User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 90
  2. Negative: 9 out of 90
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    This was one of the best movies I've seen in a long time and it really thought me to treat women with more respect. The characters were really fantastic and Elisha Cuthbert played the role so well. I highly recommend watching this film.
  2. E.Cooper
    Mar 22, 2006
    0
    Truly one of the worst teen movies ever made.
  3. TylerC.
    Jun 4, 2006
    0
    Could not finish this film. It was terrible!
  4. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    This should be the model by which all other teenage comedies are judged by. This is one of the funniest and coolest movies I have ever seen! It's that old classic tale about the loser kid in school who becomes popular when he stars dating the hot girl who moves in next door...and oh by the way...that girl just happens to be a porn star! Emile Hirsch is amazing in this movie. Not to giveThis should be the model by which all other teenage comedies are judged by. This is one of the funniest and coolest movies I have ever seen! It's that old classic tale about the loser kid in school who becomes popular when he stars dating the hot girl who moves in next door...and oh by the way...that girl just happens to be a porn star! Emile Hirsch is amazing in this movie. Not to give anything away, but there is one scene near the end where he's at an awards dinner, he's been looking forward to, that's just classic! Timothy Olyphant is amazing as always, I think he went to the John Malcovich school of how to be the perfect movie villain. I loved this movie and you will too! Expand
  5. Anonymous
    Jun 9, 2005
    2
    What a joke!!! Such a cliche, so cheesy/ And the protagonists speech on moral fiber cracked me up. It was supposedly good enough to recieve a standing ovation and it was supposed to be the end moral of the story. It was hilarious how everybody was so impressed by his speech. This movie is not worth it unless you are totally obsessed with the hot actress, you dont really get to see much of What a joke!!! Such a cliche, so cheesy/ And the protagonists speech on moral fiber cracked me up. It was supposedly good enough to recieve a standing ovation and it was supposed to be the end moral of the story. It was hilarious how everybody was so impressed by his speech. This movie is not worth it unless you are totally obsessed with the hot actress, you dont really get to see much of her anyway. Expand
  6. AlexT.
    Apr 10, 2004
    7
    Without the beauty of Elisha Cuthbert, this poorly scripted film would have been a waste of my time.
  7. StringerB.
    Apr 28, 2004
    5
    I'm a huge fan of teen flicks. This movie had so much potential, and I was so fired up to see it, but the writing is pretty horrible. Elisha Cuthbert's part is just so paper-thin. And Emile Hirsch does VERY little with his role. Big-time casting gaff there. The best acting performance in the film is by Tim Olyphant, but he is underutilized. Even the AVN awards sequence could I'm a huge fan of teen flicks. This movie had so much potential, and I was so fired up to see it, but the writing is pretty horrible. Elisha Cuthbert's part is just so paper-thin. And Emile Hirsch does VERY little with his role. Big-time casting gaff there. The best acting performance in the film is by Tim Olyphant, but he is underutilized. Even the AVN awards sequence could have been so much funnier. It's almost as if the writers had never been to one. Oh well.... Great opportunity squandered. It's no wonder that it openend up at 6 million on the opening weekend despite a massive marketing campaign. Expand
  8. AndreD.
    Apr 7, 2004
    7
    A familiar but occasionally surprising format sees porn come to the prom. Stiff moral fibre, true love and teen spirit unite for some sweet-ass laughs. Somehow it shouldn't have worked, but it just about pulled it off!
  9. Burger
    Apr 30, 2005
    10
    There is really only one reason to watch this movie, and it only applies to you if you are a heterosexual male or a lesbian. if you dont know what im talking about, its that elisha cuthbert is really freaking hot.
  10. skyman88
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    This movie is great. The acting is good, the soundtrach is insanely good and is worth seeing the movie for alone, and Elisha Cuthbert is beautiful. I couldnt' ask fo rmore in a movie, I own this movie and have watched a dozen times in the last year.
  11. CorinnaW.
    Jan 3, 2007
    9
    I LOVE this film!! I watched it expecting it to be just another teen movie, similar to "The Perfect Man", etc. But it is truly one of a kind and after watching it you truly feel satisfied and you get that warm feeling that only comes from watching a really great film. The music used is amazing, and Hirsch and Cuthbert are the only people who could have played the roles so well. From the I LOVE this film!! I watched it expecting it to be just another teen movie, similar to "The Perfect Man", etc. But it is truly one of a kind and after watching it you truly feel satisfied and you get that warm feeling that only comes from watching a really great film. The music used is amazing, and Hirsch and Cuthbert are the only people who could have played the roles so well. From the way the film was advertised, one would think it was sleazy and tacky but it is infact a beautiful love story. Ok, so towards the middle of the film the plot really gets lost but it discovers itself towards the end. Cuthbert is just stunning, and the fact that Hirsch does not have a " perfect" body helps the audience empathise with that feeling you only get when you are mad on someone who is totally out of your leage. A truly wonderful film that is sadly not very well known..and one that everyone should watch! Expand
  12. KimH.
    Dec 31, 2004
    7
    I wasn't expecting much, maybe a couple of John Hughes hours, but I thought that it was fun and a little bit sweet. Maybe that says more about me than the movie, but you'll never think of Adam Roaf (Joan of Arcadia) the same way. Elisha Cuthbert is dazzling as well.
  13. MarkB.
    Apr 12, 2004
    3
    I'd say that this is the equivalent of a Roger Corman-produced ripoff version of Risky Business, except that it would be an insult to Roger Corman. A misguided stew of teen sex comedy, romantic drama, crime thriller and social satire in which nearly all the elements completely obliterate each other. Especially tasteless and ill-advised is the movie's glib treatment of the porn I'd say that this is the equivalent of a Roger Corman-produced ripoff version of Risky Business, except that it would be an insult to Roger Corman. A misguided stew of teen sex comedy, romantic drama, crime thriller and social satire in which nearly all the elements completely obliterate each other. Especially tasteless and ill-advised is the movie's glib treatment of the porn industry, which even a cursory knowledge of the tragedies of many of its stars should indicate makes it a very poor subject for a fluffball sitcom. Not that there isn't humor in the subject, or that you can't find it successfully; P. T. Anderson certainly did so in the brilliant Boogie Nights...but Greenfield, the director of the Rob Schneider farce The Animal, is no P.T. The unbelievably stupid, desperate wrapup, involving a school sex education film, indicates that Greenfield and the writers have absolutely no awareness of any aspect of the political or social climate going on in this country in 2004. Only Elisha Cuthbert, obviously thrilled to break out of the damsel-in-distress box that her TV series 24 has kept her locked in, rises above the material, crafting a warm, likable and two-and-a-half if not three-dimensional character. This movie is completely unworthy of her. Expand
  14. MikeM.
    Apr 23, 2004
    10
    I think it's fair to say this is the most underrated movie of the year by far.
  15. GaborA.
    Sep 27, 2004
    2
    Unlike other teen comedies that burry themselves with just aweful in your face disgusting jokes this movie just doesnt really have that many. I mean, the script had to be about 10 pages. At least half of its short running time is devoted to framed music videos. Music plays and cameras kind of show random teen things. The plot, the little there is of it, makes no sense and is so filled Unlike other teen comedies that burry themselves with just aweful in your face disgusting jokes this movie just doesnt really have that many. I mean, the script had to be about 10 pages. At least half of its short running time is devoted to framed music videos. Music plays and cameras kind of show random teen things. The plot, the little there is of it, makes no sense and is so filled with loop holes its impossible to accept. A few jokes are unique and funny but most are just cheap laughs. Even if there is supposed to be a message, the delivery is so poor it doesnt connect either way. Expand
  16. jordang.
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    I LOVED THIS MOVIE IT WAS HILARIOUS.
  17. FinE
    Nov 30, 2006
    8
    Entertaining if not great. While Elisha Cuthbert does not come off as a true porn star, her charm and acting talents have been underrated. This lady has superb talent and a great future -- cf. 24, etc.
  18. MichaelM.
    Oct 22, 2004
    6
    This is a cool, quirky and fun-to-watch teen sex movie, that is nothing close to the brillance of Animal House. I thought it was good, it just has too much of the "been done before" feeling to it. Emile Hirsch does a fantastic job as usual, and Elisha Cuthbert is okay. Thumbs Up.
  19. [Anonymous]
    Dec 30, 2004
    10
    This movie is a very cool film, and i like it lot, and Emile is vry cute.
  20. BobW.
    Apr 13, 2004
    10
    Acceptable plot wrapped in an interesting cast of characters who manage to touch a subject and come out without stepping on too many feet. I find it to be wild often random but still something brings me back to the girl next door and it makes it an amazing film.
  21. Matt
    Apr 28, 2004
    10
    I like boobs, i like girls, i like porn. PERFECT 10!
  22. LanceT.
    Jun 28, 2004
    9
    Great movie elisha cuthbert is really hot. dint know such a beautiful actress actually existed! movie was great as a whole and really funny!
  23. Bence
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    This film is gourgeous!!!! This is in the "must see" category! And Elisha Cuthbert is beautiful.
  24. KennyH.
    Dec 12, 2006
    9
    This movie was just awesome. Really funny, and a great feel good ending.
  25. Bruce
    Dec 2, 2007
    6
    Hirsch and Cuthbert are likeable and make the first half of the movie pleasant to enjoy. The second half of the movie spirals out of control and becomes too crazy, bringing everything down. Overall, a slightly better than average 6 out of 10.
  26. Jul 30, 2011
    7
    Wonderfully entertaining for the average teenager. That's it. Despite big-name stars, I found this gem to be lacking in depth but the comedy was enough to keep me entertained for the duration.
  27. Oct 5, 2013
    6
    The Girl Next Door is diverting entertainment, keeping your attention for only as long as you want to watch. The final third is relieving, as this movie started turning into a profane, uneasy porno. Thank god for the ending.
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 32
  2. Negative: 8 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Clint Morris
    60
    It's got everything the genre calls for – boppy music, cute boys, cute girls, lots of sexual lingo, and most importantly, laughs.
  2. Sharp, vivacious comedy.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    60
    A tickle-and-tease teen sex comedy that plays like a late-night channel-surf through soft-core sitcoms, "American Pie" wannabes and '80s Brat Pack romances.