User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 87
  2. Negative: 17 out of 87
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobertP.
    Jan 6, 2005
    0
    As soon as the movie ended, the guy behind yelled out "That movie really sucked." Everyone in the theatre agreed with him. The worst movie I've ever paid money to see.
  2. KyleM.
    Dec 28, 2004
    3
    The movie opens up strong, but you soon realize it is difficult to hear anything the characters are saying. Also, the plot becomes very complicated and you start to wonder if the producers wanted the viewers to be confused. Although it does have some good scare scenes and special effects, you soon have no idea whats going on and what happened to the characters that seemed like they were The movie opens up strong, but you soon realize it is difficult to hear anything the characters are saying. Also, the plot becomes very complicated and you start to wonder if the producers wanted the viewers to be confused. Although it does have some good scare scenes and special effects, you soon have no idea whats going on and what happened to the characters that seemed like they were supposed to do something. Oh yeah, it also doesn't have an ending. You are inthe middle of what you think is the climax and the screen goes black. I think the makers ran out of money or the realized the movie made no sense. Don't see it, you'll be disappointed. Expand
  3. DCleve
    Jan 19, 2005
    1
    By the looks of it, not many people have seen this movie- I don't blame them. This fim is straight from city dump cinemas. I found myself watching my watch more than the movie. This is one of those films that shouldn't have been made. While watching it, you get the feeling that this film was made simply because it could be. STAY AWAY!
  4. [Anonymous]
    Jan 2, 2005
    0
    Just awful. I don't like scary movies, but I wans't even scared.
  5. DanaG
    Jan 9, 2005
    3
    First of all, I didnt understand at least half of everything that was said with all of those Spanish accents. I couldnt tell if they were speaking in English or in Spanish. That made the plot semi-hard to follow. The plot wasn't very strong nor was it really explained at all. At the end I just had to ask myself why???? The ending made the entire theater burst into booing and cursing, First of all, I didnt understand at least half of everything that was said with all of those Spanish accents. I couldnt tell if they were speaking in English or in Spanish. That made the plot semi-hard to follow. The plot wasn't very strong nor was it really explained at all. At the end I just had to ask myself why???? The ending made the entire theater burst into booing and cursing, I thought a riot was going to start outside. Definitely not at the top of my list of horror films. Expand
  6. TonyB.
    Jan 9, 2005
    2
    I understood this movie completely. It made perfect sense ot me...it was just terrible. it's like they had 50 good ideas, and only fully executed one of them. And that was lighting...other than that, it's just bits and peices of good ideas that are never fully realized. It's wants to be seven types of movies, but never even makes it halfway into any genre. It wants to be an I understood this movie completely. It made perfect sense ot me...it was just terrible. it's like they had 50 good ideas, and only fully executed one of them. And that was lighting...other than that, it's just bits and peices of good ideas that are never fully realized. It's wants to be seven types of movies, but never even makes it halfway into any genre. It wants to be an occult thriller, but has just enough occult talk to advance the plot...but not enough to seem real. If you've seen the preview...you've seen the movie. When they want you to be scared, and slip in quick cuts of children in a hallway, and some big guy in the hallway..and then you're supposed to be scared. This is a really bad film. it's not even fun bad, like House of the Dead. It's just bad. Soul crushingly terrible. Expand
  7. JayD.
    May 18, 2005
    1
    Pathetic - absolutely excruciating... I rented this on DVD & had to continually rewind parts just to understand what the heck was being said. It's almost as if the director didn't WANT you to understand the lines... but in retrospect, maybe they were trying to be merciful because trust me - there wasn't any substance there anyway. All in all, I'd say it was a shallow, Pathetic - absolutely excruciating... I rented this on DVD & had to continually rewind parts just to understand what the heck was being said. It's almost as if the director didn't WANT you to understand the lines... but in retrospect, maybe they were trying to be merciful because trust me - there wasn't any substance there anyway. All in all, I'd say it was a shallow, cliche, noncohesive, incoherent, awful movie whose vigorously painful plot was out-done by its insultingly weak ending. Expand
  8. MarkB.
    Jun 18, 2005
    2
    Remember watching endless crummy 1960s Mexican vampire movies, Japanese giant lizard pix, Italian gladiator epics and polyglot secret agent thrillers on The Late, Late Show and becoming thoroughly convinced that no good genre movie could ever be made by people with vowels on the ends of their names? Hopefully we've all learned better by now, but this endless, Spanish-made horror Remember watching endless crummy 1960s Mexican vampire movies, Japanese giant lizard pix, Italian gladiator epics and polyglot secret agent thrillers on The Late, Late Show and becoming thoroughly convinced that no good genre movie could ever be made by people with vowels on the ends of their names? Hopefully we've all learned better by now, but this endless, Spanish-made horror pelota de queso could signify an immediate regression to that very limited and inaccurate mindset! A retread of the old house-that-doesn't-look-haunted-but-it-is plot, Darkness steals not only ideas and concepts but entire scenes wholecloth from The Shining, Poltergeist, Candyman, the original Amityville Horror, Final Destination and (insert favorite shocker here) but goes on forever with neverending setups and no scares; watching it is like hearing a soon-to-be-former friend tell the world's longest traveling salesman joke and then forgetting the punchline. Don't hold it against the cast: Anna Paquin, Lena Olin and Giancarlo Giannini are superb actors who give it everything they've got, which is infinitely more than what they're given. (Their work is the only reason this merits a 2.) Caveat emptor: if you slept through the PG-13 theatrical version this past winter, don't rent or buy the "uncut and unrated" DVD thinking you're going to be treated to some long-suppressed Lucio Fulci-type gorefest you were denied in theaters. It's not significantly bloody: it's unrated because the characters utter, mutter and scream a certain Anglo-Saxon vulgarism a lot more often than a PG-13 allows. You may find yourself using the same word a few times if you watch this. Expand
  9. MelisaS
    Jan 7, 2005
    0
    This movie was horrible and a waste of time and money. The commercial looks good but that's just a ploy. The only reason why I wasn't bored was because I was too busy trying to figure out what was going on.
  10. GeorgeJ.
    Jan 7, 2005
    0
    This movie is worse than any other movie i have ever seen. The cast looked like they tried but had nothing to work with. This movie was more of a comedy because of all the terrible phrases said by the actors. In the end my friends and I laughed our way out of the theater. This movie is as scary and horrifying as a dead rabid mouse. Overall you should not see this movie EVER. Don't This movie is worse than any other movie i have ever seen. The cast looked like they tried but had nothing to work with. This movie was more of a comedy because of all the terrible phrases said by the actors. In the end my friends and I laughed our way out of the theater. This movie is as scary and horrifying as a dead rabid mouse. Overall you should not see this movie EVER. Don't even rent it, it;'s not worth the money. I would never watch this movie again even if it was free. Expand
  11. RubyQ
    Mar 19, 2005
    1
    If you could look past a rambling plot, poor acting, and strange, incoherent clips, you would still be struck by how unsympathetic and one dimensional the characters were. It was so torturous to watch that I hoped killing them would end the movie sooner.
  12. Tony
    Dec 28, 2004
    4
    Boring, tired, and just plain cheap.
  13. Nightkin
    Dec 30, 2004
    1
    I have had my share of bad movies this year, but Darkness takes the cake. The story begins but it contains no middle or end; it could only serve, perhaps, as a part of a movie's body. What it lacks in content it tries to make up in cinematic style, which, as the PG-13 rating forecasted, lacked any quality in the occult subject-matter or any real character development. At times it I have had my share of bad movies this year, but Darkness takes the cake. The story begins but it contains no middle or end; it could only serve, perhaps, as a part of a movie's body. What it lacks in content it tries to make up in cinematic style, which, as the PG-13 rating forecasted, lacked any quality in the occult subject-matter or any real character development. At times it appears that Darkness even steals some from classic psychological thrillers such as The Shining. At one point Darkness is even reminiscient of lesser films such as, I'm afraid to say, Event Horizon. So uninventive scripting, poor directing and talentless acting leads to quite a poor movie with little for the relatively new cast to hang its hat. A bad movie is beneficial from time to time; good movies seem even better in contrast. But if you're not in the mood to see a bad movie, you better go see something else. Collapse
  14. Movie_Lover
    May 17, 2005
    0
    Oh my. Where to begin? This movie was possibly the farthest from a scary movie I've ever seen. It doesn't even compare to the Grudge and that was also a terrible movie. The theater was packed when I saw it and the only way people reacted, besides snoring, was laughing at the stupidity of the "Monday" "Tuesday" Subtitles. I wouldn't pay to see that movie again if it were the Oh my. Where to begin? This movie was possibly the farthest from a scary movie I've ever seen. It doesn't even compare to the Grudge and that was also a terrible movie. The theater was packed when I saw it and the only way people reacted, besides snoring, was laughing at the stupidity of the "Monday" "Tuesday" Subtitles. I wouldn't pay to see that movie again if it were the last movie on earth. Expand
  15. MichelleG.
    Dec 28, 2004
    0
    A complete waste of time, wanted my money back. The story had potential if they knew how to tell it. Almost walked out halfway through but kept waiting for it to get better.
  16. NicoleC.
    Dec 28, 2004
    2
    Looked like it might be scary in the previews, but turned out to not make ANY sense and was altogether a waste of $7. The only time I even flinched was when there were the cliche moments built upon suddenly loud music and creepy shadows. A '2' is generous and only recieved that for the bit of effort the cast and crew made.
Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 14 out of 16
  1. Horror at Christmas might work, but tedium doesn't.
  2. Some movies should never come to light, either, and Darkness, bearing a 2002 copyright, might well have been better left on the shelf.
  3. Reviewed by: Ned Martel
    10
    The real mystery is why such a mangled film was not junked altogether.