The Dukes of Hazzard

User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 101
  2. Negative: 51 out of 101

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. !
    Aug 9, 2005
    0
    Car scenes do not make a movie.
  2. connya.
    Aug 4, 2005
    1
    This redneck flick is everything an idiot wants to see in a movie. so It probably will do fine at the boxoffice because nowadays, people lives with low expectations and have and think the worst the better, thinking sucks!!
  3. [Anonymous]
    Aug 5, 2005
    1
    A joke of a joke with no punch line.
  4. Johnny
    Aug 8, 2005
    0
    This was a bad idea from the start. The realization was insipid. The characters stupid. As a native of West Virginia, I resent the implication that rural people are stupid. Hollywood deal makers and film producers are stupid.
  5. Jake
    Aug 8, 2005
    3
    A couple of passable driving scenes, a couple good shots of Jessica SImpson's body, but overall a complete turd. Somehow managed to insult my intelligence with its implausibility even though I went in with really low expections and a willingness to suspend disbelief. Wait for DVD so you can just fast forward through the numeous unfunny/boring parts.
  6. JoshuaB.
    Dec 15, 2005
    0
    This is the wrong way to remake a good show.It needs that dukes of Hazzard charm to make it better.This movie takes a good show and turns it into crap.This movie needs a better cast and Director to do this job.They have failed completely to make a good movie.I'm sure not to watch this movie.Other people might like this movie,I sure don't.Not to be mean to anybody else who might This is the wrong way to remake a good show.It needs that dukes of Hazzard charm to make it better.This movie takes a good show and turns it into crap.This movie needs a better cast and Director to do this job.They have failed completely to make a good movie.I'm sure not to watch this movie.Other people might like this movie,I sure don't.Not to be mean to anybody else who might like this. Expand
  7. D-Ranged
    Oct 8, 2005
    1
    HATED IT! I don't care about stuff like this. A total abomination and disrespect to the original TV series. Jessica Simpson the ditzy blonde bimbo is grating and overrated in looks-gimme Nia Long anyday :)
  8. stevel
    Aug 12, 2005
    1
    Just plain bad. what's hollywood going to vomit out next, the a-team and knight rider?
  9. BiancaB.
    Aug 15, 2005
    0
    Excretory southern-fried imbecility. so bad it prompts your head to swim and stomach to churn.
  10. ChrisP.
    Aug 20, 2005
    0
    The only good thing in this movie is hot hot hot Jessica... But I guess what I'm trying to say is... I HATE REMAKES OF OLD SHOWS!!!
  11. V.A.
    Aug 5, 2005
    0
    This movie is a disaster. ebert said it best when he said that simpson was from mars. she is so stupid and painful to watch. the rest of the film, unfortunately, is almost as dumb. almost.
  12. TomD.
    Aug 5, 2005
    0
    This is the nadir of film and [oxymoronically] entertainment culture. Sure, people shout down idiots like me with my high, blue-state, stick-up-my-ass opinions, all wanting good dialogue, reasonable plots and whatnot. I don't care. I loved the original Dukes, I like trashy movies and I spent part of my childhood in a trailer in Southern Wisconsin. This is just a terrible movie, no This is the nadir of film and [oxymoronically] entertainment culture. Sure, people shout down idiots like me with my high, blue-state, stick-up-my-ass opinions, all wanting good dialogue, reasonable plots and whatnot. I don't care. I loved the original Dukes, I like trashy movies and I spent part of my childhood in a trailer in Southern Wisconsin. This is just a terrible movie, no matter who you are or where you come from. Give me decent pablum or give me death. Or a retirement home in Branson, MO. Expand
  13. TinaL.
    Aug 5, 2005
    3
    This move is horrible.While the television series was cheesy good fun and actually somewhat of a family show this one is crude. They downplayed the Rosco character who was the scene stealer in the series and once again the Bo character is more annoying and shallowthan entertaining, sort of like the Bo character in the orginal series. I actually prefer Knoxville to Scott in this film. The This move is horrible.While the television series was cheesy good fun and actually somewhat of a family show this one is crude. They downplayed the Rosco character who was the scene stealer in the series and once again the Bo character is more annoying and shallowthan entertaining, sort of like the Bo character in the orginal series. I actually prefer Knoxville to Scott in this film. The Luke Duke character was always cooler and had more subtance in the series and that applies to the film as well. Simpson as Daisy? I think we all knew that was a bad move when we heard she had been cast. Expand
  14. EllieP.
    Aug 6, 2005
    2
    There are no words to describe this.....well, maybe horrible. You can definately tell Hollywood is running out of ideas!
  15. ScottW.
    Aug 6, 2005
    2
    Ruined a great show!! The car chases gave it a 1 pt bump, but the rest was bad. Roscoe was a big dud compared to the series. Boss Hogg was way out of character. Uncle Jesse still makes moonshine and smokes dope. Also, made it pretty racy compared to the wholesome fun of the series. The folks that made this movie are as mindless as those that thought the series was a failure after the Ruined a great show!! The car chases gave it a 1 pt bump, but the rest was bad. Roscoe was a big dud compared to the series. Boss Hogg was way out of character. Uncle Jesse still makes moonshine and smokes dope. Also, made it pretty racy compared to the wholesome fun of the series. The folks that made this movie are as mindless as those that thought the series was a failure after the first year. They don't get it!! My kids still watch the Duke series and I was saddened to see this movie be as bad as it was. Expand
  16. MelissaT.
    Aug 7, 2005
    3
    It sucked even more than I expected, and I had low expectations.
  17. AliceS.
    Aug 7, 2005
    0
    Who do I see about a refund. Oh wait, I got in free.... I want my 100 minutes Back!
  18. RayB.
    Aug 8, 2005
    0
    No need to see. The reviews rating the movie a turd outweigh the inbred reviews. Don't see it!
  19. davidb.
    Aug 9, 2005
    2
    Other than the eye candy of Jessica Simpson, the movie was a snoozer.
  20. bee
    Aug 9, 2005
    1
    Yeeee--hawwww!!!!!
  21. KennyM.
    Jan 10, 2006
    0
    Someone asked me the other day, "what's the worst movie you have ever seen?" I said, "dukes of hazzard." You know how some movies are funny in a sick perverted, teen-comedy way (american pie) but this movie is just plain perversly stupid. It is an excercise in stupidity, and makes me want to vomit all over myself. The acting is horrible, the jokes are horrible, the story is horrible, Someone asked me the other day, "what's the worst movie you have ever seen?" I said, "dukes of hazzard." You know how some movies are funny in a sick perverted, teen-comedy way (american pie) but this movie is just plain perversly stupid. It is an excercise in stupidity, and makes me want to vomit all over myself. The acting is horrible, the jokes are horrible, the story is horrible, jessica simpson should be shot in the face, johnny knoxville should stick to being a jackass, the list goes on and on... absolutly horrible, anyone who likes this has a low IQ and no sense of humor and is obviously going nowhere in life. Collapse
  22. stanleyh.
    Oct 27, 2005
    0
    Total junk,nothing like the tv series that i loved.this movie was a total slam to the people that liked the tv series.the director and writers of the movie in my words should be working in fast food as they know nothing of how movies work and should be good.
  23. ChadS.
    Aug 10, 2005
    2
    The lone bright spot of this dreadful movie is Jessica Simpson, who surprises us by having more in common with rappers than Paris Hilton. She looks comfortable in front of the cameras. Simpson plays a different sort of dumb blonde; a confident, assertive one. "The Dukes of Hazzard" briefly comes to life whenever she's on-screen. If the writers had the common sense to bring Daisy Duke The lone bright spot of this dreadful movie is Jessica Simpson, who surprises us by having more in common with rappers than Paris Hilton. She looks comfortable in front of the cameras. Simpson plays a different sort of dumb blonde; a confident, assertive one. "The Dukes of Hazzard" briefly comes to life whenever she's on-screen. If the writers had the common sense to bring Daisy Duke with Bo and Luke to Atlanta, the writers would've had a potential field day reaffirming and tweaking Simpson's dumb blonde persona. Imagine a livelier version of the blackface scene with Jessica from the backseat, explaining to the offended Georgian natives how the confederate flag isn't synonymous with lynchings and segregation in some ditzy, uninformed fashion. A racist, to a naif like Daisy, might be somebody who hates competition. The anachronism of Simpson on a university campus provides a host of potential comic situations. For instance, what if a scientist discovered a new breed of chicken that lives in seawater? And if the film wanted to go for even broader comedy, have Daisy accidentally discover a cure for cancer, or something else along those lines. Simpson is this stinky film's pot of gold, but it's too preoccupied with unexciting car chases and massaging the egos of Johnny Knoxville and Sean William Scott by making them the main attraction. Expand
  24. Frank
    Aug 12, 2005
    1
    Jessica, why don't you just pose for Playboy and get it over with? Geeez! They
  25. andrewa.
    Aug 15, 2005
    0
    ugh. so boring.
  26. JimmyC.
    Aug 25, 2005
    0
    Ongoing proof that Hollywood is fresh out of original ideas. I walked out 15 minutes into this trashfest.
  27. Rex
    Aug 5, 2005
    1
    Jessica Simpson's "assets" can't even make me like this movie (she's too skinny now anyway). The worst movie I have seen since "Cabin Boy" and that's saying a lot, believe me. I think I lost brain cells . . .
  28. JonS.
    Aug 5, 2005
    0
    I walked out. Quite possibly the worst movie to come out of hollywood in years. Of course you liked it, Jerry R., you're in the army.
  29. DaveB.
    Aug 7, 2005
    1
    Now don't get me wrong, i like fun movies like The Island and Mr. and Mrs. Smith. The kind of movies where you can leave your mind at home and enjoy the ride. I think the only people that left there minds at home here are the actors and crew and anybody that actually enjoyed this movie. This was HORRIBLE!! I was not expecting too much but not something this awful. The 1 is for the Now don't get me wrong, i like fun movies like The Island and Mr. and Mrs. Smith. The kind of movies where you can leave your mind at home and enjoy the ride. I think the only people that left there minds at home here are the actors and crew and anybody that actually enjoyed this movie. This was HORRIBLE!! I was not expecting too much but not something this awful. The 1 is for the car. Watching Willie Nelson, Jessica Simpson and Burt Reynolds was like torture. Take your money and go see Batman Begins again. Expand
  30. Wilson
    Sep 14, 2005
    3
    Don't watch it...boring as hell except Jessica (SO HOT), but if u want to drool...watch her music video--that's much better than the movie.
  31. TaylorB.
    Sep 18, 2006
    0
    The Dukes of Hazzard was hazardous. It was the worst movie I have ever seen. Not only were the actors terrible at reading the dialogue, the entire story line was just plain stupid. As for Jessica Simpson, the less said the better. However it hurt my eyes to watch her on the big screen. Yeah, she's hot, but she is NOT an actress. She needs to stick to what she does best (or better): The Dukes of Hazzard was hazardous. It was the worst movie I have ever seen. Not only were the actors terrible at reading the dialogue, the entire story line was just plain stupid. As for Jessica Simpson, the less said the better. However it hurt my eyes to watch her on the big screen. Yeah, she's hot, but she is NOT an actress. She needs to stick to what she does best (or better): singing.. no more acting PLEASE! I dont' know how much longer I can take watching that girl try to be someone she's not. She's a singer, not an actress. Period. Expand
  32. Bass
    Feb 28, 2006
    0
    This is plain and simply the worst film ever made. The acting is poor, the direction is poor, the story is poor, and buy the time the ending credits roll you're left wondering jst how you didn't manage to kil yourself after the last 2 hours of hellish cinema. I like many others worship Sean William Scott for his rolls in previous brillaint comedies such as American Pie, Road This is plain and simply the worst film ever made. The acting is poor, the direction is poor, the story is poor, and buy the time the ending credits roll you're left wondering jst how you didn't manage to kil yourself after the last 2 hours of hellish cinema. I like many others worship Sean William Scott for his rolls in previous brillaint comedies such as American Pie, Road Trip and his cameo in the truely excellent Old School, however the mere fact that he signed on for this movie is unacceptable, and someone with his natural comedic talent should most definitly be looking towards quality rolls instead of a large paycheck. I've never been the biggest fan of Knockxville but did admire his contribution in Walking Tall along side The Rock, however after watching this film i'm convinced that one good turn was nothing more than a fluke. The only saving grace for this film is that Jessica Simspon is in it and provides quality eye candy, however we all know that much better source material can easily be found on the internet, and for free as well. Please do not watch this film unless you want your brain to experience unadulterated pain and suffering. Expand
  33. TravisW.
    Jan 23, 2008
    2
    Seriously, who wrote this crap? Have they ever watched a single episode of the Dukes?
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 36
  2. Negative: 18 out of 36
  1. A bigger-louder-dumber take on that good ol' CBS hillbilly hit, the movie version of "The Dukes of Hazzard" starts off on the wrong foot and keeps heading, appropriately, south.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    60
    Loud, silly but kind of lame-brained fun with car chases aplenty, "Dukes" faithfully plays like an extended episode of the series, albeit with an additional gallon or so of fuel-injected raunchiness.
  3. Dukes insults not "family values," as the original Cooter claims, just general intelligence. Yee. Haw.