Lions Gate Films | Release Date: August 4, 2006
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 576 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
510
Mixed:
38
Negative:
28
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JoellemmSep 30, 2016
The claustrophobic setting is so well directed, ensuring tension is already built before we even realise the most horrific elements of the cavern. The simplistic plot has its ground work layered early on, meaning the focus is on scares fromThe claustrophobic setting is so well directed, ensuring tension is already built before we even realise the most horrific elements of the cavern. The simplistic plot has its ground work layered early on, meaning the focus is on scares from then on. The plot is fun, and works well with theme. The most impressive aspect of the film, is its escalation; of the tension, the gore, the scares, the characters. The acting was a little underwhelming, and there was some minor unexplained plot points, plus some over the top moments, but these take little away from what is a great horror film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
unmetacrittorAug 17, 2016
Hi ! This movie is pure excellence, unlike the 'it's pure garbage' that I am
reading from people whom did not like it at all. I will respect others
opinions and if they fell it's an utter poss and it's 'the worst film I ever saw in my
Hi ! This movie is pure excellence, unlike the 'it's pure garbage' that I am
reading from people whom did not like it at all. I will respect others
opinions and if they fell it's an utter poss and it's 'the worst film I
ever saw in my life.. With that said. So back to my feelings on this. I
really can't understand people, I just don't...I'll try... I know it is
not a movie that tries to be Oscar-worthy with deep layers of morality
(there is some in this movie) around
a dramatic story. For horror ones (I despise this term I prefer
thriller/suspense with horror elements, I know this is high
categorizing which I don't like either, since it's pigeon holing, The
audience also forgets that there are over 50,000 movies, it's 'normal'
At some point, things can look similar when there are so many movies. ..so please cut some slack and
be considerate of how hard it is to make a movie. So with that,
further, said. I want to say this movies is pure excellence because it hits the right
notes : claustrophobia (some don't like that, hence hate the
movie..understandable, still this element raises the movies scare
factor), darkness (extremely important to increase the psychological
factor (who is isn't afraid of utter darkness - stuck in a cave?),
extremely impressive soundtrack and aural experience (the sound
designers made sure there is reverberation and 'cave echo' everywhere
in the movie (unlike in Descent 2, which is more flat sonic-ally and
greatly affects the viewers spatial situations effect (trapped in a
silent cave where every surround sound is heard in echo 3D surround
sound fashion. In fact, The Descent boasts an incredible 7.1 channels
instead of regular 5.1 (still great), the difference is massive, you
hear creatures behind you, (side left, side right) everywhere this
level of 3D surround sound 'envelopping/engulfing' effect is not heard
of in other horror movies, where you feel more a passive eye, here you
feel on the scene right in the cave - with the women.))), it features
all-women cast (new, but not,,but new enough - as spelunkers, very new
thus a originality), the creatures (which everyone laughs out as poor
man's version of 'ghollum troll' or some other 'fake *ss'
''costume-prosthetics''...great ''prosthetics'', like great '3D CGI', as a tool, have their place and I don't think the
'bareness' of these cave creatures should be so dismissed (''a 'naked
dude' with a 'ghollum mask'...nice..very scary.not.''). For me, the
first part is a slow build-up, and the best one, I saw this at Fantasia
in 2005, it took my breath away (No movie had done this in at least 20
years time, since the first Alien, and this movie is an homage to it
also, Mr.Marshall said that he was inspired by these great horror
movies such as the terrifying and slow potboiler Alien 1 of Mr.Scott),
I remember looking at these women fighting the Cave, fighting
themselves (friendships dissolve as they are now - each fending for
themselves), fighting death (pure survival), fighting creatures (yeah
OK they don't exist - its a 'FICTION' read that word/Calm down with the
'it doesn't make sense/it's stupid and nonsensical brainless movie'
accusation and an Excellent at that, but still they are late enough and
have a certain degree of 'fitting in', it 'could' be possible (even if
some said, these creatures would have evolved outside the cave/left
it...not necessarily, they could have evolved Inside), When they face
the pits/chasm it's utterly terrifying (to try to cross over and not
fall to their death), the cave is so mean and unforgiving. Mr.Marshall uses important elements like coloring palette (he uses red during deadly scenes, green in more danger-free scenes, important red flare lighting and deep shadows blacks darkness to hide the elements and enhance utter fear) scares (great) hate the 'jumpscare' 'boo! a flying cat!' categorization..you do not scare someone - with ONLY dread, you need higher than that, 'jump' scares are that element that TAKE people by SURPRISE, you need it, you may despise it but it's a reality, to scare you, you need to be startled. The actress are incredible and heightened the fear (they are screaming, emotions and full of tears, you know this could BE YOU in the cave, surviving). , the scares are extremely well made with musical accents (staccato) but the whole movie is almost in surround silence (we only hear the surrounding noise of the cave and women's footsteps echos- frightening), there is utter viscerally and 'fight to the death' to live. It's a story of pure survival (blood, gore is never just for the sake, they really fight to death and he makes sure we feel the grittiness of the survival. The cave is so foreboding is takes a form of 'character' itself (the shadows sculpt all the nice rock patterns, very detailed and realistic set construction. SIMPLY PUT : THE BEST SUSPENSE THRILLER HORROR/WITH HORROR ELEMENTS SINCE ALIEN 1 AND SHINING, YES, EVEN SHINING OR OR EXORCIST.Congrats Mr.Marshall, please make Descent 3
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleNov 17, 2015
The Descent is an expertly crafted horror film. Directed by Neil Marshall, the film is not only claustrophobic and incredibly uncomfortable. The performances are all very good, the score is solid, and the set design is great, but above all,The Descent is an expertly crafted horror film. Directed by Neil Marshall, the film is not only claustrophobic and incredibly uncomfortable. The performances are all very good, the score is solid, and the set design is great, but above all, it is entirely unsettling. Multiple times I was freaking out and scared out of my mind, which is a great thing for a horror film. The creature design was great and the whole story behind it was very compelling. For a film as contained as this one, the tension was always incredibly high and was very well put together. We are really inserted into the mind of the characters and that ups the terror even more. On every front, The Descent knocks it out of the park and is a really entertaining and fun film to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Brc123Feb 23, 2015
The Descent is a very fantastic horror that definitely shows that not all horror movies these days suck. It has likable characters and an intriguing, yet dark plot. However, while there are plenty of great scares in the film, it does hostThe Descent is a very fantastic horror that definitely shows that not all horror movies these days suck. It has likable characters and an intriguing, yet dark plot. However, while there are plenty of great scares in the film, it does host some cheap "boo!" moments as well. And this may be nitpicking, but there are so many questions that could be asked about the crawlers that result in plot holes in the movie that I won't even go on about. All-in-all, fantastic movie that is a must-watch for any horror fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shellviewDec 23, 2014
This is one of the best horror films I have ever seen as long as it is seen unedited with its original ending. I recently saw it again on TV and was so disappointed at its "hopeful" new ending. Since I tend to be claustrophobic "TheThis is one of the best horror films I have ever seen as long as it is seen unedited with its original ending. I recently saw it again on TV and was so disappointed at its "hopeful" new ending. Since I tend to be claustrophobic "The Descent" made me intensely uncomfortable. All horror buffs should see this film but only the unedited version which makes it that much more frightening. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Meth-dudeNov 7, 2014
It's brutal,gore and the monsters are terrifying,this movie is just incredible.The female characters are plausible and the scenario is good.Probably one the most scary movie in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
horcrux2007Sep 2, 2014
"The Descent" is possibly the scariest movie ever made, and it's one of the best horror movies of the 2000's, and, possibly, of all time. It's unpredictable, intense, enjoyable, and extremely original. It perfectly combines jump scares with"The Descent" is possibly the scariest movie ever made, and it's one of the best horror movies of the 2000's, and, possibly, of all time. It's unpredictable, intense, enjoyable, and extremely original. It perfectly combines jump scares with pure tension. I give it my highest recommendation. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
KivaSep 8, 2013
The descent is a smart original horror-action movie about six friends who go to explore an unknown cave somewhere in America. Everything is ok until they realize that in this cave some creatures live. And then the action starts. Before theThe descent is a smart original horror-action movie about six friends who go to explore an unknown cave somewhere in America. Everything is ok until they realize that in this cave some creatures live. And then the action starts. Before the appearance of the monsters it has suspense and in the beginning it is a thriller But it becomes a really good horror movie. It has scary moments, and suspense during the whole movie. You will be scared and you will enjoy it. Trust me. The ending was a little strange. I would like to watch the sequel just to see what will happen. I am really curious. In general the descent is a claustrophobic horror movie and I have to say that it is the first British horror movie that I watched and it was pretty good. Thumbs up! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
GlitterAug 30, 2013
While the slow pacing may be off-putting to gorehounds expecting a train through the tunnel blood orgy, it does pick up in the final act, with blood for all, and baths of blood to spare! Featuring actresses who previously never showed anyWhile the slow pacing may be off-putting to gorehounds expecting a train through the tunnel blood orgy, it does pick up in the final act, with blood for all, and baths of blood to spare! Featuring actresses who previously never showed any commercial or widespread acclaim, they boast their finest acting chops under direction in a flick that rattles your spine and twists your vertebrae one by one, as the minutes tick on. As you slowly watch each character be ripped limb to limb in the faintest lights by darkness, your mind begins to feel emotion as you realize you spent the first near hour actually growing fond of these women and their character development (how shocking for the Horror genre!) While The Descent may not be a classic to be praised for generations to come, it works best at delivering an hour of building tension, before 30 minutes of an relentlessness terror that leaves a bad thought of regret (if viewing the flaw-free director's cut ending.) Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGoer14Jul 22, 2013
The Descent is extremely intense and unpredictable with a dark and original story. It is brutal and terrifying, with chilling action sequences, plus that you will remember the movie for sometime, it is a decent thriller that can be one of theThe Descent is extremely intense and unpredictable with a dark and original story. It is brutal and terrifying, with chilling action sequences, plus that you will remember the movie for sometime, it is a decent thriller that can be one of the scariest and best horror movies ever made. (The movie is not for anyone who have claustrophobia) Expand
10 of 10 users found this helpful100
All this user's reviews
9
RoadwarriorMar 16, 2013
CAVING! NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NOT EVER!!!!!!! This movie has guaranteed I'm a surface dweller for life! I'm a tough character, not easily daunted, but several fear inducing facets contained within this film had me frozen in CAVING! NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NOT EVER!!!!!!! This movie has guaranteed I'm a surface dweller for life! I'm a tough character, not easily daunted, but several fear inducing facets contained within this film had me frozen in wide-eyed terror! Watch it and see if I'm wrong... Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
survivorfan989Jan 28, 2013
Solid Horror film from the UK and one of my personal favs, but it's fails to get the high score due to somewhat of a sloppy ending. Great all-female cast head deep into a cave system and get stalked by 'crawlers', and it makes for one hell ofSolid Horror film from the UK and one of my personal favs, but it's fails to get the high score due to somewhat of a sloppy ending. Great all-female cast head deep into a cave system and get stalked by 'crawlers', and it makes for one hell of a Horror film that would freak anyone out! There is also some great character development, especially with the leads Sarah & Juno. Overall I highly enjoyed it and have seen it quite a few times now, and would certainly recommend it to Horror buffs! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
RikiegeSep 24, 2012
The descent seemed a bit overwhelming, terrifying and gore. I like just enough to rate it a 7. There is a movie that you recommend but ................ okay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
liontigerbearJul 23, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Descent is of a rare breed these days, a horror film that is actually relentlessly scary. With a simple premise and nice cast to be picked away at one by one, the film is one of the jumpiest out. The setting is terrifically, creating immense claustrophobia early on. And the film is clever, easing the audience into the monsters, showing them little of the fairly simple-costumed creatures. A few points of darkness, a night-vision camera and just enough violence make the Descent an incredibly fun horror. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
gagaforeverMay 30, 2012
To be honest, maybe one of the best horror films i have ever seen. It was very unpredictable and gory. I do admit I had to cover my eyes from one death scene, but other than that I was very impressed with the filming and the sets. ATo be honest, maybe one of the best horror films i have ever seen. It was very unpredictable and gory. I do admit I had to cover my eyes from one death scene, but other than that I was very impressed with the filming and the sets. A definite must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TTW107Apr 27, 2012
Hands down one of the best horror movies of the 2000s. It's got scares, boat loads of blood and a near perfect pace to match the intensity. Underground evolved humans rejoice!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Nick5414Oct 1, 2011
The best horror movie ever !
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
A excelent movie of suspense that compense certain conventions knowing explore very well the claustrophobic climate and the strain implied, besides as well as reckon an interested feminine time of actress. To the surface tension, suspense ofA excelent movie of suspense that compense certain conventions knowing explore very well the claustrophobic climate and the strain implied, besides as well as reckon an interested feminine time of actress. To the surface tension, suspense of the good. Every horror movie has that premise that, at first, nothing seems innovator. The objective the Descent is to show how it's possible do something with quality using the same product. Every scene is going be more deep and the idea of the total darkness scenes were brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DeviousBastardMay 26, 2011
Not too original as people calm it to be since it borrowed ideas from The Times Machine, Lurking Fear, Beast in the cave, C.H.U.D. It even has the main character falling into a pool of bones like in the remade version of The Time Machine.Not too original as people calm it to be since it borrowed ideas from The Times Machine, Lurking Fear, Beast in the cave, C.H.U.D. It even has the main character falling into a pool of bones like in the remade version of The Time Machine. This idea has been rehashed several times in the past hundred years. Overall it's a good movie but not that great in my eyes. 7.1/10 Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
LillerzNov 21, 2010
This film was enjoyable, well paced and certainly scary enough for most. It's tempting to think that perhaps the beasts in the cave were unnecessary, as the cave itself was forbodeing enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ryancarroll88Aug 26, 2010
A plot that sounds as though it is destined for B-movie massacre is saved by director Neil Marshall simply by playing by his own rules - it is comprised of an all-female cast, the first 20 minutes are actually used to develop them asA plot that sounds as though it is destined for B-movie massacre is saved by director Neil Marshall simply by playing by his own rules - it is comprised of an all-female cast, the first 20 minutes are actually used to develop them as characters, and the suspense and horror are all built up even before the real terror strikes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ScottNJun 7, 2009
Definitely one of the more effectively-creep horror movies to come out in the theatres in the past several years IMO. In fact, I think this movie could have been just as scary (or even moreso) without the blind, flesh-eating creatures. The Definitely one of the more effectively-creep horror movies to come out in the theatres in the past several years IMO. In fact, I think this movie could have been just as scary (or even moreso) without the blind, flesh-eating creatures. The first 45 minutes of the movie before the creatures start showing up will really get you going, especially for any of you clostrophobes out there. To me, the simple situation of finding yourselves in a cave system and not knowing if you will be able to ever find your way out is even scarier than when the blood and gore starts to flow.. But regardless, a very well done movie that is sure to give you the willies. My only complaint is about the so cliche "fooled ya!" type of ending that has been so over done.. Either let the girl escape or don't, but don't do the old "ok, that didn't really happen" thing. Please. But that didn't ruin the movie - I still highly recommend watching it at least once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ClifC.Mar 9, 2009
What is interesting is how characters react when they are confronted to fear itself. The plot is well constructed and the last scene is mentally shocking. Some special effects (with the camera) are weird and almost unwatchable, and the What is interesting is how characters react when they are confronted to fear itself. The plot is well constructed and the last scene is mentally shocking. Some special effects (with the camera) are weird and almost unwatchable, and the acting is not good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KorayD.Feb 6, 2009
If you want to experience real clousthrophobic terror this is a really good film. I am still feeling repressed as I am writing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnS.Aug 25, 2008
The Descent is the kind of movie that will see a fair share of play time on the Sci-Fi channel, but it was thrilling nevertheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RandyM.Aug 15, 2008
While this shockingly chilling horror movie might not appeal to everyone, those who do happen to find appeal in it will be utterly terrified by the fresh breath that Neil Marshall breathes into a much recycled horror genre. The subtle bits While this shockingly chilling horror movie might not appeal to everyone, those who do happen to find appeal in it will be utterly terrified by the fresh breath that Neil Marshall breathes into a much recycled horror genre. The subtle bits and pieces that he places within the film are nothing short of brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MMay 29, 2008
It was a very solid horror film. Little corny with monsters, but intensity pacing was far superior to most recent horror films. It's a mix of Shining, Aliens, and Deliverance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanReyPApr 9, 2008
Anybody who does not like this movie will never like any horror movie at all! It's just one of the best horror movies done! A simple story but very innovative idea!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnneN.Dec 6, 2007
brilliant and original film, bit of a crap ending though
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ND.Apr 1, 2007
Far better than I expected (hadnt read any reviews when we rented it out) - plenty of jumpy bits( girlfriend almost went through the roof when we first see the creature lol). Worth watching if you like gory chillers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RD.Mar 25, 2007
Very good horror. Such a horror movie comes only once ina few years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveEFeb 18, 2007
Great, great, great. Best horror flick I've seen in 15 years. If you know what a good movie is, ignore all negative reviews of this flick. Those writers obvious idiots.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickBFeb 13, 2007
Unexpectedly good film, I had been told by others to check it out without knowing anything of the premise. I watched the unrated director's cut, which definitely pulled no punches. Fans of H.P. Lovecraft in cinema take note: while this Unexpectedly good film, I had been told by others to check it out without knowing anything of the premise. I watched the unrated director's cut, which definitely pulled no punches. Fans of H.P. Lovecraft in cinema take note: while this is not a Lovecraft film per se, it easily fits all tropes and elements of the genre. As for me, as a jaded horror fan, it's nice to run across a movie that made me jump out of my skin about ten times during the movie. Very hard to do to me anymore! I look forward to more work from this director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MiguelL.Jan 28, 2007
This was a good thriller with a plot line that kept me on my toes. The acting was good and the cast fit well with one another. Overall, a great "don't-watch-this-alone" movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BobbyE.Jan 18, 2007
I can't remember the last time I was actually genuinely frightened by a scene that made me really jump in a movie. If you have seen this movie you know what I'm talking about and the scene a little before was as tough to watch as I can't remember the last time I was actually genuinely frightened by a scene that made me really jump in a movie. If you have seen this movie you know what I'm talking about and the scene a little before was as tough to watch as anything I've ever watched. Not a great movie but definitely worth while and I suggest you check it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattR.Jan 15, 2007
"Thrillingly terrific and terrifying" would be the phrase that immediately comes to mind when I think of "The Descent", Neil Marshall's horror masterpiece. Never have I viewed such a claustrophobic film, where my heart is literally "Thrillingly terrific and terrifying" would be the phrase that immediately comes to mind when I think of "The Descent", Neil Marshall's horror masterpiece. Never have I viewed such a claustrophobic film, where my heart is literally beating out of my chest at the mere sight of a tunnel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RirenJan 6, 2007
Hey its not as good as the classic horror movies such as the Excorcist, The Thing, and Alien but it is a very good jump out of your seat fun. The begining of the movie made it very suspensful and the violence was pretty gruesome but the only Hey its not as good as the classic horror movies such as the Excorcist, The Thing, and Alien but it is a very good jump out of your seat fun. The begining of the movie made it very suspensful and the violence was pretty gruesome but the only thing that kept this movie at a 8 was because the monsters could have been a little creepier and scarier but other than that best horror flick 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
halbDec 29, 2006
A very good horror film; not great, but very effective. A descent into horror and a descent into madness. As other reviewers have noted, you DO get to know and care about some of the characters (at least more than your average horror flick). A very good horror film; not great, but very effective. A descent into horror and a descent into madness. As other reviewers have noted, you DO get to know and care about some of the characters (at least more than your average horror flick). And there are at least a good 6 or 7 jump-from-your-seat moments! The ending has a nice, nasty little twist to it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CoryHDec 26, 2006
This is my definition of a horror flick. It gives you time to care about the characters. It gives you time to care about their situation. It makes you want to know what's going to happen next. I see a lot of negative reviews from people This is my definition of a horror flick. It gives you time to care about the characters. It gives you time to care about their situation. It makes you want to know what's going to happen next. I see a lot of negative reviews from people that find the opening hour boring. I'll be these are the same people that LOVE The Thing, The Exorcist, or Alien. In all three of the above mentioned movies, nothing REALLY scary happens for a good half hour to forty five minutes. Why? BECAUSE THE BACKDROP HAS TO BE SET TO SCARE THE HELL OUT OF YOU!!!!!!!!!!! This movie is fantastic and should be viewed by any horror fan. Hands down. Next question please. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BBDec 26, 2006
Considering how awful this year was for horror.... This movie makes up for it. Best horror movie of 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
andyw.Dec 26, 2006
I actually saw this a long time ago and the fact that I remember most of this genuinely terrifying film speaks for itself - especially in this current climate of instantly forgettable totally unoriginal 'horror' films. At a guess I I actually saw this a long time ago and the fact that I remember most of this genuinely terrifying film speaks for itself - especially in this current climate of instantly forgettable totally unoriginal 'horror' films. At a guess I would have to say those who claim this film to be 'boring' may well be a bunch of sugar-addicted 12-year-olds who require explosions and/or gratuitous nudity every 5 minutes in order to hold their feeble attention spans. This film works because of the constant cranking up of the tension not because of constant bangs and flashes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RashidSep 19, 2006
I enjoyed it so much. I am the fan of horror films but I was disappointed because in recent year no horror film could make me feel frightened until I saw this movie last month.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobESep 13, 2006
The horror / chiller genre is my favorite, and although I am no so called 'expert' I do like to think I know when I have seen a good movie and not just a scary one. When I first started to watch this film I thought it was just The horror / chiller genre is my favorite, and although I am no so called 'expert' I do like to think I know when I have seen a good movie and not just a scary one. When I first started to watch this film I thought it was just going to be another usual run of the mill horror/chase film. I was so, so wrong. This has to be one if not the best horror I have seen ever. Very, very few films get me jumping in any way but this one did, that is one sign a horror has worked. Secondly it was not mindless. The character set up in the film was first class. Ok it was probably no 'Oscar' performance, but for a horror? It was the best you will see in many horror films. You actually felt something for the characters and wanted them to get to safety which is not always the case in a horror. Yes, I did hear the US ending to the film was rubbish, so I am glad I live in the UK. If you Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColinM.Aug 25, 2006
Easily the best horror movie in many years. Very interesting dynamics between the characters and some truly frightening sequences that combine four primal human fears: heights, enclosed spaces, monsters, and the dark. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BooBerryAug 24, 2006
This movie is scary. There are some plot holes for those that can't suspend disbelief, but that is very minor compared to the overall emotion and fear this movie will create at times. The unique thing about this movie is unlike the This movie is scary. There are some plot holes for those that can't suspend disbelief, but that is very minor compared to the overall emotion and fear this movie will create at times. The unique thing about this movie is unlike the horror movies of the 70s and 80s, these girls aren't exactly helpless damsels. That also is what makes it emotional because their heroics, for most, will be in vain. The creatures at first are horrifying, but near the end I found them becoming "video gamed" up. The girls could meet one challenge so now we give you two creatures...then more...it took away from the movies better scenes of girl vs. the unknown in the dark. I guess the best sign that this movie was good, was that I was glad it was over and secretly felt I had to get on the internet just to see the actors were ok because you feel close to the characters they played. Good fun, those that are afraid of caves may hate the panic attack moments in this movie though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeAverageAug 19, 2006
If you found the ending to be contrived and rushed, you owe it to yourself to search 'descent uk ending' on the web. Yes, I detested the ending, mainly because I thought the rest of the flick was well crafted. Playful and If you found the ending to be contrived and rushed, you owe it to yourself to search 'descent uk ending' on the web. Yes, I detested the ending, mainly because I thought the rest of the flick was well crafted. Playful and multi-layered take on the conventional 'guy's-road-trip-gone-bad' premise. BTW If you felt the US release had a satisfying ending, don't bother with the UK ending (you'll probably hate it). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GerronK.Aug 16, 2006
"The Descent" is the most horrifying, chilling, enchanting and tastefully gory movie to come about in years. Not only does it prey on our fears from the things in the cave, but it does so by presenting scenes in total darkness. The movie is "The Descent" is the most horrifying, chilling, enchanting and tastefully gory movie to come about in years. Not only does it prey on our fears from the things in the cave, but it does so by presenting scenes in total darkness. The movie is surprisingly restrained, but it's dark ending makes up for that. I enjoyed this movie a whole lot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClintM.Aug 15, 2006
completely horrifying to me ... you feel the suffocation the cavers experience early on in the movie and then the crazy crawlers start coming out and the rest is basically you holding your breath until the final scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Aug 14, 2006
Like Lars Von Trier's "Dancer in the Dark" and Thomas Vinerberg's "Dear Wendy", a European location substitutes for an American one. In this case, Scotland plays the part of the Appalachian Mountains. Those films were criticisms of Like Lars Von Trier's "Dancer in the Dark" and Thomas Vinerberg's "Dear Wendy", a European location substitutes for an American one. In this case, Scotland plays the part of the Appalachian Mountains. Those films were criticisms of America, and early in "The Descent", the woman who controls the car radio, passes on banjo music and makes a dismissive remark about Christianity. Like the Dogma filmmakers, "The Descent" uses a few laughably slight signifiers to normalize its surroundings. If you consider this film was made in the UK and everybody is in a bloody uproar about Tony Blair's involvment with President George W. Bush, isn't it interesting that it's the American character who gets everybody killed. Like the remake of "The Hills Have Eyes", this seemingly escapist romp in the woods has a biting political subtext. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnB.Aug 13, 2006
Having 6 female characters and not one guy join them is a very daring move that I really appreciated in this movie. It proves to me that you don't need a tough guy in the film to bring all the action, adventure, and violence of a good Having 6 female characters and not one guy join them is a very daring move that I really appreciated in this movie. It proves to me that you don't need a tough guy in the film to bring all the action, adventure, and violence of a good horror flick. The movie did all the right things and rarely bored you. The Descent is as daring a movie in its originality as it is an old school thriller that keeps to a good standard for the horror fans. The first truly thrilling and scary movie I have seen. It is definitely worth seeing and is recommended to see on the big screen compared to a rental. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarquisAug 12, 2006
scared the .... out of me! I think my niece will have nightmares for the next two weeks now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobW.Aug 12, 2006
The claustrophobics will be fine by the second half but those with weak stomachs or hearts may not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaseAug 9, 2006
Not only one of the best horror movies of the last 10 years but one of the best movies of the year!! Truly gets everything right, chills, gore, acting, suspense. A movie fan especially a horror movie fan couldnt ask for more. Most Not only one of the best horror movies of the last 10 years but one of the best movies of the year!! Truly gets everything right, chills, gore, acting, suspense. A movie fan especially a horror movie fan couldnt ask for more. Most importantly we get strong female characters you actually care about which makes what happens all the more horrifying!! GO SEE!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JLightAug 9, 2006
[***SPOILER***] I don't see how true horror fans couldn't get anything but a thrill out of this movie. Someone mentioned that the camera work is jarring and that the gore doesn't last long. It's this "jarring" and fleeting[***SPOILER***] I don't see how true horror fans couldn't get anything but a thrill out of this movie. Someone mentioned that the camera work is jarring and that the gore doesn't last long. It's this "jarring" and fleeting image work that makes this film riveting. Besides, I don't need to see the creatures devouring someone's stomach while they are still alive for 20 seconds. The creatures MAY resemble Golum in some way but, really, they don't. What you have here is a well-acted, well-constructed, well-executed horror film. Strongly atmospheric with several phenomenal scares that even caught me, and I consider myself a pretty stalwart guy, by surprise. It's truly a must see...ESPECIALLY in theaters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SomeoneElseAug 9, 2006
Definitely one of the best horror films I have seen in a long time. Genuinely dense and claustrophobic, well acted, splendidly shot. I liked the endng, because in my opinion it was the only reasonable possibility. Being trapped in an Definitely one of the best horror films I have seen in a long time. Genuinely dense and claustrophobic, well acted, splendidly shot. I liked the endng, because in my opinion it was the only reasonable possibility. Being trapped in an uncharted cave system, not knowing where the exit is, 'low on light' and being hunted by creatures that (as one of the characters claims in the film) are perfectly adapted to underground life and greatly outnumber the lovely ladies, any other ending would have seemed contrived. I saw the european version of the film, but I understand the ending was somewhat 'altered' for release in north america. Pity, but that shouldn't hold anyone back from enjoying the descent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarryP.Aug 9, 2006
The first genuinely scary - and I mean scary - movie in more than a decade. Take Pampers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkB.Aug 8, 2006
Part of what makes watching horror movies, good or bad, with an audience so much fun is occasionally getting to hear some of them talk to the characters onscreen, usually offering such tips as "Don't go in there/ out there/ up there!!" Part of what makes watching horror movies, good or bad, with an audience so much fun is occasionally getting to hear some of them talk to the characters onscreen, usually offering such tips as "Don't go in there/ out there/ up there!!" or some variation. The Descent definitely qualifies as the ultimate "Don't go DOWN there!!" movie. Six outdoorswomen, including one who survived an astonishing tragedy and another who's quite reminiscent of a distaff Burt Reynolds from Deliverance, only even more unduly cocky and wrongheaded, explore an unknown cave and find that being trapped inside it constitutes the LEAST of their troubles. Writer/ director Neil Marshall (Dog Soldiers, and absolutely no relation to Pretty Woman's Garry M.) has come up with an instant genre classic that's relatively light on explicit gore (at least by 2006 R-rated horror movie standards), replacing some of it with great use of naturalistic underground light sources (or their lack thereof) to really ramp up the tension; it's a testament to Marshall's confidence and skill that even though you don't always see everything that's happening onscreen, you're amazingly never in doubt as to what's going on. Marshall is an excellent student of the horror genre, expertly weaving together visual and audio cues, themes and motifs familiar to fans of Alien, Predator, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Final Destination and even Carrie while still making a genuine original. My one cavil with Marshall is that of the six spelunkers, only Sarah and Juno come across as well-developed characters; the other four serve, more or less, as potential raw meat. If Marshall has been studying the work of George A. Romero, who always took the trouble to individualize even the zombie victims with the least amount of screen time in his Living Dead quadrology, then it's time to take a few more lessons! Nevertheless, The Descent is otherwise a smart, sweaty, scary and intensely suspenseful little gem in which Marshall even compensates for the Britishness of his characters and cast (even though the movie mostly takes place in the Appalachian mountains) by making their differing driving habits a subtle part of the plot, and he cleverly turns the potentially cliched final minute into something that can actually be interpreted two different ways! Most of all, though, The Descent proves beyond question why camping, hiking, rafting or other outdoor expeditions are best left to Reynolds and Jon Voight in Deliverance, Keith Carradine and Powers Boothe in Southern Comfort, Joe Pesci and Danny Glover in Gone Fishin'...in short, anybody and everybody but me! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FrankN.S.Aug 7, 2006
The Descent had a fistful of great scares and some amazing directing. I found that it actually had a lot of strengths. I agree with several of the critics that the first half of the movie was the strongest. The acting and cinematography was The Descent had a fistful of great scares and some amazing directing. I found that it actually had a lot of strengths. I agree with several of the critics that the first half of the movie was the strongest. The acting and cinematography was fantastic, and there was so much psychological tension that it almost made the monster attack feel like kind of a dumbing-down. I hate to say it, because as mentioned before, this movie got SO many things right that the majority of horror movies get wrong. I would still recommend it, for sure, but no, it is not as classic as Alien, and I still feel as though the plot could have been much more interesting near the end. The attack scenes got a bit repetitive. Last but not least, it discourages me to think that it is getting put in the same range as Saw and Hostel. Saw was for 12 year olds and Hostel was a try hard. The Descent deserves better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RossAug 7, 2006
This movie acheives sustained tension, and is extremely convincing. Even BEFORE the creatures of the latter half of this movie appeared, it kept me on the edge of my seat. More a "survival thriller" than a horror movie, this was certainly This movie acheives sustained tension, and is extremely convincing. Even BEFORE the creatures of the latter half of this movie appeared, it kept me on the edge of my seat. More a "survival thriller" than a horror movie, this was certainly well made. Check it out if you like this genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshW.Aug 7, 2006
This movie did it all right. It's really rare that a horror movie delivers great scares, let alone great cinematography, acting, story, etc..
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DorsetJDAug 7, 2006
Great pace - not too dark - watch -enjoy - jump !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KellyA.Aug 7, 2006
Loved it. I'd heard from friends who had gone to see it on friday that it was scary as hell, and they were right! Great to see a horror film with strong, capable women who can act.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveB.Aug 6, 2006
Scary as hell. This movie makes Saw 2 and The Hills Have Eyes (newer version) look like Captain Kangaroo. Honestly very chilling and extremely gory. Anybody that compares this movie to The Cave (worst movie I've seen lately) needs theirScary as hell. This movie makes Saw 2 and The Hills Have Eyes (newer version) look like Captain Kangaroo. Honestly very chilling and extremely gory. Anybody that compares this movie to The Cave (worst movie I've seen lately) needs their head examined. If you are a fan of horror movies go see this flick....an awesome feast of blood and gore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertI.Aug 5, 2006
What a perfect premise for a horror film--the claustrophobic passages of an uncharted cave. Ironically, the shock value diminishes when the creatures appear: nothing beats the nerve-jangling apprehension of the dark and slimey unknown. An What a perfect premise for a horror film--the claustrophobic passages of an uncharted cave. Ironically, the shock value diminishes when the creatures appear: nothing beats the nerve-jangling apprehension of the dark and slimey unknown. An shrieking, instant classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DrewF.Aug 5, 2006
Tremendous horror effort. One of the best films i've seen this year PERIOD. The altered ending doesn't change THAT much (both endings are [spoiler omitted] in my opinion), but i do slightly prefer the original ending. Brings Tremendous horror effort. One of the best films i've seen this year PERIOD. The altered ending doesn't change THAT much (both endings are [spoiler omitted] in my opinion), but i do slightly prefer the original ending. Brings everything full-circle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DirkA.Aug 5, 2006
The Descent is solid 70's style horror filmmaking at its finest and though not the Alien 2006 its ads make it out to be, it is easily the best horror film of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelL.Aug 5, 2006
Scariest film I've seen in a long while. Yes, it's derivative, and yes, it's flawed. But, it's well acted, well directed, and creepy as hell. Personally, I feel the gore factor got a bit absurd near the end--excess is not Scariest film I've seen in a long while. Yes, it's derivative, and yes, it's flawed. But, it's well acted, well directed, and creepy as hell. Personally, I feel the gore factor got a bit absurd near the end--excess is not always a good thing. It became desensitizing. But all in all, a welcome relief from Japanese-based "poor little girl was mistreated by her Mommy so now she's back to kill everyone" tedium. Let's hear it for strong women. And endings that aren't Hollywood happy. (My knees are still shaking...) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Aug 3, 2006
Classic artwork...brilliant like no other horor film of the past 20 years. Absolutely breathtaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkS.Aug 1, 2006
Easily the best horror film of 2005. Potentially the best horror film of the last 10 years. Anyone who compares it to The Cave needs to be sectioned. This is superior fare.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BittyR.Jul 30, 2006
Supurb acting and amazing horror. great twists and great director. well done, well lit and really smart plot. instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BittyR.Jul 30, 2006
Supurb acting and amazing horror. great twists and great director. well done, well lit and really smart plot. instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BittyR.Jul 30, 2006
Supurb acting and amazing horror. great twists and great director. well done, well lit and really smart plot. instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BittyR.Jul 30, 2006
Supurb acting and amazing horror. great twists and great director. well done, well lit and really smart plot. instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BittyR.Jul 30, 2006
Supurb acting and amazing horror. great twists and great director. well done, well lit and really smart plot. instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BittyR.Jul 30, 2006
Supurb acting and amazing horror. great twists and great director. well done, well lit and really smart plot. instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BittyR.Jul 30, 2006
Supurb acting and amazing horror. great twists and great director. well done, well lit and really smart plot. instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BittyR.Jul 30, 2006
Supurb acting and amazing horror. great twists and great director. well done, well lit and really smart plot. instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BittyR.Jul 30, 2006
Supurb acting and amazing horror. great twists and great director. well done, well lit and really smart plot. instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BittyR.Jul 30, 2006
Supurb acting and amazing horror. great twists and great director. well done, well lit and really smart plot. instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BittyR.Jul 30, 2006
Supurb acting and amazing horror. great twists and great director. well done, well lit and really smart plot. instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobB.Jul 30, 2006
I had my eyes closed half of the movie. Absolusly terryifying. Perfect beggining. Amazing ending. I would see it 100 times more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SashaO.Jul 30, 2006
I left this movie crying and trebling. I must say i was truely disturbed and effected. I would not recomend seeing it. I have sat through most horror films without a twitch, always knowing what to expect and almost NEVER getting scared. But I left this movie crying and trebling. I must say i was truely disturbed and effected. I would not recomend seeing it. I have sat through most horror films without a twitch, always knowing what to expect and almost NEVER getting scared. But this time, the suprises were endless and the horror was so real that i wet myself. It makes the Texas Chainsaw Massacure look like Barney and The Ring look like Peter Pan. The scariest movie of all time. More so then the Evil Dead. Absoultly terrifying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamS.Jul 30, 2006
Brilliant and terryfying. Great plot, suspenceful until the last twist. Excellent classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MRPTJul 29, 2006
This is an old movie not new this year, unless its getting re-released or something. Anyway its well worth watching. The paranoia of the women and the claustrophobia of the caves is captured well. The tension that builds keeps you peering This is an old movie not new this year, unless its getting re-released or something. Anyway its well worth watching. The paranoia of the women and the claustrophobia of the caves is captured well. The tension that builds keeps you peering through the darkness to see what Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RikJ.Jul 28, 2006
Great horror flick ! I had no clue for the first 45 minutes that it was anything but a well-done indie drama about loss and bonding. Man, was I wrong! Very well directed, shot and lit. Hope it comes to the US so I can see it on the big screen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PabloF.Jul 26, 2006
It's one of the best pictures of horror that i can see in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachelR.Jul 21, 2006
Saw this film at the LA Film Festival and actually levitated out of my seat. I think the screams from the audience could have been heard all the way to San Francisco. I'm not usually a fan of horror movies, but this is the best movie Saw this film at the LA Film Festival and actually levitated out of my seat. I think the screams from the audience could have been heard all the way to San Francisco. I'm not usually a fan of horror movies, but this is the best movie I've seen all year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JakeJul 19, 2006
The first 2/3 of the movie are brilliant as the suspense slowly builds. The pacing is great and it really lets you absorb the "scenery." Unfortunately, once it is revealed what exactly lurks in the cave, the film loses steam, and what wants The first 2/3 of the movie are brilliant as the suspense slowly builds. The pacing is great and it really lets you absorb the "scenery." Unfortunately, once it is revealed what exactly lurks in the cave, the film loses steam, and what wants to be an intense climax seems somewhat rushed. Has it's fair share of scary moments, but it's kind of a one trick pony. I guess there's only so much you could do in a cave. Fortunately the ending is so great it made me forget about most of the flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeC.Jun 23, 2006
Relentless. Grim. The best horror movie of the last 15 years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertK.Jun 20, 2006
The best horror movie in a long, long time, and especially for 2005/2006. You don't want to miss this one, especially if you can see it in the theaters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeM.Jun 18, 2006
How unusual to watch a horror film that actually delivers. Great camerawork, editing, acting and sound plus just the right amount of grand guignol in the final act. Plus a hauntingly downbeat ending. Marshall's the man.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OliverD.Jun 15, 2006
Most effective horror movie in years! Neil Marshall does a brilliant job delivering on almost all human primal fears. Razor sharp technique and earie set design paared with good acting and frightening sound effects make for the most Most effective horror movie in years! Neil Marshall does a brilliant job delivering on almost all human primal fears. Razor sharp technique and earie set design paared with good acting and frightening sound effects make for the most frightening movie I have seen in many years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BértilR.May 26, 2006
The best horror movie I've seen in many years, its really does his works.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinE.Apr 21, 2006
the strongest creature feature in years, good acting, well directed, excellent cinematography, makes a fool out of the cave. If this is your kind of movie, it's a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TobiasO.Mar 3, 2006
Well done British thriller. I've read that Lions Gate will be changing the ending for the US release. What else is new? American studios don't have the courage to make films like this without some gimmicky"let's treat everyone Well done British thriller. I've read that Lions Gate will be changing the ending for the US release. What else is new? American studios don't have the courage to make films like this without some gimmicky"let's treat everyone like their 8 years old" jump-scare ending. But isn't it nice to know the original British ending will be "an extra" on the US dvd release. Marketing at its finest! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielK.Feb 12, 2006
Der beste Horrorfilm seit langer Zeit, ohne Teenager und ohne Happy End. Gott sei Dank bin ich nicht klaustrophobisch, diese Enge würde mich sonst verrückt machen. Kann diesen Film jedem Horror-Fan empfehlen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenA.Dec 27, 2005
Absolutely brilliant. Tons of gore, great acting, great story...great everything! Top notch movie, highly recommended. Get ready to be scared!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianC.Dec 14, 2005
Easily the best horror movie of 2005 and the best British movie since Shaun Of The Dead. Scarier and darker than anything produced by the US in over a decade. Hollywood take note - this is how horror should be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
charlypDec 9, 2005
Magnifico ejercicio de estilo y de terror claustrofóbico. Filmada con excelente pulso y bien interpretada. Abstengase gente impresionable...asusta de verdad y no se corta con las secuencias violentas. Un festín para cualquier Magnifico ejercicio de estilo y de terror claustrofóbico. Filmada con excelente pulso y bien interpretada. Abstengase gente impresionable...asusta de verdad y no se corta con las secuencias violentas. Un festín para cualquier amante del buen cine de terror....algunos deberían aprender y saber que es lo que nunca debieron hacer el último verano. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanBDec 8, 2005
Scary, dark and tightly scripted. There's surprises, twists and some truly nasty horror moments. Another great film from brit director Neil Marshall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful