The Godfather

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1889 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    Like Babe Ruth is to baseball, like John Steinbeck is to writing, their is no doubt about it, The Godfather is the greatest film of all time. Never before have we seen performances so stellar, by Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, James Caan, Robert Duvall, and everyone else! The Godfather has little life lessons everywhere. Along with an engaging plot, that just completes the most criticallyLike Babe Ruth is to baseball, like John Steinbeck is to writing, their is no doubt about it, The Godfather is the greatest film of all time. Never before have we seen performances so stellar, by Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, James Caan, Robert Duvall, and everyone else! The Godfather has little life lessons everywhere. Along with an engaging plot, that just completes the most critically acclaimed film of all time. The Godfather is Francis Ford Coppola's masterpiece. Expand
  2. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I cant understand when somebody says negative about this movie.To me,it's perfect,the best picture of all times.Idea,director,actors,music,composer,make up..everything is ideal!!! I'm lo vin it! Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    It's easy to see why this is the highest rated film. The acting is on another level, the directing is not only gripping and atmospheric but it doesn't cut from one thing to another. Everything that's important is shown, all the dialogue, all the detail. The story is obviously what makes this film so great. Although not an action movie, some of the scenes make the typical modern HollywoodIt's easy to see why this is the highest rated film. The acting is on another level, the directing is not only gripping and atmospheric but it doesn't cut from one thing to another. Everything that's important is shown, all the dialogue, all the detail. The story is obviously what makes this film so great. Although not an action movie, some of the scenes make the typical modern Hollywood blockbuster look laughable. The film is not only well-directed and clever, but also easy to follow. The story isn't over-complicated with a bundle of events which have no connection. The only reason I'm not giving it a 10 is because it's over 3 hours, and for a film that long you'd expect more to happen. The film can be cut down by about half an hour without losing any narrative or quality. Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    The best movie in Metacritic really is a great movie. Francis Ford Coppola made and aced a great film which is better than his sequels. Really well thought and made into a top hit Mafia-detective movie. One of Ford's best movies.
  5. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    I find some negative reviews to be pointless either yammering on about how "long" the movie was, slow is another one (though many of these reviewers being kids and not quite used to the expository routines of late 60's drama) and committing the reviewers sin of comparing it to other hyper-spastic (almost cartoonish) crime dramas like Scarface and Pulp Fiction though exceptional in theirI find some negative reviews to be pointless either yammering on about how "long" the movie was, slow is another one (though many of these reviewers being kids and not quite used to the expository routines of late 60's drama) and committing the reviewers sin of comparing it to other hyper-spastic (almost cartoonish) crime dramas like Scarface and Pulp Fiction though exceptional in their own right. There is a quality of this film that tributes a long forgotten style of story telling within subtlety; the end result a beautifully woven opera of deceit, betrayal, loss and violence. It is and will always be a film that reaches the highest levels of fiction, wherein the film is preformed....and not spoon-fed to the audience. heaven forbid you'd have to do some actual thinking in order to complete a relatively easy 3 hours of story telling. Expand
  6. May 19, 2013
    10
    Violent, well scripted and large, this classic American recounts a dark period in the history of america so perfect and convincing with perfect performances from all his cast this movie will likely be immortal.
  7. May 4, 2013
    10
    The Godfather trilogy (and I'm one of the few who rates III up there with I and II) finds a wonderful balance between a well-paced story and some terrific crisis moments for its characters. For those who may be concerned about whether or not they will enjoy it, I'd suggest watching The Godfather (Part I) while keeping in mind that this is a story about Michael wanting to go straight, to beThe Godfather trilogy (and I'm one of the few who rates III up there with I and II) finds a wonderful balance between a well-paced story and some terrific crisis moments for its characters. For those who may be concerned about whether or not they will enjoy it, I'd suggest watching The Godfather (Part I) while keeping in mind that this is a story about Michael wanting to go straight, to be good. To society and to his family. Expand
  8. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    I'm not a writer or a critic so I can't really tell you why this movie is perfect... but I know it is because of how I feel every time I see it. I'm moved.
  9. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Godfather is simply the god of films, it was a privilege to watch the Oscar winning performance of Marlon Brando, who conquered the role Vito Corleone. The film was a different class and is filled with incredible plots that is delivered in a fantastic mafia way. I recommend it to everyone even if they aren't into the gangster style films, it was no doubt the greatest film ever made. Each character resonates with you and the brilliant anti-hero role of Michael Corleone was a true gift to watch, which Al Pacino does not get enough credit for and was a genius replacement for Vito his father who's character was very difficult to equal.
    The scene in the restaurant between Michael, Sollozzo and McCluskey was magnificent and couldn't have been done any better, the suspense was outstanding from the bit Michael came back with the gun to the part he left the table with bullets in both men.
    When talking about leading you into movies, the Godfather pulled you in straight away the acting from Brando was intriguingly flawless. The first scene straight away brought the character Vito Corleone to life! We were never sure what Vito would say or what Michael would do, or how Sonny would react, which made me fall in love with the movie. And of course a big hand to the director Francis Ford Coppola, who brought us a film of pure gold that bestows the control of power from one generation to the other and character development of Michael was something special, when his father was shot the change took you by storm and when Sonny died he looked past justice and finished what his father had started, it was displayed with no fault what so ever and t all in all could not have been any better. The film take's you down the road of the powerful family crime dynasty and will blow your mind.
    The Godfather, is an offer you can't refuse.
    Expand
  10. Dec 3, 2014
    9
    it might be a long movie but you dont want it to end. The best gangster film of all time no doubt marlon brando improvisation made this move,and the movie is joined with 2 other amazing films which makes it the best triolgy. Al pacino as per usual at his best its a young al pacino that you see another rang of his brilliant acting skills
  11. Apr 29, 2015
    10
    Rarely can it be said that a film has defined a genre, but never is that more true than in the case of The Godfather. Since the release of the 1972 epic (which garnered ten Academy Award nominations and was named Best Picture), all "gangster movies" have been judged by the standards of this one (unfair as the comparison may be). If a film is about Jewish mobsters, it's a "JewishRarely can it be said that a film has defined a genre, but never is that more true than in the case of The Godfather. Since the release of the 1972 epic (which garnered ten Academy Award nominations and was named Best Picture), all "gangster movies" have been judged by the standards of this one (unfair as the comparison may be). If a film is about Jewish mobsters, it's a "Jewish Godfather"; if it's about the Chinese underworld, it's an "Oriental Godfather"; if it takes place in contemporary times, it's a "modern day Godfather."

    If The Godfather was only about gun-toting Mafia types, it would never have garnered as many accolades. The characteristic that sets this film apart from so many of its predecessors and successors is its ability to weave the often-disparate layers of story into a cohesive whole. Any of the individual issues explored by The Godfather are strong enough to form the foundation of a movie. Here, however, bolstered by so many complimentary themes, each is given added resonance. The picture is a series of mini-climaxes, all building to the devastating, definitive conclusion.

    Rarely does a film tell as many diverse-yet-interconnected stories. Strong performances, solid directing, and a tightly-plotted script all contribute to The Godfather's success. This motion picture was not slapped together to satiate the appetite of the masses; it was carefully and painstakingly crafted. Every major character - and more than a few minor ones - is molded into a distinct, complex individual. Stereotypes did not influence Coppola's film, although certain ones were formed as a result of it.

    Despite the likes of Serpico, Dog Day Afternoon, Scarface, ...And Justice for All, and Scent of a Woman on his resume, Pacino is best remembered for the role he created in The Godfather (and subsequently reprised in two sequels). While this is not his most demonstrative performance - indeed, he is exceptionally restrained - the quality of the script makes Michael Corleone notable.

    Next to Humphrey Bogart's Rick from Casablanca, Oscar winner Marlon Brando's Don Vito may be the most imitated character in screen history. The line "I'm gonna make him an offer he can't refuse" has attained legendary status, as has the entire performance. With his raspy voice, deliberate movements, and penetrating stare, Brando has created a personae that will be recalled for as long as motion pictures exist.

    The Godfather had three Best Supporting Actor nominees, all well-deserved. The first was Pacino (who probably should have been nominated alongside Brando in the Best Actor category). The other two were James Caan and Robert Duvall. In a way, it's surprising that Duvall wasn't passed over. His presence in The Godfather isn't flashy or attention-arresting. Like his character of Tom Hagen, he is steady, reliable, and stays in the background. Not so for Caan's Sonny, whose demonstrative and volatile personality can't be overlooked.

    Family responsibility. A father's legacy. The need to earn respect. The corrupting influence of power. These are some of the ingredients combined in Francis Ford Coppola's cinematic blender. They are themes which have intrigued the greatest authors of every medium through the centuries.

    Although the issues presented in The Godfather are universal in scope, the characters and setting are decidedly ethnic. Even to this day, there is an odd romanticism associated with New York's Italian crime families. The word "Mafia" conjures up images of the sinister and mysterious - scenes of the sort where Luca Brasi meets his fate. Francis Ford Coppola has tapped into this fascination and woven it as yet another element of the many that make his motion picture a compelling experience.

    We come to The Godfather like Kay Adams - outsiders uncertain in our expectations - but it doesn't take long for us to be captivated by this intricate, violent world. The film can be viewed on many levels, with equal satisfaction awaiting those who just want a good story, and those who demand much more. The Godfather is long, yes - but it is one-hundred seventy minutes well-spent. When the closing credits roll, only a portion of the story has been told. Yet that last haunting image (Kay's shock of recognition), coupled with Nino Rota's mournful score, leaves a crater-like impression that The Godfather Part II only deepens.
    Expand
  12. MikeC.
    May 20, 2007
    10
    The movie is perfect. Everyone who gave it a 0 are probably the same people that watch Fox News and think global warming is fake so there is no point in arguing. Either you know movies or you don't.
  13. KyleF.
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    Great Movie
  14. EloiP.
    Mar 5, 2003
    10
    An American Classic.
  15. HeatherP
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    Simply Flawless. Everytime I see it, I'm blown away all over again.
  16. MichaelI.
    Jul 10, 2003
    10
    The best film I've ever seen, and maybe the best ever made!!
  17. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    If not the greatest movie ever made, than certainly the greatest gangster drama movie ever made. You have probably heard that bin said before, and well, it's quite true. Now, if your a critic, you pretty much have to like this movie, even if you didn't. I certainly did like it because, one, it gives great performaces, especially by the great Marlon Brando, and it has a tremendousIf not the greatest movie ever made, than certainly the greatest gangster drama movie ever made. You have probably heard that bin said before, and well, it's quite true. Now, if your a critic, you pretty much have to like this movie, even if you didn't. I certainly did like it because, one, it gives great performaces, especially by the great Marlon Brando, and it has a tremendous screenplay that goes deep within its drama and plot points. Thrilling also,"The Godfather" is probably one of the best movies of the 20th century, and if you haven't already seen it, go get it and watch it. 10/10 [R] Expand
  18. RexG.
    May 13, 2006
    10
    Thanks to Marlon Brando who made this movie the best of all times up to date. It keeps getting better the more often you watch it.
  19. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    Like Babe Ruth is to baseball, like John Steinbeck is to writing, their is no doubt about it, The Godfather is the greatest film of all time. Never before have we seen performances so stellar, by Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, James Caan, Robert Duvall, and everyone else! The Godfather has little life lessons everywhere. Along with an engaging plot, that just completes the most criticallyLike Babe Ruth is to baseball, like John Steinbeck is to writing, their is no doubt about it, The Godfather is the greatest film of all time. Never before have we seen performances so stellar, by Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, James Caan, Robert Duvall, and everyone else! The Godfather has little life lessons everywhere. Along with an engaging plot, that just completes the most critically acclaimed film of all time. The Godfather is Francis Ford Coppola's masterpiece. Expand
  20. KarlK.
    Jul 2, 2003
    10
    Best movie ever!
  21. JohnDawkins
    Mar 1, 2003
    10
    Absolutely unmatched in its immersiveness. The opening wedding sequence is possibly the finest exposition of any film I've ever seen. This is a film that needs to be shown on the big screen every couple of years.
  22. Riren
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    If this movie seems slow to you, you've probably been watching too much contemporary television. This is how movies ought to be paced - organically, and earning their progress. When The Godfather is slow, it's because it's trying to share something with us, either a nuance, or a bit of great acting that deserves a few more seconds of screen time. The cast is amazing. The If this movie seems slow to you, you've probably been watching too much contemporary television. This is how movies ought to be paced - organically, and earning their progress. When The Godfather is slow, it's because it's trying to share something with us, either a nuance, or a bit of great acting that deserves a few more seconds of screen time. The cast is amazing. The score is famous for a reason. Its scenes became cliche for a reason. It won't make you feel better about the world, but damn is this a great example of storytelling. Expand
  23. NestorT.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    this movie is perfect just for the LOOSERS that do not not understand a msterpice go ahead and see some homo intented film like the lord of the rings
  24. Luis
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    The first time I saw this movie, when it first came out 33 years ago, I left the theater after one hour or so, I was bored and confused, perhaps I was too young for this film. Today I consider the Godfather to be the best movie ever, I'm a fan of the film and I know every character and detail. Of course I seen it a hundreds times, in fact it
  25. MaxR.
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    Perfect.
  26. T.G.
    Aug 6, 2008
    10
    Simply put, awesome movie.
  27. KellyA.
    Sep 19, 2006
    10
    Is there really anything better?
  28. HeathQ.
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    This is a perfect score movie for a reason, it is the best movie that has ever been concieved. The score of 80 is not counted as it is an uncerdited and therefore and not from any professional critic, it should be put amongst the user reviews. As for people giving this film a 0/10 I am quite sure that you are pathetic little people that live their lives on the net and hang shit on any This is a perfect score movie for a reason, it is the best movie that has ever been concieved. The score of 80 is not counted as it is an uncerdited and therefore and not from any professional critic, it should be put amongst the user reviews. As for people giving this film a 0/10 I am quite sure that you are pathetic little people that live their lives on the net and hang shit on any movie with any substance or critical acclaim. The impact of this movie, considering it was made in 1972 still has great affect. My sister watched this movie for the first time just a couple of weeks ago and for someone who thinks Legally Blonde is a good movie to say this is one of the best films she has ever seen just proves it is excellent. Coppolla is a legendary filmmaker, many should take a leaf from his book. Expand
  29. MarkS.
    May 21, 2007
    10
    Excellent movie.
  30. LonChaney
    May 3, 2007
    10
    This movie is the best ever, and it shows its cinematic screenplay brilliance as well as its incredible, dynamic script, a great, amazingly-told storytelling, and a remarkable cast. Marlon Brando and Al Pacino star in this four-star crime drama.
  31. JohnDawkins
    May 3, 2007
    10
    Absolutely unmatched in its immersiveness. The opening wedding sequence is possibly the finest exposition of any film I've ever seen. This is a film that needs to be shown on the big screen every couple of years.
  32. nickt
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    I think this the best movie ever made. Ths is the #1 in gangster films. #1 in movies all around. THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE EVER!!!
  33. MattD.
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies ever along with Godfather II, and other classics...Marlon Brando shows off his range and acting versatility by transforming from being a '50s American actor to a convincingly Italian mafia man. I first thought he was Italian, and I was surprised how un-italian he was prior to his role. So good, that he would adopt this speech into his everyday talk for the rest One of the best movies ever along with Godfather II, and other classics...Marlon Brando shows off his range and acting versatility by transforming from being a '50s American actor to a convincingly Italian mafia man. I first thought he was Italian, and I was surprised how un-italian he was prior to his role. So good, that he would adopt this speech into his everyday talk for the rest of his life. That man was a legend. Pair him up of Al Pacino, who was a budding star, and now legend (though he has plateaued ever since Scent of a Woman, when he won an Oscar for saying Huah!, when it really should've been for this role, or as Tony Montana in Scarface, in Dog Day Afternoon, in Carlito's Way, or other). Pacino is startling brilliant as a seemingly normal young man who reluctantly joins the mafia, but then takes over the family business and runs it like his own after it was passed down from Brando. James Cahn was absolutely phenomenal as the hotheaded Sonny Corleone, and Jon Cazale as the weak-minded brother Fredo. This movie changed the gangsta movie landscape giving a third dimension to previous cop-bad guy, go kill movies, and really gives an insight of what they are about, that being loyalty, trust, bonding, and later turns into power, corruption, greed, and eventually the downfall of Michael Corleone. None of them are the typical good guy, but all of them are interesting as characters and it engages you wholly into the film and thrusts you into the dialogue, making you never want to take a bathroom break. This is what makes a classic, and if you don't understand the concept of this, than you don't know movies. Expand
  34. Hope
    Mar 17, 2007
    10
    This movie is possibly the best movie off all time. It has all of the element of a great timeless classic. It has big stars/soon to become big stars, a great director and an amazing plot! It rightly deserves to be number one!
  35. KyleF.
    Apr 21, 2008
    10
    Great Movie
  36. KarlK.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    Best movie ever!
  37. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    This is certainly one of the greatest movies ever made. It's such amazingly well-acted, well-written movie with an epic story line that takes you through many themes like love, sadness, loyalty, revenge and betrayal is such an encompassing and totally believable way. I will never get tired of watching this masterpiece.
  38. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    hell i dont even need to write a review for this movie everything was perfect! but since i need 150 charecters i will give tiny details this movie has great great acting the story is beutiful and everything else is amazing
  39. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    An excellent adapted script, an unforgettable ensemble, an amazing score, excellent quotes, and unforgettable moments, The Godfather is nothing short of a masterpiece!
  40. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    An American classic, and one of the greatest film's ever made. Director Francis Ford Coppola's masterpiece, based on Mario Puzo's bestselling novel starring Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, James Caan, Robert Duvall and Diane Keaton. The film chronicles a ten year span (1945 to 1955) in the life of the Italian-American Corleone crime family of New York City. Won the 1972 Academy Award for BestAn American classic, and one of the greatest film's ever made. Director Francis Ford Coppola's masterpiece, based on Mario Puzo's bestselling novel starring Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, James Caan, Robert Duvall and Diane Keaton. The film chronicles a ten year span (1945 to 1955) in the life of the Italian-American Corleone crime family of New York City. Won the 1972 Academy Award for Best Picture, Best Actor (Brando) and Best Adapted Screenplay (Coppola and Puzo). Expand
  41. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    A cinematic masterpiece. In the top 100 movies list for a reason. For those people (You know who you are and I'm not going to individually name you) who gave this movie a bad review, simply put you have no brain or very simple minded maybe brain dead moron movies like Freddy got Fingered or Dumb and Dumberer (yes the prequel to Dumb and Dumber because the first movie might be way toA cinematic masterpiece. In the top 100 movies list for a reason. For those people (You know who you are and I'm not going to individually name you) who gave this movie a bad review, simply put you have no brain or very simple minded maybe brain dead moron movies like Freddy got Fingered or Dumb and Dumberer (yes the prequel to Dumb and Dumber because the first movie might be way to complicated for you) is better suited for you. This is why I hate forums like this because some idiots of the world need some face punching for their insulting stupidity. Expand
  42. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    As epic as you can possibly get. Combined with Part II (I recommend watching back to back in one sitting), there is no way you can top the film-making here. Some of the most memorable characters and dialogue to ever hit the silver screen. Marlon Brando's career was gold even before this, but this applies him for sainthood. Robert Duvall and James Caan are fantastic and Al Pacino broodsAs epic as you can possibly get. Combined with Part II (I recommend watching back to back in one sitting), there is no way you can top the film-making here. Some of the most memorable characters and dialogue to ever hit the silver screen. Marlon Brando's career was gold even before this, but this applies him for sainthood. Robert Duvall and James Caan are fantastic and Al Pacino broods well among these great actors. Francis Ford Coppola created a masterpiece here (and then he did it again with Apocalypse Now). It's possible he owned the 70's. Expand
  43. j30
    Feb 13, 2012
    10
    You hear all this hype surrounding The Godfather, such as "it's a masterpiece," and the movie is included in countless critics and moviegoers top 10 movies of all time. I'm afraid they're right. The movie is a masterpiece and a beautiful piece of art that surpasses most films I have ever seen. From a technical standpoint it's flawless.
  44. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    Its one of the greatest films of all time for a reason. The acting is amazing, The story telling is great. It has a few minor flaws (such as when Sunny beats up Connie's husband, that was a terrible fight scene). Yet all the minor flaws are completely forgetable because the movie is that good.
  45. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Que obra maestra. De lo mejor que ha visto el cine en su historia. Una excelente dirección, guión, historia. Todo, absolutamente todo. Algo realmente impresionante.
  46. May 20, 2014
    9
    All though those three hours were a bit exhausting to me, I would still say that watching "The Godfather" was exiting and thrilling, and I would recommend it to everyone, just so everyone could see what the buzz over this film is all about.
  47. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    "The Godfather" is one of the few gangster films that connects the members of the Mafia as a family. The cinematography is rich and the music is perfect. However, I failed to see how Marlon Brando's performance was top notch. His acting was decent; he did not move much nor talk much. His voice also was barely understandable due to his croaking voice mumbling what sounded like English."The Godfather" is one of the few gangster films that connects the members of the Mafia as a family. The cinematography is rich and the music is perfect. However, I failed to see how Marlon Brando's performance was top notch. His acting was decent; he did not move much nor talk much. His voice also was barely understandable due to his croaking voice mumbling what sounded like English. Ultimately "The Godfather" still stands up as the best movie in the American crime genre. Expand
  48. Mar 4, 2011
    8
    I saw it on TV so it was a lot less violent. It is the definitive mafia movie, even if they were never allowed to say the word. The mafia would not have liked it.
  49. DesmondL
    Aug 5, 2009
    8
    Classical and unboring movies.
  50. BrettC
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    I can't believe i've I never had seen the entire movie before the other day it is amazing. I got the set of dvds and all of them are good, but the first is the best. It now is up ther with Revenge of the Sith, King Kong, Lord of the Rings, War of the Worlds, aving Private Ryan and many others it is amazing see all three.
  51. EnzoP.
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    The Godfather is incredible Francis Ford Coppola has made a one of a kind movie. All actors score big on the screen.
  52. CaseyK.
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    I can not see what is wrong with this, but i can see what is brilliant about it!! fabulous acting with rich enduring story telling. how it tells you about the mafia with the Michael the son (Al Pacino) wanting a life for himself really gets you into heart with the idea of loosing family in the dangerous business of crime operations.
  53. lamyaaA.
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    You talk about the realness, here you find it, honesly i can't say more because this movie more than more.
  54. SamW
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Greatest movie of all time. To those who believe the Metascore is off, should probably read how scores are calculated. They are WEIGHTED, as in Variety (the irrelevant little publication) doesn't count for much. Definitely deserves the 100.
  55. JosieP.
    Mar 1, 2003
    10
    What an amazing story!
  56. Robert
    Mar 2, 2003
    10
    Amazing. The acting is spectacular, the scenery is incredible, and the story... what a story! Three hours long yes, but its a fast, exciting three hours.
  57. Nick
    Jun 4, 2003
    10
    One of the best movies ever. i'm not quite sure which was better; the film or the book?
  58. DonMulroneycakes
    Jul 13, 2003
    10
    Better films have been made since? Well, there was Godfather II, but other than that, only "as good as". Variety, meanwhile, offer me with more evidence that they wouldn't know a good movie if it spent about fifteen minutes shooting them with tommy-guns at a tollbooth. But really, other than to reply to other people, what is there to say about the Godfather? Oh, right, nothing.
  59. GiovanniRiccardiF.
    Jul 14, 2003
    10
    Such a beautiful film! as long as you are not squeamish, i strongly encourage all moviegoers to view this classic drama.
  60. MatthewA.
    Dec 1, 2004
    10
    This movie enters your soul and devours everything outside of the television screen that you are watching. So engrossing is this movie that to stray away from it(as if you could) for even a moment should be a crime dealt with by the fictional mafioso portrayed in the film. Movies are meant to rip you away from the forced reality of your everyday life and The Godfather does this in one This movie enters your soul and devours everything outside of the television screen that you are watching. So engrossing is this movie that to stray away from it(as if you could) for even a moment should be a crime dealt with by the fictional mafioso portrayed in the film. Movies are meant to rip you away from the forced reality of your everyday life and The Godfather does this in one masterful stroke beginning with the opening wedding scene. Pure film nirvanna. Expand
  61. JackS.
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    Godfather is the don of all movies. great acting, great plot, true portrayal of mafia.
  62. MudassarB.
    Jan 31, 2004
    10
    Along with its sequel, without a doubt the greatest and most epic film ever made. Brando, Pacino,Duvall and Caan show why they are screen legends and Coppolla shows why despite making no great films since Apocalypse Now we still remember him today as one of the greatest directors ever.
  63. ShawnA.
    Apr 6, 2004
    10
    Brilliant.
  64. DanielF.
    Jun 28, 2004
    10
    A power and grace that captures the viewer from the opening scene. It wonderfully captures a time and a place in the life of a "family." A can't miss whenever on.
  65. 5002LMfromgamespot
    Oct 29, 2005
    10
    A masterpiece. a fantastic cast, with the possible exclusion of Kay Adams. a very memorable performance by Marlon Brando. as Brando once said "it is the audience really that is doing the acting."
  66. Ken-StianO.
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    A groundbreaking epic drama. Riveting performances, fantastic directing, masterful cinematography. The greatest classic there is.
  67. J.RyanG.
    May 23, 2005
    8
    This is perhaps one of the finest examples of American storytelling on film, though its sequels paled in comparison. "Part II" is often hoisted into the same category with its predecessor, but it is a weak-willed antidote to the potent power and toughness of the 1972 original. "Part III" might even have surpassed the second film, which tells you something. Where did Coppola go wrong? The This is perhaps one of the finest examples of American storytelling on film, though its sequels paled in comparison. "Part II" is often hoisted into the same category with its predecessor, but it is a weak-willed antidote to the potent power and toughness of the 1972 original. "Part III" might even have surpassed the second film, which tells you something. Where did Coppola go wrong? The second film could never gain any momentum because of forced flashbacks, which one can only believe existed because of Robert De Niro's fierce performance. Speaking of performances, many critics have said that Pacino was on par with Brando in the first film. But I'm finally convinced that Brando deserved the Oscar that year. Pacino was, to me, a pretty close second. The most brilliant scene of acting that ever comes to my mind is from this film: A scene in the second half of the film, when Brando is feeding his fish in his private study. Many of the complex plotlines of the entire saga run right through the busy intersection of Brando's facial expressions and tone of voice. This is not a perfect movie, but it is perfect at what it does best: Establishing characters that one hopes, prays, and would kill to have really existed. Expand
  68. [Anonymous]
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    This is the best movie that ever was made, Robert de Niro and Al Pacino play them roles like no one else.
  69. GlennM.
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    Yeah deff the second best movie ever made.
  70. Tom
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    This film is a work of art.
  71. C.J.O.
    May 8, 2006
    10
    The Godfather is the best moive of all time! Respect, Power and Money.
  72. DerekE.
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    This is cliche, but it really is "the perfect movie."
  73. DavidK.
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    This is easily the best movie of all time, then would be part two, but I can't stand watching part 3, it, just like far too many other movies, ruined the trilogy.
  74. KellyB.
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    The people who gave this movie a "0" are either trying to be subversive, or are completely moronic. My guess is that they are trying to be the former. Whether you like The Godfather, or thought that it was overrated, it certainly doesn't warrant a "0". There are far worse movies out there than this wonderfully acted epic. As for the voter who said that Scarface was a better The people who gave this movie a "0" are either trying to be subversive, or are completely moronic. My guess is that they are trying to be the former. Whether you like The Godfather, or thought that it was overrated, it certainly doesn't warrant a "0". There are far worse movies out there than this wonderfully acted epic. As for the voter who said that Scarface was a better movie...now that's moronic. While The Godfather is a true classic, Scarface is a poor man's Godfather. It is, at best, an overblown, long-winded film, chock-full of a mugging Al Pacino (has Brian DePalma EVER made a subtle movie?). Even then, I still give it a "5". But Godfather gets a "10". Expand
  75. JohnW.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    If you gave this a 0 you are the ones that love movies like Baby Geniuses 1 and 2. This movie was great and you have bad taste.
  76. MichaelR
    Dec 30, 2007
    8
    Its a slow and very long movie but patience is a virtue.This is not a movie for the impatient people.This is an instant classic movie that has a great moral story and all Italians will love this movie.Marlon Brando was perfect for the role of the Don.The acting,dialog and action was brilliant.Its the second best movie ever made after Scarface.
  77. JoshuaM.
    Jan 9, 2007
    8
    Two reasons I don't give it 10: the book is so good (especially leading up to Michael's leaving for Sicily), that it is unfair to give sole credit to the film. Having watched the film after a few years, I now find the pacing a bit slow (yes, perhaps due to the kinetic pace of many films today).
  78. HaroldB.
    May 3, 2007
    10
    Coppola's playfulness is given full reign in several imaginatively retro montage sequences. Newspaper headlines pass over shots of hands passing the spaghetti bowl at one of those impromptu feasts that nourished the underworld. Equally potent is the quick cutting between images of Michael, at the baptism of a godchild, promising a priest that he will renounce Satan at the same time Coppola's playfulness is given full reign in several imaginatively retro montage sequences. Newspaper headlines pass over shots of hands passing the spaghetti bowl at one of those impromptu feasts that nourished the underworld. Equally potent is the quick cutting between images of Michael, at the baptism of a godchild, promising a priest that he will renounce Satan at the same time that his enemies are being gorily gunned down all over town. Coppola knew how to create monsters - Michael and his father - and make us gleefully root for their triumph. Michael, especially monstrous because with his education and early vow to stay clear of the family business, his slow evolution into cold-blooded killer seems more unforgivable. The collaboration between director and actor here is magical. We actually see Michael's face go deader as the movie progresses, and his eyes seem to narrow as if Michael can no longer bear what he sees around him and himself. If you've only viewed "The Godfather" on television, you owe it to yourself to go out and see it on the big screen. Expand
  79. DouglasM.
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    It is one of the greatest movies ever.All aspects of this movie are brilliant. Almost every scene is a masterpiece. Al Pacino's acting in Godfather Part 1 and 2 has to be among the best in the history of movies. In particular, he is so real and believable in the scene at the restaurant in the Bronx.
  80. KrisP.
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    This film is one of my all time favorites, and this film has Marlon Brando in, in my opinion, one of his best roles. A must see for any one who can watch it.
  81. ArtI
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    I will give it a nine because nothings perfect! But it is a great movie, people who put 0's and 1's are retarded... sure there are better movies out there, but who's comparing? someone even brought up Scarface as being the better movie... please... that was garbage compared to this. Overall the story and characters were perfect, yeah it's long and has a lot of story to I will give it a nine because nothings perfect! But it is a great movie, people who put 0's and 1's are retarded... sure there are better movies out there, but who's comparing? someone even brought up Scarface as being the better movie... please... that was garbage compared to this. Overall the story and characters were perfect, yeah it's long and has a lot of story to it... but thats what I loved about it. I don't agree w/ the 100 rating on metacritic, because its almost impossible to get a perfect score on here. But it is a great movie! better than the stuff the industry is pushing now. Expand
  82. SukuS.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    The Best Film ever without a doubt. If you haven't watched it you cannot function in popular culture.
  83. EddieM.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Greatest American epic ever! Quite simply American cinema's finest moment.
  84. Benjyx
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    It has to be said that not everyone will agree on a film and critics do tend to overrate films like this. I have to say though this film is something else.... Im only 17, not part of the baby boomer generation and this film was just something else. It's not perfect but it's definately one orf the greatest films ever made, and the tension and shocks in some of the scenes are It has to be said that not everyone will agree on a film and critics do tend to overrate films like this. I have to say though this film is something else.... Im only 17, not part of the baby boomer generation and this film was just something else. It's not perfect but it's definately one orf the greatest films ever made, and the tension and shocks in some of the scenes are incredible. Last point; anyone who considers the characters unlikeable, did you skip scenes? Al Pacino's slow descent into a life that he doesn't wants, Marlon Brando's performance as a mob leader who uses logic and politics rather than murder, plus his last scene with his grandson... wow. Expand
  85. BillM.
    Feb 3, 2008
    10
    I finally got to see this movie yesterday and it was great. Even after all the cliches it caused.
  86. JohnnyC.
    Feb 3, 2008
    7
    THE most overrated movie ever! Ya it has a nice story,and a nice set of actors. But it's way to long. Some of you are saying that if others dont agree this is the greatest movie ever there a moron? Lol. This movie is not all that. Scarface is better. More action,a good story,long,but not to long. The only reason people are saying this is the greatest ever,is because there trying to THE most overrated movie ever! Ya it has a nice story,and a nice set of actors. But it's way to long. Some of you are saying that if others dont agree this is the greatest movie ever there a moron? Lol. This movie is not all that. Scarface is better. More action,a good story,long,but not to long. The only reason people are saying this is the greatest ever,is because there trying to follow the crowd. Expand
  87. RD.
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    Superb movie. Not bored for even a second. Marlon Brando, Al Pacino and James Caan as also Robert Duvall all were superb. immortal classic.
  88. StephenC.
    May 8, 2008
    9
    While perhaps not the greatest movie of all time, despite it's rank as such among many, it is in the top 5. Marlon Brando plays the almost sympathetic character very well. My biggest qualm is I just felt the turn of Al Pacino was a little quick to happen. It seems to me he went from nice kid to sociopath, way more unhinged than his dad, almost overnight. Still an incredible movie and While perhaps not the greatest movie of all time, despite it's rank as such among many, it is in the top 5. Marlon Brando plays the almost sympathetic character very well. My biggest qualm is I just felt the turn of Al Pacino was a little quick to happen. It seems to me he went from nice kid to sociopath, way more unhinged than his dad, almost overnight. Still an incredible movie and cinematic experience. Expand
  89. ShawnA.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    Brilliant.
  90. LiamG.
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    The greatest and most influential mob movie ever. Even after 36 years, nothing, bar its sequel and Scorsese's 'Goodfellas', have come close to matching its absolute perfection.
  91. StabsM.
    Sep 4, 2008
    10
    What's there to say? A perfect movie that I was accustomed to watching on VHS or cable, both of which had the color washed out. The DVD release has the color beautifully restored; the color, alone, allows you to rediscover The Godfather again. The special features are fantastic. Coppola walks you through the movie, slowly and expertly. The deleted scenes are wonderfully shot. What's there to say? A perfect movie that I was accustomed to watching on VHS or cable, both of which had the color washed out. The DVD release has the color beautifully restored; the color, alone, allows you to rediscover The Godfather again. The special features are fantastic. Coppola walks you through the movie, slowly and expertly. The deleted scenes are wonderfully shot. What's not to love? Expand
  92. Mack
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    This has to be among the greatest movies ever made. I don't think any of the sequels even come close although I hear many prefer part II. Every scene is memorable.
  93. VladislavK
    Aug 13, 2009
    10
    Really one of the greatest films of all time I don't need to add more
  94. CarlC
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    I think the grammar inaccuracies, lack of spelling prowess, and vapid intellectual acumen of those who gave this film a bad rating prove just how good it is, simply the best film ever made. I admit "Return of the King" is a close second, but.
  95. JS
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    The greatest movie ever made. The only blockbuster ever produced for thinking adults. All the performances are outstanding and the direction is peerless. Manages to turn a good summer novel into a dark, brooding masterpiece.
  96. ZackM.
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    While it is long i would consider it a classic. while it is brutal and violent and almost sadistic it has a well written story and amazing acting amplify a timeless crime drama
  97. PatC.
    Dec 1, 2003
    9
    This movie sets up Part II, where Pacino's character presents us with the premise that, no matter what circumstances one grows up in, all of us come to a crossroads where we may freely choose the tenets of our lives. Yes, I believe the combination of the two movies to tell the whole story is the inevitable designated metascore-100 movie. Part 1 is a prequel, it can't be a 10 This movie sets up Part II, where Pacino's character presents us with the premise that, no matter what circumstances one grows up in, all of us come to a crossroads where we may freely choose the tenets of our lives. Yes, I believe the combination of the two movies to tell the whole story is the inevitable designated metascore-100 movie. Part 1 is a prequel, it can't be a 10 because it's not complete. Casablanca & Citizen Kane didn't need a Part II. That's what completeness is. Let's just have that understood. Expand
  98. SantinoS.
    Mar 22, 2003
    10
    the third greatest american film after "citizen kane" and "the godfather 2". A masterpiece that endures the impact of time and stays evergreen. the greatest cast of all time, brando, pacino, caan, duvall, shire, vigoda,etc.
  99. MattP.
    Apr 13, 2003
    10
    Without a doubt the best gangster movie ever, probably the best film ever. It's a shame about part 3...
  100. MZ
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    Part I and Part II are the best films ever. Great story, great acting, wonderful sets, cinematography....and the score..how could you ignore the mandolin strumming in the background? These 2 along with Citizen Kane will be very, very hard to beat........Classic, pure classic!
Metascore
100

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Just about as great as a movie's ever gonna be... As for the storytellng, The Godfather is an intricately constructed gem that simultaneously kicks ass.
  2. 100
    The picture is a series of mini-climaxes, all building to the devastating, definitive conclusion... It was carefully and painstakingly crafted. Every major character - and more than a few minor ones - is molded into a distinct, complex individual.
  3. 100
    The wedding sequence... is a virtuoso stretch of filmmaking: Coppola brings his large cast onstage so artfully that we are drawn at once into the Godfather's world.