Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Sheila O'Malley
    Sep 13, 2013
    75
    A pretty uneven film, lurching from comedy to violence to sentiment, but it's best when it sticks in the realm of flat-out farce.
  2. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Sep 12, 2013
    75
    The Family is the rare breed of pitch-black comedy that effectively uses violence for laughs or gasps, depending on the situation.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Sep 12, 2013
    60
    A messy brew that is a bit too slack to get all the way to actually being good.
  4. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Sep 12, 2013
    40
    Yes, The Family has skills. They’re like “The Incredibles” — except they’re heroes for sadists and sociopaths only.
  5. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Nov 21, 2013
    40
    Though it’s good to see Michelle Pfeiffer married to the mob again, she alone can’t redeem a lumbering farce that takes an unpleasantly sadistic glee in violence, murder and intimidation.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Sep 13, 2013
    25
    After the movie limps along for an hour and a half, Besson suddenly switches gears and does what he does best.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Sep 12, 2013
    20
    It’s too bad we can’t take a hit out on The Family. This unexciting, unfunny would-be action satire is filled with Italian-American stereotypes, decades-old TV-style Mafia cliches, bits of business that never amount to anything and actors so much better than the hoary, one-joke material.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    It would seem a lot of people just don't "get" this film. It's not quite as loud & stupid as most of the big comedy movies in recent years and I think the fans of those movies are the same people that don't understand this one. Anyway, I loved it and would watch it again. The family members were very enjoyable and I would actually like to see a sequel. The only part of the movie I didn't like (spoiler incoming immediately) is when the daughter tried to kill herself over the math teacher. 1st of all she talked and acted like a female who has already experienced sex, a lot of sex. Yet it is revealed that the math teacher was her 1st.... and then she wants to kill herself because he didn't fall madly in love with her after hooking up one time? Um, ok then. But besides that I have no complaints. Collapse
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    I don't know what to exactly "say" about this movie. The acting was top-notch throughout the entirety of the film, and there were some great moments. What genre of movie does The Family happen to fall under? There's no real way to nail it down as it can be serious at moments while completely unbelievable and funny at others. Few sub-plots throughout The Family could have and should have not been included. Worth a watch if you're fond of Robert De Niro. Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    7
    The first half is mediocre but the second one is better. The film doesn't have the usual stupid jokes, each character is given his/her own subplot, the performances are good and the ending is satisfying. Moreover Dianna Agron is gorgeous.
    argonautis.eu
    Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2013
    6
    Suffering from uneven tones and characters that lack any real development, “The Family” is a slight disappointment. The story is simple but something that could have been easily entertaining; however, the film can’t decide if it wants to be a dark comedy or a crime thriller and the way it jumps back and forth makes the film feel grating at points. Additionally, despite the fact there are some great performances in the film, the characters really don’t have much depth or get much development as the film progresses. However, the film has some amusing moments and Robert De Niro and Tommy Lee Jones are great together in it, so it has some merits…just not much beyond watching it once. Expand
  5. chw
    Jul 17, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Family is barely a mob film. It's more of where GoodFellas left off if Ray Liotta turned into Robert De Niro, and if they went to numerous houses in numerous cities around the world under witness protection. Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2013
    5
    Luc Besson has no sense of genre or tone. Film noir finds humor in amorality, in contradictions, in hypocrisy--not in sadistic violence. And comic strip satire can't build suspense which the last half hour of the film tries to create. The result is a train wreck of a movie despite good performances especially by Michelle Pfeiffer. Expand
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    0
    My review is going to be very short because this movie doesn't deserve a lot of analysis. This movie was billed as a dark comedy, there is a lot of darkness via the extreme violence and not a chuckle in the whole movie. As far as I was concerned I never smiled, giggled and certainly never laughed. How can you laugh at gratuitous violence to undeserving innocent people. It was so predictable that it held no surprises whatsoever. Don't waste your money. After 10 minutes I wanted to ask for a refund, but my friend had fallen asleep and I did not want to wake him up and tell him we were leaving. So I sat through the whole stinking thing. Basically this movie was not funny at all. Unless you were a ten-year old. And the movie is way too violent for a 10 year old. The theater was fairly crowded but the people were not laughing. This film is pure pornography. Not sexual pornography but violence pornography. If I'm going to watch pornography it's going to have babes with big boobs and guys with big well you know!
    Basically A Diarrhea of Violence
    Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Trailers