Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 604 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Based on Stieg Larsson's posthumously published crime thriller trilogy, "The Millennium Series." The book describes the mystery surrounding the long-unsolved disappearance of an heiress. A journalist recently dinged by a libel case and a young female hacker try to resolve it, stirring upBased on Stieg Larsson's posthumously published crime thriller trilogy, "The Millennium Series." The book describes the mystery surrounding the long-unsolved disappearance of an heiress. A journalist recently dinged by a libel case and a young female hacker try to resolve it, stirring up bundles of personal and industrial corruption along the way. (Sony Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Dec 20, 2011
    100
    If there's a complaint, it's that it flirts with rambling once the main case is solved -- nearly 20 minutes before the movie ends. But Fincher uses that remaining time to expand on Lisbeth's character, which is hard to hold against him.
  2. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Dec 19, 2011
    88
    This film has two of Fincher's happiest trademarks: It's full of information and stretches over a remarkably long time (165 minutes), yet it's neither confusing nor overextended.
  3. Reviewed by: Calvin Wilson
    Dec 20, 2011
    88
    The film isn't quite as edgy as Fincher's best work - "Seven," "Fight Club" and "Zodiac" are masterpieces of modern angst. But the director brings a fresh eye to what might easily have been an unnecessary rehash of the 2009 Swedish adaptation.
  4. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Dec 19, 2011
    75
    Not too surprisingly, Fincher doesn't bring his auteur A-game here, though his crafty B-game is better than most. As well, the break-out performance of Rooney Mara as the semi-feral computer hacker, Lisbeth Salander, gives the film a residue of authentic anguish.
  5. 70
    David Fincher's American remake of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo adds nothing to the previous adaptation, but it's certainly the more evocative piece of filmmaking.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Dec 13, 2011
    63
    The difference between Niels Arden Oplev's adaptation of Stieg Larsson's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and David Fincher's own is not, as some might have hoped, the difference between night and day, but between curdled milk and a warmed-over holiday second.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Dec 20, 2011
    38
    The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo is, as you'd expect, rubbish, but the word is slightly too kind. The David Fincher film (like the very similar Swedish one - released in the US just last year! - and the book) is not even good rubbish.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 175
  1. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    The best movie I've seen all year. Mara Rooney deserved top billing! Struck me as much as Saving Private Ryan: fascinating to watch, parts ofThe best movie I've seen all year. Mara Rooney deserved top billing! Struck me as much as Saving Private Ryan: fascinating to watch, parts of it were shocking, and I spent a long time thinking about it afterward. Expand
  2. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Absolutely awesome! Everything about it is just great. Fincher did an outstanding job. I have read all three books and seen the originalAbsolutely awesome! Everything about it is just great. Fincher did an outstanding job. I have read all three books and seen the original foreign films and I gotta say Fincher's version is the best. I don't see any reason to hate on this movie just because it was made after the original, if you like the original better that's great, watch it over and over again. As for me, I'll be watching Fincher's version over and over again simply because I enjoyed it alot more. It looked better, it was acted better and the music was freaking fantastic! Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross are geniuses, I think the music may have been my favourite part of the movie. Although it did make a few changes to the story that I'm not entirely happy about, this movie did the book justice and was awesome from beginning to end! Collapse
  3. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    As a big fan of the books and the Swedish movies, went to see the Fincher movie with my husband and sister who are equally big fans of theAs a big fan of the books and the Swedish movies, went to see the Fincher movie with my husband and sister who are equally big fans of the books and Swedish movies. All three of us LOVED this new version. The plot followed the book closely, Rooney Mara and Daniel Craig hopped right out of the book. Fincher improved on the original and was a big hit with the three of us. BRAVO!!! Haven't seen it??? GO!!! NOW!!! Then post your review. Expand
  4. Jan 10, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought this was a very well made film. Fastest 2 and a half hours I've ever spent at the movies. Funny, the book is too slow, and the film may be a little too fast. I understand why, because the paperback of the book runs at 600+ pages. But I think I would have been a bit lost if I hadn't read the book beforehand. The narrative suffered a little in my opinion. I wish the whole libel case subplot could have been even more condensed than it was, so as to leave more time to develop the central mystery. I felt that section of the story lost some impact, especially the final revelation of what happened to Harriet. (Then again, it fell rather flat in the book as well.)

    The leads were excellent, especially Rooney Mara as Lisbeth. Very convincing. Because of having to fit everything into feature length, most of the secondary characters were not too well developed. This really hurt in terms of suspense at the movie's climax. There was only one character with enough screen time to be the culprit (if you hadn't already guessed him just from the camera shots of his house in its dominant, isolated position). One problem I had was that the dialogue was sometimes very hard to pick up. Either the actors were mumbling or the background sound was too high.

    Especially given the unwieldiness of the source material, it's a very good film. I haven't seen the Swedish original yet. Oh, someone was angry that they gave Blomqvist a daughter. That was done by the author, and her film role is pretty much what her role was in the novel.
    Expand
  5. Dec 25, 2011
    8
    Wonderful movie by one of the best directors of this generation. I especially enjoyed the intro. And to everyone saying how it's a remake I amWonderful movie by one of the best directors of this generation. I especially enjoyed the intro. And to everyone saying how it's a remake I am pretty sure you are wrong. Yes I've seen the foreign one but I think this is simply the american interpretation of the book rather than a remake of the foreign film. Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2012
    7
    David Fincher's return to serial killer territory is a welcome one, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is an excellent crime thriller and one ofDavid Fincher's return to serial killer territory is a welcome one, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is an excellent crime thriller and one of year's best films. The modern day master of tension crafts an abrasive yet engaging movie, which tells the popular murder mystery story in an eclectic way. It can be considered an improvement from the Swedish version thanks to intriguing storytelling, the more detailed focus on the investigation and the portrayal of some characters. The crafts in this film were also top notch from its atmospheric score to its pulp film editing. Rooney Mara gives an edgy performance as the iconic Lisbeth Salander (applause) and I've always had an issue with Blomkvist's character but Daniel Craig did a good job portraying him in this adaptation. Despite my enthusiasm I'm not certain how thrilled I am about a sequel to a movie of this sort, but I'll wait and see how it goes. Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2012
    0
    I joined Metacritic to comment on this film. Count on Hollywood to botch a genuine classic - the Swedish original. I would have given it aI joined Metacritic to comment on this film. Count on Hollywood to botch a genuine classic - the Swedish original. I would have given it a lower rating except that people who have not either read the book(s) or seen the previous version(s) might like David Fincher's current flick. HOWEVER (where do I start), the current cast is OK, but not up to comparison - especially Fincher's Rooney Mara as super-sleuth Lisbeth Salandar vs. the amazing portrayal by Swedish actress, Noomi Rapace. And the relationship between LS and her male counterpart, Mikael Blomkvist, seemed pretty superficial - not the intense mysterious personality of the original heroine. All that aside, here are my biggest beefs with the plot: (1) the court-appointed guardian of Lisbeth, Nils Bjurman, was cast showing a soft side - totally in contrast to the evil, sadistic villain we grew to hate in the book. (2) In the rape revenge scene, how was the tied-up Nils Bjurman supposed to use the wire cutters left him by Lisbeth to free himself - with his knees? (3) Why does the ultra-careful, think-of-everything Lisbeth toss her jewelry in a sink and blond wig out the train window, exposing herself to capture after you know what (if you read the book)? And finally, (4) the ending - since Fincher ignored the actual story plot - didn't make any sense connecting the many, many dots in this incredibly intriguing story. If you really want to see a better version, see the original on DVD - either sub-titled or with English dubbing (which wasn't bad). I'm glad I have all three Swedish films in my library - absolute classics! But pass on Hollywood's unfortunate flop. Expand

See all 175 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others) Image
    Published: November 9, 2011
    The next two months will bring over 20 major releases and 50 smaller films to theaters near you. Find out which of those films are the most promising, and get a complete guide to all of the holiday season movies inside.