Columbia Pictures | Release Date: September 26, 2014
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 350 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
233
Mixed:
81
Negative:
36
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
LamontRaymondOct 2, 2014
It's a super-entertaining flick, and Deznel is at the peak of his "less is more" powers here. Have we noticed that all these aging actors (Neeson, Denzel) are becoming Charles Bronson? Hey, give the people what they want.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
fantasyOct 4, 2014
Denzel Washington is brilliant as he is born to play this role. There is nothing not to like as the story develops nicely. The villain is expertly played similar to what James Bond 007 usually faced in his adventures. And Denzel improvisesDenzel Washington is brilliant as he is born to play this role. There is nothing not to like as the story develops nicely. The villain is expertly played similar to what James Bond 007 usually faced in his adventures. And Denzel improvises for his choice of weapons usually on the fly. He is always one step ahead of the bad guys. He's the type of vigilante we all wish we had in this world. Maybe he can pay a visit to ISIS? He can do what our President doesn't have the backbone to do! Basically as our fearful Commander In Chief hasn't learned as yet, you can't negotiate with bad guys that have no respect for human life, theirs or our own. Denzel as The Equalizer makes us stand up and cheer. Can't wait for the sequel. Great action popcorn movie. Go see and enjoy! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
HfahmyOct 17, 2014
A superman in casual clothes

A handmade film for Denzel Washington, he is in every scene, he sees, foresees, acts, reacts, knows everything and does everything. There is no real scenario, a storyline that attires, just series of cat and
A superman in casual clothes

A handmade film for Denzel Washington, he is in every scene, he sees, foresees, acts, reacts, knows everything and does everything. There is no real scenario, a storyline that attires, just series of cat and rat maneuvers. Nevertheless the film is tense, there is no why and how, only Denzel Washington knows and may be the script writer. It is hard to identify a typical character or actor, it is a one man show. If you are interested in spending two hours with Denzel, it is the movie, if you are curious in knowing what will happen next, it is the movie, no more no less.
Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
5
KastleJan 3, 2015
I liked this movie WAY better when it was called 'Man on Fire'. It was almost the exact same story except instead of killing Mexican cartel he was killing Russian mob to get revenge for a young girl. Hope Denzel decides to make some moreI liked this movie WAY better when it was called 'Man on Fire'. It was almost the exact same story except instead of killing Mexican cartel he was killing Russian mob to get revenge for a young girl. Hope Denzel decides to make some more unique films again. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
ledaumasSep 28, 2014
I wish the world had a bunch of equalizers. Yes, sometimes you must do something bad for good to win. Very strong message, amazing how Denzel acts with his eyes and it looks like Chloe is building towards a strong future in acting.
9 of 21 users found this helpful912
All this user's reviews
6
Bruce722Oct 24, 2015
I had high hopes for this movie and, while it largely lived up to them, I felt there were some glaring flaws that could've easily been avoided, which would've resulted in a superior film. For one, Antoine Fuqua did a mediocre job with theI had high hopes for this movie and, while it largely lived up to them, I felt there were some glaring flaws that could've easily been avoided, which would've resulted in a superior film. For one, Antoine Fuqua did a mediocre job with the directing role. It almost felt like he had never directed a film in his entire life, found a list of all the cool camera tricks, angles, and cinematic effects, and felt compelled to include each and every one of them. How did this impact the movie? It made it seem as though it lacked any identity whatsoever. Secondly, there is a critical moment in the final major conflict resolution that is just terrible. To avoid spoilers, let's just say that the protagonist that had been established throughout the film makes a decision that he would never make. That, combined with the plot getting a little out of hand, made the last quarter or so of the movie hard to swallow. It wasn't all bad, however, as the rating should reflect. The acting was great and fighting sequences were done incredibly well. The build up and initial character and plot development were fantastic too. Unfortunately this film suffered from having a director who wanted to do everything instead of making a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
dark_wizOct 1, 2014
I really enjoyed the movie, great acting, compelling story not super original, kept me engaged and wanting more, Denzel is a bad ass as usual. This is nothing like the expendables that's laughable. Go see it !
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
KenmeiOct 11, 2015
Extremely middle of the road movie and definitely not one of Denzel's finest moments. There's too much same old same old for me here and even that is not done very well. This movie is compared to Man on Fire alot, one of Denzel's finestExtremely middle of the road movie and definitely not one of Denzel's finest moments. There's too much same old same old for me here and even that is not done very well. This movie is compared to Man on Fire alot, one of Denzel's finest moments I think, and it doesn't hold a candle to that movie. Bout the only thing this movie has going for it is that it's easy to sit down and enjoy. How much you enjoy it really depends on your love of action and/or Denzel movies honestly but it's very easy to follow and it clearly does not want you thinking about the various plot holes too much. There are plenty of other Denzel movies to watch instead of this one. Stay far away from this clunker. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Mar 30, 2015
The Equalizer was one of the most underrated shows of the 1980s, it was a great show, but it always lacked a certain intensity that the lead character needed. In this 2014 film adaptation of the series, Director, Antoine Fuqua, made sure thatThe Equalizer was one of the most underrated shows of the 1980s, it was a great show, but it always lacked a certain intensity that the lead character needed. In this 2014 film adaptation of the series, Director, Antoine Fuqua, made sure that didn't happen again. Denzel Washington stars and can play anyone, but I find he's at his best when he's playing a dark loner like Robert McCall. McCall, a former CIA operative has retired and is attempting to live a normal life. Everything is going as planned, until he sees a young girl being abused, and decides to take action. McCall believe he's just going up against a local pimp, but discovers it's a lot more complicated than that. Washington continues to be at the top of his game, as the ageless wonder is once again spectacular. This film is everything I loved about the series, with a whole lot more action and intensity. Director, Antoine Fuqua, has been on a role after films like Training Day, Shooter, and Olympus Has Fallen, and he has become THE guy when it comes to action films. Playing off an established franchise and paired with Denzel Washington, The Equalizer has come back to life and is one of the most refreshing action films I've seen in a long time. Sometimes with a different team, what was once old, can become new again, and I was practically jumping out of my seat with excitement. As far as the continuation of the series goes, Fuqua is in the early stages of a sequel. It may not be a new TV series, but it's still something exciting for the fans, and I for one can't wait to see more. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
lasttimeisawOct 6, 2014
A recent cinema-going of Denzel Washington’s latest thriller directed by Antoine Fuqua, the man behind his Oscar-crowning good-cop-goes-bad turn in TRAINING DAY (2001, 8/10). But that is only a one-off bait for his Oscar consummation. As oneA recent cinema-going of Denzel Washington’s latest thriller directed by Antoine Fuqua, the man behind his Oscar-crowning good-cop-goes-bad turn in TRAINING DAY (2001, 8/10). But that is only a one-off bait for his Oscar consummation. As one of the most consistently bankable actor in Hollywood (at least in the domestic market), Washington’s good-man card never fail his audience, bar his sortie in portraying an ambiguous character as a drunken pilot garners him another Oscar-nomination in Robert Zemeckis’ FLIGHT (2012, 7/10). So this reunion is more or less commercial-oriented than an ambitious art-house attempt as Fuqua has established his status as the Hollywood go-to action journeyman after producing profitable outputs like SHOOTER (2007) and OLYMPUS HAS FALLEN (2013).

continue reading my review on my blog: google cinema omnivore, thanks
Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
2
yrcrazyOct 1, 2014
Horribly cliched and predictable and despite the storyline being poor it still managed to drag on for two hours. No surprise in guessing the nationality of the bad guys and no surprise the main character kills everything in his path. UsualHorribly cliched and predictable and despite the storyline being poor it still managed to drag on for two hours. No surprise in guessing the nationality of the bad guys and no surprise the main character kills everything in his path. Usual big budget film that insults the intelligence of its viewers. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
bigfoot6463Nov 7, 2014
This is one of the best top 5 movie of the year. Denzel Washington is the bomb. Must see movie. White knuckle ride that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Very graphic kill scenes, and tense as hell. He does what each one of us would likeThis is one of the best top 5 movie of the year. Denzel Washington is the bomb. Must see movie. White knuckle ride that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Very graphic kill scenes, and tense as hell. He does what each one of us would like to do to the **** holes in this world. Story was solid and perfectly scripted. Action was killer. Well acted by all. Inspirational. Denzel Washington happens to be one of my most favorite actors and is never a let down in any of his movies. Im not going to get into the story line, you can read it your self. WELL DONE! God blessed you Denzel Washington and you use your gift flawlessly. It is now 2:00 am and im going to watch Unstoppable, which is another Denzel Washington movie that is a must see. I have watched Unstoppable at least 40 times and the movie never gets old. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
theofficeSep 27, 2014
The Equalizer is in the "noir" genre of film so don't go in expecting a huge shoot 'em up. That being said it was extremely well done and pretty violent while presenting interesting moral questions. Denzel does a great job as usual and IThe Equalizer is in the "noir" genre of film so don't go in expecting a huge shoot 'em up. That being said it was extremely well done and pretty violent while presenting interesting moral questions. Denzel does a great job as usual and I think the overarching story is pretty cool. I also think the movie does a good job of drawing you in to actually care about some of the lesser characters. Think it is worth a watch for sure! Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
8
FullmetalSep 29, 2014
For all the people that claim the movie's plot is not original enough, it is worth noting that this is based on a tv series that ran from 1985 to 1989. That being said, this remake does what the show took a while to do. The show was campy,For all the people that claim the movie's plot is not original enough, it is worth noting that this is based on a tv series that ran from 1985 to 1989. That being said, this remake does what the show took a while to do. The show was campy, the acting was pretty bad, and it was nowhere near as violent as this movie. Denzel Washington did a good job of playing the Black Ops badass in this movie, and I enjoyed when the Russian scumbags pushed his buttons and forced him to act. This movie was entertaining, which is why I go to the movies. If I wanted a cerebral movie about a broken black ops operator, I would watch Man on Fire. This was basically a sequel to Man on Fire with a different character and story. In the end, the girl causes him to snap and do bad things to people who deserve it. Don't have a problem with that, and got good entertainment for what I paid for. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
RealMuthaFSep 26, 2014
While not being somewhat outstanding, The Equalizer is still a potent, albeit a bit too slow-paced, action movie. The plot, obviously, is not very original, so the main question was how good it would be executed.The result is mostlyWhile not being somewhat outstanding, The Equalizer is still a potent, albeit a bit too slow-paced, action movie. The plot, obviously, is not very original, so the main question was how good it would be executed.The result is mostly satisfying, among the strong sides I'd name: of course Denzel Washington, who never disappoints (although his other movies I've seen were better), gory action and the overall classic action movie feel to it - the hero is super bad-ass, always walking slowly, dispensing kickassery and not looking at explosions, while the villain is properly menacing and ruthless.
The movie's not without flaws, and shaky camera work during action scenes, overly slow pacing and the stereotypical bad guys are among them. (Russian gangsters with cheesy tattoos, lots of vodka and tons of Kremlin and Red Square pictures)
Despite that, the movie manages to hold its own and be worth your time and money. It's quite refreshing to watch an old-school bad-ass-dispensing-justice movie after all those comic book adaptations and the rule "Denzel doesn't play in crap" still works.
Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
4
andarial6670Dec 10, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like "The Old Man and the Sea" references in this movie. That's about the only thing that stuck out to me. The pacing is bad. The story is underdeveloped in my opinion. Based on what happens throughout the entire movie, the plot could have resolved itself within the first hour. I think the biggest problem is that this movie follows the formula of "unstoppable protagonist" where Denzel is basically a black superhero smacking around mobsters who look like they've never been in a fight before. I take back the black superhero description, I think "Home Depot Warrior" fits him better. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
BshopOct 2, 2014
Reminded me of another "I'll find you and kill you" type of movie - Paul Blart - Mall Cop.
Seriously though, it was an alright movie, but lasted a bit too long.
Chloe Martz-whatever was alright, small and predictable role. I would wait to
Reminded me of another "I'll find you and kill you" type of movie - Paul Blart - Mall Cop.
Seriously though, it was an alright movie, but lasted a bit too long.
Chloe Martz-whatever was alright, small and predictable role.
I would wait to see on Netflix or Amazon Prime. Not one of Denzel's best, I though his movie Flight was better than this honestly.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
Brutus54Sep 28, 2014
Alright - but way too long, and suffers from the usual problem with heroes these days - where the protagonist is apparently invulnerable, and routinely able to brush off horrible mutilation and/or severe wounds that would sideline - orAlright - but way too long, and suffers from the usual problem with heroes these days - where the protagonist is apparently invulnerable, and routinely able to brush off horrible mutilation and/or severe wounds that would sideline - or terminate - anyone else. It just becomes tedious to watch when no matter what injury is suggested, you know that the hero will simply get up, shrug his shoulders, and then continue on to dispatch everyone else - usually without any consequences. It appears all heroes are now automatically assumed have absorbed Wolverine's self-healing capacity. For example, at one stage here, the Equalizer gets shot (and blown up), is apparently seriously disabled, and even has to be dragged to safety by an onlooker . But one minutes late, he is back, dealing death through the judicious and malevolent manipulation of domestic hardware. It all becomes a bit silly after a while. But nevertheless, Denzel is OK in the role, and the various supporting characters (while clichéd) are also adequate. A sequel beckons. Or possibly five. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Sep 26, 2014
"The Equalizer" is a perfect storm of all sorts of lightning strikes striking in one place at the same time. The breathtaking direction and imagery from Antoine Fuqua and Mauro Fiore. The satiatingly rich and thick score from Harry"The Equalizer" is a perfect storm of all sorts of lightning strikes striking in one place at the same time. The breathtaking direction and imagery from Antoine Fuqua and Mauro Fiore. The satiatingly rich and thick score from Harry Gregson-Williams. The absolutely remarkable and eminently charming turn from Denzel Washington. And the unthinkably satisfying set pieces/fight scenes that make you jump from your seat like a giddy 16-year-old kid seeing an R-Rated movie in theaters for the first time. "The Equalizer" is the kind of movie you don't want to end. Ever. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
8
ToffenuffJan 6, 2015
This is a good action drama movie. I'm a sucker for the quiet, unassuming, and underestimated heroes. I'm also a sucker for pretty much anything Denzel Washington stars in since he's one of my favorite actors. Worth a watch.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
MeritCobaSep 11, 2016
This is certainly an amazing movie as it shows how great an actor Denzel Washinton is. A lot of credit should also go to Marton Csokas who is great as well and the cat and mouse play between the two is what makes the movie.
Washinton is a
This is certainly an amazing movie as it shows how great an actor Denzel Washinton is. A lot of credit should also go to Marton Csokas who is great as well and the cat and mouse play between the two is what makes the movie.
Washinton is a former undercover agent who gets involved in a battle with the Russian mob. Csokas is a former Spetznaz who has to track down and remove the problem Washington.
The biggest flaw in the movie is that Washington is presented as an overconfident and overpowered killing machine who knows too much, with him killing a room full of enemies with just his bare hands to start out with in one of the dumbest scenes. And on the flip side: Csokas is soon revealed as a cliche brutish thug, which makes his first appearance, where he is smart, self-assured and cool a downer in hindsight.
Missing is also the obvious third player, the authorities(or journalist?) hunting the vigilante Washington and a love interest or other vulnerability for Washingon. Many movies know that when one makes someone overpowered, you need to a weakness to make up for it.
This makes the movie mostly boil down to Washington talking a lot to people, killing a lot of bad guys and Csokas being a brute.
The climax of the movie is great because of excellent soundtrack Vengeance by Zack Hemsey and it is a brilliant way of giving tension to the scenes. It also has Washington using the various power tools as deadly weapons.
The movie excels in great scenes, moody talks, finely tuned combat scenes and then gets hurt with Washington knowing too much, being too self-assured , being too overpowered and scenes that are ridiculous as the one that has him walking unarmed into a room with five thugs. Washington also never gets hurt until in the last scene.
This makes the movie unbalanced, despite the great acting. A pity.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KelphyFeb 11, 2015
A little cliche? Maybe so. What I do not see very often these days is great action movies and this one fulfilled what the cliche action movie fans wanted! This is a must see if you want to see an action that us action movie fanatics haveA little cliche? Maybe so. What I do not see very often these days is great action movies and this one fulfilled what the cliche action movie fans wanted! This is a must see if you want to see an action that us action movie fanatics have sorely missed. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
GinaKSep 28, 2014
The Equalizer was a very disappointing film because it was so uneven – schmaltzy parts and vicious action and both types of scenes could be boring. The one really interesting thing was the creative ways the villains were dispatched, althoughThe Equalizer was a very disappointing film because it was so uneven – schmaltzy parts and vicious action and both types of scenes could be boring. The one really interesting thing was the creative ways the villains were dispatched, although The Equalizer was cheating a bit because all his “equalizing “was done on his home turf. Also I wasn’t quite sure where the director and screenwriter were going with the character (I never saw the TV series.) At one point the Equalizer tells a story to the main villain about an orphan boy who was adopted, and he speculates that the boy ended up killing the people who were kind to him. I thought he was talking about the villain, but someone cleverer than I suggested afterwards that he could just as well have been talking about himself since he had such a talent for unadulterated, sadistic violence. If this subtlety was deliberate, then it was a better movie than I thought. But I still am not impressed. (PS: I am a Denzel Washington fan.) Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
9
ThegodfathersonJan 29, 2015
The Equalizer was a knockout. Washington was brilliant and Mortez was mesmerizing. The action is by far, the best I saw in 2014. Director Antione Faqua, who brought us action marvel- Olympus Has Fallen and tense thriller- Training Day, comesThe Equalizer was a knockout. Washington was brilliant and Mortez was mesmerizing. The action is by far, the best I saw in 2014. Director Antione Faqua, who brought us action marvel- Olympus Has Fallen and tense thriller- Training Day, comes with a story of a man with a violent past trying to settle down in his new job, while getting tangled with Russian mobsters along the way. The dynamic performance by Denzel Washington is what holds this movie together, along with the action. The Equalizer is a powerhouse movie, that deserves a buy on BluRay. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
BrianMcCriticJan 4, 2015
A fairly good action film that was about 20 minutes to long. Every time you see Denzel Washington on screen you forget just how awesome he is and in this film it's no different. My main issue would be some scenes just seemed thrown in thereA fairly good action film that was about 20 minutes to long. Every time you see Denzel Washington on screen you forget just how awesome he is and in this film it's no different. My main issue would be some scenes just seemed thrown in there and had very little to do with the plot. In the end Denzel is worth the recommendation. B Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
SEROJMar 12, 2016
Action movies cliches celebrate together one of the most typical action movies ever! So predictable, so boring and disgusting at times. If fighting/shooting scenes are all you're looking for... go ahead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tessara_VejganDec 14, 2014
Surprisingly good move that came out of nowhere. Story is nothing new or revolutionary. Acting is good. It was a fun watch with lots of action and carnage.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
calinutzDec 12, 2014
Great movie... Denzel W is one of my favorites so I do not miss anything he plays in.
However the script is very bad. I mean, my main problem is: DW is an ex-CIA probably contract killer or something, and while being that, he does not seem
Great movie... Denzel W is one of my favorites so I do not miss anything he plays in.
However the script is very bad. I mean, my main problem is: DW is an ex-CIA probably contract killer or something, and while being that, he does not seem to be a fan of weapons, he prefers to kill people using home appliances even if all kinds of weapons lie around. I think that originally the killings were probably made the regular way, with guns and stuff, but some producer in the last minute said: let's make it different from John Wick and other FPS movies out there, make him kill using anything but guns, and do not make any hint in the movie as for what is his reason of doing so. Also, he does not mind leaving murder weapons laying around all over the place, not caring that his prints and DNA are all-over them. Except for that and a few too prolonged scenes when DW leaves a killing zone, the movie is great. Probably most viewers wont even notice these issues and simply enjoy the movie. I rate it a 6 because of the quality of the film and of course because of Denzel Washington.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
bmaster4616Sep 29, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For the most part, critics have been good with their ratings this year with a few exceptions. However, this is not one of those cases. I don't get the critics sometimes. Giving ridiculous movies like Maze Runner, Lucy, etc., good reviews is mortally wrong. They gave this a 59%, barely rotten, but should be higher. It's not Antoine's best work but it surely dishes out a blood justice good time. It's bloody, violet, meaningful (whatever rotten), and shouldn't br taken too seriously. This isn't as masterpiece or Denzel's best work, but it's clearly should be fresh. If you're going into this movie thinking it's going to be nothing but a fun movie, then you're setting yourself up for a bad time. It has its smart moments, but it's basicaly the rated R version of taken, which I loved. Overall I loved this movie, not for the smart and master piece of a movie, but for the violet and action packed movie. 8.5/10 Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysSep 26, 2014
The Equalizer is a rare breed of movie: it borrows from other films, everything from Sin City to Mr. and Mrs. Smith, yet it manages to be original enough to deserve a high rating. Unlike most generic action flicks, this one has round,The Equalizer is a rare breed of movie: it borrows from other films, everything from Sin City to Mr. and Mrs. Smith, yet it manages to be original enough to deserve a high rating. Unlike most generic action flicks, this one has round, multi-dimensional characters who you actually care about, and the script and screenplay are smart and well thought out. The movie is over-the-top and extreme, but it is very entertaining, thanks to smart action sequences and good acting. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews