Paramount Vantage | Release Date: August 14, 2009
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 51 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
27
Mixed:
11
Negative:
13
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
TheQuietGamerNov 22, 2011
A fantastic dirty comedy, if your looking for a lot of laughing at inappropriate humor you must watch this, it's hilarious and one of the best comedies I've seen in a long time, and the acting is extremely good, and it's unique, original, andA fantastic dirty comedy, if your looking for a lot of laughing at inappropriate humor you must watch this, it's hilarious and one of the best comedies I've seen in a long time, and the acting is extremely good, and it's unique, original, and hilarious, every seen had me rolling on the floor and laughing until I couldn't breath, this is a must see for any and all (older) comedy fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
A few spare moments elevate this comedy into "at least remotely memorable" territory.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
ThegodfathersonMay 20, 2013
Don Ready does have potential. He does see that his life is devoid of love and meaning. He does see that things in his world must change. And he even tries to make those changes. But his changes are 180 degrees away from what would truly helpDon Ready does have potential. He does see that his life is devoid of love and meaning. He does see that things in his world must change. And he even tries to make those changes. But his changes are 180 degrees away from what would truly help him. And that's really what makes The Goods tragic. Not in a Shakespearian sense by any means, but in an irreverent, dumbed-down, 21st century Hollywood sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
KadeemluvmusicJun 23, 2012
I'm a huge fan of both Piven (Entourage) and Jeong (The Hangover), but "The Goods" were as bad as Employee of the Month or any movie that stars Dane Cook on it. They made an appearance on WWE Monday Night RAW to promote the movie.I'm a huge fan of both Piven (Entourage) and Jeong (The Hangover), but "The Goods" were as bad as Employee of the Month or any movie that stars Dane Cook on it. They made an appearance on WWE Monday Night RAW to promote the movie. Unfortunately, they met a friendly John Cena and they'd payed the price. That's because they're were the worst guest hosts in RAW 's almost-20-year-old history. After the film was released in August 2009, the film was a flop at the box office. So I suggest they can't make an appearance on the 1000th episode of RAW next month. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
moviegrabbagFeb 26, 2012
The movie made me laugh through most of it but with the cast and writers it had I really did expect more out of it. I was also kind of disappointed with the end of the movie. It's not as good as the Hangover but it is a funny movie andThe movie made me laugh through most of it but with the cast and writers it had I really did expect more out of it. I was also kind of disappointed with the end of the movie. It's not as good as the Hangover but it is a funny movie and worth checking out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LondonTrueloveNov 18, 2010
I saw this in theatres and I actually thought it was pretty funny. I know a lot of people thought it sucked but the same was said about Macgruber and I thought that was hilarious. I dunno, maybe I just have a different sense of humor.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
JoeMammaAug 17, 2009
0/10, was waiting a long time with all the advertisements on television to watch it. I checked the Internet a few days before release and what did I find, the nearest showing is over 60 miles from me. Between me and there is 10+ theatres, 0/10, was waiting a long time with all the advertisements on television to watch it. I checked the Internet a few days before release and what did I find, the nearest showing is over 60 miles from me. Between me and there is 10+ theatres, none of them could have gotten it? First time this ever happened to me tbh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KatieYJan 17, 2010
The Goods, Live Hard, Sell Hard was a funny movie! I thought it had a good plot beggining and to the end... but the ending was really weird. But Will Ferrell.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KeithCAug 14, 2009
This movie had one or two mild laughs. Other than that I was thankful I saw it for free. I like Jeremy Piven's but the story of him being a mercenary hired to sell all the cars on the lot got do be boring by day 2 of the 4 days covered This movie had one or two mild laughs. Other than that I was thankful I saw it for free. I like Jeremy Piven's but the story of him being a mercenary hired to sell all the cars on the lot got do be boring by day 2 of the 4 days covered in the movie. I saw this movie at a drive-in and took advantage of the cool air by falling asleep during the rest of the movie (a first at the movies for me). Just shows how well it kept my attention. So, don't waste your money to see this movie. Its a good rental for a rainy day when you want to get some sleep and want to be mildly entertained. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
ChadS.Aug 20, 2009
"The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard" is the sort of slack movie where the comic bits take precedence over the storyline. As a result, the characters have the substance of cardboard, but in this case, the cardboard is interesting because "The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard" is the sort of slack movie where the comic bits take precedence over the storyline. As a result, the characters have the substance of cardboard, but in this case, the cardboard is interesting because it's made of archetypes. Don Ready(Jeremy Piven) and his associates are badass used car salesmen for hire, who could only exist in the movie world. Put them on horses and the allusion to Westerns become more obvious. But still, a vestige of the cowboy survives, even in the modern trappings of an airplane, as Don lights up a cigarette like the Marlboro man. Don is a descendant of your classic Western hero; he has no place to call home; he's a wanderer. When Ben Selleck(James Brolin) summons Don and his possee into town, the car salesmen lodge at the Hacienda Courts(read: ranch), and hang out at the strip club(read: saloon). Instead of moving livestock, they move cars(the lot is the frontier). Ivy(Jordana Spiro), the boss' daughter(read: the sheriff's daughter), tames Don's wandering spirit when she chooses the outlaw over the gentleman(Ed Helms plays a "man"-band wanna-be), but in the postscript, the happy ending is undermined by the forces of filmic history: a wandering spirit can't be domesticated. They split up after two years. Primarily an absurdist comedy, "The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard" tries to be funny, then tries to be serious(an awkward transition since the people are cardboard), when it looks like Don isn't going to get the girl. John Wayne never said, "The only thing in this world I love is [horses]," but that's the idea Ethan Edwards seems to be expressing at the end of John Ford's "The Searchers". Don feels the same way about cars, and in the long run, he makes good on his declaration. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
sagesAug 28, 2009
This movie is terrible i walked out in the first 30 min of the movie because of stupidness nudity and overcurseing and only two mild laffs.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
skDec 5, 2009
Worst movie ive ever seen...Will Ferrell is my FAVORITE actor butwow did this movie suck. and the main character wasnt even slightly funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LouisL.Aug 15, 2009
Jeremy Piven and Will Ferrell are comedic geniuses, as they strike gold in this winner. Neal Brennan is one of the best young directors in the business, fresh off co-writing from Chappelle's Show, with Buster from Arrested Development, Jeremy Piven and Will Ferrell are comedic geniuses, as they strike gold in this winner. Neal Brennan is one of the best young directors in the business, fresh off co-writing from Chappelle's Show, with Buster from Arrested Development, Ken Jeong, and Ving Rhames as hillarious guest appearances. There were so many good scenes even I'm leaving out funny scenes between other characters. Also, Ed Helms did a great job in his role. All in all, this movie is a must own on DVD. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AlexH.Aug 15, 2009
One or two mildly funny jokes kept me from walking out of this mess, but that was a mistake.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Kgr323Aug 20, 2009
Next to the hangover, this was the 2nd funniest movie of the year. Me and a few buddies in sales went to check this out over the weekend, and had plenty of laughs from the getgo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
C.B.Aug 26, 2009
I wanted to like this movie so bad, but wow did it suck. Shame on Ferrell/McKay for this turd.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JacobMSep 6, 2009
This was the first movie I have ever walked out of. It was not funny for the most part, and was actually quite disgusting. Don't waste your money.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GlennS.Aug 14, 2009
Great comedy for anyone with a direct sales background.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MovieGoer1Aug 14, 2009
This movie rocks!!!! So many hearty laughs, chortles, chuckles, and gut-busting belly laughing that would ensue a riot! Jeremy Piven and the crew star in this hilarious movie, and it'll be even better on DVD. Neal Brennan is one of the This movie rocks!!!! So many hearty laughs, chortles, chuckles, and gut-busting belly laughing that would ensue a riot! Jeremy Piven and the crew star in this hilarious movie, and it'll be even better on DVD. Neal Brennan is one of the best young directors yet. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
1
ElaineBAug 22, 2009
Pathetic and gross, but there were a couple of younger guys in the audience laughing occasionally. Very lowbrow and totally brainless. How could Jeremy Priven sink so low and what was James Brolin doing in this thing? I saw him on "The View" Pathetic and gross, but there were a couple of younger guys in the audience laughing occasionally. Very lowbrow and totally brainless. How could Jeremy Priven sink so low and what was James Brolin doing in this thing? I saw him on "The View" promoting it and talking about how he and Barbra Streisand choose their movies carefully. Guess not, Jimbo!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful