Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 471 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Feb 6, 2014
    100
    It’s wonderful.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 13, 2014
    100
    That perception of Fiennes and Gustave is central to the whole enterprise. Without it, the movie just breaks off and flies away. But with it, The Grand Budapest Hotel becomes something wonderful.
  3. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Apr 18, 2014
    100
    It is safe to say that The Grand Budapest Hotel is one of those breakthrough moments, a movie that is so beautifully realized from start to finish that I almost doubted myself on the way home. Could I really have enjoyed that film that much?
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Mar 13, 2014
    88
    What does it add up to? What’s it all about, Wes? In a word: evanescence.
  5. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Mar 20, 2014
    83
    Anderson leavens the lunacy with a few acts of sudden and extreme violence or avert-your-face sex, which seem as extravagant as the rest of his notions. Perhaps they’re in there to change the flavor of the humor, the way Mendl might put a bitter coffee bean in a chocolate torte to keep it from cloying us.
  6. Reviewed by: Damon Wise
    Mar 3, 2014
    80
    Another meticulously stylish and deadpan Wes Anderson movie that walks the fine line between masterpiece and folly.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 4, 2014
    50
    “GBH” is a featherweight screwball comedy that, trying mightily to be cosmopolitan, feels awfully provincial, desperately touristy.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 113
  2. Negative: 17 out of 113
  1. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    All of which combines to make what feels like Wes Anderson’s most heartfelt film thus far. One that effortlessly straddles genres and works as both a nostalgic paean to a more innocent time and an examination of the very nature of storytelling itself. But most of all, it’s a beautifully realised account of the friendship that once formed between a lowly lobby boy and the legendary concierge who took him under his wing. Grand Budapest Hotel finds director Wes Anderson at the top of his game, delivering what may be his best film yet. Collapse
  2. May 21, 2014
    10
    I have watched film called “The Grand Budapest Hotel”. Film director Wes Anderson creates his own world, full of colourful characters and nicely warm atmosphere. Every little detail and every set made me speechless. From lead character Gustave H.'s purple jacket to the title of the newspaper announcing the war. Anderson has given thought and attention to everything.
    The plot is not very important, because it is merely a vehicle for the stunning visuals, the dark humour and the rapid-fire dialogue. It's all about a hotel concierge, Gustave H., who is being chased by various villains for stealing a painting. Some of the scenes are very funny, but there is always a darker tone because of the war. Anderson doesn't shy away from extreme violence, but he shows it almost comical manner.
    Ralph Fiennes is acting as the Gustave H., who never despairs, even in the most unfavourable circumstances. He is supported by a large number of star actors, who are sometimes almost unrecognizable. Tilda Swinton gets rather little screen time, as does Harvey Keitel. Although, film director`s choice of actors is fantastic and even side scenes are played very well.
    The plot is not always very easy to follow, and the dialogue is fast. There are the great camera angles and the wonderful detailed sets to pay attention to. I think by seeing the film a second time you can discover lots of things you didn't notice the first time. Both camera and sound operators did a great job, that is why it catches attention of audience.
    I would recommend this film for those who are searching for the film, that could change their world-view and make them laugh at the same time. It is fulfilled with irony and colour. It must be watched.
    Expand
  3. Aug 9, 2014
    9
    Una película con toques sutiles de comedia, artística y técnicamente una obra maestra, con muy buena dirección y un magnifico guión, que dice presente en las listas de premios de las siguiente temporada. Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2014
    8
    Wes Anderson is an unstoppable monster in film, creating masterpiece after masterpiece that can do no wrong for their originality is a notch above the rest. The Grand Budapest Hotel is no except. Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2014
    7
    Hallelujah! I have finally seen a Wes Anderson film that I like. The mind bogglingly clever screenplay tips its hat to past eras of film making, but is very much a piece of writing that has Anderson's signature all over it. This, for once, is a good thing. The design of the film, as in a lot of Anderson's work, is just beautiful and many effects are visually striking. A positive roster of character actors contribute to the fun (Saoirse Ronan's lack lustre turn aside) with Tllda Swinton and Willem Dafoe standing out. Everything is elevated, however, by the absolutely brilliant performance of Ralph Fiennes which is second only to his Amon Goeth in Schindler's List. I may still have reservations about Anderson and to a lesser extent this film, but if Fiennes isn't nominated for an Oscar next year for this deliciously sublime portrayal then that will be more of a farce than the film itself. Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2014
    5
    Found this movie to be boring, and really not all that great. I didn't laugh really for this to be a comedy, and was actually confused on how it could get such great reviews. Perhaps my taste in movies is terrible but this just wasn't there. Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2014
    0
    Aside from a few laughs early on, this movie quickly became one of the dullest films I have ever seen, despite its cute visuals and overabundance of talent who signed up to play the various roles. The characters were all quite flat, unbelievable, and the lack of depth led to a lack of any drama. Everything just felt very pat and inconsequential. The plot felt like something they were making up as they went along. The film also feels exceedingly self conscious and aware of its own cuteness, which pushed it toward the annoying end of the "indie" spectrum. Expand

See all 113 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best & Worst Movies of 2014 So Far

    The Best & Worst Movies of 2014 So Far Image
    Published: July 2, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst movies released during the first half of 2014.
  2. Spring Movie Preview: 20 Notable Upcoming Films

    Spring Movie Preview: 20 Notable Upcoming Films Image
    Published: March 6, 2014
    We pick out the most noteworthy films arriving in March and April, including Veronica Mars, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, and new movies from Lars von Trier, Wes Anderson, Darren Aronofsky, Jonathan Glazer, Jim Jarmusch, and Denis Villeneuve.
  3. 2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs)

    2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs) Image
    Published: January 14, 2014
    We preview dozens of the year's most anticipated films, including the latest from Wes Anderson, Christopher Nolan, Paul Thomas Anderson, David Fincher, Bennett Miller, Lars von Trier, Terrence Malick, Richard Linklater, David Cronenberg, and more. Plus, find out which films we picked as the year's likeliest box office bombs.