Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Mar 17, 2014
    70
    This is the rare film that would actually seem even creepier watched from home on your computer, preferably alone to enhance its voyeuristic effect.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Mar 8, 2014
    63
    The film is dizzyingly creepy in its refracting of horrors through the cascading windows of computer programs we've come to understand more intimately than our own selves.
  3. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Mar 13, 2014
    60
    Almost every image in this movie — from webcams, websites and laptop cameras — appears on a monitor. Scenes pulse with the Internet’s speed and sprawl, aided by clever editing that pops. The effect is insular, off-putting and disconcertingly familiar.
  4. Reviewed by: Martin Tsai
    Mar 20, 2014
    40
    Like many found-footage films before it, The Den never entirely suspends disbelief. It doesn't satisfyingly account for how the characters are producing all the footage.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Mar 11, 2014
    40
    The Den's commitment to its presentational conceit leads to a number of implausible scenarios, but what's more disheartening is the gore-fest it turns into once the curtain is thrown back on the mystery propelling both Elizabeth and the narrative.
  6. Reviewed by: Susan Wloszczyna
    Mar 14, 2014
    38
    At least it's admirable that Donohue manages to do almost all his shooting with either web cams, phone cams or surveillance cameras. But that does not translate into an entirely enjoyable viewing experience. Plus, there are almost no real shocks or scares to rattle you out of the stupor that inevitably develops from observing someone else fiddle with their laptop for much of the running time.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. May 30, 2014
    10
    The Den was an amazing experience, it's a film full of intensity and effective jump scares, one of the best found-footage films of the year,The Den was an amazing experience, it's a film full of intensity and effective jump scares, one of the best found-footage films of the year, one of the best films of the year, very, very underrated, i just love this film and all the issues realted with the "Deep Web". Full Review »
  2. Jan 8, 2015
    6
    This is the first film I've watched in 2015 and boy... phew, that was crazy. I won't say much but hot damn, this type of stuff CREEPS ME OUT.This is the first film I've watched in 2015 and boy... phew, that was crazy. I won't say much but hot damn, this type of stuff CREEPS ME OUT. I will not be leaving my webcam uncovered anymore... I feel like the nudity and random flashes of absurd humor were pointless and took away any sort of horror, especially the penis puppet... The ending scene also seemed kind of forced... I still enjoyed the film. Very well done. Full Review »
  3. Dec 23, 2014
    9
    I guess since all my life I've been surrounded by stuff like Youtube, Facebook, and Omegle that this really scared the **** outta me. It'sI guess since all my life I've been surrounded by stuff like Youtube, Facebook, and Omegle that this really scared the **** outta me. It's intense, suspenseful, scary, gory, everything you could want from a horror flick. I highly recommend this. Full Review »