Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 15, 2006
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 61 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
40
Mixed:
9
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SpangleJul 2, 2016
In contrast to the bad reviews, I thought The Good German was actually quite brilliant. Director Steven Soderbergh incorporates so much period detail to this 1940s noir throwback, it almost hurts. Aside from the actors (who make it obviousIn contrast to the bad reviews, I thought The Good German was actually quite brilliant. Director Steven Soderbergh incorporates so much period detail to this 1940s noir throwback, it almost hurts. Aside from the actors (who make it obvious the film is from the 2000s), the film looks entirely like a film from the 1940s. The lighting, quality, editing, and story structure, are 100% 1940s noir. Additionally, the costume and production design are very good and are quite period accurate for 1940s Germany. In terms of acting, Cate Blanchett steals the show. She is absolutely brilliant as usual. Clooney also does a good job here. Much criticism was placed on the characterization, but I thought the characters were fine. They had well explained pasts, goals, and characteristics. I could not really ask for much more on that front. In terms of the story, it was wholly engrossing. The mystery was truly mysterious and I did not know how things would wind up or what the big reveals would actually state. To me, the film's plot almost threatens to steal the show over the style because it is that interesting and engaging. It can be hard to follow at times, but things do clear up and you are able to catch up no problem. Overall, The Good German was criticized heavily upon its release, but I would argue it is in need of a critical reappraisal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
DonkeybrainAug 11, 2013
I could not believe after watching this awful self indulgent load of rubbish that I had actually guessed the outcome in the first twenty minutes. And the end, my god, Casablanca? Did the writers of this film have any clue that the script wasI could not believe after watching this awful self indulgent load of rubbish that I had actually guessed the outcome in the first twenty minutes. And the end, my god, Casablanca? Did the writers of this film have any clue that the script was such a lemon? Dreadful Dreadful Dreadful. All the actors however were brilliant, loved them all. Sad the film had such a dud story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
WilfO.Aug 3, 2009
After reading the novel the film was nothing but a complete disappointment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.L.Jan 14, 2009
The Good German is one of the best returns to the 1940s style of film-noir. It has the right mix of action, adventure, mystery, Intrigue & romance. The Good German hypnotizes you with it's blend of murder & mystery, action & Intrigue, The Good German is one of the best returns to the 1940s style of film-noir. It has the right mix of action, adventure, mystery, Intrigue & romance. The Good German hypnotizes you with it's blend of murder & mystery, action & Intrigue, Romance & lies. You'll never stop guessing who's behind what, and most importantly who you can trust. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MarkM.Feb 6, 2008
I thought the entire cast was very good, especially Cate Blanchett. The problem was there were too many loose ends. I recommend this movie to anyone who appreciates excellent acting but don't expect too much from it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarkMDec 31, 2007
A plot that wants to be intriguing is terribly boring, bordering on trite. Maguire is absolutely miscast and his horrible performance nearly derails the nmovie before it gets started. Clooney basically stands there looking, but not acting, A plot that wants to be intriguing is terribly boring, bordering on trite. Maguire is absolutely miscast and his horrible performance nearly derails the nmovie before it gets started. Clooney basically stands there looking, but not acting, like an iconic period figure, confused. Only the great Cate is up to her cypher of a role. Of interest only to those who find vintage film stock and camera lenses interesting. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KlausRDec 1, 2007
Excellent movie and technically brilliant. My American wife and me (German) think the movie should be more aptly named "The good American". Thats why all the American reviews seem to hate it. How dares Soderbergh to spoil the last US war Excellent movie and technically brilliant. My American wife and me (German) think the movie should be more aptly named "The good American". Thats why all the American reviews seem to hate it. How dares Soderbergh to spoil the last US war which was to common understanding won morally and millitarily. Very honest plot like Platoon, life is not black and white, life comes in all shades of gray. You wake up after 50 years, wow the US can still make great movies. Actors were great, and yes they quoted from the very best of film noir but it was not copycat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TonyB.Aug 29, 2007
"The Good German" is among the more underrated films of 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DanC.Jun 9, 2007
This film wants desperately to be "The Third Man" but it just isn't. It never manages to create the right mood. It feels staged and non-authentic throughout. The actors are not up to the material or setting. Tobey Maguire and George This film wants desperately to be "The Third Man" but it just isn't. It never manages to create the right mood. It feels staged and non-authentic throughout. The actors are not up to the material or setting. Tobey Maguire and George Clooney are both surprisingly weak, and I say that as a big fan of Maguire. A big disappointment. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
WilliamsG.May 27, 2007
A huge disappointment. It was in no way similar to the very good book -- a very poorly done movie -- convoluted and impossible to follow -- the characters shallow. A complete waste of time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MJMay 25, 2007
If you are fan of old B&W movies...it is a really wonderful film. I thoroughly enjoyed it and think that the critics failed to see what an interesting work it was.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoeAverageApr 5, 2007
1 out of 10 for taking notes while the film crew watched The Third Man during pre-production (although they forgot to take down notes on characterization, plot and conveying emotion) Seriously, do yourself a favor and rent the far, far 1 out of 10 for taking notes while the film crew watched The Third Man during pre-production (although they forgot to take down notes on characterization, plot and conveying emotion) Seriously, do yourself a favor and rent the far, far superior The Third Man, and don't bother with this painfully anal homage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AndersJ.Mar 29, 2007
One of the most unbearably pretentious movies I have ever seen. Go rent the Third Man but don't see this movie, It's a complete hack job. Tobey Maguire is completely miscast and its painful to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertoS.Mar 25, 2007
Excellent movie. Not only technically refined, but also very complex intellectually and emotionally.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveA.Dec 18, 2006
Taking a break from his either commercially successful or critically acclaimed filmmaking, soderbergh does something only a filmmaker as successful, versatile, and talented is allowed to do: make something totally self-indulgent. It's Taking a break from his either commercially successful or critically acclaimed filmmaking, soderbergh does something only a filmmaker as successful, versatile, and talented is allowed to do: make something totally self-indulgent. It's pretty clear that everybody on this film had a great time making it. And as soon as you buy into the style, there's no reason you can't have a great time watching it. And by the way, Cate blanchett is a goddess. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GeorgeB.Dec 15, 2006
Lots of promise in this one: great cast, terrific director. But no rewards for this viewer - the script is terrible, tediously dragging everything along with it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MozzM.Dec 7, 2006
I caught this because a friend was invited to a preview, and I loved it--LOVED it! It's hypnotic, and I thought Cate Blanchett was amazing. The story gets slow towards the middle, but I thought that was the perfect time to study the I caught this because a friend was invited to a preview, and I loved it--LOVED it! It's hypnotic, and I thought Cate Blanchett was amazing. The story gets slow towards the middle, but I thought that was the perfect time to study the film. As a film noir it's flawless, and it's just about the most beautifully shot film you'll ever see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful