The First Time

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 36
  2. Negative: 4 out of 36

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 1, 2016
    10
    Best film in this genre I've seen for a long time ..Sexy and Funny
    The cast were excellent in their roles in fact I have also watched the lead character in Teen Wolf and this is quite a departure from the role he plays in that
    Try not to miss it.You will like it,
  2. Mar 8, 2016
    6
    Brit Robertson and Dylan O'Brien make for two pretty great leads and it makes sense that they started dating during the shooting of The First Time. Their chemistry is outstanding and obviously the moments where the two are together are the highlights of the film. The fact that these characters are high school kids are both its rise and its downfall. The young characters make this more of aBrit Robertson and Dylan O'Brien make for two pretty great leads and it makes sense that they started dating during the shooting of The First Time. Their chemistry is outstanding and obviously the moments where the two are together are the highlights of the film. The fact that these characters are high school kids are both its rise and its downfall. The young characters make this more of a teen movie than anything but their innocence is also what makes the film unique. These characters go through some problems that a lot of young people have when falling in love for the first time.. There are so many cute moments throughout this movie. It's unfortunately pretty clichéd though, but it is still plain to see that both Brit Robertson and Dylan O'Brien were bound to become stars. Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Cute and everything but the script is very superficial and basically nothing big happens. Ok, two teens have sex after two days since they met and...? No interesting exploration about that on screen, I just felt empty. Robertson and O'Brien are great together and share some amazing scenes and this helps a lot. It just doesn't help the poorly developed story of the film. Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2014
    7
    Make a movie around this theme is a challenge, because needs don't let boring or so much explicit (depending of the public) but the cast made me enjoy it. They are amazing
  5. May 12, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really loved this film. It captured the very essence of "the first time" with your first love. It's not perfect; it's not really good. However, you don't give a Practice makes & you sure as hell don't mind practicing with them! I think this story was told very well & I highly recommend it. It really plastered a smile on my face. Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    I really enjoyed this movie, even though it's more suited to an audience far younger than I. The main reason I watched this was because of the great cast. The talented and sexy Britt Robertson and Molly C Quinn. Then there is a young Aussie actor of considerable talent, James Frecheville who starred in the amazing 'Animal Kingdom'. Being a red blooded male I used to watch 'The SecretI really enjoyed this movie, even though it's more suited to an audience far younger than I. The main reason I watched this was because of the great cast. The talented and sexy Britt Robertson and Molly C Quinn. Then there is a young Aussie actor of considerable talent, James Frecheville who starred in the amazing 'Animal Kingdom'. Being a red blooded male I used to watch 'The Secret Circle' (hey, what's wrong with that?? lol) so Britt was plenty enough reason to see this. I actually recognised a lot of the actors in this well written movie. Another reason to see this was the fact that writer/director Jon Kasdan's previous film was the wonderful 'The Land Of Woman' so I was keen to see if he was truly following in his very famous director fathers footsteps. Father, Lawrence is behind some of the biggest films in Hollywood, such as, 'Return of the Jedi', 'Wyatt Earp' and 'Dreamcatcher'. He has his fathers touch.

    The film is a sort of mild mannered affair about a boy (Dylan O'Brian) and a girl (Britt) who meet at the outskirts of a party, run from the cops and end up in her bedroom. They fall asleep and wake up to parents shouting for Aubrey to get out of bed. Dave jumps out the window and forgets to get her number. He gets given all sorts of silly advice from his friends on how to he should approach her the next time. I'm not going to get in to the whole thing but it follows from that.

    The bottom line is, this was funny, well acted (very well acted in fact), great production for a smaller budget movie and the writing was actually quite sublime, not in that young people won't get it but enough to keep older people interested. I also liked the characters which can make or break a film, imo.

    Highly Recommended

    Score: 7.1/10

    N∆V navq@ymail.com
    Collapse
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Arizona Republic
    Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Oct 23, 2012
    50
    The First Time sets out to be the thinking kids' teen sex comedy but misses the mark by failing its characters. [18 Oct 2012]
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Oct 20, 2012
    60
    There is much to like here, a sense of nuance and nonjudgmental emotional openness, yet Kasdan's teenage miniaturism never quite blooms. The First Time is respectfully delicate, a little too polite.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Oct 19, 2012
    50
    An inoffensive but bland ode to the talky high school movies of John Hughes and Cameron Crowe.