User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 94
  2. Negative: 21 out of 94
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BigBob
    Sep 3, 2009
    10
    This is a great movie. how many horror movies have actually had the ability to make you feel bad for the sick twisted degenerates at the end. I know the answer for me is 1, and its this movie. Plus for those that dont know, one of the whores that gets shot is the voice actor of Tommy Pickles from Rugrats... added bonus
  2. AnonymousMC
    Jul 30, 2005
    9
    This movie seems to ride the middle line of personal tastes in movies. You will either love this movie or you will hate it. Obviously if your not into horror movies you will hate it. If you go into this movie expection a sequal to House of 1000 Corpses...you may also hate it. This is one of those films that you need to be ready for what you are going get. I had my expectations and I wasThis movie seems to ride the middle line of personal tastes in movies. You will either love this movie or you will hate it. Obviously if your not into horror movies you will hate it. If you go into this movie expection a sequal to House of 1000 Corpses...you may also hate it. This is one of those films that you need to be ready for what you are going get. I had my expectations and I was not let down in the least. This was a perfect departure from House. It managed to keep the 70's explotation feel and increase upon that effect with the visual filming techniques used and at the same time taking out the 'carnival' feel that House had. The dialogue isnt meant to win awards. When was the last time you heard a group of murderous rednecks really quoting some serious "Mark Twain Shit"? The dialogue, like the movie is meant to amuse / shock and entertain a select audiance. The soundtrack is pure genius and actaully got a Yankee like me into Southern Rock. I laughed my whole way through the movie...had a few times where I felt uneasy..and at the end...wished it wasnt over. A great film for me. Its up to you to decide if its for you. Expand
  3. AryaM.
    Aug 1, 2005
    9
    It was the best horror flick that ive seen in a long time its suspensful and pretty damn gory it was startling at times and always kept you guessing what was to happen next. I say the firefly family is the sickest and most entertaining family since Norman Bates with his mom in Phsyco and Leatherface with his family in the texas chainsaw massacre you have to appreciate this film.
  4. CharlieN.
    Aug 3, 2006
    10
    I loved it in it's own sick and bloody way. But it's definetely not for everyone.
  5. NeuroticRampage
    Apr 30, 2007
    9
    This movie is a mix of sadistic violence, disturbing images, shocking events, and hilarious dialogue; all while being shoved into the 70's, an era with no cell phones, or computers. This, with the devilishly designed characters will leave you satisfied in the end. The DVD is also packed with content on 2 separate discs. There is a good 3-5 hours of extras. Worth a buy? Hell yeah. This movie is a mix of sadistic violence, disturbing images, shocking events, and hilarious dialogue; all while being shoved into the 70's, an era with no cell phones, or computers. This, with the devilishly designed characters will leave you satisfied in the end. The DVD is also packed with content on 2 separate discs. There is a good 3-5 hours of extras. Worth a buy? Hell yeah. I'd recommned this movie if: - You have a dark sense of humor - Enjoyed House of 1000 corpses - Want to see a good film. Period. Expand
  6. DonnaN.
    Aug 14, 2005
    9
    Although, I know that some are discouraged by the graphic nature of the film, this should not take away from the fact that it is the best "horror" film in a very, very long time. It is destined to be a cult classic to exceed original films such as Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Night of the Living Dead, etc... The soundtrack is absolutely awesome as well.
  7. NancyM.
    Mar 4, 2006
    10
    Enjoyed..it got your attention..kept it and made me think what the hell happened..hoping to see more of Ron Zombie doing movies with his merry group of outlaws. Thank you for the best movie in a loong time.
  8. ToniaW.
    Jul 30, 2006
    9
    really liked house of 1000 corsps but the devils rejects was a genius the sound track was good choices. waiting to see patientley to see what else rob has in his mind.
  9. Robin
    Jun 1, 2008
    9
    A ride into hell so perverse, violent, horrible and depraved that you can't help but love it! Rob Zombie takes it past the point of all decency, and delivers pure entertainment. If you've ever enjoyed an exploitation movie, or sided with a vicious killer, this will be a joy ride. Also has a great soundtrack that sets the mood perfectly.
  10. MikeD.
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    Great movie! a must-see.
  11. [Anonymous]
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    An uncompromising piece of horror cinema, that not everyone will love. But I did!
  12. Billy
    Jul 22, 2005
    10
    Amazing!!! even better than House of 1000 Corpses. horror fans must see this.
  13. MattR.
    Jul 23, 2005
    9
    Seriously, this is a great movie. Walked into it not having seen House of 1,000 Corpses, left wishing I had three bucks to rent it. An amazingly great film that even someone who's never seen The Hill Have Eyes could appreciate.
  14. barryb.
    Jul 24, 2005
    10
    First, it's brilliantly written. The dialogue alone should win an academy award. In a crazy way, it reminds me of "Rocky" because sly wrote and directed a great movie. Rob Zombie skillfully uses humour, suspense, shock and sadistic violence without selling out to the media. That is, no superheros, no commercial shots of coke or pepsi, no 'war of the worlds.' Instead, he First, it's brilliantly written. The dialogue alone should win an academy award. In a crazy way, it reminds me of "Rocky" because sly wrote and directed a great movie. Rob Zombie skillfully uses humour, suspense, shock and sadistic violence without selling out to the media. That is, no superheros, no commercial shots of coke or pepsi, no 'war of the worlds.' Instead, he sticks with reality, although skewed a bit, it's still a flick that reflects the good and bad of human behavior, the characters will stick to your neurons. In other words, It Rocks! Expand
  15. Breanna
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    This is my ultime favorite movie. Rob Zombie is such a genius. Also, Sheri Moon Zombie is amazing. Otis is my personal favorite. This is a great movie for anyone who likes twisted, sick, demented things. Anyone who thinks this movie is horrible obviously doesn't know what a good horror movie is then. I could watch this movie over and over. each time you notice more and different This is my ultime favorite movie. Rob Zombie is such a genius. Also, Sheri Moon Zombie is amazing. Otis is my personal favorite. This is a great movie for anyone who likes twisted, sick, demented things. Anyone who thinks this movie is horrible obviously doesn't know what a good horror movie is then. I could watch this movie over and over. each time you notice more and different things about it. I think everyone should give this movie a try. Either you love it or you hate it...I love it! Expand
  16. Pooch
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    I thought this was possibly one of the most amazing movies I have ever seen. Everything that comes out of the demented mind of Rob Zombie is pure genious. It had everything a horror/action movie should have. Guns, murder, sick twisted scenes of rape and sex, and just straight out bloody rage. I can't say that this movie is the best horror flick I have ever seen, but it ranks high. I thought this was possibly one of the most amazing movies I have ever seen. Everything that comes out of the demented mind of Rob Zombie is pure genious. It had everything a horror/action movie should have. Guns, murder, sick twisted scenes of rape and sex, and just straight out bloody rage. I can't say that this movie is the best horror flick I have ever seen, but it ranks high. Zombie's other movie, House of 1,000 Corpses, was a good one too, but this one kept me on the edge of my seat unlike the predictable horror of it predecessor. Overall, I give it a 10. Go rent it, now. Expand
  17. FredH.
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    This movie was freaking awesome I enjoyed it very much. Its the best movie I've seen lately.
  18. JasonT.
    Aug 19, 2005
    10
    I can't think of anything better than sex, drugs, murder and guns. whoever says this movie is less than perfect isn;t worth talking to.
  19. AntwianF.
    May 21, 2009
    10
    A classic. funny and derogative. well done. Better that 1000 corpses.
  20. pm
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    If ground fisher is a "fan" of the horror genre, he's got the wrong idea...why over-analyze a movie, with your "one-dimensional" and "substance" bulls..., that was made for pure entertainment purposes in the first place. Look at the classics for god sakes, haha yeah, Bruce Campell is a great actor, his characters jump out of the fucking screan, he's so dimensional he's If ground fisher is a "fan" of the horror genre, he's got the wrong idea...why over-analyze a movie, with your "one-dimensional" and "substance" bulls..., that was made for pure entertainment purposes in the first place. Look at the classics for god sakes, haha yeah, Bruce Campell is a great actor, his characters jump out of the fucking screan, he's so dimensional he's 3-D, and wow, what substance, he's so deep and emotional. Expand
  21. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    This is a Good Sequal to House of 1000 Corpses and it is Sadistic and Terrifying the Tourtre in this film is something i would never want to go through and it just is a movie to be remembered for how Crazy and Evil it is
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
  1. Evil isn't this boring.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    60
    If you can stomach the violence -- and despite the R rating, that's a big if -- it's hard to deny that Zombie has made exactly the movie he set out to make, guaranteed to satiate his considerable fan base and sicken just about everyone else.
  3. 30
    By rubbing your nose in this hillbilly mayhem, Zombie all but dares you to acknowledge your liberal elitism, simply because just now, in Dubya's America, you don't happen to find anything particularly funny or lovable about stupid, dangerous provincials.