Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 16, 2006
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 242 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
118
Mixed:
89
Negative:
35
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
JustinS.Jul 4, 2006
Laughably bad. There were some parts that were just unintentionally hilarious. They try to have some sense of plot but the acting and script is so bad that its unwatchable without a sense of humor. One of my favorite parts was when a Laughably bad. There were some parts that were just unintentionally hilarious. They try to have some sense of plot but the acting and script is so bad that its unwatchable without a sense of humor. One of my favorite parts was when a character addressed another character named Han by saying "Hey Han" and sure enough subtitles showed up saying "Hey Han". The action is OK, but even the drifting gets boring after a while. A last minute cameo by a star of the original does nothing to save this ridiculously horrible film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DaddyOJun 17, 2006
Average. Hollywood. Formula. Fast blurred action sequences. Cliche. Did I mention formula? The only saving graces of this film are the hot japanese women, a few funny one-lines, the lack of reality in some of the sequences, and the Average. Hollywood. Formula. Fast blurred action sequences. Cliche. Did I mention formula? The only saving graces of this film are the hot japanese women, a few funny one-lines, the lack of reality in some of the sequences, and the appearance of the TRUE drift king! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
A.ViewerJun 16, 2006
It's better than the second one, that's for damn sure. Not brilliant, but fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
C.HenryJul 21, 2006
Not the worst film i've ever had to watch. the absence of Paul Walker from the franchise dramatically improves the film. It's just terribly ridiculous. Sure to make wads of cash though, because there are all those putz who dump Not the worst film i've ever had to watch. the absence of Paul Walker from the franchise dramatically improves the film. It's just terribly ridiculous. Sure to make wads of cash though, because there are all those putz who dump cash into trashy Honda Civics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadShiiraSep 7, 2006
Stereotypes are bad, even if your lot is perceived to be smart. Like "Better Luck Tomorrow", this filmmaker's aim is to strip Asian youth of their brainiac reputation. He accomplishes this by taking an unintended potshot at hip hop Stereotypes are bad, even if your lot is perceived to be smart. Like "Better Luck Tomorrow", this filmmaker's aim is to strip Asian youth of their brainiac reputation. He accomplishes this by taking an unintended potshot at hip hop culture, and American youth culture, in general. By day, a Japanese girl dons her school uniform; by night, she busts out her hoochie clothes. What's also interesting to me is how Sean's a school outcast back in the states, but to Han, he's some sort of trophy friend. On one level, "The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift" works as a fun melding of "Smokey and the Bandit" and "Lost in Translation", and on a more thoughtful level, this film plays like a social commentary on how the youth of Japan are changing. Ultimately, what makes this film a guilty pleasure is how the filmmaker rebuffs movie cliches with "fish out of water" and a "change of scenery will straighten you out" storylines. Sean doesn't look sad and lonely as he walks the Tokyo streets, and he doesn't learn a damn thing throughout the entire film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JonB.Dec 11, 2006
Pitiful attempt to drag out the franchise. Poor acting, worse plot. I was a fan of the first 1, still enjoyed the second, but was half asleep by the middle of this turgid and unnecessary installment. At least the spectacular scenery of Tokyo Pitiful attempt to drag out the franchise. Poor acting, worse plot. I was a fan of the first 1, still enjoyed the second, but was half asleep by the middle of this turgid and unnecessary installment. At least the spectacular scenery of Tokyo itself was worth staying awake to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
Andy92Sep 12, 2010
the reason i am giving this a six is because it doesn't show the same potential that the other 2 did. it provides a fair amount of action and suspense. however there is not as much character development and the other 2 especially the firstthe reason i am giving this a six is because it doesn't show the same potential that the other 2 did. it provides a fair amount of action and suspense. however there is not as much character development and the other 2 especially the first movie provides more convincing acting Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JacobApr 5, 2015
The Fast and Furious Tokyo Drift is dull and can honestly be skipped. The film spends way too much on time on cardboard characters and a story that is formulaic and predictable rather than focus on the fun action. This action when focused onThe Fast and Furious Tokyo Drift is dull and can honestly be skipped. The film spends way too much on time on cardboard characters and a story that is formulaic and predictable rather than focus on the fun action. This action when focused on doesn’t feel fun and exciting like it kind of did in the first one or like it did in the second but is boring. Some of the visuals are cool and one race is decent but I don’t care. The lack of substance or interesting characters has always been an issue in the franchise buts its especially prominent here when there is no one to attach to and the excessive time we spend with them. The ending to the film will bring in some smiles for reasons if you’ve seen it you know but over that than that there is no point. Hopefully that ending is a promise to do better next time because this film didn’t have a point to being watched. It could work as a spinoff but the franchise hasn’t reached the level where it could earn the right to do a spinoff and even then this wasn’t a decent spinoff. Hopefully next time the franchise gets its act together. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TokyochuchuAug 23, 2014
The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift is decent, stoopid, lunk-headed fun. All sense of realism ditched? Check. Vaguely offensive stereotypes employed? Check. An obvious 30 year old actor trying to pass as a high-school student? Check. YakuzaThe Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift is decent, stoopid, lunk-headed fun. All sense of realism ditched? Check. Vaguely offensive stereotypes employed? Check. An obvious 30 year old actor trying to pass as a high-school student? Check. Yakuza boss hilariously dressed up as a character out of The Godfather? Check. Oh dear. This film is so tacky and bad that it actually winds up being kind of fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheChaser1985May 21, 2011
Drifting is NOT my thing. I like road racing, but I decided to see the movie when it came on cable, simply because it was a FATF movie. My favorite part was the very first race with the Viper, everything else was just barely enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheGreatOneMay 10, 2011
Not a stellar movie, but it was fun while it lasted. Luckily I saw it after the fact and not in theaters. The drifting was cool, and I'm a sucker for Japan so this sort of fell into a passing fling for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ZilcellNov 27, 2011
This Fast and Furious film was fun but not as good as the others. It had some good action but not as exciting as the previous films. It still has some fun parts
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
oxanaAug 28, 2014
I was a bit confused when Sean (Lucas Black) arrived to Tokyo with his prominent accent, and still he didn't make contact with any of the heroes from the previous two movies. Around that time I realized that this is a bit of a spin off fromI was a bit confused when Sean (Lucas Black) arrived to Tokyo with his prominent accent, and still he didn't make contact with any of the heroes from the previous two movies. Around that time I realized that this is a bit of a spin off from the previous Fast & Furious movies: new characters, new digs, new kind of driving.

After that became clear, the movie was quite enjoyable, less hectic and confusing, and almost interesting. There were not many unnecessary elements, some of the characters were made of awesome (like Han, who later shows his face in movies 4 and 5, Fast & Furious and Fast Five). Of course there were also needless, stupid characters like Twinkie, and in the end I don't think the romantic angle with Neela worked all that well either.

The story was good, though, and there seemed to be a lot less driving than there was talking. The end with the yakuza-uncle being involved was a little weird, but unsurprisingly things worked out and heroes prevailed in the end.

Not the best part in the franchise, but earns its place within the family.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
imthenoobJun 4, 2013
While the drift aspect of the film was a nice change up and the racing scenes were well put together, I absolutely hated the plot. I mean 20+ year old actors playing high school kids involved with the Yakuza, What a joke. The dialogue is soWhile the drift aspect of the film was a nice change up and the racing scenes were well put together, I absolutely hated the plot. I mean 20+ year old actors playing high school kids involved with the Yakuza, What a joke. The dialogue is so bad at times that it's laughable, Especially near the end of the film.

Overall, The racing scenes keep you interested and made the film more enjoyable then I thought it would be. It wasn't that bad but the film failed to live up to it's potential. Worth giving a shot, Just don't go into it with high hopes. Still enjoyed it more then 2 Fast 2 Furious, That movie was just plain awful.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
OfficialMar 8, 2014
It's just the same mindless car chases that we have already seen in the two previous installments. The plot is messy, the film is noisy, and it has nowhere new to go.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
IloveelijahwoodJul 11, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie had the potential, but it unfortunatly greatly missed what it could've been. I found it very dissapointing as well because Han died and I really liked him and the movie should've been more like its prodecessors, suspenseful, entertaining and hilarious, which all failed to appear. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
bfoore90Apr 16, 2017
Fast cars, drifting, Tokyo mixed in with some cliche and bland characters. There are some good points in the form of unintentional humor and a cameo by Vin Diesel to tie the film together but its definitely not brilliant, by any means butFast cars, drifting, Tokyo mixed in with some cliche and bland characters. There are some good points in the form of unintentional humor and a cameo by Vin Diesel to tie the film together but its definitely not brilliant, by any means but what exactly about these movies are? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
chwJul 20, 2014
The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift wasn't the best Fast and Furious movie, but it was the fourth good one, after 1. Fast & Furious 6 2. Fast Five and 3. The Fast and the Furious (2001).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DenisManuOct 12, 2014
Though it's considered the worst in the franchise, Tokyo Drift has more heart to the story,despite the bad acting and is the only one in the franchise that has unique car chases made really well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
emeraldcitySep 5, 2014
A strange departure from the previous F & F films and the subsequent F & F films in that it didn't feature Vin Diesel or Paul Walker or Michelle Rodriguez. In other words it was kind of a dud. It was also a step down from the other F & FA strange departure from the previous F & F films and the subsequent F & F films in that it didn't feature Vin Diesel or Paul Walker or Michelle Rodriguez. In other words it was kind of a dud. It was also a step down from the other F & F films in terms of the story line surrounded a High School senior who liked to street race. The other F & F films are about adults who are part of the street racing world as a way of life-not folk trying to balance their relationship with their parents & school & street racing. It just isn't the same thing. There was an element of the adult world in the presence of a Yakuza gangster in Tokyo Drift but it wasn't comparable to anything else in the rest of the F & F franchise. As a stand alone project it is also hit miss-claiming that drift driving originated in Japan-when rally racers in Europe had been doing it long before DVD's ever existed. So, what can I say that good about it-its a good portrayal of spoiled western teens living in Tokyo with possessions that include custom cars. There isn't much good I can say about basically because it basically isn't a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CineAutoctonoAug 3, 2015
This good movie , so with a distinct and different places as well as in modern Tokyo history, there in this movie left me a reflection , ' ' What is in Tokyo he stays in Tokyo , '' and did not know what further was at the end of the sixth andThis good movie , so with a distinct and different places as well as in modern Tokyo history, there in this movie left me a reflection , ' ' What is in Tokyo he stays in Tokyo , '' and did not know what further was at the end of the sixth and the beginning of the seventh , and death they have occurred not in this but in the latter one , because in the last three to the seventh he was alive . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
aadityamudharApr 19, 2016
Laughably bad. There were some parts that were just unintentionally hilarious. They try to have some sense of plot but the acting and script is so bad that its unwatchable without a sense of humour. One of my favourite parts was when aLaughably bad. There were some parts that were just unintentionally hilarious. They try to have some sense of plot but the acting and script is so bad that its unwatchable without a sense of humour. One of my favourite parts was when a character addressed another character named Han by saying "Hey Han" and sure enough subtitles showed up saying "Hey Han". The action is OK, but even the drifting gets boring after a while. A last minute cameo by a star of the original does nothing to save this ridiculously horrible film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews