Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: August 8, 2001
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 38 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
25
Mixed:
7
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
rubyelettingaJan 13, 2016
Masterful performances from Goran Visnjic, Tilda Swinton and of course Jonathan Tucker. These guys are absolute masters in their own professions (which is of course acting) and I believe that each of them plays the role exactly right, to tuneMasterful performances from Goran Visnjic, Tilda Swinton and of course Jonathan Tucker. These guys are absolute masters in their own professions (which is of course acting) and I believe that each of them plays the role exactly right, to tune the movie in a perfect pitch and tempo. Nothing else to say except, congratulations Goran, Tilda & Jonathan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lasttimeisawMar 13, 2012
The enchanting opening score and a dominant blue hue eases its way of a concealed familial drama with a murder case, a blackmail and an in-the-closet gay son. Out of expectation, a lesser impact on the gay culture, the film endeavors aThe enchanting opening score and a dominant blue hue eases its way of a concealed familial drama with a murder case, a blackmail and an in-the-closet gay son. Out of expectation, a lesser impact on the gay culture, the film endeavors a strenuous effort to accent on a desperate motherâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
nutterjrJul 4, 2011
A relatively unknown film turns out to be a rather pleasant surprise. A thriller with more than one twists. Tilda Swinton is once again a delight to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JohnB.Feb 7, 2007
Should have had more of a gay subplot. Too stereotypical homophobic.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GregoryL.Jan 8, 2004
No film in memory has so deftly and deeply examined a mother-son relationship. Even better, Tilda Swinton and Goran Visnjic show the possibilities, and the costs, of moral dialogue. A great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BenS.Sep 16, 2003
I enjoyed Swinton very much, and Visnijic was darkly appealing. The true bad guy in the film wasn't really that menacing, though, and the story gets caught in ambiguities that tend to cause one to wonder where the story is really going. I enjoyed Swinton very much, and Visnijic was darkly appealing. The true bad guy in the film wasn't really that menacing, though, and the story gets caught in ambiguities that tend to cause one to wonder where the story is really going. A good film for taking it easy on a Saturday night, all in all, thought you might want a cup of java at your side for the slow parts, which there are a lot of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanM.Sep 7, 2002
Brilliant film for intelligent adults.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DonD.May 4, 2002
Tilda Swinton give a speech about trying harder which should be memorized by everyone. An excellent thriller with a heart of platinum.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RyanM.Apr 4, 2002
It's interesting for a while, but then it drifts off to the point that, well, you just don't care anymore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LaurieK.Nov 7, 2001
A good movie, but the critical acclaim seems vastly overdone. Interesting story of an average wife and mother protecting hearth and home against the most sordid sort of blackmail is undone by some cheesy plot elements and some staggering A good movie, but the critical acclaim seems vastly overdone. Interesting story of an average wife and mother protecting hearth and home against the most sordid sort of blackmail is undone by some cheesy plot elements and some staggering improbabilities. Some have found Swinton's performance subtle, I found it inert and monotonous. Goran Visnjic's conflicted blackmailer, and Jonathan Tucker's bruised sensitivity as Swinton's son far outshine her. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DerekH.Oct 1, 2001
Not unlike "One False Move", the deceptively involving story surprises with unexpected character developments. A film which continues to leave an oddly satisfying taste. Recommended, if for no other reason, for it's unconventional and Not unlike "One False Move", the deceptively involving story surprises with unexpected character developments. A film which continues to leave an oddly satisfying taste. Recommended, if for no other reason, for it's unconventional and character-rich plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YoriD.Sep 30, 2001
Brilliant, subtle, beautiful and completely satisfying by not satisfying today's typical, big budget "Hollywood" formula. Movie for adults that don't get tricked by 2 minute-trailers and studio brainwashing promotions...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyP.Sep 26, 2001
A brilliant expose on unconditional love. Great performances and inspired directing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TheManSep 24, 2001
It looks good. Swinton's performance is interesting. The plot makes absolutely no sense whatsoever. The good reviews are a mystery to me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarkSep 10, 2001
I read about a movie with style and suspense. All I got was a movie that had good performances without a single shred of anything else worth noting. Characters seem unmotivated, the story isn't well written or compelling, the water I read about a movie with style and suspense. All I got was a movie that had good performances without a single shred of anything else worth noting. Characters seem unmotivated, the story isn't well written or compelling, the water motif is done without a hint of subltly, and there was not a moment where I felt thrilled or in suspense. A true disapointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SusanT.Sep 5, 2001
This was one of the worst movies I have seen in a while. It's a miracle I stayed awake. No drama, no suspense. I'm beginning to believe the critics have seen a different movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
M.CareyAug 27, 2001
I was on the edge of my seat throughout the entire film. It offered not a moment's rest. By the end of the movie, I was breathless. This was one hell of a rollercoaster ride. Tilda Swinton's compelling performance as a young mother I was on the edge of my seat throughout the entire film. It offered not a moment's rest. By the end of the movie, I was breathless. This was one hell of a rollercoaster ride. Tilda Swinton's compelling performance as a young mother who would go to any length to protect her family deserves all the critical acclaim she's been receiving, and her malevolent blackmailer, Goron Visnjic, who is transformed into a compassionate and selfless human being -- bad boys always fall for pretty damsels in distress, don't they? -- is both sexy and charismatic. Everyone I know who has seen this film loved it, which is why I went to see it. I'm glad I did. Film Noir is back, baby -- this time in color -- and it's as dark, consuming, and menacing as ever. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
M.CareyAug 27, 2001
I was on the edge of my seat throughout the entire film. It offered not a moment's rest. By the end of the movie, I was breathless. This was one hell of a rollercoaster ride. Tilda Swinton's compelling performance as a young mother I was on the edge of my seat throughout the entire film. It offered not a moment's rest. By the end of the movie, I was breathless. This was one hell of a rollercoaster ride. Tilda Swinton's compelling performance as a young mother who would go to any length to protect her family deserves all the critical acclaim she's been receiving, and her malevolent blackmailer, Goron Visnjic, who is transformed into a compassionate and selfless human being -- bad boys always fall for pretty damsels in distress, don't they? -- is both sexy and charismatic. Everyone I know who has seen this film loved it, which is why I went to see it. I'm glad I did. Film Noir is back, baby -- this time in color -- and it's as dark, consuming, and menacing as ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ArnoldP.Aug 26, 2001
Engrossing film noir updated and beautifully photographed in the unlikely setting of Lake Tahoe. Swinton gives riveting understated yet deeply involving performance as the mother who protects her gay son. The transition of the petty criminal Engrossing film noir updated and beautifully photographed in the unlikely setting of Lake Tahoe. Swinton gives riveting understated yet deeply involving performance as the mother who protects her gay son. The transition of the petty criminal who attempts to blackmail mom, is an intriguing twist. A film that stays with you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
P.L.Aug 10, 2001
Over-rated. Over-dramatic. CRAP-OLA.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AndyS.Aug 10, 2001
A very well shot, decently acted, but rather dull and soft-headed melodrama. The critical acclaim is mystifying, until one considers what these "critics" spend most of their time watching and writing about.
0 of 0 users found this helpful