The Graduate

The Graduate Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Shy Benjamin Braddock (Hoffman) returns home from college with an uncertain future. Then the wife of his father's business partner, the sexy Mrs. Robinson (Bancroft), seduces him, and the affair only deepens his confusion. That is, until he meets the girl of his dreams (Ross). But there'sShy Benjamin Braddock (Hoffman) returns home from college with an uncertain future. Then the wife of his father's business partner, the sexy Mrs. Robinson (Bancroft), seduces him, and the affair only deepens his confusion. That is, until he meets the girl of his dreams (Ross). But there's one problem: she's Mrs. Robinson's daughter. (MGM) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 100
    The Graduate is a flawlessly acted and produced film. [Review of re-release]
  2. Dustin Hoffman gives the inspired performance that launched his movie career, and director Mike Nichols shows a gift for social satire that has never glistened quite so brightly since. [Review of re-release]
  3. 100
    The funniest American comedy of the year.
  4. 89
    Hoffman and Bancroft are phenomenally cast in a script co-written by Buck Henry and Calder Willingham that is by turns sly, touching, and amazingly fresh 30 years later. [Review of re-release]
  5. The light ribbing of conspicuous consumption in southern California and the Simon and Garfunkel songs on the sound track both play considerable roles in giving this depthless comedy some bounce. [Review of re-release]
  6. 50
    What was once an all-important signpost to adulthood is really little more than a simple romantic comedy whose "countercultural" message, insofar as it has one, is decidedly retrograde. [Review of re-release]
  7. 40
    The screenplay, which begins as genuine comedy, soon degenerates into spurious melodrama.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. AlyssaC.
    Jun 15, 2008
    10
    Classic.
  2. Dec 21, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Graduate is a beloved film, but in my opinion, severely under appreciated. People refer to it as a great comedy, but I beg to differ. Why I find the Graduate to be such a perfect film is because of the dramatic element behind it.
    The two protagonists, Benjamin and Elaine, spend the entire film slowly building the willpower to rebel against control their control freak parents, and after an exhilarating finale, finally get away, with all responsibility thrown out the window. But it's the film's lingering ending, where the smiles fade, and the music cues up, that set it apart. It isn't just a film about rebellion, it is THE youth movie. It contains all the pain and pleasure of being a teenager, and goes far deeper than the conflict on the surface, providing an intense moral struggle that even the characters are rarely aware of. Everything in this film comes together in just the right way to make the message immaculate, and I think it's the type of film everyone should watch to gain a greater understanding of teenage life, regardless of your age.
    Expand
  3. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    Smart, funny, thought-provoking, immaculately edited, with top-notch acting and pitch perfect directing and also impressive use of cameraSmart, funny, thought-provoking, immaculately edited, with top-notch acting and pitch perfect directing and also impressive use of camera work, Mike Nichols delivered in 1967 a true classic, a film that we could say it's ahead of its time. Not to mention the soundtrack: melancholic and simply outstanding. A must watch. Expand
  4. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    A true classic. This is a film that was ahead of it's time when it was released in 1967. A solid cast (all major characters were nominatedA true classic. This is a film that was ahead of it's time when it was released in 1967. A solid cast (all major characters were nominated for Academy Awards) and a fun, fun story. Fun is the key word to say when discussing this film. Highly recommended. Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is very funny, but its comedy isn't just from flat out jokes, it comes from the characters and the situations making the humour much more subtle. Dustin Hoffman is so awkward that by the end you can't help but like him. Anne Bancroft's performance is also very good, is she actually evil or is she just lonely, it's an interesting character nonetheless. I also must mention the soundtrack by Simon and Garfunkal, it was so good and really set the tone for the movie, putting the viewer almost in a trance like state as they watch the events unfold. In the end I found it to be a funny, dramatic, and artistic movie, well worth a watch. Expand
  6. May 15, 2013
    8
    Magnificent, interesting and different. A grand and beautiful film itself with great performances and a plot with a splendid and full weightMagnificent, interesting and different. A grand and beautiful film itself with great performances and a plot with a splendid and full weight toward the film. Expand
  7. Jul 1, 2012
    0
    Honestly, I spent my whole life hearing about this film and how important it was as an industry milestone movie, but I never saw it. IHonestly, I spent my whole life hearing about this film and how important it was as an industry milestone movie, but I never saw it. I finally watched it and honestly I was blown away. The cinematography and editing alone is flawless and innovative even by modern standards. The story line is as captivating now as it was then and the acting is so natural and fluid. If you are a Wes Anderson fan you must see this because he nods this direction countless times in his movies. Believe the hype on this one, it is the real deal. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best (and Worst) Movies of 2016 So Far

    The Best (and Worst) Movies of 2016 So Far Image
    Published: July 1, 2016
    We reveal the 50 best-reviewed films of 2016 so far ... as well as the 10 worst.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  4. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.