User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 207 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 207
  2. Negative: 82 out of 207
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 26, 2010
    6
    This was quite a bit better than i had expected. Thematically updated for the world's current parlous state. Keanu Reeves is well cast as Klaatu. Maybe not the classic of the 1951 original but still watchable.
  2. AaronS
    May 22, 2009
    4
    I went there expecting to see a action/sci-fi war of the worlds type film when it turned out to be boring,unfrilling and average Iv'e only seen it once and never agian.
  3. HyperS.
    Dec 16, 2008
    4
    For a movie about the destruction of the world it sure was boring. At the beginning upon first arrival there was a curiosity as to the plot, but after that the movie progressed at a lackadaisical pace (Note: I never saw the original so for those who did and know the story line you might be bored from the get-go). The special effects were pretty boring and there weren't that many For a movie about the destruction of the world it sure was boring. At the beginning upon first arrival there was a curiosity as to the plot, but after that the movie progressed at a lackadaisical pace (Note: I never saw the original so for those who did and know the story line you might be bored from the get-go). The special effects were pretty boring and there weren't that many considering this is an 'end of the world' flick. Honestly, if you want to be more entertained go back and watch Independence Day or even War of the Worlds. They both blow this one out of the water with better special effects, cooler aliens, a grander scale, and a movie worthy of worldwide annihilation. P.S. Only thing I liked about this movie was the old school robot, but he barely got any screen time. Expand
  4. HenryFilms
    Jan 31, 2009
    4
    Ouch! This movie is barely worth renting. The movie itself was very far from its former self from 1951. It lacked key phrases that the original did. Might I add that dialog and the basic plot are really the only thing you need to copy when remaking an older movie. 4/10 and I'm being generous.
  5. ColinC
    Apr 21, 2009
    4
    Boring. Other than one brief scene with one of the characters being snatched up by a helicopter, I found this movie to duller than dishwater. Very disappointed.
  6. AdamC.
    Dec 14, 2008
    4
    Bland remake left me wanting to go home and rewatch the original. Save yourself the time and buy the Blu-ray instead.
  7. JohnW.
    Dec 19, 2008
    4
    not bad at all, but I wouldn't call it "amusing or exciting". Instead it was a bit boring.
  8. BobT.
    Dec 19, 2008
    4
    Tries to be new, tries to pay homage to the old...fails at both. Acting is fine. Keanu doing his best Bill Pullman as an emotionless alien. The script is just weak, no drama. The music...forgettable. Another "Why did they remake this?"
  9. Mar 30, 2012
    4
    This movie could have been a whole lot better. The story is way too stupid and with a bunch of big actors nothing comes alive. Keanu Reeves is the worst actor of are generation so he doesn't help. The helicopters weren't even real, what a cheap movie and it showed.
  10. Feb 5, 2013
    4
    Never saw the original. I'm judging this film based off other sci-fi I've read and watched. It was an interesting premise that started off decent enough but withing 20 minutes was quickly losing focus. The film nose dives into a terrible direction and ends in an absurd manner.
  11. RyanM.
    Apr 10, 2009
    4
    Could've been good or at least entertaining. Pacing was bad. Script was bad. And the direction would've been better under someone closer to a Spielberg. The sid estory and the kid was annoying and out of place. Poorly executed overall.
  12. EnzoP.
    Jul 23, 2009
    4
    The Day the Earth Stood Still based on the old classic, shows that whatever you do you can never make a remake that is better then the original. But the one thing in this movie that really surprised me is that they didn't say one swear in the entire film. It's a miracle in every PG-13 movie there has to be at least one swear in this there were none. Also another thing about this The Day the Earth Stood Still based on the old classic, shows that whatever you do you can never make a remake that is better then the original. But the one thing in this movie that really surprised me is that they didn't say one swear in the entire film. It's a miracle in every PG-13 movie there has to be at least one swear in this there were none. Also another thing about this film that I didn't like was the over the top plot. That was the only thing that really bothered me. The acting was alright the special effects were fascinating, I thought it was pretty unpredictable so overall it was a nice rent it movie. Sure some parts were weird but it still had it's cool clever scenes. I feel like this movie would of been better of not being made because Scott Derrickson wasted his money making this remake it just wasn't worth it. Expand
  13. PeterJ
    May 27, 2009
    5
    Ok to watch once, but not something I'd ever watch a second time. Never saw the original, but still knew exactly where the movie was going.
  14. CarolS
    Dec 20, 2008
    4
    What starts out with great action turns into a schmaltzy tale for the "green" set. Preachy. Good special effects.
  15. FranR
    Jun 27, 2009
    6
    Disappointing.
  16. Apr 13, 2012
    4
    Quel gâchis! Voilà ce qui m'est venu à l'esprit dès l'apparition du générique final. Gâchis car, franchement, il y avait quelque chose à tirer de ce remake. Tout d'abord, il faut bien avouer que le film a le mérite d'être d'actualitéQuel gâchis! Voilà ce qui m'est venu à l'esprit dès l'apparition du générique final. Gâchis car, franchement, il y avait quelque chose à tirer de ce remake. Tout d'abord, il faut bien avouer que le film a le mérite d'être d'actualité (écologie, famille recomposée...), de proposer un casting pas si catastrophique que ça (Keanu Reeves arrive à rendre utile son jeu toujours aussi fade) et que le compositeur tente d'installer une ambiance adéquate . Malheureusement, le terme de remake hollywoodien se fait grandement sentir : trop de moyens pour rien (pas de punch), effets numériques inégaux, mise en scène sans âme, happy end brutal et indigeste... Bref, c'est loupé malgré que l'ensemble se laisse suivre. Expand
  17. JohnH.
    Dec 20, 2008
    6
    I really wanted to like this film. I think Keanu Reeves and Jennifer Connelly are both good actors. But, I have to be honest, I was bored through much of the movie. The points of view of both the U.S. Government and the aliens were totally idiotic. So it didn't pass the cerebral test that may have saved it since the action was less than exciting.
  18. JasonD.
    Feb 23, 2009
    6
    I was very disappointed with this film. It was not a terrible film, it just did not live up to the expectations that I had for it. I was very excited to see this but then when I finally did, it was a let down. The concept seemed pretty cool but the execution was boring. the cool stuff that the trailers show don't even happen until the very end and they are not as cool as the trailers I was very disappointed with this film. It was not a terrible film, it just did not live up to the expectations that I had for it. I was very excited to see this but then when I finally did, it was a let down. The concept seemed pretty cool but the execution was boring. the cool stuff that the trailers show don't even happen until the very end and they are not as cool as the trailers make out to seem. Wrap that up with a bad ending and you have a huge dissapointment. Expand
  19. ChadS.
    Dec 13, 2008
    5
    The human whose likeness that Klaatu(Keanu Reeves) appropriates as easy comprehension for earthling contemplation, originally had a beard. Klaatu shaved. And sports a better haircut than his Reinhold Messner-like counterpart. That's one vain alien. Reeves' smooth face recalls the diatribe put forth by Bruce Willis in Barry Levinson's "What Just Happened" about the fallacy The human whose likeness that Klaatu(Keanu Reeves) appropriates as easy comprehension for earthling contemplation, originally had a beard. Klaatu shaved. And sports a better haircut than his Reinhold Messner-like counterpart. That's one vain alien. Reeves' smooth face recalls the diatribe put forth by Bruce Willis in Barry Levinson's "What Just Happened" about the fallacy of audience defamiliarization. In Reeves' case, however, it's a matter of professional courtesy that the facial outgrowths excuse themselves from its host. The chin tufts might out act him(there's not a world of difference between Klaatu and Reeves' human performance in "Street Kings"). When Klaatu emerges from the spherical ark, he's wearing a protective suit made out of living tissue. Which begs the question: Why bother with making a preliminary trip to try on human bodies if you're going to hide it under a deluge of white jelly? The biggest difference between the 1951 Robert Wise production and this egregious update is, of course, Klaatu himself, who comes off as a Sierra Club militant, or perhaps, a member of the Green party's galactic predecessors, the Mean Green party. In the nuclear age sci-fi classic, Klaatu offers the human race, a cure for cancer, and is shot for its humanitarian efforts. This update of "The Day the Earth Stood Still", in a sense, blasphemes the original, because Klaatu deserves the bullet. The alien is like Al Gore with an axe to grind. Bush stole the election in 2000, so Captain Ozone's doppelganger is going to steal the earth. Needless to say, Klaatu comes off as smug. The only people that Klaatu comes in contact with is a biologist(Jennifer Connelly) and her stepchild(Jaden Smith). It's an insult to the peacenik nature of the original Klaatu that Jacob has to teach the alien not to kill. Echoes of Edward Furlong in James Cameron's "Terminator 2: Judgment Day" educating the governor of California in pacifist ways loom loudly while this makeshift nuclear family eludes the law. Since Klaatu's visage is human-based, "The Day the Earth Stood Still" might have benefited dramatically had the original man's loved ones reconnected with this ghost in order to mount a defense for the human race's ongoing survival. At a cemetary, Jacob almost veers the movie into "Pet Cemetary" territory. Expand
  20. Andre
    Dec 20, 2008
    6
    I think the critics were a bit harsh with this movie. But it's true that the first half was promising, and that GORT didn't have much time in the movie. I did saw the original when I was much younger, and it doesn't badder me if this film is different. The effects are fine, but the story is slim in substance. It doesn't explain or justify itself that much, which is a I think the critics were a bit harsh with this movie. But it's true that the first half was promising, and that GORT didn't have much time in the movie. I did saw the original when I was much younger, and it doesn't badder me if this film is different. The effects are fine, but the story is slim in substance. It doesn't explain or justify itself that much, which is a problem in terms of credibility. The second half falls short. If GORT would have been active in that part, it would have been more interesting. The actors were decent, but they didn't have much to work on. I must say the great work that was done with the music. This is by far the best part of the movie. Too bad the composer didn't have a solid movie to work on. Expand
  21. BillyS.
    Dec 12, 2008
    4
    When will Hollywood realize that movies become Classics because they don't need a new and improved version. The 2008 version of The Day The Earth Stood Still is proof that 100 million dollars in CGI does not a classic make. You actually watch this movie remembering just how great the origiinal was, and still is! However, Keanu Reeves has found the perfect role to showcase his massive When will Hollywood realize that movies become Classics because they don't need a new and improved version. The 2008 version of The Day The Earth Stood Still is proof that 100 million dollars in CGI does not a classic make. You actually watch this movie remembering just how great the origiinal was, and still is! However, Keanu Reeves has found the perfect role to showcase his massive acting range - an emotionless alien. Rent the original now and next year you can rent this one with Invasion and the new Stepford Wives and have a Mystery Science Fiction Theatre Festival!! Expand
  22. JoeM.
    Dec 13, 2008
    5
    I never saw the original, so I went to go find out what the big mystery in the movie is. It turns out that the movie's mystery was how much product placement they could fit in there. It's literally everywhere. Product placement isn't inherently a problem, but when it's used to the extent that it is in this movie (every chance they get) it starts to seem more like a I never saw the original, so I went to go find out what the big mystery in the movie is. It turns out that the movie's mystery was how much product placement they could fit in there. It's literally everywhere. Product placement isn't inherently a problem, but when it's used to the extent that it is in this movie (every chance they get) it starts to seem more like a mediocre extended TV show than a movie. You go to movies for a fluid, engrossing experience and the egregious number of ads really detract from that here. That aside, Keanu Reaves was the perfect choice for the part. Sooo... acting was solid. 'Nuff said. All in all, I guess it wasn't awful - I just didn't want to go to the movies and throw down seven bucks for an ecology lesson and an armful of commercials. Bottom line: Wait till DVD or someone else is buying your ticket. It's nothing special. Expand
  23. RyeG.
    Dec 15, 2008
    5
    Destined to fail with the general consensus. It's a whirlwind of fragmented scenes that on the whole, at best, never accomplishes a solid grip on the attention of the viewing audience. The more serious scenes tend to be dull where the extreme measures that would normally be forefront in a global grave situation are non-existant. Sadly to say, the plot has good potential but this Destined to fail with the general consensus. It's a whirlwind of fragmented scenes that on the whole, at best, never accomplishes a solid grip on the attention of the viewing audience. The more serious scenes tend to be dull where the extreme measures that would normally be forefront in a global grave situation are non-existant. Sadly to say, the plot has good potential but this adaptation of the classic was assembled too quickly where it is evident there was a lack of "fine-tuning" in many areas of the production. Overall: It's a thumbs-down. Expand
  24. NeilK.
    Dec 23, 2008
    4
    I thought that it was good in taking a story that has so much potential and throwing it down the drain. The film dies when the largest amount of acting talent in the film is coming from young Jaden Smith. Thought to be honest Keanu Reeves landed theperfect role for him, a emotionless, dull character that was terribly revuved from the original. Overall this film was able to keep in the I thought that it was good in taking a story that has so much potential and throwing it down the drain. The film dies when the largest amount of acting talent in the film is coming from young Jaden Smith. Thought to be honest Keanu Reeves landed theperfect role for him, a emotionless, dull character that was terribly revuved from the original. Overall this film was able to keep in the seat beccuase I saw it in IMAX and the sheer brilliance and size of the IMAX expierance was enough to keep me in the seat. The Day the Earth Stood Still should should have remained a classic not a crappy remake. Expand
  25. Jan 1, 2014
    4
    The Day the Earth Stood Still had a misleading trailer which shows it being action packed and containing tonnes of special effects. These are all present and visually stunning but also significantly spaced out making it drag and cause yawns in-between.
  26. Oct 25, 2014
    4
    That movie had a lot of promises but it didn't keep them... That's it remains in my top 10 most disapointing movies of all time: with bad ending and too many non action sequence. Moreover, the dialogs predicts a lot of cool thing ... but nothing of it :-( However, acting is good and the idea of begining is pretty nice :p
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 34
  2. Negative: 7 out of 34
  1. The original Day the Earth Stood Still had a paranoid poetry that lifted the audience up even as it warned the world to come together. This one is so dour it just comes off as a scolding.
  2. Reviewed by: Luke Y. Thompson
    50
    The problem here is that there are no big ideas.
  3. 20
    Dull, unnecessary film.