Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 22, 2006
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 505 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
403
Mixed:
41
Negative:
61
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ChicksSep 14, 2010
This movie was absolutely beautiful. I just loved it so much. There's something fantastic about it, but it seems everyone doesn't get it based on some reviews I've read. I found The Fountain to be intense, emotional, touching andThis movie was absolutely beautiful. I just loved it so much. There's something fantastic about it, but it seems everyone doesn't get it based on some reviews I've read. I found The Fountain to be intense, emotional, touching and extraordinary. Like nothing I've seen before. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
MansurS.Feb 6, 2007
It's a difficult movie at times, but with focus and understanding something beautiful emerges from the film.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
ozp.Dec 2, 2006
If you like simple, plain stories that dont represent a chellenge for your mind then dont look at this movie.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JeremyBJun 30, 2007
This movie touched me. It may not have touched other's but just as any work of art - some may understand and some may not. It's really just a matter of personal preference and style. I can see why some of you folks think it was a This movie touched me. It may not have touched other's but just as any work of art - some may understand and some may not. It's really just a matter of personal preference and style. I can see why some of you folks think it was a bad movie in some ways. For me it was amazing. I will also say it bears being watched multiple times in order to fully grasp the imagery and plot to the best degree. I enjoy movies that you need to and want to watch more than once to understand. I gave it a 10 because it is my new favorite movie and will be for a while until something else comes along...and with so many of the movies in the past years being just the opposite (shallow, uninteresting and overdone) it may be some time. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
RyanJun 3, 2007
I think the director was trying to send a heartfelt message about love and life, and that those touched by it would enjoy this film, and that's why I give it a 10, it's a matter of opinion, you don't have to be so uptight mr. I think the director was trying to send a heartfelt message about love and life, and that those touched by it would enjoy this film, and that's why I give it a 10, it's a matter of opinion, you don't have to be so uptight mr. "Anonymous H". Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
JayDDec 3, 2006
A prime example of a movie that critics just don't get. It calls into question the intelligence of the people writing about it, particularly those who say Aranofsky's 'reach exceeds his grasp.' This is a complicated and A prime example of a movie that critics just don't get. It calls into question the intelligence of the people writing about it, particularly those who say Aranofsky's 'reach exceeds his grasp.' This is a complicated and assured film, one without easy answers. Everyone said these same types of criticisms about Kubrick films. The critical lambasting here just goes to show how little we expect from our films, how shocked we are when we're challenged by them, and how negatively we react when we can't understand them. Don't listen to the media static - see this movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
CrystalJul 30, 2007
How do you explain let alone film someone's conscious experience? This film was excellent in that it attempted to provide visuals for the metaphysical experiences attached to loving, dying, and the character's own internal How do you explain let alone film someone's conscious experience? This film was excellent in that it attempted to provide visuals for the metaphysical experiences attached to loving, dying, and the character's own internal struggle. He never time traveled, the "time travel" sequences were a type of literary or visual tool to show the viewer how the character understood his role toward his wife's condition. Excellent and at times overbearingly touching. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
TedL.Jul 4, 2007
I'm truly amazed at how many reviewers COMPLETELY missed the boat on this one. Honest, heartfelt, mesmerizing, heartbreaking and WELL ahead of it's time, THE FOUNTAIN will undoubtedly be looked upon in twenty years time as one of I'm truly amazed at how many reviewers COMPLETELY missed the boat on this one. Honest, heartfelt, mesmerizing, heartbreaking and WELL ahead of it's time, THE FOUNTAIN will undoubtedly be looked upon in twenty years time as one of the best films of the early 21st century. Man. Open your minds, people. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JamesT.Apr 3, 2007
Darren Aronofsky film captures many facets of human emotion and coming to terms with death and all that may mean to us.all of this is not easy too think about let alone portray but just for sheer thought provoking beautyfull cinematography Darren Aronofsky film captures many facets of human emotion and coming to terms with death and all that may mean to us.all of this is not easy too think about let alone portray but just for sheer thought provoking beautyfull cinematography and music it wins hands down. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MixsyG.Apr 8, 2007
I loved to watch The Fountain. Finally someone expresing openly in a movie those allways Human-Spiritual issues that we are IN and we will, liking it or not. I enjoyed it cause also is reach in simbolism and it gives the unique I loved to watch The Fountain. Finally someone expresing openly in a movie those allways Human-Spiritual issues that we are IN and we will, liking it or not. I enjoyed it cause also is reach in simbolism and it gives the unique interpretation for each detail. And as other comment i read here i think "It takes a special kind of person to enjoy this very special movie" Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JImmyHMay 27, 2007
Terrific film! It's magical, hypnotic, breathtaking. I was left confused yet intrigued and wanting to find out more and search. It's hard for me to understand why so many critics are panning this movie. I mean, with movies like Terrific film! It's magical, hypnotic, breathtaking. I was left confused yet intrigued and wanting to find out more and search. It's hard for me to understand why so many critics are panning this movie. I mean, with movies like "Spiderman 3" scoring better on Metacritic than "The Fountain" I am left scratching my head. Do the critics hold Arnofsky to a different standard? My opinion is that with all of the trash that is heaped into theaters these days, we should appreciate when a movie like this comes along. Some may find it flawed, I don't doubt. But should we not give credit where it's due? Anyway, I thought it was a true work of art and will watch it repeatedly. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
roxwordroxwordJun 29, 2007
Sometimes I'm amazed by all the closed down minds on this planet. this film is a love song, a deep tone poem about mortality, heart, soul and science and their relationships to each other. perhaps that's too much for the averageSometimes I'm amazed by all the closed down minds on this planet. this film is a love song, a deep tone poem about mortality, heart, soul and science and their relationships to each other. perhaps that's too much for the average viewer to absorb, but this viewer could have watched another 2 or 3 more hours of this. I'll probably end up buying it and screening it over and over and then I'll wish I had given "the fountain" a ten. don't miss it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JeremyS.Jun 30, 2007
One of the most powerful films I've ever seen. Please don't hate it if you do not understand it. Give it a chance. Try it again. Listen to Ellen Burstyn's speech in the scene in the snow; it as well as Jackman's obvious One of the most powerful films I've ever seen. Please don't hate it if you do not understand it. Give it a chance. Try it again. Listen to Ellen Burstyn's speech in the scene in the snow; it as well as Jackman's obvious revelation toward the end of the film are the movie's seminal moments and nicely sum up its themes. This film isn't merely a love story, it's a story about death, love, peace, and facing mortality. It's about living well and dying with a measure of grace. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
NikolaK.Jul 7, 2007
Great movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JustinGFeb 1, 2008
The Fountain is a 'love-it-or-hate-it' sort of film. It has only one undeniable quality: it's beautiful. Color and texture come together beautifully; the dark, rainy Mayan jungle, the snow-covered fields of modern America, and The Fountain is a 'love-it-or-hate-it' sort of film. It has only one undeniable quality: it's beautiful. Color and texture come together beautifully; the dark, rainy Mayan jungle, the snow-covered fields of modern America, and the Orion Nebula's golden nuclear rain are breathtaking to behold, especially in HD. Unfortunately the film tries to answer questions that some people go to church for, so those with strongly-held beliefs about the nature of life, death, and God might end the film feeling confused, threatened, even offended. Those of us who, like Aranofsky, are looking to reconcile the illusory conflicts between science and spirituality will likely find it an intensely rewarding experience. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
DanielH.Jul 27, 2008
Wow! Incredible film, really. The more I attempt to analyze it, the more I am reminded that this is a love fantasy. It is like a 10th century French poem depicting chivalry and mortality. Beautiful.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DarenBJan 23, 2009
Deepest movie I've ever seen, very philosophical.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MichaelHAug 19, 2009
Death is the road to awe. Beautiful. An exceptional piece of emotive movie making. The visual effects take you to a different plane and it's breathtaking. Hugh Jackman outshines everyone in his role and truly reaches outt o his Death is the road to awe. Beautiful. An exceptional piece of emotive movie making. The visual effects take you to a different plane and it's breathtaking. Hugh Jackman outshines everyone in his role and truly reaches outt o his emotional and soft side. An amazing picture of love and the lasting hold it has on us. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
HorenS.Nov 21, 2006
I was lucky enough today to be able to catch The Fountain at the film festival downtown. To start off, I have always been a huge Aronofsky fan, I introduced my friends to Pi and Requiem, and they are two of my favourite movies. From The I was lucky enough today to be able to catch The Fountain at the film festival downtown. To start off, I have always been a huge Aronofsky fan, I introduced my friends to Pi and Requiem, and they are two of my favourite movies. From The Fountain's inception in the early 2000's, I have followed all of its foibles and developmental issues. The script was originally approved with Pitt and Blanchett to star in the leading roles. Pitt left to film Troy and the project was thrown on the back burner. In 2004 the film re-emerged with a budget half of the original and was cast with Jackman and Weisz. As is expected when one follows things for such a long time, excitement builds and there is always the wish for what you are about to experience to be spectacular. This is one of those instances where one is awestruck and that excitement has not been crushed by the feeling of disappointment. Without a doubt, The Fountain by Darren Aronofsky is one of the best films I have seen this year, if not one of the best films of the decade. Future viewings and time will tell if the latter holds true. I'm not even sure where to begin, essentially the plot is set in three different time periods, with Jackman playing a conquistador, a modern scientist/doctor, and a intergalactic voyager all while trying to find a way for Weisz to live as she is terminally ill. The visuals in The Fountain are dazzling. The cinematography is some of the best I have ever seen in my life. The shots are all perfect and the lighting immaculate. Aronofsky seems to have gone with mostly centered shots, which may sound dull at first glance, however, they most definitely are not. It is not as gimmicky or manipulative as Requiem or even Pi were, but the visuals could take your breath away. They are that stunning. To make things even more impressive, they chose not to use CGI for much of the film and instead filmed chemical reactions and formations on petri dishes and were able to extrapolate that into fantastical imagery. As far as the acting goes, this is without a doubt the best work of Hugh Jackman and while Rachel Weisz is also very good, it is mainly Jackman that carries the movie as he is the lead role. I actually enjoyed the rest of the supporting cast even in their small roles. Specifically, Ellen Burstyn, Mark Margolis, and Cliff Curtis. The musical score is just another thing on its own. Clint Mansell, having collaborated in the past for both Pi and Requiem for a Dream creates a most ethereal musical score. The Kronos Quartet, who had the theme song for the movie Requiem for a Dream, entitled Lux Aeterna, and Scottish post rockers Mogwai fill out most of this blissful soundtrack. The music meshes wonderfully with the movie even though there are, three different periods so to speak. Furthermore, the explosions in music, re: Mogwai and the whole post-rock genre completely gels and interlaces with the revelations experienced and ideas expressed within the film. I won't reveal too much as to what unfolds in the movie, however, it is a beautiful story of love, and what one discovers about himself and the world in this quest of undying love. There are so many facets, so many nooks and cranies that this film dares to explore all at once in such majestic fashion it is truely unbelievable. It connects emotionally with the viewer, my heart started palpitating at various points and near the very end my eyes watered up for a good five minutes. Aronofsky explores my ideas and themes in this movie, though the main ones I think are acceptance and duality. The movie is incessantly deep and heavy and therefore requires repeated viewings for sure. Those of you who have seen Pi, this is in many ways a sister movie to that. Just as Pi attempts to understand natural surroundings and life through mathematics, The Fountain follows suit but on the path of spirituality and philosophy. In closing, I still require many hours to ponder the ideas in this movie, in fact I have been watching the trailer nonstop since I got home. Aronofsky possesses immense testicular fortitude to be able to make a film like this for wide release. He has my utmost respect for attempting such an ambitious film that has come across to me at least as highly successful. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MichaelS.Nov 23, 2006
Just perfect. But make no mistake, the film is just relentless. Relentlessy cheesy, deep, melodramatic, over-the-top, unflinching, unashamed. There were two specific moments in particular, where all the people sitting directly around me in Just perfect. But make no mistake, the film is just relentless. Relentlessy cheesy, deep, melodramatic, over-the-top, unflinching, unashamed. There were two specific moments in particular, where all the people sitting directly around me in the theatre started laughing. One of those moments, was the climax. Had there not been "intellectuals", artists, art-house filmgoers, mainstream filmgoers or immature emotionally undeveloped people in the audience, I would have enjoyed it even more without people around me laughing at the brilliance onscreen. That being said, it definitely felt like Aronofsky deliberately went out of the way to make a film that very specifically panders to not a single demographic or crowd. It completely depends on the person. But generally, I think most artists intellectuals and art-house cinemaphiles (and especially critics) will absolutely loathe this movie, because it is relentlessly emotional, and completely unashamed. But the themes and concepts, the imagery, it is so cyclical, and all fits perfectly together. I can easily wait 6 more years for Aronofsky's next film, because then I know it'll be at least half as good as this incredibly moving piece of work. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DrewK.Nov 26, 2006
Incredible. Both Hugh Jackman and Darren Aronofsky deserve Oscars, to say the least.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
GrahamB.Dec 26, 2006
This is one of the best films I've seen in a LONG time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MichaelE.Dec 3, 2006
This film doesn't place the answers right in front of you, but it is a mystery easily solved by audience that cares about the characters. This isn't hard to do, as it has great acting, wonderful visuals, and excellent pacing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DW.Dec 7, 2006
You have to give this film high marks for aspiration, even if it fails to be truly engaging. At least Aronofsky isn't parlaying his success into making competent sequels of comic book movies, and is trying to move us forward. Beautiful, You have to give this film high marks for aspiration, even if it fails to be truly engaging. At least Aronofsky isn't parlaying his success into making competent sequels of comic book movies, and is trying to move us forward. Beautiful, elemental, just maybe too many closeups of earnestness rather than people nakedly engaged in the struggle. Next time, Darren. I'll be there. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MeredithL.Dec 7, 2006
I thought that this movie speaks to Aronofsky's daring filming techniques. I think that he really sets the bar for other directors to live up to.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidD.Jan 13, 2007
Alas, the majority of critics are too Hollywood oriented to know genius when it stares them in the face. Mindblowing and beautiful, this movie will make you think too.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JeremyWillmottFeb 11, 2007
This movie is gloriously pretentious and unapologetically incomprehensible, being mired in philosophy and religion. Most of the movie goers left scratching their head or laughing. For me though this movie was a lot more than that. It is This movie is gloriously pretentious and unapologetically incomprehensible, being mired in philosophy and religion. Most of the movie goers left scratching their head or laughing. For me though this movie was a lot more than that. It is flawed for sure. But the essence of the message is something that resounds deeply within me. Gorgeous art direction and underpinned by a sumptuos score by Clint Mansell, this film is a must for film fanatics. It feels much like the personal movies of the 60's. It explores themes of love, death and immortality whilst touching on old testament stories such as the Tree of Life from the garden of eden (the other tree was the tree of knowledge that Adam and Eve ate from). If The Fountain doesn't leave you chattering about the meaning of life you probably shouldn't have gone to see this movie in the first place. It is cerebral. It is challenging. But ultimately very rewarding. Did I mention it was beautiful to look at. Check out my full Aronofsky review over at tweenbetween.blogspot.com Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
HenrikO.Mar 29, 2007
Criticism was also hard on Kubrick's "2001" in its day. I wonder whether there is some connection to this, another wildly philosphical piece of film art, and its criticism - similar to "2001"'s - and again, not supprisingly enough, Criticism was also hard on Kubrick's "2001" in its day. I wonder whether there is some connection to this, another wildly philosphical piece of film art, and its criticism - similar to "2001"'s - and again, not supprisingly enough, by old farts. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertTheBruceMay 14, 2007
It never ceases to amaze me how hypocritical movie going audiences can be. For years we hear people complaining about how movies are too formulaic, predictable and narrative like. But when a movie, that truly reaches beyond the conventions It never ceases to amaze me how hypocritical movie going audiences can be. For years we hear people complaining about how movies are too formulaic, predictable and narrative like. But when a movie, that truly reaches beyond the conventions of the typical Hollywood blockbuster finally comes forward, it is shunned, as people flee back to their tried and true formulas and trilogies. This it seems is the story of the Fountain. The film is truly a work of art, combining some of the most beautiful cinematography and music yet seen in a movie theater with an idea that is so simple, so common place, but at the same time so utterly life changing. Like the theater of Brecht, the Fountain is not so much about the narrative, but how what we are seeing communicates to us. It is for this reason that i feel the movie has had such a bad showing. The ideas its presents are so raw, so completely human, that it is hard to see them presented to us in this fashion. The ideas, for for average movie going joe, are to big and at the same time, close to heart to contemplate in a movie theater. For this reason, the Fountain should ONLY be seen by those who are able to watch a film without everything being spelled out for them, and by those intelligent enough to analyse the films message and how it is conveyed. Is truly one of the most original, innovative and moving films for a long time. 10/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SeanD.May 18, 2007
Every time I watch an Aranofsky movie, it is a life-changing experience. There's something about his style of writing and filming that is extremely memorable. Even with it's focus on death, I left this movie extremely uplifted. I Every time I watch an Aranofsky movie, it is a life-changing experience. There's something about his style of writing and filming that is extremely memorable. Even with it's focus on death, I left this movie extremely uplifted. I can't get it's visuals out of my mind & can't wait to watch it again. Not many movies these days challenge thought and ideas. I can't believe the critics pounded this one. A memorable, beautiful movie, but I guess it's not for everyone. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JohnB.May 18, 2007
Movies this deep don't deserve to be seen by people who don't wish to better understand it and what it stands for. This movie is really something to wrap your head around and it even leaves enough room for imagination left for the Movies this deep don't deserve to be seen by people who don't wish to better understand it and what it stands for. This movie is really something to wrap your head around and it even leaves enough room for imagination left for the viewer. The visuals in the Fountain are an absolutely stunning work of art. Now I could easily call this movie pretentious yet at the same time without that pretense, there wouldn't be much to see here. My only complaints of the Fountain were the excessive amounts of scene changes which I felt were not properly executed, and the poor script that neither worked for the characters or for the audience. Those mistakes alone take this down a notch from being truly exceptional but a movie of this magnitude deserves to be seen provided you are willing to go into it with an open mind. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
HIramG.Jun 11, 2007
Director added too many things that takes you out of the main theme of the movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
kalJul 15, 2007
Awesome, what movie making should always be about. A breath of fresh air from the generalized Hollywood empty headed easy to follow simpleton movies. If you think Die Hard or Rambo are good films then don't bother with this. If you are Awesome, what movie making should always be about. A breath of fresh air from the generalized Hollywood empty headed easy to follow simpleton movies. If you think Die Hard or Rambo are good films then don't bother with this. If you are a free thinker and crave artistic expression at its finest then this a film for you. I get the impression the bad reviews are from people who A: don't understand it or B: are not the type to think beyond the mundane. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
NINJul 24, 2007
I give it a 6 for making me feel like I had some barbiturates. The concept is amazing but unfortunately it was not captured in the film. It would have been a better film if they stuck and focused on one lifetime. I bet Hugh Jackman himself I give it a 6 for making me feel like I had some barbiturates. The concept is amazing but unfortunately it was not captured in the film. It would have been a better film if they stuck and focused on one lifetime. I bet Hugh Jackman himself didn't know what his own film was about. It was crazy, a big mess and a definite waste of time. I could definitely live without watching this film in my lifetime. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NaniFayeAug 18, 2007
This movie involves some of my most favorite themes and interests - the tree of life, the Mayans, scientists, new medicines discovered from plants in the rainforest, books, the acceptance of death, the fight against death, hope, peace, and This movie involves some of my most favorite themes and interests - the tree of life, the Mayans, scientists, new medicines discovered from plants in the rainforest, books, the acceptance of death, the fight against death, hope, peace, and space travel. One of the primary dynamics in the movie is the contrast between the man who is spending all his time and energy trying to find a way to keep the woman alive. One wonders if perhaps his time was better spent by spending time with her, listening to her, loving her, and just being with her in her final days. To me that is the crux of the movie, and I felt it deeply - her acceptance of death, and his fight against it (and essentially against her in a way). I have not stopped thinking about this movie since I watched it, and I absolutely love it. For me, and I understand for many others, it is the epitome of beauty and depth. And yes, in the end some things didn't add up, and the "lotus position" was hokey for sure - meditation does not involve any physical posture, it is an inner state of being (but how to show that visually? Then again, the first time I watched the movie, I thought the space bubble was in fact the man's inner state of being, portrayed visually, and was a not a "real" place but a representation of what was in his head...who knows...). But the heart was there and the intentions were good, even if the portrayal of the themes was not perfect - but who has done this and these themes before any better? I must say also though that my own life experiences and background and interests had a profound effect on the way I received this movie. So many of the visuals, the themes, and the ideas are so embedded in me that if the movie were based on some other visuals and themes, I might not have really liked it at all. (Botany, Medicine, Anthropology, Space Travel, Meditation, and the death of a Beloved). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
NickA.Aug 20, 2007
Darren Aronofsky, through his long and tedious struggle to bring his most cherished script to the screen, had accumulated some serious hype around what would eventually become 'The Fountain.' Just under seven years from its Darren Aronofsky, through his long and tedious struggle to bring his most cherished script to the screen, had accumulated some serious hype around what would eventually become 'The Fountain.' Just under seven years from its conception in the mind of the film Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
TroelsS.Oct 19, 2008
I have got to say, that the music is the reason why I really like this movie. Yeah, the film itself is different and pretty (and I respect the director and writer of The Fountain, cause it's so easy to follow - a film like this can I have got to say, that the music is the reason why I really like this movie. Yeah, the film itself is different and pretty (and I respect the director and writer of The Fountain, cause it's so easy to follow - a film like this can easily lose focus), but especially the music supports the scenes in a perfect way. Clint Mansell might be the one of the best filmsoundtrack-makers of the decade. But I'm not saying the movie would be bad without the great soundtrack, cause it's a really touching movie, which deserves better grade by critics. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArturoL.Dec 7, 2008
It´s pure poetry and beauty. Probably you won´t understand ALL the movie, but you will feel it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JimS.Feb 18, 2008
I look forward to one day seeing the complete, uncut film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EthanK.Mar 29, 2008
You have to be a very open minded person to truly enjoy this film. This movie truly demonstrates that you don't have to introduce a character to know who he is. I don't know how many movies I've seen that starts out like,"hi, You have to be a very open minded person to truly enjoy this film. This movie truly demonstrates that you don't have to introduce a character to know who he is. I don't know how many movies I've seen that starts out like,"hi, my name is..." the plot is very simple to tell the truth, its about a man in a struggle to come to terms with death, not just his wife but himself as well. This movie is indeed very hard to put into words. I can understand that a person may not like this film, no movie is loved by everyone. But I don't think that gives them the right to make biased opinions to a very under appreciated work of art, that they don't even understand in the first place. They could have simply said in the review,"I didn't understand the movie and cant make a comment." Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BertS.May 22, 2008
A sensory masterpiece intertwined with deeply emotional storylines (esp. if u ever spent time with a loved one with cancer) with an overall sci-fi fantasy blanket. Wayyyyy too ambitious but if you're in the right mood - it will take you A sensory masterpiece intertwined with deeply emotional storylines (esp. if u ever spent time with a loved one with cancer) with an overall sci-fi fantasy blanket. Wayyyyy too ambitious but if you're in the right mood - it will take you somewhere special. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RRMay 3, 2008
The Fountain is a spiritual film that eschews most trappings of what people expect of a movie these days. If you're looking for easy-to-chew-n-digest fluff, you won't find it here. If you have an open mind, you should be prepared The Fountain is a spiritual film that eschews most trappings of what people expect of a movie these days. If you're looking for easy-to-chew-n-digest fluff, you won't find it here. If you have an open mind, you should be prepared for a beautiful and moving work of art that features two actors at the top of their form. The central theme is transcendence, and although the film plays with three time periods, representing superstition, science, and spirituality as a symbol of mankind's progression (in a hopeful, Nitzschean sense), it is not bound to that kind of structure. Ultimately, it transcends space and time to remind us of why we are who we are: because of our undying souls. The symbolism may be Buddhist in nature, but the films' essence is as timeless and non-religious as one can hope for. To all you critics: I sympathize. You have a lot of work to do, and to encounter a film that leaves you scratching your heads must be frustrating as hell. But don't pan something just because you don't understand it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertZ.Aug 24, 2008
You truly have to be open minded to comprehend this movie. I have watched this masterpiece about 4 to 5 times and every time I watched it I would discover new ideas, metaphors, symbolisms, realizing more and more clearly what message the You truly have to be open minded to comprehend this movie. I have watched this masterpiece about 4 to 5 times and every time I watched it I would discover new ideas, metaphors, symbolisms, realizing more and more clearly what message the director is trying to convey. This aspect alone points to the artistry of the movie. Music of Beethoven, Mozart, Bach, Chopin works precisely the same way. This masterpieces of music grow on us over the years and every time we comeback to them with new experiences we discover something new in them. Thats what makes piece of art work timeless. On the top of this Aranovsky is a visual artist his movie is a visual Odyssey that adds to the viewers imaginative delight and conveyance of the essence of the movie. One examples: the ring that gets lost, when his wife collapses and he walks in circle waiting, to the glass sphere he is traveling in, to the tattooed lines on his body that circle around like the trees rings, to finally the the being that enters the (cicrcle) the sphere of light to finish the journey. This are all symbolic representations of reincarnation and repetitive events of our lives that just manifest themselves in different transmutations. In addition this movie is a rare gem because of the topic the director chose. Most of movies now a day focus on violence and the dark side of the human nature and even the so called good characters have very little good in them. Here Aranovsky portrays many faucets of human nature but the strongest highlight is the human spirit the soul of the human being. Its about our highest possible expression, transcending our physical illusion that are so real to us and entering our final stage of enlightenment that sheds the mortal suffering because of the realization of the highest truth about our true nature. In my book Aranovsky is one of the best and most brilliant movie directors alive. I have seen all his movies and when I went to see the fountain it was because of his earlier movies that I saw. With every movie he created his artistic expression is truly transcending to new heights. Mr. Aranovsky please keep creating and delighting your audience. Cheers. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DavidM.Sep 28, 2008
Completely polarizing - and I certainly know why. But, beautiful, intelligent and nothing but ambitious from start to finish. Remember folks, this is "science fiction"...it's not a documentary, it's "science fiction". Clint Completely polarizing - and I certainly know why. But, beautiful, intelligent and nothing but ambitious from start to finish. Remember folks, this is "science fiction"...it's not a documentary, it's "science fiction". Clint Mansell's soundtrack is one of the most amazing pieces of music ever composed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArlisS.Sep 30, 2008
Beautiful, so many things go through my mind when trying to understand it, that it teaches me along the way. I'd love to see more movies like this one, rather than the brainwashing bullshit we see everywhere else.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LaurieEJun 2, 2009
It isn't the destination, its the journey that is important. Similar to "Being Human" with Robin Williams; good way to broach difficult issues of life and death.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobSAug 20, 2009
Hands down, the most astonishing science fiction film of the past decade. Awesome on every level, and a sleeper destined to become a future classic. In 20 years from now, it will appear in lists of the greatest science fiction films ever Hands down, the most astonishing science fiction film of the past decade. Awesome on every level, and a sleeper destined to become a future classic. In 20 years from now, it will appear in lists of the greatest science fiction films ever made, if not in lists of the greatest films. Just as Bladerunner and 2001: A Space Odyssey do these days, despite both being widely ridiculed when they were first released... Also features possibly the most beautiful soundtrack score ever, by Clint Mansell. Even those who didn't understand or like the film, pretty much acknowledge that the music is a rare masterpiece. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeffS.Nov 21, 2006
I know i felt differently than much of the audience but I was transfixed. The movie just washed emotion over me, and even though its narrative flaws and cheese factor were obvious... it still worked amazingly. A powerful experience I will I know i felt differently than much of the audience but I was transfixed. The movie just washed emotion over me, and even though its narrative flaws and cheese factor were obvious... it still worked amazingly. A powerful experience I will not soon forget. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeffA.Nov 21, 2006
The BEST movie of 2006!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
YasharZ.Nov 22, 2006
This is a truly strange film. Love it or hate it, it WILL consume you. In my eyes, a true masterpiece.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DougRNov 23, 2006
Those who weren't moved by this film must have never loved anyone at a level beyond middle school crush.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NandoP.Nov 24, 2006
Masterpiece with one of the most beautiful and meaningful message of life in the foreground (although not many critics worry to understand) (or, as David Lynch said, "the movie is its own explanation"). A urgent contemporary manifesto of art Masterpiece with one of the most beautiful and meaningful message of life in the foreground (although not many critics worry to understand) (or, as David Lynch said, "the movie is its own explanation"). A urgent contemporary manifesto of art for life with technical excelence. Applause. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RileyWebsterNov 24, 2006
One of the single greatest movies I've ever seen. Absolutely breathtaking.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaulF.Nov 25, 2006
If you are at all philosophically and or spiritually minded it is a good chance you will love this movie. This is not the type of movie for those who relish
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
VcohedaNov 25, 2006
The Fountain by Darren Aronofsky is a very interesting film, dealing with the great themes (and dichotomies) of life & death, science & religion, temporality & eternity, and especially of love and how it intersects through all of these. It The Fountain by Darren Aronofsky is a very interesting film, dealing with the great themes (and dichotomies) of life & death, science & religion, temporality & eternity, and especially of love and how it intersects through all of these. It is also a movie which pushes the narrative technique to its farthest boundaries. At first, the movie seems strange and bizarre, incomprehensible (at times), yet it is always visually hypnotic and stimulating. However, once you figure out that the three stories of past, present, and future actually all take place in the present -- that is, that they are all just different perspectives of one man (Jackman the scientist), and that the story in indeed very linear -- the movie starts to come together and make sense. I would agree that some of the dialogue is poorly written, especially between the two leads, but the movie as a whole is undeniably rich, extremely ambitious (blending the conscious and unconscious, reality and fiction) and most importantly, original. Highly Recommended! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JayP.Nov 25, 2006
Visually stunning, and emotionally moving. That being said, it's not a movie for everyone. I adored it, but it does present the problem of the current level of intelect in this day and age.... it's going to go over most Visually stunning, and emotionally moving. That being said, it's not a movie for everyone. I adored it, but it does present the problem of the current level of intelect in this day and age.... it's going to go over most people's heads. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
TyeN.Nov 26, 2006
Okay....I'm giving this film a six out of ten. Here's why: It drove me mad! It's the first film I've ever seen where nearly everyone in the theater booed when the credits started rolling. I heard someone shout, "I want my Okay....I'm giving this film a six out of ten. Here's why: It drove me mad! It's the first film I've ever seen where nearly everyone in the theater booed when the credits started rolling. I heard someone shout, "I want my money back!", and others yelling about how "This movie is horrible!" Here are my problems with it. First of all, the cinematography is moody, and I get that, but it's almost too dark that it becomes depresssing. The movie makes you work harder than any other film only to reach your own conclusion without any real sense of closure on it's own merits. This is maddening. But the most maddening aspect? The overall theme. What is it? Is it a morality tale about whether you should live forever if given the opportunity? Is it about love and it's endless bounds between two soul mates? Is it about the cycle of life and death? All of these themes pop up, but none are clearly designated to the plot. Speaking of which, here it is (without any real spoilers): Tommy Creo (Hugh Jackman) is a scientist who is working on a cure for a cancerous tumor that is killing his wife Izzi (Rachel Weisz). This is the central plotline. The second is the story of a conquistador named Tomas (again, Hugh Jackman) searching for the tree of life to save Spain and his queen Isabel (Rachel Weisz again). This story is actually a book that current day Izzi is writing, but can't seem to find an ending for. Finally, the third storyline is set in the future and is given no explanation at all. All you know is that Tommy (still Hugh Jackman) is floating through space in a clear bubble with nothing but a tree. He keeps having flash backs of Izzi and the book she was writing. Now that all of that is out of the way, let's get to what's good. I like that Darren Aronofsky is trying to do something different and epic. This is a romance that spreads across time and beyond. However, the execution just isn't as good as it could have been (or tries to be). The real high point is the acting. Weisz is beautiful and effective as Izzi, but her character just doesn't have the time to become three dimensional. She makes her affectionate and still worth caring about. But the real star and the film's highest point is Hugh Jackman. This is definitely his finest performance. He brings menacing anger to Tomas, and subtle beauty in the futuristic scenes. But the central plotline is where he shines. Tommy is a complex man that is so in love with his wife that he is willing to do the seemingly impossible. After 'The Prestige', Hugh Jackman deserves to be nominated for Best Actor for this film. He gives stand-out performances in both, but he owns the screen in 'The Fountain'. The other big stand-out is Ellen Burstyn. Her screen time is fairly short, but she is fierce as Dr. Lillian Guzetti, the head of the project that Tommy is desperately leading. I think that she is more Oscar worthy for Supporting Actress than Weisz is. I think that the film is worth seeing for sure, but it is not the masterpiece that Aronofsky so stubbornly believes it is. But if he keeps trying, I think he may eventually make that masterpiece. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeffCNov 26, 2006
One of the most beautiful movies I've seen in a while. Even if someone has trouble following the narrative, I can't see how you could fault the score, art design, or cinematography of the film. That alone is worth seeing. This One of the most beautiful movies I've seen in a while. Even if someone has trouble following the narrative, I can't see how you could fault the score, art design, or cinematography of the film. That alone is worth seeing. This movie met my expectations on every level, and is highly recommended to anyone looking for a challenging film that raises questions about large themes in life. Its a unique movie experience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CamiloCNov 27, 2006
I believe this film will be considered in terms of, for example, the Sistine Chapel or Handel's Messiah as one of the great achievements of human creativity. Magnificent.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZachRNov 27, 2006
Anyone who thinks this is some watered down love story involving two people who live for thousands of years is missing alot. Alot of the reviews I have read seem to miss the central theme of this movie which is esentially coming to terms Anyone who thinks this is some watered down love story involving two people who live for thousands of years is missing alot. Alot of the reviews I have read seem to miss the central theme of this movie which is esentially coming to terms with things you cannot control and letting go of that which you cannot. Rather than being like the usual Hollywood drivel that trys to spoon feed themes to you, The Fountain lets you try to interpret the beautiful imagery for yourself. The three plotlines are arbitrary, not directly connected as too many people seem to think, and serve to tie the themes together. All of this is complimented by incredible special effects and a haunting score (Aronofsky brings back Clint Mansell and the Kronos Quartet along with Post-Rockers Mogwai) which leave this movie etched in your mind long after you've left the theatre. This movie reminds me of Tarkovsky's "Solyaris" on many levels and I'm interested to see how that would be reviewed if it were released today (oh wait, it was remade with George Clooney and was met with mixed reviews similar to this movie, though the original is far superior). Do not let the jaded, short-sighted, Zombified critics dissuade you from viewing this movie, it is brilliant. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlanR.Nov 28, 2006
This movie was fantastic. I was happy that for once a company didn't spoon feed me the same crap that they've tried to give us for years. I've always respected Aronofsky because he never holds your hand through a film he lets This movie was fantastic. I was happy that for once a company didn't spoon feed me the same crap that they've tried to give us for years. I've always respected Aronofsky because he never holds your hand through a film he lets you draw your own conclusion. If someone is confused by details of this movie it's only because for the first time in years a character in a movie didn't tell us what's going on. I'm sick of this happening in films, it's like the movie industry believes the audience doesn't have enough intelligence to draw their own conclusions. It's a beautiful film, and it's definitely worth seeing. I will and have recommended it to everyone. I think it's the best movie that I've seen come out this year. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
jamesm.Nov 30, 2006
It was a bit confusing at the beginning, but everything fell into place eventually. in my opinion is not about a man in 3 seperate lives, as most people say. but instead 1 man's life from 3 different perspectives. very interesting. a must see
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DavidH.Dec 11, 2006
I honestly can't figure out why this one is getting such a panning from the critics. I think many of them are defensively rating this low as to not be accused of being pretentious. The film is fantastic though, and not nearly as I honestly can't figure out why this one is getting such a panning from the critics. I think many of them are defensively rating this low as to not be accused of being pretentious. The film is fantastic though, and not nearly as confusing as people are making it out to be. I went in with my attention cranked up to ten, expecting something along the lines of 2001: SO, but honestly this movie is actually slightly guilty of spoon-feeding the viewers it's symbolism, and shouldn't be confusing to anyone with the least bit of an attention span. The ending could have been edited slightly tighter, though, maybe ending five minutes earlier or so. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
BarryR.Dec 2, 2006
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArtiP.Dec 2, 2006
Rarely does a film come by that is a true work of art. That is because of the multi-dimensionality of the system. In my observation, art is best exhibited in a uni-dimensional medium, because it lets the observer imagine the other Rarely does a film come by that is a true work of art. That is because of the multi-dimensionality of the system. In my observation, art is best exhibited in a uni-dimensional medium, because it lets the observer imagine the other dimensions. Like admiring a beautiful painting (visual), or listening to Beethoven(sound), or reading great literature - these art-forms offer great depth in one of the dimensions and let you imagine the rest. When a director is creating a movie, especially a feature film the coming together of the various mediums imposes the need to create a solid structure. In the process he tends to lose the raw emotions that art inspires. "The Fountain" is a great exceptation - as Darren Aronofsky has somehow magically retained the art in the movie. It does different things for different people, evokes different emotions, and does not end with your exit from the movie hall. My heart loved the movie (i watched it 4 days ago), and my mind is still processing it. Kudos to the Jackman, Aronofsky and Clint Mansell for bringing this masterpiece to life. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamieK.Dec 2, 2006
I'm first of all so glad that I just went to see this movie instead of trusting the low score on Metacritic and the bad reviews. I don't think that I will ever trust any reviewers ever again for that matter. This is a beautiful I'm first of all so glad that I just went to see this movie instead of trusting the low score on Metacritic and the bad reviews. I don't think that I will ever trust any reviewers ever again for that matter. This is a beautiful movie and made me feel something deep while waching it. The relationship of the two main characters was very genuine and I was glad to see that for a change. This movie is very artistic and emotional without being pretentious, and I felt very satisfied after seing it. Do see this movie; Aronofsky deserves the support for all the work he put into this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AustinD.Dec 29, 2006
This is best film ever I seen. I can't hold my tears.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BettyE.Dec 3, 2006
A masterpiece. Ambitious, thought-provoking, and meaningful, it drives you to question your own justifications for existence. With phenomenal direction by Aronofsky, fantastic and realistic performances all-around, and a heartfelt story, The A masterpiece. Ambitious, thought-provoking, and meaningful, it drives you to question your own justifications for existence. With phenomenal direction by Aronofsky, fantastic and realistic performances all-around, and a heartfelt story, The Fountain is a film that demands repeat viewings to truly absorb the director's vision. See it with an open mind and savor its sublimity. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TiC.Dec 5, 2006
One of the most beautiful films I have ever seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NicholasB.Dec 8, 2006
By far my favourite movie of the year. No matter who I see this movie with, everyone has a different interpretation of what is happening in the film. Whether its all, half, or no truth, it doesn't matter. Not only is the movie visually By far my favourite movie of the year. No matter who I see this movie with, everyone has a different interpretation of what is happening in the film. Whether its all, half, or no truth, it doesn't matter. Not only is the movie visually stunning, it really is a romance movie hidden in a sci-fi epic. Just beautiful. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LPC.Dec 8, 2006
One of the most stirring pieces of drama I've seen in years, on screen, on stage, or on tv. Jeweled elegance. I can't get over the passion with which some people disliked it. Did we see the same film? No matter. I consider it an One of the most stirring pieces of drama I've seen in years, on screen, on stage, or on tv. Jeweled elegance. I can't get over the passion with which some people disliked it. Did we see the same film? No matter. I consider it an early holiday gift. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.Dec 8, 2006
"The Fountain" is, hands down, the best science-fiction film since David Cronenberg's "Existenz". The ascencion of that crystal ball, and the world inside it, is truly astonishing. The special effects in "The Fountain" has a quality "The Fountain" is, hands down, the best science-fiction film since David Cronenberg's "Existenz". The ascencion of that crystal ball, and the world inside it, is truly astonishing. The special effects in "The Fountain" has a quality that differs from most films. They're emotional. They're also used as metaphor. "The Fountain" is not completely unlike "Fantastic Voyage". Tommy's journey that seemingly is going beyond earth's sphere, in actuality, is a journey of an internal sort. It's a trek through his inner space(I think). "The Fountain" is not for everybody. A facetious description of this visionary film is that it's "Solaris" on crack. But if you're into eastern religions, have the dexterity to process three narrative threads, and might possibly be a little in love with Rachel Weisz(this time, when I close my eyes, I don't hear Kate Winslet), "The Fountain" might be the best film you see this year. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZephyrJ.Jan 26, 2007
The Fountain is not meant for casual viewing. It takes a stream-of-consciousness approach, and it was not until my third viewing that I was able to completely figure it out. I can not speak for anyone else, but I am sure of my own opinion, The Fountain is not meant for casual viewing. It takes a stream-of-consciousness approach, and it was not until my third viewing that I was able to completely figure it out. I can not speak for anyone else, but I am sure of my own opinion, and this is one of the finest movies I have ever seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoeC.Feb 18, 2007
I loved this film. As I walked out of the theatre, all I could think about was seeing it again. Does that make it good? Not necessarily. But it changed the way I view cinema. And that is just fine with me.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MariR.Feb 19, 2007
A movie ahead its time! Future will show!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EricC.May 16, 2007
The bad reviews are suprising, since critics were suckers for Aranofsky's first two films, also complex and surreal. Shockingly beautiful, and yeah, occasionally confusing as all hell, but doesn't deserve the brutal reviews. How The bad reviews are suprising, since critics were suckers for Aranofsky's first two films, also complex and surreal. Shockingly beautiful, and yeah, occasionally confusing as all hell, but doesn't deserve the brutal reviews. How can you praise someone for doing something twice before, and then try to punish him when he does it again with even more grace and skill? Mark F is right. It doesn't topple 2001 as the deffinitive mind-bending sci-fi epic. But if you give it a chance, it'll come pretty close. Just don't overthink it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndersL.May 21, 2007
A minor masterpiece. Bears repeated viewings. The soundtrack is also gorgeous.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JoeAverageMay 26, 2007
It's too bad Aronofsky deals in pretty images (thematic and visual), rather than develop his arguments (yes Darren, I have questions on Immortality, Life and True Love as well, but what's your take?) At least in Pi, he attempted to It's too bad Aronofsky deals in pretty images (thematic and visual), rather than develop his arguments (yes Darren, I have questions on Immortality, Life and True Love as well, but what's your take?) At least in Pi, he attempted to tackle his subject matter straight on. It's all a lovely trip to soak in though. Although, all the lotus position stuff does look rather stupid and out-of-place. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MatthewF.Jun 17, 2007
While it seems like a rather illogical, incoherent, and too smart to grasp film, Darren Aronofsky
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChrisP.Dec 28, 2008
This film has really hooked me, despite its flaws. Tommy and, especially, Izzy are too broadly drawn as characters: in the DVD commentary, Aronofsky admits he wanted them to be archetypes, so their love story lacks the little details and This film has really hooked me, despite its flaws. Tommy and, especially, Izzy are too broadly drawn as characters: in the DVD commentary, Aronofsky admits he wanted them to be archetypes, so their love story lacks the little details and specificities that might have made it really emotionally vivid and put the film over the top for those critics who hated it for the complicated and ambiguous trio of timelines. Really the movie isn't about Tommy and Izzy, but about Tommy and his own denial of death; Izzy's mortality is just a vehicle for Tom to confront his own. So it's another movie in which the female lead is basically a masculine projection, and that maybe is its real flaw. But Tommy's journey through grief to ... well, you'll see ... is still moving for me. And, yes, it might be because of the soundtrack, which works for this film as no soundtrack ever has before, tying together the three separate timelines into one emotional arc. It's also visually gorgeous; during production the planned use of computer graphics had to be scrapped for macrophotography for budgetary reasons, and thank god, because the results are beautiful and unlike anything else I've seen on film. Overall, even though I could't put the pieces together logically as I was watching it, I found that there was an emotional logic to the film that was deeply satisfying. Although I like to analyze the heck out of films, this is one that really does work well if you just let it wash over you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChristianFeb 19, 2008
for those that don't know this is actually more than just a chick flick for those that have done there studying it is actually a more religious then a love story. there is an actual story in the bible about the tree of life.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RodrigoM.Mar 16, 2008
this is a movie just for some kind of persons that really knows the truth, the real nature in this world, its amazing this movie it change my life and my destiny i know what to do know in my life.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JustinB.Mar 18, 2008
This is truly one of the most beautiful movies made in recent years. The story is amazing, with a message as deep and meaningful and one can be. Great movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnP.Apr 18, 2008
I am tired of reading critics mentioning time travel in their reviews of this movie. After watching this movie, I have to say that I was captivated throughout, not only by the visuals and ideas presented, but also by how the majority of I am tired of reading critics mentioning time travel in their reviews of this movie. After watching this movie, I have to say that I was captivated throughout, not only by the visuals and ideas presented, but also by how the majority of viewers failed to see the simplicity of the story. The main character is rooted in the present. The flashbacks to the past are only the primary characters readings of his wife's novel and his attempt to complete the novel's ending is the flash forwards to the future, in which he expresses his desire to reach to the heavens to fulfill his love. Time travel, immortality... not sure why people are fixated on those themes as there is no indication that the flashbacks and flashforwards are anything more than figments of the primary characters dreams, readings and aspirations for his love (all btw happening in the present). Oh well... nuff said. Eat that Ebert ! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CHJun 26, 2008
This is the most underrated movie in the past 10 years. The true star of this film is not the actors, but Aronofsky. From his brilliant script to the absolutely stunning visuals (who else would've thought of using chemical reactions as This is the most underrated movie in the past 10 years. The true star of this film is not the actors, but Aronofsky. From his brilliant script to the absolutely stunning visuals (who else would've thought of using chemical reactions as the backdrop?), Aronofsky's brilliance in this movie constantly shines through. It is an absolutely amazing film. I'm disappointed that more critics, and laypeople, alike did not understand Aronofsky's vision for this film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
foutainJan 16, 2009
Nice movie to have ... met. It is hard for me to understand some of the critics. Many say The Fountain is complicated, but I see no point in discussing any lack of understanding in terms of a movie review -> Concerning this movie, Nice movie to have ... met. It is hard for me to understand some of the critics. Many say The Fountain is complicated, but I see no point in discussing any lack of understanding in terms of a movie review -> Concerning this movie, understanding means feeling. If someone doesn't get it, well, you are human, are you? Be it possible there are inhumane critics. Be it possible many like to pose simple questions in order to irritate people. Don't ban a movie for what it does with you because as long as it does affect you, it is useful. 3 levels of time - that a problem? I'd say: it's a must if you ever try to bring up a universal message - three at least. Good number. What else is remarkable: We surely don't need all the footage and top-secret background info, who cares? Art is which works! All you fans, be aware that strongly recommending to buy a ticket or dvd is the uttermost thing to do. Re-telling the whole happening looks like stuffing the internet. Back to the roots: I like the movie from a consumer's point-of-view for its deep passion. I appreciate it from a writer's point-of-view for a daring entreprise. I love it from a male romantic's point-of-view for its (somehow psychological) precision. I can easily recommend you to buy the thing, but I will add: Aside from other laudations spoken out over time, perhaps truly earned, I suggest you prepare for something different from what most people think how a movie should develop and towards something that allows you to let go and feel a specific meaning you always assumed to be ... out there. No, my name's not Darren. Keep whispering. *chuckle* Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
daveg.Nov 22, 2006
Mind-blowing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JimmyC.Nov 22, 2006
I've read a number of preofessional reviews stating that the film is difficult to follow and that the ending is way beyond anything we lowly movie-goers might be able to grasp. I went into the film prepared to leave utterly perplexed-- I've read a number of preofessional reviews stating that the film is difficult to follow and that the ending is way beyond anything we lowly movie-goers might be able to grasp. I went into the film prepared to leave utterly perplexed-- but this was simply not the case. The film is not difficult to follow, and the ending is quite satisfying. There are obviously a number of metaphors throughout, but they are not so complex as to be beyond one's understanding. Certain parts of the film may be interpreted differently, but as a whole it has a rather straight-forward and powerful message about love and death. The visuals and acting are great. The music was appropriate. It's not the best movie of all time, but it's definitely worth seeing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DanB.Nov 23, 2006
It's not exactly entertaining, but it *is* good. Or, it's not good, but it's kinda great? I don't know, really. Aside from some high-emotion moments that came off as mawkish rather than affecting, this movie was It's not exactly entertaining, but it *is* good. Or, it's not good, but it's kinda great? I don't know, really. Aside from some high-emotion moments that came off as mawkish rather than affecting, this movie was definitely worthwhile. For it's flaws, it's a hundred times more interesting/better than 90% of what's on screen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FiatluxNov 23, 2006
Not for everyone, but not for the usual reasons. I don't think it's a question of getting it or not getting it, but more a question of how much you are willing to go with it. It's not without its problems: it feels twice as Not for everyone, but not for the usual reasons. I don't think it's a question of getting it or not getting it, but more a question of how much you are willing to go with it. It's not without its problems: it feels twice as long as it is, and it's like being in a state of intense mourning for the duration. It is also a brave and beautiful piece of filmmaking. Aronofsky wears his heart on his sleeve like red wet stain, and I'm glad he fought for this project. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
A-robNov 23, 2006
I could talk all night about this movie. If it has any flaws, I forgive them. The concept and visuals alone are enough for me to fall in love with it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SG.Nov 24, 2006
Incoherent? Head scratching? Pretentious? Hard to follow? Did I watch the same movie as many of these critics? I don't want to take any unnecessary or pointless swipes at intelligence, but I cannot help but wonder what was so confusing Incoherent? Head scratching? Pretentious? Hard to follow? Did I watch the same movie as many of these critics? I don't want to take any unnecessary or pointless swipes at intelligence, but I cannot help but wonder what was so confusing about this movie. To me, this was simple story. A movie about the most basic human experiences (love and death), and as such is naturally expansive due to the timelessness of these themes. It echoes the feel of the folklore it is based on. There is nothing pretentious or confusing about that. Perhaps the narrative was unclear at first, but it does not take long to determine what the significance of each narrative strand is. While I do argue that the 16th century narrative was the essential flaw of the movie, I will let others feel out their own opinions there. This movie should just be felt and experienced. It is our humanity that makes it easy to identify with the moment we stop trying to make it something it isn't. It is not puzzling, confusing or pretentious and in my opinion not even mind blowing. A visual feast and a simple myth with a sci-fi edge. Abandon the critical analysis and let your gut feel this one out. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BillyS.Nov 25, 2006
Quite simply, The Fountain is the most breath-takingly stunning visual journey I've witnessed in a movie theatre since I was 18 and saw 2001: A Space Odyssey (and this time I wasn't even high!) Darren Aronofsky is, in my opinion, Quite simply, The Fountain is the most breath-takingly stunning visual journey I've witnessed in a movie theatre since I was 18 and saw 2001: A Space Odyssey (and this time I wasn't even high!) Darren Aronofsky is, in my opinion, the new Kubrick and The Fountain is his version of an old fashioned love story that literally spans centuries and, like 2001, its wide open for any interpretation. Matthew Libatique's cinematography and James Chinlund's production design create one awe-inspiring image after another and the music by Clint Mansell sets free the "oohs and aahs" as you watch the celluloid poetry in front of you. The Fountain is not for everybody, but for this body, it's the Best Film of 2006 so far! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ChrisB.Nov 25, 2006
I didn't really like it, but the imagery was beautiful and I left the theater feeling very different than when I went in.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JakeR.Nov 26, 2006
It's not perfect. But what movie is? The Fountain is beautifully shot, well-acted, compelling entertainment. It's only hard to follow if you're used to having your stories spoon-fed to you, as some critics seem to be. I It's not perfect. But what movie is? The Fountain is beautifully shot, well-acted, compelling entertainment. It's only hard to follow if you're used to having your stories spoon-fed to you, as some critics seem to be. I can't recommend The Fountain universally, but a good metric is this: if you enjoyed Solaris, you'll like this one. If you thought Solaris was "pretentious" or "silly" for daring to put a little romance in their sci-fi (or vice-versa), then turn Deal or No Deal back on and skip this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JonH.Nov 26, 2006
One of the most lyrical, poetic movies I've seen in years. It left me drained and full and I loved every beautiful minute. I'll go see it again. Its terribly romantic, and I mean that in a more classical sense, and brimming with One of the most lyrical, poetic movies I've seen in years. It left me drained and full and I loved every beautiful minute. I'll go see it again. Its terribly romantic, and I mean that in a more classical sense, and brimming with heart. The movie really isn't that hard to follow, you just have to have some patience and let it unfold before you. I was fearful it might be pretentious, but it's not by a long shot. The true nature of the different eras (other than the present day) were a surprise to me and made so much sense. A wonderfully imaginative, heartfelt film that should be treasured, but that will probably only become well loved by a select group. Maybe that's as it should be. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jNov 26, 2006
Rather than focus on the movie's faults and inability to quite match its ambitions, critics should instead see how this movie's reach and invention distance itself from the banal indie-fare oft-praised and quickly-forgotten.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JesseR.Nov 27, 2006
An awesome trip into the duality and enigma that is life/death.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MiguelC.Nov 28, 2006
Thought provoking and extremely original. Love it or hate it. I loved it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AlexNov 29, 2006
The Fountain, for some, is a movie that has to be seen a couple times before its finally understood. for others, its a visual masterpiece that actually lets you think freely about what it was really all about. it probably would have done a The Fountain, for some, is a movie that has to be seen a couple times before its finally understood. for others, its a visual masterpiece that actually lets you think freely about what it was really all about. it probably would have done a little better on the independent film circuit, since there are some concepts in the movie that the mainstream probably won't be able to grasp, and some will probably pass it off as a "thin plot". in order to truly enjoy the movie, you have to think deep, and keep an open mind. some of the acting was a little over done in certain places, but the overall feel of the movie grabs hold, and stays until long after the movie is over. 8 out of 10. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful