Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 20, 2011
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 683 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
580
Mixed:
65
Negative:
38
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
TakeOneJan 2, 2012
After a very slow and unfocused first hour(out of the 2.7 hours) the film engages and impresses. Is it better than the original, no. Does it take away from the original, no. It stands on it's own. Mara is fine, but not anything award-worthy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
trujustinJan 3, 2012
Fincher at his best. This movie is electrifying from the very start. There is an edge to it that is sustained throughout. Reznor sets the tone with a tremendous score, and the acting is superb.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
patchouliradJan 3, 2012
I was skeptical going into the theatre about how great this film would actually be and almost expecting to be let down, especially considering how much I enjoyed the Swedish version. Noomi Rapace was, in my opinion, the quintessential LisbethI was skeptical going into the theatre about how great this film would actually be and almost expecting to be let down, especially considering how much I enjoyed the Swedish version. Noomi Rapace was, in my opinion, the quintessential Lisbeth Salander, and I thought there was no way Rooney Mara could compete. I was, however, quite pleasantly surprised--she actually pulled it off! Though perhaps her portrayal of a more vulnerable--and dare I say likeable--L.S. may not be very true to the book, I did find myself caring more about her, and I think that this less abrasive depiction will be more appealing to people who have not read the series and therefore know very little about her past. My biggest complaints were actually quite small and therefore don't subtract from my rating, them being that it did run on a bit long after the climax, and that the more, shall we say 'disturbing' scenes, although still quite upsetting, were toned down a bit too much for my liking and were not as potent as they were both in the book and the Swedish film version. All in all, it was incredibly entertaining and I recommend anyone to see it! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
JKinghamJan 4, 2012
Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned.

My first review on Metacritic and I couldn't be happier it's a David Fincher film. Not his best work, I'll reserve that for Fight Club and Se7en, but on par with his work on Zodiac and The Social
Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned.

My first review on Metacritic and I couldn't be happier it's a David Fincher film. Not his best work, I'll reserve that for Fight Club and Se7en, but on par with his work on Zodiac and The Social Network.

In fact, think of this as Zodiac with some flashes of Se7en depravity.

Daniel Craig is solid as always but the film soars with Rooney Mara's Lisbeth Salander. I literally couldn't keep my eyes off her. Yes, Noomi Rapace was also great in the French version, but Mara's Salander is much more damaged, more timid, and in turn, scarier.

Others have bemoaned the film's final act but I didn't mind it; mainly because of the final scene. Pitch perfect, and beautifully sets up the next film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
turingmachineJan 4, 2012
This is a very complicated case. Basically, this is a well done remake of a well done foreign film. Fincher played it safe with this one. I don't think he surpassed the original aside from the soundtrack. Ignoring that this was FincherThis is a very complicated case. Basically, this is a well done remake of a well done foreign film. Fincher played it safe with this one. I don't think he surpassed the original aside from the soundtrack. Ignoring that this was Fincher and the exceptional original film, I would give it 9/10. Considering that this was Fincher and a perfectly good Swedish film exists, I give it 7/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
koplopJan 6, 2012
This is a good movie . This one is available at http://tinyurl.com/MovieStreamingOnline
in English, in HQ quality FREE . Plays like youtube .


This movie is availabe for free in HD at:

http://tinyurl.com/MovieStreamingOnline


recommended.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
slotownfolkJan 7, 2012
I joined Metacritic to comment on this film. Count on Hollywood to botch a genuine classic - the Swedish original. I would have given it a lower rating except that people who have not either read the book(s) or seen the previous version(s)I joined Metacritic to comment on this film. Count on Hollywood to botch a genuine classic - the Swedish original. I would have given it a lower rating except that people who have not either read the book(s) or seen the previous version(s) might like David Fincher's current flick. HOWEVER (where do I start), the current cast is OK, but not up to comparison - especially Fincher's Rooney Mara as super-sleuth Lisbeth Salandar vs. the amazing portrayal by Swedish actress, Noomi Rapace. And the relationship between LS and her male counterpart, Mikael Blomkvist, seemed pretty superficial - not the intense mysterious personality of the original heroine. All that aside, here are my biggest beefs with the plot: (1) the court-appointed guardian of Lisbeth, Nils Bjurman, was cast showing a soft side - totally in contrast to the evil, sadistic villain we grew to hate in the book. (2) In the rape revenge scene, how was the tied-up Nils Bjurman supposed to use the wire cutters left him by Lisbeth to free himself - with his knees? (3) Why does the ultra-careful, think-of-everything Lisbeth toss her jewelry in a sink and blond wig out the train window, exposing herself to capture after you know what (if you read the book)? And finally, (4) the ending - since Fincher ignored the actual story plot - didn't make any sense connecting the many, many dots in this incredibly intriguing story. If you really want to see a better version, see the original on DVD - either sub-titled or with English dubbing (which wasn't bad). I'm glad I have all three Swedish films in my library - absolute classics! But pass on Hollywood's unfortunate flop. Expand
0 of 9 users found this helpful09
All this user's reviews
9
ChristlewiskiJan 8, 2012
After seeing the film, I was left with the impression that you only truly get to understand and enjoy this film if you have read the book before hand. I got the feeling that if I hadn't read the book, I would be left confused and unable toAfter seeing the film, I was left with the impression that you only truly get to understand and enjoy this film if you have read the book before hand. I got the feeling that if I hadn't read the book, I would be left confused and unable to appreciate everything that happened. Having said that, I was intrigued to see how the story would be condensed into a film, and enjoyed this interpretation immensely. The cast are very good, and Rooney Mara was brilliant as Lisbeth Salander. Would recommend highly! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SicksweetJan 8, 2012
Being a fan both of the books and the Swedish film, I found it very hard to objectively review the American version of the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Over Xmas I got my hands on the original extended version of the Swedish films (9 hourBeing a fan both of the books and the Swedish film, I found it very hard to objectively review the American version of the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Over Xmas I got my hands on the original extended version of the Swedish films (9 hour miniseries) which I am in the process of making my way through. Unfortunately, it was only a matter of days between seeing the Swedish version and the American version in the Theatre. It was very hard to look past all of the small differences made for the American film. There were some really good aspects to the American film that are worth mentioning. I definitely felt that both the tone, music and cinematography of David Fincher's Film was superior to the Swedish film. I also enjoyed both Stellan Skarsgard and Daniel Craig's performances. I think anyone who goes to see this film, who has not yet been exposed to either the books or the Swedish movie will be blown away by it. There were a few annoyances thought - and if you have seen the other film or read the book - it may reduce your enjoyment of the film. The terrible accents were a distraction. I hated that they gave Mikhail's character a daughter (I can't help but feel that this was only added to satisfy some censor's want to show the negative consequence of Mikhail's womanizing) and I liked the harder Lisbeth of the Swedish version (not that Rooney Mara was weak, or that her acting was bad, but she came across a bit softer than Rapace's Lisbeth). That said I think it was still a very good film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
NedRyerson1Mar 2, 2012
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo of Fincher was doomed from the beginning to be compare with the Swedish version. The problem is that after this comparison the American production was totally degraded. Although the story is very attractive andThe Girl with the Dragon Tattoo of Fincher was doomed from the beginning to be compare with the Swedish version. The problem is that after this comparison the American production was totally degraded. Although the story is very attractive and scary, this is not a point for this movie, because there other one has it too; then we have the plot, here the development of the actions happen in a darker atmosphere, but everything is less emotional and more carnal than the film of Niels Arden Oplev; in other words this picture is the Hollywood alter ego. And as an ultra-commercial movie have parts left over, which were shown implicit by the Swedish one (an extraordinary film is the one in which the viewer has to interpret or deduce some parts of the plot). Finally we have the contrast of the protagonists: Daniel Craig gives a weak performance, the one of Michael Nyqvist is a lot more convincing as Blomkvist. About Lisbeth Salander, which is a much more difficult role, I think Rooney Mara capture it more than Noomi Rapace, and that interpretation pulls this movie up. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
lasttimeisawJan 18, 2012
David Fincher never fails me, even including the underwhelming THE CURIOUS CASE OF BENJAMIN BUTTON (2008) (which I think I seriously need a re-watch), the American remake of THWTDT is as excellent as its Swedish archetype if not excels inDavid Fincher never fails me, even including the underwhelming THE CURIOUS CASE OF BENJAMIN BUTTON (2008) (which I think I seriously need a re-watch), the American remake of THWTDT is as excellent as its Swedish archetype if not excels in every aspect. Karen Oâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
xZOMBxJan 10, 2012
The movie wasn't perfect, but it was good. The actors were amazing and Lisbeth Salander came to life in my opinion. At first I thought a lot of the book was left out, but if you have read the book you can tell why a lo was left out, yet theThe movie wasn't perfect, but it was good. The actors were amazing and Lisbeth Salander came to life in my opinion. At first I thought a lot of the book was left out, but if you have read the book you can tell why a lo was left out, yet the movie was still almost three hours. See it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Erika22Jan 11, 2012
Not nearly as dark as Id hoped, but a really great movie regardless. I can't wait to read the novel, which as always I hear is better. Someone said this is a remake of a foreign film; I saw this one on a lark with a friend the other day -Not nearly as dark as Id hoped, but a really great movie regardless. I can't wait to read the novel, which as always I hear is better. Someone said this is a remake of a foreign film; I saw this one on a lark with a friend the other day - had no idea! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Groover733Jan 11, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is an incredible movie. Having seen the original Swedish version of the movie I was able to compare them both. Both takes on Lisbeth Salander are amazing and each actress brings something a little different to the role that's one of the most difficult characters to play in any movie in a while. The U.S. version of the film is more stylish and clean than the original - the opening credits play like a James Bond opener complete with a cover of a Led Zeppelin song by the always awesome Karen O. In addition, Fincher adds an extra 20 minutes to the movie after the big climax that work perfectly to extend on Lisbeth as a character. While this also works as a more elaborate ending wind-down than the original, I agree with the critic that said that neither movie is superior to the other as they compliment each other very well and ultimately make for an even more solid understanding and likability of the story and characters. That being said, you don't have to have seen the original to enjoy this movie. It's still hard not to get wrapped up in the mysterious case until the very end and find compassion for Lisbeth as the movie unfolds. But while there are so many good things about the movie just make sure you know what you're getting yourself into by seeing it - there are multiple scenes that are difficult to watch but are equally as necessary to the story... maybe not the dismembered cat, though. But once you get passed the darker scenes what you're left with is an incredible story and film with gifted actors and actresses portraying characters who, regardless of appearance, prove to be incredibly human. Rooney Mara's take on Lisbeth is easily the standout of the film as she brings a needed vulnerability to the role but commands your attention every time she's on screen - I couldn't take my eyes off her. Anyway, what I'm trying to say is that it'll be very hard to find any complaints with David Fincher's take on 'The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo'. It's easily worth seeing again and I can't wait for the much-needed sequels in the, hopefully, near future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
nascentJan 26, 2012
I was a little disappointed with this. I'm a huge Fincher fan, recently The Social Network really surprised me considering it's dull subject matter, and I was constantly on the edge of my seat.

This however, I found fairly dull. The
I was a little disappointed with this. I'm a huge Fincher fan, recently The Social Network really surprised me considering it's dull subject matter, and I was constantly on the edge of my seat.

This however, I found fairly dull. The payoffs were pretty week, the casting rather dry. I found the score lacking at times, and far more of it was predictable than should've been. The relationship was poorly developed, and it's not something I'd recommend to either Hollywood fans, or fans of good cinema. It wasn't a bad movie at all, but it just wasn't particularly remarkable in any way.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
DraxexJan 14, 2012
I was really disappointed by Fincher's remake. It pales in comparison to the Swedish version. I guess it would be acceptable if you haven't already been spoiled by the superiority of the original.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ilikemovies88Jan 15, 2012
Well, I can't help comparing it to the sweedish version which I loved. I loved the first half of this one betterr but. Was just not as satisfied at the end I was confused with the last half hour, I need to see it again. Over all great movieWell, I can't help comparing it to the sweedish version which I loved. I loved the first half of this one betterr but. Was just not as satisfied at the end I was confused with the last half hour, I need to see it again. Over all great movie and definetly worth seeing. Extremlygraphic and disturbing at times...be prepared. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RegOzApr 6, 2012
This is an engagind movie, yet, that is all it is. I heard so much about it! I thought it would be original and gripping, not just a fun, 'refined' cliche but what I found was that even though it has good elements, The Girls With the DragonThis is an engagind movie, yet, that is all it is. I heard so much about it! I thought it would be original and gripping, not just a fun, 'refined' cliche but what I found was that even though it has good elements, The Girls With the Dragon Tattoo is still little more than an average movie. This film recurs to stereotypical situations and characters to create tension. They are well developed but the movie lacks depth. Still, I enjoyed it so I went and rented the 2nd and 3rd sequels They were bad! Truly disappointing...Boring!. This one at least, has a defined plot and keeps the suspense until the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PahnJan 21, 2012
I'm one of those snobs who feels like the original Swedish version was a little better. The first half of this version felt rushed while the latter half seemed extended--drawn out for every minute it was worth. I did think the casting wasI'm one of those snobs who feels like the original Swedish version was a little better. The first half of this version felt rushed while the latter half seemed extended--drawn out for every minute it was worth. I did think the casting was superb and was glad they didn't water down the sensitive parts for the American audience. All in all a solid effort. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DrumsNStuffJan 23, 2012
This movie was amazing it was a great, dark, mysterious film. David fincher knows his stuff. When the trailer came out I knew immediately I was going to see it even though I knew nothing about it. It pulled off its longness really well to,This movie was amazing it was a great, dark, mysterious film. David fincher knows his stuff. When the trailer came out I knew immediately I was going to see it even though I knew nothing about it. It pulled off its longness really well to, you didnt feel like it was dragging on forever. I don't know why this hasn't been getting as much love as other movies, It was freakin awesome! Go watch it! It's pretty close to a perfect movie! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobApr 1, 2012
I liked it. Solid performances by the cast. It was an interesting mystery that was nice to see unfold. I think the huge flaw of the movie is that it was a bit too long for my taste. Other than that, It was good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PyschOutBabyJan 24, 2012
Hell yeah this is the type of movie that I like to watch on Christmas. I have never read the book but saw the Swedish version of the film. This was hands down my second favorite movie last year. Rooney, Rooney! See was flat out great. I hopeHell yeah this is the type of movie that I like to watch on Christmas. I have never read the book but saw the Swedish version of the film. This was hands down my second favorite movie last year. Rooney, Rooney! See was flat out great. I hope she wins the Oscar for all the stuff she had to learn and for powerhouse performance that made me scared of her. Can't wait for the next two. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
CalvinCoolidgeJan 24, 2012
Funny... as opposed to most people who've seen Girl with the D..T..., I felt it was trite and somewhat stupid. A Silence of the Lambs knock-off. The "out of country" feel calculated to pander to an insular American audience' sense that "theyFunny... as opposed to most people who've seen Girl with the D..T..., I felt it was trite and somewhat stupid. A Silence of the Lambs knock-off. The "out of country" feel calculated to pander to an insular American audience' sense that "they been somewhere else." In other words, if you juice up the beautiful Swedish landscapes with a lot of violence and sadism -- it's a SALE! Lord knows, those Hollywood marketeers know their sheis. Really! Nazis... why didn't they just make them Nazis AND zombies?! And the secret room... wooooooo! I'm sure they got a lot of that in Sweden. The parts of the movie that had any relationship to reality, no one would believe. And of course, the quintessential evil male -- what modern movie would be complete without him? And of course, to pander (there's that word again) to the innate (and base I might add) human tendency towards self-righteous violence -- we must first:
1. Add unbidden violence on undeserving victim
2. Next, ensure unbidden violence emanates from stereotyped group
3. Unleash righteous wrath of "victim" - whom incidentally does things just as bad or worse than original crime - but makes _you_ feel GOOD! ("because he deserved it).
Thus, you, the public are made worse than an animal, because you know there's always someone to hate who is worse than you.
And what's with the tattoos anyway? So passe.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
philGabJan 28, 2012
Undoubtedly, the best motion picture of the year. Besides the great screenplay and perfect music it has magnificent view in every moment. Outstanding performance of Rooney Mara made this film. It is more than thriller, more than drama. It isUndoubtedly, the best motion picture of the year. Besides the great screenplay and perfect music it has magnificent view in every moment. Outstanding performance of Rooney Mara made this film. It is more than thriller, more than drama. It is the whole life in the one film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FlorenceWongJan 29, 2012
This movie exceeds my expectations of my all-time favorite book. When seeing it, I was worried that it would be a rehashed clone of the Swedish hit movie, but, to my delight, I was wrong. Once the opening credits started, I knew I was in forThis movie exceeds my expectations of my all-time favorite book. When seeing it, I was worried that it would be a rehashed clone of the Swedish hit movie, but, to my delight, I was wrong. Once the opening credits started, I knew I was in for the ride of my life. This movie, led by supreme acting by Mara Rooney, is artistic and moody. It is deeply disturbing, and does not shy away from its dark subject matter. The only complaint I can say is that for a movie set in Sweden, the accents are from all over the world. Daniel Craig never drops his British accent, and even Stellan Skarsgard lacks a Swedish accent. Only Mara Rooney embraces the role completely, and takes the movie from a good movie and ensures it to be a mind-blowing movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
joaofariaffJan 31, 2012
An amazing movie: definitely one of the best of the year of 2011. Craig and Mara were gods... A truly great thriller. The opening scene is perfectely obscure and awesome; its even appropriated to say: legendary! The movie begins very calm andAn amazing movie: definitely one of the best of the year of 2011. Craig and Mara were gods... A truly great thriller. The opening scene is perfectely obscure and awesome; its even appropriated to say: legendary! The movie begins very calm and starts to speed up. David Fincher - I did not liked that much The Social Network, but this one? This one you got it right. Keep up the good work (like Benjamin Button and Fight Club...)! I strongly recommend! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
paulgreenFeb 2, 2012
In my oppinion in this year it is one of the best films and I like it ! I think that it can take an Oscar like a best film of the year but , it can't ...
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
zidroj2008Feb 3, 2012
Best remake so far,,if you already watched the original dont watch it anymore,,Rooney Mara was awesome,very good acting,,she deserve an oscar for this,,Daniel Craig very good,,and a cool opening,,thuoght i was watching james bond filmm..
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BadMovieLoverFeb 4, 2012
Rooney Mara vs. Noomi Rapace, that is the question. There is no real way to review this movie for me without comparing the two versions. I really love the Swedish version, so I was a little hesitant about seeing the American remake.Rooney Mara vs. Noomi Rapace, that is the question. There is no real way to review this movie for me without comparing the two versions. I really love the Swedish version, so I was a little hesitant about seeing the American remake. However, a friend told me that is was good, and I should see it, so I did. This is what I think; the American remake is a solid movie, and in some cases it may be more true to the book (thatâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
HDeezyFeb 8, 2012
This film is utterly unsatisfying.
Not even slightly entertaining, some of the performances were utterly laughable, and the script was horrifyingly bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
tscarpFeb 9, 2012
I will tell you that I didn't read the book so I cannot make any comparison with the movie. The movie though is totally disappointing: bad acting, slow pace, annoying and totally unjustified sex scenes... Also I'm wondering why did they needI will tell you that I didn't read the book so I cannot make any comparison with the movie. The movie though is totally disappointing: bad acting, slow pace, annoying and totally unjustified sex scenes... Also I'm wondering why did they need to remake an already boring swedish movie with british and american actors playing swedish characters? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
nevermindpopfilFeb 15, 2012
David Fincher doesn't need great source material to turn in celluloid excellence: The Social Network proved that if one does than something great will occur, but the original 'Dragon Tattoo' novels are not such material. The SwedishDavid Fincher doesn't need great source material to turn in celluloid excellence: The Social Network proved that if one does than something great will occur, but the original 'Dragon Tattoo' novels are not such material. The Swedish adaptation left me cold feeling back in 2009, but given Fincher's track record, I felt like I owed this film a shot. When the opening scene of the film opens with Vanger's phone call, I started to get antsy, is this going to be a shot-for-shot redux? No. No, it's not. The pulsing opening credits scored to Karen O's "The Immigrant Song" made me quite aware of that.

Harriet Vanger has been missing for the better part of forty years, given that piece of information the fact that Henrik Vanger (Christopher Plummer) keeps receiving portraits from his niece is disconcerting. Enter Mikael Blomkvist (Daniel Craig). Facing a major libel suit and perhaps jail time, the last thing the journalist wants to do is add another opportunity to be wrong again.

Before Vanger hands the investigation over to Blomkvist to find out why Harriet may have disappearedâ
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TruAlbinoFeb 17, 2012
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MickeyMickMic02Feb 19, 2012
David Fincher's great direction...
Rooney Mara's remarkable performance...
Steven Zailian's well-written screenplay...
Easily one of the best works Fincher has done...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GabrielaRodBMar 3, 2012
Hopefully is the best movie of 2011, quite interesting script, two characters as different as they seems, a perfect combination as a team. Just one well done movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JluisMar 5, 2012
I approached the Tattooed Girl phenomena with a rare privilege: first I saw the 6 episode original swedish Millennium miniseries that inspired Fincher et al. And like so many I was completely absorbed by this girl and basically the wholeI approached the Tattooed Girl phenomena with a rare privilege: first I saw the 6 episode original swedish Millennium miniseries that inspired Fincher et al. And like so many I was completely absorbed by this girl and basically the whole cast. The story really comes together and the center is the Millennium magazine. So why did the Americans have to do a remake? Mara doesn't add a single bit to Rapace's excellent portrayal of the disturbed heroin and an oscar nomination to boot? Does Craig make a better Blomkvist? No. Perhaps the bleak winter up in northern sweden was better represented (the series shows a climactic perfect sweden which is quite laughable). I won't be holding my breath to see part 2 and 3 which are in the works because they already exist: you just have to read the subtitles (they really do speak swedish there don't they...) Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
a7xfanMar 7, 2012
I am going to go out on a limb and say this but "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" was the best film in 2011. Daniel Craig showed us a role that he proved that he could play well and the newly talented Rooney Mara was the best part of it.I am going to go out on a limb and say this but "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" was the best film in 2011. Daniel Craig showed us a role that he proved that he could play well and the newly talented Rooney Mara was the best part of it. There are movies where you can tell whether or not they put a lot of effort into it and this proves that they did. The story line was phenomenal, the actors were great, the cinematography really shined and the original score behind it was also as great. In my opinion the best part of the film was the Female Lead, Rooney Mara, who plays Lisbeth Salander in the film and plays it with a passion like no other. Pick it up on DVD on March 20. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
arthurdeprMar 7, 2012
This movie is a modern masterpiece. Incredibly well done, with amazing performances and a golden direction from David Ficher. Far superior than the swedish version in all the possible ways, and true to the book, this is what Dragon TattooThis movie is a modern masterpiece. Incredibly well done, with amazing performances and a golden direction from David Ficher. Far superior than the swedish version in all the possible ways, and true to the book, this is what Dragon Tattoo fans were waiting for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
robozotApr 12, 2012
I loved that some of the cast went for scandinavian lilts to their accents, and some of them didn't. She's great, but the whole thing is such obvious trash, that the director's good taste and desire for realism makes the whole thing a bummerI loved that some of the cast went for scandinavian lilts to their accents, and some of them didn't. She's great, but the whole thing is such obvious trash, that the director's good taste and desire for realism makes the whole thing a bummer instead of a juicy guilty pleasure. Definitely a miss, despite the craft on display. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OnAnarchyAug 1, 2012
Simply put, good but not amazing. I prefer the original miniseries from Sweden (the 6-part series, not the condensed 3 films, which remove almost 1 hour of content). While this was faithful for the script, one of the main problems for meSimply put, good but not amazing. I prefer the original miniseries from Sweden (the 6-part series, not the condensed 3 films, which remove almost 1 hour of content). While this was faithful for the script, one of the main problems for me was the English language, as it does not fit the setting of the film and loses some of the realism and grit present in the originals. That being said, Craig and Mara are a convincing pair, which makes this a good alternative for people who dislike reading subtitles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Ips207Mar 14, 2012
This movie may not be perfect but it definitely grows on you, and Fincher has still got it. Rooney Mara, who bagged two nominations (the Golden Globes and the Oscars as well) for her goth-punk character Lisbeth Salander, pours her heart andThis movie may not be perfect but it definitely grows on you, and Fincher has still got it. Rooney Mara, who bagged two nominations (the Golden Globes and the Oscars as well) for her goth-punk character Lisbeth Salander, pours her heart and soul into it . Her performance is the best part of the movie. But mind you, this movie isn't for the faint of heart, But a must watch for Rooney's Electrifying performance as Lisbeth! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
zacthecreatorMar 16, 2012
LOVED THE CASTING. DAVID FINCHERS PERSONAL TWIST. ALL OF IT. Haven't read the books or the seen the first takes of the films, but I loved this one and hopes Fincher signs on to Direct the second and so on and so forth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jzmeFeb 5, 2013
I liked this movie. The whole investigation is so captivating and casts were great. Rooney Mara is just amazing being Lisbeth, so real and raw. I totally believed that person that she is. Plot and script were also good. Although some partsI liked this movie. The whole investigation is so captivating and casts were great. Rooney Mara is just amazing being Lisbeth, so real and raw. I totally believed that person that she is. Plot and script were also good. Although some parts can be quite boring, but you just can't take your eyes away from Lisbeth, the girl with the dragon tattoo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
boops11Mar 25, 2012
Too much un-needed explicit sex, and rape scenes if it weren't for the gratuitous sex scenes it would have been an enjoyable movie. The plot was good, acting was good. Had to fast forward many scenes, especially the rape scene and the oralToo much un-needed explicit sex, and rape scenes if it weren't for the gratuitous sex scenes it would have been an enjoyable movie. The plot was good, acting was good. Had to fast forward many scenes, especially the rape scene and the oral sex scene. I don't know why they choose to put the trash in this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
A_NorthernerNov 11, 2012
Why did I watch it?
I am a massive fan of Steig Larsson's series of books so I was keen to see Hollywood's take on the story. I've haven't seen the original Swedish versions of the films yet.
What's it all about? Based on the book of the
Why did I watch it?
I am a massive fan of Steig Larsson's series of books so I was keen to see Hollywood's take on the story. I've haven't seen the original Swedish versions of the films yet.

What's it all about?
Based on the book of the same name and set in Sweden, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo tells the story of disgraced journalist Mikael Blomkvist (Daniel Craig) and extrovert freelance researcher Lisbeth Salander (Rooney Mara) investigate the disappearance of teenager Harriet Vanger decades earlier. As the pair attempt to hunt down the murderer they become entangled in an estranged family with shady history.

Should you watch it?
TGWTDT is essentially a cold case whodunit but what sets the story apart is not the complexity of the wealthy Vanger family and their whereabouts on that day but the characters investigating the mystery. Blomkvist is fresh from losing a libel lawsuit and accepts the case as a sabbatical from work while Lisbeth Salander is now probably one of the most iconic female characters of recent times. A gifted researcher and computer hacker under state guardianship due to a chequered adolescence, Salander only enters the story in its main sense half way through. The first half introduces her character's issues, her initiative and resolve in the face of difficulty. Despite being a whodunit, as the title suggests, the story is really about Salander.

I enjoyed the US film version and thought David Fincher managed to do the book justice squeezing just enough detail from the book into the two and half hours without compromising some of the more extreme scenes. I was concerned that some of the complexity of the various generations of the Vanger family would be lost in the translation from book to film but Fincher managed to explain this carefully enough with visual aids for it to get across to the audience.

The faults with the film are similar to the book in that the postscript ending seems just as tagged onto the end but this is a small gripe and it rests with Larsson's decision to set up the next instalment here. Rooney Mara is excellent as Salander, and the production team did a great job designing her appearance true to the story.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
deamonhunterMar 29, 2012
Good. Love the actors and the the tone of the movie. Its has some plot issues. It can be watched but don't really let under 17 people watched as they will either be board or just freak out as is a complex story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ObbiePR18Mar 29, 2012
The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo es la mejor pelicula que he visto desde hace mas de un año. La actuacion de Rooney Mara es perfecta y magistral. Daniel Craig nos da otra solida demostracion de su talento y es aun mejor que la versionThe Girl With The Dragon Tattoo es la mejor pelicula que he visto desde hace mas de un año. La actuacion de Rooney Mara es perfecta y magistral. Daniel Craig nos da otra solida demostracion de su talento y es aun mejor que la version sueca. Me encanto y aunque dura casi 3 horas me parecio intrigante y inteligente. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
VanHatinApr 1, 2012
Holy overrated dog sh*t batman!!! I don't get it!! I sat through the first 55 minutes of this excruciatingly, boring and emotionless crap. What movie did all these people see??? I know professional critics get paid off by the studios toHoly overrated dog sh*t batman!!! I don't get it!! I sat through the first 55 minutes of this excruciatingly, boring and emotionless crap. What movie did all these people see??? I know professional critics get paid off by the studios to give good reviews but do users also get money??? As of now there are 312 positive reviews for this lame movie? I need some cash so please give me the name and number of the studio head that paid all of you off to give this atrocity positive reviews. Everyone out there, SAVE YOUR MONEY AND TIME!!! AWFUL!!! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
RedAFXApr 11, 2012
Engaging, intelligent, fantastic performances all round, masterfully shot and directed, David Fincher didn't put a foot wrong with this beautifully crafted thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
scorpionexApr 21, 2012
I must admit I was disappointed with Mara's performance as Lisbeth. Lisbeth is a complicated character with complex emotions who suffers from constant inner turmoil. I was looking forward to seeing an actress's attempt to convey suchI must admit I was disappointed with Mara's performance as Lisbeth. Lisbeth is a complicated character with complex emotions who suffers from constant inner turmoil. I was looking forward to seeing an actress's attempt to convey such complex behavior. And after all this is a story driven by a female lead character. Unfortunately I can't even recall seeing any versatility or depth in Mara's performance. She had only one facial expression, that of contempt for anyone who was present. And her delivery of lines was not memorable in the least bit. I believe what made this movie successful was the director's ability to put Mara into situations that were interesting. In conclusion, don't watch this movie if you expect an inspiring or moving portrayal of Ms. Salander. *Definitely give the English dubbed version of the Swedish movie a try, the voice acting is excellent, and quickly you can't even notice that its dubbed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
badesign88Apr 24, 2012
Great movie! I have not yet read the books, but I definitely did not expect the plot to be what it was. Mara Rooney was fantastic as well! I think that her role was very inspirational for women, and definitely got my adrenaline going, that'sGreat movie! I have not yet read the books, but I definitely did not expect the plot to be what it was. Mara Rooney was fantastic as well! I think that her role was very inspirational for women, and definitely got my adrenaline going, that's what makes a good movie-when the audience can connect with the actors through emotions and actions. Can't wait to read the books! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CriticalStateMay 22, 2012
Another Fincher classic, that's all I could think after leaving this film feeling satisfied as always. I had not seen the original Swedish film before I saw this (I did a few weeks after), and found that both had definite strengths andAnother Fincher classic, that's all I could think after leaving this film feeling satisfied as always. I had not seen the original Swedish film before I saw this (I did a few weeks after), and found that both had definite strengths and weaknesses. Call me a sucker for Fincher's style, but I preferred this version. Mara is perfect, Daniel Craig is charming and reeks of class as always, and everyone else is absolutely top notch. The process of the investigation leading up to the climax is all masterfully done by Fincher, he demonstrates further that there is no one better at building modern murder mysteries. The only instance in which this film falters is the last 20 minutes, after an intense climax and satisfying resolution we are treated to more of the story. It feels a little drudging and after dealing with so much ferocity in the last two hours it was difficult to become invested in the separate story (introduced in the very beginning for Craig's character). Either way, this is required viewing for any Fincher fan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DelixuMay 19, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yes, I have watched the 2009 Swedish film. Yes, I have read the book trilogy. No, I do not think David Fincher's adaptation is worse than the Swedish film. It does not mean I think it is great either. However hard it must've been to adapt Stieg Larsson's trilogy to the big screen, I feel this film came closer to achieving the goal than the Swedish version, which - and I'm not speaking metaphorically - made me fall asleep (and I'm used to watching Bergman in Swedish!). The characters are well constructed, and I feel the actors playing them are better suited than the ones in the previous version (I mean, Erika is supposed to be attractive, Lisbeth is supposed to be a sociopath). Rooney Mara shows she has the potential to be one of Hollywood's great names. The photography is wonderful, with every single frame capturing the scenery beautifully. I would recommend this film to a friend, but I would specially recommend it to someone who has no plans to read the trilogy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Apemonkey666Aug 18, 2012
I've seen both the original & this remake and I have to say that although Fincher's version obviously looks better, has better production design and values and cool soundscapes by NIN they both have a very similar feel and it's probably aI've seen both the original & this remake and I have to say that although Fincher's version obviously looks better, has better production design and values and cool soundscapes by NIN they both have a very similar feel and it's probably a matter of personal taste which one you prefer. But if you have seen one you don't real need to see the other. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DucatimanJul 21, 2012
I thought this was excellent. Being a big fan of the book and Swedish film, I was prepared to be disappointed, especially after Noomi Rapace was soo good in the original. Rooney Mara's take on Salander is different but just as good, and II thought this was excellent. Being a big fan of the book and Swedish film, I was prepared to be disappointed, especially after Noomi Rapace was soo good in the original. Rooney Mara's take on Salander is different but just as good, and I was really impressed by the film. Less depth but more polished. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JTKelleyAug 10, 2012
Compelling and, at times, brutally graphic mystery that entertains and signals the arrival of Rooney Mara as a star, but runs about a half hour too long, dragging at the finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NatarajaOct 3, 2012
This movie was shocking in many ways - an excellent adaptation of the book, which was a shock - on par or better than its foreign counterpart - and a very engrossing cinematic experience, not to mention an incredible journey into theThis movie was shocking in many ways - an excellent adaptation of the book, which was a shock - on par or better than its foreign counterpart - and a very engrossing cinematic experience, not to mention an incredible journey into the depravity of the darkest of mankind. I found this movie hard to watch at times but was compelled to not shy away as it hit me in the face with the reality of the book and the deep understanding I felt toward the characters. The acting is superb and the soundtrack is some of Trent Reznor's best and most mature work to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Jack97Jan 1, 2014
It has moments of grimness and Rooney Mara scenes that desperate teenagers will love but The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo has unbearable pacing and a scattered plot that doesn't really make sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JamesCannonOct 3, 2014
USA update of the original. I went in expecting this to be inferior to the well made Swedish version and that was the consensus that I heard about the film. It does do somethings better than the original though, i found this one to be moreUSA update of the original. I went in expecting this to be inferior to the well made Swedish version and that was the consensus that I heard about the film. It does do somethings better than the original though, i found this one to be more tense (helped by a good score) in terms of narrative structure even though I knew the outcomes. The small intimate action scenes are also better in this version. The minor issue with this one is that the woman who played the original Lisbeth is so good in that role that it is a difficult act to follow. The actress playing her is fine, but the Swedish one is just more intense and more believable at times (dare I say i found here a little more attractive as this one is extremely thin.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
KookaNov 9, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was really disappointed with the movie, Lizbeth is the story her skills & life is the essence of the story & they butchered her part. There was nothing to show her computer hacking / programming super abilities which are essential in her role & her life.
They used the general plot of the story & neglect the essence of it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oblique15Sep 2, 2013
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is full of twisted characters that need to be locked away from the rest of us!It`s a mystery movie that mostly takes place on an Island that feels like a cold prison for the privileged.The Main character isThe Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is full of twisted characters that need to be locked away from the rest of us!It`s a mystery movie that mostly takes place on an Island that feels like a cold prison for the privileged.The Main character is odd but interesting. I didn`t know much about this movie but was surprised to like it so much since it`s really not the kind of movie I normally watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Featuring an uncommonly sensational performance from Rooney Mara, David Fincher's take on "The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo" proves to be a cerebral, vicious and worthy addition to his repertoire overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
worleyjamersDec 6, 2012
I loved it! I personally liked it a lot more than the Swedish version (both are brilliant films). A little long. Rooney Mara is brilliant, we'll be hearing about her in the future. The opening credits are super stylish and epic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
MackeyJan 6, 2013
Well, it's complicated thriller far enough! The naked cruelty limits the sensitive audience while the tightly prescribed story keeps you deep breathing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZekeMarshFeb 24, 2013
After a sloppy hour, where you feel like you just made a mistake by starting this movie, the plot starts to catch up and the characters start to unfold. I haven't read the book, but the plot totally hooked me, and I loved every bit of it whenAfter a sloppy hour, where you feel like you just made a mistake by starting this movie, the plot starts to catch up and the characters start to unfold. I haven't read the book, but the plot totally hooked me, and I loved every bit of it when the movie started to progress. Rooney Mara did a superb job on portraying Lisbeth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LebohangKMar 6, 2013
First of all, I'm a huge fan of the original Swedish film and Noomi Rapace's fantastic performance, but this one, OMG. Simply said, David Fincher's 'The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo' is a phenomenal masterpiece. I've watched this film fiveFirst of all, I'm a huge fan of the original Swedish film and Noomi Rapace's fantastic performance, but this one, OMG. Simply said, David Fincher's 'The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo' is a phenomenal masterpiece. I've watched this film five times and I still can't get enough of it. I can write hundreds of essays about this film, it's a perfect film for film students to deconstruct and study about, but moreover, it's incredible entertainment. It's impossible to talk about the film without raving about Rooney Mara's hypnotic performance, which I believe is better than Noomi Rapace's performance. This girl does it all in this film, she is completely unafraid of the camera, it's as if David Fincher yelled ''action'' from another closed room and let her do her job on her own or with a cast mate in another. I seriously can't wait for the sequel... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Movie1997Mar 8, 2014
Here comes an interesting and engaging thriller that presents itself with all kinds of twists and turns. While it may be to grotesque at times it still engages you as an audience member guessing what's going to happen next. The movie has aHere comes an interesting and engaging thriller that presents itself with all kinds of twists and turns. While it may be to grotesque at times it still engages you as an audience member guessing what's going to happen next. The movie has a great cast led by Daniel Craig and Rooney Mara delivering a true oscar nominated performance. It also looks outstanding with its bleek setting and tremendous cinematography by Jeff Cronenweth. Overall, it's an outstanding fast-paced thriller filled with twists and turns. I give it an A! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
skoorvielMay 17, 2013
I liked it, but I wasn't blown away by the movie. Even at two and a half hours, the story still feels cramped. This should come as no surprise, as the original book is about 600 pages of solid writing. Some elements had to be changed/cut outI liked it, but I wasn't blown away by the movie. Even at two and a half hours, the story still feels cramped. This should come as no surprise, as the original book is about 600 pages of solid writing. Some elements had to be changed/cut out for the sake of pacing and cohesiveness, but overall the movie mirrors the book almost completely. Daniel Craig gives a good performance, but I felt like he was somewhat limited by the script. Rooney Mara fares better, bringing Lisbeth Salander to life, but I can't say that her performance was Oscar worthy.

While the movie is a good one, it is far from amazing. I still think the book is a much better telling of the story, and the limitations imposed by the movie medium do show. Then again, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo is a far better adaptation than most book-to-movie flicks.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KivaJun 25, 2013
This film is a masterpiece. I've seen the Swedish one I think) and I have to say that the american is much better. The actors are fascinating. Daniel Craig, which is not one of my favorite actors impressed me and Rooney Mara was beyondThis film is a masterpiece. I've seen the Swedish one I think) and I have to say that the american is much better. The actors are fascinating. Daniel Craig, which is not one of my favorite actors impressed me and Rooney Mara was beyond excellence. The plot though it is based on a book is smart and it has suspense through the whole movie. I can't wait to see the next one. Plus, David Fincher did a great job in this one. A must-watch Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
M9kiJan 11, 2014
Impressive movie has to be on of the most challenging for daniel craig, things like this happen all the time its not a safe world and if you do get free from something like this you always remember it. Unique movie thought...
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
theseparatorJan 11, 2014
Thanks to David Fincher, the world now has Rooney Mara to admire (and stare at). She plays the Goth misfit Lisbeth in this film, her first lead role, and she’s actually pretty good. She does revenge particularly well. A fierce character,Thanks to David Fincher, the world now has Rooney Mara to admire (and stare at). She plays the Goth misfit Lisbeth in this film, her first lead role, and she’s actually pretty good. She does revenge particularly well. A fierce character, while not dominating every scene, Rooney dominates the film. She is the one we think a hour later.
I will not try and compare her performance with Noomi Repace's, whom I also love to watch. Both do Lisbeth their
own way.

When Mikael Blomkvist (Daniel Craig) gets into some political hot water and needs to get out of Stockholm, he takes a job as an investigator in the Swedish countryside trying to solve the mystery of a disappeared girl, but there are people that do not want him to to find the answers. Eventually he teams up with Lisbeth and they work on the case together.

In the first part of the film, the intersecting story lines between the two main characters are done with skill. Many scenes are not action or dialogue based, yet all they all add to the story. The decision to film this version of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo in Sweden, as opposed to swapping it out for some American city, was a well made one.

Since so much of the story is told in images, kudos goes to the editors Kirk Baxter and Angus Wall. Both are long time collaborators of Fincher, and they’ve both won multiple Oscars, including one for this film. I get the suspicion that they worked extra overtime on this movie; there are just tons and tons of scenes, a complete 180 from the style of Panic Room.

The chemistry between Rooney and Craig really builds throughout the film as the two work great together. The irregularity of the pairing makes it much more interesting and intriguing to follow than most typical, on-screen romances.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is not the most depressing of all Fincher productions, but it’s still pretty low down there, and I mean this in the best way possible. It’s either always raining or cold outside while sometimes this envorinment is contrasted against interior scenes that are pristine, white, clean. Tension. Clean rooms don't seem to apear often in Fincher films, and as expected there are many others that are dark and dirty.

The film ends in a reasonably satisfying way leaving us hanging, waiting for the sequel.

Errata: I could have gone without the final Stockholm scene when Lisbeth is riding her motorbike through the streets as it snows. A similar situation occurred in The Wolverine (2013) where Logan rode a motorbike through the mountains in Japanese winter. These situations would never occur. Motorbikes and snow are never a very convincing combination (for me anyway).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksJun 12, 2016
A beautiful, touching and sometimes horrifying film. Rooney Mara beautifully captures the character of Lisbeth and her chemistry with Craig is wonderful. The best part? The score by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
usherd369Mar 31, 2014
Best editing in a film adaptation you will see this side of the decade. The film runs at an arduous pace, yet that is welcomed by the audience due to its gripping story. Rooney Mara is strong, rugged, yet very human as Salander.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
CharlemagneApr 23, 2016
Another vapid Americanization, which as usual loses all character of the foreign original. Even American remakes of earlier American movies seem to have become like this. Hollywood is just punching in their time card and getting paid, anotherAnother vapid Americanization, which as usual loses all character of the foreign original. Even American remakes of earlier American movies seem to have become like this. Hollywood is just punching in their time card and getting paid, another day at the movie assembly plant producing meaningless products. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
The dark seeps out of the screen like living thing, evidence that The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is more than a paycheck to director David Fincher, who has improbably affixed his own imprint on a movie that comes weighted down withThe dark seeps out of the screen like living thing, evidence that The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is more than a paycheck to director David Fincher, who has improbably affixed his own imprint on a movie that comes weighted down with possibilities and expectations no filmmaker should have to contend with. Aided by a tightly-wrapped screenplay adapted from Stieg Larsson's global best-seller by Steven Zaillian, Fincher strips the material to its skeleton, then adds back the sinew and tissue to create something that is unmistakably The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, but in no way a carbon copy of the earlier Swedish movie or the book itself. This is what a movie adaptation should be: a film whose base narrative has its roots in the source material but whose soul can be identified through the images that unfold on screen.

When, in early 2010, Columbia Pictures announced their intention to film The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, the question that crossed many lips was, "Why?" After all, there was already a very good adaptation available, a 2009 Swedish production directed by Niels Arden Oplev with a star-making turn from Noomi Rapace. The intention to "remake" The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo in English with an A-list star smacked of a cash-grab. Whatever the motivations, however, this interpretation of Larsson's story can stand proudly alongside the Swedish version. Both tell the same basic story, but there are enough differences - some subtle, some significant - that each can be enjoyed on its own terms. And, although Oplev will always have the distinction of being first, the strengths of Fincher's film reminds us that first is not always best.

Two key elements differentiate Fincher's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo from Oplev's (and please don't misread this in any way as a denunciation of the Swedish interpretation, which was one of my top films of 2010). The first is the aesthetic. Filmed with a bigger budget and an auteur behind the camera, the 2011 movie is steeped in bleak, cold darkness. Everything, from the wintery setting to the gloomy interiors to the way scenes are photographed, enhances this aspect. Oplev's approach was more straightforward and not as assured. The second is the way the characters are represented. Fincher softens the edges and presents us with more emotionally complex individuals. Oplev emphasizes individual characteristics. Some of the characters in the 2009 movie are little more than caricatures (the vile and sadistic Bjurman being an example), but Fincher quests for ambiguity.

Zaillian's screenplay does a better job than the one penned by Nikolaj Arcel & Rasmus Heisterberg in distilling Larssson's convoluted story into something movie audiences can absorb without a primer. In fairness to the writers of the Swedish version, their 180-minute original lost 28 minutes in the transition from TV mini-series to motion picture, and that's part of the reason for its occasionally erratic tone and discontinuities. Still, Zaillian has surgically altered Larsson's book for the screen by cutting, adding, and changing where necessary. The final result is a coherent, well-developed murder mystery that is neither rushed nor sluggish. It also keeps us waiting for a while for the two main characters to meet - that doesn't happen until the one-hour mark. Until that point, their stories are kept separate to better clarify their places in the overall narrative and to provide a stronger sense of who they are as individuals (rather than as a pair). Once they meet, they get to share the screen often enough to generate a peculiar frisson.

Fincher's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo also manages to make Mikael into more than a nondescript detective and straight man for Lisbeth's weird brilliance. (In this milieu, she's Holmes to his Watson.) Craig, aided by the screenplay, fleshes out Mikael. He is never as captivating as Lisbeth, but neither does he vanish into her shadow. The quasi-romantic relationship that develops between the two is more intriguing than the more traditional one in the Swedish movie. Here, their emotional investment is unequal, with Mikael viewing it as casual while Lisbeth, for perhaps the first time in her life, has discovered feelings between the sheets (or, more appropriately, on top of them).

Personally, I would love to see what this creative team could do with those books (which are inferior to the first one). Regardless of what happens in the future, however, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo can stand on its own as Fincher's valentine to goth girl power, detective stories, and the grotesqueness of the human heart.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
underinNov 8, 2015
One of the best movies I have ever seen. The plot, the scenery, the acting, the audacity with which the movie has been shot is just amazing. Even though everyone is praising Rooney Mara; I just loved Daniel Craig.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Feb 17, 2016
A compelling ride for die-hard fans of the book series, dramatic thriller enthusiasts, as well as anyone who enjoys Fincher's darker works.

Watch here for free
A compelling ride for die-hard fans of the book series, dramatic thriller enthusiasts, as well as anyone who enjoys Fincher's darker works.

Watch here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-276ddf-The-Girl-with-the-Dragon-Tattoo-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeApr 25, 2016
No one should making the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo look so dull just by looking at it. It's not what you're thinking. It's the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo that makes us want to wear one just for the heck of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
iplayandwatchMar 22, 2016
really very bad. riddled with logical errors and b.s but you wont care because its so detached and boring.
for example there is a 30 second rape scene that's supposed to be scary and bad! oh no rape!! BUT she asks him if she needs to have
really very bad. riddled with logical errors and b.s but you wont care because its so detached and boring.
for example there is a 30 second rape scene that's supposed to be scary and bad! oh no rape!! BUT she asks him if she needs to have sex with him every time she needs money beforehand. so why would he rape her. also she is chained brutally raped in the guys house who she knows and then just released... so why didn't she goto the police? if she couldn't why chain her if he had to chain her why release her? and that's just a 30 second scene. the revenge scene is even worse. the dialogue is written by a moron. example. go ask my sister about that---where is your sister--- oh if you try to ask her about it shell tell u to **** off!! wtf????

bad movie... just bad. so stupid it'll make you cry
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieMasterEddyApr 7, 2016
The dark seeps out of the screen like living thing, evidence that The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is more than a paycheck to director David Fincher, who has improbably affixed his own imprint on a movie that comes weighted down withThe dark seeps out of the screen like living thing, evidence that The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is more than a paycheck to director David Fincher, who has improbably affixed his own imprint on a movie that comes weighted down with possibilities and expectations no filmmaker should have to contend with. Aided by a tightly-wrapped screenplay adapted from Stieg Larsson's global best-seller by Steven Zaillian, Fincher strips the material to its skeleton, then adds back the sinew and tissue to create something that is unmistakably The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, but in no way a carbon copy of the earlier Swedish movie or the book itself. This is what a movie adaptation should be: a film whose base narrative has its roots in the source material but whose soul can be identified through the images that unfold on screen.

When, in early 2010, Columbia Pictures announced their intention to film The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, the question that crossed many lips was, "Why?" After all, there was already a very good adaptation available, a 2009 Swedish production directed by Niels Arden Oplev with a star-making turn from Noomi Rapace. The intention to "remake" The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo in English with an A-list star smacked of a cash-grab. Whatever the motivations, however, this interpretation of Larsson's story can stand proudly alongside the Swedish version. Both tell the same basic story, but there are enough differences - some subtle, some significant - that each can be enjoyed on its own terms. And, although Oplev will always have the distinction of being first, the strengths of Fincher's film reminds us that first is not always best.

Two key elements differentiate Fincher's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo from Oplev's (and please don't misread this in any way as a denunciation of the Swedish interpretation, which was one of my top films of 2010). The first is the aesthetic. Filmed with a bigger budget and an auteur behind the camera, the 2011 movie is steeped in bleak, cold darkness. Everything, from the wintery setting to the gloomy interiors to the way scenes are photographed, enhances this aspect. Oplev's approach was more straightforward and not as assured. The second is the way the characters are represented. Fincher softens the edges and presents us with more emotionally complex individuals. Oplev emphasizes individual characteristics. Some of the characters in the 2009 movie are little more than caricatures (the vile and sadistic Bjurman being an example), but Fincher quests for ambiguity.

If The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo represents Fincher's view of human nature (and, considering the darkness of his early films, that may be the case), it puts him alongside David Lynch as one who believes society breeds hidden rot and corruption. Those elements lie at the heart of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and, despite occasional moments of macabre humor, Fincher allows them to fester. I am reminded of a line from I, Claudius: "Let all the poisons that lurk in the mud hatch out."

Zaillian's screenplay does a better job than the one penned by Nikolaj Arcel & Rasmus Heisterberg in distilling Larssson's convoluted story into something movie audiences can absorb without a primer. In fairness to the writers of the Swedish version, their 180-minute original lost 28 minutes in the transition from TV mini-series to motion picture, and that's part of the reason for its occasionally erratic tone and discontinuities. Still, Zaillian has surgically altered Larsson's book for the screen by cutting, adding, and changing where necessary. The final result is a coherent, well-developed murder mystery that is neither rushed nor sluggish.

The supporting cast includes well-known names like Christopher Plummer (as Henrik), Robin Wright (as Mikael's co-editor at Millennium magazine, Erika Berger), and Stellan Skarsgard (as Henrik's nephew, Martin), and less familiar ones like Steven Berkoff (as Henrik's lawyer, Frode) and Yorick van Wageningen (as the detestable Bjurman). Aside from Craig, there are no bona fide "stars" in the mix, but the cast is well-chosen. Everyone does an excellent job and Mara will undoubtedly receive as Oscar nomination for this brave, star-making turn.

Regardless of what happens in the future, however, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo can stand on its own as Fincher's valentine to goth girl power, detective stories, and the grotesqueness of the human heart.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CinemaphileJul 29, 2016
Having read the book and seen the original Swedish film, I had no reason to see David Fincher's The Girl WithThe Dragon Tattoo in theatrical release. However, an appreciation for his visually distinctive films necessitated a revisit to thisHaving read the book and seen the original Swedish film, I had no reason to see David Fincher's The Girl WithThe Dragon Tattoo in theatrical release. However, an appreciation for his visually distinctive films necessitated a revisit to this familiar plot. Steven Zaillian's adaptation is workmanlike, but ultimately fails by softening the most important character, Lisbeth Salander, downplaying her brilliant sociopathy. Fincher has a wonderful eye for the austerity of Swedish Winter, but he'll never be accused of being an actor's director.

Fincher's The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo is a slick repackaging of the novel's main plot points, but makes one yearn for Noomi Rapace's Lisbeth. If you can tolerate subtitles, I highly recommend the original Swedish films.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheArchetypesSep 9, 2016
The whole point of making the film for English audiences is so we can watch the movie with people speaking English. So what do they do? Make all the actors have a thick accent and mumble the lines so they are hard to understand. I would say IThe whole point of making the film for English audiences is so we can watch the movie with people speaking English. So what do they do? Make all the actors have a thick accent and mumble the lines so they are hard to understand. I would say I missed about 20% of the dialogue due to poor enunciation and bad recording, not to mention the irritating loud electronic soundtrack which drowns out some of the dialogue as well. There is a large cast of characters and it is important to hear what they are saying so you can keep up with the story. Still, the acting was good to great (Rooney Mara is especially noteworthy) and the story was good. I felt it was one of those never-ending movies, where you think it's over but it continues on. Overall a solid movie, but not as good as others in the genre such as Silence of the Lambs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oiajhiofgqjworgNov 10, 2016
can you spell classic? cause i just did. bang. great flick. gfdsgfsgdfgsdfgsdfgsdgsdfgsdfgsdfgsdgsdgsdgdsfgsdfgsdgsdgsdgdsfgsdgdsfgsdfgsdgsdfgsdfgsdfgdsf
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews