Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After receiving a grant for her graduate thesis, Elizabeth Benton (Melanie Papalia) logs onto a video-chat site known as the Den, on a mission to explore the habits of its users. During one of her random video-chats, Elizabeth watches in horror as a teenage girl is gruesomely murdered inAfter receiving a grant for her graduate thesis, Elizabeth Benton (Melanie Papalia) logs onto a video-chat site known as the Den, on a mission to explore the habits of its users. During one of her random video-chats, Elizabeth watches in horror as a teenage girl is gruesomely murdered in front of her webcam. While the police dismiss it as a viral prank, Elizabeth believes what she saw is real and takes it upon herself to find the truth. Her life quickly spirals out of control as she gets pulled deeper into the darkest recesses of the internet. And eventually, Elizabeth finds herself trapped in a twisted game in which she and her loved ones are targeted for the same grisly fate as the first victim. [IFC Films] Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Mar 17, 2014
    70
    This is the rare film that would actually seem even creepier watched from home on your computer, preferably alone to enhance its voyeuristic effect.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Mar 8, 2014
    63
    The film is dizzyingly creepy in its refracting of horrors through the cascading windows of computer programs we've come to understand more intimately than our own selves.
  3. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Mar 13, 2014
    60
    Almost every image in this movie — from webcams, websites and laptop cameras — appears on a monitor. Scenes pulse with the Internet’s speed and sprawl, aided by clever editing that pops. The effect is insular, off-putting and disconcertingly familiar.
  4. Reviewed by: Martin Tsai
    Mar 20, 2014
    40
    Like many found-footage films before it, The Den never entirely suspends disbelief. It doesn't satisfyingly account for how the characters are producing all the footage.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Mar 11, 2014
    40
    The Den's commitment to its presentational conceit leads to a number of implausible scenarios, but what's more disheartening is the gore-fest it turns into once the curtain is thrown back on the mystery propelling both Elizabeth and the narrative.
  6. Reviewed by: Susan Wloszczyna
    Mar 14, 2014
    38
    At least it's admirable that Donohue manages to do almost all his shooting with either web cams, phone cams or surveillance cameras. But that does not translate into an entirely enjoyable viewing experience. Plus, there are almost no real shocks or scares to rattle you out of the stupor that inevitably develops from observing someone else fiddle with their laptop for much of the running time.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. May 30, 2014
    10
    The Den was an amazing experience, it's a film full of intensity and effective jump scares, one of the best found-footage films of the year,The Den was an amazing experience, it's a film full of intensity and effective jump scares, one of the best found-footage films of the year, one of the best films of the year, very, very underrated, i just love this film and all the issues realted with the "Deep Web". Collapse
  2. Aug 9, 2014
    10
    OMG those are my first words about this movie. I will first say I'm a Horror movie buff and I have seen more horror films then I can count andOMG those are my first words about this movie. I will first say I'm a Horror movie buff and I have seen more horror films then I can count and it is my favorite genre of films so with that said I will begin. I had first seen a trailer and heard about this movie a few months prior to it's release and I couldn't wait to watch it just based on the premise. I love found footage movies.

    I will say that I didn't know any of the actors nor was I worried bc that doesn't always make a great horror film as this shows. The actors did a terrific job especially the main girl Elizabeth. I will say that for a short film it was Uber intense and very much kept you on the edge of your seat. The violence was gritty and in your face and the questions it raises are very valid especially from a technology standpoint. I for one don't scare easy at all and the jump scares were the best I have seen in a while and even knowing they were coming and it still got me was Impressive.

    I would recommend this movie to any and all that love horror and appreciate what this film does in the time span it is allotted. I would also note that the movie does raise one or two questions but nothing that would kill the movie buzz once the credits start rolling. I for one hope this director keeps up with his career bc as I said I love this movie and it is def going in the books for direction as well as great scares and overall atmosphere.
    Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2014
    9
    I guess since all my life I've been surrounded by stuff like Youtube, Facebook, and Omegle that this really scared the **** outta me. It'sI guess since all my life I've been surrounded by stuff like Youtube, Facebook, and Omegle that this really scared the **** outta me. It's intense, suspenseful, scary, gory, everything you could want from a horror flick. I highly recommend this. Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2015
    6
    This is the first film I've watched in 2015 and boy... phew, that was crazy. I won't say much but hot damn, this type of stuff CREEPS ME OUT.This is the first film I've watched in 2015 and boy... phew, that was crazy. I won't say much but hot damn, this type of stuff CREEPS ME OUT. I will not be leaving my webcam uncovered anymore... I feel like the nudity and random flashes of absurd humor were pointless and took away any sort of horror, especially the penis puppet... The ending scene also seemed kind of forced... I still enjoyed the film. Very well done. Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2015
    6
    The Den takes a lot of modern references such as social media quirks and web cam gimmicks to produce a unique kind of found footage film. It'sThe Den takes a lot of modern references such as social media quirks and web cam gimmicks to produce a unique kind of found footage film. It's similar to series of creepy pastas on internet, and even for those who are barely familiar with the technology, the film should be relatable. Unfortunately, the conclusion isn't as strong as the set-up and some of the plots developments are too far fetch.

    Elizabeth (Melanie Papalia) is a student who investigates the behavior of web cam users in a website called The Den. It's a random streaming chat site, and just like the actual thing it has a lot of dubious people. Elizabeth begins to see a lot of strange things, including potential snuff video. It escalates very closely into her real life. The premise holds a good advantage since viewers will be familiar with this set-up.

    Acting is pretty good for the lead, as Melanie Papalia plays the role of modern young woman who relies on this tech. For most part she seems identifiable, and the film is at its strongest at first act. Cleverly using bits of well-known jokes or internet sensation, it grabs attention very quickly. The horror aspect is handled very well as it's based on viral spooky stories or clips which already proven effective to attract attention.

    Problem starts to show at latter half as the threat is looking very omnipotent. It's almost ludicrous how it can get to Elizabeth with near supernatural tech wizardly and seemingly unworldly power. The mainstay of found footage flaws reveal themselves later on as the visual gets muddled and slow, the vexing frame rate drop is real. It also doesn't make sense why there are conveniently placed cameras, especially in first person view.

    The Den resembles internet sensation it's based on, interesting at first but stumble with glitches afterward. The material is spread too thinly and the last act falters, considering the film is fairly short it could've wrapped up nicer. If not for anything, The Den has a few good internet viral scares and they are better than most found footage has to offer.
    Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2015
    2
    This is the most "WTF mate?" horror movie I've seen a while. Not really all that scary because its so grounded in reality but then even failsThis is the most "WTF mate?" horror movie I've seen a while. Not really all that scary because its so grounded in reality but then even fails at making reality real. Stuff like it takes more than 10 seconds to wipe a hard drive or how hackers could supposedly activate the chic's computer while it was powered off. And the protagonist is just so hard to sympathize with when time and time again she showed absolutely no common sense or shred of reasonability in her actions / reactions. And god the ending was bad. This was where the real WTF factor comes in because it basically just raises the question all over again about whether the whole thing was a hoax or not. Also it was chalk-filled with TV tropes everywhere. Bad. Would not watch again. Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2015
    0
    Absolutely revolting - torture porn of the worst kind. Unless you are the type of idiot who actually enjoys crap like "Saw" and "Hostel" youAbsolutely revolting - torture porn of the worst kind. Unless you are the type of idiot who actually enjoys crap like "Saw" and "Hostel" you should avoid this sorry excuse for a movie at all costs. Zachary Donahue should be banned from film-making for life for producing this filth. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers