User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 3738 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 18, 2014
    10
    Well where do I start Nolan's films are always great but this is the best Bale is amazing but is nothin compared to Heath ledgers Acting if you say he won cause he died just watch him the film has a great plot terrifying moments great villains and an unbeatable hero well done Chris.
  2. Oct 17, 2014
    10
    Batman raises the stakes in his war on crime. With the help of Lieutenant Jim Gordon and District Attorney Harvey Dent Batman sets out to dismantle the remaining criminal organizations that plague the city streets. The partnership proves to be effective, but they soon find themselves prey to reign of chaos unleashed by a rising criminal mastermind known to the terrified citizens of Gotham as the Joker. Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best superhero movies ever with excellent performance from Heath ledger and acceptable performance from all actors and actresses and five star narratives.
  4. Oct 12, 2014
    10
    An aesthetically beautiful and well written film. The actors committed and I can tell they put their emotions into each and every scene. Thumbs up all around on this very intelligently written art piece. Easily one of my favorite films.
  5. Oct 6, 2014
    10
    Because, Heath Ledger, Christian Bale, and, yes, Christopher Nolan rocked the show.
    The movie is a take apart from the comical Joker in DC Comics, and the mentally-affected Harvey Dent. These two elements raised the thrill completely.
    The best superhero flick, till now. Intensity redefined. Mind-blowing plot, brilliant sequences.
  6. Oct 1, 2014
    10
    It truly is an outstanding CBM, and a great film in general. The acting, the cinematography, and writing are all top notch. There's not much else I can say that hasn't already been said.
  7. Sep 28, 2014
    10
    Has to be one of my favourite films of all time, filled with action, you are gripped to the TV, also Heath Ledger does an excellent job as the joker, in the facial expressions, to the small details.
    Overall an amazing movie.
  8. Sep 27, 2014
    10
    ¿La mejor película de superhéroes? Absolutamente. ¿La mejor película de la historia? Es muy probable.
    Una trama perfecta que hace que dos horas sean diez minutos, el mismo reparto aun mejor, EL MEJOR VILLANO DE LA HISTORIA, grandes efectos especiales, diálogos brillantes, situaciones memorables, un final redondo.
    Todo en esta película, lo mires por donde lo mires, es perfecto. Nada
    falla. El Joker es punto y aparte.
    Creo que jamás volveré a ver algo como El Caballero Oscuro. Jamás.
    Expand
  9. Sep 22, 2014
    10
    Twisted and gritty, The Dark Knight is easily my favorite Batman film. All of the performances, especially Heath Ledger's Joker, are spectacular. In addition, the movie is filled with suspense, pulse-pounding action, and is backed up by an intelligent, expertly-crafted plot.
  10. Sep 12, 2014
    9
    Despite being overrated, The Dark Knight shows viewers a strong villain and dark atmosphere. Sadly, Heath Ledger died postumously to its release however, he still earned a Oscar for best supporting actor and cemented himself in film history.
  11. Aug 31, 2014
    7
    The Dark Knight is monumental. One of the biggest fan favorites of the decade. Heath Ledger gives one of the greatest performances of all-time as The Joker amidst engrossing chaos. It may be ever-so-slightly overrated, especially with an average portrayal of Batman from Christian Bale.
  12. Aug 25, 2014
    9
    Christian Bale is a perfect Bruce Wayne, no doubting that. His voice as Batman kept cracking me up, but at the same time he does play the Dark Knight very well, so it is only a momentary fun every time. (No doubt helps him to hide his true identity too.)

    A lot has been talked about Heath Ledger's role in the movie, and those acclaims have been very true, too. He is a perfect Joker; on
    the very borderline of sane and its complete opposite. Disturbing, and yet in a way very human.

    This movie, compared to "Batman Begins", is smoother, more action-filled and on the move all the time. People get killed, shots fired, cars trashed, buildings blown...

    All in all, this is a near perfect movie. Dark, aggressive, twisted and very funny in a lot of places as well - much thanks to the Joker.
    Expand
  13. Aug 16, 2014
    3
    The dark knight is not a superhero film but a film about a messed up rich guy who wears a clad black suit like a pornstar and some psychotic hippy clown criminal who has a confusing personality. That's right folks I'm calling this film not the best because it has no super in it and gives you a sad and disappointing view of real life. The plot, characters, and whole presence makes you so pissed off and the critics call it the perfect superhero film what a load of **** Yeah I just said it **** and who really cars if I say a few swear words, it just my own opinion. The most part that makes me angry is that health ledger's joker is the supervillain, I prefer the Jack Nicholson version and to give a dead guy a award for good acting is like walking off a bridge. I admit some of the action scenes were cool but I'm no batman fan. I'm a loyal superman fan and I think the man of steel is way better than this crappy film. So that's my review of a extremely overrated film that died so much in disgrace that it could never make me pleasant Expand
  14. Aug 4, 2014
    8
    Dark Knight has plenty of action and Heath Ledger's coolest performance as the joker. His performance
    alone is the reason to see this sequel. The rest of the cast acts well and the plot is clever. Ledger's
    acting blows Nicholson's performance out of the water. He deserved the oscar and you can tell when
    you watch the movie that Ledger had a blast playing the joker. My favourite part of
    the movie is
    the joker, if the joker wasn't in the movie the movie would be half as good.
    Expand
  15. Aug 3, 2014
    9
    Is it overrated? Absolutely. It suffers from the same problems as Batman Begins- namely, the over-reverential script and the over-analysis of the movie's themes. But this one is much better, and I can explain why in five words: Heath Ledger as the Joker. This is the one part of the movie that deserves as much praise as it got. Ledger finds that tiny, tiny spot between funny and terrifying and milks it for all it's worth. He's a wounded puppy-dog of a jester who won't hesitate to slice your mouth in two or blow up a cruise ship, and he'll be laughing all the way. Also, he's the only actor in the crowd who can ably handle Nolan's Script and fuse it into his character, though that might be more of the Joker psychology that Ledger's acting. Whatever it is, he nails it. I just wish the rest of the movie was as clever and nuanced as him. Expand
  16. Aug 1, 2014
    6
    What I don't like about "Batman" films is that they seem out of this world. Well, there is something interesting in portraying an anti-hero's struggle with his inner weaknesses, because all of us do have weaknesses to overcome. But besides that there is nothing else. Except for Wayne, characters seem sickly one-sided and pretty unconvincing. Any attempt to make a strong point is concealed by the beautifully directed CGI effects. But Ledger's enchanting performance is a reason to watch this film on its own. Expand
  17. Jul 25, 2014
    8
    I know that this might sound to consistent but this is probably the best superhero film of all time, the camera work, the makeup design (The Joker) , the direction, the writing and especially the performances are just great, Christian Bale really gives Batman some finesse and intimidation and handles the character well, Ledger's last performance was just great, i didn't think of him as that kid from Brokeback Mountain or 10 Things I Hate About You, i actually thought that he was a sociopath, and that is what i call amazing character study. Nice supporting cast as well. Christopher Nolan's best movie that's for sure Expand
  18. Jul 24, 2014
    9
    unbelievable!!! this movie is so good the acting by Heath Ledger as the joker is amazing the joker is also very well made on script to. The action is great to the whole movie is just incredible very well done best superhero flick ever.
    my ratting 9.5/10 a 9 for action 10 for acting 8.5 for story 9.5 for style and a 8.5 for character development
  19. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    By far the best super hero/batman film ever made, the second best film of all time in my opinion behind shawshank redemption, every actor gives a excellent performance especially heath ledger
  20. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Batman film everyone should deserve, even for people who don't like Batman. The films atmosphere, relatable characters, well-done action scenes, tension building are the things films need more of these days. The Dark Knight is a film I watch just to remind me what any other film but this one should try and be like. I mentioned action scenes separately because they are one the biggest highlights for me. Every single scene ranging from fist fights and car chases is perfectly edited and choreographed to show the realistic Batman in action. The car chase showing the Joker trying to catch Harvey Dent is perhaps the most detailed and perfectly executed piece of cinematography in film history. It might be a little disappointing that they got rid of the Bat mobile so suddenly and without warning. However the bat cycle blends in perfectly with one of Batman's many fantastic vehicles for the trilogy. Batman himself has become much more easy to take seriously which is saying a lot. He has now moved on from his only works by himself cycle in the first film, and now shows him with Harvey Dent and Jim Gordon working together to take down crime in the city. All the while knowing that Batman is a vigilante. Bruce Wayne is now still onto Rachel despite her having found out his secret in the last film, who has now moved onto Harvey Dent and seems to use Bruce's secret against him as would anyone. However the most interesting character for me is the joker himself. He is perhaps the most well-chosen actors for the part as Heath Ledger portrays him in a way its creepy. He is a man driven by nothing but chaos and the very destruction around him. He is also driven to bring down the Batman. This is a brilliant plot device since the Joker has nothing to sacrifice but his very life. Whereas Batman has his social life and his secret identity at stake. The Joker only wants Batman to give in. This is good for tension building because the audience are with Batman and realise that the Jokers plan is technically impossible to beat unless Batman... well, kills him. I won't go any further because I am positive that you've already heard enough hype for this film, and let me say that The Dark Knight has lived up to every bit of it and more. Expand
  21. Jul 14, 2014
    3
    I really think people might have fell into the hype of this movie a lot too much, besides Heath Ledger this movie is not that good. I can think of one word to describe this movie and that word is OVERRATED.
  22. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    This is my favorite movie. I like Christopher Nolan movies. This is his best movie. Good plot, fantastic acting. Heath Ledger is genius. Good effects, action, drama.
  23. Jul 8, 2014
    10
    THE BEST MOVIE EVER!!! all the actors in this movie was great, Especially heath ledger as the Joker. the story was really really good. don't die before you watch this movie
  24. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    A masterpiece by Christopher Nolan!

    Nowadays, we see a massive amount of computer generated objects in our movies. But with Nolans’s The Dark Knight, we notice that he really tries to make the batman franchise as real as possible. Just look at the Batmobile, so incredible! I totally love the action and crime in The Dark Knight, and both the opening scene and the ending was just awesome.
    I’m also amazed by how groovy the movie was, and with the great music and the awesome actors couldn't the movie have been done better. Every small detail in the movie is perfect, except that there are some confusing and slow scenes in some places.

    The Dark Knight is a spectacular movie, and the best to date by Nolan.

    9,3/10
    Expand
  25. Jun 22, 2014
    9
    I found The Dark Knight to be great film, living up to it's name. Although it is a shame about Ledger's death. He played The Jokers part perfectly. No one could have played the chaotic clown any better than Heath Ledger. As for Christian Bale as Bruce Wayne to be very exceptional as well. The movie itself and the plot to be devised exceptionally well.

    With Gotham in diss array and
    Batman trying to clean up the streets and is shunned by the law; while a megalomaniac is on the loose blowing up hospitals and killing without remorse. A great work of Art, better than the other two films in my opinion. Introducing Aaron Eckhart as Two Face; I found to be very exciting to see, seeing as he's one of my favorite DC villains.

    Although the film is very long and some parts to be boring it's the little things that was fantastic. With Ledger's fantastic portrayal and improvised parts, showing the Joker in his true form.

    This movie will be cherished and remembered for decades and the one of the greatest live action Batman movie.
    Expand
  26. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    The Dark Knight is as much of a superhero film as it is a horrifying tragedy. With excellent casting, twisted and sickening characters and a devious plot make this the most outstanding Batman film in history. 10/10
  27. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    This is a monumental piece of cinema. No film has ever portrayed chaos so well. Ledger gave one of the best performances in cinema history, Nolan's masterful directing has never been more prominent, weaving The Dark Knight into the best action movie ever made. The Dark Knight is a beautiful tale of destruction, a flawless take on crime, and a plea to mankind's nature. Christopher Nolan creates a world where being a hero is a double edged sword, at best, and yet that hero keeps doing his job. An absolutely fantastic piece of work, that every person on this world should see. Expand
  28. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    Overrated my left testicle. This movie is dark, complex, clever, unforgettable and Heath Ledger's performance is completely phenomenal and memorable. Christian Bale did another great job with this movie and once again, Christopher Nolan proves that he does not only deserves an Oscar for best director, he also proves that we can always trust on him.
  29. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    The Dark Knight can be summed up by the following words-
    "Everyone has a hidden darkness within. Although we may choose to portray our light side for the most part, in the most severe of circumstances, when faced with death, darkness can triumph and all of us, no matter how good, are capable of dropping the rules, codes and morals that society has imposed on us and be the cause of
    terrible things. And when you're in that situation, all you can do is hope that there is someone beside, who still believes in you and what you once stood for."
    I loved how the Joker constantly made batman face moral dilemmas questioning him about everything he stands for and the value of his "code". The Joker paradox ,of him having an ideology that there must be no ideology which governs, is so cleverly done. It's the perfect mix of subtlety and irony.
    This is far and wide Nolan's greatest achievement so far. It's Christopher Nolan and Jonathan Nolan's magnificent screenplay that really makes it a true crime epic. I thought the dialogue was absolutely beautiful. The cast, Ledger in particular are terrific and Nolan's direction as well is very impressive.
    The Dark Knight has really proved to the world that comic book films can be worthy of novelist appreciation. It's nothing short of a modern masterpiece.
    Expand
  30. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    "The Dark Knight" is proof that Chris Nolan saved the Batman saga. this is literally the best Batman movie we ever had in years! from the mind-blowing action, to the incredible acting, fantastic characters, strong script, layers of character depth and development, epic music, awesome special effects... i can't see anything wrong with "The Dark Knight". cause everything's the work of art, of a person who knows how to do the Batman saga justice. it's like if Christopher Nolan was like "Outta the way, **** It's my turn now". and he saved Batman, he brought Batman back to life again, and i thank him so much for that. also, Heath Ledger as the Joker: a phenomenon! other actors can try, but nobody's ever gonna top Heath Ledger's Joker. and Christopher Nolan still stays as one of the best directors we've ever had. "The Dark Knight" is a phenomenon! Expand
  31. May 25, 2014
    10
    The best Superhero/Comic book movie of all time. This is one of the movies that made Batman so popular today and lets not forget Heath Ledgers amazing portrayal of The Joker. The story was amazing and was never predictable, new things kept popping up keeping the plot fresh and never stale. 10/10
  32. May 24, 2014
    10
    Easily the best movie ever made. Joker was more than outstanding. Christian bale was the best batman, the only reason the other users think he's just avg is because he couldn't do what heath ledger did.
  33. May 23, 2014
    0
    This movie is so dry, pretentious and humorless that my cat became depressed after watching it with me and starved herself to death. Also all the expository dialogue and mindless pop philosophy made me schizophrenic. I'm now sharpening my knives and ordering the Halloween mask from EBay. Close your windows, Chris "Pretentious Hack" Nolan, I'm gonna avenge my kitty!
  34. May 14, 2014
    10
    Thanks to great acting, amazing performance by Heath Ledger and brilliant guidance by director Christopher Nolan this movie is destined to be remembered forever.
  35. May 10, 2014
    9
    While Batman Begins was a good film, The Dark Knight is grand. It's darkness and it's intense action will hold you captivated throughout the film. Christian Bale did an excellent performance playing Batman, I don't know why people are hating on his voice. The drama was cool, there were some emotional scenes, I overall had an amazing time when I first saw this film and I kind of want to watch it again right now. This is probably the greatest Batman movie ever made, so I would highly recommend it. Expand
  36. May 8, 2014
    10
    The perfect Batman movie. Realistic and grounded, creating a perfect world where Batman can exist but we also can feel like it is real. Very complex especially for a comic book movie.. actually it is so much more than a superhero movie... it is a crime drama with Batman characters. And that makes it so awsome. Great performances (especially from Heath Ledger), storytelling, directing, everything!
  37. May 5, 2014
    10
    A single movie, with so many unique particularities and a simple proposal: be original and different at same time. Nolan brings us a mature and surprising Batman´s universe, with characters well made, including the Joker, the most impressive of all. Heath Ledger gives life to a scary, cold, shocking and overwhelming villain, that faces all Batman's limits with an unmerciful psychological game at absolutely flawless and triumphant performance. With a tense, accurate and efficient score by Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard, led by the realistic and audacious proposal from Christopher Nolan, The Dark Knight is engaging and powerful, being the best adaptation of a comic-book to the cinema. Expand
  38. May 3, 2014
    10
    Theres only so many franchises where the 2nd film is the best. The Dark Knight is hands down the best Batman movie but also the best superhero movie. everything one could want in a superhero film. it takes superhero movies to a whole new level. here are my ratings:

    1. Cast: 10/10
    2. Action: 9/10
    3. Score: 10/10
    4. Effects: 10/10
    5. Theater experience: 10/10
  39. Apr 28, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Rare breed of film which is both serious and impossibly entertaining. Why so serious. The acting is first rate with already classic landmark performances from Ledger and Bale, with strong supporting acts from, Oldman, Freeman and Caine. The audience are able to feast there eyes on cinematic magic from the breathtaking visual effects, shown extensively through the chase scenes with the Bat-pod and Lorry. Whiles Hanz Zimmers theme keeps you heart pounding throughout the film. The film which is already seen as a classic for the genre has no major shortcomings though of course people will dig plot holes. Definitely the best superhero film of all time, though a wide range of successful themes allow it to almost transcend its genre.
    Ultimately its Nolan at his very very best and i can think of no higher praise than that.
    Expand
  40. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    The best superhero movie I've ever seen. Ledgar's performance is perhaps the greatest acting I've seen. This is a dark, realistic, action-packed masterpiece
  41. Apr 18, 2014
    10
    My favourite film of all time. This movie is absolutely incredible. Heath Ledgers portrayal as Joker is amazing and my favourite character ever in a movie. I can't praise this movie enough. It is just so dark and all the acting is amazing. If you haven't seen this movie make sure you check it out best film I have ever seen!!
  42. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    master piece!!!! the action, the lines, the reality for a hero. . . . is just amazing i think this movie goes for my top 5 of all times . . .btw so much jealous people hiting 0 score -_-
  43. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    Nearly every aspect of this film is fantastic. The creative designs and aesthetics of the movie are very pleasing, from the designs of Batman's suit and arsenal to the sprawling city of Gotham. Hans Zimmer's composing is, as always, genius. The Jokers theme is one of the highlights of this soundtrack, complementing the character perfectly. The acting in the film is top notch, Christian Bale and Gary Oldman deliver more rock solid performances and newcomer Aaron Eckhart also packs a punch as Harvey Dent/Two Face. But Heath Ledger steals the show as the, in my opinion, best interpretation of the Joker's character in any Batman media. The story is tense, well paced, and thrilling. The Dark Knight is easily one of the best Superhero movies ever made. Expand
  44. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    Christopher Nolan clearly is one of the few directors of comic book movies who actually cares. You can tell, because he elevated this movie from a simple comic book movie to an action packed thriller. The first thing I would like to talk about is Heath Ledge. Wow. His performance blows my mind every time. As the Joker, he is a murderous psychopath. He really makes all of the tense scenes work. Christian Bale plays a great Batman, as per usual. Everything in this movie looks real, and that's because most of it is. Nolan is not a fan of CGI. These stunts are real. Speaking of these stunts, the action sequences are also done incredibly. This is a must see, comic book fan or not. Expand
  45. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    This thing has everything a movie could ask for: a complex set of themes that raise questions about morality and philosophy, but with enough action, memorable dialogue, tight pacing, and character development to not get bogged down by its complexity. Ledger's Joker is, needless to say, one of the greatest movie villains of all time. The whole cast brings its A-game, ultimately creating the best superhero movie and arguably one of the best films of all time. Expand
  46. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    The best of the trilogy. It manages to keep your attention all the time. And just when you think the day is saved, it all crash down. Ledger plays the role of his life as the Joker, a new and wonderful vision of this batman nemesis
  47. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    This movie is not just an excellent comic book movie, it is one of the best movies ever made. It incorporate elements from multiple genres (crime,action,suspense,horror,psychological..............). Solid performances from all the actors makes this plot heavy movie one of Nolan's best.
    P. S. Heath Ledger as Joker is AWESOME!!!!!
  48. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    Where to begin with this brilliant superhero film... Well one of the outstanding reasons would have to be The Joker (Heath Ledger), firstly the performance by him in this film is fantastic and absolutely deserved the Oscar for best supporting actor. Another reason why this is a great feature and most definitely the best of the trilogy is because there's no stupid backstory that's just a load of nonsense, the Joker is just simply crazy or messed up and even as Michael Caine says in the film 'Some people just wanna watch the world burn' the joker mentions a few times about his past and how he got his scars but changes them each time so no ones actually sure what's wrong with him.
    I also think Christian Bale plays a great Batman, compared to George Clooney or almost any of the others
    Christopher Nolan is a great director and has directed many great films and this is right up there with the others and deserved all the credit it got!
    A definite 9/10
    Expand
  49. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    Absolutely stunning. This sequel is dark, sophisticated, and is better than its predecessor. It has emotion, powerful and superb acting, and impressive visuals. This film is, beyond any doubt, a must-see. Oh, and the Joker in the movie, is beyond fantastic.
  50. Mar 6, 2014
    5
    The dark knight pivots around this one premise: there is good and there is bad and there is nothing in between. This black and white morality is embodied in the characters of the insane Joker and the angelic Batman. The one kills with the least provocation, indiscriminately because even his own henchmen and allies are killed in an offhand, often gruesome, way. The other avoids killing in the most desperate and chaotic of situations and we see him, in his human form as Bruce Wayne, flounder in his dalliance with Rachel. For Bruce is a gentleman and as a gentleman he would not impose himself upon a woman. He is the knight, a dark knight, but a knight non the less.
    Joker exists to tempt Batman into falling from his shining white pedestal for no other reason then to proof that he will, if push came to shove. Thou shalt not kill..unless one has to and then one is damned for all eternity.
    And it is Joker who will do the pushing and shoving, until he gets Batman to do something that is 'wrong'.
    And eventually he will..
    Of course he will...
    It is all hogwash.
    The movie, clamored to be the more realistic of them all, might be what it claims to be, but it is still unrealistic and, to boot, based on an abject morality. There is dark and there is light, and just one wrong deed is enough to turn white into black, because here is nothing in between. Intentions do not matter and it just takes one wrong deed to have people abandon Batman to the wolves, for he is a vigilante that ought to be put in jail, even though the purposefully made inept law enforcement agencies can not deal with the likes of a Joker or, for that matter, any other villain. Unless Batman helps them of course.
    Ironically the movie has no reason to be from the start, for Batman is a vigilante and thus acts outside the law. Case closed, the movie has lost it's macGuffin.
    The whole movie revolves around unrealism. Joker can command hordes of henchmen, who cater to his every whim. Unexplained is why these henchmen serve a psychotic murderer who has no problem in killing them at the blink of an eye. They just do. Unexplained is where Joker gets the means. He just has them, in abundance. Unexplained is how Joker knows things. He just does. The image is not of a man gone insane, but of supernatural being that has come to earth to do evil. Is Joker Satan?
    So in what is it then more realistic?
    Is it the style that has been stripped down to the level that there is no style at all? Where the comics are drawn in stark dark colors, gritty details, unusual angles and unsettling stylistic elements, the movie has abandoned all of it. The cinematography is mediocre. Shots are wasted, like the one that sees a conference with a long table and rows of chairs, but the camera fails to use the obvious opportunity to align the shot along the table, using a focused angle that zooms in on Bruce Wayne sleeping, while the people are talking about him. The camera is used in a 'safe' fashion. Lighting is just done away with. While to comics show a fascinating play of shadows, the movie does not use that at all.
    Is it then realistic in the way people behave?
    Is it in the way that people do not think twice to show no loyalty to Batman at all? Or is it in the way cops fail to spot that their fellow policemen have been replaced by Jokers henchmen? Or is it in the way a mobster engages in a standup open fight and forgets that he has to reload the damn thing? Or is it in the way the crime-bosses let themselves be bullied by Joker?
    Is there then any realism in the story line?
    You mean in the way the omniscient and omnipresent Joker terrorizes Gotham to the point that the citizens are willing to offer up their hero to the mercy of that madman? For that is the whole story and it takes more then two hours to tell something that did not have anything substantial to explore after the first half.
    There are far better movies that examine the themes of good and bad in a more down-to-earth and humane way. Serpico springs to mind, or Taxi Driver or Fort Apache, the Bronx. All of whom score lower then this movie.
    The irony is that Dark Knight is praised for what a Batman movie ought not to be. It ought to be unrealistic, stylish, shot with unusual angles, using stark contrasts, snappy dialogues and allow for Catwoman.
    Catwoman, you say?
    Catwoman?
    Yes... because what is she? Is she black? Is she white? No.. she is shaded grey, the color that this movie has no knowledge of.
    Expand
  51. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    If one movie captured what it was like to live in the post-9/11 decade, this is it. This is the movie of a generation.

    It seems to lack a traditional narrative structure, instead pounding away relentlessly with jump scares, psychological horror, and real action. Terse direction and a chilling manical score drive the action. The bank robbery prologue remains one of the classic film
    openings, but memorable scenes and quotable dialogue abound, culminating in the epic Batman/Joker interrogation scene.

    People rightfully remember the profound tragedy of Heath Ledger's death so soon after this iconic performance, but there is an abundance of strong acting. Aaron Eckhart provides a nuanced foil before making a scary turn, and Maggie Gyllenhall sells the horror of the Joker's machinations, and of course Christian Bale somehow conveys the weight of the world being on his shoulders in an oddly thankless role.

    Largely grounded in reality, the film nonetheless reveals plot holes and implausibilities upon rewatching. However, it is a testament to it greatness that despite the Joker's seemingly impossible schemes or the muddled ending, the emotional impact of the film as a whole remains untarnished. The film's brilliance is that in the climax with an unknown everyman, not a superhero, is given a choice to kill or be killed, the film genuinely sells that he might go either way, and the audience invests in his decision.

    Even a cynic cannot watch The Dark Knight without laughing at its black humor, squirming at its horrors, and doing some self-evaluation afterwards. What has fear done to us? What is the right response to terror? Where do we go from here? Simultaneously a work of cinematic art, a philosophical treatise, and a pop culture classic, this movie's place in history cannot be denied.
    Expand
  52. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    The atmosphere is very intense in the movie, like the comics. Also Heath Ledger's performance was brilliant, he achieved to show the psychotic and crafty side of Joker. Story was fluent and deliberative, it makes you think after you watch it. But, it was not like a superhero movie. It was like a exciting psychological crime movie. That's the only disadvantage maybe but I ignore it, because Batman has more serious style than the other superheroes. He's like a detective rather than a superhero.

    After all, this movie is a masterpiece of Nolan. Deserves 10 out of 10.
    Expand
  53. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    Estamos ante una obra maestra de proporciones epicas, un villano tan carismatico, una trama que se vuelve interesante y con giros inesperados, es la mejor pelicula de superheroes hasta ahora, bueno eso de superheroes o mejor dicho antiheroe, porque Batman no es un heroe, es el caballero de la noche.
  54. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 超级英雄电影颠覆之作,全片基调黑暗也带有不少恐怖元素,诺兰对黑暗系电影的把控相当到位,Harvey Dent的设定最佳,而希斯莱杰将Joker的疯狂表演得淋漓尽致,结尾得设定很好。 Expand
  55. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    I cannot say enough about this film, it's truly so fantastic that it is hard for me to describe. Everything about this movie is an A+. From Ledgers grim and terrifying performance as the joker, to Aaron Ekhart's believable and stunning depiction of Harvey Dent. The story of this film is not only believable, but perfectly executed. This movie is one that you must see in your life
  56. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    There have been many Batman movies, some were good, some were okay and some were just awful. Throughout this collection of movies that tried to depict the Dark Knight, this one is the only one that does it right... no, scratch that, it does it perfect. A simply amazing and captivating movie, that puts the Dark Knight into the perfect 'light': darkness. It presents him, not as a hero that saves the day, but as a man who sacrifices everything for justice and for the city that he loves.

    The screenplay is just fantastic, taking the hero-movie genre to a whole new level. Christopher Nolan's dark and modern directing style also fits perfectly and Hans Zimmer's score makes you feel like this is something special, this is something different, this is the ultimate superhero movie of all time. The dark score captures the corruption and the decadence in Gotham just perfect.

    The acting is also extremely well, and I think you already know where I'm going with this... Yes, Heath Ledger's Joker is simply perfect. His twisted, homicidal personality it's only beaten by his little and detailed tics.

    A truly mature and unique story, 'The Dark Knight' impresses through its serious and dark atmosphere, incredible writing and the unique mature approach on the story of the greatest superhero and villain of all time.
    Expand
  57. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    Oh. My. God. If anybody's been on the IMDb Top 250 lately, there's a reason why this movie sits at #6 with a 9.0 rating. This movie is absolutely unbelievable, and it blows my mind that it was not even nominated for Best Picture in 2008. Christian Bale does a fantastic job, the best I've seen for a super hero protagonist. The minor roles of acting legends Michael Caine (Alfred Pennywoth) and Morgan Freeman (Lucius Fox) were stupendous, and Maggie Gyllenhaal was fantastic as Rachel Dawes, much better than Katie Holmes did in Batman Begins. Gary Oldman is back and better than ever as Lt. Gordon, and played a role that forced the audience to fall in love with him, even those that went into the movie thinking it wouldn't live up to all the hype. Aaron Eckhart did a fabulous job throughout the movie, from first being the White Knight DA of Gotham Harvey Dent, and eventually as Two-Face, the psychotic criminal obsessed with chance. But the most spectacular acting job throughout not just the movie, but the series, was Heath Ledger, the Joker. His acting job was one of the best I've ever seen, and it's an absolute shame that he passed. The Joker's combination of insanity and sensibility was astonishing. Everything he said throughout the movie was absolutely crazy, but at the same side, made sense. He deserved the Oscar he won for the film, and the Dark Knight is worth watching solely because of him. This film had an absolutely amazing cast, and it is an outstanding film. Also, Hans Zimmer did a fantastic job with the score, so a hat-tip to him. All of the music was perfect for every situation, and that screeching sound that symbolizes the Joker was perfection. So a huge hat-tip to Christopher Nolan (the director), Hans Zimmer, and the entire cast, especially Heath Ledger. This film is STRONGLY recommended. 10 stars out of 10. Expand
  58. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    This is the only superhero movie that has ever achieved pure perfection, while I may give other films 10's, I want to explain, only a select few I have ever given something which I call a "Perfect" rating. A Perfect rating is where the movie is either perfect because it has no real flaws or so good that the bad is nonexistent, 10's are important films and Perfect films are examples of unrivaled filmmaking. So much has already been said about The Dark Knight that I don't need to say much, but I must say this. Nowadays, superhero films are trying to copy The Dark Knight and fail to see why this is a perfect movie, not because its dark, not because it has blood, or violence, or because it has swearing, or any of that stupidity into thinking that is what makes this film great, No, it is because it is mature, intelligent, and a thought provoking story about morality, choice, justice, anarchy, evil, good, and how madness can triumph in the end unless good gives into some kind of evil. That is why The Dark Knight is a perfect film, executed beautifully, and remaining loyal to it's source material while raising new questions for both comic book fans and film goers, that make it a marvel, an achievement that hasn't been matched by many, and won't be knocked off of it's throne as the greatest superhero movie of all time, for a long, long time. Expand
  59. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    Simply the most stunning, exciting and twisting movie ever made combined with a great cast including the best acted figure in any movie I've ever seen with Heath Ledger as the Joker. Never before a film was so cunning making a person feel crazy and godlike at the same time with Genius-Like Appearences at the Mafia on a Banquet or in a bank-robbery. Batman himself doesn't feel invincible and Two-Face has an awesome story to become what he is nowadays. Scarecrow has a little guest role (I love the actor), aswell as Morgan Freeman and an awesome Michael Caine.
    The Unexpected trick of the Joker, the two ships, everything is perfect. Easily the best film I've ever seen!
    Expand
  60. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    The Dark Knight is the closest any superhero movie has come to "perfect" with amazing dialogue, a sturdy plot, great casting and Heath Ledger's iconic portrayal of The Joker.
  61. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    Nobody saw this performance by Heath Ledger coming and we couldn't take our eyes off of him. His portrayal of the Joker is easily one of the most intriguing characters I have ever seen on film. Just brilliant.
  62. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Best comic book movie ever made to date (2013). The darker and more realistic tone director Nolan gave Batman and this trilogy changed the way mainstream audiences saw super hero movies and made them take them seriously. Terrific plot, action scenes, pace, acting and pretty much everything. There are two things that are worth the special mention: Heath Ledger´s performance and the score by Hans Zimmer. Heath Ledger´s performance is absolutely stunning, scary and memorable. This one and his role in Brokeback Mountain are two of the best performances given by a male actor in the 00s decade. The score is just outstanding, I still listen to it to this day frequently, and the same happens with the final chapter of the trilogy. Hans Zimmer is a genius. Kudos to Nolan, he makes great film after great film. Expand
  63. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    This is probably my favorite movie of all time and especially my favorite performance by an actor. Heath Ledger makes the movie with his portrayal of the Joker. The movie is full of twists, great acting in general, emotional moments and of course moments of craziness. If you haven't watched it you should do so now!
  64. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    This movie changed the way I see Batman. This Part 2 of the trilogy was by far the best in the trilogy, and probably the best Batman movie I've ever seen. Sorry, Adam West, Michael Keaton, and George Clooney. And that voice!
  65. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    The Best action movie ever made, the best crime movie ever made, the best villain performance ever performed by Heath Ledger the Joker, I Think I can watch it 100 times and never get bored, Great work from my idol Director Christopher Nolan, thank you for this one.
  66. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    Overrated as Hell! I do not understand why people say this piece of trash is so good. Especially when they say "It's a classic- right up there with The Godfather." Uhhhhh...... NO! Some poor performances (cough, cough, Bale), an over complicated plot (just like all Nolan movies), cheesy lines, and some pretty awful action scenes all contribute to making this movie one awful pile of crap.
  67. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite movie of all time. And it is with reason. After watching this movie Heath Ledger became one of my favorite actors because his role as Joker was incredible. Joker is know my favourite movie character of all time. This movie is always entertaining for me no mater how many times I watch it. By no means is this movie overrated. Best movie ever
  68. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    This is the best superhero movie, or perhaps, the best movie ever made. The acting is brilliant, the script was great, and the villain was one of the most realistic ones I've ever seen. It has that dark sense to it as every superhero Nolan film does.
  69. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    I'd have to say probably one of the finest films ever made. The relationship between Batman and Joker has never been captured as strongly in this film. The unfortunate death of Health Ledger however makes me wonder what Nolan would have done in the third one had he lived.
  70. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    The Dark Knight is stunning.
    A masterful sequel to Batman Begins, The Dark Knight introduces realism to what were once two dimensional comic book drawings. A great plot, amazing acting by Heath Ledger, and a very entertaining super hero film to say the least.
  71. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    This movie has to be viewed in combination with Batman Begins. The two really complement one another. At two and a half hours running time, if they had included more character development for Batman, it would have been too long to be watch-able by today's standards. So let me go ahead and say that I understand the decision to give Joker as much time on screen as possible, as this being a sequel some other character had to be focussed on to keep things interesting. However, this left Bruce Wayne with too few scenes without the mask where he wasn't being smug. Batman Begins showed us the human side of the superhero, and that is why I loved it so much. He felt so real and authentic. So the reason I'm giving it such a high score is only because of Joker. If he had not completely blown my mind away, I would have scored it much lower. The supporting cast did a commendable job but nothing which would have earned the movie favourable reviews and critical acclaim. Expand
  72. Oct 27, 2013
    8
    if in batman begins christopher nolan took out the franchise off the mud,in the dark knight he put it in an great level,this is one of the most greatest films based on an super heroe character,with great featured of the acting of heath ledger.
  73. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    Batman's latest version of ,The Dark Knight(July 14,2008)was a high grossing,Batman movie.
    It began what Batman was when we were trying to interoperate,Bruce Willis as a person-when Batman was going through his hard/dark times. It embraced Batman becoming more of a strong man and not being afraid of the world like he was as a young adult. He opened his eyes more. It welcomed,Heath
    Ledger's character-the joker.Heath Ledger was great at playing the joker.So great that he was known as a actual human being-who transformed into his character. His soul was like the Jokers. It was very dark. During the periods of his life,when he was playing the dark character-the joker-he was 'using' drugs. Christian Bale(as Batman)was everyone's hero,while Heath Ledger who was dark-depressed all the time,who was playing-the venomous to the heartbeat,joker-was dieing inside.
    Even though the movie,the Dark Knight- was great and we couldn't get enough.There were deep secrets within the movie-it self. Besides that,I loved how Batman was as a grown adult. He over came his fears.
    It makes you wonder,if you 'let go of YOUR fears'-what could you achomplish?

    After note:Rest in peace,Heath Ledger.We will all miss who you were-as a living bright,person.
    Expand
  74. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Heath Ledger is definitely the all-time best Joker portrayer (take that, Jack Nicholson!) and really pulled us all in with his performance. The movie focuses on a more dramatic level than the previous Batman installments, and as a result, it resonates better with me. This series just gets better and better.
  75. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest movies, I really in love with Christopher Nolan's work. I enjoyed each second I spend watching this amazing movie. The Joker deserved the oscar for this incredible performance.
  76. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is brilliant. Every bit is enjoyable. This takes Batman to a whole new level in character development and story. And it's surprisingly realistic. Nolan outdid himself for sure. Heath Ledger gives the best performance if the Joker ever. He's funny, intimidating, scary, and so much like a real serial killer. He's just here to create chaos. The side cast is also great. This movie brings tears, action, and laughs. It was a Batman movie purely for adults, its big with action and characters. It never disappoints and is a great watch every time I see it. Great movie and one of my favourites. Expand
  77. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Perhaps the most influential blockbuster of the modern era, Nolan bests his previous effort by amping up the despair, focusing more on Gotham's organized crime, and giving us one of the greatest acting achievements ever put to film with Heath Ledger's Joker.
  78. Aug 22, 2013
    9
    As a whole, it can exclaim itself as a sophisticated comic book film. Heath Ledger's Joker is what captivates us. He absorbs into this role with a type of noir-like version of the classic comic book character, becoming a murderous and calculating psychopath. The only comic book film that deserved any Oscar, especially for Heath Ledger.
  79. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    One of the best superhero movies of all time. The Dark Knight is much better than Batman Begins, mainly because of Heath Ledgers mesmerising performance as The Joker. I won't go on about just take my word for it that he's amazing. Batman Begins had a weak plot, this has one of the best plots of any movie ever, Christopher Nolan took a risk and made the plot political instead of pointless like Batman Begins, and it worked. The Dark Knight is a very enjoyable and one of the best movies of all time. Expand
  80. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    The best movie I have ever seen,I have watch it so many times and it never gets old, I would recommend it to anyone, and also recommend the whole trilogy.
  81. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    I would give this a 9 because of the great acting especially from Heath ledger, and the storyline which was a masterpiece but for me there wasn't enough fight scenes.
  82. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    Chris Nolan is a fantastic Writer and Director and he shows his skills once again in 'The Dark Knight.' Everything from the music, acting, writing, and story telling is excellent and perfectly fitting in the Batman universe. The tone of the film is very dark and mature themed, but thrilling from start to end. The performance from Heath Ledger is outstanding and by far the most believable joker. The performance from Mark Hamil in the cartoons and videos games is also great, but Heath gives you the whole performance rather than just voice.

    If you are looking for a thrilling action movie, The Dark Knight is an absolute must see!
    Expand
  83. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    A monumental accomplishment in comic book cinema. The Dark Knight improves upon its already outstanding predecessor, with a performance of the century from Heath Ledger as The Joker.
  84. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    I can not believe that people actually complained about its length. I would watch this masterwork if it was 5 hours. Another Nolan movie, what did you expect? Twisters at their best, magnificent acting by Heath Ledger... Seriously I am speechless about it. Watch it, and be amazed by The Dark Knight.
  85. Jul 24, 2013
    9
    Best joker (Heath Ledger) ever and my favourite Batman movie. The last scene with the 2 ships is thrilling and very tense, I also enjoyed Morgan Freeman's performance as Lucius Fox.
  86. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    What an amazing film. To all the critics who say that the movie is too long need to understand that it needed to be that long to fit such a good movie into. Bale and Ledger were the stars of the show and the effects were top knotch. A true classic.
  87. Jul 10, 2013
    9
    This is best rated and most popular Batman movie in the series. Add in the best music by Hans Zimmer, the best supporting actor of Heath Ledger, the great cast and the sound effects, you create the most serious adapted comic-book movie ever. Only thing I disliked is the deeper voice of the Batman which might have been too under-toned.
  88. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    OK, why 2,5 hrs? Honestly, the first hour of the film just felt unnecessary...it was after the road chase that I basically become more interested in the film. After all, it is suppose to be a comic book based action film. The acting was very good. It seemed to me that at times Maggie Gyllenhaal was exaggerating a bit, but she did her job well and she was definitely better than that other girl (Katie whatever....brrrr). But one man really stood out Heath Ledger rocked! Undoubtedly the best Joker EVER! (c'mon, go give him the Oscar...). This film can only be described as good as the previous Nolan Batman due to Heath's performance. Overall, the film involves a lot of twist and turns that are so over the top, they become enjoyable (dead people turn out to be alive, seriously injured people seeking revenge as if they have no injury at all, helicopters being brought down coz it got caught in wire-rope, batman catching a ride on (or rather, outside of) a plane while it's in flight, etc). Oh, and expect that feel-good utopia American ending... Expand
  89. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    Dark, complex, unforgettable and an excellent production, The Dark Knight succeeds not just as an entertaining comic book film, but as a richly thrilling crime saga.
  90. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    The best director in modern times,the best story for a superhero movie,extraordinary performances from the actors(Special mention-HEATH LEDGER-Hats Off),best music director putting up the best background score ever and many many more aspects which will be among the best for a long,long time.WHAT MORE DO YOU WANT!!!!!!!
  91. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    There is no way we can say Christopher Nolan is not from the elite in Hollywood, with this movie he proves that he can even make a superhero movie become an Oscar contendant not only in visual effects categories, he just delivers a masterpiece that is so real that starts to be scary.

    And not only Christopher Nolan, also the extraordinary cast starting with the breathless performance of
    the joker, and the excellent choice for Batman, Christian Bale. Expand
  92. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    The Dark Knight is a very tightly woven and smart movie. The plot is engaging, the characters are each unique and well acted (especially the joker) and the action is intense. Really, there is no issue with this movie. It's damn near perfect. You'll be interested and on the edge of your seat from the beginning to the end of the movie.
    The Dark Knight is not only the best Batman movie ever,
    it is also the greatest super hero based movie ever. Do yourself a favor and go watch it. Expand
  93. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    To me, this was the perfect Batman story brought to the big screen ever. It was dark, and played with different levels of good vs evil and everything in between. The acting was top notch, especially Ledger's performance which will go down in Hollywood history it was so well done. Kudos to the Nolans for putting this fantastic movie on the big screen for us fans to enjoy.
  94. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    What can be said? This film is just simply amazing. many believe Avengers was the best superhero film of all time, but I believe The Dark knight is the greatest.
  95. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    The best of Nolan's Batman Trilogy. The entire cast was solid, but it was Heath Ledger who stole the show as the Joker with one of the best performances I've seen in cinema. It doesn't have as much action as other recent super hero movies, but it more than makes up for that with great writing and intense scenes. This movie deserves all of the praise it has gotten.
  96. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    Self-indulgent pretentious crap. He ruined the Batman series. Mindless trash this was. Still hate it to this day. No wonder everybody hated the last one, its because this one was the set up to an even worse one.
  97. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    Not only one of the best sequels of all-time, but one of the best films ever made. Heath Ledger did a brilliant job portraying the Joker, as did Christian Bale for playing Bruce Wayne/Batman.
  98. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    An extraordinary adventure film with action all the time. One of the best Batman movies. Fans are going to love, Haters are going to love. Christopher Nolan is probably the best director nowadays.
  99. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    The best of the franchise. A perfect film from start to finish that never gets old. This film is slightly better then the other two because of Heath Ledger his portrayal of the Joker is to me the greatest villain of all time.
  100. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    This was a solid film. It is clear why other people thought this was excellent, but it left me a little indifferent. I just don't think I will ever be that intrigued by the entire Batman story. However, it has a very good performance by Ledger, good editing and music.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 100
    May be the most hopeless, despairing comic-book movie in memory. It creates a world where being a superhero is at best a double-edged sword and no triumph is likely to be anything but short-lived.
  2. Mixing bravura filmmaking with flat clichés in about equal amounts, The Dark Knight is all about dualism. Appropriately, the movie's half-inspired, half-frustrating.
  3. An action blockbuster extravaganza that's sadder than sad and never pretends otherwise.