Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 18, 2008
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 4864 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
4,404
Mixed:
185
Negative:
275
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
PaulPeterJul 30, 2008
Not for little pussies wanting to see a self righteous boyscout as their superhero.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
toml.Dec 8, 2008
What a fantastic film. Great special effects, a super performance by Heath Ledger. How these bloody American newspapers keep scoring this film at anything below 100% is beyond me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffS.Oct 4, 2008
This is a film that is one of a kind. I watched it multiple times and the structure of it should be taught in schools. I bought the script so I could learn how a movie was properly done. This is one of the best crime movies ever made and it This is a film that is one of a kind. I watched it multiple times and the structure of it should be taught in schools. I bought the script so I could learn how a movie was properly done. This is one of the best crime movies ever made and it happens to have Batman in it. The best part is it all seems like it could happen. Everything in this movie is done well, and for the naysayers...It just proves that some people shouldn't be aloud to vote. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KentT.Jul 20, 2008
It's very difficult to explain how great "The Dark Knight" really is. I'm still in shock right now! "The Dark Knight" is probably the best summer movie so far, and may be the greatest movie this year! Let's talk about the It's very difficult to explain how great "The Dark Knight" really is. I'm still in shock right now! "The Dark Knight" is probably the best summer movie so far, and may be the greatest movie this year! Let's talk about the Joker first. We see him right when the movie starts, and even then, I fell in love with the character. The Joker is so maniacal, so cunning, and so bad ass that it's hard to not like him. He played the part so well that I almost forgot Heath was the one underneath the character. Heath Ledger obviously took the part seriously, and he gave us a living, breathing Joker. His performance is unforgettable. Early reviews praised Heath, and believed he may win an Oscar. I wanted to see for myself - and I totally agree. I hope he does win because he really deserves it. Throughout the whole movie, we get to see all of the Joker's crimes and schemes. I've got to admit that I was blown away by everything the Joker did. All of his plans were crazy, but at the same time smart, and many of them had twists. His final attempt was probably the best, and also the most psychological. The Joker pretty much made the film into a psychological thriller. You'll be surprised at how cunning the Joker is and also how much he thinks everything through. Even though he's effing crazy, you'll fall in love with the Joker. I was surprised at how funny the movie was. There were a few smart jokes from time to time, but the one that took the cake was, of course, the Joker. All the things he says, all the things he does, deserves a laugh. (I also agree that most of his quotes should be on t-shirts). So, Christian Bale reprises his role as Batman, and he definitely pulled it off again. Bale is great as Batman and Bruce Wayne, and he shows us how human Batman can be. His character is just as important as every other main character. Eckhart is simply wonderful as Harvey Dent, Gotham's "White Knight." Gyllenhaal is also a great replacement for Katie Holmes as Rachel Dawes. I certainly think that Gary Oldman and Morgan Freeman received bigger roles this time than the last, however it kind of felt like Michael Caine got a smaller part. But even though it did feel like that, Michael Caine still made a big impression. You all have probably already heard about the film's second villain, Two-Face. Two-Face is Harvey Dent's (Aaron Eckhart) other persona. He become Two-Face after a tragic accident (I'm not going to reveal the details), and becomes disfigured. Soon after, he goes on a rampage to take out the guilty and corrupt. Two-Face's trademark coin appears in the film, too. He uses this coin to decide the fate of his victims. Heads means the person will live, while the other side (a scratched up face) means the person will die). Two-Face portrays a very important moral that we discover in the film: "You either die a hero, or you live long enough to see yourself become the villain." That quote has a bit of irony in it, since it was also said by Harvey Dent in the film. Harvey Dent's character in this film probably took some inspiration from the graphic novel, "The Killing Joke." In the graphic novel, a character tries to prove that even the most upstanding citizen is capable of going mad after having "one bad day." The action in this film is amazing. The film doesn't just have explosions and violence for no reason. There's always a reason for them. Also, the stunts that were performed in this film was crazy good. In the trailer, there was a part where a truck flipped upside down and then crashed. You'll never guess what caused that to happen. Batman does some crazy tricks with his batpod, which pretty much just wowed and entertained the audience. Now let's compare this film to "Iron Man." Many have said how this film changed superhero films forever, just like how "Iron Man" did. But in my opinion, "Iron Man" never made a big impression to me. It was good, but it wasn't amazing. "Iron Man" just felt like another superhero movie, but "The Dark Knight" felt like an actual "film." So, did "The Dark Knight" live up to all the hype? I'd have to say it was even better than that. The trailers (despite how awesome they were) only showed us a fraction of how good "The Dark Knight" is; the film is so much more. The film has meaning - morals that we can use in life, and believable characters. Even with it's two and a half hour running time, never was the film boring. I had to sit near the front of the theater, and I was still entertained! It was entertaining and full of excitement from beginning to end. However, I kind of have mixed feelings about the ending. I didn't understand the ending at first, but after finding out I realized that it was a meaningful ending, but I don't know if I liked it or not. But still, that shouldn't keep you from seeing a fantastic film like this. Believe me, after you see the movie, you're going to want to see it again right away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregM.Jul 22, 2008
Simply amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MDJ2010Aug 1, 2008
A different class of superhero movie!! Doesn't treat the audience like idiots with the normal linear storyline, instead it juxtapositions an array of character factions asking the viewer to use their brains. The film manages to make a A different class of superhero movie!! Doesn't treat the audience like idiots with the normal linear storyline, instead it juxtapositions an array of character factions asking the viewer to use their brains. The film manages to make a better sociopolitical commentary post 911 than movies that have that as their sole intention and uses each character with success in that aim. Action, performances, visual beauty, humour, thought - this movie has it all!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GraAug 6, 2008
Excellent summer blockbuster. The joker's destructive madness is the perfect provocation for a Batman who is forced to re-examine his own ethical code. Heath Ledger is brilliant as the joker, and Christian Bale continues to be superb in Excellent summer blockbuster. The joker's destructive madness is the perfect provocation for a Batman who is forced to re-examine his own ethical code. Heath Ledger is brilliant as the joker, and Christian Bale continues to be superb in all his roles. There's a good story, which occasionally borders (even sometimes crosses into) the implausible, but it works extremely well. Of course it's going to be over-the-top in places; it's a film about a comic book superhero who dresses up as a bat! As such a film, it is relentlessly spectacular. If I'm honest, I doubt any of the low-raters truly believe that it deserves a 0 or a 1. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jhoroz.Aug 6, 2008
This movie was incredible. I would have stayed 3 hours in the cinema to watch the entire thing. I'm tired of how people complain the movie is too long, while to me it was the fastest 2 1/2 hours of my life. This movie was much better This movie was incredible. I would have stayed 3 hours in the cinema to watch the entire thing. I'm tired of how people complain the movie is too long, while to me it was the fastest 2 1/2 hours of my life. This movie was much better than bloody iron man, which was just filled with American cheese and a disjointed story. I think iron man is overrated, I think its good but doesn't deserve 79 on meta critic. I think batman begins was better than it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IlkayB.Oct 5, 2008
It's one of the best films ever made. Outstanding performances, outstanding plot and the flawless traps -almost- of Joker that make us uncomfortable on our seats.. I gave this movie a mega 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeanneL.Jul 1, 2008
This is the best action movie i have ever seen. my jaw was on the floor the entire movie, from the visuals, to the script, to the acting, every component was truly mind blowing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CristinZ.Jul 16, 2008
Just saw it last night, amazing film, gritty crime drama....so realistic, Heath was amazing, as was Eckhart, Bale and Oldman. I can't wait to see it again on Friday!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PerryC.Jul 18, 2008
Hands down, the best superhero movie ever created. The Dark Knight brings to life the real dark and twisted side of the Batman comics. It's about time theres a movie that comes out this dark. Everything in this movie is great; the Hands down, the best superhero movie ever created. The Dark Knight brings to life the real dark and twisted side of the Batman comics. It's about time theres a movie that comes out this dark. Everything in this movie is great; the drama, comedy, suspense, and of course action. Any professional critic who could rate this movie less than at least a 95 has no sense of what a great movie is made of, and should all be fired. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveA.Jul 18, 2008
Best movie of the year to date. Possible Best Picture nomination. Heath Ledger is incredible and what you have heard in reviews does not even come close to giving him justice in what he does for the role as the Joker. He makes Jack's Best movie of the year to date. Possible Best Picture nomination. Heath Ledger is incredible and what you have heard in reviews does not even come close to giving him justice in what he does for the role as the Joker. He makes Jack's Joker look like a bad high school acting job. The movie is very violent and I am surprised it was PG-13. It is action packed from the beginning to end. I saw it in the IMAX theater and all of the action scenes were done in IMAX. It adds a whole new experience to actually getting out of the house to se this movie. It is one that you don't just go to the movies for you go to see it in IMAX! The entire cast put on a great acting job with a well written script and plot lines. I think it could be the best Super Hero movie of all time is a pretty easy statement to say. The 2.5 hours that the movie plays goes by so fast I wanted to see more but man it wears you out. Go, you will enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronF.Jul 18, 2008
It couldn't have been better. That's all there is to it as far as I'm concerned. From the astounding directing to the superb acting, it never misses a beat, and all the while it keeps you guessing. One of the best things about It couldn't have been better. That's all there is to it as far as I'm concerned. From the astounding directing to the superb acting, it never misses a beat, and all the while it keeps you guessing. One of the best things about this is even I couldn't guess what would happen next, and I'm good at analyzing things like this. It does everything well and does it without feeling cliche or redone. And Heath may have actually been up to the challenge of topping Nicholson, especially in being so good while staying true to the comic's origins and feel for the Joker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChenW.Jul 18, 2008
Undoubtedly, the best comic book movie and the best superhero movie of all time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnU.Jul 18, 2008
When The Joker wore the nurse's uniform---holy-smoke.....nearly fell out of my seat!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamF.Jul 19, 2008
This movie is a beautiful darkness. It's impossible to say the movie is bad, its brilliant in it's genre. If you don't like it refrain from criticism of the movie, because it will be the darkness of the genre that turns you This movie is a beautiful darkness. It's impossible to say the movie is bad, its brilliant in it's genre. If you don't like it refrain from criticism of the movie, because it will be the darkness of the genre that turns you off. How ever if your open the beautiful darkness then see it. And if you say hate this movie, why so serious? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelLJul 19, 2008
Best BATMAN made? Easy YES, the best! However, forget about that this movie has comic behind it. The movie itself has so many deep characters... so well thought it, and action scenes comes across as real. Quite a few twist and turns. The Best BATMAN made? Easy YES, the best! However, forget about that this movie has comic behind it. The movie itself has so many deep characters... so well thought it, and action scenes comes across as real. Quite a few twist and turns. The jokers character is VERY hard to come out in a movie. Jack did, had fun. But Heath Ledge WAS the joker, ever ycomic I ever read, their characters all transformed in Heath. This movie REALLY pays homage to the comics, If you're been reading comics for years, youll know why I mea. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CesarF.Jul 19, 2008
Dark and exciting
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LelandK.Jul 21, 2008
Christopher Nolan takes a superhero genre and turns into a crime thriller. Ledger's performance combines Alex in A Clockwork Orange with Capt. Jack Sparrow; a semi-comedic joker who thrives on violence. The cast was great and i would Christopher Nolan takes a superhero genre and turns into a crime thriller. Ledger's performance combines Alex in A Clockwork Orange with Capt. Jack Sparrow; a semi-comedic joker who thrives on violence. The cast was great and i would like to see the feature again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinB.Jul 20, 2008
The first Batman movie to make Batman feel real. The joker could be in New York or LA just as easily as in Gotham City. Ledger's performance is fantastic, and goes beyond the villain that fellow Dark Knight actor Gary Oldman portrays in The first Batman movie to make Batman feel real. The joker could be in New York or LA just as easily as in Gotham City. Ledger's performance is fantastic, and goes beyond the villain that fellow Dark Knight actor Gary Oldman portrays in The Professional. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RogerF.Jul 20, 2008
There is already so much praise for this movie that it kind of seems pointless to add my two-cents. But I loved it so much that I'm going to go ahead and post my first comment and rating ever since I discovered Metacritic several years There is already so much praise for this movie that it kind of seems pointless to add my two-cents. But I loved it so much that I'm going to go ahead and post my first comment and rating ever since I discovered Metacritic several years ago. I don't understand how it got an 82. I would have thought at least a 90 based solely on Heath Ledgers performance as The Joker. See this movie. Don't wait for the DVD. Go right now to the nearest theater and see The Dark Knight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimothyJul 20, 2008
The Dark Knight is easily the best superhero/comic adaptation movie ever made in Hollywood history. It offers in depth protrayal of the antihero personage of Batman and nihilistic madness of the Joker (Heath totally owns the role)- perhaps The Dark Knight is easily the best superhero/comic adaptation movie ever made in Hollywood history. It offers in depth protrayal of the antihero personage of Batman and nihilistic madness of the Joker (Heath totally owns the role)- perhaps even transcended that of the original comics. The deliberate sparsity of special effects lends a unique realism and grittiness. The only flaw I feel (minor) is that the role of Rachel Dawes still doesn't fit in very comfortably in the movie but Maggie is still a tremendous improvement over Katie Holmes. An unforgettable classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimL.Jul 20, 2008
I was suprized by this Movie! Did not expect it to live upto the hype. It kept my attention the entire time. Ledgers lip licking Joker was creepy, evil, and entertaining. You could easily forget he's not real. The critics that gave this I was suprized by this Movie! Did not expect it to live upto the hype. It kept my attention the entire time. Ledgers lip licking Joker was creepy, evil, and entertaining. You could easily forget he's not real. The critics that gave this movie low scores should have the Jokers pencil trick performed on them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricV.Jul 24, 2008
This movie was one of the most amazing pictures I've seen all year. It was unparalled in the acting ability portrayed in the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TravisJ.Jul 20, 2008
There isn't anything i could change about this movie. perfect 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErnieD.Jul 20, 2008
This film lived up to it's hype, it may have been the best comic book movie I'd ever seen, no make that the best movie! Truly stunning effects, and the acting was outstanding. Anybody rating this movie low either has it in for This film lived up to it's hype, it may have been the best comic book movie I'd ever seen, no make that the best movie! Truly stunning effects, and the acting was outstanding. Anybody rating this movie low either has it in for someone involved with it or doesn't know the history of the comic book. A true must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkMckIernanJul 20, 2008
Brilliant, dark, good versus evil. Heath gets the Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnT.Jul 20, 2008
Oh my God, how did Critics give this an 82?? I've finally lost complete respect for them. This movie, was absolutely-amazing. If not for Batman's rumbly voice I would venture far enough to say it's perfect. Keith Ledger Oh my God, how did Critics give this an 82?? I've finally lost complete respect for them. This movie, was absolutely-amazing. If not for Batman's rumbly voice I would venture far enough to say it's perfect. Keith Ledger absolutely dominates his role as the Joker. The fight scenes where absolutely amazing. There was one plot twist after another. I'm giving this movie a 10 despite the rumbly voice, it was simply far too good and it deserves nothing less. A++, see this movie NOW! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FelipeP.Jul 20, 2008
Heath Ledger stole the movie, best Batman Movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RashadS.Jul 20, 2008
This is not only the best super hero movie ever, but probably the best movie ever. Yes, right up there with godfather! I will also use this movie to gauge movie critics. Anyone giving this less than a ten will come under severe question from This is not only the best super hero movie ever, but probably the best movie ever. Yes, right up there with godfather! I will also use this movie to gauge movie critics. Anyone giving this less than a ten will come under severe question from me and I just cant trust there reviews no longer. P.S. Heath lived up to the hype! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCJul 28, 2008
This is easily the best movie of the year in my opinion and possibly the best movie i have ever seen. Ignore the negative critics, they gave it bad reviews because they saw 100's and said "Oh no this could get better reviews than theThis is easily the best movie of the year in my opinion and possibly the best movie i have ever seen. Ignore the negative critics, they gave it bad reviews because they saw 100's and said "Oh no this could get better reviews than the Godfather so i better make sure it doesn't". With excuses like its not fun or it's too dark, you can tell they can't back up their evidence. Is the movie dark? sure but give me a break its a comic book based on a man who had his parents killed and is out for revenge in a way. It's not as dark as people may believe, it's got a lot of humor thanks to the finest performance i have ever seen. You can take all the hype and all you heard about Heath Ledger and how good he did but when you walk out you will still be in aw and it will still impress you. From the way he walks to the way he twitches, it is a beautiful sight even if it's not supposed to be. He is so good that you may actually find yourself rooting for him, but luckily Christian Bale is no slouch and like always he performes brilliantly. These two actors single handedely made the movie from a great category to a classic category. The only flaw which isn't too bad is the length but the more the better. Also, there are so many probems that come up in the movie and so many storylines that like some critics said it is hard to obtain all of it in one viewing. Like a great music CD, it's a movie that you could watch 10 times and on the 10th time say "Oh wow i never noticed that before". This movie is an instant classic in my opinion and not to upset anyone but i find this much more entertaining than the Godfather movies. Maybe its just me but i would rather watch this 5 times instead of watch the Godfather, even if the Godfather is a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdwinJul 20, 2008
Watched it twice..can't get enough of it...the best movie so far that I've watched this year...and in fact its a superhero movie makes it even better!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahB.Jul 28, 2008
Brilliant! Best movie I've seen in a long time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielR.Jul 20, 2008
My new favorite movie. This movie was it. All of the actors were glossed over because of Heath Ledger's amazing turn as the best freakin villain ever (in my humble opinion). He brought a kind of anti-star power: stripped of his face, My new favorite movie. This movie was it. All of the actors were glossed over because of Heath Ledger's amazing turn as the best freakin villain ever (in my humble opinion). He brought a kind of anti-star power: stripped of his face, he's freer than he has ever been before to savor each moment onscreen as a character with a lust for life, death, and most of all, chaos. This film has been called a crime epic, and it is, but it is something much more; like No Country for Old Men, it is a philosophical struggle to find morality in this crazy world. Christopher Nolan makes the ballsiest film of the summer; one that's not afraid to be long, not afraid to be smart, not afraid to be deep. Also, they flipped over an 18-wheeler in the middle of Chicago. Ballsy. And it's gonna pay off. Hell, it already did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaliaN.Jul 31, 2008
amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing movie ... simple the best batman movie EVER ... Heath Ledger was PHENOMENAL. there has to be an amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing movie ... simple the best batman movie EVER ... Heath Ledger was PHENOMENAL. there has to be an honorary oscar or something for him Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
johnwJul 30, 2008
Far and away the best film based on a comic book ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
poansapopJul 30, 2008
Amazing! deserves a 10 on heath ledgers performance alone!... add that to the awesome story,depth and just brilliance and you have the best film of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
C.K.Aug 1, 2008
Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jwAug 2, 2008
If any one thing is creepiest about Ledger's Joker, it might be that he actually seems to get more comfortable as the movies wears on. To the point that when finally hung upside-down from a skyscraper by Batman, he seems almost at If any one thing is creepiest about Ledger's Joker, it might be that he actually seems to get more comfortable as the movies wears on. To the point that when finally hung upside-down from a skyscraper by Batman, he seems almost at peace. Here is someone who can't take off his mask; someone whose success ensures that Bruce Wayne can't take his off, either - even when he most wants to. But despite himself the Joker is a "planner," and in fact a very good one. It isn't chaos that he craves so much as momentum. The comedy of his nurse routine (where Ledger really scores points) comes from his frustration at the slightest hitch in what is otherwise going completely his way. Meanwhile Bruce finds himself increasingly reverting to terrorist tactics to stop the madness. Each is more like the other than they want to be. It's why the Joker is the most dangerous of supervillans. He debunks the very genre that created him. His threat is to the IDEA of a Batman. That the madman comes so very close to being proven right is why this movie is serious business. And Heath Ledger's performance is why it deserves a 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.Aug 3, 2008
Love it. Never bored, couldn't wait to find out what was going to happen next. Makes me really regret what happened to Heath as he clearly had some amazing roles in store for him. I never go to the movies, but man am I glad we forked Love it. Never bored, couldn't wait to find out what was going to happen next. Makes me really regret what happened to Heath as he clearly had some amazing roles in store for him. I never go to the movies, but man am I glad we forked over the $20 for us to go. Worth every cent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KTBAug 5, 2008
The film on it's own was good, but Ledgers Joker made it amazing. The best film of 2008!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamieAug 6, 2008
If I could give it an 11 out of 10 i would, just seen it 2nd time now there's so much to it and yet its generally very easy to keep up with, they couldn't have made a more perfect Batman film. Surpasses films like Spiderman by If I could give it an 11 out of 10 i would, just seen it 2nd time now there's so much to it and yet its generally very easy to keep up with, they couldn't have made a more perfect Batman film. Surpasses films like Spiderman by miles. In my top 5 films of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeLAug 8, 2008
It is definitely the most faithful batman movie yet, and without a doubt my favorite superhero movie. I've seen it 3 times, once in Imax, and I liked it better each time I saw it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Rossb.Sep 1, 2008
Epic - this may not be what some expect from a 'comic book superhero movie', but it's the best movie I've seen for a long time. This is an ensemble piece, where the joker may outshine the rest with his mesmeric craziness, Epic - this may not be what some expect from a 'comic book superhero movie', but it's the best movie I've seen for a long time. This is an ensemble piece, where the joker may outshine the rest with his mesmeric craziness, but not by much - there's fantastic performances everywhere, from bale, caine, and particularly eckhart and oldman. It's a crime thriller following 3 men's attempts to save gotham city, beautifully shot, fantastic score by zimmer, and any flaws it has are so minor compared to what Nolan has achieved here, that it has to have 10 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarenD.Sep 22, 2008
This movie seriously rocked hard core and I believe that the Joker is an AMAZING character!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesC.Jan 30, 2009
This is a brillant movie, packed with twists and turns, darken elements and much more. It certainly lives up to its hype and includes political, economical, and foreign affairs. The actors were brilliant. Christian Bale is brillant, in fact This is a brillant movie, packed with twists and turns, darken elements and much more. It certainly lives up to its hype and includes political, economical, and foreign affairs. The actors were brilliant. Christian Bale is brillant, in fact the best Batman ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhillllipppJan 7, 2009
anyone who DIDN'T like this movie is a complete idiot!!! a fantastic work of pure genius, except i didn't like the batman part (cos i hate that superhero rubbish), it was the joker that was worth watching it for. when i found out anyone who DIDN'T like this movie is a complete idiot!!! a fantastic work of pure genius, except i didn't like the batman part (cos i hate that superhero rubbish), it was the joker that was worth watching it for. when i found out about Heith Ledger's death i wasn't as shocked as i should have been (and i'm from australia, where it was all over the news), but after watching this movie i finally realise how much skill he had as an actor, and i now feel sadness that i should have felt before that he is no longer here. you know that you're supposed to hate him in this movie and that he's the bad guy who's killing everyone, but he's so... cool... They cover his face with paint to make him look ugly, and they give him a character that you're eant to dislike, and you still like him. A fine way to go Heith, a fine way to go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdwardF.Mar 10, 2009
Excellent movie. Never saw a superhero movie like this one. Mind blowing performance by Heath Ledger.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertT.Nov 19, 2008
I saw "The Dark Knight" in the theatres-21 times. I tell you there has not been a solid super-hero movie that I have not liked and"The Dark Knight" is no exemption, especially with Christian Bale as Batman. He is absolutely my favorite actor I saw "The Dark Knight" in the theatres-21 times. I tell you there has not been a solid super-hero movie that I have not liked and"The Dark Knight" is no exemption, especially with Christian Bale as Batman. He is absolutely my favorite actor in this one and I for one hope he comes back to complete the trilogy. A friend of mine is getting me this movie as a christmas gift and I am looking forward to that. My dream is to someday have my own television station airing these kinds of movies and I will be excited about the up and coming "Batman3". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GusM.Nov 19, 2008
This is one of the best cast with an amazin cast and the best supporting actor role or best role ever done by someone. The joker was amazin.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KaylaG.Nov 5, 2008
For the tragic death of Heath Ledgar what an amazing performance to end his career. I was never interested in the hole Batman movies. Then I saw "The Dark Knight" and it is now one of my favorite movies. Christopher Nolan what an amazing For the tragic death of Heath Ledgar what an amazing performance to end his career. I was never interested in the hole Batman movies. Then I saw "The Dark Knight" and it is now one of my favorite movies. Christopher Nolan what an amazing job. You found the right characters to play in the movie and boy did they do an amazing job. By far a 10 in my eyes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianS.Oct 2, 2008
This is the best movie ever made. It has everything you want in a movie. Excellent sequalt to Batman Begins. If possible i would give it 1000000000 out of ten.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErlantzJ.Oct 22, 2008
Incredibly well done movie, with great action, better casting and good plot. I love this movie, dark like the real batman, gray like the real life. I can't stop thinking in Joker's character. It's a pitty we won't see him again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamMDec 30, 2008
"The Dark Knight" is the best movie i've seen this year. It makes other batman movies seem like they were were written by three year olds. If you haven't seen this your are missing out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradC.Oct 3, 2008
There are times when you know your going to see a good movie and then there are times you come out seeing a movies that was better than the hype and thats as rare as the Knicks making it to the playoffs but thats exactly what happened with There are times when you know your going to see a good movie and then there are times you come out seeing a movies that was better than the hype and thats as rare as the Knicks making it to the playoffs but thats exactly what happened with The Dark Knight.From start to finish my seat had no more edge to seat on,Everyone and i mean everyone played there charactor to the bone and bought them to live but the real scene stealler is of course The Late Heath Ledger this was a role that any ordinary actor could play but 1 in a generation could live and not know they were acting and thats how brillent and am memorising heaths Psychopathic clown really is and the most Supporting Actor Oscor worthy performance ive ever seen. RIP HEATH. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
dfgdfsdfgdJul 1, 2008
Best comic book movie ever made. Even saying that though is an understatement. The fact that it's a comic book movie is incidental. This is an epic drama. Similar to Heat in many ways. The visual style, the writing, acting, direction Best comic book movie ever made. Even saying that though is an understatement. The fact that it's a comic book movie is incidental. This is an epic drama. Similar to Heat in many ways. The visual style, the writing, acting, direction are all at such a high level. Heath Ledger will be missed even moreso after this film when you realize he was only 28 when doing this role. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TRJul 12, 2008
Very Detailed and tons of everything you need in a movie. Definitely the highest of the summer, yet alone the year and maybe even the century!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeroyR.Jul 10, 2008
This is the essence of the comics captured with film its simply spectacular I wonder how many times I will see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabeM.Jul 14, 2008
This movie is awesome! The Joker is absolutely insane.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenLJul 16, 2008
Flawless. Absolutely riveting. Nolan goes back to the intensity first seen in Memento. One of the best performances by H. Ledger. In awe of his performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
toofaceJul 16, 2008
Fantastic movie, Heath deserves an oscar for his gritty portrayal of the Dark Knights arch enemy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
darknightfanJul 16, 2008
One of the most brilliant movies I have seen in my life!!!!!!! The action keeps your hurt pumping like hell... keep it up Nolan!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RemusM.Jul 17, 2008
This movie makes all the other superhero movies look like Bio-dome. A true epic from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenW.Jul 17, 2008
Such a brilliant movie, heath ledgers playing as the joker is amazing as well as Christian bale playing batman. would have to say the best movie of 2008 that i have seen so far, heath deserves an Oscar for his role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KajJul 1, 2008
A superb movie brimming with darkness and intense. The insanity that Hedge Ledger brings to the Joker is so convincing, that you will never view a super hero movie as unrealistic ever again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnieM.Jul 17, 2008
What a roller-coaster ride! Great editing, cinematography, and screenplay. I've seen it twice on IMAX (the best way to view it, if you've got it available). The first time left me dazed and exhausted. The second left me What a roller-coaster ride! Great editing, cinematography, and screenplay. I've seen it twice on IMAX (the best way to view it, if you've got it available). The first time left me dazed and exhausted. The second left me exhilarated. I'm not a comic book hero fan, but I loved Batman Begins, and The Dark Knight trumps it. Brilliant. Be careful, though...it's not for kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyP.Jul 18, 2008
This is easily the best super hero movie I have ever seen. Heath Ledger played the joker perfectly. The fact that the movie didn't rely on special effects and CG to make it "good" is honorable. It really is difficult to explain exactly This is easily the best super hero movie I have ever seen. Heath Ledger played the joker perfectly. The fact that the movie didn't rely on special effects and CG to make it "good" is honorable. It really is difficult to explain exactly how good this movie was with words. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.Jul 18, 2008
This movie will not only be remembered as the final display of Ledger's unparalleled ability to make his character truly jump out of the screen and into your soul, but it will be remembered as the defining moment for the superhero This movie will not only be remembered as the final display of Ledger's unparalleled ability to make his character truly jump out of the screen and into your soul, but it will be remembered as the defining moment for the superhero genre. Christopher Nolan has actually created a film that redefines the genre, that's something not a lot of people can say. Watching this film is an experience that is undefinable. This film is certainly at a constant climax and that is no hyperbole. Anything can happen in Gotham, and this movie portrays that with an all around perfect sculpture on which to build upon. No one thought a Batman movie could be ranked with some of the best crime dramas in the last decade, but I'm here to tell you that The Dark Knight is not only one of the best, it just might be the best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanB.Jul 18, 2008
Every seat was filled in our theater... and pure silence throughout -I've never seen anything quite like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SethP.Jul 18, 2008
Chris Nolan takes the story to a whole new level. Heath Ledger does more than you can imagine with the Joker and steals the show. It is sad that he is no longer with us, but his last full performance will always be with us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnR.Jul 18, 2008
Oh, now I remember why I never used to listen to critics. It must really enrage some of them that the most engaging and thought-provoking piece of fiction to grace a movie screen in years has turned out to be a summer popcorn super hero Oh, now I remember why I never used to listen to critics. It must really enrage some of them that the most engaging and thought-provoking piece of fiction to grace a movie screen in years has turned out to be a summer popcorn super hero movie that people can actually get behind and enjoy to the fullest. This is a morality play that would have made Shakespeare proud, and unlike "No Country," or the other Oscar-aspiring movies out there, this one does it with the style, flash, and heart that make people want to go to the movies in the first place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelKJul 18, 2008
This isn't a comic book movie; this is a superlative crime drama.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BabyJ.Jul 18, 2008
An outstanding achievement from director Nolan; Batman Begins was a great piece of work, but 'The Dark Night' easily surpasses it in every aspect. Christian Bale once again rises to the occasion and delivers a performance that is An outstanding achievement from director Nolan; Batman Begins was a great piece of work, but 'The Dark Night' easily surpasses it in every aspect. Christian Bale once again rises to the occasion and delivers a performance that is far superior to any of the previous actors that have donned the Bat Suit, and cements his reputation as one of the finest actors of the past decade. Heath Ledger is terrifying as the Joker, in a performance, that i think, warrants an academy award nomination. In my opinion, the best film of 2008. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulK.Jul 18, 2008
Brilliant. The one to beat for 2008. Believe the hype.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WhySoSerious?Jul 19, 2008
This is a crime/drama thriller that just happens to have eccentric characters. Thus, it will reach a far wider audience than the normal comic book movie ever would. Heath Ledger as the Joker is one of the best on screen performances in This is a crime/drama thriller that just happens to have eccentric characters. Thus, it will reach a far wider audience than the normal comic book movie ever would. Heath Ledger as the Joker is one of the best on screen performances in recent memory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeIllJul 19, 2008
Spectacular. I walked in the theater expecting one of the best films ever, and I did not leave with one iota of disappointment. Easily the best film this year and probably the best film I've seen in years. Ledger, dead or alive, is a Spectacular. I walked in the theater expecting one of the best films ever, and I did not leave with one iota of disappointment. Easily the best film this year and probably the best film I've seen in years. Ledger, dead or alive, is a shoo-in for an Oscar. Anyone who thinks otherwise doesn't have a valid cinematic opinion in my book. Not once during his brilliant portrayal did I think about the magazines, tabloids, or the fact that he was dead. I was simply in awe of a phenomenal performance. Sorry, Jack Nicholson, but this is why they didn't consult you. This Joker isn't a wanna-be stand-up comedian. Hes a sociopathic anarchist who rings truer than any comic book villain ever captured on film. The movie probably isn't artsy enough to get a Best Picture nod, but it's guaranteed to get the Visual Effects and Cinematography Oscars. The comparisons to Heat are accurate. There are images from this film that will stick with me for the rest of my life. Don't even put this in the category of "Superhero Films" unless you mention Batman Begins. No way is any Spider-Man or Iron Man film even close to the realm of where this franchise is at right now. If you don't like comic book or action movies, you're not likely to enjoy this film. If you liked, even loved Batman Begins, then I find it extremely hard to imagine that you will leave the theater feeling dissatisfied. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleK.Jul 19, 2008
A complete masterpiece that never crawls and never speeds by. The danger seems real and the Joker is one sociopath that actually is frightening.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanS.Jul 19, 2008
Words fail to describe this. My only distraction was the mild attempts at blockbuster-sylized humor every now and then, and teh fact that everyone made it out to sound dark and sadistic, when it was just psychological, not dark (as in my opinion.)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewT.Jul 19, 2008
Great movie had everything from action and phenomenal acting on parts of Ledger Bale and Eckhart.another great direction from Nolan overall great and ledger hands down beats Nicholson's Joker. Highly recommend!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EhabA.Jul 19, 2008
This is the best movie not only for the summer but of all time,the story,characters,even actors are the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnalogManJul 19, 2008
I say the movie is brilliant (as a comic book maniac and as a movie lover).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HajhirM.Jul 19, 2008
This movie was a masterpiece in it's own right. The atmosphere portrayed by Nolan and the cast created a world that not only was believable, but possible. From Bruce Wayne's psychological struggle with Batman to the world of Gotham This movie was a masterpiece in it's own right. The atmosphere portrayed by Nolan and the cast created a world that not only was believable, but possible. From Bruce Wayne's psychological struggle with Batman to the world of Gotham that seems on the verge utter chaos. The cast really showed what acting is all about in this movie, the undeniable presence of the Joker brought a sense of instilled fear that will go down in movie history. The performance created by the Heath was so impressive that I never once thought there was an actor behind the makeup. I found no flaw or nuance in any of the actors at any point in the movie, I literally felt as though I was watching a "comic-book" tale come to life. The Joker is not a terrorist or a psychopathic killer, he is the complete and utter opposite of everything good in a human being. There is no villain or evil worse than a being that is the full embodiment of pure chaos and anarchy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCJul 19, 2008
I saw this yesterday around 3:30, and my theaters in Westminster turned into the Bat Cave. They took the old posters from last year and graffiti-ed all of them to promote the Dark Knight, which was brilliant and a great reception. Never haveI saw this yesterday around 3:30, and my theaters in Westminster turned into the Bat Cave. They took the old posters from last year and graffiti-ed all of them to promote the Dark Knight, which was brilliant and a great reception. Never have I seen something like that happen since Lord of the Rings. And the film made it all better. It's not every summer you get a superhero movie that is a masterpiece. This was proven last year with, you guessed it, Spider-Man 3. I was hoping that this would be not be another one of those types of movies. And thankfully, it wasn't. Heath Ledger, my God, you can't imagine. He does a great job in probably the best preformance from an actor, not just in a superhero film, but any film, EVER. If he doesn't get nominated for Best Actor at the Oscars this year (despite the fact he's dead), I will throw the biggest ballbaby fit I ever had and I will be swearing more than usual. This film is totally dark, and it's not like Fantastic Four or Spider-Man, it's crazy. There are some very gruesome images in this movie even for a PG-13 rating. Which means do not take little kids to see this film. The film is far more superior than Batman Begins. It has great action and far better acting than Batman Begins, especially for the character of Rachel Dawes. Maggie Gyllenhaal is a much better Rachel Dawes than what Katie Holmes was. And it was like they took all the flaws of the first and got rid of it. And it ends well. I say see it, or you are missing out. I give this a perfect 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HernanM.Jul 19, 2008
the best superheroe movie in all time, the joker is spectacular.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RahulD.Jul 19, 2008
This movie was phenomenal. Heath Ledger's Joker was genuinely scary. This movie had a dark and scary aspect, but a hidden bright side.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CooperH.Jul 19, 2008
Astounding and powerful - Ledger is unstoppable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeH.Jul 19, 2008
Spellbinding performance by Ledger - Heath outshines Nicholson's Joker by truly becoming the villain, not just playing him.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianS.Jul 20, 2008
The best batman movie ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
C.K.Jul 20, 2008
Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeinadB.Jul 20, 2008
All of Nolan's films require thought. His films are never just a "whodunit" but big resounding WHYs? What led to the "why," etc. Memento was amazing. Prestige was truly good -especially if you have ever done reading on Tesla, his All of Nolan's films require thought. His films are never just a "whodunit" but big resounding WHYs? What led to the "why," etc. Memento was amazing. Prestige was truly good -especially if you have ever done reading on Tesla, his creepiness and genius and cult like activities leading to madness. Batman Begins is another WHY. Dark Knight is a How and Why when all known societal WHYs do not appply in the face of a new and deadly threat. Aren't the WHY's of life what eat at us on deep and universal levels? Nolan strikes this chord full force in Knight. The plot may seem jumbled, but like Memento and Prestige, which also seemed so, there is a constant theme...a constant moving towards something. As the face of evil comes closer and closer, we find that it is not that dissimilar from our own face...merely one thing or another and it could be ours. Nolan, I salute you. All your films have been great. The bst things is, like Knight, the more and more you think about them, the better they get. That, ladies and gentleman, is a great film. One that will last. One that grows as you think about it. NOTE ON SALON REVIEW: With the exception of Rope and Shadow of a Doubt, Hitchcock is highly overrated. Yes, he was a fantastic manipulator of fear. He was a great director, but his films are never deep or moving. They are interesting and gimicky, but they never (with exceptions) touch on deep issues. Please, don't compare everyone to old Alfred, the man who made films about birds, matricidal homosexuals, and everything else (shocking for the times) but dull. GO SEE DARK KNIGHT NOW BUT DO NOT BRING KIDS! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidA.Jul 20, 2008
The best comic book movie i have ever seen if heath ledger does not win an oscar i will be pissed for the person that says that it is too confusing and long he can go back to watching the older batmans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleC.Jul 20, 2008
This movie was amazing! Heath's Joker blasts Jack's out of the water! Just enough of a pyschotic to make things interesting but not enough to totally creep me out. I can't think of a negative for this movie honestly. I This movie was amazing! Heath's Joker blasts Jack's out of the water! Just enough of a pyschotic to make things interesting but not enough to totally creep me out. I can't think of a negative for this movie honestly. I didn't even mind that it was 2 hours and 40 minutes long, in fact I was so into the movie the time flew by! Havey's facial injury looked amazing...as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DangeloC.Jul 21, 2008
A powerful use of every resouce movie, Ledger is the biggest Joker oof our times!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DamianoS.Jul 21, 2008
One of the most enthralling movies I have seen in recent times. It was miles ahead of all the recent superhero flicks for the realism and depth of the characters and the completely unpredictable direction the movie takes across the entire time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MorganK.Jul 20, 2008
Did not know what was going to happen at any given moment; in a world of cliches, that is the highest compliment, and one paid to what once once considered a B-level genre, the superhero movie. A perfect balance of story, moral Did not know what was going to happen at any given moment; in a world of cliches, that is the highest compliment, and one paid to what once once considered a B-level genre, the superhero movie. A perfect balance of story, moral contemplation, entertainment, homage, execution, technical achievement, and so on. Christopher Nolan's ambitiousness never once exceeded his grasp. Any minor flaw can be easily overlooked by the achievements of this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaunR.Jul 21, 2008
Wow! Amazing! There isn't much to say that hasn't been said, Bale is the best Batman we've seen but still took a backseat to Eckhart's great performance as Harvey Dent and there are no words to describe Heath Wow! Amazing! There isn't much to say that hasn't been said, Bale is the best Batman we've seen but still took a backseat to Eckhart's great performance as Harvey Dent and there are no words to describe Heath Ledger's Joker. A final performance that will go down as one of the best acting jobs ever, let alone a comic book/super hero movie. I don't know if Bale is signed on for another movie or not, they could end it now and it would be perfect but if Nolan and Bale come back with a 3rd movie I will be in line on opening weekend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnF.Jul 20, 2008
I have maybe seen only one or two movies that I could sit through and watch over and over again and this one tops them all. I could watch The Dark Knight over and over and over again, it is filled with everything you couldve ever hoped for I have maybe seen only one or two movies that I could sit through and watch over and over again and this one tops them all. I could watch The Dark Knight over and over and over again, it is filled with everything you couldve ever hoped for in a movie. Everyone stood up and applauded when this movie ended, it has emerged as one off my favorite movies ever. Heath Ledger deserves an Oscar for his performance as he possesses every element of a maniac and perfects it. A great story, great acting and great charachters make this the best movie of the summer, best superhero movie and one of the best in years Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarryW.Jul 20, 2008
Conservative christians should praise Heath Ledger for the this performance; it will make you believe in the devil.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulM.Jul 20, 2008
A solid sequel to Batman Begins, with Heath Ledger's outstanding performance as the Joker cutting a sinister edge onto the series. Without a doubt this decade's best villain. Go see this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful