman sets outContinuing from where Batman Begins ended peerless director Christopher Nolan reunites with Christian Bale for the continuing story of The Dark Knight. With the help of Lieutenant Jim Gordon and District Attorney Harvey Dent Batman sets out to put a halt to the criminal activity that plagues Gotham City. Just as everything seems to be going their way the peace is shattered by a criminal mastermind known as The Joker.

Batman may be on the DVD cover but this is really The Jokers movie. Following the death of Heath Ledger prior to the movies release there was huge hype regarding his performance and he certainly delivers. His portrayal is a far cry from the camp 1960s iteration and as creepy and disturbing as any villain in cinema history. Running at about two and a half hours in length The Dark Knight needed a worthwhile plot to go with the high quality action scenes and on this count the movie again doesn't fail featuring plenty of twists and surprises.

The Dark Knight is without doubt the best super hero movie of all time.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Apr 12, 2013
After a great start to a new batman trilogy with "Batman Begins", Christopher Nolan goes deeper into the story and has created a true masterpiece. Not only as one of the best superhero movies ever made, but also one of the best superheroAfter a great start to a new batman trilogy with "Batman Begins", Christopher Nolan goes deeper into the story and has created a true masterpiece. Not only as one of the best superhero movies ever made, but also one of the best superhero movies ever made. If one things for sure, not only is the story more thrilling but so are the characters. Especially the Joker and Harvey Dent. But still, the Joker (Heath Ledger) steals the show. It was truly the most villianous portrayl of the Joker I've ever seen. He keeps you on the edge of your seat with his tremendous acitng and his tremendously creepy new look. Plus, Harvey Dent (Aaron Eckhart) was surprisingly outstanding as well. Not so much like the Joker, but still, you got to love his performance. Also, the characters have definitely grown since Batman Begins. They've become more riching and engaging. This trilogy really has a great ensemle of actors, which is something that really works for the trilogy. Overall, this is the batman movie we've all been waiting for. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
diogomendesJun 14, 2014
Overrated my left testicle. This movie is dark, complex, clever, unforgettable and Heath Ledger's performance is completely phenomenal and memorable. Christian Bale did another great job with this movie and once again, Christopher NolanOverrated my left testicle. This movie is dark, complex, clever, unforgettable and Heath Ledger's performance is completely phenomenal and memorable. Christian Bale did another great job with this movie and once again, Christopher Nolan proves that he does not only deserves an Oscar for best director, he also proves that we can always trust on him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SEROJMay 31, 2015
I'm not the biggest Batman fan. He's probably one of the worst Justice League heroes FOR ME. But this movie is without any doubt a masterpiece! Excelent acting, great story and visual effects. If you like DC, watch it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileyJul 22, 2016
The Dark Knight is probably the best superhero movie of all time. The way everything came together; Christopher Nolan back to direct, the choice of casting (Heath Ledger), the performances, the writing, the cinematography, the practicalThe Dark Knight is probably the best superhero movie of all time. The way everything came together; Christopher Nolan back to direct, the choice of casting (Heath Ledger), the performances, the writing, the cinematography, the practical effects, the action, and the music are all at the highest possible level of perfection. Theres a reason this film gets so much praise, its because its undeniably fantastic! If you haven't seen it yet, what are you doing? Go watch it now! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OfficialMar 8, 2014
Absolutely stunning. This sequel is dark, sophisticated, and is better than its predecessor. It has emotion, powerful and superb acting, and impressive visuals. This film is, beyond any doubt, a must-see. Oh, and the Joker in the movie, isAbsolutely stunning. This sequel is dark, sophisticated, and is better than its predecessor. It has emotion, powerful and superb acting, and impressive visuals. This film is, beyond any doubt, a must-see. Oh, and the Joker in the movie, is beyond fantastic. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
The Dark Knight is stunning.
A masterful sequel to Batman Begins, The Dark Knight introduces realism to what were once two dimensional comic book drawings. A great plot, amazing acting by Heath Ledger, and a very entertaining super hero film
The Dark Knight is stunning.
A masterful sequel to Batman Begins, The Dark Knight introduces realism to what were once two dimensional comic book drawings. A great plot, amazing acting by Heath Ledger, and a very entertaining super hero film to say the least.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
What a breath of fresh air. Such a brilliant step up from the previous movie. Fantastic performances all round. Ledger in particular was just amazing as the Joker. This is what a Batman movie should be. I would love to say more, but I reallyWhat a breath of fresh air. Such a brilliant step up from the previous movie. Fantastic performances all round. Ledger in particular was just amazing as the Joker. This is what a Batman movie should be. I would love to say more, but I really can not falter this movie in any way. As close to perfect as I could hope for a comic to movie film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
RikiegeDec 7, 2012
Good movie but it is too slow.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
sanyrubDec 13, 2013
Best comic book movie ever made to date (2013). The darker and more realistic tone director Nolan gave Batman and this trilogy changed the way mainstream audiences saw super hero movies and made them take them seriously. Terrific plot, actionBest comic book movie ever made to date (2013). The darker and more realistic tone director Nolan gave Batman and this trilogy changed the way mainstream audiences saw super hero movies and made them take them seriously. Terrific plot, action scenes, pace, acting and pretty much everything. There are two things that are worth the special mention: Heath Ledger´s performance and the score by Hans Zimmer. Heath Ledger´s performance is absolutely stunning, scary and memorable. This one and his role in Brokeback Mountain are two of the best performances given by a male actor in the 00s decade. The score is just outstanding, I still listen to it to this day frequently, and the same happens with the final chapter of the trilogy. Hans Zimmer is a genius. Kudos to Nolan, he makes great film after great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
vikesh2206Nov 10, 2014
The Dark Knight is the closest any superhero movie has come to "perfect" with transcendent dialogue, a sturdy plot and marvelous casting including Heath Ledger's iconic portrayal of The Joker all assured under Christopher Nolan's masterful direction.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
oblique15Mar 17, 2013
"Epic" is the word for this movie! This series just keeps getting better. The Joker is exactly how I see him, "Heath Ledger" was going to be legend! No other super her movie even comes close, and I happen to like most of them. This is the"Epic" is the word for this movie! This series just keeps getting better. The Joker is exactly how I see him, "Heath Ledger" was going to be legend! No other super her movie even comes close, and I happen to like most of them. This is the only DC movie I like, but it`s better than all other comic movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KivaJun 12, 2013
An extraordinary adventure film with action all the time. One of the best Batman movies. Fans are going to love, Haters are going to love. Christopher Nolan is probably the best director nowadays.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ERG1008Sep 3, 2010
The second of Christopher Nolan's Batman films.
Much has been said about the late, great Heath Ledger's Joker & it is all it is cracked up to be. He steals every scene he is in & the "Why so serious" scene is already up there with the
The second of Christopher Nolan's Batman films.
Much has been said about the late, great Heath Ledger's Joker & it is all it is cracked up to be. He steals every scene he is in & the "Why so serious" scene is already up there with the greats.
A mention to Aaron Eckhart as well for a very good portrayal of Harvey Dent. It is a very strong supporting cast as was the first film.
My only criticism is that Christian Bale's voice as Batman is unintentionally amusing. I understand he changes it so people won't know he's Bruce Wayne but it's so over the top it's almost comedic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FreedomFightersNov 14, 2016
As I mentioned in my previous review, "WALL-E" was released in 2008 and, to this day, is considered one of the greatest films of all time. How crazy is it that, 3 weeks later, another film was released that ended up being considered one ofAs I mentioned in my previous review, "WALL-E" was released in 2008 and, to this day, is considered one of the greatest films of all time. How crazy is it that, 3 weeks later, another film was released that ended up being considered one of the greatest of all-time? "The Dark Knight" somehow managed to do that. It's beautifully written, it's thrilling, it's dark, it feels like a Batman movie should, it's brilliantly filmed, and it features possibly one of the greatest acting performances in a superhero film in Heath Ledger's Joker. The other actors are great, sure, but it's Ledger that steals the show here, providing a tremendous, powerful and terrifying performance as one of the most iconic villains of all time. There's no two ways about it, "The Dark Knight" is cinematic excellence, and regardless of your feelings towards superhero films, it's an absolute must-watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
spadenxDec 5, 2011
Heath Ledger gives one of the greatest performances of all time as the Joker and is really the only reason for watching this film (I re-watched his parts quite a bit). The acting is good and it looks great. The rest of the cast is ok, IHeath Ledger gives one of the greatest performances of all time as the Joker and is really the only reason for watching this film (I re-watched his parts quite a bit). The acting is good and it looks great. The rest of the cast is ok, I expected better. To be honest, The parts without the Joker arent even worth watching and are pretty boring and generic. The addition of Two-Face works well for the story but I didnt not care for him as a villian or the actor who played him. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
BradySmithJan 21, 2013
The dark knight is one of those very rare films that transcends its genre. It's more like an actual crime thriller than a comic book movie. It's dark, well acted, at times unerving, and probably as close to reality as a superhero movie canThe dark knight is one of those very rare films that transcends its genre. It's more like an actual crime thriller than a comic book movie. It's dark, well acted, at times unerving, and probably as close to reality as a superhero movie can be. Nolan's direction, especially in the action department, is nearly impecable. The cinematogrophy is also excellent. As everyone who seen this knows, the best part of the film is Ledger's joker. It's probably the most disturbing take on a familliar character ever devised. However, I due have some nitpickings. If you've seen the crow you know that Nolan has borrowed a few elements from that film including the look of the joker. One other small problem is that when Bale is dressed as Batman in a scene where he is just talking to someone it seems kinda silly, especially with that voice he makes. Also, in my opinion, Maggie Gyllenhol, (I think that's how you spell it), is too ugly for her role. But ultimately the film is so far ahead of its superhero movie counterparts in terms of screenplay, directing, acting, and cinematogrophy that these things don't leave much of a negative impact. It's a film that everyone needs to see, even people who can't stand other films in this genre. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TrilobiteGJun 13, 2015
An Simply Outstanding film. The Joker's performance is so on point by Heath ledger it's unbelievable. A lot of people say this movie is very long but the only time wasted are in scenes like the hong kong bit, other than that, this movie wasAn Simply Outstanding film. The Joker's performance is so on point by Heath ledger it's unbelievable. A lot of people say this movie is very long but the only time wasted are in scenes like the hong kong bit, other than that, this movie was incredible....a ground breaking achievement in cinema history. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dharmaJun 9, 2012
With 'The Dark Knight', the super hero genre reached a new milestone: a superhero film that is topical and gritty beyond belief. It's the first Oscar caliber Super Hero film; a crime thriller masquerading under the guise of 'Batman', anWith 'The Dark Knight', the super hero genre reached a new milestone: a superhero film that is topical and gritty beyond belief. It's the first Oscar caliber Super Hero film; a crime thriller masquerading under the guise of 'Batman', an acting powerhouse for its ensemble cast, an astounding action film and finally, a psychological drama, investigating the psyche of its characters. Heath Ledger, in his last 'complete role', created the Joker as one of the most frightening character in the history of cinema, and this is a PG-13 film! Christian Bale also cemented himself as the best of all the 'Batmen' in the last two decades. But the real star is director Christopher Nolan himself, who has cemented himself as the auteur of this generation. The Dark Knight: one of my top 10 favorite films of all time. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
7
asylumspadezNov 19, 2011
If you removed Heath Ledger from this film then it would be trash. The only good parts of the film are with the Joker and Heath puts on an amazing performance that will make you go out and buy the film and re-watch it just for him. The mainIf you removed Heath Ledger from this film then it would be trash. The only good parts of the film are with the Joker and Heath puts on an amazing performance that will make you go out and buy the film and re-watch it just for him. The main cast was rather disapointing, The entire film was a bit too long for my taste, and it was actually rather boring outside of the parts with the Joker. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
Consequences. In real life, these ramifications emanate from every action like ripples from a stone thrown into a pond. Often in movies, especially those that feature characters who don't play by the rules, such penalties are suspended.Consequences. In real life, these ramifications emanate from every action like ripples from a stone thrown into a pond. Often in movies, especially those that feature characters who don't play by the rules, such penalties are suspended. However, in Christopher Nolan's Batman universe, decisions and actions have consequences. The Dark Knight, arguably the moodiest and most adult superhero motion picture ever to reach the screen, illustrates this lesson in ways that are startling and painful. This is a tough, uncompromising motion picture - one that defies the common notions of what is expected from a "superhero" film. While there are plenty of action sequences and instances of derring-do, The Dark Knight's subtext has a tragic underpinning that would intrigue Shakespeare or the Greeks. It's about power and impotence, sanity and madness, image and reality, selfishness and sacrifice, and - yes - consequences.

It has often been said that Tim Burton's vision of Batman was the darkest representation we were ever likely to see of a superhero. Compared to how Nolan sees the character, Burton's version was a pantomime. For many long-running franchises, Burton's included, the second volume stands tallest. Nolan has followed up on his gritty and successful Batman Begins with one of the best all-time sequels, and perhaps the most impressive mainstream entertainment experience since 2003's The Return of the King. The Dark Knight builds upon the themes and premises founded three years ago. With the introductions and origins dispensed with in Batman Begins, Nolan uses this opportunity to expand upon his portrait of Batman as a haunted individual who, driven by forces rooted deep in his psyche, must dispense justice according to his own strict code.

Often in superhero movies, there's a sense that, no matter what challenges the protagonist must face, all will be right in the end. That certainty is missing here, and its absence may represent Nolan's most impressive accomplishment. Batman is fallible and his world is dangerous. No character, no matter how well-established in Batman lore, is safe. This director's Gotham City may be less garish and gothic than Burton's, but it is in many ways a bleaker and more oppressive place. It's a joyless venue and the hero takes his demeanor from his city. Batman is a grim, brooding superhero. He rarely speaks while in costume and, when he does, his voice quivers with menace and his words are devoid of the quips and one-liners audiences have come to associate with action heroes.

For all of the heavy lifting done by the movie's screenplay, dealing as it does with substantive issues and existential questions, there's still plenty of the meat-and-potatoes content of any superhero movie: action sequences. There are numerous fights, chases, and races. The Batmobile gets its share of screen time as does a new Bat-cycle. Batman takes on bad guys singly and in bunches. And there's a heart-pounding sequence in which the Caped Crusader must race against time to save a life, where the price is almost as terrible if he succeeds as if he fails. Nolan's inherent sense of how to transform a relatively mundane fight scene into something involving is in evidence here, much as was the case in Batman Begins. He avoids flash editing and allows the action to evolve in a coherent manner, drawing the viewer in rather than keeping him guessing what's going on.

2008 may be the year that the superhero movie comes of age. Iron Man represents the best screen adventure of a Marvel hero. Now, D.C. has answered with The Dark Knight, a film so impressive in every significant facet that it makes one wonder why it took so long for the genre to reach this high level. Christopher Nolan has provided movie-goers with the best superhero movie to-date, outclassing previous titles both mediocre and excellent, and giving this franchise its The Empire Strikes Back.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ryancarroll88Aug 26, 2010
The first aspect of this movie that struck me was the fact that director Christopher Nolan decided to counter the trend of giving an eponymous title to his superhero movie, and upon watching it was for good reason. This is no superhero movie,The first aspect of this movie that struck me was the fact that director Christopher Nolan decided to counter the trend of giving an eponymous title to his superhero movie, and upon watching it was for good reason. This is no superhero movie, at least in the sense we have come to expect. Nolan takes a turn for extreme realism and weighted expectation, giving us one of the most gripping and intense action movies to hit the screens in a long while. As far as we ave seen, the caped crusader has never looked so good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gameguardian21Feb 10, 2016
This is the best comic movie put to film. The story is full of amazing moments, action, batmans throat cancer, and jokers spectacular performance, he even mad me laugh a few times. If you know anything about batman, you should definitely goThis is the best comic movie put to film. The story is full of amazing moments, action, batmans throat cancer, and jokers spectacular performance, he even mad me laugh a few times. If you know anything about batman, you should definitely go check this one out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Oct 4, 2010
I love this movie! Definitely the best Batman movie ever! Heath Ledger really deserved his Oscar for Best Supporting Actor. This is a movie I will remember for decades!
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
10
SwatiOct 30, 2013
This movie has to be viewed in combination with Batman Begins. The two really complement one another. At two and a half hours running time, if they had included more character development for Batman, it would have been too long to beThis movie has to be viewed in combination with Batman Begins. The two really complement one another. At two and a half hours running time, if they had included more character development for Batman, it would have been too long to be watch-able by today's standards. So let me go ahead and say that I understand the decision to give Joker as much time on screen as possible, as this being a sequel some other character had to be focussed on to keep things interesting. However, this left Bruce Wayne with too few scenes without the mask where he wasn't being smug. Batman Begins showed us the human side of the superhero, and that is why I loved it so much. He felt so real and authentic. So the reason I'm giving it such a high score is only because of Joker. If he had not completely blown my mind away, I would have scored it much lower. The supporting cast did a commendable job but nothing which would have earned the movie favourable reviews and critical acclaim. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaMar 19, 2012
As perfect as a film gets you will only see a select few better then it. Nolan remains one of the best directors of all time ranking with scorcesse and a few others.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
oDjentoJan 4, 2015
So i thought the first film was pretty boring. Definitely not the case with this one. It's gritty, it's dark, brings brilliant character development along with far more interesting characters like The Joker and Two-face, and has the best plotSo i thought the first film was pretty boring. Definitely not the case with this one. It's gritty, it's dark, brings brilliant character development along with far more interesting characters like The Joker and Two-face, and has the best plot out of all 3 films. A performance best by the sadly late Heath Ledger as the Joker, and Aaron Eckart and Christian Bale also bringing excellent performances. This film has a far more film noir feel to it (but obviously isn't film noir). Thr twists are brilliant and Ledgers transformation into the Joker is the best on screen performance to dub our screens yet. Film is filled with great visual effects also, awesome practical effects and great stunts too! A must watch! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
inaneswineNov 14, 2017
The pace of The Dark Knight far surpasses that of its predecessor, as Bale's brilliant Batman is forced to stop Ledger's wonderfully bizarre interpretation of the legendary Joker. The thrills are plentiful, and the story is poignant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MadMaxFuryRoadJun 9, 2015
Outstanding movie with a great villain. Let me say The Joker is awesome in this film. They need him, and batman was pretty cool. From the first couple of scenes, I knew this movie would be good. This is an all-time superhero movie that youOutstanding movie with a great villain. Let me say The Joker is awesome in this film. They need him, and batman was pretty cool. From the first couple of scenes, I knew this movie would be good. This is an all-time superhero movie that you must see. There is also kind of a twist in the last few scenes that I won't spoil! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Khunter4382Apr 28, 2011
The best film of 2008....seriously. The Dark Knight has it all. Top notch performances, emotional resonance, effects, score, and superb storytelling. The film does well in introducing characters and developing on them while also weaving aThe best film of 2008....seriously. The Dark Knight has it all. Top notch performances, emotional resonance, effects, score, and superb storytelling. The film does well in introducing characters and developing on them while also weaving a dark story of organized crime and chaos. Ledger was well deserving of his post-mortem Oscar! Nolan sure does know how to make a completely engrossing film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ArkonBladeAug 21, 2010
i didnt get the hype behind this film . i know alot of people who liked it but i guess im not one of them . im almost wondering if it was because it was heath ledgers last preformance befor he died . well i guess for one im not a huge batmani didnt get the hype behind this film . i know alot of people who liked it but i guess im not one of them . im almost wondering if it was because it was heath ledgers last preformance befor he died . well i guess for one im not a huge batman fan to begin with . well lets move on the critics where right though on heath ledger giving a great preformance as the joker i thought it would be really tough to top jack nicholsons version of the joker but he did a great job . im not saying that eather cause he kicked off he did actaully do it well. thats about really the only plus of the film that and the over all plot of how evil people can just light the world on fire and wach it burn and not care about any thing els wasnt bad eather . the main problems i have with this film are baal himself as batman . should i be laughing every time he talks as batman? well i am his low sounding raspy voice for batman just seems over the top and rediculas . i just kept laughing every time he opend his mouth . the film is also way to long like 2 hrs 45 min or some thing like that . it could have been easily cut to just under 2 hours. bringing in 2 face at the end i thought was just pointless for such a small roll and then end it the way they did . this film really wasnt bad but not nearly enjoyable enough for me to ever want to see it ever again or its sequels. Expand
3 of 13 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
10
Jack97May 6, 2016
The Dark Knight is one of the greatest comic book films of all time. Heath Ledger literally becomes the Joker and he makes the whole movie with his amazing performance. But the actual movie itself is really great, it's a really compellingThe Dark Knight is one of the greatest comic book films of all time. Heath Ledger literally becomes the Joker and he makes the whole movie with his amazing performance. But the actual movie itself is really great, it's a really compelling crime thriller with intense and exciting scenes, a fantastic story and more great performances from the rest of the cast. A true masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JonnyFendiJan 20, 2011
It has been three years after the prequel BATMAN BEGINS (2005). THE DARK KNIGHT is the sixth film that brought Batman into widescreen since Tim Burton BATMAN (1989). The Director is Christopher Nolan who well-known as a unique indie filmIt has been three years after the prequel BATMAN BEGINS (2005). THE DARK KNIGHT is the sixth film that brought Batman into widescreen since Tim Burton BATMAN (1989). The Director is Christopher Nolan who well-known as a unique indie film creator in MEMENTO (2000). The movie received as box office record of all-time, It has been earned more than one billion dollars in worldwide and has been broken through TITANIC Record in 1998. The Movie based on Frank Miller version of Batman, which is more mature and close to reality. The Stories and settings adapt well what is on Miller description. Christian Bale Cast as Bruce Wayne, Thiz role seems to be the big leap of his career since his appearance as a kid in Steven Spielberg EMPIRE OF THE SUN (1987). The sequel starred by regular Cast, like: James Cain, Morgan Freeman, and Maggie Gylenhall who substitute Katie Holmes Character on the prequel before. And as villains, Heath Ledger gave his last performance wildly well according to most critics. He even won as best Supporting Actor in Academy Awards. The other villain is Aaron Eckhart as Two-Face. Otherwise, if Joker character want to be appear originally well as its comic, in my opinion the dream cast would be Adrien Brody or Jim Carrey. The Script was nicely arranged by Christopher and Jonathan Nolan. The subplot is dynamic and unpredictable. The Action is on the right track, full of Bat-equipment and vehicle chase showdown. It is good to be watch is simple and explosive in the same time. If we want to be fair, we also must give credit to Tim Burton BATMAN which is already set up impressive tones for other next Batman movies or even other superhero movies later. Burton already succeeded to give a new acceptable point of view for this kind of genre. The tone is dark, mysterious, and full of realism. Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
python2000Aug 16, 2013
One of the best superhero movies of all time. The Dark Knight is much better than Batman Begins, mainly because of Heath Ledgers mesmerising performance as The Joker. I won't go on about just take my word for it that he's amazing. BatmanOne of the best superhero movies of all time. The Dark Knight is much better than Batman Begins, mainly because of Heath Ledgers mesmerising performance as The Joker. I won't go on about just take my word for it that he's amazing. Batman Begins had a weak plot, this has one of the best plots of any movie ever, Christopher Nolan took a risk and made the plot political instead of pointless like Batman Begins, and it worked. The Dark Knight is a very enjoyable and one of the best movies of all time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
mds03Mar 4, 2013
This is by far the best batman movie ever made!!!!!!!!!!!!! Heath Ledger's performance was phenomenal. The action scenes were fantastic and Christoper Nolan is an insanely brilliant director!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
talisencrwMay 25, 2016
This has no competition. It is the very finest comic-book character movie ever made. Knowing the Burton, Donner and Nolan filmic adaptations of Batman and Superman exist helps me to sleep at night. They are Exhibit A of 'How to Make aThis has no competition. It is the very finest comic-book character movie ever made. Knowing the Burton, Donner and Nolan filmic adaptations of Batman and Superman exist helps me to sleep at night. They are Exhibit A of 'How to Make a Comic-Book Movie'. Nothing else has ever come even remotely close. These seven films (I include 'Superman II' because it was mostly Donner's work)--and Nolan's trilogy especially--are what I imagine a great director like Kubrick, Hitchcock or Kurosawa would have come up with, if they had ever been asked to make a Superman or Batman movie. They are the easiest for an audience to identify with because in these the scripts most approximate human emotions and the typical conundrums of the human experience--in short, are the closest, in a good way, they come to the complexities of the human condition. Peerless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BarneyOnMTJun 19, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: This film has a famous reputation for a reason. Primarily, of course, its image is dominated by one of the best movie villains of all time, who not only serves as someone unhinged and terrifying, but helps to illustrate someWHAT I LIKED: This film has a famous reputation for a reason. Primarily, of course, its image is dominated by one of the best movie villains of all time, who not only serves as someone unhinged and terrifying, but helps to illustrate some very interesting themes. Amazingly, every situation played out by the Joker, brings Gotham (and the audience) onto a whole new desperate and frightening playing field, which in turns causes you to genuinely consider and question humanity all the more. In the end, it's this that makes 'The Dark Knight' the truly successful social commentary that it is, but it's not without some fun action either.
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: The themes and schemes are all very interesting, but the characters and plots aren't nearly developed enough for me to genuinely connect with the film. Instead, you watch from outside as Nolan uses characters and stories as a tool to portray his ideas; it's not a harmonious partnership between story and narrative, instead the themes exist at the expense of lots else. As a result, you'll be gripped be each scene, but in between you might feel a bit disconnected
VERDICT: A darker, deeper Batman that brings excitement and social commentary to the audience. It'll grip you in the moment, but when you're out of it, you won't particularly connect.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MarickJan 8, 2015
The Dark Knight is a 2008 superhero film directed, produced, and co-written by Christopher Nolan. Based on the DC Comics character Batman, the film is the second part of Nolan's Batman film series and a sequel to 2005's Batman Begins.The Dark Knight is a 2008 superhero film directed, produced, and co-written by Christopher Nolan. Based on the DC Comics character Batman, the film is the second part of Nolan's Batman film series and a sequel to 2005's Batman Begins. Christian Bale reprises the lead role of Bruce Wayne/Batman, with a returning cast of Michael Caine as Alfred Pennyworth, Gary Oldman as James Gordon and Morgan Freeman as Lucius Fox. The film introduces the character of Harvey Dent (Aaron Eckhart), Gotham's newly elected District Attorney and the consort of Bruce Wayne's childhood friend Rachel Dawes (Maggie Gyllenhaal replacing Katie Holmes from the first film), who joins Batman and the police in combating the new rising threat of a criminal mastermind calling himself "The Joker" (Heath Ledger). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EssenceOfSugarSep 26, 2012
I was aware that this film was something of great importance. And it was, but it wasn't good enough. I liked the Joker, he was a much more effective villain than what I saw of the Scarecrow and Bane. Bruce Wayne didn't seem to have much of anI was aware that this film was something of great importance. And it was, but it wasn't good enough. I liked the Joker, he was a much more effective villain than what I saw of the Scarecrow and Bane. Bruce Wayne didn't seem to have much of an impact on me, but he certainly had quite a few things to say, whether they were mildly significant or extremely amusing. It was dark and thrilling, but there were a few things in here that just made it feel silly. I enjoyed the sociological aspect of choosing between two boats and the way it didn't play on the assumption that when things happened, it wasn't for money. Amazing set design, would've liked to see more contribution from Wayne, good interaction between different characters and the rapid shifting between scenes is a real problem. Still, it was fascinating and was glad I saw it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Viper8787Apr 18, 2014
My favourite film of all time. This movie is absolutely incredible. Heath Ledgers portrayal as Joker is amazing and my favourite character ever in a movie. I can't praise this movie enough. It is just so dark and all the acting is amazing. IfMy favourite film of all time. This movie is absolutely incredible. Heath Ledgers portrayal as Joker is amazing and my favourite character ever in a movie. I can't praise this movie enough. It is just so dark and all the acting is amazing. If you haven't seen this movie make sure you check it out best film I have ever seen!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tjman09Mar 30, 2015
A modern masterpiece of 21st Century Cinema. The Dark Knight combines great direction, with brilliant acting, and beautiful cinematography to create a film that transcends it genres and becomes a great film. It serves as a comic book film,A modern masterpiece of 21st Century Cinema. The Dark Knight combines great direction, with brilliant acting, and beautiful cinematography to create a film that transcends it genres and becomes a great film. It serves as a comic book film, but also a tragedy of Shakespearean quality, with one of the best villains of the last 20 years. On top of that Christopher Nolan's unflinching faith in practical effects create a truly realistic experience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GentM2015Jan 10, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. BOX OFFICE: $1.05 billion dollars.
$534 million dollars in US.
Second Best of all time at the time of its opening in 2008.Best opening of all time with $158 million.
REVIEWS (critical acclaim): 9.0/10 on IMDb.94% on Rotten Tomatoes.82/100 on Metacritic.
Best Reviewed Superhero Movie of all time.
AWARDS:103 Won-178 Nominated
Also nominated for 8 Oscars and Won 2 including Best Supporting Actor for Heath Ledger.
The Dark Knight it's actually the movie that redefined the Superhero genre and it is even considered as one of the best Crime Dramas also,which is insane for a movie like this.
Christopher Nolan's direction is just impressive and very interesting.He handled the characters so good and made one of the best on-screen villains ever,though Heath Ledger's portrayal totally stands out as the Joker,also making it in my opinion one of the best performances ever.Not to be overlooked are the other performances such as Aaron Eckhart as Harvey Dent who gave a very very good performance and brought charisma and seriousness to Dent and respectively Two Face.Christian Bale in my opinion is the best Batman/Bruce Wayne of all time.Maggie Gyllenhaal is an improvement over Katie Holmes,the likes of Michael Cane and Morgan Freeman give very serious and great performances too.
The action is so well handled and very well shot that keeps you intrigued/excited every time.But what stand out are the dialogue scenes,especially the best scene in the movie which is the Interrogation scene between The Joker and Batman.That scene tells us so much and we get a look/perspective at the Joker's world so well and what makes him scary/intimidating it's that what he says actually makes sense,it's true all of it.
Plus the amazing transformation of Harvey Dent to Two Face it's mesmerizing.Seeing at what point he is at the beginning,fighting for justice in any way he can and how he ends up in the end,willing to kill Gordon's kids it's just insane but realistic and believable too.After that insanely amazing written scene in the Hospital between Dent and The Joker,we see his transformation making sense with the amazingly realistic dialogue.
The Joker just wants to watch the world burn and this movie shows what happens when an unstoppable force meets an immovable object.Every moment that Heath is in it's memorable and insanely good,but the fact of the matter is that even when he is not on-screen the movie is still interesting and just as good because it's smart and rewarding by giving justice to these characters that had not been done rightfully before.
The less prepared you are, the greater will be the experience of Nolan’s masterpiece.
I could go on and on writing about every detail of this amazing movie achievement but I leave it at this because I think I have said enough.If you hate the movie,it's fine because maybe you don't like these sort of movies or you were expecting something else after all I mean every movie has haters.But no one can deny the fact that The Dark Knight is memorable,filled with great performances,action done right and great dialogue.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TTW107Feb 14, 2012
I was so pumped for this movie to come out for years and then Heath Ledger's passing made it an even bigger event. I went to see it on opening day and I swear during a few of the joker scenes I got chills because it was so good. And any movieI was so pumped for this movie to come out for years and then Heath Ledger's passing made it an even bigger event. I went to see it on opening day and I swear during a few of the joker scenes I got chills because it was so good. And any movie that can have that much of an effect on me deserves a 10/10. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
superbatJul 20, 2016
The best superhero movie of all time. From Harvey Dent's fall from grace to Heath Ledger's epic Joker, The Dark Knight has everything that a Batman movie needs. The fighting is an improvement over Batman Begins and the plot is more linear.The best superhero movie of all time. From Harvey Dent's fall from grace to Heath Ledger's epic Joker, The Dark Knight has everything that a Batman movie needs. The fighting is an improvement over Batman Begins and the plot is more linear. This movie simply blew me away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
seancriswellAug 5, 2012
The greatest super hero movie of all time. From the opening scene I was hooked on the style and performances in this film. Of course it all revolves around Ledger and his amazing performance as the Joker. Ledger eats up the screen in everyThe greatest super hero movie of all time. From the opening scene I was hooked on the style and performances in this film. Of course it all revolves around Ledger and his amazing performance as the Joker. Ledger eats up the screen in every scene he is in, and his character sets the dark tones for the movie. A lot of critics had issues with some of the other characters in this film, specifically Dent. But once again i love what Nolan does with his villains. He gives Two Face such a nice arc in this story, and proper motivation for what he becomes at the end. I can't say enough about the way this movie looks and feels, there are so many memorable scenes in this movie. I will digress. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidJul 25, 2014
I know that this might sound to consistent but this is probably the best superhero film of all time, the camera work, the makeup design (The Joker) , the direction, the writing and especially the performances are just great, Christian BaleI know that this might sound to consistent but this is probably the best superhero film of all time, the camera work, the makeup design (The Joker) , the direction, the writing and especially the performances are just great, Christian Bale really gives Batman some finesse and intimidation and handles the character well, Ledger's last performance was just great, i didn't think of him as that kid from Brokeback Mountain or 10 Things I Hate About You, i actually thought that he was a sociopath, and that is what i call amazing character study. Nice supporting cast as well. Christopher Nolan's best movie that's for sure Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Potter17Dec 18, 2011
If "The Dark Knight" is an unique, fascinating masterpiece is thanks to the nihilist tone, bleak atmosphere and profound story that director Christopher Nolan exploits with great refinement.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
SythusRATINGSOct 17, 2014
Batman raises the stakes in his war on crime. With the help of Lieutenant Jim Gordon and District Attorney Harvey Dent Batman sets out to dismantle the remaining criminal organizations that plague the city streets. The partnership proves toBatman raises the stakes in his war on crime. With the help of Lieutenant Jim Gordon and District Attorney Harvey Dent Batman sets out to dismantle the remaining criminal organizations that plague the city streets. The partnership proves to be effective, but they soon find themselves prey to reign of chaos unleashed by a rising criminal mastermind known to the terrified citizens of Gotham as the Joker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
YellowKirbyMar 25, 2016
'The Dark Knight' is easily the best 'Batman' story ever told, with stunning performances from all its cast, a dark and intriguing story, and the best incarnation of the Joker on the big screen.

Obviously, the movie does have its flaws,
'The Dark Knight' is easily the best 'Batman' story ever told, with stunning performances from all its cast, a dark and intriguing story, and the best incarnation of the Joker on the big screen.

Obviously, the movie does have its flaws, like Christan Bale's gravelly Batman voice, and that some of the plot points aren't very well thought out.

All in all, I think 'The Dark Knight' is the best Christopher Nolan 'Batman' movie, and one of the best comic book movies of all time.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
daviddelnorte23Jul 21, 2017
Esta película ya la ví hace años, pero cuando la ví creía que no la había visto como es debido pues la vi en la televisión pública con cortes de publicidad y no de manera muy atenta. es por eso que ahora estas semanas previas calentando paraEsta película ya la ví hace años, pero cuando la ví creía que no la había visto como es debido pues la vi en la televisión pública con cortes de publicidad y no de manera muy atenta. es por eso que ahora estas semanas previas calentando para el evento cinéfilo del año, Dunkerque, quería volver a ver a Nolan, la semana pasada fue Batman: Begins, y esta semana la película que nos concierne. Para mí sorpresa, no me ha gustado más que la primera vez que la ví ni me ha gustado más que Begins.

La película no digo yo que sea mala o peor que otras de la saga o del propio director, si no que a mí personalmente es una película que me gusta, la veo y no va a más, la olvido rapidamente. Pero la película como película, como cine es brillante, desde el guión, el desarrollo de los personajes, el ritmo del largometraje... todo esta sensacional, pero como vuelvo a decir, ni la interpretación del joker que tampoco me sorprende (pienso que ese tipo de papeles para un actorazo como Ledger es un caramelo para lucirse, pero si Bale de Batman que cada día me gusta más...) ni ningún otro punto de la película son para mí uno de mis platos preferidos. Aún así peliculón, un 7.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
davenbettridgeFeb 6, 2012
One of the best and most entertaining comic book/action movies of all time. Ledger's Joker is the movies most memorable aspect and one of the best movie characters of the decade. Perhaps the movie ends a little weaker than it starts, The DarkOne of the best and most entertaining comic book/action movies of all time. Ledger's Joker is the movies most memorable aspect and one of the best movie characters of the decade. Perhaps the movie ends a little weaker than it starts, The Dark Knight is however is an awesome movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZerpnosMar 5, 2017
Muhteşem! Tek kelimeyle muhteşem. Nolan imzalı bu film gerçekten her şeyiyle mükemmel. Oyunculuklar çok üst düzey, senaryosu muhteşem ve hafızalardan asla silinmeyecek Joker performansıyla Heath Ledger muazzam bir iş çıkarmış. OrtayaMuhteşem! Tek kelimeyle muhteşem. Nolan imzalı bu film gerçekten her şeyiyle mükemmel. Oyunculuklar çok üst düzey, senaryosu muhteşem ve hafızalardan asla silinmeyecek Joker performansıyla Heath Ledger muazzam bir iş çıkarmış. Ortaya gerçekten mükemmel bir Batman filmi çıkmış. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lovemusicMay 12, 2011
HEATH LEDGER GAVE A PERFORMANCE OF A LIFE TIME playing the joker. this was hardcore stuff. this movie was amazing. i love this movie. the acting was great and so was the plot. it was like batman in a crime movie. this movie had youHEATH LEDGER GAVE A PERFORMANCE OF A LIFE TIME playing the joker. this was hardcore stuff. this movie was amazing. i love this movie. the acting was great and so was the plot. it was like batman in a crime movie. this movie had you keep waiting and in suspense. best batman movie ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PaxsterAug 20, 2010
Batman: A childish comic book character past his day. Think again, Nolan brings the dark and the adult to batman. Not to mention Heath Ledger in a legendary performance as the scary but damn right interesting Joker. Bale also cements hisBatman: A childish comic book character past his day. Think again, Nolan brings the dark and the adult to batman. Not to mention Heath Ledger in a legendary performance as the scary but damn right interesting Joker. Bale also cements his place as THE Batman with a smooth performance. This is just about one of the best movies I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
The Dark Knight is a dark, well-acted, and unforgettable installment in the Batman series. The only issue I had with the film is that there is way too much talking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
YoursTrulyNov 9, 2012
Without Heath Ledger, this movie would've been forgotten the second it left theaters. It's a solid flick without him. But he was the reason that my eyes were glued to the TV. When The Joker was on screen, my heart rate slowed and my hairsWithout Heath Ledger, this movie would've been forgotten the second it left theaters. It's a solid flick without him. But he was the reason that my eyes were glued to the TV. When The Joker was on screen, my heart rate slowed and my hairs stood on end. When he was off screen, I was simply waiting for him to appear again. Goosebumps. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Tessara_VejganJan 17, 2015
Unlike the first movie in the trilogy Batman Begins this one is actually pretty good. Great acting, great story. Batman's (Christian Bale) voice was kinda annoying. I have to say Heath Ledger really did an excellent job portraying Joker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnKristoferDec 21, 2014
This Film is great,Christopher Nolan really knows who is Batman he made this movie one of the best films of all time.The Dark Knight has a good plot a great villain and a good musical score(Hans Zimmer).
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
SuperheroMoviesAug 5, 2013
A monumental accomplishment in comic book cinema. The Dark Knight improves upon its already outstanding predecessor, with a performance of the century from Heath Ledger as The Joker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ahnehnoisMar 1, 2014
If one movie captured what it was like to live in the post-9/11 decade, this is it. This is the movie of a generation.

It seems to lack a traditional narrative structure, instead pounding away relentlessly with jump scares, psychological
If one movie captured what it was like to live in the post-9/11 decade, this is it. This is the movie of a generation.

It seems to lack a traditional narrative structure, instead pounding away relentlessly with jump scares, psychological horror, and real action. Terse direction and a chilling manical score drive the action. The bank robbery prologue remains one of the classic film openings, but memorable scenes and quotable dialogue abound, culminating in the epic Batman/Joker interrogation scene.

People rightfully remember the profound tragedy of Heath Ledger's death so soon after this iconic performance, but there is an abundance of strong acting. Aaron Eckhart provides a nuanced foil before making a scary turn, and Maggie Gyllenhall sells the horror of the Joker's machinations, and of course Christian Bale somehow conveys the weight of the world being on his shoulders in an oddly thankless role.

Largely grounded in reality, the film nonetheless reveals plot holes and implausibilities upon rewatching. However, it is a testament to it greatness that despite the Joker's seemingly impossible schemes or the muddled ending, the emotional impact of the film as a whole remains untarnished. The film's brilliance is that in the climax with an unknown everyman, not a superhero, is given a choice to kill or be killed, the film genuinely sells that he might go either way, and the audience invests in his decision.

Even a cynic cannot watch The Dark Knight without laughing at its black humor, squirming at its horrors, and doing some self-evaluation afterwards. What has fear done to us? What is the right response to terror? Where do we go from here? Simultaneously a work of cinematic art, a philosophical treatise, and a pop culture classic, this movie's place in history cannot be denied.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
keve16Mar 26, 2015
8.8/10................................................................................................................................................
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MoviebuffreviewMar 5, 2011
The Dark Knight, thanks to its great continuation to Batman Begins, an incredible cast, amazing action, an excellent script, great directing, great score, and just the incredible filmmaking, The Dark Knight is not only one of the best comicThe Dark Knight, thanks to its great continuation to Batman Begins, an incredible cast, amazing action, an excellent script, great directing, great score, and just the incredible filmmaking, The Dark Knight is not only one of the best comic book movies of all time, it is one of the best movies of all time. Never has a film with this much hype surpass its expectations, definitely go see this one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MeritCobaMar 6, 2014
The dark knight pivots around this one premise: there is good and there is bad and there is nothing in between. This black and white morality is embodied in the characters of the insane Joker and the angelic Batman. The one kills with theThe dark knight pivots around this one premise: there is good and there is bad and there is nothing in between. This black and white morality is embodied in the characters of the insane Joker and the angelic Batman. The one kills with the least provocation, indiscriminately because even his own henchmen and allies are killed in an offhand, often gruesome, way. The other avoids killing in the most desperate and chaotic of situations and we see him, in his human form as Bruce Wayne, flounder in his dalliance with Rachel. For Bruce is a gentleman and as a gentleman he would not impose himself upon a woman. He is the knight, a dark knight, but a knight non the less.
Joker exists to tempt Batman into falling from his shining white pedestal for no other reason then to proof that he will, if push came to shove. Thou shalt not kill..unless one has to and then one is damned for all eternity.
And it is Joker who will do the pushing and shoving, until he gets Batman to do something that is 'wrong'.
And eventually he will..
Of course he will...
It is all hogwash.
The movie, clamored to be the more realistic of them all, might be what it claims to be, but it is still unrealistic and, to boot, based on an abject morality. There is dark and there is light, and just one wrong deed is enough to turn white into black, because here is nothing in between. Intentions do not matter and it just takes one wrong deed to have people abandon Batman to the wolves, for he is a vigilante that ought to be put in jail, even though the purposefully made inept law enforcement agencies can not deal with the likes of a Joker or, for that matter, any other villain. Unless Batman helps them of course.
Ironically the movie has no reason to be from the start, for Batman is a vigilante and thus acts outside the law. Case closed, the movie has lost it's macGuffin.
The whole movie revolves around unrealism. Joker can command hordes of henchmen, who cater to his every whim. Unexplained is why these henchmen serve a psychotic murderer who has no problem in killing them at the blink of an eye. They just do. Unexplained is where Joker gets the means. He just has them, in abundance. Unexplained is how Joker knows things. He just does. The image is not of a man gone insane, but of supernatural being that has come to earth to do evil. Is Joker Satan?
So in what is it then more realistic?
Is it the style that has been stripped down to the level that there is no style at all? Where the comics are drawn in stark dark colors, gritty details, unusual angles and unsettling stylistic elements, the movie has abandoned all of it. The cinematography is mediocre. Shots are wasted, like the one that sees a conference with a long table and rows of chairs, but the camera fails to use the obvious opportunity to align the shot along the table, using a focused angle that zooms in on Bruce Wayne sleeping, while the people are talking about him. The camera is used in a 'safe' fashion. Lighting is just done away with. While to comics show a fascinating play of shadows, the movie does not use that at all.
Is it then realistic in the way people behave?
Is it in the way that people do not think twice to show no loyalty to Batman at all? Or is it in the way cops fail to spot that their fellow policemen have been replaced by Jokers henchmen? Or is it in the way a mobster engages in a standup open fight and forgets that he has to reload the damn thing? Or is it in the way the crime-bosses let themselves be bullied by Joker?
Is there then any realism in the story line?
You mean in the way the omniscient and omnipresent Joker terrorizes Gotham to the point that the citizens are willing to offer up their hero to the mercy of that madman? For that is the whole story and it takes more then two hours to tell something that did not have anything substantial to explore after the first half.
There are far better movies that examine the themes of good and bad in a more down-to-earth and humane way. Serpico springs to mind, or Taxi Driver or Fort Apache, the Bronx. All of whom score lower then this movie.
The irony is that Dark Knight is praised for what a Batman movie ought not to be. It ought to be unrealistic, stylish, shot with unusual angles, using stark contrasts, snappy dialogues and allow for Catwoman.
Catwoman, you say?
Catwoman?
Yes... because what is she? Is she black? Is she white? No.. she is shaded grey, the color that this movie has no knowledge of.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
potatoes351Aug 13, 2012
I never really paid much attention to Batman Begins but I went into the Dark Knight knowing the backstory and my god! TDK is easily one of the best superhero films ever. It is dark, gritty and it has balls. Gotham City's crime rate hasI never really paid much attention to Batman Begins but I went into the Dark Knight knowing the backstory and my god! TDK is easily one of the best superhero films ever. It is dark, gritty and it has balls. Gotham City's crime rate has significantly decreased since the rise of Batman but there are still some ends that need tying. A new threat in the form of the Joker has emerged from the criminal underworld, a ruthless and utterly off the wall psychopath. Bruce is also having personal problems in the form of Rachel and the new district attorney Harvey Dent A.K.A Two-Face. Cristopher Nolan should direct all superhero films! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DokaluJun 23, 2015
Christopher Nolan really showed his skills with this movie. This is the best Batman film ever made, followed closely only by The Dark Knight Rises. The story is absolutely brilliant, Heath Ledger as the Joker is the best villain I have everChristopher Nolan really showed his skills with this movie. This is the best Batman film ever made, followed closely only by The Dark Knight Rises. The story is absolutely brilliant, Heath Ledger as the Joker is the best villain I have ever seen on screen, the acting is marvelous from everyone involved, the script is flawless, the action is mind-blowing and the characters are fantastic. There isn't one single thing I dislike about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
joao1198pedroOct 27, 2013
if in batman begins christopher nolan took out the franchise off the mud,in the dark knight he put it in an great level,this is one of the most greatest films based on an super heroe character,with great featured of the acting of heath ledger.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Jul 5, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. probably one of the most unexpected classics, the film is very dark and filled with gut wrenching suspense, that will hold you glued to your seats in shock.

Heath Ledger's final great performance as The Joker, is probably one of the greatest performances ever caught on camera, a cinema villain for all cinema villains.

even though it seemed underrated, Christopher Nolan has redefined the Batman comic franchise, with its stylish action, lots of important characters, chaos, and the world's greatest detective more badass than ever before its a half crime/neo-noir/superhero/psychological/drama that is still worth a watch again and again.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
AkashVijayJan 19, 2015
Pulp has never been so artistic. Chris Nolan's neo-shakespearean magnum opus soars across the cinema hall, proving to the world that sometimes even comic-book adaptations can be worthy of novelistic ambition. Despite being a blockbuster, thePulp has never been so artistic. Chris Nolan's neo-shakespearean magnum opus soars across the cinema hall, proving to the world that sometimes even comic-book adaptations can be worthy of novelistic ambition. Despite being a blockbuster, the Dark Knight deals with dark thematic issues most movie never touch like - the road to fascism is paved with good intentions, idealism is always easier to corrupt than greed, light always coexists with darkness (or as the Joker would say freaks attract freaks) and perhaps most disturbing of all, the Dark Knight proclaims that in a world where there is no justice there's no way to fight the system without falling into corruption, apathy or worse. Nolan wants us to take a good long look at the brutally bleak streets of Gotham and reflect on its striking perspicuous similarities to our own post 9/11 world. It makes us wonder if nature in it's most elementary form is governed by chaos and the structures we've erected just create an illusion of harmony (or is it the other way around?). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cag11Nov 29, 2013
This is the best superhero movie, or perhaps, the best movie ever made. The acting is brilliant, the script was great, and the villain was one of the most realistic ones I've ever seen. It has that dark sense to it as every superhero Nolan film does.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews