The Expendables

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 442 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 442

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 28, 2013
    7
    It won't appear at the Academy Awards this year, or any year, but that's not this film's purpose. It is solely meant to entertain with over-the-top action scenes and veteran actors whose prime was in the 80's. So, don't hate on Expendables if it's not the best movie you've ever scene, because it's a good movie on its own.
  2. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    While this movie's story is weak, the action is enough to keep you hooked, if your into the movie and are ok with action being center stage and the plot being the last thing thought of, than you'll like this.
  3. Jan 6, 2015
    8
    In 2010, Sylvester Stallone has the idea to take every current and former action star, and put them into a series of movies. The goal was to create the biggest, wildest, most expensive action movies ever made, and have them feature every big name action star from the past 30 years. The studio was so much behind the idea, that not only did they give Stallone a huge budget, but they alsoIn 2010, Sylvester Stallone has the idea to take every current and former action star, and put them into a series of movies. The goal was to create the biggest, wildest, most expensive action movies ever made, and have them feature every big name action star from the past 30 years. The studio was so much behind the idea, that not only did they give Stallone a huge budget, but they also approved a sequel, before the first film was even in theaters. It took me 5 years to watch this movie, because I honestly didn't think it was going to work. There is an old saying about having too many cooks in the kitchen, and while trying to include everyone was admirable, I couldn't imagine it working, I was wrong. Stallone leads a freelance para-military organization known as the expendables. These guys work for the highest bidder and do things the government can't. In the first installment of the now billion dollar franchise, the expendables are tasked with stopping a coup on a Caribbean island. If the rival organization takes control, the island would be the largest manufacture of illegal narcotics in the world, and would be impossible to stop, enter the expendables. Sylvester Stallone may be a senior citizen now and still somewhat hard to understand, but when it comes to action movies, you'd be hard pressed to find a better leader. His second in command is currently the largest action star in the world, Jason Statham. Even after seeing hundreds of action movies, including most of Statham's, the guy continues to impress me at every turn. All the strange accents make for an interesting mix of dialogue, but that aside, the story is good, the fight scenes are better, and the special effects are amazing. The Expendables was billed as THE action film to see and it does not disappoint. Expand
  4. Jul 24, 2014
    7
    The Expendables is dumb, 80's action movie style fun. Nothing more, nothing less. But you can't help but ponder upon what could have been with a cast this awesome. The Expendables definitely didn't fulfill it's potential, but like I already said, it's still a fun ride.
  5. Feb 24, 2015
    9
    The Expendables is very action-packed and entertaining. There were some obvious flaws like a lack of substantial character development and a not-so-original plot. However, this movie did have some of the most realistic and intense hand-to-hand fight sequences I've ever seen and who doesn't like big guns and bigger explosions. The fact that they were able to take so many great action heroesThe Expendables is very action-packed and entertaining. There were some obvious flaws like a lack of substantial character development and a not-so-original plot. However, this movie did have some of the most realistic and intense hand-to-hand fight sequences I've ever seen and who doesn't like big guns and bigger explosions. The fact that they were able to take so many great action heroes and put them all in the same movie without much sacrifice was amazing. Also, I felt that Mickey Rourke's character was so crucial in added depth and layers to what would otherwise have been a fairly shallow film. The self-absorbed movie critics will hate on this movie because "it lacked unique cinematic effects" or whatever cliched criticism they normally say, but if you want to see an action-packed movie with a full cast of action heroes, you won't regret watching this movie. After all, the whole point of cinema is to entertain isn't it? Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    "Sylvester Syallone leads in all-star cast in this one of a kind , thrill to the min extravaganza , That keeps the adrenalin i loved and enjoyed every second , The cast is perfect , the plot is predictable and the movie is implausible but really Who cares?" .. A-
  7. Jul 24, 2015
    10
    PeterTravers a.k.a **** of Rolling Stones that don't understand a simple plot,that don't like a great movie.......................... And so much other **** SOB...
  8. Aug 7, 2015
    10
    ........................................................................................................................Peter Travers Idiot!!!,That don't understand and aprecciate the action and comedy of this great and excellent movie...
  9. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    All I can say is who gives a crap about a plot when you have this much testosterone slamming into you from the screen. If you are an 80s action fan (we didn't need no plot to enjoy a movie back then), than you have everything you could ever desire in this flick: explosions, big guns, kicks, punches, bones breaking, heads being vaporized, car chases, big name actors, and just enough of aAll I can say is who gives a crap about a plot when you have this much testosterone slamming into you from the screen. If you are an 80s action fan (we didn't need no plot to enjoy a movie back then), than you have everything you could ever desire in this flick: explosions, big guns, kicks, punches, bones breaking, heads being vaporized, car chases, big name actors, and just enough of a story to make it possibly the best action movie of all-time! Expand
  10. Mar 12, 2013
    7
    An average action movie with a great cast. What else did you expect?
  11. Feb 6, 2012
    7
    In this movie u get solid action with almost no relevant storyline and a Hollywood star ensamble on bikes to make the movie really mainstream! But all together it's worth to watch it. It's all about the action a la 80s. Who's looking for more is definetely wrong - but everyone else is going to enjoy this :D
  12. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    One has to know what this movie is all about : guns, blood, sweat, explosions, cars, planes, fire, martial arts, heat and fast action. There is no drama here, there is nothing intellectual about it. The quicker you let go and just enjoy the bubblegum your eyesight and ears get, you will appreciate the professional making of this film. The story is as shallow as much as possible, withOne has to know what this movie is all about : guns, blood, sweat, explosions, cars, planes, fire, martial arts, heat and fast action. There is no drama here, there is nothing intellectual about it. The quicker you let go and just enjoy the bubblegum your eyesight and ears get, you will appreciate the professional making of this film. The story is as shallow as much as possible, with plenty of situations pretext for destruction. The cast is just bada$$ guys who never featured in the same movie before, making this an explosive **** with everything a blood thirsty viewer wants. We got the little Chinese guy, we got the stupid grunt, the explosives expert and a real leader to take`em into the fight. I absolutely loved the Arnold Schwarzenegger - Bruce Willis cameo. I grew up watching their manly flicks and it is genuinely heart touching to see them old like this, reminicing the "old times". We`ve got some nice hand to hand fights here and a good pursuit. We got a big airplane bombing the jam out of the enemies and we`ve got a man protecting his damzel. The film`s final action scene is long but very intensive. Packed with all kinds of explosions and various ways to kill a human being. The thing I liked the most is that it kept real, not being too much over the top, not placing cgi everywhere. Those guys really fight, jump, shoot and explode things. Stallone shooting double pistols with changing magazines is my favorite scene ever seen in a movie of this type. Very solid, heart pounding experience. Expand
  13. Aug 18, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed watching the film, the action was great and that AA-12, god damn that thing was powerful, the story was pretty linear and slightly predictable, but the action and little bits of comedy makes up for it, it was awesome to see all the badass action heroes we all know in one team. My only problem with the film is that in some scenes, you have no idea what's going on at all, andI enjoyed watching the film, the action was great and that AA-12, god damn that thing was powerful, the story was pretty linear and slightly predictable, but the action and little bits of comedy makes up for it, it was awesome to see all the badass action heroes we all know in one team. My only problem with the film is that in some scenes, you have no idea what's going on at all, and supposedly the audience is being told to see it as "The good guys are killing the bad guys" I didn't really like that. But overall, it was a great film and i'm looking forward to The Expendables 2. Expand
  14. Sep 1, 2010
    7
    I have to say that this is the most violent film I've ever seen. It's also pretty humorous and now I'm considering Jet Li's character the best character ever. However, one of the expendables literally had 1 line! This film is still great and it even features Arnold Schwarzenegger.
  15. Aug 26, 2012
    8
    This is one movie that doesn't attempt to create something new or tries to tell a great story, but simply put, it 's a movie meant to be watched and enjoy the extreme action scenes with some of the old best action actors doing what they know best: crush, kill and destroy. Yet critics give bad reviews because it's "not fully developed" or "hasn't a good story" or "stupid dialogues"...well IThis is one movie that doesn't attempt to create something new or tries to tell a great story, but simply put, it 's a movie meant to be watched and enjoy the extreme action scenes with some of the old best action actors doing what they know best: crush, kill and destroy. Yet critics give bad reviews because it's "not fully developed" or "hasn't a good story" or "stupid dialogues"...well I don't entirely agree, because I liked the action a lot, but yes it's not the "best" of all and many times I felt that they could have add more stuff.. The story isn't as bad as I thought and it's easy to understand too but it's extremely flat and predictable, making sometimes the story a little too unnecessary, but still enjoyable. On the dialogues, maybe I'll have to agree, because some of the actors aren't always seen and when they are playing their roles, they mostly talk in jokes or simple stuff ( for example, Jet Li rarely talks and for a big part in the movie he's rarely seen; even Bruce Willis has a small scene, then he disappears, although he's not in the squad. Same for Scwarzenegger....disappointing a bit ). I liked some of the jokes though but yes, it could have been better on that regard, but still I'm not disappointed from this movie: it's fun to watch, has nice action scenes and you'll get to see a big team of action stars in action. And I can't say much else to top this statement. Expand
  16. Aug 16, 2010
    9
    It was **** awesome. Sure, the story is a "been there, done that afair", but who cares? We don't go for story in these types of films. Anyways, most of the appeal of it is generated towards its ensemble cast. They mostly deliver, but the few screen-time given to Arnold, Bruce and Mickey is a shame. There isn't too much action in the beginning, but the end more than makes up for it. IIt was **** awesome. Sure, the story is a "been there, done that afair", but who cares? We don't go for story in these types of films. Anyways, most of the appeal of it is generated towards its ensemble cast. They mostly deliver, but the few screen-time given to Arnold, Bruce and Mickey is a shame. There isn't too much action in the beginning, but the end more than makes up for it. I do have to point out that the action can be too hectic at times, making it hard to know what's going on, but it sure is brutal and bloody violent. So go and see The Expendables. It isn't the "Greatest Action-Film of All-Time" or the "Manliest Movie Ever Made", but I promise you that its worth your time and money. A 9.5/10. Expand
  17. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    The critics couldn't be more wrong on this one. The Expandable is one of the best action movies of all time, it delivers on everything it promises and then some. Every time there was a fight scene, I was overwhelmed by the incredible action on the screen. Bottom line, don't listen to the reviews. Watch this movie.
  18. Sep 7, 2010
    8
    I enjoyed this movie. Dialogue wasn't very strong but I wasn't expecting it to be. Basically this movie was another Rambo with a strong supporting cast. I knew what I was getting when I bought the ticket and this movie met my expectations. A good amount of badassery left me satisified.
  19. Oct 8, 2010
    7
    There wasn't much of a story to this but their was enough action in this movie to keep me interested. When I saw this advertised I didn't have high hopes but now, I'm glad I saw it. I'm also glad they got such a talented cast for this movie, although it was a bummer that they Schwarzenegger & Willis weren't credited, even though they included Willis' name on the poster.
  20. Aug 21, 2012
    9
    I wouldn't give a bad rating for this movie and despite its mistakes, I found it very entertaining. The action scenes are superb and most of the characters are interpreted by famous actors, so I would say, if you like action movies, watch it.
  21. Feb 28, 2011
    9
    A ballistic action flick that harks back to a time when action films were truly exhilarating and gripping experiences. It may not reach such dizzying heights as it's predecessors, but THE EXPENDABLES is a spectacle that you will be foolish to miss.
  22. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    What is with all bashing on movies these days, not just this movie, but every other that comes out? Does it make you feel cool to bash something? Well, I'm going to follow this formula, should you see it, wait til it comes out on DVD, or skip it entirely. Sounds pretty simple. Well, what can a say it's a action packed, cliched, enormous body count, explosion, testerone fest. And that'sWhat is with all bashing on movies these days, not just this movie, but every other that comes out? Does it make you feel cool to bash something? Well, I'm going to follow this formula, should you see it, wait til it comes out on DVD, or skip it entirely. Sounds pretty simple. Well, what can a say it's a action packed, cliched, enormous body count, explosion, testerone fest. And that's what makes it great. It's a simple action movie not trying to be anything but what it is. Anybody expecting more go see Inception. This is a dumbed down, stunt filled, slug fest. While not the cleverest movie of all time it's a nice little homage to action movies of old. The movie is a little deceiving in it's trailer, since this movies is mostly about Statham and Stallone's characters, with the others only as background, and Willis and Awnold doing a cameo. If you can take this movie at face value it's a quite entertaining movie. Not Stallone's best work (don't expect Rambo or Rocky) but if you go in knowing what to expect you walk away satisfied. It's not one of those let's tap into the hip, cool, new action, CGI fests of current movies (such as The Dark Night, Star Trek, Iron Man movies, or others in that vien). My verdict, for the old school action fan, go see it. For those who aren't wait to rent it on DVD, for people who can't stand gratuitous violence skip it. Expand
  23. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    The boys are back in town. A great action movie, done by the boys who know it best. Story wasn't great but then, who expected anything else. This movie, is any and every boys wet dream and finally, it's reality. Great action sequences that surprising don't make the cast look ancient, even if the majority of them are. Some pretty crappy CGI moments aren't enough to ruin the experience. TheThe boys are back in town. A great action movie, done by the boys who know it best. Story wasn't great but then, who expected anything else. This movie, is any and every boys wet dream and finally, it's reality. Great action sequences that surprising don't make the cast look ancient, even if the majority of them are. Some pretty crappy CGI moments aren't enough to ruin the experience. The only thing that would have made it better would have been more Arnie and more Willis. Roll on number 2!! Expand
  24. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    Does what it's mean to do. Entertaining with loads of explosions. Don't expect something clever but a movie to sit down and relax. Could have been worst with a cast with that level. I was surprisingly pleased.
  25. Dec 1, 2015
    7
    A lot of people disliked this movie, but I thought it was pretty decent. It separated itself from different action movies. The movie is filled with a funny cast, and overall it is filled with action that anyone will love.
  26. Aug 16, 2010
    8
    Filing out of the theater at 2am in a crowd full of adrenaline-fueled action movie junkies, that was all I could think about what I'd just seen, and pretty much all I was hearing from the movie-goers around me. The Expendables is the perfect midnight movie, the kind of flick that's so loaded with action, so ridiculously over-the-top, so smoothly paced and fun that it literally won't letFiling out of the theater at 2am in a crowd full of adrenaline-fueled action movie junkies, that was all I could think about what I'd just seen, and pretty much all I was hearing from the movie-goers around me. The Expendables is the perfect midnight movie, the kind of flick that's so loaded with action, so ridiculously over-the-top, so smoothly paced and fun that it literally won't let you be tired. This isn't an epic blockbuster or a groundbreaking mind-bender. This is action, straight no chaser. And it is just... awesome. More: http://cinewise.blogspot.com/2010/08/expendables-2010.html Expand
  27. LBC
    Sep 9, 2010
    7
    The Expendables makes no bones about what it is trying to accomplish: a flashback to the overly violent, manly, and explosion-filled action movies of yesteryear. If you try not to keep your expectations of the plot too high, you'll enjoy the over-the-top gunfights, well-choreographed fight scenes, and witty one-liners. Overall, a very fun and engaging movie.
  28. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    The Expendables is an action movie, it never tries to be anything else. The Expendables is a good action movie when compared with Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen or Taken, it doesn't have a badly written plot. Rango's plot is worse than the plot of the Expendables.
  29. Aug 31, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An awesome lineup makes for a nonstop action classic with this movie. I am not a big fan of Jason Statham though he did a great job as a tough guy, true to form. Appearances by Willis and Schwarzenegger were a nice touch as well. The storyline was so so for me though it was never boring. The violence was over the top which is to be expected in a movie of this type, but did not deter from the story.
    I give this movie an 8.
    Expand
  30. Aug 13, 2010
    8
    I don't understand the bad reviews. The movie isn't trying to be anything other than a hark back to the action films of the 80's; lots of explosions, lots of violence and a cheesy plot. The acting is good for what it is (we're not talking Oscars here people) and the actors are all veterans of the silver screen, with the exception of Stone Cold and Randy Couture who actually did a fine jobI don't understand the bad reviews. The movie isn't trying to be anything other than a hark back to the action films of the 80's; lots of explosions, lots of violence and a cheesy plot. The acting is good for what it is (we're not talking Oscars here people) and the actors are all veterans of the silver screen, with the exception of Stone Cold and Randy Couture who actually did a fine job of playing their parts. Stallone movies will always be what they are, good, fun, mindless action flicks. He's had a couple of better roles (First Blood, Cop Land) but for the most part he always plays the unsung hero. Get over yourselves and just grab a bag of popcorn and have a good time. Expand
  31. Aug 15, 2010
    8
    Critics are always looking for things that the movie never pretended to offer. An exciting story with M. Night Shamylan plot twists is the only thing that gets them high marks. If you're looking for some awesome action, and want to see all the badasses together as one awesome commando unit, you've got it here! The only thing that might knock it down a few points is the shakey cam does getCritics are always looking for things that the movie never pretended to offer. An exciting story with M. Night Shamylan plot twists is the only thing that gets them high marks. If you're looking for some awesome action, and want to see all the badasses together as one awesome commando unit, you've got it here! The only thing that might knock it down a few points is the shakey cam does get a little annoying. At certain points in the movie you wish they would zoom out and show a wide angle to establish their current situation. Also something in the final scene was so illogical it really annoyed. Expand
  32. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    Not a movie for everyone for several reasons. One of the most intense action movies out there and also one of the best. Stallone chooses to up the action and gore instead of story in order to create a true action movie masterpeice. Funny dialogue throughout the film and references to current and old popculture abound, which make the movie all the more like the comic-bookish action movieNot a movie for everyone for several reasons. One of the most intense action movies out there and also one of the best. Stallone chooses to up the action and gore instead of story in order to create a true action movie masterpeice. Funny dialogue throughout the film and references to current and old popculture abound, which make the movie all the more like the comic-bookish action movie the critics clearly failed to identify it as. Expand
  33. BMF
    Aug 28, 2010
    10
    This movie is a mans movie and a mans movie only but I think thats exactly what Stalone wanted it to be and it worked out great and had a perfect cast.
  34. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    I saw this movie last night and I wasn't disappointed in any way. The plot of the movie is very thin but I actually thought a lot of time was taken to push the story forward. It wasn't just all action like you may think, which I thought was good. On the other hand, when the action does start, it comes fast and furious. I enjoyed the banter between the characters, especially StalloneI saw this movie last night and I wasn't disappointed in any way. The plot of the movie is very thin but I actually thought a lot of time was taken to push the story forward. It wasn't just all action like you may think, which I thought was good. On the other hand, when the action does start, it comes fast and furious. I enjoyed the banter between the characters, especially Stallone and Statham. The dialogue was funny without being cheesy. The big scene with Stallone, Willis and Schwarzenegger was a huge addition in my opinion even if it was only about five minutes long. Overall, a very well done action movie and a great throwback to the movies of the 80's, like Stallone intended it to be. If you like any of the actors or any of their previous movies, I think you would like "The Expendables" as well. I eagerly await a sequel with more of everything this one had. "You look nervous"-Stallone as Barney Ross, The Expendables. I loved it! Expand
  35. Aug 16, 2010
    9
    This movie does what it is expected to do. Have a shallow BUT more than passable plot, and have the best modern action movie stars making a movie with the best action scenes in theaters. The movie went by so fast, but it isn't a short movie, it is just a good one. One of the best qualities this movie has is its excellent pacing. It isn't 100% action, you have a chance to breathe. EveryThis movie does what it is expected to do. Have a shallow BUT more than passable plot, and have the best modern action movie stars making a movie with the best action scenes in theaters. The movie went by so fast, but it isn't a short movie, it is just a good one. One of the best qualities this movie has is its excellent pacing. It isn't 100% action, you have a chance to breathe. Every action scene is different. One might be a fist fight, while the other is a car chase. Each action scene has its own tempo, its not all gun fire and people getting mutilated. This movie has one of the greatest action movie climaxes of all. It lasts around 30 min. and it is all jaw dropping heart pounding action, once again proving how well paced this movie is leaving the best for last.

    I am one of those people who believe its okay for kids at the age of 9 or 10 to starts playing M-Rated games, or watch 18A/R-Rated movies. DO NOT BRING YOUR KID OR SOMEONE ELSE'S KID TO THIS MOVIE. THEY WILL HAVE SHELLSHOCK FROM A WAR THEY HAVE NEVER BEEN TO.
    Expand
  36. Sep 25, 2010
    8
    I Loved it! one of the best movies of the 2010. The critics couldn't be more wrong on this one. I don't understand the bad reviews. I mostly loved the way it it all came together awesome.
  37. Sep 28, 2010
    9
    This movie was pretty nice, action was awesome (of course) so i give a 10 for it, well story.. hmm.. it could be better so i give 7, what is raising movie's score is jokes, so i give another 10 to it, and finally sound effects 9. And that means i can give a strong 9. I liked it, it was fun, full of action what i like in this genre movies, there was not much talks and if there was it wasThis movie was pretty nice, action was awesome (of course) so i give a 10 for it, well story.. hmm.. it could be better so i give 7, what is raising movie's score is jokes, so i give another 10 to it, and finally sound effects 9. And that means i can give a strong 9. I liked it, it was fun, full of action what i like in this genre movies, there was not much talks and if there was it was cool and it just fits to movie perfectly. Expand
  38. Jan 22, 2011
    7
    An overall good movie but extremely disappointing. I had high hopes for this movie after seeing the long list of actors on the cover of the box. I thought with all these action heroes there is no way this movie could be bad. The movie delivered on the action with several kick ass action sequences, but in the end the movie seemed to star only Sylvester Stallone and Jason Statham. Two greatAn overall good movie but extremely disappointing. I had high hopes for this movie after seeing the long list of actors on the cover of the box. I thought with all these action heroes there is no way this movie could be bad. The movie delivered on the action with several kick ass action sequences, but in the end the movie seemed to star only Sylvester Stallone and Jason Statham. Two great actors but I was hoping to see a little bit more of Bruce Willis, Jet Li, and Arnold. If you are looking for a good action pack movie with car chases, explosions and lots of gun fights then this movie is a must see. Expand
  39. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Best action movie I have ever seen. There's action from beginning to end. I was really looking forward to seeing Bruce Willis beat up some a*******. But sadly, that didn't happen. Other than that, great movie.
  40. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Expendables is Every Action Fans dream.Stallone,Lundgren,Statham,Jet Li,MIckey Rourke and more i mean this is a Classic action movie for those sick of seeing Matt Damon as the hero,I mean screw story and plots this is an old school Action Movie,the ones i miss seeing at the theater,Stallone delivers and there is some great fight scenes.I loved this movie cant wait for part 2.Great to seeExpendables is Every Action Fans dream.Stallone,Lundgren,Statham,Jet Li,MIckey Rourke and more i mean this is a Classic action movie for those sick of seeing Matt Damon as the hero,I mean screw story and plots this is an old school Action Movie,the ones i miss seeing at the theater,Stallone delivers and there is some great fight scenes.I loved this movie cant wait for part 2.Great to see Lundgren back on screen too and with Stallone Expand
  41. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    The critics were wrong. Terry Crews is an amazing actor and I believe that in this film Terry Crews shows that he can portray his character, Terry Crews, very well. The way he goes about his business in The Expendables is unmatched by any other character, including Stalone whose dialogue consists simply of, "Ndghnghdnhg."
  42. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    Plot... ridiculous, body count.... massive, HGH and roid usage.... hmmm, explosions.... huge. Ladies and gentlemen I give you the expendables! Awesome! Doesn't pretend to be anything other than balls to the wall fun and it delivers the goods. Those movie critics slating it should go back to watching their Kubrick-ian masterpieces and listening to their Bob Dylan whilst pretending they arePlot... ridiculous, body count.... massive, HGH and roid usage.... hmmm, explosions.... huge. Ladies and gentlemen I give you the expendables! Awesome! Doesn't pretend to be anything other than balls to the wall fun and it delivers the goods. Those movie critics slating it should go back to watching their Kubrick-ian masterpieces and listening to their Bob Dylan whilst pretending they are holier than thou! One word of warning. Sly Stallone's general bodily and facial disfigurement can at times be disturbing Expand
  43. Aug 16, 2010
    7
    What do you get when you have a film that is set in the jungles of South America and has action stars from the 80s and 90s including Sylvester Stallone, Bruce Willis, Jet Lee, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Dolph Lundgren, and every other action movie hero you can think of? The Expendables is an action film like no other. The main characters have to go into the jungle to stop a ruthless dictatorWhat do you get when you have a film that is set in the jungles of South America and has action stars from the 80s and 90s including Sylvester Stallone, Bruce Willis, Jet Lee, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Dolph Lundgren, and every other action movie hero you can think of? The Expendables is an action film like no other. The main characters have to go into the jungle to stop a ruthless dictator from enslaving the country. The plot felt kinda weak at times and thin like paper. However the film was just getting started. From the first Explosion to the last bullet The Expendables sucks you into a world of action like no movie before it. The violence was over the top and there was plenty of action everywhere you looked from punches, to kung fu kicks, to explosions, and even body slams that reminded you of the ones used in WCW Smackdown. One problem was when the fighting would happen that involved any of the characters I felt there were too many fights at certain times going on at once. In one scene I counted three fights going on at once in one shot. I wish the fights would have been more spread apart rather than mushed together like peanut butter and jelly. Overall the movie does its job of being one of the best action movies that I have seen since Rambo First Blood. Be warned though theres a lot of violence in this movie so be aware of that. However if your looking for a hard hitting, gun ripping, body slamming, action extravaganza than this film is for you. Expand
  44. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    Seriously,i don't understand all the bad reviews.We watch Movie for entertainment,and this is the kind of entertainment i'm looking for.This movie stands out because of the actors inside.You got Sylvester Stallone,Jason Statham,Jet Li...and more.Who else do you need when all these famous action stars inside ? If you love Rambo/The A-Team kind of movies,do not let this slip past :/ ThisSeriously,i don't understand all the bad reviews.We watch Movie for entertainment,and this is the kind of entertainment i'm looking for.This movie stands out because of the actors inside.You got Sylvester Stallone,Jason Statham,Jet Li...and more.Who else do you need when all these famous action stars inside ? If you love Rambo/The A-Team kind of movies,do not let this slip past :/ This movie keep me at the edge of my seat from start till the end. Expand
  45. Aug 24, 2010
    7
    Easily one of the best movies of the year, I can't recall seeing anything like it, 'The Losers' has got nothing on this movie (not sure about 'The A-Team'). It has got loud and nut-grabbing action scenes that put a smile on your face, people that keep up with shooter games will especially enjoy this one as there are a range of well known guns that you will be looking around to spot, likeEasily one of the best movies of the year, I can't recall seeing anything like it, 'The Losers' has got nothing on this movie (not sure about 'The A-Team'). It has got loud and nut-grabbing action scenes that put a smile on your face, people that keep up with shooter games will especially enjoy this one as there are a range of well known guns that you will be looking around to spot, like the Browning Deployable, M4A1, Glock 18, and the AA-12 ;)

    There was a list of well known actors in the movie, though I am disappointed that Schwarzenegger did not play a bigger role, and the fact that Van Damme, and Chuck Norris were not in there. Though with the characters that were already there, a good level of detail and personality was given to each one compared to the amount of time they had. It's in a similar position as 'Transformers Revenge of the Fallen', were there are multiple characters but not enough time for each one, but in the situation of Expendables, it does it better than most movies out there.

    The story is not too deep but the movie is extremely fun, and that is why it deserves a 7, critics have to stop judging movies by how deep it is and stupid little details (not saying that depth is a stupid little detail), they just have to pay attention to how much they enjoy the movie, one way or another, one way being in the form of 'The Expendables' and other forms being (for example), 'Shutter Island' or '2001 A Space Odyssey'. All around I would recommend this movie to any one and a sequel would be great and I would recommend to to Stallone (who did a fare job at directing).
    Expand
  46. May 5, 2012
    10
    I seriously fail to comprehend how can ANYONE give this move a bad review. Rating should be mostly based on two factors: What the movie promises to give us, and what we actually get. And what The Expendables promises? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING OF ANY VALUE. And what it delivers is: incredible amount of pointless explosions, incredible amount of pointless shooting, incredible amount ofI seriously fail to comprehend how can ANYONE give this move a bad review. Rating should be mostly based on two factors: What the movie promises to give us, and what we actually get. And what The Expendables promises? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING OF ANY VALUE. And what it delivers is: incredible amount of pointless explosions, incredible amount of pointless shooting, incredible amount of -no-freaking-plot-at-all, muscle-men and sexy women, cheesy one-liners and tons of pure, distilled, liquified awesomeness and badassery. It is absolutely all we need.
    If you really, really think "I want to watch a good movie with engaging, deep plot. Let's watch a movie directed by Stallone, starring Schwarzenegger, Li and Willis." you should seriously think about your life, because this movie is a kind of film you should watch when you want to urn your brain off to let it rest, without falling into a coma.
    Expand
  47. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    This movie defines action movies. It's not (quite) about explosions, it's not about special effects or CG, it's not about accurate warfare depiction, and it's not about drama. This movie is about The Expendables; It's about six badass dudes... Well, being badasses. That's it.

    There is nothing modern about this movie, and therefore can't do too well in the box office. Too few people
    This movie defines action movies. It's not (quite) about explosions, it's not about special effects or CG, it's not about accurate warfare depiction, and it's not about drama. This movie is about The Expendables; It's about six badass dudes... Well, being badasses. That's it.

    There is nothing modern about this movie, and therefore can't do too well in the box office. Too few people these days want a genuine action movie, but I, for one, loved it. The acting was impressive for the genre and the direction was spot on. There is no reason not to see this movie, unless you find yourself at odds with the majority of human males.
    Expand
  48. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    One of the best old school action movies I have seen in a while. Practically team Rambo with a few characters having a back story. The critics as usual are too stuck up to see this movie for what it is, then again is there actually anyone that takes any notice of critic reviews other than to laugh at them? Throwing knives, honestly what more can I say.
  49. Aug 14, 2010
    7
    The movie is as you might expect, maybe less. The issue with an "all star" cast such as this is that you simply can't give the screen-time to them all. Instead, you basically get to see Sly and Statham 90% of the time and Li, Crews, Austin, et. al. are left to steal the movie with 2-5min scenes that make the movie worth while.

    "Ahrnold" is also not looking well. As a huge Arnold,
    The movie is as you might expect, maybe less. The issue with an "all star" cast such as this is that you simply can't give the screen-time to them all. Instead, you basically get to see Sly and Statham 90% of the time and Li, Crews, Austin, et. al. are left to steal the movie with 2-5min scenes that make the movie worth while.

    "Ahrnold" is also not looking well. As a huge Arnold, seeing him as thin and wearing the most god aweful baggy cloths was a bit of a shock and he had to have some of the worst directing with the most unnatural reactions and oddest edit cuts.

    However, you of course come to see the action and there's some decent action. The only problem I have is that it's too "2010" canned action. This was suppose to be a ode to 80's/90's action films and it was anything but.

    A good "2000" action film with the typical "look, he shot the guy and his [insert body party] blew off" (best part of the film was arguably Terry Crews (the other Old Spice guy) and his 'loud' gun).

    I admit, I was coming and looking for more of the "never reloads", "waves an uzi at an army and they all fall down", "blows up a building with a arrow and a stick of dynamite", etc kind of 80's action.

    So, I was left a little disappointed.

    That and I can't get over Sly being 64 and trying to play a 40 year old or something. What's wrong with his neck?
    Expand
  50. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    the movie was fun.the good guys win and the bad guys die. they did one bad thing they never gave eric roberts the credit he deserved as the bad guy.other than that the movie was enjoyable,
  51. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    if you go to watch this expecting a life changing movie you'll be disappointed.
    if you go watch this you will however see a life affirming movie.
    harks back to everything that was great about 80s action. loads of good stuff here. great cameos, great action, big stars reviving a lost art. loved it.
  52. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    wow wonderful of using the whole cast. the way each actor big name was used in the film was the best anyone could of done. Stallone is an action genius. Chuck Norris, Jean-Claude Van Damme, and Steven Segal should of accepted their roles.
  53. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    Exactly what I expect from a good action movie - guns, explosions, violence, gore, cheesy dialogue and a standard action movie storyline. Obviously the critics were expecting something more substantial, but I couldn't have asked for anything more.
  54. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    Thank you stallone for making an action movie like the ones of decades past, where you dont need much CGI or fake muscle suits to tell a well played story of high voltage and massive explosions. All new movies seem to be made by computers and not actors, this was a true testament to the true action fan.
  55. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    80's action has returned on explosive form. Fantastic entertaining film that is being panned by critics taking it more seriously than it should be..................
  56. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    The cast is hands down probably the best ever. The movie is basicly what you except going inot it. A "MAN" movie. It had action, guns, explosions and motorcycles. The story was basic but we didn't buy a movie ticket to Inception so its 100% ok that the story was straight forward.
  57. Sep 20, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is like in 80' s. Very good actors and all together. Very good action scenes. And good jokes. I like it. It is like to be again in my 15 years. Expand
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 35
  2. Negative: 7 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    75
    Expendables is the closest thing to movie Viagra yet invented. It's reprehensible. It's stoopid violent. It's a lot of unholy fun.
  2. A who's who of classic action stars light up the screen for pure combustible entertainment in Sly Stallone's The Expendables, a sort of "Dirty Dozen" meets "Inglourious Basterds"--and then some.
  3. 50
    If anyone gets a career boost from The Expendables it will be Dolph Lundgren, playing a drug-addicted loose Howitzer booted from the team and flipping to the bad side.