Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: May 28, 2004
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 327 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
169
Mixed:
92
Negative:
66
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
0
JackM.May 28, 2004
They should have been more honest and just called this "Computer Generated Effects Sampling" as, without any true plot development, it ceases to be a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RichieG.May 30, 2004
Stephen hunter from the Washington Post is the man! He can pick em. anyway, this movie is utterly ridiculous. you want a lesson on how not to be an actor? Watch Dennis Quaid. You want to See a script that should be in the garbage in some Stephen hunter from the Washington Post is the man! He can pick em. anyway, this movie is utterly ridiculous. you want a lesson on how not to be an actor? Watch Dennis Quaid. You want to See a script that should be in the garbage in some college dorm? Read this script. The Special Effects were good, there was some direction in the movie. So I dont think the director is at fault. anyway, a very forgetable movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
FantasyMay 30, 2004
The special effects are cool. As for the screenplay and the dialogue, they have to be kidding. It is below B movie status. Half way through, you start looking at your watch and yawn. The second part of the film is totally predictable. There The special effects are cool. As for the screenplay and the dialogue, they have to be kidding. It is below B movie status. Half way through, you start looking at your watch and yawn. The second part of the film is totally predictable. There is zero suspense, thus, nothing to keep the audience even mildly entertained. Although the film will generate large revenues at the box office, once word of mouth gets around, it will not have any staying power. The people responsible for the trailer and promotion prove once again that a sucker is born every minute. PT Barnum would have been proud. Avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MikeN.May 30, 2004
I'm willing to suspend a lot of disbelief for a good movie. But this is not a good movie. And you are called upon to suspend a LOT of disbelief. I'm afraid I just couldn't do it. In addition, the story is laugh out loud funny I'm willing to suspend a lot of disbelief for a good movie. But this is not a good movie. And you are called upon to suspend a LOT of disbelief. I'm afraid I just couldn't do it. In addition, the story is laugh out loud funny (and not in a good way). While the effects are excellent, I'm afraid CGI doesn't impress me any more. When you know what you are looking at isn't real, it has no impact. Nice tidal wave though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AmberJun 1, 2004
This may be the lamest movie ever made. What could they be thinking? Great special effects dragged down into a cesspool by a script so poor that I can't believe the actors didn't laugh when delivering their lines. As soon as you This may be the lamest movie ever made. What could they be thinking? Great special effects dragged down into a cesspool by a script so poor that I can't believe the actors didn't laugh when delivering their lines. As soon as you leave the theater the movie is forgotten. Just terrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SteveJun 3, 2004
Okay effects, but basically it's Independence Day with bad weather instead of aliens. Nowhere near enough wanton destruction, and way, way, way too much cheese. I had my head in my hands most of the way through, the lines were so Okay effects, but basically it's Independence Day with bad weather instead of aliens. Nowhere near enough wanton destruction, and way, way, way too much cheese. I had my head in my hands most of the way through, the lines were so corny!! Wait for it on DVD. Seriously. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FernandoT.Jul 8, 2004
Nothing special in this movie, except the special effects... history is the same as usual, adding some strange situations such as walk under a snow tempest, -40 celsius, wind, and only 2 days walking to new york.. I liked Mexico shutting off Nothing special in this movie, except the special effects... history is the same as usual, adding some strange situations such as walk under a snow tempest, -40 celsius, wind, and only 2 days walking to new york.. I liked Mexico shutting off the borders. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TylerC.Nov 10, 2004
[***SPOILERS***] This is just another diseaster flick. This is just like Armageddon, Deep Impact, The Towering Inferno, Earthquake,Rollercoaster, and many other movies where there is an unseeable problem that seems like it will never be[***SPOILERS***] This is just another diseaster flick. This is just like Armageddon, Deep Impact, The Towering Inferno, Earthquake,Rollercoaster, and many other movies where there is an unseeable problem that seems like it will never be solved. I gave it a 1 because Dennis Quade is in it and I think he is a really good actor. By the way, I was hoping his son would die in the end. That would add a spice of reality to this stupid movie. 5 people survive in New York and it happens to be the heros son. GIVE ME A BREAK!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LarryTOct 28, 2004
This movie is completely devoid of any intelligence whatsoever. It is fun to look at for about ten minutes. It reminds me of John Kerry. Astoundingly bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AdrianS.May 28, 2004
This movie is so bad, you will either leave or be checking your watch every 5 minutes to see how long until the pain ends.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ErikMay 28, 2004
Wow, Jack B.... "if you thought ARMAGEDDON was good, wait til you see this one!" thats all the review i need, since armageddon was the most awful piece of stillborn crap ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarkB.May 30, 2004
The calamitous aftereffects of global warming provide the politically charged "hook" for this turgid, silly and dull special effects movie, but the issues superficially discussed shouldn't be taken any more seriously than the The calamitous aftereffects of global warming provide the politically charged "hook" for this turgid, silly and dull special effects movie, but the issues superficially discussed shouldn't be taken any more seriously than the eco-hazards of aerosol spray cans and industrial waste were in the schlocky mid-1970s drive-in flicks Day of the Animals and Food of the Gods. (At least those two didn't take themselves so damned seriously.) The fact that both political parties are seriously discussing this movie in any context whatsoever proves two points: that certain Republican columnists need to chill out, pick their battles, and especially GET A LIFE---and that whatever other opinions one may have of Al Gore, he is certainly no movie critic! Otherwise, all the predictable elements in this sorry genre are here, if you like 'em: the young lovers in peril, the estranged couple/family brought together; the couple completely oblivious to the peril going on around them because they're too busy making out--the only element missing is Helen Reddy strumming the guitar, and that would've at least provided some entertainment value. After wowing audiences a couple of years ago with his solid, Gary Cooper-like performance in The Rookie, as well as critics with his sensational against-type casting in Todd Haynes' Far From Heaven, Dennis Quaid gives the lead role here what it deserves:absolutely nothing. I never quite understood why some of the same people who regard slasher movies as morally reprehensible have no problem taking the kids to see disaster movies, which appeal to the same base instincts of getting off on death and destruction, only in mass quantities. At least there are several good chop-n-slice flicks; the very few worthy world-in-peril ones include The War of the Worlds, James Cameron's Titanic, and director Roland Emmerich's own Independence Day. His latest though, is just like most of the rest: nothing more than mere Discovery Channel porn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RichardG.May 30, 2004
People should rate this movie for what it is, not what it is meant to be or, why it is meant to be. Rate this movie on what it is, and what it is is disappointing. The acting is absolutely atrocious, the script is in a word "a disaster" and People should rate this movie for what it is, not what it is meant to be or, why it is meant to be. Rate this movie on what it is, and what it is is disappointing. The acting is absolutely atrocious, the script is in a word "a disaster" and the story itself is absolutely stupifying. The Special effects are good. But this movie just constantly grasps at straws. hmmmm... lets see if wolves are scarely, lets make them do something stupid. I cant even recomend a renting for this title. With better casting, and a better script, this movie could be a classic. not one to be remember now though! Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DavidMay 30, 2004
Media super-hyped in order to get the most money within first 2 weeks. Word of mouth advertising on this, at best tv movie, will surely kill its profits. It plays along the same old disaster story lines. Separated couple that comes closer Media super-hyped in order to get the most money within first 2 weeks. Word of mouth advertising on this, at best tv movie, will surely kill its profits. It plays along the same old disaster story lines. Separated couple that comes closer due to crises, lame filler dialogue, and they even threw in a sickly dying kid the audience is supposed to care for. Dont all disaster movies have a sick kid in them? Computer generated snarling attacking wolves was obviously fake. Overall dialogue was bland and equivalent to a high school drama class project. I found myself actually laughing at what was said during the so-called dramatic points. In my opinion, "end of the world" or natural disaster movies need to be packed with convincing effects, actors that can talk/act like the genral public would, and make me feel like Im in the situation or at least get my pulse going. This lack luster 87 minute waste of time failed in all 3. The only reason I didnt leave early was because I paid $4 for a soda and I was staying til it was finished. Want a good movie?....go see Shrek Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
WakoJakoJun 1, 2004
Not a totally unbearable movie, BUT... C'mon, guys, honestly! This is crap by the numbers. First there's a bunch of nifty special effects. Then comes the crap. Crap, crap, crap. And then, yeah, more crap. Get the picture??? Nice Not a totally unbearable movie, BUT... C'mon, guys, honestly! This is crap by the numbers. First there's a bunch of nifty special effects. Then comes the crap. Crap, crap, crap. And then, yeah, more crap. Get the picture??? Nice effects though...but oh for the crap. Makes you pine for the "inspired" year of ID4 and Twister. Now that was some good crap. Not crappy-crap like this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
HarryT.Jun 12, 2004
It is the Day after seeing Tomorrow and I still want to puke. You talk about an unsuspenseful movie with lame acting and directing, then you have come to the right flick. All those millions of dollars wasted on a lame story that simply makes It is the Day after seeing Tomorrow and I still want to puke. You talk about an unsuspenseful movie with lame acting and directing, then you have come to the right flick. All those millions of dollars wasted on a lame story that simply makes no sense. It would have been better to watch this garbage if they had eliminated the dialogue. I give one point for the special effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ConstanceS.Jun 21, 2004
I went to see 'Tomorrow' to escape boredom, but the silliness made for a dull climb through disaster flick pathos, drama mamma cliches and eco sensitive handwringing. My favorite part: Mexico shutting off its borders to massive I went to see 'Tomorrow' to escape boredom, but the silliness made for a dull climb through disaster flick pathos, drama mamma cliches and eco sensitive handwringing. My favorite part: Mexico shutting off its borders to massive American 'illigal immigration' in the face of disaster after disaster strikes. (PS if this is a spoiler for you after seeing the posters or trailers, too bad! c'mon, the Statue of Liberty gets wiped out on the posters, you're even out the parking lot) They could have taken a few ideas from Twister and got a better soundtrack or other disaster flicks that actually (Dirty Dozen) killed off main characters (no, the scotch toasters don't count) or saved up the 'final battle' scope instead of just ignoring the size of the disasters that they had created. I wasn't looking for scientific acuuracy, oscar worthy acting or justification of my world view, just a worthy escapist disaster flick. Judging by the line I should have held out for the 11:55 Harry Potter flick that all the little kids with a later curfew than I can pull off on school nights were lined up for. PS I luv Art Bell and in no way should this be a reflection on him (ask your conspiracy theory nerd, they'll know who). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JaredH.Jun 20, 2004
This popsicle of a movie belongs in the back of the freezer where it will never be found again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AaronH.Jun 2, 2004
When you go to a disaster movie you are supposed to feel nervous. You should have feelings for the characters. None of that happens in this movie. Instead, we are constantly preached to, every line is predictable, and every cliche has been When you go to a disaster movie you are supposed to feel nervous. You should have feelings for the characters. None of that happens in this movie. Instead, we are constantly preached to, every line is predictable, and every cliche has been stolen from another blockbuster disaster movie. The wolves running loose was utterly ridiculous. The real disaster was that no one was watching money being tossed down the toilet where this flick actually belongs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DudleyJun 3, 2004
Was this suppossed to be a comedy and we were not let in on the gag? It is too bad to be believed. No one could write a script this lame. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrunoJun 7, 2004
Probably the worst movie this year, without the story. The most desperate things were russian ship in the middle of the New York and 4 wolfs in the streets. ;p
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JanetJul 18, 2004
How awful was this script? Was this supposed to be a comedy because the audience was laughing during the second half. Pretty lame if you ask me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MikeL.Aug 9, 2004
Kind of good special effects, but extremely movie-of-the-week-ish overall. I would not recommend this movie. I can't believe I got suckered.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JackH.Oct 1, 2005
If the world were indeed to end tomorrow I would die happy knowing the people who wrote this tripe went with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChristophTheCrazyFrenchmanFeb 6, 2005
Wow. I watched this movie with every and gave it every chance i could possibly think of to be a good movie but no matter how hard I tried, the movie just plain sucks. It was like watching a movie that two unfortanute nerds in high school Wow. I watched this movie with every and gave it every chance i could possibly think of to be a good movie but no matter how hard I tried, the movie just plain sucks. It was like watching a movie that two unfortanute nerds in high school would of thought up while the rest of the people were out making use of a sunny day. Im sorry but this movie gave me a feeling equivalent to having my skull bashed in with a large rock repeatedly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
LJSOct 16, 2004
The idea is scary. The effects are impressive, with one blaring exception: the wolves. They just don't fit. They don't do much for the plot, either. The acting is dissappointing. Some lines are delivered oh-so 'cheesily' The idea is scary. The effects are impressive, with one blaring exception: the wolves. They just don't fit. They don't do much for the plot, either. The acting is dissappointing. Some lines are delivered oh-so 'cheesily' it'll make you hang your head. Really. It's also extremely predictable, and consequently very boring. 90% of the time blockbusters=garbage, and this one is no exception. There is just no depth to this movie. The only people I feel for are the actors, who have the burden of delivering the cheesy script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GordonG.May 27, 2004
Boring boring boring... Let's just condense a couple of thousand years of future history into two weeks and see what happens. Yeah, right... Sure it's got some good scenes - but they are the political ones, the naysayers from the Boring boring boring... Let's just condense a couple of thousand years of future history into two weeks and see what happens. Yeah, right... Sure it's got some good scenes - but they are the political ones, the naysayers from the guvvamint saying "we can't be worried about the climate, we're too busy making money." The rest of the movie was a waste of money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BillE.May 28, 2004
Loud, preachy, boring, and unbelievable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KenK.May 29, 2004
Really, really bad. 2 points for political satire and special effects. -8 points for terrible script (the audience laughed at all the wrong spots) and predictable events.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MickerayMay 31, 2004
Let's face facts. The script and acting was beyond lame. It is almost impossible to believe that a movie with so much promise could be this bad. Yes, the special effects were good; but there was little or no suspense and it was all so Let's face facts. The script and acting was beyond lame. It is almost impossible to believe that a movie with so much promise could be this bad. Yes, the special effects were good; but there was little or no suspense and it was all so so predictable. If this screenplay was presented to a college professor for a grade, it would have received an "F." This big budget flick does insult to "B" movies as it was just awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BuzbyF.May 31, 2004
The storm scenes were exceptional. If it was two hours 43 minutes of just storms I would have been happy. But no, they have to insert the generic unrequited love sub plot, the generic selfish father looking for redemption sub plot, and the The storm scenes were exceptional. If it was two hours 43 minutes of just storms I would have been happy. But no, they have to insert the generic unrequited love sub plot, the generic selfish father looking for redemption sub plot, and the attack of the wolves. Horrible acting, great special effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KristinaM.Jun 1, 2004
As someone who normally loves disaster movies for the glorious "mind twinkies" they are, this movie was banal and ridiculous even for me. If you've seen the previews, save yourself the bucks and skip the movie -- you've already As someone who normally loves disaster movies for the glorious "mind twinkies" they are, this movie was banal and ridiculous even for me. If you've seen the previews, save yourself the bucks and skip the movie -- you've already seen the best of it. A few spectacular CGI scenes are not worth the painfully slow hour plus of sludge. And the lecture at the end is simply insulting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JonC.Jun 16, 2004
UUUuuuggghhh!!! I want to shoot myself for having paid for this pathetic excuse of a summer movie!!! HORRRRRIIBBBBLE!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RaheedJun 17, 2004
What a turkey!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
A.PeersJun 2, 2004
A slow-moving bowel movement of a film...it would be uncomfortable to watch so many people freeze to death onscreen if you weren't envying them that they got out of the movie. "How bad can it be?" you ask yourself. Pretty damn bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomasL.Jun 22, 2004
Let me sum it up for you in one word. SUCKED!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BrianY.Jun 3, 2004
This movie was mildly entertaining due to the fact I read the book, "The Coming Global Superstorm," which the movie is loosely based on. The book is a convincing account of "what" can happen if we continue to ignore the signs. The movie, This movie was mildly entertaining due to the fact I read the book, "The Coming Global Superstorm," which the movie is loosely based on. The book is a convincing account of "what" can happen if we continue to ignore the signs. The movie, splendidly showed what a Global Superstorm may look like in Emmerich style. However the plot does not even entertain that all, and the acting was not even given the chance to matter. I think the movie exaggerated what may really happen, but it is necessary to do it "Hollywood" style otherwise the movie may bore the average movie goer. The movie is also a political hot topic as to whether global warming is a trend humans are causing. The bottom line is that the Earth is warming up, due to natural and human influence, and Superstorms have been the cause of Ice Ages in the past. We know too little to prepare, or prevent a storm that devastating. So if we should take anything away from watching The Day After Tomorrow, it is that we do not know enough to do anything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KjbJun 7, 2004
This movie was disgracefully bad. Preachy, banal, often downright insulting to the audience's intelligence. Gets a 2 from me for the special effects, but this was one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. The shame of it is This movie was disgracefully bad. Preachy, banal, often downright insulting to the audience's intelligence. Gets a 2 from me for the special effects, but this was one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. The shame of it is that the movie could have been pretty good. It would have taken spending a few more dollars on the script and dropping a half second of an effects shot, but it could have been terrific. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SteveG.May 28, 2004
A disaster movie where you can almost check the formula boxes: the burgeoning love story, the father-son bond, the sacrifices, the stoical resignation of those doomed, the unleashed hungry creatures, the misguided folk ignoring the need to A disaster movie where you can almost check the formula boxes: the burgeoning love story, the father-son bond, the sacrifices, the stoical resignation of those doomed, the unleashed hungry creatures, the misguided folk ignoring the need to stay sheltered, the life-threatening injury, the honest down-and-out, the sentimental medic, the repentant hard-line politician, the majesty of nature, people outrunning a rapidly approaching threat, minor characters killed, the destruction of familiar landmarks... Yes, this one had them all. Sadly, there wasn't much else. The plot is thin despite the cliches and the dialog unmemorable, which leaves us with the special effects. They are awesome, as intended, but overall this isn't an easy film to watch though you may enjoy pondering some of the inconsistencies, time compressions, plot holes and above all the awkward way the audience is informed. The whole point of The Day After Tomorrow is a new ice age but somehow here's a film that lacks warmth where it should be and is slightly frosty rather than chilling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RKamathMay 29, 2004
Another cookie-cutter Hollywood natural disaster movie, complete with every hackneyed subplot imaginable. Next!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
HenryS.May 29, 2004
This movie was ok.... the special effects were really cool but didnt last that long... the really stupid part was the wolves wow did that part suck i mean it was so completly random it shouldnt have been in the movie.... wait till this movieThis movie was ok.... the special effects were really cool but didnt last that long... the really stupid part was the wolves wow did that part suck i mean it was so completly random it shouldnt have been in the movie.... wait till this movie gets out on dvd so you can skip all the parts that dennis is in cause he is horrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ObicraigJan 25, 2005
Who writes this crap?!!? This has to be the worst movie I've seen in a long time. The dialouge was so bad I thought I was stuck in an episode of the mickey mouse club. If anyone liked this movie the universe should explode ending all Who writes this crap?!!? This has to be the worst movie I've seen in a long time. The dialouge was so bad I thought I was stuck in an episode of the mickey mouse club. If anyone liked this movie the universe should explode ending all life as we know it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LomaxH.Jul 24, 2005
Hysterically stupid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TravisP.Dec 13, 2006
Ok, so wolves held in captivity and fed not less than 12 hours ago, suddenly when freed (and apparently because it's cold) start attacking people with a ferociousness that even completely wild wolves would never attain. Then how about a Ok, so wolves held in captivity and fed not less than 12 hours ago, suddenly when freed (and apparently because it's cold) start attacking people with a ferociousness that even completely wild wolves would never attain. Then how about a hero who understands the situation better than anyone else and then turns his back on what's left of devastated humanity to go BACK and search for his son because of some stupid guilt problem. And by the way, if things were freezing so fast that you could see frost progress along walls and doors and such, the air would be unbreathably frozen long before they could run. This movie was crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
Don't bother watching it. Not tomorrow, the day after tomorrow, or any other days after that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
WCheffirsDec 8, 2013
This film is a disgrace portraying a real world problem with fantasy and pseudoscience that has undermined the need to address global warming. This film could have been done so much better if only it used real consequences of climate changeThis film is a disgrace portraying a real world problem with fantasy and pseudoscience that has undermined the need to address global warming. This film could have been done so much better if only it used real consequences of climate change and was set in the near future instead of apocalyptic rubbish...and that ending...what the was that? Talk about undermining the need to address climate change if the problem can be solved that easily. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SpazzyGooseFeb 24, 2015
pretty crappy this movie dosent explain anything about the characters and they just expect you to know whats happening, some parts are exiting and funny but most of it is so unrealistic its funny. the spetial fx are good but most is pretty bad
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
EpicLadySpongeDec 29, 2015
The Day After Tomorrow is an ice cold movie that doesn't really deserve to be liked at all. The only people who liked it are the people who are interested in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews